Heather Cole

As shocking as the title of this article is, it is nothing but the truth; the two sided truth. First of all, on October 10, 2017, the Cabinet of the Government of Barbados discussed the use of RH anti- littering signs at bus stops and reached a decision that the signage was offensive and were to be removed. The Minister of Transport duly informed the Board of Management which hastily enforced the decision to remove the signs. The signs were an opportunity to emphatically create awareness of littering on the island as the letters had resonated to become a powerful marketing tool.

Prior to this decision reaching the public domain, and the signage at the bus stops being removed, on **, the Barbados Underground ran the most successful marketing campaign in the history of Barbados, with an article under the title Remove This RH Sign – Chinese Sign Greets Visitors to Sam Lord’s Castle in Barbados and signage in Chinese at the construction site of the Sam Lords Castle, was removed in less than 24 hours.

Now that governments decision is now in the public domain, one has to wonder of its intent. The abbreviation can be interpreted to mean the most unique Barbadian words on the planet. It is quite strange that they had only then realized that those words which were mostly likely in existence since the day of slavery were offensive enough to merit a discussion in Parliament. They came to power found those words and will no doubt leave office and those words will still in be existence in Barbados until perpetuity because they are already ingrained in the Barbadian psyche. That being the case government banning the signs was just a time wasting exercise.

Secondly, in terms of what is found to be offensive, the people of Barbados have to date gathered a litany of acts this administration has committed that they deem offensive, yet, the government has not issued directives for remedies. The acts are wide and varied and need not not be mentioned in this article. When one considers that the Minister who has responsibility for Transportation sat in that Cabinet meeting and did not have the same sense of urgency to fix the ton of problems that the Transport Board faces one finds his failure to act offensive.

The Board does not have enough buses to supply a reliable service to the public. The current fleet of buses is aging and in a state of despair not even fit to be on the roads. They are leaky, with torn seating and constantly break down for repairs. There has been misuse of funds and staff under duress caused by poor working condition. There was a recent island wide strike by the bus operators. Then there is the deplorable state of the roads which are filled with pot holes and even the provision of a road for the people of White Hall facilitating their commute to and from work. One can therefore be at a loss that of all the things that are on his plate seeking urgent action, that the Minister responsible for Transport had the audacity and the time to take action to remove signs from 3 bus stops. It is indeed a sign of the RH times.

FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO SERIOUS ABOUT THE MESSAGE OF THE ANTI-LITTERING CAMPAIGN, BUMPER STICKERS CAN BE OBTAINED BY SUBMITTING YOUR NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS TO “ADOPT A STOP” BY IN-BOXING THEM ON FACEBOOK.

193 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – A Sign of the RH Times”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

More the reason to see Lashley never elected to parliament again…he is a national disgrace to the island, in more ways than one.

2. What was wrong with the Right Honourable sign?

What Cabinet should discuss and have urgent action on, is the RH garbage littering the whole place…

3. Can not the Chief Licensing Officer determine too, the location and nature of stickers, that are allowed to be displayed on vehicles?
    Immorality, in form, for means nor to end should be endorsed as part of accepted behavior.

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I bet that hypocrite Lashley sits in his office all day saying “rasshole” at everything, especially at the blogs….punish him, vote him out….

……he is desperate to keep that diplomatic passport. ..take it away from him.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Heather

Surely, you jest!

You can’t be serious that the Cabinet of Barbados had time to discuss and, worse yet, make a decision on something as silly as the RH signs. This is proof that this incompetent lot has lost its way, or rather don’t know the way. The country is in the worst shape since 1627 and the best Cabinet can do is to take down a sign at a bus stop. What about the economy? Are they going to discuss and fix that too?

If the sign was offensive that would have been a matter for the police not the Cabinet.

6. Caswell, I am not joking it was discussed in the Cabinet Meeting.

7. Hmmm…..Cabinet met,had an agendaed item,voted on it and crucially acted on it to its completion…..now this is remarkable in the annals of the history of this govt and as such should be applauded that in its 11th hour it proved its detractors wrong.

Could some one explain how the morals,presumably translated as the acceptable societal norms of a country, are being traduced by this sign whose meaning is yet to be given credence by its owner?

8. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

It took decades to stem the illegal dumping habit of filthy Bajans.

All that work was undone by the idiot cabinet’s tipping fees.

