by Peter Thompson – submitted as a letter to the editor of the Nation newspaper and circulated on social media.
Nelson statue defaced on the eve of Independence Day.

THE LAST SUNDAY SUN Editorial, No Good Reason To Deface Statue, is a lost opportunity for Nation Publishing to contribute positively to a conversation among Barbadians about the history and future together of those who are categorised as black or white. Make no mistake: this controversy is about nothing less.

It is not sufficient for our premier national newspaper to hide behind what reads like a schoolmarm’s condemnation of the bad behaviour of splashing paint on the statue. This is not about the paint; it is not even about the statue. This is about who we are as a people.

The perpetrator is not from among the elite, but their misspellings aside, the handwritten placard they left is perfectly eloquent: “This RACIST white supremacist who would rather die than see black people free stands proudly in our nation’s capital NELSON MUST GO!! Fear not Barbados the people have spoken. Politicians have failed us. HAPPY INDEPENCE (sic).”

I was born to privilege and I have led a privileged life: Harrison College education, a postgraduate degree, a Canadian passport as well as a Bajan one. It humbles and shames me that it was left to a person with none of my advantages in life to speak this truth to power. I hope that they read this so that I can express my gratitude. Thank you.

Talk about race

We have been trying to talk about this since before Independence. The Mighty Gabby sang about the pain that it causes more than 30 years ago. What will it take for us to have an honest conversation about history and race in Barbados? This perpetrator splashed some non-toxic, environmentally-friendly paint that caused no permanent damage at all and took less than three hours to clean off. Are we waiting until some impassioned fool imitates the Irish who took high explosives to their statue of Nelson?

Your editorial complains about “distortions previously fed to us that [. . .] generate extreme feelings among some sections of our people”. Someone who didn’t know better might conclude that the placard contained distortions – it does not.

Yes, there are distortions circulating on social media and Nation Publishing should have set the record straight: no, Nelson did not own slaves or engage personally in the slave trade; yes, the statue was erected to celebrate Nelson’s victory at Trafalgar by racists who believed in white supremacy; no, Trevor Marshall’s assertion that “all researchers today regard Horatio Nelson as one the main factors why the British slave trade was not abolished in 1790, but in 1807 after his death in 1805” is not supported by the evidence; yes, Nelson was a racist believer in white supremacy, as were the vast majority of his British contemporaries, even among those supporting Emancipation.

We have witnessed an outpouring on social media seasoned with anger and pain. The largest ingredient was the lack of knowledge and understanding of our history. Among the conversations that I engaged in there were a few which gave me great hope – where I interacted with white Bajans who started out vehemently opposed to moving the statue and making comments that veered into overt racism, but after a dialogue agreed that the statue was in the wrong place, was offensive to their fellow Bajans, and should probably be relocated to the museum with appropriate interpretive signage to explain the context of its existence.

I think it is the duty of Nation Publishing to pay attention to this national conversation beyond a facile condemnation of defacing the statue. We need you to bring professional journalism to the critical issues that are being discussed. Examine the issues; talk to the experts; analyse the pros and cons.

This is a matter for public education, but it will not be solved by staging an opinion poll or a popularity contest. These are issues of right and wrong that strike at the core of who we are as a people, as a nation.

We need you to take a stand. Please lend your authority to the cries to do what is right and relocate the statue of Nelson to a more appropriate venue.

467 responses to “Gratitude to Nelson ‘artist’”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

I THINK THAT YOU NEED A CONDUCT CARD!

You mean a white card? Interesting in itself, for it was one of the few times where the word white was assigned to a less than favourable item?

2. Do you see how the Bible moved people of sorts and kinds?

The plague kills out most of Europe, including the monks who copied and made Bibles.

Guttenberg “comes along” and invents the printing press … first book printed …. you guessed it, the Bible … but it is in Latin, the language of the Roman Catholic Church.

Luther and the RC church come to blows, start of the Reformation.

Luther sees the flaws of the RC church of which he was a priest.

Decides to start from scratch and translate to German from the original Hebrew and Greek

Tindale translates to English, the printing press makes the Bible avaialable to many in their own language.

The translations are printed.

More and more people read the Bible.

Various non conformist sects spring up.

They are persecuted.

The Bible, God’s Word, is what is driving all of this.

Puritans, another non conformist sect flee England for Holland and then New England.

…. and Barbados.

