Government Docks Teacher’s Pay

Pedro Shepherd, Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT)
The government of Barbados has been quick to issue the order to dock the pay of teachers who responded to the call from the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) to attend meetings during school hours between April 29 and May 4, 2016. The ministry of education has pointed to Section: 3.3.2 of the General Orders to support their decision. It will be interesting to observe the response by the BUT for several reasons. Are the former presidents Jones and Best of the BUT uncomfortable in the role?

Again the teachers set a bad example to kids, yes you have grieviances, but you also knew the rules and procedures and so did Redman.
Here is the opportunity to handle the major issues like adults.
LikeLike
Proportionately abated!!!!!
Never heard that one before!!
Sounds like the phrase “Endeavour to Persevere” from a favourite Western … “The Outlaw Josey Wales”
LikeLike
Errol Barrow handled a similar protest in the early 70’s in a more intelligent way from which those who have not learned from his experience will remain unenlightened.When the BSTU led I think by Earl Glasgow withdrew their labour over the issue of salary differential in secondary schools and the fledgling BCC,EWB went on CBC to casually inform the nation Barbados that according to the General Orders of the Public Service,those teachers can lose their pension rights.They returned to work forthwith without further sanction.Note it was EWB the Prime Minister,leading from the front.He did not leave it to the Minister of Education,neither did he raise his voice a la Bishop Jake or would that be Crack Head Jones.That is how born leaders operate.Barrow was a born leader.Stuart is one upon whom leadership was thrust.He cannot lead even if he tried.As a matter of fact,none of this cabinet of the DLP show natural leadership habits.Not one.All pretenders.
Meanwhile,Darwin Dottin should be still at his post of Commissioner of Police weeding out the undesirables in that body and OSA should be sitting in Bay Street,overseeing the fortunes of Barbados,reducing unemployment,bringing in FDI,putting more disposable income in the peoples’ pockets,protecting the NIS from collapse and Dr Clyde Mascoll,the Governor of the Central Bank.
LikeLike
The Permanent Secretary should go back to school, her punctuation is terrible..! The comma should be after “who attend,” “…without permission,”
LikeLike
This is one time that I agree with the Ministry of Education. Why should the children always be the ones to suffer? Their parents/guardians are among those who pay the said teachers.
LikeLike
What else do we do other than blame the other party?
Today it is the MoE.
Tomorrow it will be the unions.
LikeLike
Government must also remember to adjust
LikeLike
George Brathwaite shared his post.
LikeLike
Shiite!!
We ded!!
LikeLike
@Bush Tea
Why the consternation?
LikeLike
PUDRYR
Looks like George Brathwaite needs your poster creation skills, especially re. the text.
LikeLike
Consternation en trute. This bro got some rather unfortunate personal history before the courts – for which wid he already fulfill he obligations is true .
He better be ready for the nastiness tho.
LikeLike
@ Are We There Yet
1] They do not understand Succinct Messages.
2] They do not have any message to bring so whatever they print will be empty
3] He has used a poster to put a scutch-up message of his political campaign in 8 point font on a sheet for people to read – that is disrespectful of his audience BUT it is also indicative of his thinking – which is – “I dont care if you get to read the fine print this is not about you ANYWAYS’
4] then, to encapsulate it all, he enjoins “ST JOHN AH COME FROM” to the poster in BOLD FONT.
Are we there yet do you know something?
Right now, if honest men and women were to stand for election as independents with messages of
1] I am a competent candidate – see how i have done a, b, c etc and i have not teifed anything. I have the skills needed to jumpstart this economy
2] I will make Freedom of Information mandatory
3] I will make Integrity Legislation a part of our laws for politicians and public servants and anyone brekking those laws gine get lock up
4] I will make politicians accountable to the people and institute the power of recall and finally
5] I pledge Allegiance to my country Barbados and my service to the country will be in this way and form through doing the job that you have elected me to do, without any benefit other than the $17,000 you are paying me a month
The disillusioned population and sheeple that the electorate is will, even though they would NOT vote in this better option, at least have had a choice between the inept DLP, the megalomaniac BLP and people who truly love the country.
But given my whole rant above, it would appear that I have already started using the medicinal marijuana that all those people were advocating for and which Amused has recommended that i partake in
LikeLike
@ Bush Tea
“And he said, Oh let not the Lord be angry, and I will speak yet but this once: Peradventure TEN shall be found there. And he said, I will not destroy it for ten’s sake….
Imagine we cannot find 30 men and women who love this country more than self and therein lies our predicament
LikeLike
The idea of blanking out the names on the letter dated the 6th May 2016 (after the names were seen) is beyond comprehension..! Closing the stable door after…
LikeLike
@Shaft
Just comment and hush.
LikeLike
PUDRYR
Excellent post at 2:51 pm. All the prospective candidates should read, learn and inwardly digest your sage advice.
LikeLike
@John,
I don’t have the ability to edit videos, but I see that you need some help in determining what is a good western. The voices are different but from what I hear on TV but from 18:44 is sheer poetry.
“I’m a lwaman Hack, I got no choice”
LikeLiked by 1 person
Seems as if the Donald Trump style has taken,or dare I say is about to take root in Barbados.”If you don’t accept my point of view,I will berate you, belittle you and then remind you of my superior intellect.
