by Peter Thompson – submitted as a letter to the editor of the Nation newspaper and circulated on social media.
Nelson statue defaced on the eve of Independence Day.

THE LAST SUNDAY SUN Editorial, No Good Reason To Deface Statue, is a lost opportunity for Nation Publishing to contribute positively to a conversation among Barbadians about the history and future together of those who are categorised as black or white. Make no mistake: this controversy is about nothing less.

It is not sufficient for our premier national newspaper to hide behind what reads like a schoolmarm’s condemnation of the bad behaviour of splashing paint on the statue. This is not about the paint; it is not even about the statue. This is about who we are as a people.

The perpetrator is not from among the elite, but their misspellings aside, the handwritten placard they left is perfectly eloquent: “This RACIST white supremacist who would rather die than see black people free stands proudly in our nation’s capital NELSON MUST GO!! Fear not Barbados the people have spoken. Politicians have failed us. HAPPY INDEPENCE (sic).”

I was born to privilege and I have led a privileged life: Harrison College education, a postgraduate degree, a Canadian passport as well as a Bajan one. It humbles and shames me that it was left to a person with none of my advantages in life to speak this truth to power. I hope that they read this so that I can express my gratitude. Thank you.

Talk about race

We have been trying to talk about this since before Independence. The Mighty Gabby sang about the pain that it causes more than 30 years ago. What will it take for us to have an honest conversation about history and race in Barbados? This perpetrator splashed some non-toxic, environmentally-friendly paint that caused no permanent damage at all and took less than three hours to clean off. Are we waiting until some impassioned fool imitates the Irish who took high explosives to their statue of Nelson?

Your editorial complains about “distortions previously fed to us that [. . .] generate extreme feelings among some sections of our people”. Someone who didn’t know better might conclude that the placard contained distortions – it does not.

Yes, there are distortions circulating on social media and Nation Publishing should have set the record straight: no, Nelson did not own slaves or engage personally in the slave trade; yes, the statue was erected to celebrate Nelson’s victory at Trafalgar by racists who believed in white supremacy; no, Trevor Marshall’s assertion that “all researchers today regard Horatio Nelson as one the main factors why the British slave trade was not abolished in 1790, but in 1807 after his death in 1805” is not supported by the evidence; yes, Nelson was a racist believer in white supremacy, as were the vast majority of his British contemporaries, even among those supporting Emancipation.

We have witnessed an outpouring on social media seasoned with anger and pain. The largest ingredient was the lack of knowledge and understanding of our history. Among the conversations that I engaged in there were a few which gave me great hope – where I interacted with white Bajans who started out vehemently opposed to moving the statue and making comments that veered into overt racism, but after a dialogue agreed that the statue was in the wrong place, was offensive to their fellow Bajans, and should probably be relocated to the museum with appropriate interpretive signage to explain the context of its existence.

I think it is the duty of Nation Publishing to pay attention to this national conversation beyond a facile condemnation of defacing the statue. We need you to bring professional journalism to the critical issues that are being discussed. Examine the issues; talk to the experts; analyse the pros and cons.

This is a matter for public education, but it will not be solved by staging an opinion poll or a popularity contest. These are issues of right and wrong that strike at the core of who we are as a people, as a nation.

We need you to take a stand. Please lend your authority to the cries to do what is right and relocate the statue of Nelson to a more appropriate venue.

467 responses to “Gratitude to Nelson ‘artist’”

1. I was born to privilege and I have led a privileged life: Harrison College education, a postgraduate degree, a Canadian passport as well as a Bajan one.

What delusional piffle: what privilege were you born to? Is going to Harrison College a great ‘privilege’? Is having a passport from a country that is only known because it is a majority white a privilege?
    Humility, dear boy, humility.

2. To borrow from Pacha, sometimes one has to resort to the colloquial vernacular to properly express oneself. The statue of Nelson needs to be removed from rassshole National Heroes Square.

3. The statue of Nelson needs to be removed from rassshole National Heroes Square.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Tell Bushie why this is again David…
    Do you REALLY think that we are ready to move Nelson?

