by Peter Thompson – submitted as a letter to the editor of the Nation newspaper and circulated on social media.
Nelson statue defaced on the eve of Independence Day.

THE LAST SUNDAY SUN Editorial, No Good Reason To Deface Statue, is a lost opportunity for Nation Publishing to contribute positively to a conversation among Barbadians about the history and future together of those who are categorised as black or white. Make no mistake: this controversy is about nothing less.

It is not sufficient for our premier national newspaper to hide behind what reads like a schoolmarm’s condemnation of the bad behaviour of splashing paint on the statue. This is not about the paint; it is not even about the statue. This is about who we are as a people.

The perpetrator is not from among the elite, but their misspellings aside, the handwritten placard they left is perfectly eloquent: “This RACIST white supremacist who would rather die than see black people free stands proudly in our nation’s capital NELSON MUST GO!! Fear not Barbados the people have spoken. Politicians have failed us. HAPPY INDEPENCE (sic).”

I was born to privilege and I have led a privileged life: Harrison College education, a postgraduate degree, a Canadian passport as well as a Bajan one. It humbles and shames me that it was left to a person with none of my advantages in life to speak this truth to power. I hope that they read this so that I can express my gratitude. Thank you.

Talk about race

We have been trying to talk about this since before Independence. The Mighty Gabby sang about the pain that it causes more than 30 years ago. What will it take for us to have an honest conversation about history and race in Barbados? This perpetrator splashed some non-toxic, environmentally-friendly paint that caused no permanent damage at all and took less than three hours to clean off. Are we waiting until some impassioned fool imitates the Irish who took high explosives to their statue of Nelson?

Your editorial complains about “distortions previously fed to us that [. . .] generate extreme feelings among some sections of our people”. Someone who didn’t know better might conclude that the placard contained distortions – it does not.

Yes, there are distortions circulating on social media and Nation Publishing should have set the record straight: no, Nelson did not own slaves or engage personally in the slave trade; yes, the statue was erected to celebrate Nelson’s victory at Trafalgar by racists who believed in white supremacy; no, Trevor Marshall’s assertion that “all researchers today regard Horatio Nelson as one the main factors why the British slave trade was not abolished in 1790, but in 1807 after his death in 1805” is not supported by the evidence; yes, Nelson was a racist believer in white supremacy, as were the vast majority of his British contemporaries, even among those supporting Emancipation.

We have witnessed an outpouring on social media seasoned with anger and pain. The largest ingredient was the lack of knowledge and understanding of our history. Among the conversations that I engaged in there were a few which gave me great hope – where I interacted with white Bajans who started out vehemently opposed to moving the statue and making comments that veered into overt racism, but after a dialogue agreed that the statue was in the wrong place, was offensive to their fellow Bajans, and should probably be relocated to the museum with appropriate interpretive signage to explain the context of its existence.

I think it is the duty of Nation Publishing to pay attention to this national conversation beyond a facile condemnation of defacing the statue. We need you to bring professional journalism to the critical issues that are being discussed. Examine the issues; talk to the experts; analyse the pros and cons.

This is a matter for public education, but it will not be solved by staging an opinion poll or a popularity contest. These are issues of right and wrong that strike at the core of who we are as a people, as a nation.

We need you to take a stand. Please lend your authority to the cries to do what is right and relocate the statue of Nelson to a more appropriate venue.

467 responses to “Gratitude to Nelson ‘artist’”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Cockroaches keep low profiles.

2. David, you have your head on!!

3. Here is another non conformist sect.

The Moravians first came to the New World, America in 1735.

No surprise … Quaker Pennsylvania.

“The first Moravians to come to North America were August Gottlieb Spangenberg and Wenzel Neisser, who accompanied a group of persecuted Schwenkfelders to Pennsylvania in 1735 at Zinzendorf’s direction. The first, and unsuccessful, attempt to found a Moravian community in North America was in Savannah Georgia that also began in 1735; it collapsed because of internal discord, and government pressure for Moravians to serve in the militia in defense against Spanish raids from Florida (1740, the so-called “War of Jenkin’s Ear”).”

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moravian_Church_in_North_America

They appear in Barbados a generation later.

I have seen somewhere the first Moravian missionary in Barbados was walking about in St. Thomas when he met a Quaker planter.

The planter invited him to preach to his slaves.

I think the plantation was Friendship!!!

