Jeff Cumberbatch - Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill
Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

They say we gone down de drain,

They say no more could we see happy times again

……………………………………………….

Now is the time to show we patriotism…

We could make it if we try– Black Stalin

Some of the lyrics from the calypso, “We could (sic) make it if we try” performed by Black Stalin as long ago as 1988, have been running through my mind for most of last week, and it is not because, as some wag will be sure to observe, that there is nothing or very little there to impede its progress. Rather, it is because it is eminently possible for me to identify with the sentiments of Stalin’s effort, both as to the comparative direness of our economic situation and the optimistic but simple strategy offered in the hook line that we can make it if (only) we try.

Stalin sings –

Now we country facing its darkest hour,

So our people needs us today more than ever,

But in our fight to recover, if ever you feel to surrender,

It have one little thing I want you always remember

We could make if we try just a little harder…

Our darkest hour would have somehow become even darker still, if that were at all possible, with the news yesterday that the rating agency, Standard & Poor’s had further downgraded the island’s sovereign credit rating from a barely mediocre B- to a lowly CCC+, thereby reducing our bonds to a status below that of junk. And the Ministry of Finance has tried to take this “gentlemanly” mark in stride, attributing it to the challenges posed by our low foreign reserves levels, and declaring itself expectant of an imminent improvement in these and a concomitant diminution of the fiscal deficit. In other words, we will do better next time.

Regrettably perhaps, I am not to be listed among those who consider that the sole answer to our current predicament is to march in protest against the governing administration or even to inveigh for Prime Minister Stuart to advise the Governor General to dissolve the current Parliament and to issue a writ returnable within ninety days for a general election. While this latter initiative would doubtless please some of the contributors to the Brass Tacks talk show, some bloggerati and a growing number of others no end, the more critical mind is driven to contemplate whether this would not amount in effect in that colourful phrase, “ to shifting deck chairs on the Titanic” even as the iceberg of our midnight draws ominously closer. I digress however.

It is here that we might take comfort from Stalin’s lyrics and resolve to at least “try a t’ing”. While our problem might be economic in nature, I am not at all persuaded that the solution lies solely in that discipline, although I make haste to aver that I have no economic training of any kind. A lifetime of learning convinces me, however, that the optimal answer is rarely to be found in one perspective only. Nor, to my mind, is the most effective solution a political one, at least not as politics are traditionally practised in Barbados with a heavy reliance on partisanship; when it has for long been clear that neither side of the customary local political divide has all the answers to our current asperity.

One clear answer would seem to be for the state to engage the minds of all those committed to a soonest improvement in our fortunes; a thesis that would, however, recklessly drive a ZR van through the hoary and crowded streets of local political division. Just look at the consternation that the mere floating of a suggestion that the experienced economic counsel of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur should be resourced to assist the current governing administration in finding a solution to the contemporary morass has evoked among some Barbadians.

The attempt to engage the Cabinet, members of the Social Partnership and other officials in discussion on the matter yesterday (Friday) is of the same laudable order, although I must confess my disappointment at not noticing any members of the so-called alternative government, the Opposition, in attendance. If they were not invited, this would have been a regrettable oversight and a missed opportunity by Government to demonstrate forcefully the collective nature of the existing struggle. If they were in fact invited and failed to attend, then this is equally regrettable on their part, serves as a testament of the unhelpfulness of partisanship in the current context and, perhaps, reveals the true nature of the beast that we will first have to overcome.

Any advance towards bipartisanship or, preferably, non-partisanship in our political context will require first a massive re-education of the local electorate. Indeed, some will argue, not without some cogency, that we may need also to reform the current constitutional praxis that reduces the local formulation of public policy to be a matter for no one else save a hand-picked Cabinet and members of one political group.

I am aware as any that this reformation will require a shifting of the basic norm of our constitutional ethos. This does not come easily, especially since it would require the very authority with the power to alter the existing order to engage in an act of self-destruction. Hence, one of the more effective modes of effecting this shifting is a successful revolution or an overthrow of the constitution itself.

No sane national would seriously advocate this for Barbados at this time and the national psyche would, most assuredly, boggle at this possibility. Nevertheless, as we face our metaphorically darkest hour, traditional thinking will cut little ice. Hence, the logical necessity for a third way that will commit to a renaissance of the Barbadian socio-political compact. Alas, none of those groups that has so far raised a head above the parapet appears to want to do other than to fill the vacuum left by the traditional duopoly.

There is, however, another pertinent adage in which we may take some comfort at this time. The darkest hour, I have been told, comes always just before dawn.

160 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Our Darkest Hour”

1. The DLP may have created the illusion that “we is all one” – but the “poor man” will continue to bear the brunt of the pain of any suggested economic solutions (e.g. more job cuts and taxes).

As a starting point, the Barbados Parliament must be downsized, e.g. reduce the number of MPs and their terms of employment (e.g. pensions). Second, the Government must spend taxpayers’ money wisely and be held accountable for doing so. Third, the Government must implement effective measures for tax/debt collection.