What will people like Hal do then?
    Look at his instinctive response to denigrate the writer – who has shown himself to be a learned and mature Barbadian of MERIT … but some renegade slave – still smelling about in London behind white people’s donkeys, have issues with his sense of privilege…

As Bushie says, 400 years of systematic breeding of mendicant brass bowlery is NOT an easy thing to overcome. Hal and his ilk demonstrates this with every post, and misses his comfort zone so much that he HAD to live in London. The PROBLEM with taking down Nelson is that we are not in a position to replace him with any really viable role models – because we CANNOT see any virtues in fellow blacks….

Hal would probably replace Nelson with John….

Bushie says throw Nelson in the sea next to the Stavronika
    …and let us put up the MAIN MAN –
    Wynter C 🙂

4. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David at 8:03 PM

Is the adjectival noun in the secound sentence qualifying the correct noun or is that a Freudian slip?

5. Peter
    We understand clearly your point of view and appreciate your candour and scholarship.BU is to be congratulated for its persistence in accommodating the views of the non-resident comic JA.

6. HAL
    THOMPSON IS THE SON OF A DR
    SO HE WAS I was born to privilege and IF HE SAID THAT HE HAS led a privileged life, HE SHOULD KNOW

TO HAVE HAD A Harrison College education IS INDEED STILL A PRIVILEGE,………AND MORE SO IN THE 60’S WHEN HE AND HIS OLDER BROTHER ATTENDED

THOSE OF US WHO FIRST BENEFITED IN THE 60’S FROM FREE EDUCATION WERE INDEED ALL VERY PRIVILEGED…….AND WE OUGHT TO BE PROUD ABOUT IT!

DO NOT PLAY THE MAN……PLAY THE BALL

HE IS ENTITLED TO BE PROUD OF HIS CANADIAN PASSPORT, AS YOU ARE ABOUT YOUR SOJOURN IN “GREAT” BRITAIN…….now no longer “great”

7. codrington

what is an adjectival noun?
    i know that there is a verbal adjective in the greek, but an adjectival noun? teach meSir

8. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Dony forget your history
    Know your destiny
    In the abundance of water”

We have a slaveminded fool on BU….. who is thirsty.

Just remove the damn statue…too many white racists on the island still self identify with the statue, still see the majority black population as their slaves who only exist to enrich them, so much so that a little riffraff part negress girl disparaged and demeaned the whole BLACK population on the island without provocation….

,…..make sure there is no longer any repeat of that level of disrespect to the ancestors, descendants of slaves or future generations, take the shitstained statue down.

9. yes, the statue was erected to celebrate Nelson’s victory at Trafalgar

Go and read what is written on the statue!!!!

You obviously have not!!

10. yes, the statue was erected to celebrate Nelson’s victory at Trafalgar by racists who believed in white supremacy

Read the extract from the report of the committee published by BU and see if you can find anything resembling this!!

Remember, a lot of people spent a lot of hours already, and its all documented in a report.

List the reasons the report gives for moving Nelson and see how many match with yours.

See if you can find the words racist or white supremacy in it.

White Supremacy is a term used by the left in the American media to attack Trump!!

Do we need to copy that too?

What research have you done that would enable you to say what people believed more than 200 years ago?

11. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ GP at 8:50 PM

Simply, a noun performing the role of an adjective. The point I am trying to make is that in its current placing It makes David a supporter of Vincent’s, John’s and my position on the Nelson statue issue. And we will be happy to have him on our side. I just want to be sure he has crossed the floor. I rather think that he wanted the adjectival noun to describe Nelson’s statue.
    None of our heroes nor the square should be correctly thus described.
    I did Greek to A Level. I never encountered a verbal adjective. But that does not mean that there were none.’

Just another case where I should not try to be funny.

