Barbados Tourism Numbers Achieve Double Digits Growth

Richard Sealy - Minister of Tourism

Richard Sealy – Minister of Tourism

BRIDGETOWN, BARBADOS. May 27, 2015 – Barbados’ tourism sector broke a 25-year record during the first quarter of 2015 to reach 171,471 long stay arrivals.BTMI Chairman, Alvin Jemmott, noted that there were record arrivals in each of the first three months of 2015 and extended his congratulations to all industry workers and partners for their steadfast efforts on behalf of the destination.

Read full TEXT of BTMI Media Release

97 comments

• bullshit?????? why is it when I am there it looks empty, compared to years ago ,numbers lie eyes dont

Liked by 1 person

• John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

LAWSON@ WE WERE THINKING THE SAME THING, We have to remember who we dealing with , they look to say numbers going up and Bajans doing worse. So then where is all the money going? Or who is making it? Must be the air port taxes for i heard last night that LIAT tickets going up again , None of the worker heard of no layoffs. mind game coming from crooks , liars and scumbags,

• Should we measure the real success of the tourist industry in numbers of arrival? What about return on investment i.e. how much it is costing to bring a tourist to Barbados e.g. subsidies to airlines, marketing etc compared to 25 years ago. What do we know about what the tourist is spending today compared to yesterday. It becomes a superficial argument to peer only at the arrivals number.

Liked by 1 person

• HA! HA! Now ac is really laughing out Loud. to hear and see the speckled fowl David moving the goal post further is a real belly laugh HA! HA!, Did you forget the daily memos and poison pen articles by Loverridge that flash across the halls of BU inviting all to take a swipe at the govt for the dismal tourism numbers a short five years ago, OH David indeed a speckled fowl you are ,, SO funny > HA! HA!< Congrats Govt for a job well done, Eat Your Heart out Blp misfits and you too speckled fowl. On todays menu is Crow served on a bed of Nettle Bush..

• AC being that you can only see through the bars at black rock you have to rely on numbers. But if you could escape you would be amazed at how few white faces are running around.The govt says long stay inter island travel is up on the other hand fails to mention they have to pay to deport most of them. Barbados should go after the vegetarian community they love to eat seaweed,

• @David,

Tourism value to Barbados.

14% of GDP, 10% of employment and 54 % of foreign currency earnings.

• “I suspect the top ministers of the Doolittle administration are feeling the same emotions now that the price of oil has entered the economic “war” firmly on our side. It is the only thing which has saved the administration, and remains the one marker of hope that our economic slide into banana republic oblivion has been halted.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/67822/hoyos-file-sleeping-sleep-saved-thankful#sthash.z7hoGjDu.dpuf

• @Hants

BU as you know is not easily swayed by propaganda. Until the unprecedented rise in tourists numbers is determined to drive Barbados out of the hole and we begin to see key perform indicators like unemployment, confidence in the Offshore Sector etc, we will remain quietly optimistic.

• @ David,

What is the biggest industry in Barbados?

I must be “out of touch” because I thought it was Tourism.

Barbados is “in a hole” and will stay in a hole for a very long time unless wunna get lucky.

A glimmer of “hope” rests in renewable energy(Solar & Wind ) and modernized agriculture
    ( greenhouses / ” aquaponics etc.)

Tourism is a gift that can keep on giving. You just have to “manage” it.

• @ David May 29, 2015 at 4:34 AM

“Should we measure the real success of the tourist industry in numbers of arrival? What about return on investment i.e. how much it is costing to bring a tourist to Barbados e.g. subsidies to airlines, marketing etc compared to 25 years ago. What do we know about what the tourist is spending today compared to yesterday. It becomes a superficial argument to peer only at the arrivals number.”

Right on

Ierad the Text of the BTMI Media Release

Curious that the MEDIA CONTACT: is Christal P. Austin
    Tel: 1 246 243 4307
    prmanager@lyricallavapr.com

Who is Lyrical Lava PR – http://www.lyricallavapr.com

Interest article on the home page – Hot Air Balloons and Passenger Planes

Since when does BTMI need the services of an Integrated Marketing Communications firm to massage the message.