2. charles skeete Avatar
    charles skeete

All of the above might be true but I still believe and I have thrown tis comment in your dish before I still believe that if people of your scholarship rather than wishy washy in commentary had been more critical when things were blatantly wrong then we might not be in this position right now. With respect to Mr Arthur he too ought to bear some criticism for handing back the Government to the DLP when he knew they were incapable of managing the economic affairs and it is hard for me to believe that their is no ulterior motive involved in his now joyful involvement. He should have been statesmanlike and not get on like a wild boy in his dealings with the party who made him what he is and performed the role of Chief Economic advisor to them

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/94232/worrell-innocent

I could believe this, when you are a mere government puppet having your strings pulled and you stop moving and want to do things independently to ehat your puppet master wantd, you will be fired.

Again…central banks were npt created to be a yardfowl gathering for government ministers, in the real world they are independent entities outside the control of dumb politicians.

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/94227/comissiong-challenge-decision-hyatt

Given the governments worrying track record of bad decision making, it makes sense to now question and challenge every decision they have or will make going forward. Thus far thrir incompetence is legendary.

“Comissiong, leader of the People’s Empowerment Party (PEP), said he will be going to the Supreme Court to have Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s permission set aside.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/94231/pm-aren-borrowing

The reality is, no one on the international market will lend the island money, it’s too risky thanks to Fruendel and his gang’s incompetence. ., that is what he should be saying, they cannot borrow anymore money from anyone.,..bottom line, it is not Fiendel’s choice, he has no choice.

5. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

charles skeete March 5, 2017 at 5:39 AM #

Well stated and I could not agree more.

6. The bottom-line is, we have had for far too long the kind of individuals in Barbados, who believe that just because of their academic-credentials, that somehow this entitles them to political office, but who are in want of the vision the ideas necessary to move the island to the next level.

7. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

I am aware as any that this reformation will require a shifting of the basic norm of our constitutional ethos. This does not come easily, especially since it would require the very authority with the power to alter the existing order to engage in an act of self-destruction.
    …………………………………………………………

I am of the opinion that peacefull civil disobedience by closing down the country one day every week by staying at home will force which ever govt to take notice and especially if this is followed up by the private sector refusing to pay into the govt coffers as was threatened in ’91.

We the people do have the power if we were only to unite and try a little harder.

8. As Bushie has been saying now for the last ten years (even when we had money to burn) our asses are headed DIRECTLY for the grass.
    It has nothing to do with economic management; political partisanship; productivity weaknesses or even luck…..
    The wages of shiite is death…. Simple as that.

We have CHOSEN as a nation to focus on shiite…..
    – We have ACCEPTED bribery at the highest level of government as a norm.
    – One of the biggest thieves in our history – robbing thousands of widows and little people (but not stinking Bushie -else wunna would see!!) walking bout FREE and living large…
    – Wuk fun Wuk is not endemic in our public life
    – Our national business is akin to prostitution
    – The Chairman of the Senate is a court-adjudged thief ….and continues merrily along
    – The PM is a now-universally acclaimed idiot
    – The MoF is a dunce – Shiite, even NOW the man thinks that it makes sense to continue writing National bounced cheques to pay unproductive workers…
    – Our Court system is infested with a bunch of racketeers and schemers…
    – Even symbolically, we have accepted bulling and other shiite-stirring as ‘NORMAL’ and as equal to the natural life-producing heterosexual relationships.

Bushie could go on for hours…. but the VERY worse symptom, is that ordinary Bajan brass bowls could not care less …. we don’t give a rass….!!!!
    Our only concern is ‘what can I get out of the situation…..what is my cut…?’

There can only be one possible outcome from such brass bowlery….

Wunna could vote for Froon, Mugabe, Grenville, Come-and-sing, Jeff, …..even Bushie.
    It will NOT make any difference…..the problem is the shiite.

Our ONLY salvation is in sackcloth and ashes….. National repentance, confession, …and national commitment to truth, justice, Law and righteousness. However, it is clear that no consensus exists for any such pathway….not even from the shiite churches.

Prior to the now wholesale sellout of the country by the political class (sealed with the monument to Satan at the Garrison) there was an opportunity for Caswell (or someone of his ilk) to lead a righteous campaign of reform and restoration….. That was an opportunity lost.

If Jeff, Stalin or anyone else thinks that this is our darkest hour, then Bushie has REALLY bad news for them….. wunna ain’t seen nothing yet.

Review the trends since Dec 1 last year…….

9. Well Well,
    Sometimes being unable to borrow is the best way to get out of debt. if you can paY YOUR WAY OUT OF DEBT; GRADUALLY, AT THE END OF THE PERIOD, YOU HAVE PAID OFF YOUR DEBT, WITHOUT INCURRING FURTHER DEBT(WHATEVER YOU BORROW HAS TO BE REPAID) AND ALL THAT IS REQUIRED IS THE PATIENCE AND STICKTOITIVENESS, to hold on until the crisis is passed. As the Minister of Finance said; we intend to earn our foreign exchange and not borrow; even if we could, to incur more debt. This to my mind is the best option.