12. Here, let me help you.

HORATIO VISCOUNT AND BARON
    NELSON
    VICE ADMIRAL OF THE WHITE, K. B.
    COMMANDED AND CONQUERED
    ON THE FIRST OF AUGUST MDCCXCIX AT
    THE NILE:
    ON THE SECOND OF APRIL MDCCCI AT
    COPENHAGEN
    AND AT
    TRAFALGAR
    WHERE HE FELL IN THE MOMENT
    OF VICTORY
    ON THE TWENTY FIRST OF OCTOBER
    MDCCV

The statue is there for three victories, The Nile, Copenhagen and Trafalgar.

If you have been keeping up with the reading I suggested you will see the Battle of the Nile ended the Brigand’s War!!!!

13. So, we can dismiss the proposition that Nelson is there for the victory at Trafalgar!!

The Nile is the victory that made his name.

Trafalgar and Copenhagen were just icing.

Trafalgar most people will associate with Nelson but if you had attended when Captain Hutt taught us History you would have realized the Nile was something special!!

You can google and improve your education on Nelson

14. It isn’t only Trafalgar!!!

15. The Nile is where Nelson destroyed the heart of the French fleet.

That’s why at Trafalgar Nelson fought the combined French and Spanish fleet, the French fleet on its own would have been no match!!

16. @Hal Austin at 7:43 PM

I confess my privilege, perhaps I should have termed it luck, or unearned advantage in life, because “it was left to a person with none of my advantages in life to speak this truth to power.”

It was not a brag… I honestly admitted that I was humbled and shamed.

17. MR CODRINGTON

CHECK THE GREEK FOR THIS BIBLE VERSE IN TITUS 2:13

For the grace of God that bringeth salvation hath appeared to all men,

“the grace of God” IS THE NOUN IN THIS SENTENCE
    hath appeared IS THE VERB IN THIS SENTENCE

THE PHRASE “that bringeth salvation” IN THIS SENTENCE DESCRIBES THE NOUN. IT IS THUS A VERBAL ADJECTIVE.

A GREEK BIBLE SCHOLAR WANTED TO TEACH ME ABOUT VERBAL ADJECTIVES, AND I GAVE HIM THIS VERSE AS AN EXAMPLE AND SURPRISED HIM

18. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Ha, Ha is just jealous, the curse of black people believing that as long as you’re a black like them, you were automatically born and raised in poverty and had to fight your way out…..

…..my granddaughter termed it the poverty mindset.

19. Don’t fret yourself Peter, our historians appeared not to have read the inscription either and remained rooted to the proposition that Nelson only got into Trafalgar Square because of Trafalgar!!

Seems idiotic now I remember.

I tried my best to point it out back then.

It is only my memory of Captain Hutt and his animated description of the Battle of the Nile in 1798 that I researched it 20 years ago and realized the genius of the man!!

That’s when I found the 3 volume series on the Chronological History of the West Indies and understood what had been going on in with the French in the West Indies and why Nelson operated on the principle, “To serve my King and destroy the French”!!

20. The other major plank of their argument was that Nelson opposed that “damnable doctrine of Wilberforce and his hypocritical allies”.

We were all supposed to believe Wilberforce only dealt with slavery.

We were sold a bill of goods!!!

Richard Drayton has pointed out the document in which the statement occurred had nothing to do with slavery and I have shown his hypocritical allies to have been Pitt the younger!!

So, we can actually dismiss much of the report from 2 decades ago …. and of course your point amplified to now include racism and white supremacy!!

Nelson expressed no opinions that could lead one to conclude he was pro or anti slavery, at least that have been revealed to date!!

The whole exercise was thus a waste of time and money!!

…. but the enjoyment and education made it all worthwhile!!

21. So you meant tell Bushie… that a HC scholar SERIOUSLY expects that if Nelson’s statue was erected to celebrate white supremacists and RACISTS … it would have SAID SO on the inscription….? That the ‘KKK boys’ would have written that about themselves..?

What the hell!!!

No wonder he thinks that the brutish animals who raped and lynched Blacks for hundreds of years were kind, Quaker, christians – after all THAT IS WHAT THEY SAID IN THEIR WRITINGS.

This man John is a johnny….