Now we are back to the 1980s with gullies filling up with garbage and the sides of country roads, directly in the sight of visitors, contaminated with same.

So, demonstrating once again their financial illiteracy, this DLP gov’t has proven than the cure is more expensive than prevention.

There was never any chance of economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

It must be really nice to live in their little bubble.

9. Of course the glaring hypocrisy is that the very political parties are about to stick posters and billboards all over Barbados with no plan to remove them. The result is litter and defacement.

10. Imagine that………..

Dr. David Estwick had to BEG for an audience with the Cabinet to discuss his alternative economic policies, which, to this day, the inept DLP administration decided to not implement them……………

…………. but this same Cabinet could meet to discuss “RH signs” and made a swift decision to remove them.

Wow!!!!!

11. How could Bajans ever be innovative if that which is innate cannot be expressed in all fora?

Who is this linguistic god we serve who could refuse the mouthings emanating from deep within the loin?

This rasssoul talk about innovation was never more than lip service.

So its alright for rassssoul FJS to be a Greco-Roman but the rassssoul he is, and is constantly doing, cannot be properly described in the Cabinet or Parliament of Barbados.

12. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol….that is because lies are truth and truths are lies in their warped and diseased minds.

13. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

What wrong with wunnuh doh. Wunnuh say the people suffer from implementation deficit. Now that they prove wuhnuh wrong ,wunnuh vex. Compliment the cabinet nuh.

14. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Ring the RH bell !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Let’s start rebuilding this country.

15. All that is needed is a can of green paint and a paint brush. LEAVE the ww SIGN AND COVER

THE RH LETTERS.

STOP LITTERING!!!!

16. WW means Wrasse Whole. I am a fisherman and Wrasse is a fish. lol

17. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

FB at 10:20 AM

That is a good idea. The only problem is that the electorate will have full time jobs removing plenty offensive posters. Especially those that offend our common sense and credibility.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bernard Codrington. November 21, 2017 at 10:13 AM #
    “What wrong with wunnuh doh. Wunnuh say the people suffer from implementation deficit. Now that they prove wuhnuh wrong ,wunnuh vex. Compliment the cabinet nuh”

If only we can see similar alacrity in implementing ‘corrective’ measures being demonstrated in regard to the massive sewage problem on the South Coast.

The economy is under attack from a home-grown environmental terrorist called ‘Disregard for Public Sanitation’.

The authorities- despite the many warnings- are playing Russian roulette with the public health and economic well-being of Barbados.

On the horizon, possibly lies Barbados’s environmental equivalent of NY’s 9/11.

Keep fiddling in unhealthy pools of shit and see if you don’t end up in a quagmire of economic jobbie.

19. BC

ah see, yuh plagiarised my comment….guh long.

20. Reuters has just reported that Robert Mugabe has just resigned but this lot that that we have are holding on like leeches.

21. @ Miller…..”keep fiddling in unhealthy pools of shit and see if you don’t end up in a quagmire of economic jobbie”……
    These morons are no better than the slave owning class of the past if we are to believe research done by JM Opal Of McGill as submitted by Hants.As reported by the Royal Society,the planters forced their slaves to spread urine and faeces for fertilizer…..leading to high rates of miscarriage and still births.As the little fellow from St Lucy is fond of saying’yuh got to be careful’.This is still a highly successful tourist destination,so far.It could change.After all we were once a country that managed its financial resources well enough to avoid 20 downgrades in a now successive 9 year period.This DLP administration has the record of wrecking the stability of Barbados.It is a menace to those of its citizens who do not tow its line unashamedly those whom Bree referred to as stinking dems.

22. Gabriel @12.42 PM

The Chinese with the largest population in the world use human faeces and urine as fertiliser with no correlation with stillbirths and miscarriages.

Why would one kill the goose that lays the golden eggs……so much misinformation out there……
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Human manure: Closing the nutrient loop – Sustainable Food Trust …
    sustainablefoodtrust.org › Articles
    May 15, 2015 – Using human urine and faeces as fertiliser may seem an unappetising concept but it’s been common practice for centuries. In the sewage …

23. The Chinese who came here to build brought that same habit and were roundly scolded by the Health Authorities when it was seen at Clover Gardens where they were encamped and at the new site of the Elsie Payne Complex when the cook was seen from the van stand peeing on the garden of Chinese cabbage.Its for this reason too that most western folk avoid eating food products originating out of China.Recently Guyana condemned canned fish product having a well known canadian name but originating in china.I have read in the past that human waste in NY is treated and used as fertilizer.The area where it’s done is avoided by most.

