Submitted by Anthony Davis

The Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) today put Minister of Education Ronald Jones on notice for industrial action if he does not meet with members by next Wednesday. “BUT President Pedro Shepherd sounded the warning following a more than  three-hour long meeting with scores of teachers who were summoned to a 1 p.m. meeting at the Garfield Sobers Gymnasium … On announcing the meeting  on Wednesday evening, BUT president Pedro Shepherd said the union had issues to discuss with the teachers but he did not ‘think the issues can last us for the entire day – Barbados Today (22 April, 2016)

You are very right, Mr. Shepherd!

You did not think period, Mr. Shepherd, because you are being paid to do a job from which you and others are going AWOL without the slightest care about that said job, nor those who will suffer from your dastardly absence. Both of these actions were wildcat strikes.

If you have “no dispute with the Ministry” why did you walk out on the students?

Is that the type of conflict resolution which you are teaching the students when you give Government an ultimatum  to meet with you, instead of asking for a meeting?

Pray tell me Mr. Shepherd why you called out  your members for a meeting at 1 p.m. on Friday 22nd April, 2016 when you knew full well that the students were preparing for the exam of their life?

Couldn’t you have met after school, or is the welfare of your charges irrelevant to you and the others?

Don’t you get enough time off during the year?

Don’t you get about 3 months holiday plus about 3 teachers’ days?

How come there are no:

Police Officers’ days?

Immigration Officers’ days?

Customs Officers’ days?

Prison Officers’ days?

You don’t seem to know anything else but strike, thereby interrupting our children’s education!

Every time they have important exams coming up you seem to think that that’s the best time to strike.

You and Mrs. Redman are being paid by the parents/guardians of the said students whom you are depriving of their education.

I wonder how you can have the gall to pick up a cheque for what you did.

It’s time the nonsense stops.

If one doesn’t work, one should not be paid.

Therefore you shouldn’t be paid for the time you wasted Friday April 22 and Friday April 29, 2016.

How many days do the primary school children have to study for the exams now, Mr. Shepherd?

You stole two from them which means that they didn’t have any tuition on two out of five days before such an important exam, leaving parents/guardians in limbo as what to do with the children.

That was the epitome of callousness!

“Children speak in the field what they hear in the house.” – Scottish Proverb

147 responses to “Crisis in Education”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It boggles the mind that teachers cannot recognize their own idiocy, but expect better from students.

2. Here is a recap of what is in the TRADIIONAL news today, prepared by Stephanie. What comes to mind is a fractured MOE. Teachers applauding at the mention of calls for Jones to resign. We are in for a rough one. What we are witnessing is the politicization of every issue in Barbados and an inability to resolve conflict.

Stephanie F. Chase with Ishiaka Mcniel and 35 others.

1 min · 

Good Morning ‪#‎realdreamchasers‬! It’s a wonderful and sizzling Saturday morning. Here is your daily newscap.

JONES MUST GO – STEP DOWN, Mr Minister! That is the strong suggestion coming from the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT), which met for several hours with more than 600 of its members at its Merryhill, St Michael headquarters yesterday morning.The call, which got lots of applause from members, came as president Pedro Shepherd was addressing the open-air meeting and expanding on the need for Jones to step down during an interview with reporters afterwards.Shepherd said he believed that Jones is “tired with the ministry” he has been carrying for the last eight years, and that it was particularly evident in the correspondence from the minister in response to the union’s call for a meeting with him on or before Wednesday (April 27).

VALUES MISSING – A DISCONNECT BETWEEN the church and the home is resulting in the manifestation of violence by schoolchildren. Archbishop of the West Indies and Bishop of Barbados Dr John Holder added that he hoped the Anglican Church’s focus on the upcoming Child Month could change the situation.“One of the major problems we’re facing in society at this time is the disconnect that has taken place between the homes and the church or the homes and religion,” the Archbishop said at a Press conference held at the Diocesan House.“For better or for worse, religion offers a collection of values that we hardly find in any other institution in the world,” he added.