And what a message it is
    BARBADOS TOURISM SECTOR RECORDS DOUBLE DIGIT GROWTH
    ~ Local tourism expanded by 15.1 per cent during Q1 2015, the highest performance in any comparative period in 25 years

Can those numbers be correct?

Or are they a bunch of PR Hot Air?

• I just think it wold be interesting to have more numbers available. Is the 15.1% increase based on comparing it to last year arrival numbers? Did last year not record the lowest number of arrivals in some 9 years? Is the number of arrivals the greatest increase in actual arrivals we have seen in the last 25 years or is it the 15.1% year over year increase that is the largest increase on a year to year basis we have seen in 25 years.

Until these numbers are known we really don’t know what we are looking at other than this year was comparatively better than last year…but last year was dismal.

• Adrian Loveridge

I am certainly NOT going to criticise the figures, but as others have pointed out it is the peak critical 3 months of the year and it will almost amount to nothing if the number increases cannot be maintained. Actually, 2013 was the lowest long stay arrival numbers in the last 12 years (508,520) with 2009 second (518,564) and 2014 a close third (519,598).

• SITH

Apparently the strategy to hire Lyrical Lava PR spin doctors (at what cost to taxpayers?) to massage the message is working.

The BTMI Media Release is intended to confuse.

Wonder how many of those visitors were visiting Sandals, where everything is included, so no need to spend elsewhere after they have paid their money into Sandals’ bank accounts in New York, or Miami, or Toronto, or Panama. And all that cost was 40 years of tax concessions – in exchange for ??????

• Why don’t you Yahoos like Due diligence accept that your longwinded negative episodes as to how the govt was going about implementing policies to help the tourism, industry has not bear fruit,accept defeat ,just admit that all your prophesies were wrong .

• To ensure that this growth is sustained in 2015, the BTMI will be combining a new digital marketing strategy and a deeper reliance on research with a new nimble business structure and several collaborative marketing programs reach their targets.
    A new program, dubbed “Brilliant Barbados,” has been designed “to drive incremental business in the traditionally softer period of the year,” said Griffith
    The booking window for the Brilliant Barbados promotion will open from early March for five weeks and travel will be required between May 9 and December 19. Thirty participating hotels and a number of local attractions have come on board to offer visitors discounts
    . In addition, strong alliances are already being formed with several online travel agencies, tour operators and local industry partners to increase Barbados marketing presence at key gateways.
    Among the niche markets the BTMI will be focusing its marketing dollars on are the luxury, meetings and incentives (MICE), culinary and romance markets. Sports and festivals are also expected to factor heavily going forward.

• AC/S always get the last laugh all the blp predictions have fell flat on their faces today the rabble rousers voices are silent, but again ac /s rejoice in the fact that the ac/s comments have all but been verified in the tourism gains

• AC you seem to be like a north Korean. everything the supreme leader does or says is brilliant just like in Barbados no drugs at the hospital…brilliant questionable tourist numbers…brilliant every thing is brilliant…even you AC you are the most brilliant thing of all LOL

Liked by 1 person

• Due Diligence or Adrian maybe able to do the research – the basis for the 15% increase is based on Quarter 1, 2015 compared to Quarter 1,2014? Can we establish how Quarter 1, 2014 compares to Quarter 1, 2006/7 as a point of reference?

• Why would anybody post that stupid childish speech by Froon unless they were completely idiotic ……or REALLY wanted to confirm how classless he is….?

Liked by 1 person

• Steupsss
    This is not worth such over analysis.
    The numbers are up because the damn people’s homes were cold as shiite ….and most of the alternative destinations are DANGEROUS.

Last year was particularly BAD.
    It is only obvious that this year will be significantly better.

If they want to use statistical analysis they should be talking about “mean deviation” rather that a one-off “year-on-year” change.

Lotta shiite….
    Scraping the barrel for something positive to show….
    No damn shame whatsoever…

• @Bushie

There you go, had to complicate the scenario by making reference to the discipline of statistical analysis. Why would the BTMI believe they can throw 15% out there and get away with it? JAs abound that is why!

• @ Lawson,

I rarely agree with you. However your comments @ May 30, 2015 at 6:50 AM are apt.

It was interesting to see Fumble speaking. He has good comic timing and has the potential to become a comedienne if ever he were to step down from politics.

