Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and outgoing Principal of UWI, Cave Hill

Brooks distinguishes two sorts of virtues: resumé virtues and eulogy virtues. Resumé virtues are the skills you bring to the marketplace: wealth, fame, status and a great career. Eulogy virtues are the things people will say about you at your funeral: that you were honest, loving, and steadfast. Most of us would say that eulogy virtues are more important, but it’s the resumé virtues we tend to think about the most – About David Brooks latest book The Road to Character

In has become the norm for local leaders in civil society to shout at each other rather than adopt more civilized and constructive methods of engagement. The latest salvo has come from the taciturn Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart who saw merit in bellowing a message to outgoing principal of the Cave Hill Campus, UWI Hilary Beckles on the weekend.  The point of contention for Stuart is the criticism by Beckles that a cutback in financial support by government will translate to a social cost especially on working class women.

The first observation independent minded observers are forced to make is that both Beckles and Stuart have low creditability when addressing the issue of the current state of education provided by Cave Hill, UWI. Beckles cannot expect to exponentially expand student intake at the campus without soliciting the buyin of the government. A growing student enrolment has financial implication for the public purse at a time when government is cash strapped.  Surely government and the principal of Cave Hill must appreciate the benefit of removing the politics from the issue.

On the flipside we have a prime minister who led a government which promised not to change tuition arrangement at Cave Hill. Given the importance of education in the minds of all Barbadians whether working, middle or upperclass there is no doubt government’s position at the time influenced many who voted in 2013. The fact the prime minister and government has recanted on its position confirms the widely known maxim that a promise [by a politician] is comfort for a fool. The more literal among us maybe within their right to call the prime minister a liar.

What cannot be disputed is that there has been a significant reduction in student intake at Cave Hill – 1,468 students registered in 2014 compared to 2,240 in 2013; a direct response to government’s policy declared in the 2013-14 budget by minister Chris Sinckler that students at Cave Hill will pay tuition fees while the government continues to pay economic cost. Surprisingly minister Sinckler was reported on recently in the news pledging government’s commitment to work with stakeholders to get the numbers back up [BU’s emphasis on numbers]. Surely all agree there is a good relationship between an educated citizenry and crime along with other social ills.

The case of a prime minister of a country and a principal of the premier tertiary institution braying like jackasses for all hither, thither, and yon to witness, both having been educated at Cave Hill, provokes the question about the quality of education being delivered on the Hill. It speaks to a crisis of leadership on both sides we should be concerned.

What is so difficult for the UWI alumni to resolve a few problems and share vision over a rum and coke and a pork chop on a 2×3 island?

176 responses to “Tension Between Hilary Beckles and the Barbados Government Continues”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

What’s wrong with you? Why would you want to go by Islandgal when Islandguy goes out? Are you in the business of changing PAMPERS?

2. Is anyone listening to this jackass on VOB now?

Hey, jackass, respect is earned. You cannot demand people show respect to the Pm when he shows none or little to people who have a different view from the DLP.

Tell your PM to respect Barbadians, you lackey!

3. BUSHITE (thank you AC) why don’t you kiss my BIG BLACK TOE?

4. Ms.Watson has her heart in the right place but she exposed her naivtee on several issues. Last week she was correctly upbraided by former talk show host Marsha Hinds-Layne. Today she allowed herself to be drawn in to a conversation having not read the BT article about what Dr. Joseph commented. It is clear she has a bent.

5. @ Islandgal
    ….why don’t you kiss my BIG BLACK TOE?
    When…?

6. Sargeant April 23, 2015 at 7:51 AM #

“I hear that Mia will be in TO next month and there is a function where she will be guest speaker so I may attend to get her views on events.”

Where? When?

Could be worthwhile going to here her remarks.

7. David

Another moderator would have said….let me have a read before I comment but no, she proceeded to engage the man who believes that Fumble was right to lambast Sir Hillary.

I really had to stop listening when “Arthur” called in, that man is so naive. He asked Tricia where in the constitution was free education written…..he said people have a habit of saying Mr Barrow said this or that but he never said anything about free education “ad finitum”. Of course Tricia agreed.

I will never say that the time would not come for parents to pay for some portion of their children’s education at Cave Hill as some of us paid for our children at overseas universities.

My problem is why do it in 2014 when things are so hard……

When your policies have made Barbadians poorer……..

When your government has sent home 6500 public workers who are the same poor parents of the children who want to go to UWI.

You have made the economy worse than when you found it in 2008, the parents have no jobs, there are no prospects of any on the horizon, the parents unemployment benefits have run out……..yet you are telling the parents to pay for their children.

This government is the worst thing ever foisted on Barbadians. It is going to take years to get out of this.

Dr Mascoll’s column is good reading today! The dems can only hide the truth for so long, there are people who are smarter than them who can read between his lies.

8. Prodigal
    I did the same thing when the notorious defender of the Dems started his diatribe.I know some have a bias to one or the other political party but this fellow Arthur and the CBC moderator Maureen take bias to another level.I don’t listen to CBC call in ever.Too much hymn singing from the dlp hymn sheet.Maureen sing soprano,John and Arthur bass.They call that harmony…lol.

9. @Prodigal

The problem many have with this government on the Cave Hill tuition matter is that it was never a platform issue yet it was obviously a decision in the breach all the while. It us a credibility issue.