24. Caswell

How come one Mugabe gone

Only to let another one rise, in Barbados.

According to PieceUnderTheRock

25. Gabriel

Western intelligence comes out of the limited thinking of the past colonialists who saw all foreign cultures and their habits as inferior.

I am surprised at you for allowing yourself to be brainwashed by western thinking.

26. Richard ‘Lowdown’ Hoad should start a marketing campaign to promote his goat milk…Drink RH goat milk for a superior performance.Caswell might agree.Cabinet might not.

27. From all legal standards can anyone state if the person had obtained permission to place the RH poster on what is legally govt property
    I would assess that unless one has obtained such permission using govt property to promote or adverised is deemed illegal and on such grounds the govt has a right to remove by any means necessary subject to the law of governance

28. Vincent
    Saw a clip recently in North Korea where kids at an early age,like 7,want to kill the american.
    Koreans think nothing of eating dog and it’s colonial thinking which suggest the chinese eat cats I suppose.Its more a culture thing.Im not aware that Europeans or Africans eat dog or cat.

29. Angela
    You have a point.I have my sign ready to be placed on my property, when the bell tolls.NO RH DEMS BOUT HAY.

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I thougt those bus shelters were private property, maintained by private owners.

31. True to form.the blp yardies and operatives never miss a beat in promoting disobedience of the law just in the same manner the operatives were quick to uphold and support the wanne bee terrorist Charles Herbert in his idle threats against barbados best interest

32. Gabriel

I agree with you that food is a cultural thing…..note the records indicate that both Europeans and Africans have eaten human flesh…..also note that the pesticides weedicides and fertilisers are far more damaging than the natural ways of pepper spray mulch and manure….. Urine has in urea and human faeces is manure…..which up to my early days were still practiced with optimum results.

33. Angela Skeete, what do the actions of Michael Carrington promote?

34. “Heather

Do you believe if Angela Skeete was a beneficiary of the client’s monies John Griffiths had to wait on Carrington until court ordered to pay, she would be braying rubbish? What we here is a political yardfowl who is willing to compromise on a principle- that of honesty- because of the political stripes they wear.

35. If littering has so many negative consequences, why do people do it in the first place? The decision to litter is a classic commons dilemma. The first key feature of a commons dilemma is that there is a shared resource, such as a park or streets, which people can choose to maintain, at a cost, or exploit. Because putting litter in a bin is costly in time and effort, unless one is highly civic minded, the cost will exceed the benefit and people will choose to litter. The second characteristic of a commons dilemma is that the individual effects of exploitation are small and so people will typically choose to exploit the resource. If a typical litterer drops just a few, usually small, pieces of litter in a day, the impact may not even be noticeable to that person. The problem arises when these small pieces add up; but people don’t appreciate the effect of these small increments on the overall outcome. Just like few people understand the effect of compound interest rates on their retirement savings, few acknowledge that throwing out small pieces of litter adds up to piles of litter lying on the streets at a later time. In other words, in commons dilemmas individual and collective interests are at odds: each individual is better off littering than not, even if society is worse off if people litter. Robert Frank (2010) calls this “smart for one, but dumb for all”

http://www.nudgeathon.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/CLUB-REPORT.pdf

36. @ David

“Speaking of signs,” you did fantastic job with your Barbados Underground logo.

37. Heather what does the subject matter at hand which you introduced in the forum has to do with Carrington
    Furthermost why keep beating a dead horse in the form of Carrington vs Griffith after all those actions requested by court was satisfactorily attended by client ad defendant
    it seems to me that the continuation of this issues swells openly within the glare and perimeters of political opportunist and disgruntled wanne bee politicians like your self (Heather) whose efforts failed short and miserably in civil duty and or social activism to bring down present govt
    You write an article that clearly invokes a mindset on innuendo and beaded political poop rather than actual facts. Facts which would have shown you that you were headed down a slippery slope before putting pen to paper

38. David all speculation and assumption on your part .
    Question have you heard the other side?
    Well i guess you do what you have to do to promote your forum
    What if i told You there are two sides to the story
    i do not think you would be believe me

39. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Vincent 11: 56 AM

Sorry about that. I somehow missed that submission. In any case I did not want WW&C to understand what I was saying. She does not understand our dialect.