The rest is history.

Slavery crosses paths with Christianity and is finally ended.

Simplistic but you can google and check me back.

Even if you don’t believe in God, you can see a Higher Hand in these major events as mankind stumbled through the Dark Ages and into the Reformation that would change the world.

3. Ok, so we got as potential buyers so far Haiti, America, Canada, African Countries, South Africa too if you realise Nelson Mandela was named after you know who!!

We could in theory name our price!!!!

Don’t have to sell Hilton, BNOTCL or any of the family silver!!!!

4. …. and here we are sitting in Barbados, oblivious to our wonderful blazingly bright heritage, preferring to wallow in darkness!!

5. Iggi Brathwaite Avatar

Doc Georgie thank you for your teachings.

I man I hath none of the big knowledge just Sunday School and bits of bible study of times ago. I am a wonderer only at scholarship seen here.

Why tho you find it necessary as a man of Christian wisdom to call my questions ‘stupid’.

And why can you say, – your quote : But shun profane and vain babblings: for they will increase unto more ungodliness – but previously use that same tone of vain babblings and mild profanity.

This is not a fight doc, just a series of queries.

If one takes the bible as a message of the faith must we not accept that it could have been written in any theme God wanted. So if he chose fishermen while he also clearly spoke as I understand it anyhow of dismissing the big shot leaders of the day and their long talk does that not establish a very clear tone of simplicity and getting direct to the peoples dem.

That’s why when the other fellow here talk bout BBE it does make good sense to me. That sounds like a perfect message despite its clear contradictions.

Why you need to tek 30 scriptures to define your points bout Egypt. Cant the point be made in 5 or 10 references. Yah see that is what I mean bout using scholarship as a first way to understanding the word. Not say nutting wrong bout scholarship my man but WWJD.

Yesus himself wudda mek the point in one or two blunt parables. Ah lie. Thirty mean you musee smart as shiite even sharper than the Big Boss himself.

6. RE NorthernObserver December 6, 2017 at 3:05 PM #
    I THINK THAT YOU NEED A CONDUCT CARD!

You mean a white card? Interesting in itself, for it was one of the few times where the word white was assigned to a less than favourable item?

IN MY DAY YOU EITHER GOT A CARD FOR WORK=> A WORK CARD
    OR FOR BAD CONDUCT=> A CONDUCT CARD

THEY WERE BOTH IDENTICAL AND WHITE

IN MY DAY, HOWEVER WE DISTINGUISHED THE TWO ON THE BASIS OF THE CAUSE FOR RECEIPT.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John December 6, 2017 at 3:23 PM
    “Even if you don’t believe in God, you can see a Higher Hand in these major events as mankind stumbled through the Dark Ages and into the Reformation that would change the world.”

Does that also apply to the Hindus and Chinese?

Now what would Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva have to say about your Holy Trinity?
    Not to mention the plagiarized myths of Amun, Re and Ptah or even the more plausible Osiris, Isis, and Horus!

8. RE Iggi Brathwaite December 6, 2017 at 3:30 PM #
    RE I man I hath none of the big knowledge just Sunday School and bits of bible study of times ago. I am a wonderer only at scholarship seen here.

AND I HAVE HAD JOKERS WHO DON’T KNOW SCOFFED AT MY SCHOLARSHIP HERE OVER THE YEARS. THEY HAVE DONE THE SAME TO ZOE. I NO LONGER BOTHER, NOR DOES HE IT SEEMS. IT IS CALLED CASTING PEARLS BEFORE THE SWINE

OFF COURSE I HAVE ALSO HAD AN IDIOT ALSO SEEKING TO DISCREDIT MY KNOWLEDGE OF BIOCHEMISTRY AND MEDICINE TOO

RE Why tho you find it necessary as a man of Christian wisdom to call my questions ‘stupid’.
    ARE YOU SAYING THAT HAVING CHRISTIAN WISDOM PRECLUDES CALLING STUPID QUESTIONS STUPID IN A DEBATE?

RE And why can you say, – your quote :
    But shun profane and vain babblings: for they will increase unto more ungodliness – but previously use that same tone of vain babblings and mild profanity.
    WHY DID YOU NOT CONCENTRATE ON VERSE 15 AND STUDY SO YOU TO CAN RIGHTLY DIVIDE THE WORD OF TRUTH
    WHY DON’T YOU LOOK UP THE MEANING OF PROFANE AND VAIN BABBLINGS?