22. The point of my letter to the editor of Nation Publishing was, of course, not simply to criticize their anemic editorial in the Sunday Sun, but to try to spur them to assume the leadership role in the community that they should as the dominant print media. Has everyone given up hope that the Nation could again be what it was 35 years ago?

23. https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2017/11/nelson-statue.pdf

Ok, so here is the extract of the report published by BU!!

The GOB has already paid for the investigation and has been advised what to do!!

The extract outlines the advice.

24. @ PLT
    Has everyone given up hope that the Nation could again be what it was 35 years ago?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Eva long-time since boss…
    De Nation shiite!!

Bushie explained long ago… before you came back to BU …or even back to Barbados.
    The Nation is NOT a Bajan business, indeed, it is ANTI-Barbados.

The Nation was the FIRST ‘weapon of brass destruction’ that was captured by the enemies of Barbados, in their Regional thrust to bring those proud ‘so and sos’ to their knees.
    Sold out by Harold Hoyte the boss traitor.

They then went about telling Bajans that we should sell everything else to the highest bidder
    …our Banks
    …our utilities
    …our businesses
    …our supermarkets
    …man EVERY SHIITE.
    …and cussing people like Bushie who condemned the lotta ignorance.

Now if a Bajan wants to shit, he has to wait for somebody name Boohdahl in Trickidad to say it is OK, …if Baje wants a loan, some Canadian or Trini will say how much and when…
    …and if we want a job, (as a porter, guard or clerk) we gotta beg a Trini.
    (if yuh want a REAL big job, then emigrate to a sensible island like St Lucia or Tortola hear…?)

The NATION has been the ARCHITECT of our current shiite status …with their CSME propaganda, and anti-barbados rhetoric…..
    Them, Arthur and Enuff…

What Nation what??!!
    Only place they leading Bajans is to perdition….

25. Long before we knew of Sir Hilary, Trevor Marshall and other progressive black nationalists were calling for the removal of Nelson. The real embarrassment here is that after 63 years of rule , the BLPDLP have allowed this monstrosity to remain in our capital city. Their apologists should be equally ashamed. The only suitable place for the piece of iron is at the bottom of the Careenage.

26. So, we already got a report with recommendations from evry since!!!

Nuff money no doubt passed!!!

Clearly the report is now compromised.

So we see Hilary Beckles run to the Caricom HOGs to make a formal request.

So, who is in Caricom?

We see Haiti joined on 2nd July 2002.

What was happening in Haiti 200 years earlier?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Leclerc

How was Nelson impacting Haiti at the time?

Well, if you look at Haiti’s history, here is what you will find!!

Leclerc arrived in February 1802 with 40,000 troops and attempted to reintroduce slavery.

How could he possibly have done that when Nelson and the Royal Navy should have stopped the French fleet dead?

Easy, Peace of Amiens, no Nelson, no Royal Navy to intervene and save Haiti!!

Yellow fever hit the French troops hard so they needed reinforcements.

The French ended up sending 80,000 troops many of whom succumbed to Yellow Fever.

Nelson’s absence because France and England were at peace permitted this to happen.

“By October 1802, Leclerc wrote to Bonaparte advocating for a war of extermination, declaring that “We must destroy all the blacks of the mountains–men and women–and spare only children under 12 years of age. We must destroy half of those in the plains and must not leave a single colored person in the colony who has worn an epaulette.” In that letter to Bonaparte, Leclerc also lamented his assignment, declaring “My soul is withered, and no joyful thought can ever make forget these hideous scenes.”[5] In the meantime, more black and mulatto army officers had defected, including Jean Jacques Dessalines, Alexandre Pétion and Henri Christophe. After Christophe massacred several hundred Polish soldiers at Port-de-Paix following his defection, Leclerc ordered the arrest of all remaining black colonial troops in Le Cap, and executed 1000 of them by tying sacks of flour to their neck and pushing them off the side of ships.[6],”

Hostilities recommenced in 1803 …. Napoleonic Wars.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Napoleonic_Wars

Nelson returns blockading French ports in Europe and harassing the French leading up to Trafalgar.