NUPW BLASTS TRIBUNAL – A “MOCKERY” and a “miscarriage of justice”.That is how the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) has described the decision by chairman of the Employment Rights Tribunal, Hal Gollop, to delay judgment in the case of the retrenched workers of the National Conservation Commission (NCC).Speaking with the media after a joint marathon meeting with the affected workers from the NCC and Beautify Barbados yesterday, acting deputy general secretary of the National Union of Public Workers, Wayne Walrond, had some strong words for Gollop and his team.“I see it as a mockery of justice. I abhor the position. I see it as derision in terms of looking at what one would accept as proper justice,” he said.

MINISTER OF LABOUR KEEPING WATCH – Minister of Labour Dr Esther Byer-Suckoo has weighed in on the ongoing industrial dispute involving the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) and the Ministry of Education, saying she was keeping a close eye on the developments. She said she did not wish to see the impasse involving the Ministry of Education and the BUT to get any worse, cautioning that it was necessary to have dialogue. Commenting generally on the industrial climate in Barbados, Byer-Suckoo said there were three main reasons for the way it was presently, including an Opposition that was “looking for things to latch on to” given that fact that election was around the corner. The Ministry of Education and the BUT have been at loggerheads following a recent incident involving a third form student and a teacher at the Ellerslie Secondary School.The incident has sparked much public debate with the union pressing for the expulsion of the student, while child rights advocate Shelly Ross has called for the removal of the teacher.However, Minister of Education Ronald Jones is maintaining that a full investigation is warranted before any decision is taken. He has announced that a special committee is to be established to probe violence in schools.The union is also at odds with the education ministry in relation to the marking of School Based Assessment (SBA).

LIAT FLIGHT ATTENDANT REMANDED – The LIAT flight attendant, accused of bringing cocaine into Barbados on Tuesday, has been remanded until May 5.Deann Pat Porsha Palmer, of LaClery, Castries, St Lucia was not required to answer the four drug charges which Acting Chief Magistrate Christopher Birch read to her in the District ‘C’ Magistrates Court today. The 33-year-old is charged with possession, intent to supply, trafficking and importing the five kilogrammes of contraband the drugs on April 26 and another count of possession of 1.3 grammes of cannabis, one day later.She is being represented by attorney-at-law Kim Sealy.

JAMAICAN CAUGHT WITH CANNABIS – A Jamaican national, Donovan Ashban Small, was today sentenced to 18 months at HMP Dodds after he admitted bringing ten pounds of cannabis into Barbados.The 29-year-old went before Acting Chief Magistrate Christopher Birch in the District ‘C’ Magistrates’ Court. Small, of 23 Rodney Street, Kingston 12, Kingston, Jamaica, arrived in Barbados from Jamaica late Wednesday evening.Prosecuting the matter, Sergeant Azel Skeete said Small was interviewed by police at Grantley Adams International Airport and later referred to Customs, where a false bottom and two packages of marijuana were found in his suitcase.Saying that things were “pretty hard in Jamaica”, Small said he was promised US$2,000 to bring the drugs here and was told that “it is something we do all the time”.He explained that although he refused the first time, he so much wanted to provide for his two children and complete building a shop which he stopped when he ran out of funds, that “I decide I am going to try because I have a hard life. When he was questioned about who would take care of his children, Small responded: “That’s what I’m worried about. I’m sorry, so sorry. If I had thought about them, I would not be here now with cuffs on me hand nor in a cell. I would be back home wit’ them,” he lamented.The father of two was fined $10,000 for possession and $5,000 for importation, respectively. The forthwith fines, which were not paid, carried an alternative of 18 months imprisonment.Small was convicted, reprimanded and discharged for intent to supply the drug and reprimanded and discharged for trafficking the substance.