REIf one takes the bible as a message of the faith must we not accept that it could have been written in any theme God wanted.
    YOU LOST ME THERE
    I KNOW THAT 2 PETER 1:20-21SAYS
    Knowing this first, that no prophecy of the scripture is of any private interpretation. For the prophecy came not in old time by the will of man: but holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost.

RE So if he chose fishermen while he also clearly spoke as I understand it anyhow of dismissing the big shot leaders of the day and their long talk does that not establish a very clear tone of simplicity and getting direct to the peoples dem.

NO HE CHOSE FISHERMEN BECAUSE THEY ANSWERED HIS CALL AS CLEARLY TAUGHT IN JOHN 1, 6 AND 10.

RE That’s why when the other fellow here talk bout BBE it does make good sense to me. I AM NOT SURPRISED SIR

REThat sounds like a perfect message despite its clear contradictions.
    HOW CAN A” PERFECT MESSAGE” HAVE CLEAR CONTRADICTIONS SIR?

RE Why you need to tek 30 scriptures to define your points bout Egypt. Cant the point be made in 5 or 10 references.
    PROBABLY, BUT NOT COMPLETELY OR PROPERLY AND THAT IS WHAT THE QUESTION ASKED FOR, AND I ENJOYED ORGANIZING THE VERSES FOUND IN STRONG’S CONCORDANCE INTO THREE CHAPTERS
    ISRAEL IN EGYPT
    ISRAEL IN THE DESERT
    ISRAEL IN THE PERIOD OF CONQUEST

RE Yah see that is what I mean bout using scholarship as a first way to understanding the word
    NO I DON’T SEE WHAT YOU MEAN

RE Not say nutting wrong bout scholarship my man but WWJD.
    ???

RE Yesus himself wudda mek the point in one or two blunt parables. Ah lie.
    YES YOU LIE. READ THE GOSPELS AND YOU WILL FIND THAT NEITHER THE MASSES OR THE DISCIPLES UNDERSTOOD THEM AS PREDICTED IN ISAIAH.

REThirty mean you musee smart as shiite even sharper than the Big Boss himself.

NOT REALLY IF YOU GO TO A PROPER BIBLE TEACHING CHURCH YOU TEND TO KNOW THE WORD OVER TIME—JUST AS I KNOW HYMNS ANCIENT AND MODERN FAIRLY WELL FROM MY 8 YEARS AS A CHOIR BOY, AND THE SEASONAL SINGING OF THE HYMNS
    ALSO SERIOUS STUDENTS OF THE SCRIPTURES HAVE GOOD STUDY BIBLES LIKE THOMPSON’S CHAIN REFERENCE BIBLE AND STRONG’S CONCORDANCE, WHICH IS A VERY GOOD RESOURCE

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

interesting….in my time you could get a card for either, but it was the same card, termed a white card, which had to be signed at the end of every class by the teacher, and each day by your parent/guardian, and maybe the headmaster too. (certainly by him at weeks end) It was for a week, and a single negative comment would ensure it would be re-applied for the following week, and possibly a few strokes depending of the nature of the negative.

10. One can bet that come Xmas the intellectual RH frothing at the mouth about Nelson. would not give up their yearly ritual and adoration by bowing meekly at the feet of those statues mostly built to impose a culture of dominance and superiority by the slavemasters in order to control the minds of the slaves

11. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

lol…the poop flowing in the streets in Christ Church marks the very end of the present government AND yardfowls……

..all those old pipes spewing shit water and toilet paper all over the road.

dont forget to check out tripadvisor for when the tourists complain, get sick or pretend to..and sue.

lol, haha, lol

12. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

nelson old statue gotta go, but the government gotta leave too..

5 months and counting down…

tick tock….

13. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Miller at 3:55 PM

You know they would recognise them for who they are.

14. ac December 6, 2017 at 4:23 PM #

One can bet that come Xmas the intellectual RH frothing at the mouth about Nelson.

Intellectuals? Where are they hiding?