Miller, from another galaxy, seemed to have missed the nuance also. But that is OK. We have to keep at bay these aliens until after the general election.

40. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Keep telling yaself that…

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It just occurred to me that RH could not possibly mean what the Cabinet and others are thinking. As far as I’m concerned the appropriate abbreviation would be “R” since the term that everyone is speculating about is actually a compound word. It should really be: Stop the R littering. LOL!

42. Bajans litter because there is a general sense of being disenfranchised among the majority population. Most Bajans behave as if they are just part of the environment – like the animals for example are…. rather than being equal shareholders in the Barbados cake.

Why would someone who FEELS like ‘nobody’ …ever bother to care for “de big people’s place”? Why would they not dump litter all over the place?
    Why would the CARE how clean it looks?

Why would they make any effort to keep surroundings clean?
    …they are brass bowls – not JAs.

If Bajans felt a sense of ownership and involvement in the country, then cleanliness would follow naturally. When Arthur and enuff decided to import their rich friends in order to attract forex they sent a CLEAR message to young Bajans about their worth…or lack thereof..

The damn ‘problem of littering’ is a problem of LACK OF ENFRANCHISEMENT of the masses of our peoples. The consequence of lack of enfranchisement is a LACK of self esteem.
    Low self esteem leads to low morals, low standards, low productivity, low self-value and ultimately to downgrades, prostitution and finally back to slavery.

Our politicians are so damn stupid and retarded that they do a BETTER JOB of keeping black Bajans down, than Whites possibly could do – if we still had the plantation system.

Imagine when Blacks went into owning Public Service Vehicles a BLACK government could decide to tax them back into poverty.

Imagine Blacks develop a successful Credit Union movement …and a BLACK government gives away the only local bank to foreigners – and then pass Laws to restrict the Credit Unions from investing in profitable business transactions.

Imaging a BLACK government would do everything possible to frustrate a BLACK recycling operation with innovative ideas, and then turn around and try to put a shiite tax on Bushie to raise money to GIVE to Bizzy for doing the same shiite the black man was paying Bushie for….

Imagine a BLACK government could tax BLACK professionals so heavily that many have CHOSEN to give up their professional status…..What a BACKWARDS step…

So tell Bush Tea the truth wunna BU faithful….
    wunna don’t feel like going up Bay Street all like now…. and littering…?

Steupsss
    Ah hope that Ninjaman pee on the damn new Benz

43. Than you Artax.

44. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Heather November 21, 2017 at 7:58 AM “I am not joking it was discussed in the Cabinet Meeting.”

Oh!!! rasshole!!!

lol!!!

45. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Vincent Haynes November 21, 2017 at 1:08 PM “The Chinese with the largest population in the world use human faeces and urine as fertiliser with no correlation with stillbirths and miscarriages.”

So how would you know what is the stillbirth and miscarriage rate in China?

Have you even seen a severely underweight toddler with pain in his belly, and a long roundworm hanging out of his botsie, because his family had no toilet and so the child was exposed to human faeces?

Ahhh!!! I thought not.

Using human faeces as fertilizer is NOT a good idea, because small children who play a lot outdoors will become exposed to intestinal parasites which will cause failure to thrive, pain in the belly, lethargy, inhibit the starving child’s learning (because the parasites are sharing the child’s food supply) etc.

And if the whole family has to take Albendazole for the intestinal parasites, you know that Albendazole may cause birth defects in human fetuses don’t you?

46. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Heather Cole “on October 10, 2017, the Cabinet of the Government of Barbados discussed the use of RH anti- littering signs at bus stops and reached a decision that the signage was offensive and were to be removed

If this is the case, and I don’t know whether it is so or not, all I can say is that the members of our Cabinet would have spent way, way, way too much time in Sunday school.

47. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

Turned them into a RH bunch of goody two shoes.

48. @ Angela Skeete

This Thursday’s venue for “Q in the Community” is the DLP’s George Street Auditorium and it is being sponsored by “Families First.”

Remember, the DLP in indebted to CBC in the amount of $109,609.

As a concerned tax payer, I’m hoping wunnuh RH pay CBC, so as not to accumulate more RH debt.