FAMILY NOT DROPPING CHARGES – The last time Ryan Clairmonte Benn attended the District ‘A’ Magistrates’ Court, he pleaded with the presiding magistrate to grant him bail. He also insisted that his relatives no longer wanted to pursue the matter against him.Benn is facing charges of intentionally damaging by fire on April 2 this year, three houses and two cars belonging to two of his relatives. The accused, who resides at Brandons Gap, Deacons Road, St Michael, has a history of psychiatric issues and drug abuse.The court summoned a family member who came to court today. When the uncle, who is one of the complainants, took the witness stand, the magistrate explained that he was there because the family intended to drop the matter.The witness set the record straight by saying that he was still interested in pursuing it.“Was it one of your buildings or cars that was burnt?” asked Magistrate Douglas Frederick.After the uncle said “yes”, Benn interjected. “Orlando, I sorry fuh wuh I do,” he said. “I didn’t do it on purpose.”“I don’t know,” the witness responded. “We still without a house.”The magistrate remanded Benn to HMP Dodds and urged him not to “use that argument again”.

GUILTY OF STEALING RUM – For stealing a bottle rum, a Christ Church man was given a three months prison sentence today when he went before Magistrate Douglas Frederick in the District ‘A’ Magistrates’ Court.Ryan O’Neal Jordan, 38, of Vauxhall, Christ Church admitted committing the offence at Massy Express Store yesterday and running out of the establishment on to Rockley Main Road.Jordan was caught by security personnel and returned to the store.When he was searched, a bottle of VSOR Cockspur rum was found in the bottom of his right pants leg.He had secured the rum by pushing the pants leg into the shoe.The thief, who has had many convictions, later told police he stole the rum “to pay the man for fixing my motorcycle”.

NO POLITICS FOR BROOMES – He will not be throwing his hat in any political ring any time ever. This was the strong declaration from retiring principal of the Parkinson Memorial School, Jeff Broomes, yesterday as he prepared to end a 40-year career in the teaching service in June this year.But those he is leaving behind at The Pine, St Michael school want him to stay on for another year. In any event, they plan to nominate him for a national award in this year’s Independence honours list. Broomes yesterday was treated like a king as he leaves the school of which he has been head for three years.

FAREWELL JEFF – JEFF BROOMES’ FACE has shown many emotions in the past five years. It has shown his defiance; his anger and his pride. But yesterday, it showed sadness as he bade goodbye to the school he led in the last three years.His tears flowed at his farewell function at the Parkinson Memorial School where he was feted and treated like a king.Here, retiring principal Broomes wipes away tears during the tributes.

CROP OVER – This year’s Soca Royale will take place on July 24th, while the Pic-O-De Crop Finals will be held on July 30th as originally announced. Following concerns expressed by several artistes about a possible change to the dates to accommodate a special cricket match in honour of national hero Sir Garry Sobers, Minister of Culture Stephen Lashley announced today that the organizers would be sticking to the original programme.“We have determined that given all of the factors that those dates remain the same.“I’m hoping that those persons who were concerned will be happy to hear that,” Lashley told reporters during a press conference at the Kensington Oval.However, he announced venue changes for some key events.The Crop Over Read In, which has traditionally been held at Harrison’s Cave, will take place at the Barbados Museum and Historical Society.This year, there will only be one “mega Cavalcade” which will be held in Lashley’s constituency of Christ Church West Central at the Briar Hall playing field, moving from Queen’s Park, The City.The official thanksgiving service, previously held at the St James Parish Church, has also been shifted to Sharon Moravian Church in St Thomas.Lashley said the changes were to allow all communities to benefit during the festival.

MONARCHS SHOW SCRAPPED – LACK OF SPONSORSHIP has forced the National Cultural Foundation to pull the Monarchs of the Mas Show originally slated for July 31 from the Crop Over calendar. Minister of Culture Stephen Lashley made the disclosure at a press briefing at Kensington Oval this afternoon.A scaled down version of the show, which would have featured the calypso and soca monarchs, will now be incorporated into Soca Royale at Bushy Park on July 24.

That’s all for today folks. Have a great day. smile emoticon Shalom heart emotic

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This is what happens when the DEMS fall out with each other. When elephants fight only the grass suffer.

4. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

As soon as he wanted to crack heads, you had to know his was cracked long time, this is not NEWS , When stupid people put stupid in charge of schools.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn April 30, 2016 at 8:53 AM #
    “This is what happens when the DEMS fall out with each other. When elephants fight only the grass suffer.”