Reinforcements from France stop!!

Yellow fever does its work and the Haitians finish the French.

Haiti become independent on 1st January 1804.

Haiti and Nelson are inextricably tied together.

How many blacks died in Haiti??

How many were saved by Nelson??

Leclerc’s statue

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Leclerc#/media/File:Statue_leclerc.JPG

It will be interesting to see how the HOGs go, especially Haiti.

These people are lunatics who don’t have a clue about their own history!!

Let’s now look at Guadeloupe!!

27. But first, ….

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haitian_Revolution

It has recently been estimated that the slave rebellion resulted in the death of 350,000 Haitians and 50,000 European troops

But for Nelson, these numbers would have been higher!!

Battle of the Nile, 1st Aug 1798 was the key!!

28. Now Guadeloupe!!

Napoleon sent Richepanse to reintroduce slavery at the same time as Haiti.

I have seen a figure of 10,000 persons from Guadeloupe who died.

The reintroduction of slavery was completed, unlike Haiti.

29. …. and America benefitted!!!!

Napoleon’s dream of an empire in the Americas were dashed by Nelson!!

But he needed cash to fund the war, 1803-1815.

So, because he could not get forces across the Atlantic, Nelson, you guessed it, he was forced to sell Louisiana to America, Louisiana Purchase.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Louisiana_Purchase

Nelson again!!!

Barbados America link through Nelson

Our historians (and others) are completely out to lunch and are so twisted by hatred they can’t think straight!!

30. William Skinner December 5, 2017 at 11:20 PM #
    Long before we knew of Sir Hilary, Trevor Marshall and other progressive black nationalists were calling for the removal of Nelson. The real embarrassment here is that after 63 years of rule , the BLPDLP have allowed this monstrosity to remain in our capital city. Their apologists should be equally ashamed. The only suitable place for the piece of iron is at the bottom of the Careenage.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

You need to do some reading on your own and ignore what is told you!!

31. @ Bush Tea who wrote ” Bushie says throw Nelson in the sea next to the Stavronika ”

Great idea. It can be a Tourist attraction for scuba divers.

32. Haiti will probably ask for the Statue!!!!!!

33. The Toronto District School Board (TDSB) is investigating a disturbing comment allegedly made by a substitute teacher at a Scarborough elementary school last week.

Abigail Francis, whose son attends sixth grade at Norman Cook Public School, says 11-year-old Isaiah came home upset last Tuesday after he was asked to do a poetry assignment titled All the Places We Love. “Isaiah wanted clarity on the question and the teacher responded, ‘It’s like home sweet home, or for you, in a dark alleyway like a crackhead,’ ” claims Francis.

http://toronto.citynews.ca/2017/12/05/toronto-teacher-accused-of-making-racist-remark-to-black-student/

34. @Bernard

It is clear where BU stands on the issue of Nelson statue, no ifs or buts.

Why dont you treat the word rassshole as interjectory?

35. Maybe the time has come for the Bajan to stop asking peoples’ permission to dethrone Nelson. Or doing anything else.

Somebody somewhere must have a piece of heavy equipment

And on occasion that D9, or whatever, has reason to pass up Broad Street at 3 am – ah morning

With the dump raised

And said frontal lobe

Could be properly extended in his general direction at an appointed time

When coincidentally a rocking engine just happens to be following

And Horatio screams – flat like a pancake

Dumped in the careenage

Maybe a necklace, made of dynamite could do a better job

In any event, could there be any possible, better reason, for going to jail

36. @David
    But is it in or adjacent to Heroes Square? I think it makes for a powerful juxtaposition in many ways. The problem is the dominance of Nelson. Rather than move it, elevate the presence of our National Heroes so that they are dominant. #justanotherview

37. Enuff let us agree to the thrust of your comment, the status quo must change. We cant be promoting symbols to create consciousness in Bajans in 2017 yet have Nelson so prominantly located.