I don’t know who was worse the sycophantic, raucous audience or the deluded, honourable Prime Minister. As each day passes the roots of delusional grandeur becomes more deeply embedded into the soil of Barbados.

• Tourism up and oil prices down. Wunna get lucky.

In July nuff Torontonians going on vacation to avoid the traffic chaos caused by the PanAm games so hopefully Butch and the BTMI will invite the Tdot posse to wear Sandals.

• Bush Tea May 30, 2015 at 7:03 AM #

Steupsss
    This is not worth such over analysis.
    The numbers are up because the damn people’s homes were cold as shiite ….and most of the alternative destinations are DANGEROUS.

”Off the back foot, cut square and goes for four!”

Kensington stand in uproar!

• Adrian Loveridge

These are the first quarter long stay arrival figures for Barbados as published by the CTO

2006 – 153,637
    2007 – 143,697
    2008 – 159,209
    2009 – 145,530
    2010 – 148,491
    2011 – 157,244
    2012 – 160,839
    2013 – 150,462
    2014 – 148,586

The CRO has not yet published first quarter 2015 but the BTMI are quoting 171,471

• Adrian Loveridge

Sorry should read CTO (Caribbean Tourism Organisation)

• Thanks Adrian, the performance supports what some of us suspected. It is PR, why not make a comparison to 2006 (before global economic meltdown) and say 2012. We know why.

• what de f..uvk. bush shite you talk nufff shite.this year has been one of the mildest and shortest cold seasons when compared to previous years. so what is your argument again .The fact( is )that there have been forward movement in the global economy a necessary component for strident activity. secondly this govt initiatives have been a helping hand.

• this has been one of the longest winters in Ottawa, to say BT is wrong is just asinine that is what accts for the increase in Canadians even though the dollar dropped. However when a lot of tickets and trips were booked we were trading at 90 odd cents vs us now we are barely 80 Better not gloat to early Low dollar …cheaper trips…same sun ..same booze…hot chicks…equals Cuba

• Firstly temperatures vary world wide but on the avearge this winter has been one of the shortestwhich attributes to less colder tmperatures normally felt in past years. Bush shit has no statistics to prove his analogy only a broad base perspective with coated assumptions .How about suer months when cruises are very popular is ac niw to follow the same analogy as bushshite is proposing that summer cruises are fuelled by temperature change.ac submit to you that although temperature change may play a significant role in travel it is not the major factor in getting tourist to travel.if that was so govts would not have to rely on marketing strategizes to bring tourist to their shores

• Here is another area where our Cuban friends look set to outmanoeuvre us in the tourist stakes: culture.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/foreign-film-directors-flock-to-cuba-as-isolated-island-opens-up-to-outside-world-10285909.html

• @ Lawson
    “….to say BT is wrong is just asinine…”
    That leaves AC no choice but to say it… 🙂

• IF we are referring to the U.S. The record shows February 2015 was one of the coldest ever. http://www.weather.com/news/news/top-five-coldest-february-midwest-northeast

IF we are talking Canada, the link suggest the same. http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/montreal/montreal-records-coldest-february-in-history-1.2977083

What about the UK?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-30870799

Added to which the BTMI official all suggest abnormally freezing temperatures, improving economies, expanded airlift all have contributed to rising tourist arrivals from our key tourist markets, and this is being experienced in all the Cariibean islands.

Thine hignorance know no bounds.

• 508,520 tourists visited Barbados in 2013.

With a little LUCK we can expect 5 to 6 hundred thousand tourists yearly for the next few years.

The BTMI can help make this happen.

Click to access Dec2013.pdf

• First of all february is always the coldest month in the USA. due in part to the deep freeze coming from Canada, and making its way into the USA . nothing new here! but overall the cold months start around august for states further north than those in the southern USA . however one would suspect that if weather was the most formidable factor then the winter months going into 2013 which were horribly cold with Canada experiencing unprecedented amount of electric outages one should have seen a massive amount of tourist flocking to the Caribbean shores in pursuit for the warmth and security of a safer haven but NO. it did not happen, however the proof as they say is in the eating and the evedience shows statistically that tourist numbers dropped drastically throughout the carribean basin despite the harsh winters months,
    Now as they say the proof of the cake is in the eating and what most Carribbean nations are witnessing is a revival of a tourist industry driven by multiple factors due in part to a financial upward swing in global markets,

• Winter 2014-15 Was Nation’s 19th Warmest Despite Bitterly Cold February in East

http://www.weather.com/news/climate/news/warmest-winter-coldest-february-2015

• on another note! one of Barbados biggest and best export products on a visit to Cuba, Looking at the throngs of people lining the street to see her one would think that Jesus had fulfilled second

• @ David
    Boss….!!!
    ..this AC thing is a bigger rabbit(f) than we thought yuh…..