10. @ David
    Boss….
    Out of respect to the damn school…
    Yuh may have to ban Alvin….

11. “…The Chairman of the Senate is a court-adjudged thief …”
    Really Bushie? There is a President of thE Senate who is blind) and a Leader of
    Government in the Senate, and a Speaker of the house. Who is the Chairman of the Senate; who is a thief?

12. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Alvin Cummins March 5, 2017 at 7:59 AM #

As the Minister of Finance said; we intend to earn our foreign exchange and not borrow; even if we could, to incur more debt.
    ………………………………………………………………..

Chuckle……words are so easy to utter…….but answering these simple words is yet to be done….How,Where,When…..can you answer them Alvin.

I notice that you keep dodging your fellow Cawmerian who is seeking enlightenment your older wiser venerable head……Why?

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

You quite rightly wrote:

“I am aware as any that this reformation will require a shifting of the basic norm of our constitutional ethos. This does not come easily, especially since it would require the very authority with the power to alter the existing order to engage in an act of self-destruction. Hence, one of the more effective modes of effecting this shifting is a successful revolution or an overthrow of the constitution itself”.

But the you spoilt it by suggesting:

“No sane national would seriously advocate this for Barbados at this time and the national psyche would, most assuredly, boggle at this possibility.”

Something radical has to happen to bring this country around. Almost all aspects of national endeavour thrive on corruption and law enforcement agencies are impotent to intervene.

Let’s start at the last election, you should recall that no lesser persons than the Prime Minister and the Attorney General disclosed that they witnessed vote buying. No action was taken. Additionally, almost all the election returns were fraudulent, by not declaring significant expenditure. The returns of the PM and Sinckler were published here on BU. No action was taken.

Little Luke Bjerkham was murdered and law enforcement laid over and played dead but a young father is being dragged through the courts for causing the death of his son in circumstances where everyone acknowledges that the death was caused through inadvertence.

If you have a project that requires planning or some other regulatory permission be prepared to pay or suffer delay or even refusal. This is generally known but no action is ever taken.

If you are a drug lord it is best to have at least one friend in the Cabinet. You could then be given Government contracts to use as a cover for your criminal activity.

I could go on and on but will choose to stop by mentioning one last item of decadence. Recently, at Foundation School a teacher got one of his students pregnant. Rather than jail the SOB, he is allowed to marry the student, and as you know a wife can’t be compelled to testify against her husband. But just last year, he and another teacher, from the same school, celebrated the birth of their child. They were still a happy couple until the student got pregnant. A fight broke out in the school’s canteen as a result of that revelation. The action taken against the fighting teachers was merely counselling by the school’s guidance counsellor. Rather than deal with this nastiness, the Ministry of Education is in cover up mode.

The little niceties that we practice amounts to burying our collective heads in the sand but I suggest that this criminal empire called Barbados needs radical reform.

14. @ Jeff, the Constitution was written by the political class for the political class. We will remain in this cycle of a few politicans of the ruling Administration making poor decisions until there is a Constitution that empowers the people.

I remain grounded in the belief that given their dismal performance that has led to failure of the economy, that the PM must call an election and his administration must resign.

How can they clean up their mess when the MOF does not understand what he is doing yet hires Owen Arthur at the eleventh hour to help him enforce his (MOF) policies?

If this was at the end of year one I would be sympathetic but I cannot be as this is year 9 and I have had to consider every economic decision and its impact over the last 9 years.

15. angela Skeete Avatar

@charles skeete

The question as to how we get here should be asked of Owen who should tell the Barbadian populace what his role in borrowing at high interest rate and runaway spending on projects which were unable to buffer barbados economic stability and which has led barbados down a path of a highly ridiculous debt burden,
    What barbadians are witnessing is what is the ending of bad political strategies over many years which has led the country down a dangerous path of economic peril

16. @ Jeff Cumberbatch

Where does the ole man begin to remark on this masterpiece?

As difficult as it is I will essay this task and will in my way try to keep people who come today here focused on what you have said here in this profound plea.

I am going to use what you wrote (AND HEAVILY SO) Mr.. Cumberbatch, so that those you join and who, in their customary vein, do not read what came before, will be reminded to go back to what you wrote before they comment.

You said an I quote, “Any advance towards bipartisanship or, preferably, non-partisanship in our political context will require first a massive re-education of the local electorate.

“Indeed, some will argue, not without some cogency, that we may need also to reform the current constitutional praxis that reduces the local formulation of public policy to be a matter for no one else save a hand-picked Cabinet and members of one political group.”

I smile and hope my “smile” provides a cyberspace projection of the state of my mind, reflecting pleasure at what you have written.