10. This sudden policy catspaddled many people. A friend of one of my children took a year off because of the finances in the home, she wanted to help out. Now she cannot afford to pay tuition, all the two years studying is down the drain.

This is so sad.

11. steuse

another long day of diatribe and political poop from the likes of prodigal ,,

12. Prodigal Son April 23, 2015 at 2:57 PM #

“Dr Mascoll’s column is good reading today! The dems can only hide the truth for so long, there are people who are smarter than them who can read between his lies.”

Dr. Mascoll’s articles are always a good read (especially when he makes his comments as “Mascoll the economist” and not “Mascoll the politician.”)

One does not have to possess a PhD in economics to conclude this administration has been manipulating the economic data so as to give Barbadians the illusion that the economy is improving.

Then we have the Trinidadian bankers who often come out to give their spin on Barbados’ economic situation, which more often than not, is always in sync with the Central Bank’s reports or evaluations from Sinckler.

Interestingly, when the “shit hits the fan”, these Trini bankers retreat into the background without admitting their assessments were incorrect. Then they wait “patiently silent” until the next Central Bank report so they can “re-warm” their speeches.

13. It is evidentiary truth that in Barbados anybody can become a Prime Minister.Further,it is an obvious truth that only a select few can become the Vice-Chancellor of the University of the West Indies.To those politically inclined to follow Stuart’s puerile contribution to the observation of the Principal who must know his facts,I say to you carry on,time longer than twine.

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

good ball gabriel!

15. @ Artaxerxes April 23, 2015 at 6:13 PM #

Good post.

We have so many persons out of work who cannot find work yet the governor brazenly said that the unemployment rate went down from 13% to 11%.

Where were these jobs created? Who got them? A friend of mine who got laid off in the private sector told me that when they went to register, a clerk there said……”come and register, government is still taking on people, dont mind what they are saying”. So maybe the jobs were created in government.

I have never seen the manipulation of minds ever before like we have witnessed since 2008. We have people who believe every last word these blatant liars spout…… we have the “brek up dem” touting that the unemployment rate has gone down to 11%.

Delusional people. Gabriel is so right…………….carry on,time longer than twine.

Wait, Gabriel, what has become of the man who liked to use that phrase?

16. The unemployment number is informed by those surveyed who are actively looking for work.

The MOA will be on the People’s Business on Sunday night to discuss his pipe laying and fancy BWA headquarters.

17. @GP gran pa u know missing from the files of BU are your long drawn out on interpretations on religious dialogue,, interestingly enough you have gone from religion to the political arena ,, maybe it is true that a fool and his folly will at sometime depart,

18. @Due Diligence

Thornhill Community Centre
    May 9th -2015
    6.30 pm -1.00 am
    Sponsor: HC-QC Alumni Association
    Donation: $40.00

Check with Hants for your tickets.

19. @ David
    It is about time that this unemployment shiite is cleaned up though…
    Obviously it is a political gimmick to count unemployment only for those actively looking for work…
    Shiite man, when 6000 people have been laid of by government and another 6000 by the private sector, who the hell will be “actively looking for work”? Wuh people may be brass bowls but dey ain’t damn foolish like AC…

So then as things get worse, we can expect “unemployment” to improve as more and more people give up and stop looking?
    Lotta shiite…

Why can’t they provide figures for:
    …. Percentage in the workforce and employed
    …. percentage NOT currently working
    …. percentage NOT working, and who are actively looking for work

ohhhh sorry …. that would make too much sense and convey too clear a picture to everyone.

20. @Due Diligence

Doan mine Sargeant, I am not a member of any alumni association neither do I attend political functions.

Tobesides I would be too tired when I get back home from fishing,

21. why bush sh,te that craw fish bone been stuck in your throat fuh a long time ac suggest u gargle wid some razor blades to get it out,,,,

22. I agree with you Bushie!

Why does the ac’s think they have to comment on every post on BU? Is there not enough gutter sniping to do in George Street?

23. @Bush Tea

The true measure is to check the state of the Unemployment Fund.

24. @ Prodigal
    Leave AC alone Boss…. she is one of David(BU)’s best assets.
    Bushie has no idea how David pulls it off, but this AC thing is a masterstroke….

Do you think that ANYONE would believe that there could be SUCH stupid people around if we did not have AC here as proof?
    shiite man….wuh AC helps us to understand Froon, Stinkliar, ….the whole government AND the opposition too yuh…..

BU David is a boss….and AC is the consummate brass bowl bajan yard fowl

25. Sargeant April 23, 2015 at 9:24 PM #
    @Due Diligence

Thornhill Community Centre
    May 9th -2015
    6.30 pm -1.00 am
    Sponsor: HC-QC Alumni Association
    Donation: $40.00

Thanks for info.

This has got to be a first

The event, a fundraiser for HC-QC, is under the Patronage of the Hon. Haynsley Benn, Consul General for Barbados at Toronto, and the Speaker is the Hon. Mia Motley, QC, MP, Leader of the Opposition in Barbados.

DD got to go see this.

26. How can the Prime Minister ask anyone to come down from Mount Olympus, when its people like him, and some of his cronies, and the many graduates whose names are published in today’s newspapers with outstanding Student Revolving Loans payments, who have kicked down the proverbial stairway to Mount Olympus?