4. LOL @ David
    Boss… What John what??!!
    Bushie baiting Sargeant…. with his speculative, NCO-level,detective work…

Only when John gets to water, sewerage and cemeteries is Bushie seriously interested in baiting him…

5. Hey BT

In the spirit of the season I won’t even take the bait but wish you and yours a very Merry Xmas, but I hope that you have your bucket and shovel at the ready to help clean up the Worthing district. My bail conditions allow me to travel out of country and I will be traversing that area on a semi regular basis and I don’t want my homecoming spoiled by the aroma of merde. Don’t think of it in partisan terms, think of it as doing your duty for BBE and country

BTW what is worse? The smell of crap or the literal smell of jobby about to be foisted from the political platform?

6. When we remove Lord Nelson ; we have our work cut out
    starting with the:

Parliament buildings built by slaves
    George Washington House
    the Anglican churches
    all the roads in Bank Hall x road named after royalty
    Princess Alice Highway
    the historic houses like Nicholas Abbey and Sunbury House
    and i could go on and on and even up and on to press for the renaming of the Bay land or Bay vile to
    GARFIELD SOBERS VILLE

7. charles skeete December 8, 2017 at 11:29 AM #

Absolutely. It is anti-intellectual post-colonial nonsense, a poor substitute for knowledge.

8. We will have to rename the Nelson Mandela Freedom Park the Mandela Freedom Park

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/20670/sir-hilary-help-us-complete-mandela-park

… and then the Horatio Cooke Auditorium the Cooke Auditorium!!

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

Hmmm
    “Principal Sir Hilary Beckles said Phase 1 of the project had been completed, thanks to construction firm Innotech. The company built the park’s foundation to offset a debt to the university.”

10. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Bushman….same mentality as the Jihn’s and other lazy lowlifes.

Someone told this one Moore to try it and watch his lazy, racist ass be drawn, quartered and buried…..

….he has the same stinking mentality as some of those on BU..

“Alabama Republican Senate candidate Roy Moore has been accused of a lot of things. He’s referred to Asian Americans and Native Americans as “yellows” and “reds” like they’re fucking M&M’s. Multiple allegations have come forth suggesting that he has a predilection for underage girls. The man is seriously problematic, and for some reason, many in Alabama still believe that he is the better candidate.

A September Los Angeles Times article that recently resurfaced quotes Moore as saying that he believes America was better during the time the institution of slavery was in place.

ADVERTISEMENT

Moore was at a rally in Florence, Ala. One of the few blacks in attendance asked Moore when he thought America was last “great.” In response, Moore said, “I think it was great at the time when families were united—even though we had slavery—they cared for one another. … Our families were strong, our country had a direction.”

Excuse me? What families were united? Slavery consistently divided black families, so what Moore is really saying is that it was good for white people. Their families are the ones that were allowed to stick together. Their families were allowed to grow and be strong.

Black families were property. They were seen as assets and a means to further white capitalist interests. Are these the days Moore is yearning for?

ADVERTISEMENT

This is the problem with a candidate like Moore. He is not a man for the people. He is a man for white people. The continuing racially polarizing and divisive politics that are being enabled by the Donald Trump presidency have to be stopped.

If we continue along this path, perhaps Moore will get his wish.”

11. @Charles/ John

How ridiculous can you get? Next thing you will suggest that Hitler Downes’ family request a name change posthumously.

12. @Sargeant

As a student of history are you able to enlighten the blog why the confederate statues are being removed in the US?

13. Sargeant December 8, 2017 at 3:13 PM #
    @Charles/ John
    How ridiculous can you get? Next thing you will suggest that Hitler Downes’ family request a name change posthumously.

Kind of like Horatio Nelson and the people who erected the statue …. dum is all ded!!

14. Moore is the guy who is accused of dating a 14 year old in Alabama!!!

I googled teen marriages in Alabama!!!!

Here is a result!!

http://www.al.com/news/index.ssf/2017/08/child_marriage_is_still_legal.html

“Back in May 2001, a bill was introduced into the Alabama Senate that sought to raise the age a person can marry from 14 years-old to 16.”

Up to 2001, 14 year olds could legally marry in Alabama.

“All 50 states currently allow children under the age of 18 to marry. Some require parental consent, while half have no age limit. Between 2000 and 2015, over 200,000 children have been married across the country, according to data from 38 states and two counties collated by advocacy groups and later published by PBS’s Frontline.”