Should I say more? I fear that my saying more, will “unfairly” complexion your cogent statements but Jeff, we are on that side of the slide where we sliding out and we can do so gracefully OR tumble down like the Walrus Richard Sealy in his expedition at Acccra to assure the public that Accra was safe.

I am among those who so argue.

We THE PEOPLE CANNOT AFFORD TO BE CONSTRAINED BY THIS DUOPOLY especially when we have Fumbles on the left and Mugabe on the right.

You continue.

“I am aware as any that this reformation will require a shifting of the basic norm of our constitutional ethos. This does not come easily, especially since it would require the very authority with the power to alter the existing order to engage in an act of self-destruction.”

You are absolutely right, a change in the constitution will require such a thing and I, ole man that i am, tell you that it can be done and WILL SHOW YOU (and you specifically, and ONLY YOU JEFF, how it can be done)

Purely for academic reasons of course.

Back to your comment.

“Hence, one of the more effective modes of effecting this shifting is a successful revolution or an overthrow of the constitution itself.”

You are speaking of a “revolution” in the classic sense Jeff of “A revolution (from the Latin revolutio, “a turn around”) is a fundamental change in political power or organizational structures that takes place in a relatively short period of time when the population rises up in revolt against the current authorities.”

Ergo your qualifier that is appended to that remark which then reads…

“No sane national would seriously advocate this for Barbados at this time and the national psyche would, most assuredly, boggle at this possibility.”

And you conclude with “Nevertheless, as we face our metaphorically darkest hour, traditional thinking will cut little ice. Hence, the logical necessity for a third way that will commit to a renaissance of the Barbadian socio-political compact…”

It is now time for the squared brackets

[[ I will copy and paste this propitious? definition of revolution from the internet seen at http://www.revolution.com in fact it is their mission statement which reads “Our mission is to build disruptive, innovative companies that offer more choice, convenience and control in the lives of consumers and businesses.

There is a “revolution” and Third Way that at this time has occurred purely because Bajans, of whom i nuber find our lives disrupted by these nitwits.

I said the other day that “I WAS GLAD” that we were in this state of o me miserum, but my joy lies in the fact that it has FORCED PEOPLE TO open our eyes to what is going on around us.

AGAINST THEIR WILL!!!

This can be done and I do not only hint of a Third Way but respectfully suggest that this THIRD WAY has been created specifically, precipitated by these clowns, for such an explicit purpose.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“One clear answer would seem to be for the state to engage the minds of all those committed to a soonest improvement in our fortunes; a thesis that would, however, recklessly drive a ZR van through the hoary and crowded streets of local political division. Just look at the consternation that the mere floating of a suggestion that the experienced economic counsel of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur should be resourced to assist the current governing administration in finding a solution to the contemporary morass has evoked among some Barbadians.”

It is disappointingly unfortunate that your prayer to the angel of patriotism is sounding like a roll of thunder- without that energizing bolt of nationalistic lightning- to the hollowed ears of an administration clogged with jingoistic wax in a drum of partisan political arrogance.

The current administration is like a drunk on skid row with a bottle of 100% proof alcoholic spirits in his lap with one hand holding a begging bowl stretched out to others begging for help while the other filthy hand is holding a loaded moral gun pointing at those who dare to do their Christian duty like the good Samaritan in that Biblical fable.

Even at this late hour of economic ruin the current administration still continues to travel down a cul-de-sac littered with defensive weapons of misplaced braggadocio and loaded with self-adulatory arrogance that beggars belief.

Despite the MoF’s recent bout of contrition the veil of deceit was removed when the offer to commandeer OSA in a proactive ruse to cushion the political blowback from the expected S&P downgrade to below junk-bond status was stamped ‘Not Approved” by the Alpha political primate.

One would never be able to outdo, in a bar full of inebriated monkeys, that video display of political drunkenness laced with the bravery of pompous jumped-up harangue fully punctuated with ‘decimalized’ marks of ‘know-it-all and large-and-in-charge’.

So let us tell the credit rating agencies to take their downgrading reports to the same place where the monkey likes to hide his ‘nuts’. ‘Barbados does not need to borrow from overseas but will do just right from earning forex, right’?

What does that administration think foreign direct investment is?
    A gift to people of Barbados like the Chinese grant to build a Cultural & Performing Arts centre at Brandons since 2012?

Where would the money to build Hyatt and to takeover the Four Seasons project come from if not from foreign lenders? How would the much needed infrastructural projects like sewage management to save the same tourism industry, the last ‘merely’ functioning cylinder of the country’s economic engine?

And what about that garrulously promoted and overdue sugar industry revitalization project an absolute necessity to produce local molasses to protect the brand “Barbados Rums”?

Will the printing press at Thomas de la Rue be commandeered (like the local NIS) on a ‘print now we will pay’ basis to finance these projects the same way public sector workers are going to be paid in the future with monopoly money in the burgeoning Mickey mouse economy?