You should have no sympathy for the BUT and the likes.
    That’s what you get when you ‘lie’ with political dogs; only fleas and broken promises. The same political dog those unions backed is now biting them in the real butt.
    It’s call Karma.

The then Opposition was accused of planning to send home teachers and to privatize some education-related services. The stupid teachers fell for it and reelected that despot of violence Rosie Jones and her Gestapo-like gang of liars.

Let the teachers strike and provide Ms. Jonesey with the perfect excuse to carry out her avowed mission of cracking heads and shooting some people.

“What goes into someone’s mouth does not defile them, but what comes out of their mouth, that is what defiles them.” ~ The Antithesis of Ms Jones ♂

6. Caswell Franklyn April 30, 2016 at 8:53 AM #
    This is what happens when the DEMS fall out with each other. When elephants fight only the grass suffer.

Mr Franklin Sir You are a man dat i respect, but how can you compare the DLP members or guvment to ELEPHANTS?

Despite their size and power elephants are quiet, calm, decisive, intelligent animals who do not abuse their power.

The same powerful trunk of an elephant that can uproot a tree if needed can give a gentle caress and serve a myriad of functions.

the DLP members or guvment is capable ONLY of destruction and perennially and perpetually doing shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhite! ah lie
    Hope your renal problem ha now abated

7. @ Georgie Porgie……..good to see you still blogging. Hope you enjoying the cricket.

Yesterday Dwayne Smith and today Carlos Brathwaite is the Man of the Match:

8. Shiite!!
    Perhaps we could make a simple start to improving things by passing a law that restricts ugly people from holding critical positions.
    …..straight up we get rid of 90% of our problems.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Georgie

I take your point. I was only referring to size.

10. This is what happens when all wants to be in charge. These real life “happenings”are played out every day in Barbados from the home to the workplace and through out society in general
    Presently there is the lawyering fraternity thumbing its nose at the Attorney General then what would one except?
    It is dumbfounding that when one looks at the indiscipline that has taken hold like Ebola. Virus across Barbados society exemplied by all and sundry with an exuberance of lawless and utter disrespect for authority
    Gawd blimma everybody has become the law unto themselves

11. Hants April 30, 2016 at 10:56 AM #
    @ Georgie Porgie……..good to see you still blogging.

I watching. As you know I dont know much about and have little interest in politics. That’s the main thing on BU for years now

re Hope you enjoying the cricket. Willow not carrying the IPL. Dont know why? But I am following the exploits of your players on Cricinfo.

Bush Tea April 30, 2016 at 11:32 AM #

Perhaps we could make a simple start to improving things by passing a law that restricts ugly people from holding critical positions.
    …..straight up we get rid of 90% of our problems.

NOW THAT WOULD ACTUALLY BE POLITICALLY CORRECT!
    DO YOU NOTICE HOW THE WORSE THY BECOME THE UGLIER THEY LOOK

12. The Union representatives have done a gawd awful job in representing the teachers having given high preferance to shouting match between themselves and the Minister of Education
    The goals which should have been intended to draw a line in the sand have all but disappeared and replaced with backbiting and nonsensical threats

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…the legal fraternity could never thumb their nose at the attorney general if he was not condoning the same practices, while a practicing attorney, how dare he want to now dictate to them when he is no different, same goes for the prime minister, all of them attorneys remember.

Maybe if both would do their jobs re legislate, implement and enforce laws..no one would dare thumb their noses.

14. Look Jones needs to get to the negotiating table and talk to the teacher’s unions.

He could not talk on Wednesday because he had already promised the Association of Office Professionals to speak at their meeting? You mean to tell me that he could not have sent Harry Husbands to do that for him, especially as he was only going to deliver a written speech anyhow.

He needs to get to the negotiating table.

NOW.

The education on tens of thousand of children are being compromised.

The parents’ work schedules are being phucked up.

The parents are angry with Jones and with the DLP Cabinet.

15. Time for both Jones and Shepherd to stop playing my doggie is bigger than your doggie games.

16. This is no li’l doggie/big doggie matter, this is about the important matter of the education of our children, especially of our girl children.