15. What is the point you are making John?

16. Let the dead bury the dead!!!

Go look that up!!

17. Mr Blogmaster, unfortunately the point blogger John seems to be making is that anything can be justified as long as you share the same political and social preferences.

The blogger speak of marriage consent of 14 thus suggesting bluntly that sex between a man and a girl was acceptable and legal in tne state of Alabama and thus Moore was free and righteous in his pursuit of a 14 year old.

That is disingenuous and just wrong headed. Any such relationship required parental consent first and foremost which was certainly not the case here.

The blogger also does not clarify that there were laws in the state forbidding any legal liaison between folks under 16 and adults over 18 and doubly so for those adults 10 plus years older than the minor…despite that marriage statute.

Moore was a proverbial Bajan horndog who liked minor school girls…That he matured and became a judge is all good but any and all these attempts to gloss over his perverted tastes are disgusting and wrong.

Frankly however if we can elect those who bite labias or those who grab them it seems quite reasonable to elect those who just dated underage virgins….

Not to mention that the folks in Alabama have elected officials who bombed, hosed and otherwise denigrated or killed Blacks for years to local, state and federal offices so what can John be saying other `what’s all the fuss about!

Incredible or as another blogger said, you just can’t make up this RH!

18. Actually, all I wanted to show was that Moore is irrelevant to the defacing of the Nelson Statue and to do that I simply provided another set of trivia to go along with that presented.

Moore is irrelevant is the point in its simplest form!!

19. Just wanted to see who would bite!!

20. Actually, it seems Moore does have a bearing on Nelson!!

One of his accusers is a Nelson!!

21. John you must have been absolutely formidable in your youth….That such a brain could spin such a web of nonsense into apparent sense now suggests to me that you had to be beyond formidable when your thought were uncluttered of folly and you were not so hell-bent on creating more folly.

Amazing.

22. Nelson Street was renamed De Jungle in the 60’s.No young man would say he’s going ‘in’ Nelson St.,rather there were chuckles when he said he spent a pleasant evening reminiscing at Castro’s in the jungle.

23. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

All racists are irrelevant.

All enslavers are irrelevant.

Let them know you can be just as deadly and dangerous as they are and they understand they can be buried 6 ft under at any time, they then fall back.

Moore is a rapist, racist and sexual predator of underage girls, he had to be banned from the malls in Alabama for preying on little girls, he is a known pedophile…like all racists and slave masters are, child rapists.

24. R de pedantic Dribbler December 8, 2017 at 7:10 PM #

John you must have been absolutely formidable in your youth….
    THATS HOW HE WON THE BARBADOS SCHOLARSHIP

That such a brain could spin such a web of nonsense into apparent sense now suggests to me that you had to be beyond formidable when your thought were uncluttered of folly and you were not so hell-bent on creating more folly.

MY GOD
    HERE IS A DUMMY TALKING ABOUT A MAN DAT WIN AN ISLAND SCHOLARSHIP AS THOUGH HE IS ONE OF HIS PEERS AT THE SCHOOL WHERE THE GAMES MASTER ROUTINELY BULLED THE BOYS
    MURDAH

25. GP you are one miserable disagreeable ole goat , bahhhh now go take yuh meds , ole fart

26. @de pedantic Dribbler at 7:10 PM

Yes, John had a fine mind in his youth. I knew him then and he was more clever than I was, so I was very surprised to realise that the John of 2017 that I found so easy to show up as a fool (others on BU asked me to stop belittling him because I was being ungentlemanly) was the same John who’s mind was such a treasure 40+ years ago. It is very sad… life has been most tragically unfair to John.

27. Moore said, “I think it was great at the time when families were united—even though we had slavery—they cared for one another. … Our families were strong, our country had a direction.”

.. and the reporter had neither the historical nor Biblical knowledge to point out to Moore that the Civil War occurred at the time of slavery, brother killed brother and families butchered one another?

That would have been a good counter.

Except division in families is part and parcel of Christianity and America is a Christian nation founded on the Bible.

http://biblehub.com/luke/12-51.htm … I did not come to bring peace, but a sword

Families will always be divided but there are times when they will get glimpses of Peace!!!!

The historical narrative every one knows is of America’s sacrifice of over half a million people, mostly white, to end slavery there.