Well, there is always the foreign banker of last resort.

Until the politically jingoistic current administration comes clean and admit it is badly in need of help, both local and foreign, clarion calls like yours concocted in a bugle of patriotism would continue to go unheard and unheeded to those who can truly make a difference.

18. independent voice Avatar
    independent voice

Building an economy on false illusions is a recipe for economic disaster fueled by high debt and out controlled spending which has been done for years.

19. @ Vincent

I know that this is going to be difficult for Dompey and Angela and certainly Heather Alvin and Hal when he comes from church.

But you see your contribution bout tekking off a day from work every week?

That is not only simplistic but it firmly ensconced you in the echelon of the bajans who are disconnected with the plight of people who you are encouraging in this action that puts their already tenuous incomes at risk with this most illiterate of answers.

Now the thing is that a man like you should not be promoting any idea that would seek to get a man fired from he pick.

Whu even your oss Mia pick saturday for the people to walk bout in the hot sun and protest.

You went?

I had prayed for flood waters but the fell on Friday and nt Saturday.

20. Wunna think it is easy for Jeff or any other clever educated Bajan of high potential to assist in placing these corrupt bastards on the straight and narrow. I know gents that were employed directly or indirectly by Govt/ Politicians who were summarily fired and have been looking for paid work for years. These people professionally disagreed vehemently with those of high authority but questionable ethics or ability, this was their only transgression–caring and being correct. Should Jeff decide to rough up the corrupt ones he would immediately suffer the consequences as if he had incurred a personal brain drain. He would be a fool to go there unless he received very serious financing on a long term basis. As you should know Jeff is nobody’s fool!

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ angela SkeeteMarch 5, 2017 at 8:29 AM
    “The question as to how we get here should be asked of Owen who should tell the Barbadian populace what his role in borrowing at high interest rate and runaway spending on projects which were unable to buffer barbados economic stability and which has led barbados down a path of a highly ridiculous debt burden,
    What barbadians are witnessing is what is the ending of bad political strategies over many years which has led the country down a dangerous path of economic peril..”

You see why OSA can be aptly described as more stupid than Balaam’s jackass to allow himself to be so humiliatingly submissive to abusive attacks coming from the same people begging him to carry the burden of deadweight of the sticky end of the dirty dicky stick the DLP has used to flagellate the people of Barbados over the last 7 years?

The donkey is so overburdened with blind vengeance that he is unable to see the political forest for the economic trees.

But you tell him angela ac, and like the angel of retribution give it to him good and proper until the asinine fool finds a way to remove his blinkers of vengeance and see those who are really taking more than his mickey in this partisan political game of playing musical chairs with his ass as piggy-in-the-middle soon to sit on the discarded bench just like his Ave Maria girlfriend.

The Bajan economy (ad society) s not at stake here as they would want the populace to believe but the electoral outcome of a deadly game of partisan political ‘one-upmanship’ and ‘ego-inflation’ in the blood sport called Bajan politics.

If this administration and the Opposition were genuine in their scary warnings of economic Armageddon, then they would be nationalistically magnanimous about their country soon to be admitted to the ICU for very sick economies and would put aside their differences and like the mythical people of Israel appoint OSA as their self-acclaimed saviour reincarnated as Moses to make him look like a godlike national hero to surpass even GHA and EWB.

22. @Jeff

Wily typically leaves sarcastic and biting posts, however even Wily has to admit Jeff’s latest has “some” merit. “Some” that is until one realizes that do do what Jeff is suggesting can only be accomplished with some real blood letting and a lot of Stalinism.

Perhaps some radical Bagan’s could kidnapp a few American students and Mr. Trump would then send in some military forces to free said students and take over the country. I’m sure most Bagan’s would be happy with an instant GREEN CARD. Well on second thought, GREEN CARD suggests work that a lot of Bagan’s consider as inhibiting their LIME time.

23. The media has given OSA a free open forum to knock down as many trees in his path he dislike
    As yet to hear anyone in the media asked OSA the hard economic questions which parallels his policies to economic doom and gloom he has decided to remove himself from any of the economic pitfalls attributed to his magical poweress during his day as barbados MOF and rather take his economic big stick to pick on low picking fruit under the guise he is helping the country
    For one his past position on providing economic relief for barbados fell on deaf ears hard to see outside his jockeying for political position how his new or old idea of providing advice of bitternes for barbados would be swallowed by an entire nation
    What OSA needs to do is keep mouth shut instead of throwing hot coals into a raging fire

24. Jeff

We would like to be in general agreement, we’re please to inform.

But, because you have eliminated all practical possibilities for transformation you have arrived, once more, at the position ante.

You cite education as a possible way out. We doubt it.

This country has had so much mis-education that instinctive abilities have been laid waste.

The education you talk about teaches children how to obey ………. not how to think.

Therefore ‘education’ is a non-starter and has been historically.