LikeLike
LikeLike
Headline: “Government docks teacher’s pay.”
Which teacher had his or her pay docked? Who is the teacher with the docked pay?
Can you even begin to grasp the importance of having some minimal understanding of the most basic punctuation? Should we send people like you to Geneva, to engage in mind-bendingly complex negotiations about intellectual property rights?
What punctuation what?
Which teacher had his/her pay docked?
You, who can’t even put an apostrophe in the right place, you’re the tool with the fambly with the 10-point plan fo’ we, er, “governance”?
May the big, the boss, and indeed the engineery deliver we from all this hideous shite.
Poster boy pieceoshite jus’ ROCKIN dem posters.
But to get back to the point in the headline … WHICH teacher was docked pay?
LikeLike
The following policy is now in effect
(1) The article goes to David
(2) he proof reads it and correct obvious typos
(3) it goes to a grammarian who corrects the grammar and send it to the
(4) publication committee (PC), which then approves/rejects the post.
(5) On approval the post is sent to the IT department for posting on BU
Please let us know if you agree with this policy and point out any errors as we are seeking members for the PC.
LikeLike
The letter featured in this blog was sent to a (individual) teacher.
Will this issue create more tension with the unions?
On Mon, May 23, 2016 at 10:58 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:
LikeLike
@ The Blogmaster
Imagine that it has come to this that you Blogmaster are now required to engage the requisite staff to edit we inept grammar submission and mek we look lik effing we went to school and learn (not learnt) english
Hahahahaha
From the time the item was posted with the denuding it became apparent that while several letters were sent out to respective schools that the one you had, “fell of a truck” and had a specific individual’s name and the corresponding reference number.
It would have been inconsistent with your accustomed practice of protecting the identities of your sources to have published that document in and other way, but others here don’t seem bright enough to understand that.
@ Samuel Clarke
I thank you Kindly for you compliment both as to my posters and my elevated name Piece of shyt* you were kinder than others who called me the part of the body two inches removed on the female anatomy and related to a female rabbit. Much appreciation for your gender sensitivity.
I would however hope that an no time while you blog here that you go so low as others have and use the spurious diatribe an call me Piece of DBLP yardfowl for that sir would be the most unkindest cut of all and I would have no choice but to demand flintlocks at 20 paces with my SPAZ
LikeLike
Barbados Today is reporting that a respected retired trade union leader is saying the the BUT cannot demand the withdrawal of the MoE letter docking the pay of teachers who absented themselves from duty to attend their union’s call for a meeting during school hours.The retiree says the MoE as employer has a right to ‘shut them out’.
Barbados Today is reporting that “A well respected retired trade union leader dismissed the NUPW wage demands of 23% as “hot air”.
There are 3 recently retired veteran trade union leaders namely Sir Roy,Clarke and Maloney.Given the reported language used by the veteran……”I doan see dem getting no moe than 2%.”…….”the demands could lick up the country”….”as far as I concern”…… the veteran got to be Clarke whose language skills are zilch.Clarke is clearly a member of the Fatted Calf Brigade,a Dem,one of those people if he cannot be in charge,nobody else can,a workplace bully.He should just shut up and ride into the sunset unless he is singing for his supper.What respected trade union leader what.This man is void of class and full of shoite.Good riddance.
LikeLike
The NUPW has put 23% on the negotiating table.The BWU has put 16% on the table.Clarke would accept no more than 2%.We wait to see if he sits on the government team for these wage negotiations.The bell has rung.
LikeLike
This is a serious legal issue –
‘Mr Goudie submitted that the real question was whether a teacher was entitled to be paid for the period of 35 minutes that he or she had not worked. Pay for that period, he said, had not been earned. In my judgment, this approach is fallacious. It involves regarding the teachers’ salaries as accruing minute by minute. There is no legal or factual justification for that view of the salaries. Under the contracts, the salaries are based on a yearly scale but are paid by monthly payments. Each month a contractual right to a salary payment vests in the teacher. By reason of section 2 of the Apportionment Act 1870, the salaries are deemed to accrue day by day. If a teacher’s contract were, in the middle of a month, to come to an end, by death, dismissal or some other event, section 2 would entitle the teacher, or his estate, to an apportioned part of the month’s salary payment,. So the salaries may be regarded as accruing day by day. But they do not accrue minute by minute.’
I will probably write on it this weekend.
LikeLike
What matters more – apostrophes or DECIMAL POINTS? Hmmmm….
LikeLike
So teachers leave for two half days and lose two days’ pay; but, for years, every single Tuesday, BAPPPS (Barbados ASSocaiation of Principals of Public Secondary Schools) meets at Harrison College (used to be Lester Vaughan until the big guts jackass at The Lodge could not get his belly behind the buffet table) for meetings to drink rum (during the working day, on government property) and to plan evil for children, parents and teachers, and not a cent deducted. What good are they doing for education? Nothing, just talking people’s names, planning nastiness and eating catered food paid for by taxpayers – EVERY SINGLE TUESDAY. They have never had a cent taken out, in fact, they steal most of the funds that should be cleaning mould from our children’s classrooms, providing text books, upgrading aging plants to gorge on.
LikeLike