17. Perhaps Stuart and Jones will meet their Waterloo if the teachers do not get their due.I don’t see them backing down on the matter of violence in the school system nor in the matter of payment in respect of the additional work associated with the SBA’s,the latter being on the table for years without resolution.

18. Gabriel April 30, 2016 at 6:34 PM #
    Perhaps Stuart and Jones will meet their Waterloo ………………………………
    ………………………………………..
    You mean the same Stuart who chided Barbadians for having water loos, and electrified homes?

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

What can be the cause of all this mayhem in the ministry of education but the ministry of education themselves? This minister operates in that same vain as his prime minister. You can never get anywhere thinking that a ministerial position in government is a position by which anything can be said and any behaviour can be shown. You are simply on a track with two trains coming from the opposite direction. Jones has proven himself to be not what the ministry of education needs at this time. In fact, the entire administration of the Democratic Labour Party is all ministers with a mayhem or on a mayhem collision with everybody because they have established this stupid mindset that they are in a position of We versus Them. How else can you describe what they think they are doing that is so right when the results are producing so many gaw darn problems in society.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…the cause of the mayhem is that all are employed by the taxpayers and NONE are doing their jobs, they are doing everything else but, if they were, there would be no mayhem.

21. There will be no progress without conflict.Thesis,antithesis,synthesis.

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Gabriel

I am stickler for the saying,” out of chaos comes order.” But good lord, what must be done in order to get people see the light, Crack a few heads and shoot a couple of knees?

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon April 30, 2016 at 2:13 PM #
    “Time for both Jones and Shepherd to stop playing my doggie is bigger than your doggie games.”

There you go again, SS!

So what games are Karen ‘Beast’ the CEO and Mary ‘Redwoeman’ playing ‘at’?
    My Venus doggie trap deeper than yours type of game?

Leave the sexism out and see all four as a bunch of egotistic ‘powful-foolish’ brass-bowls.

The MoE has been in that position too long and needs a rest. Why not let him swap places with Steve Blackett(e) who needs some work to do?

The person you need to fire your sexist spiel at is the jackass (not jenny) in charge of the cursed DLP (damned lying party) administration.
    Karma is a ‘bitch’ (not a doggie). She is paying her dues to the ruling administration.

You should not forget the same Purveyor of Lies & Deceit (anagram of DLP) telling the little school boy a big “black” untruth about the timing of the last elections.
    Neither should you forget the “blacker” lie told to the BCC graduating students about his ironclad immovable commitment to ‘free’ university education to them from which he and his Cabinet cronies benefited but subsequently kicked down the same ladder they all climbed to feast on the once fatted calf.

Education is having its share of the national curse equivalent to its share of the tax pie it eats annually without a concomitant socio-economic development as output.

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

ac April 30, 2016 at 12:05 PM #

This is what happens when all wants to be in charge. These real life “happenings”are played out every day in Barbados from the home to the workplace and through out society in general
    Presently there is the lawyering fraternity thumbing its nose at the Attorney General then what would one except?
    It is dumbfounding that when one looks at the indiscipline that has taken hold like Ebola. Virus across Barbados society exemplied by all and sundry with an exuberance of lawless and utter disrespect for authority
    Gawd blimma everybody has become the law unto themselves
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This is what happens when a government that is suppose to govern decides that its best strategy to deal with the public is to speak to them through branch meetings, insult them when they speak ill of their dumb ass proposals and then remain silent when their asses get expose. This is what you get when the leader of a country ignores major problems plaguing the island but finds solace in justifying a bunch of shite and enjoying the company of over and away people. This is what you get when the leadership tells lies and pretend that those lies are facts. When the lies are found out they credibility is shot to hell and those who want equality and fairness in government decides that the only way to get it is take matters in their own hands and ignore laws that are one-sided and favours only a particular kind of person. The overseers of the law behave as though their are laws unto them own selves. You honestly expect others not to follow suit. The island has no good leadership and when there is the absence of good leadership expect chaos to raise its ugly head from time to time. You of all people, if you are the intelligent AC and not that masquerading apostate, knows that the body is only as good as the head.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sunshine Sunny Shine May 2, 2016 at 6:27 AM
    “This is what you get when the leadership tells lies and pretend that those lies are facts. When the lies are found out they credibility is shot to hell and those who want equality and fairness in government decides that the only way to get it is take matters in their own hands and ignore laws that are one-sided and favours only a particular kind of person. The overseers of the law behave as though their are laws unto them own selves. You honestly expect others not to follow suit. The island has no good leadership and when there is the absence of good leadership expect chaos to raise its ugly head from time to time.”