We understand that your position is essentially that of an ‘officer of the court’

As such you are limited from exploring other means. And puts you on the side of those enforcing the Constitution. A document written by unenlightened men.

Your philosophy has always existed in human history.

There have always been those establishment structures which claimed legality and therefore untouchable by those who posit radical transformation.

Unlike you and our master-teacher Black Stalin, we are not persuaded that the established governing system can go any further. That it has reached its nadir.

No set of systems last forever. And this is not only about Barbados. Universally, governance systems are more and more coming under severe pressure.

We have no certainty as to what must come afterwards but we are sure to make many mistakes as we search for remedies. But we must search. Not be teetered to Westminster. For they are facing severest challenges as well.

Should small island states, because of a presumed dexterousness, not be in the vanguard of social transformation as an export product?

Remember, western democracy started in Greece, in city states like Barbados.

Or should we continue, like lying ducks, awaiting a fate determined elsewhere.

You see Jeff, when cultures start to fail no amount of social partnerships, no amount of politics of inclusion, no amount of tinkering, no amount of re-imagining, no amount of anything could turn around decades of missed opportunities for gradual change coming from below.

Not that we should not try. But we have to seek new systems at the same time. We have to be able to walk and chew gum. Not lock ourselves into structures that are collapsing around us.

For example, instead of Barrow embracing the radicals of the 1960s and 1970s, he passed the Public Order Act. And we have suffered from acts like these perpetrated by elites in this country on a daily basis.

Instead of the Ministry of Education embracing the radical ideas of our master-teacher, John Cumberbatch and a group of progressive teachers around him, they were suppressed into oblivion.

People like your teacher, C Q Williams, were seen as the standard bearers. Not your name sake who would have given his life for Barbados.

At some point what our friends Bushie and PUDR call karma must enter the affairs of men, to deliver justice.

Maybe, Barbados must now meet the social justice which keeps our universe in balance. And not us, not Stalin, not you or anybody else can delay the workings of Pachamama.

25. Hear this yardfowl bray. Who asked OSA to chair the economic council again? Who told Sinckler that he needed to get the approval of Cabinet if we are to believe the reports?

He certainly makes more sense than Stuart who in response to the recent downgrade by S&P suggest that Barbados as a country cannot be downgraded and we should not worry because Barbados is not in the market to borrow.

Lord please help to show us the way where boundless ignorance exist. https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/03/05/pm-stuart-barbados-cannot-be-downgraded/

26. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Piece

Chuckle…….I had expected that reply from you(by the way how much,so I can put in my figure)……no gain without pain…..one must at times go hungry for ones country…….as opposed to braying.

You see what has ruffled your feathers and every one else of the political class is the thought of giving power to the people.

…..not one of your lot would open that Pandoras box because it would hold good in the future for whichever new or old party is elected and who does not meet with wishes of the populi.

Carry on smartly with your political touting and false prophecies…….you might even get the Dems back in power….hehehehehe(sorry fuh tiefing de jackass bray fum yuh).

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Alvin…….if Sinckler and Fruendel could borrow, they would, cause they are both too lazy to use their brains, but they CANNOT BORROW and will never be able to borrow again, no one will lend them…it’s a failed economy, they caused the economy to fail.

The government should have stopped borrowing and running up debt and wasting taxpayers money 8 years ago ….now they are forced not to borrow…, end of story.

You need to stop lying like Fruendel Alvin, shame on you.

28. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

All the debt and lians Fruendel and his Idiots ran up for the last 8 years should all be called in at the same time….the entities owed should demand their money from Fruendel so the people whose children and grandchildren have to pay that debt would know the exact amount owed.

…… the people have a problem on the island, very few lawyers impress me in Barbados but I cannot find myself impressed by not politician/minister…they are all a bunch of dumb jackasses.

“Our Court system is infested with a bunch of racketeers and schemers…”

After witnessing the gross stupidity displayed by defense attorneys in the supreme court, I can now say with absolute certainty that cases are not won by lawyers doing their jobs, many of them do not know how to be lawyers, many cases are won by collusion and conspiracy against clients…instigated by lawyers….

……if something is not done and at this point and with those petty mentalities it’s highly unlikely. …the mess in the supreme court can only deteriorate further….just like everything else on the island.

29. It is time for the PM to remain silent pernamently. It is folly to make the statements that he is making. These are alternative facts. Barbados has no control over the Standard and Poors rating system or any international monetary systems we can only accept their statement which the rest of the world accept. I hope no one is taking him seriously.
    It is no wonder there is an economic crisis in Barbados. Our delusional leader is in permanent state of denial.

30. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Brasstacks presently has Ellis as moderator with a number of regional former finance ministers and former central bankers telling of Jamaica and giving their opinion on economic matters.

31. BU posted the following presentation by Dr. Justin Robinson back in 2009 when he was encouraged to share with ordinary folk. To give context to PM Stuart’s position on the S&P downgrade.