15. NorthernObserver December 6, 2017 at 4:17 PM #
    yES
    IT SEEMS THAT IT WAS MUCH THE SAME IN YOUR TIME
    I WENT 62-70 AND HAD A GOOD TIME BUT DID NOT STUDY TOO HARD UNTIL I FAILED A LEVELS THE FIRST TIME LOL
    DID NOT KNOW THAT YOU HAD TO WORK HARD UNTIL THEN
    WENT TRU SCHOOL ON FUMES NOT GAS LOL

16. Also to remind all that these places of worship was built off the blood sweat and tears of slave labour.
    Seems to me that none of the intelluctual RH have no problem even as history exposes that much

17. Does that also apply to the Hindus and Chinese?

Let’s accept the Bible is the Word of God.

Lets accept that two millennia in the past God gave his Son for all mankind.

Obviously, “all mankind” were not standing up waiting to get the Word of God.

Yet, today, God’s Word has traveled the world and is available to “all mankind”, just like He said.

How did it get all around the world?

Who took it?

Forget about all the details, good or bad, tied up with its travel, just look at the undisputable fact that God’s Word is available for “all mankind” today!!

Its available for Hindus, Chinese, people from Timbuctoo, Iceland everywhere.

What God said has come to pass.

18. Iggi Brathwaite Avatar

Doc, respect most high for the teachings.

But mi man don’t play like Sharkie of Waterford days when you is a brain gorillifant. How yah get lost so wid WWJD. That is What Would Jesus Do.

And how ya not see what I mean re, “bout using scholarship as a first way to understanding the word”. Ya mek sport. You yaseld say dat it tek a scholar wid big head understanding to research 30 verses and divide them into chapter and ting to explain the exam dem from de college.

The issue aint that the school course asks dem questions. The issue is that de big head college professors mekking long talk to ask stuff that only big head scholars cud do.

Dem do dat to mek we small-head fisher folk feel stupidy. Just as you call dem questions dem. Mek any more sense now.

And you playing mangoose smart to say dat I LOST you wid – “If one takes the bible as a message of the faith must we not accept that it could have been written in any theme God wanted”.

Doc, you yaself say -quote: -but holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost.-

So if that is so how yah cant overstand that God cudda move the holy men who wrote his word in any direction and any theme.

This fisherman theme is what we get. That says a lot to me.

And if you say, -quote: – NO HE CHOSE FISHERMEN BECAUSE THEY ANSWERED HIS CALL AS CLEARLY TAUGHT IN JOHN 1, 6 AND 10. –

Then why didn’t the theme of God’s Word direct Sanhedrin masters as the ones who answered the call.

He knowest all and directs all according to you . So fishermen answered the call of ALL those to whom he spaketh. Don’t dat say a hellava lot to you.

I and I is a simple fellow so we does see things mighty differently.

Dats why BBE cud make perfect sense to me because the master as a big boss engineer sound cool as a Brandon’s sea bath.

But engineers does deal with nuts and bolts and hard data not in miracles and people waking from coma after years and tell you dem see a light that lead dem back and dat sorta thing. Contradiction and perfect sense, if yah please.

Anyhow let me read again for a few weeks. Yah teach me enough to last long tho.

I wont agree wid all yah say but I know yah believe firmly what you offer and give it wid the right spirit.

Respect Due. Peace out.

Oh one last, they didn’t overstand the parables because de Master had dem blind so. The parables dem were straightforward to those who had ears to hear and didn’t looking for 30 verses to get outta Egypt. Ah lie. Hehehe.

19. David December 6, 2017 at 11:46 AM #
    You are aware that Sir Hilary is the Chair of the Repatriation Committee appointed by the HoGs?

“In a telephone interview, Sir Hilary told the DAILY NATION the commission met on October 17 and resolved that formal requests be made to all CARICOM member states calling for “all statues and memorials dedicated to the public reverence of persons committed to crimes against humanity, and all those who aided and abetted them, to be removed from places of public celebration”. (GC/AL-F)”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/107357/remove-nelson

Keep “Wilberforce and his hypocritical allies” in the back of your mind.

Let s say the PM of Trinidad agrees with Sir Hilary that “all statues and memorials dedicated to the public reverence of persons committed to crimes against humanity, and all those who aided and abetted them, to be removed from places of public celebration”

Does that mean he will have to rename Nelson Island to something else?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nelson_Island_(Trinidad_and_Tobago)

https://nationalarchivestt.wordpress.com/2015/05/30/nelson-island-and-our-cultural-legacy/

Let’s say he doesn’t!!!

Does that make him a hypocritical ally of Hilary Beckles?