38. Peter Lawrence Thompson December 5, 2017 at 10:00 PM #

Achievement equals talent, luck, climbing on others’ shoulders, determination, perseverance, humility, supportive parents.
    Those of us who took advantage of this have a duty to destroy privilege (class).

39. David

We are constantly promoting people who think like him, Nelson

They will NEVER be a Bajan government that would have him removed

Why! They are all Nelsons

40. We cannot change the past or the present. We can only attempt to manage the future. Maybe those who have learned the lesson of history are condemned to live in it.

We need to stop overly concerning ourselves about where we came from and concern ourselves with where we are going.

I don’t care if the statue stays or is dumped in the sea. I do care that there is public space in Bridgetown where citizens can congregate.

41. America might want it too!!!

Nelson forced Napoleon into the Louisiana sale.

An alternative might be leave the statue where it is and add two more lines on the plinth.

The first will attest to his contribution to the saving of black lives in Haiti over the period 1802 to 1804

The second will explain his role in the Louisiana purchase which benefitted America.

Beside the three already stated on the plinth these may address the ignorance that exists in Barbadians and its historians regarding Nelson’s contribution to Black people in Haiti and the West Indies and his place in American History.

This way everybody is happy!!

… but for heavens sakes, find somebody who knows how to spell and doesn’t embarrass us again!!

42. John December 6, 2017 at 7:24 AM #

Are we going to change the name of the hospital?

43. Hal Austin December 6, 2017 at 5:51 AM #
    Peter Lawrence Thompson December 5, 2017 at 10:00 PM #
    Achievement equals talent, luck, climbing on others’ shoulders, determination, perseverance, humility, supportive parents.
    Those of us who took advantage of this have a duty to destroy privilege (class).

My feeling about the privilege I got by going to HC is perhaps a bit different.

I think there should be investment in children with ability.

They should get more done for them than other children based on their ability.

Sounds like heresy.

BUT …. they should also get the clear message that they owe the country that afforded them the privilege and in turn contribute to its success.

That message gets across to all children better if we have examples who do make the sacrifice and go the extra mile.

A sense of duty should be instilled in them from young, in their homes and at school.

Do your duty …. which may mean more work in later life for persons with ability.

44. Hal Austin December 6, 2017 at 7:29 AM #
    John December 6, 2017 at 7:24 AM #
    Are we going to change the name of the hospital?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

Well the Queen will not live forever and the powers that be here in Barbados may decide after public consultations and deliberations to name it after Tom Dick or Harry …. Charles perhaps!!!

45. https://www.tide-forecast.com/locations/Bridgetown-Barbados/tides/latest

Well, the high tides are now receding.

By Saturday they will be below 0.7 metres.

It will be interesting to see if the manhole situation improves after the impact of the Super Moon on tides recedes.

46. Ping Pong howw is it possible to untangle decisions made in the present from the past as it affects the future?

47. Come on David…
    If you were of a certain hue, would YOU not want to forget the past too?
    Do you think that REASONABLE people such as Money B are proud of our history…?
    More particularly of theirs?

It takes a complete idiot – without ANY guile, … to claim such pride….
    probably also need to be a scholar…

Bushie understands where Ping Pong is coming from -even thought he is completely wrong.

BTW PP
    (We cannot change the past or the present….”
    The ONLY way to change the future is to change the present.
    ((c) Bushie 2017) 🙂

48. David December 6, 2017 at 7:53 AM #
    Ping Pong howw is it possible to untangle decisions made in the present from the past as it affects the future?

Due diligence!!

Just make sure you think before you act and get as many facts as you can.

Then you will minimize the risk of error and making yourself into a fool!!

Simple really!!!

People do it routinely on a daily basis!!

49. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“It takes a complete idiot – without ANY guile, … to claim such pride….
    probably also need to be a scholar…”

You would be shocked of how many millions of such “guileless idiots” still do exist.., and how many more millions of those with raw, deliberate and unapologetic “guile who claim such pride” also exist…out of the 5% population of “whites” on the earth.

50. @John

what is the definition of due diligence?