Dr.Robinson’s Presentation Concerning Credit Rating Agencies

by David on June 28, 2009

Submitted by Dr.Justin Robinson Click on the image to view the well received presentation delivered by Dr. Justin Robinson at the 5th anniversary of Caribbean Money Market operating in Barbados – Power Point application required. Dr. Justin Robinson is Head of the Department of Management Studies at the UWI-Cave Hill campus. His research interests include […]

Leave a CommentContinue Reading →

32. Vincent Haynes Avatar

David March 5, 2017 at 10:38 AM #

Its ok to say no borrowing on the international market but the elephant in the room that is being ignored is investor confidence when looking for new ones and relocation of international companies as did Sagicor.

Not sure how true the not borrowing is though.

33. Is it not amazing how the external community view the procrastination the Barbados government as adopted in recent years.

The views all accord with the BU intelligentsia.

Who heard Peter Butting rubbish the PM and MoF position that credit rating does not matter. We need to tell this government to leave Bay Street fast!

34. William Skinner Avatar

@ Jeff
    “Any advance towards bipartisanship or, preferably, non-partisanship in our political context will require first a massive re-education of the local electorate.”
    A massive re-education of the electorate? When are we going to realise that we need a massive reform of the entire education system in order to change the thinking of any group. The article is really saying that the country is so partisan that no progressive change in the thinking of the electorate is possible or likely. The electorate passed through the same education system and they were essentially conditioned to think the way we do. We are now two generations since independence and even the response to this article shows that try as hard as yuh like ; the partisans will attempt to decimate productive discussion.
    The brutal truth is that when or even if we escape “our darkest hour” , we will be back here in fifty years with the same crisis because all we are doing is repeating our mistakes and then going to the old medicine cabinet for the same old medicine. The third parties are finding difficulty because their leaders came through the same education process. You cant plant okra and reap corn. Like it or not we have an intellectual crisis that is far more destructive than any S& P rating.
    I can only hope that children as young as fifteen are at least trying to read such articles and that some enlightened teachers incorporate them into civic and social studies. It is in my opinion a very good piece.
    The partisans can try for at least one Sunday to forget the DLPBLP and have a productive discussion.

35. Mariano Browne just confirmed that the rot set in in the early 2000s and which Arthur BLP paid the price. This government made no structural change and therefore we are where we are today.

36. Have a listen to former PM Denzil Douglas and his point about citizens agreeing to the way forward.

Then listen to the braying partisans. We are so far from where we need to be as a people.

37. JAMAICA: Attorney disbarred, ordered to pay $110m – ….Brady was disbarred after he was found guilty of professional misconduct last week in relation to allegations that he misappropriated funds belonging to his client – the state-owned entity – the Factories Corporation of Jamaica….
    Read full story in Barbados Today.
    Soooooo, this is how it’s done. I’d never have guessed. I thought that all you had to do was “Get an attorney “.

38. @ Wily Coyote

Why is it that anytime a man says “revolution” that all uh wunna Bajans got to run off pun dis bandwagon of “…that is until one realizes that do do what Jeff is suggesting can only be accomplished with some real blood letting and a lot of Stalinism…?

Explain it to me.

Wunna hear bout the Industrial Revolution? the Agriculturalist Revolution? The Digital Revolution? the Scientific Revolution and other non blood letting revolutions that dont have one iota of Stalin involved?

Steupseee

Leh me show wunna whu is a revolution

De ole man start dese Stoopid Cartoons as a direct result to AC and Angela Sealy.

Over the course of weeks the Stoopid Cartoons became a stipend for a few of you so much so that AC “joined?” and Sand Nigger also joined.

But you understand where the real revolution occurred?

It occurred in the halls of BU, with Mugabe adopting the templated as part of her arsenal and her faithful brown shirts supplied her with the information and her footsoldiers have now embarked on this as part of her campaign.

So no, armed with McDonald had a farm’s electronic telephone database, she will now unleash the revolution upon you and all of us WITHOUT A BULLET!!!

wunna fellows are incapable of thinking outside the box.

So when he speaks, UNLESS HE COMES HERE AND SAYS (a) the DLP are a terrible government (b) the alternative of Mugabe is the epitome of Stalinism (c) we need a non partisan alternative which while new, will have to develop a specific pact with the bajan populace, all uh wunna does be lost.

Suppose you had a 18 year old daughter Wily and you see me coming up by you house regular and offering she new tings, and showing she condoms, would you come to the conclusion that I am trying to get her to join a church group? (UNLESS IT WAS ABUNDANT LIFE with Stuart Road or is that Layne or Pastor Andrew Simmons brother of Kerrie the tyre slasher.)