I think what’s going on is the whole reparations issue is falling apart …. remember, the HOGs need to find money in their respective budgets for this committee, and my guess its members don’t come cheap.

I think we are seeing desperation at work here!!

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John December 6, 2017 at 6:52 PM

So, Sir John, can we take it that the Holy Koran is also the ‘Word of God’?

For if the Koran is also the word of God then there is a sure conflict of interest.

Why is your god so bent on creating strife and confusion between the ‘children’ of Ishmael and Isaac the same way he created enmity between Cain the land tiller (vegetarian) and Abel the sheepherder (meat-eater)?

21. @ Miller
    Why is your god so bent on creating strife and confusion between the ‘children’ of Ishmael and Isaac…
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    John’s god has always been a strife-maker. It was John’s god that guided the legendary Barbados Slave Code.
    It was John’s god that terrorised Bushie’s grand parents for centuries…. and that same deity continues today to mislead Bajan brass bowls towards their eventual damnation. Why do you think his pitchfork has been planted at the Garrison…?

But it is not only John…the Hindus have their god too, as do the Shiites, and the Sunnis, and the Catholics, and the protestants …. and GP got one too, … in fact, he has THREE … called a Trinity….

But you see stinking Bushie? … He ain’t got no god. The Big Boss Engineers – the beings who CREATED every shiite …. THEY got Bushie….. adopted his donkey and handed him a whacker.

Skippa… the only possible REAL REAL God, must be the ones that CREATED everything….. the absolute Big Boss Engineers..
    There is however a ‘god of this world’, who has been allowed to do dixie bout here… especially of late. Don’t get tied up…. check the fruit …and it becomes clear who is who…

22. John’s god has always been a strife-maker.

You are right!!!!

Can you point to the verses that support your thesis and explain why He is a strife maker?

23. That’s one of the toughest aspects of Christianity I have found to come to terms with.

24. Can you point to the verses that support your thesis and explain why He is a strife maker?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Verses?
    Look around you Boss… this is where answers lay… NOT in the Bible.
    You should know by now that the bible is NOT there to provide answers to these kinds of questions…. and CERTAINLY not to brass bowls.

The god of this world is UNQUESTIONABLY the fella who just had his pitchfork installed at the Garrison, and who orchestrated the completely RIDICULOUS series of events in USA politics over the past 30 years.
    This is the same god that convinced some Bajans to exploit others for four hundred years via DIRECT slave labour inflicted vi et armis … and who currently drives almost ALL of us to believe that ‘success’ is somehow related to the acquisition of material and monetary assets and to POWER over other human beings.

Without referencing a SINGLE bible verse, it is clear that this ‘god’ is an architect of strife, exploitation, bribery, hate and greed.

CONVERSELY…
    The entities that CREATED this world (including the strife-making god running things currently) are architects of LOVE, selflessness, patience and faith…. rare commodities…

Fortunately there is a VERY SIMPLE test that determines which side anyone is on…. a reflection on the FRUIT that they produce….

So reflect on the ‘fruit being displayed’ …. and see if 99% of all humanity have not completely ADOPTED the god of this shiite world…. the strife-maker and deceiver of brass bowls.

25. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Who says these clown’s white god is a HE..anyway, why not a bunch of SHES of the dark variety. .

Why not just the wind and spiritual forces of earth and the universe, (entities) with no color or manmade idiocy attached…which is much more plausible but too highly structured for narrowly closed and earthly brainwashed minds to comprehend…which is more obvous and in keeping with reality.

26. Peace on Earth goodwill to men!!!

God accepted the sacrifice of his son for the forgiveness of sins.

It is God who is at peace with mankind, not mankind with mankind.

27. To obey orders is all perfection. To serve my King and destroy the French, I consider as the great order of all, from which little ones spring; and if one of these militate against it (for who can tell exactly at a distance), I go back and obey the great order and object, to down – down with the damned French villains! My blood boils at the name of a Frenchman! Down, down with the French! … is my constant prayer.

Who was the King who Nelson served?

Could he have been a Christian when the Bible says Thou shalt not Kill and instructs us to love our neighbor as ourselves?

28. Who is your neighbor?

29. How does man make peace with God?

30. @ John
    To obey orders is all perfection. To serve my King and destroy the French, I consider as the great order of all, from which little ones spring; and if one of these militate against it (for who can tell exactly at a distance), I go back and obey the great order and object, to down – down with the damned French villains! My blood boils at the name of a Frenchman! Down, down with the French! … is my constant prayer.
    Anyone who believed as above was an OBVIOUS idiot.
    Based on that ALONE his statue should be dynamited and dumped in the sea.