The Bible acknowledges that man will kill man.

http://biblehub.com/matthew/26-52.htm …… Live by the sword

Then there is always another way of looking at it!!

http://biblehub.com/john/15-13.htm …. Greater Love

Man does sometimes make the supreme sacrifice and give all he has for his friend.

It is a good thing America is founded on the Bible.

28. ‘Privilege’ and conceit = a man in love with himself.

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“life has been most tragically unfair to John.”

Life is not being unfair, Karma is being JUST…striking a balance.

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

GP…scholars in my family are a dime a dozen….it is not an anomaly, in those times, though capable…many were not given the opportunity.

… I believe you only got 2 scholarships a year.

From 2010 you were getting up to 60 exhibition scholars a year and Ronald Jones was not happy at those numbers, he said it will not happen again.

31. @Hal Austin at 4:50 AM
    If you do not first love yourself you will find it impossible to love anyone else.

32. @ PLT
    Most people do not even know that the FIRST commandment given by Bushman #1 ..was that we must love ourselves.

You expect Hal to understand that?
    You drop these high level nuggets casually in this forum as if they are generally understood…

33. Bush Tea at 8:11 AM
    My main mission in Barbados is to get Bajans in general to understand that they must love themselves… Hal is in the UK I believe, so happily he is not my responsibility 😉

34. Boss, even when Hal was here, that responsibility would be a bridge too far…
    LOL …. Ka-plaxX!!

See if you can Get Comissiong to understand that he needs to concentrate his energies on this BASIC requirement – upon which EVERYTHING else related to success in life depends.

Loving one’s self FIRST….

35. @Bush Tea at 8:11 AM
    I mean, do you really think I give a flying fuck about a 650kg lump of bronze standing on a pedestal in Bridgetown? It is of no consequence except as a tool… I use it as a lever to nudge some Bajans into looking at themselves and loving what they see; I also use it as a cudgel to get the attention of other Bajans and wake them up to the consequences of our history together.

After it has been moved I will find other tools that suit my purposes.

36. So, let’s ask the question the reporter asked Moore?

Was America greater at the time of slavery than now?

Looks to have been far greater.

Was America greater at the time of WWII when it played a leading role in the defeat of Hitler?

…. not Hitler Downes, I mean Adolph Hitler, no nicknames!!

Trump is saying “Make America Great Again”!!

Is he simply speaking above the understanding of most people?

Is he saying “Return to core values” … the economic blessings will then flow as they have in the past when those core values made us great?

37. Look at what the Bible has to say about self love.

Don’t go by Whitney Houston and her beautiful song!!

38. Was America greater at the time of slavery than now?

Looks to have been far greater.

The above extracted from John’s last comment. Discuss for 5 marks.

39. John December 9, 2017 at 9:38 AM #

Be as wise as a serpent, but as gentle as a dove. Conceit is the key to Hell. The certainty that I am always right led to Hitler, Mao, Mussolini, and others.

40. Everybody in America and Barbados wants to be a Priest or a Levi!!!

No one wants to be a Samaritan.

That is unsustainable and the cause of our problems!!!

When there were more Samaritans both America … and little foolish insignificant Barbados were great!!

Was England founded on the Bible?

What about Spain or Portugal or Italy or Greece or Turkey or Haiti?

Or Jamaica, or Trinidad, or Guyana, or Nigeria or Egypt or Mexico …

Mexico and Peru had the greatest civilization in their day.

Let’s put it another way, what other countries were founded on the Bible as America, Barbados, St. Kitts/Nevis, Canada were?

41. Theophilius Gazerts 233 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 233

It’s cold. Snow is expected. Could it get any worse?
    Come to BU and see John and Hal on parade

what became of the chadster
    ——————-A hearty good morning to all. That includes the Master and grasshopper(Hal) —–

I am now fully warmed p

42. Theophilius Gazerts 233 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 233

Still trying to figure out why “if you remove Nelson you have to rip up roads and tear down buildings built by slaves”

43. @ TG
    Still trying to figure out why “if you remove Nelson you have to rip up roads and tear down buildings built by slaves…”
    ”Forget fake news, that is called fake logic.

Most of us have been socialised into accepting some kind of stupid dogma and when challenged with COMMON SENSE, we retreat behind fake logic.
    John is a boss at this… But then people who were able to convince themselves for 400+ YEARS, that they had the God-given right to enslave, brutalise and rape another set of people simply because they LOOKED different HAD (by definition) to be masters of fake logic.