• @Bushie

Instead of calling for mean deviation perhaps regression analysis is required. What do you suggest we establish as the dependent variable?

• bush shite you are such a fart hole,,, evidently you cannot argue with the data presented which showcase a less than colder winter which therefore destroy your analogy to the claim which you had proposed about tourist and high levels of travels for this tourist season and one built on an effort to dismiss govts effort in putting policies in place which would be a catalyst for bringing the tourist to our shores.
    it is obvious that you are a linguistic phrasing is one define to trick and your presentation is one of many laced half truths and magical wording…

• Why do we shout hurrah! and beat our chests about rising tourist figures, when we continue to offer them dirty beaches, dirty streets, and 24/7 ear splitting noises from motorcycles and wannabe racing cars.
    Am I living in the same country as the Tourism Minister,other Ministers of Government and the other movers and shakers ,and takers , in the tourism industry ?

• @ David
    ….not Bushie and you bozie…
    Next thing you will be uploading SPSS and confusing the whole blog…

..surely, (as you strongly suggested previously) the ultimate dependent variable is local tourist spending of forex…..

@ AC
    yuh idyut…
    Only the winter conditions in our tourist markets are relevant to this discussion….
    Yuh think a potential tourist will be influenced to come to Barbados because of the weather in another city?

@ Colonel Buggy
    Key point made.
    The difference between being a genuine tourist place of interest and an international brothel is the PRIDE in one’s country.
    In the former, tourist visit to enjoy the ambiance and the innovations…
    In the latter, we lure victims (johns) via their lust for things that they can’t get /won’t do at home…to come and indulge for a fee…

Take a look at Brown’s Beach….
    …the 10th natural wonder of the world

unkempt
    undeveloped
    dirty
    old ugly derelict buildings lining the beach
    poor policing /lifeguards
    old, shabby, nasty road (Bay Street) from Garrison to city
    windows to Bay street blocked by slum-like derelict structures

..is this not reminiscent of a low class whorehouse?

….and we have ministers (and their political adviser AC) talking shiite…

Compare this to Dubai …or even Doha, where a bunch of shiites from non-traditional tourist destinations have converted barren DESERTS into high class areas that ANYONE would want to visit and enjoy….

…you understand what a BRASS BOWL is…?

• Bush Tea May 31, 2015 at 7:00 AM #

Agree fully, very well said. A lovely scenic broadway, blocked by unnecessary ugliness.

What Bay Street needs most now is a John Deere or Caterpillar. From the volleyball court, all the way down to the careenage.

Boatyard is operational and in good order, you could leave that, everything else should go, seriously….!!!

@ AC

yuh idyut…

Only the winter conditions in our tourist markets are relevant to this discussion….
    Yuh think a potential tourist will be influenced to come to Barbados because of the weather in another city?

””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’

Bush sh.ite,,,, y u pletting big rock early , i suggest u stick one in yuh mout cause yuh talking bulll sh..t ,, too early in the morning..what a jck a.ss,

What de fvk… Tourism marketing strategies are designed mainly to see every person as a potential tourist. another reason why your original analogy and the influence of weather blows right up in your face with the sh.it talk u brought to table..

• Very easy to solve this dispute, will a taxi driver please tell everyone if he has been very busy and making all kinds of money. Will a small store owner tell us if he is just getting by or is raking it in . Will a doctor please tell us if the QEH can now afford petroleum jelly in enough quantity to be able to get AC;s head out of its ass.