Well put! You have clinically diagnosed the real problem besetting Bim.
    A good country, but because of the naivety of the majority of its people, allows itself to be ‘mismanaged’ by a bunch of lying and incompetent wild boys posing as politicians for the people.

Until Bajans change their country’s leadership it will continue to be saddled with a cursed lot of problem creators and not solvers.

The deliberate failure to report to the country on the country’s first quarter economic performance- despite the piss-poor claims of making the economy their No.1 priority- is another glaring example of the utter contempt the ruling administration holds towards the people.

“For there is nothing hidden that will not be disclosed, and nothing concealed that will not be known or brought out into the open.”

Or to quote the lyrical admonition of the prophet Bob:
    “We’ve got a mind of our own
    So go to hell if what you’re thinking is not
    Right!
    Love would never leave us alone
    A-yin the darkness there must come out to light.”

26. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

I would fire all the teachers – Tired of this Shite! Again, all the matters in question was the same matters in the 80’s and 90’s. What’s wrong that we cannot seem to get it right?

27. The DLP would project the message that they represent the masses.The evidence points however to the Bajan poor white class who have benefited.Ask Cow,Bizzy,Kyffin,Maloney.
    They all were supporters of the DLP,first EWB then David Thompson.Much as Stuart would like to he cannot escape the clutches of this new breed of money,all given a leg up on taxpayers money,what the Cement Man call …….Welfare companies.

28. Why would you fire the tail….
    How about the dog that wags it…?

Get a decent dog and the tail falls properly into line….

29. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

Bush, I call for firing the dog as well – am sick of all them!

30. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

In total agreement Mr Davis i cannot fault this article whatsoever.I am not in a position to say anymore.

31. @millertheanunnaki May 2, 2016 at 6:01 AM “Take it easy miller etc. In this instance doggie is a metaphor. The women are playing the “my doggie is bigger than you doggie” game too.

The game does not require actual physical doggies, just metaphorical ones, as in, I ain’t moving an inch until I am satisfied.

The game can be played by all genders.

I trust that you had a good May Day.

32. The Amurcanization of Babadus….. Kolij Queen?

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Last week two teachers fought at a secondary school in Christ Church and the education was not rocked to its foundation over the incident. It was not reported in the press like the Ellerslie affair,and the unions seem not to be concerned. My understanding is that they spent the better part of the day in the guidance counsellor’s office. By the way, I understand that they are or were lovers (male and female)

34. @Bush Tea

Former BUT President John Cumberbatch must be turning in his grave.

http://butbarbados.com/images/speech13.pdf

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Ccaswell at the expense of being labelled pedantic and irrelevant what exactly does two teachers assaulting each other on school grounds have to do with either the union and more particularly the foundations of Bajan education?

This does not equate to the student-teacher fight.

The lack of press is surprising certainly as it fits the sensational news that titillates readers and sells papers.

And certainly it requires MoE enquiry as it is workplace violence and contravenes established regulations of the teacher contract.

Beyond that it’s also a police matter re the criminal assault.

But the tic-for-tac public appeal to highlight more issues in education is off-based as this is a broader societal inter-personal issue and has limited connection to the crisis-in-education directly.