BTW…
    Do yourself a favour and burn your bible.
    It is on no use to you.

Seeing, you see not
    Hearing you hear not
    Writing, you blog shiite….

31. anyway, Bushie will be busy today …gotta lotta whacking to do….

32. BTW…
    Do yourself a favour and burn your bible.
    It is on no use to you.

But you are reading yours.

How else would you have known about the division?

To me it shows you are wrestling with the most difficult aspect of Christianity, faith.

All I would say is keep reading your Bible, don’t give up.

33. Pachamama December 6, 2017 at 1:15 AM #
    “Somebody somewhere must have a piece of heavy equipment
    And on occasion that D9, or whatever, has reason to pass up Broad Street at 3 am – ah morning
    With the dump raised
    And said frontal lobe
    Could be properly extended in his general direction at an appointed time
    When coincidentally a rocking engine just happens to be following
    And Horatio screams – flat like a pancake
    Dumped in the careenage
    Maybe a necklace, made of dynamite could do a better job
    In any event, could there be any possible, better reason, for going to jail”

Pachamamum,
    You persist in exhibiting one of your most sickening features on BU.

You and the voices in your head have tried to convince us that you have worked on some of the world’s most important projects and consultancies.

There are many companies in Barbados that rent all sorts of equipment. They will have no problem renting you whatever you want. Clearly you have put some thought into the simple, little project which you have outlined here. All that is required is execution. Why is it that you can’t take that final step?

I will tell you why: Because you are a useless, cowardly, “wannabe” terrorist and empty-headed, dreamy-eyed anarchist. In Bajan parlance, you are a “blow hard”, a “mout’ giant”, a punk.

34. Let us put Sinckler, being the national symbol for the black Barbadian elite and their white donors, on National Heroes Square. Everybody will have the chance for revenge, using white paint to show Sinckler´s true colour.

35. Walter Blackmanaa Avatar
    Walter Blackmanaa

John December 5, 2017 at 9:52 PM #
    “Here, let me help you.
    ON THE FIRST OF AUGUST MDCCXCIX AT
    THE NILE:
    ……AND AT
    TRAFALGAR
    WHERE HE FELL IN THE MOMENT
    OF VICTORY
    ON THE TWENTY FIRST OF OCTOBER
    MDCCV”

John,
    Should your Roman numerals read:
    ON THE FIRST OF AUGUST MDCCXCVIII AT
    THE NILE:

AND AT
    TRAFALGAR
    WHERE HE FELL IN THE MOMENT
    OF VICTORY
    ON THE TWENTY FIRST OF OCTOBER
    MDCCCV?

36. Copy and pasting from a site on the internet is dangerous!!!!!!

Means I can’t spell either!!!!

Good eye!!

Luckily, this is BU and it is accepted that the “ffing idiots here can’t spell either”!!!

37. RE I will tell you why: Because you are a useless, cowardly, “wannabe” terrorist and empty-headed, dreamy-eyed anarchist. In Bajan parlance, you are a “blow hard”, a “mout’ giant”, a punk.

WALTER YA DONT HAVE TO HIT THE MORON SO HARD!
    BUT YA TELLING DE TRUTE ALL DE SAME!

38. Georgie Porgie December 7, 2017 at 12:17 PM #

RE I will tell you why: Because you are a useless, cowardly, “wannabe” terrorist and empty-headed, dreamy-eyed anarchist. In Bajan parlance, you are a “blow hard”, a “mout’ giant”, a punk.

WALTER YA DONT HAVE TO HIT THE MORON SO HARD!

BUT YA TELLING DE TRUTE ALL DE SAME!

You guys are spot on. Don’t be harsh on the mentally defective. They need help.

39. @Mr Hal Stop De Verbal Abuse on De Blog…OMG

I have added your 12:37 re-post accordingly…

hy·poc·ri·sy -noun: the practice of claiming to have moral standards or beliefs to which one’s own behavior does not conform; pretense.

synonyms: HAL AUSTIN 12:37 BU POST, dissimulation, false virtue, cant, posturing, affectation, speciousness, empty talk, insincerity, falseness, deceit, dishonesty, mendacity, pretense, duplicity;

SMH!