• Notice how the foot soldiers and wunna be foot soldiers makes the usual detours or push the goal post an inch forward, i believe the article focus was on the Tourism numbers, however the post has once again been over taken by a band of Troglodytes who believe it is in the countries best interest to undermined ..the blatancy of it all have no bounds

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

BTW miller i have a message for you, but i need your approval before i put it on BU, i understand that……………………i will leave it at that right now

• Only an idiot like Irene would label those individuals questioning the authenticity of tourism statistics as members of the BLP or they are seeking to undermine the country’s best interest. This cannot be rational thinking at all. But then again, who in the DLP thinks rationally anyhow?

I can understand why some will question the legitimacy of those tourism stats, because this administration has a history of “fiddling with figures” to make it seem as though they are “on top of things.”

Surely we can remember the Governor of the Central Bank dismissing the Barbados Statistical Department’s unemployment stats as being too high. Worrell subsequently commissioned an unemployment survey by the CBB, which figures were much lower. In the end, the BSS unemployment percentage was correct and was the one used by the IMF.

If Loveridge’s comments are correct, in that the CTO has not released its figures as yet, and these figures proved to lower, this can also be considered as undermining the country’s interest much more.

• @ Crusoe
    “What Bay Street needs most now is a John Deere or Caterpillar…”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    What is interesting is that all the conditions are right for that approach…
    JADA surely has caterpillars….
    COW surely has caterpillars…

…so far all that has been needed for other big contracts to be signed is that these “model citizens” be able to undertake the work…. There is only a lotta talk when people like the Bynoes have big projects…
    shiite man…. even when the multi-million dollar contracts result in large white elephants with no one living in them…they just sign more…

If we had real MEN of vision as leaders, instead of mendicant jackass eunuchs, …even before we got to Bay Street with bulldozers , that shiite derelict on Hastings, the result of the Pemberton(?) scam should be cleared, cleaned, and landscaped….at the expense of whoever was locally involved…

…and what about the old cheffette property in Holetown….?

Only confirmed, retarded brass bowls would allow greedy vultures to do such damage to an unmatchable natural resource like Barbados….and sit quietly by while the vermin and slugs take over….

• WEll Artexeres everyone is entitled to their idiocy ,even you,,
    The fact remains that those questions on face valued might appear to the gullible as pertinent ,but to those who have traveled and played on the BU playground, knows the answer is all cooked up with bitter bush and scribble with a poison pen on the walls of BU.
    How is it that none of the antagonist never questioned the veracity or truthfulness of the tourism numbers when they were in decline.

• Irene, you must admit David BU asked some very important questions in his May 29, 2015 – 4:34AM contribution, re:

“Should we measure the real success of the tourist industry in numbers of arrival?”

“What about return on investment i.e. how much it is costing to bring a tourist to Barbados e.g. subsidies to airlines, marketing etc compared to 25 years ago?”

“What do we know about what the tourist is spending today compared to yesterday?”

“It becomes a superficial argument to peer only at the arrivals number.”

Perhaps we should earn your pay and answer these questions for us.

• *Perhaps you should earn your pay and answer these question for us.

• Irene the ACs head was in her ass for so long that hair stop growing on her head, she must be the yard duck on the DLP farm in order to buy hair and gold, notice how she write on BU a lot of what pass from the ass, sh..ite and also she is using the fuc.k word in writing now shows how really fuc.k up her mind have become, can it be from the 2008 ? no, her mind was always fuc.k up

• Not sure why some are associating ac with Senator Sandiford-Garner. We need to make comment and stay away from personalization especially when they are incorrect.

On 31 May 2015 at 16:32, Barbados Underground wrote:

• Artaxerexes for many of us .we all the know role and the job of the spin misters and drum majors of doom and gloom. As usual the predictable froth with out substance,

@ watchman you are truly a despicable character.

@ David… These foot soldiers supposed to know everything,,,,

• @ AC
    Your writings are annoyances that causes strong dislike by people that can’t tolerate the offensive way, David of BU try to protect your ID, but you and Irene S-G / Senator have the same MO in writing, meaning you annoyed and when reprehensibility come, you cry victim just like the Irene S-G / Senator that OSA had to put in her place some years back
    if you AC are not that Irene S-G / Senator say so, and stop crying victim

• @ watchman May 31, 2015 at 4:05 PM,

Hands off AC. There are some of us who enjoy reading his postings!