The TRULY amazing thing is that in this modern age of ENLIGHTENMENT, someone like John is able to convince HIMSELF that this shiite makes sense … with almost Trump-like persistence.

@ John
    Try not to embarrass yourself more than you normally do ….on this topic of self-love.

When Barrow spoke about having an acceptable MIRROR IMAGE, he was merely repeating what Jesus taught when asked ‘what are the COMMANDMENTS’.

He said simply – Love your neighbour as you love yourself,
    and Love God with your whole heart..

Those are THREE commandments right there.

1 – Love yourself and value what you are….
    2 – Love your neighbour as much as you love yourself
    3 – Love the CREATOR (and final arbiter) with your whole being…

Common sense (you may have to ask someone to explain that) tells you that unless number 1 is SOLID, there is no point in number 2
    … and Jesus made it VERY clear than anyone who claims to meet the requirements of number three – and who is not meeting number 2
    …..is fooling ONLY themselves…..SO..

Unless you learn to (value and) love YOURSELF, nothing else of any worth is achievable….

44. @David at 9:37 AM
    “Was America greater at the time of slavery than now?”

Of course not. The upper class of the White community in America were more economically and socially dominant, but to equate that with America being greater is simply to expose the White supremacist ideology of the person making such an asinine statement. To wit:
    1. it equates greatness with the economic power of an elite,
    2. it ignores at least two very significant crimes against humanity: chattel slavery and the genocidal policies and practices against Native Americans,
    3. it lies about the living conditions of the vast majority of White people, who only idolise the era because “at least they weren’t n*ggers.”

45. @Peter

Of interest is not the statement as a standalone but what would have motivated it.

46. @Bush Tea at 10:31 AM
    So you see Bush Tea, why it is so distressing for those of us who knew John’s first rate mind 40 years ago to be witness to how badly damaged it has become. Imagine, a devout Christian, but he is unable to understand the single most important passage of the Bible, Mark 12:30-31, even though Jesus spelled it out in his own words “There is no commandment greater than these.”

47. Mr Blogmaster, as a Afro person , for good manners, let’s NOT discuss that right wing canard of a quite invalid proposition…Yet, the very similar sentiment said in the words ‘Make US greatb again’ can be discussed however with much dispassion.

I equate it to Bim and embrace the concept ‘Make Barbados great again’.

In the way that we can look back at our young nation bringing on free education to masses of young Blacks and how that made this nation a lovely garden of talented folks who took their skills across the region n world and also brought us significant achievements here at home with their talets.

That’s what that should mean in context for all nations …an objective to harness the best aspects of the past with new methodologies n inventions of the present to create a great future.

For Germany that in fact could mean that harnessing knowledge from for example the Lufwaffe of WWII air supremacy or the brains of the top scientists in armaments at al could ‘Make Germany great again’…

… but those skills are absolutely separate from Nazism and have not one RH ting to do with the overall ethos of the racist Nazi war regime.

Thus Mr Blogmaster the Germans can rightfully outlaw that regime and basically aim to get all tenets so related removed as appropriate historical references.

In the same context, that major US politicians CANNOT appreciate that there can be no positive societal historial references to the overall ethos or processes of slavery boggles the freaking mind.

Family values are not specific to, did not emanate from and are not linked in any integral way to Slavery…That folks mention them together is to be #![!#$… manners makers man!

48. @David at 10:44 AM

The motivation for such statements is reasonably clear; it can only be:
    a.) extreme stupidity, or
    b.) profoundly evil intent.

In the case of both Roy Moore and John I cannot convince myself that they are that stupid, therefore I am forced to grapple with the reality that they are profoundly evil. This causes me significant distress in the case of John because he is a fellow Bajan and old schoolmate.

49. Theophilius Gazerts 233 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 233

I approach this from a different angle than Peter BT, or even GPorgie,

The greatest time of man is always today or ahead of us. With the increase of knowledge in all areas, how can it be otherwise. With the acknowledgement of the civil rights of others how can it be otherwise. The increasing availability of information make us ore aware of the problems in our society, but these problems were always there.

Hang around for some time and see a become Gods. No need for BBE or the God of GP.
    I believe in Man.

On a racist and grasshopper could believe that the enslavement of others would make America great again.