Steupseeeeee

My point is clear you dont have to have Mr Cumberbatch draw these lines for you, do you else he would quickly grow tired of writing here and then having to come after each blog and brek it down fuh we

@ AC and Angela Skeete

You keep it up and continue speaking messages that are against the directive that you were given AND THEY WILL PERMANENTLY take away your privilege to speak under that collective moniker, but dont listen to me keep on smartly

@ Vincent

Touche heheheheheheh

I see that you are now more acquainted Hesiod’s Works and Days. this is good so you now know that when i speak it is not to be any man’s servant be it BLP or DLP

And now, having been informed by Mugabe heheheheheh, now you can continue to feel emboldened, and speak with a sense of familiarity, birthed through your proxy.

The DLP cannot get back in, irrespective of all the $$ that they are getting from Sir Kyffin to bolster up the party chest.

Mugabe is the challenge and the threat and this is why she is keeping a low profile

Disrupting Mia WILL BE ACCOMPLISHED BY FOUR THINGS

Stoopid Cartoons (and other media of this type) including physical printed fliers that will abound during the election like betty boop comics.

The ***

The *** and finally

The ***

Bajans are a simple minded people and if you feed them enough dog pup they will eat it up

39. All these post mortem analyses are of little comfort to anyone.
    Where were all these regional experts as recently as the Caricom HOG conference in Guyana when they could have spoken out?
    …and was Mariano not the very person who gave Owen the famous cheque?
    All a lotta shiite…. and much too late.

The REAL issue now is about surviving the coming crash….
    and living through the extended stay in hospital.

40. Our problem is that we do not know who to listen to. We all have baggage. It is for our local intelligentsia to lead. What VoB has done is to reach out to regional players who have had a similar experience to confirm positions to remove the poltical viel. We have to stop muddying all the arguments.

41. Dompey March 5, 2017 at 7:50 AM #
    In other words,Bro, with many of our politicians , its not a matter of what they can do for their country, but rather how much our country has done, and will continue to do, for them.

42. William,

This is not our darkest hour…..that is still to come. This is the light at dawn, the real dark is another couple yeas down the line.
    The middle classes, like all refugees, will escape to the US, Canada or down the islands (the UK will not take anymore) and the lumpen proletariat will be left at the mercy of the few predators left.
    Thar is when the New Barbadians will step forward and take control, aided by the Saudis, the Chinese and other blood thirsty predators.
    The savages amongst us will reach for their guillotines and machete to savage their enemies and perceived enemies.
    Others living in their gated communities with their AKs and machs under their beds, will reach for them and their security men (only men|), like watchmen of old, will turn their guns on their own people.
    That is the real dark hour. T|he world has changed and ait is fun for a group of elderly men, incapable of doing anything and on the brink of dementia, to engage themselves in an online forum with nothing else to do but hide behind their non de plumes.

43. @ Hal
    Darkness will reach albino-land at the same time as, if not before, Barbados is enveloped.
    Far from our middle classes escaping there, Bushie will be completely UNSURPRISED if a lotta wunna adopted albinos are not back here in Bim (with all its horrors) either willingly, or dispatched by Trump & Co Ltd.

Looking forward to see you talking shiite under your slave name when that time comes….

44. Bush Tea,
    I am sure you have a lot of common sense wisdom, if only it is written in comprehensible language. Did you go to Kolij?

45. @ David
    Our problem is that we do not know who to listen to.
    That says it all.
    But in the meantime, we are following the voice that has a monument at the Garrison.

46. This is part of our problem. At a time we all need to rally we nippick and personalize the discussions.

#sosad

47. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    They will run but they cannot hide. Some will hide but cannot run. Those who support the “duopoly” cannot help but reveal themselves . Leave some crumbs on the table and they will emerge like the red ants; full their little bellies for another five years and then surface again. Some are still hibernating fat from ill gotten gains. They too will be revealed in that darkest hour that you have predicted.
    Yes my friend; Some will run but cannot hide. Others will hide but they cannot run.

48. @ Hal
    Bushie will take that as a question….

If you fail to understand the bushman, then we are sorry…
    Our audience is not an Euro-centric one …and the Queen’s English don’t mean shit to Bushie.
    Nor does he purport to any common sense or wisdom.
    What Bushie purports….is to have been adopted by BBE, handed a whacker, and commissioned to stir up some jobby here on BU…

If you feel stung in any way…. too bad 🙂

BTW
    Sorry…. did you ask Bushie to go to Kolij?
    Bushie can pass there this afternoon if you wish….

49. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Piece

Chuckle……poor you……I am to believe that you are your own man but I cannot be my own man just because in my perceived wisdom I view the BLP presently as the viable alternative party to govern the country despite not being a member of any party.

You are your own man but cannot see the wisdom of people power even if it means hunger for the sake of your country and grandchildren.

Finally being your own man with a deep abiding love for your country you have set up a website,waxed quite loquaciously on BU cussing all of the political class,letting go flyers pelting licks left and right and then just so Solutions is the best thing since sliced bread and you have the evidence to show a signed charter of commitments…..wuhloss

Tell muh how much yuh gettin so ah could send in mine…..as man hep yuh fren nuh……