“Put to the test: Barbados vs Bequia! A fortnight of Caribbean luxury to discover which idyllic island is the best
    •Barbados and Bequia are great Caribbean breaks – but which is best?
    •From hotels, to flight routes, and local character, they are put head to head

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/travel/travel_news/article-3103824/Put-test-Barbados-vs-Bequia-fortnight-Caribbean-luxury-discover-idyllic-island-best.html

……………………………………………………………………….
    You are so right about the brothel bit. The Ministry of Culture etc etc, has just announced plans to show case Nelson Street during our Bridgetown and the Garrison World Heritage Month, or something to the effect.

• Exclaimer less is definitely more and I will prefer to holiday in Bequia. If Barbados want to remain a viable destination it needs mucho cleaning up and restoring. Do the people have the will?

Colonel we will be missing AC during those tours of Nelson St and its environs, she will be busy in her weave and garters.

• Sorry islangal i belive you did mistake miller for ac,, somebody told me they saw him in that enviro all decked out in high heels and mini skirt some time ago . btw i have heard some not so nice news about miller,, i guess the news i heard might be right, so far miller has not responded to my pokes. he never has been a person lost for words,

• Speaking of Nelson Streets .it can remain a viable part of Barbados economy ,if the area is restricted and license as a “red light district” Tourist like variety , A blp person told me to say that

• @ Exclaimer
    I used a keyboard on Ac,
    @ Islangal I will give AC the weave and garters if that what it takes

• @ watchman i suspect all along that you were one of them closet freaks.. so my suspicions were right and so were my eyes seeing you a few weeks ago all decked out in booty shorts and fish net stockings, wearing a blond weave

• This is hysterical. I don’t book a “last minute” vacation to Barbados because it is cold in the Northeast US where I live. My vacation is planned at least 6 months out for international travels. In the case of my trip in Feb 2015 to Sandals Barbados it was planned in October 2013. The weather had nothing to do with it. The fact is, there is additional airlift to Barbados on American Airlines and Jetblue, which made it easy for me to use my Frequent Flier miles to come to the island. Then Sandals opened, and there was a brand I trusted. I overnighted at the Hilton before I went over to Sandals Barbados and had a great time on the Island, and loved the people. I personally didn’t enjoy Mr. Zellner the manager of Sandals Barbados as I think he is an arrogant jerk, but we will definitely be back to the island, just not at Sandals.

• Yeeap there is a loud mout Brass Bowl calld Bush the Brass bowl Jerk who Thinks he Knows Every thing about tourism even weather predictions, what a JAc a,sss

• People plan vacations for different reasons and at different times. Because you didn’t plan on impulse because of cold weather it doesn’t mean others didn’t.

• LOL
    Rob sounds to be just about as intelligent as ac … just!!
    Ha ha ha
    Oh shiirt!!! 🙂

• are-we-there-yet

Rob; Why did you have to overnight at the Hilton in such a well planned vacation?

• Here we go again with these two class clowns trying to argue speculation against a ( given) fact. Only a brass bowl one of the highest order would dismiss the relevancy and importance of advance preplaned vacations methods that are pocket savings and not heavily relying on weather.

• If ac is the lady you guys say she is then she must have had some sort of brain damage since school days. She is unintelligible mostly. I can’t say I noticed such mental deficiency way back then. If she had been that stupid then she would have been the talk of the school.

• Beware of comments ‘planted’.

• ..that was obvious David

• ac

Rob said

” I personally didn’t enjoy Mr. Zellner the manager of Sandals Barbados as I think he is an arrogant jerk, but we will definitely be back to the island, just not at Sandals.”

What say you?

You ought to speak to Humble Butch about the Arrogant Mr. Zeliner.

• are-we-there-yet June 1, 2015 at 8:44 AM #

“Rob; Why did you have to overnight at the Hilton in such a well planned vacation?”

I was also thought about that AWTY, this person’s comments made no sense at all. Here we have an individual who claims his “trip in Feb 2015 to Sandals Barbados was planned in October 2013”, yet he “overnighted at the Hilton before (he) went over to Sandals Barbados.”

I suspect “Rob’s” comments have been authored by certain individuals specifically to “substantiate” the government’s position on this topic.

• Summer will tell it all

• Simple, I was on the late flight that gets into BGI at almost 10pm. Why would I want to waste a day of paying Sandals $500+ per night, for 2 hours of use, when I can used Hilton points to stay for free?