36. The teachers were giving the students a lesson in inter-personal relationships.

37. “Ask Cow,Bizzy,Kyffin,Maloney.
    They all were supporters of the DLP,first EWB then David Thompson”

and Sir kyffin Simpson of Sea foods fame and Sir Kenneth Hunte and Sir Douglas Lynch who were cursed left right and centre by Mr Barrow in the election campaign of 1961 giving the masses the impression that he was anti these whom he referred to as conservatives and colonials whilst in bed with them at the very same time who were to be put on the Lord Comberemere and shipped out to sea

38. Balance
    What I would love to see is the majority people enfranchised.I would like to see black Bajans in control of the commanding heights of the economy.Full stop.End of story.Black politicians must understand this message loud and clear.I am not backing people like Lowe,Parris,Darcy and those dizzonis blacks.Let us have the likes of Branker,Jordan,Bynoe,Leacock,Broomes,
    Hoyte,Wilson,to name a few.Too few.

39. Calling a spade Avatar
    Calling a spade

The call by teacher’s pest Mary Redman that Ronald Jones resign can be met on one condition that Mary Redman, Pedro Shepherd and Patrick Frost disappear from the scene for good. The unions clamored to strike if temporary teachers were not appointed. Jones answered their threat with the unprecedented appointment of hundreds who were acting. All of a sudden the chronic disturbers of the industrial relations peace Redman and Shepard wheeled and came again. Is any work done in the classrooms by the BSTU and BUT bullies and their cronies ? A new pest appears in the so called teachers cause which disrupts the education of the nation’s children a peripatetic foreigner at UWI a Tennyson Joseph. Oh how we long for the day when Tom Adams ruled beautiful Barbados . Deportation papers would be served post haste.

40. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

How are blacks going to command the heights of the economy when they cannot even command the little responsibility given to them with any type of respectability and honesty. How long have blacks been selling out their own for a few pieces of silver and shiny trinkets? The current group of masked leaders has shown clearly what a bit of campaign money can do to influence you towards aligning yourself with the business class for prophet making relationships. You think the mentalities of blacks are just crabs in the barrel for nothing? It is hopeless telling black people create, support and rally. The jackasses still believe in all for one and none for nobody else.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gabriel. .but Bynoe will tell you that he would have had no start without David Seale, no matter that he had to work his ass off helping Seale build his company. It’s the mentality in the black males thinking they owe whites something, when it’s the other way around.

As long as black leaders can understand that they have that philosophy ass backward, half the battle has been won and they would be well on their way to controlling the island financially…as a majority.

As these old dudes are already hardened, stubbornly set in their ways, it would have to be inculcated in the very young males and females., so they will not depart from it.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…is it not shameful that the shameless black leaders after selling out their own through taxpayer funded contracts to enrich the minority, are then bribed with the same money belonging to the taxpayers by the minorities…it sounds sick and is very sick.

43. One of the most eye opening yet combative speeches was giving by the head of BWU Toni Moore at yesterday May Day celebration.
    In her adress she declared war on the public govt. and private sector
    So much for social partnership

44. Gabriel,

That is what I have been thinking sometimes but then I wavered because it’s going to get way hotter before it gets better. But something has gotta give. And since nobody is going to give easily we must prepare for the big cleansing fire. We cannot keep putting out small fires just to have them start back up again.

45. Dribbler,

The only relevance it has is to highlight that there ARE bad examples for teachers, teachers who are so violent and out of control that they forget where they are. The respect of the children for teachers at that school could take a beating. And if somebody had recorded the fight it would have had an effect across the island. Imagine the visual impact of two teachers fighting each other on school premises! Lord!

46. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am sorry about the information I provided about the two teachers fighting at school. I did not give the full picture. Someone from the school in question, who read my comment, called me to say that this was their THIRD fight at school and two in Oistins where students were present.

47. @ Caswell Franklyn,

Were they fighting “verbally” or physically ?

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Caswell…they need to put their digital recorders to good use and make these fights public.

Mary Redman would know deep down that some of the teachers are setting a bad example in the school environment and would try to cover that up and blame the students for being disrespectful amd violent, when they are learning it first hand from some teachers.

Time to confront these situations, before they escalate further.

I have not seen it yet, but am told there is a video circulating with a QEH employee fighting with a patient, that’s a first, what healthcare professional gets physical with a sick patient.