40. @Dee Word

Why dont you learn the art of turning the other cheek read ignore?

41. @Dee Word

Why dont you learn the art of STOP TRYING TO BE A WANNABE INTELLECTUAL AND FEELING THAT YOU CAN CORRECT YOUR SUPERIORS

The word hypocrite ultimately came into English from the Greek word hypokrites, which means “an actor” or “a stage player.” The Greek word itself is a compound noun: it’s made up of two Greek words that literally translate as “an interpreter from underneath.” That bizarre compound makes more sense when you know that the actors in ancient Greek theater wore large masks to mark which character they were playing, and so they interpreted the story from underneath their masks.

The Greek word took on an extended meaning to refer to any person who was wearing a figurative mask and pretending to be someone or something they were not. This sense was taken into medieval French and then into English, where it showed up with its earlier spelling, ypocrite, in 13th-century religious texts to refer to someone who pretends to be morally good or pious in order to deceive others. (Hypocrite gained its initial h- by the 16th century.)

It took a surprisingly long time for hypocrite to gain its more general meaning that we use today: “a person who acts in contradiction to his or her stated beliefs or feelings.” Our first citations for this use are from the early 1700s, nearly 500 years after hypocrite first stepped onto English’s stage.

IN WHAT WAY IS HAL A HYPOCRITE?
    DO YOU KNOW HIM?
    HAVE YOU EVER MET HIM?

IT IS WRITTEN JUDGE RIGHTEOUS JUDGEMENT AND NOT BY THE APPEARANCE

GUESS WHO SAID THOSE WORDS ……AND TO WHOM

42. This clip shows two non conformist sects arising out of the Reformation, Amish and Quaker.

The clip briefly looks at differences in their beliefs.

Amish appeared before the Quakers in Germany in the 1500’s whereas the Quakers were English and appeared in 1648, the “end” of the Reformation.

The Amish appear in Pennsylvania as a result of an invitation by Quakers to practice their beliefs freely and without persecution.

The Mennonites also.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mennonite

“Persecution and the search for employment forced Mennonites out of the Netherlands eastward to Germany in the 17th century. As Quaker Evangelists moved into Germany they received a sympathetic audience among the larger of these German-Mennonite congregations around Krefeld, Altona-Hamburg, Gronau and Emden.[20] It was among this group of Quakers and Mennonites, living under ongoing discrimination, that William Penn solicited settlers for his new colony. The first permanent settlement of Mennonites in the American colonies consisted of one Mennonite family and twelve Mennonite-Quaker[21] families of German extraction who arrived from Krefeld, Germany, in 1683 and settled in Germantown, Pennsylvania. Among these early settlers was William Rittenhouse, a lay minister and owner of the first American paper mill. Jacob Gottschalk was the first bishop of this Germantown congregation. This early group of Mennonites and Mennonite-Quakers wrote the first formal protest against slavery in the United States. The treatise was addressed to slave-holding Quakers in an effort to persuade them to change their ways.[22]”

43. Mouse stuck…
    Having difficulty reading and typing..
    But getting up to speed
    Hold off on posting comments till I get my mouse back.
    Will notify you when to resume 🙂

44. What did I miss? Go away for a few days and GP in the true tradition of “the enemy of my enemy is my friend” promoting amity with Hal.

BTW it is a mistake to assume that the “artist” (why artist? Splashing paint on an object does not an artist make unless one is Jasper Johns but that’s another subject) responsible for the sign is unlearned because they spelled Independence incorrectly, the “error” could be a ruse to mislead the gullible.

45. …the “error” could be a ruse to mislead the gullible.
    True.
    This post also COULD be a ruse
    to lead bloggers to believe that you were away on business or holiday
    ..when in fact you were on remand…..

When is the court date?
    🙂

46. Yup, my prediction is coming true!!!

Next step is to blame it on a bunch of white boys looking to make black people look stupid!!

47. @ John
    …now that YOU mentioned it…

The paint COULD have been a ruse “by a bunch of white boys’ to mislead the gullible and make black people look brave…

You must admit that ‘white boys’ have a reputation for doing such shiite….

48. @Bush Tea

The Whit:e boys to use John’s label have a track record of not stirring the pot, i.e. keeping a low profile in a dominant Black country. This is a throwaway comment by John.