Wow you guys really are a bunch of conspiracy theorists. Feel free to have Adrian or someone else check my ip if you wish.

As far as Butch, I made my comments known to him when he was on property.

• Also, lets look at it from my perspective being in the North East, if I wanted to do a last minute vacation, it would be to Jamaica or DR, why? they are inexpensive in comparison to Barbados, St. Lucia. Also, it is easier to get to those destinations. From DC, we direct flights to Jamaica, DR, Bahamas etc. Barbados I had to go through JFK or Miami. Maybe some folks from NYC did last minute vacations, or maybe Toronto, but outside of origin destination last minute get aways it doesn’t really happen. Don’t believe me? But what do I know, for the same price as what I paid in Barbados, I could have gone to the Maldives. Not only that, it would have taken the same amount of planes to get there. If Barbados wants to attract more tourists, it needs to let its currency float like Jamaica’s, and get more airlift.

• David u are being meanspirited u mean to say that a comment showing disagreement is now “aplanted “comment What is your proof. .Btw not every one is ignorant to facts.guh long do.it is obvious that u have an axe to grind.

• People plan vacations to different destination for different reasons, cost and or routing is not always the consideration.

• What world do you live in? If I have set amount of money, then yes cost is always a consideration.

• Some will pay extra to travel to Barbados because there is less crime etc, because you made a different decision it does not preempt others from making a different one.

• There is crime everywhere. By your logic, I should stay in the US, because the homicide rate per thousand is 3 less than Barbados. No offense, but I don’t look at the crime rate before I go internationally. Why? I spend most of my time at whatever resort I go to. If I did, then I should have gone to Antigua. If I wanted to go to the eastern caribbean. https://www.osac.gov/pages/ContentReportDetails.aspx?cid=17240

• Oh my god David you are being ridiculous with your insane anology the fact is that people check their pocket book savings first and foremost. How ridiculous can u get using crime as a legitimate example for travelling.u need to stop listening to the old fart bush shite

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Rob

Regardless of how much “floating of our currency that we do like the Jamaican $$” we still arrive at the same point where
    1) a local rated 5 star hotel would secure a ‘grading’, ‘rating’, and ‘classification’ of a negative number in civilized country
    2) where the price of Corn Flakes that I buy for US$3.99 a box costs and incredible, inflated US$12,
    where 3) a 6 oz. piece of sirloin that is $6 at Gayot Restaurant cost $54 her on this Rock
    4) where your so called duty free shops are robbing stations for unsuspecting tourists and where essentially, a host of conflated prices that we Bajans just dream up every night when we go to sleep prevail as the order of the day because “the tourists loveeeee Bulbados sooooo badddd”

• @ Donna
    The mental deficiency that is displayed by ACs, can be find in all the DLP farm yard stocks
    and trace back to 2008 when they eat the fatted cow King David Thompson offered without knowing what kind of additives that were in the fodder that feed the cow, being the king David Thompson eat the most, dry up and dead, but the rest are left with mental deficiency we must pray for them

• I got robbed at a regular grocery store in the gap. 44 barbados for a pint of ice cream….didn’t need the duty free for that one.

• @watchman u hate ac so much thst it gives all the ac,s great pleasure to be of an annoyance to u .

• @Rob

You may have the last word.

• David

Well done

I was going to tell Bob Jr to STFU

I see you have shut him the F out

• @ AC
    I don’t hate , I dislike what you ACs have become since 2008,

• @DD

There is Rob and there is Bob the spammer.

• Some of us are not surprised, the numbers rounded down. Have we heard any revision of the 25% propaganda ?

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/68211/matters-missteps-tourism-arrivals

People plan vacations to different destination for different reasons, cost > and or routing is not always the consideration. > > >

• I guess Lyrical Lave PR is working on a new Press Release

• See

Missing data
    Hoteliers react to Govt’s latest tourism figures

@ http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/06/05/127001/

“The average length of time on the island per long stay visitor was not given, except for majority of the 217,139 cruise visitors for the period under review who had an average stay of between seven and 10 days.”

cruise visitors for the period under review who had an average stay of between seven and 10 days?

Should this be between seven and ten hours?

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s