Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and outgoing Principal of UWI, Cave Hill

Brooks distinguishes two sorts of virtues: resumé virtues and eulogy virtues. Resumé virtues are the skills you bring to the marketplace: wealth, fame, status and a great career. Eulogy virtues are the things people will say about you at your funeral: that you were honest, loving, and steadfast. Most of us would say that eulogy virtues are more important, but it’s the resumé virtues we tend to think about the most – About David Brooks latest book The Road to Character

In has become the norm for local leaders in civil society to shout at each other rather than adopt more civilized and constructive methods of engagement. The latest salvo has come from the taciturn Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart who saw merit in bellowing a message to outgoing principal of the Cave Hill Campus, UWI Hilary Beckles on the weekend.  The point of contention for Stuart is the criticism by Beckles that a cutback in financial support by government will translate to a social cost especially on working class women.

The first observation independent minded observers are forced to make is that both Beckles and Stuart have low creditability when addressing the issue of the current state of education provided by Cave Hill, UWI. Beckles cannot expect to exponentially expand student intake at the campus without soliciting the buyin of the government. A growing student enrolment has financial implication for the public purse at a time when government is cash strapped.  Surely government and the principal of Cave Hill must appreciate the benefit of removing the politics from the issue.

On the flipside we have a prime minister who led a government which promised not to change tuition arrangement at Cave Hill. Given the importance of education in the minds of all Barbadians whether working, middle or upperclass there is no doubt government’s position at the time influenced many who voted in 2013. The fact the prime minister and government has recanted on its position confirms the widely known maxim that a promise [by a politician] is comfort for a fool. The more literal among us maybe within their right to call the prime minister a liar.

What cannot be disputed is that there has been a significant reduction in student intake at Cave Hill – 1,468 students registered in 2014 compared to 2,240 in 2013; a direct response to government’s policy declared in the 2013-14 budget by minister Chris Sinckler that students at Cave Hill will pay tuition fees while the government continues to pay economic cost. Surprisingly minister Sinckler was reported on recently in the news pledging government’s commitment to work with stakeholders to get the numbers back up [BU’s emphasis on numbers]. Surely all agree there is a good relationship between an educated citizenry and crime along with other social ills.

The case of a prime minister of a country and a principal of the premier tertiary institution braying like jackasses for all hither, thither, and yon to witness, both having been educated at Cave Hill, provokes the question about the quality of education being delivered on the Hill. It speaks to a crisis of leadership on both sides we should be concerned.

What is so difficult for the UWI alumni to resolve a few problems and share vision over a rum and coke and a pork chop on a 2×3 island?

176 responses to “Tension Between Hilary Beckles and the Barbados Government Continues”

1. @ Bushie

Yuh mekking we shiite! LOL

Maybe if your metaphysical underpinnings were not so singular a greater multitude would join you in the war for souls you wage, as part of your calling.

Maybe if your BBE was not associated with the history it has been, Pacha would be a warrior too.

Maybe if your BBE did not differentiate between The Om and Jehovah, maybe!

Maybe if the lies written by the hand of man were to be corrected, as a condition precedent

Maybe if the lies told for 2K years were corrected, lies that are central to the BBE epistemology, ethics, politics and esthetics.

Maybe if we could find forgiveness, as sought, for the crimes of your BBE

Notwithstanding, we have said before and will repeat, if we were ever to be called to yours we would hope to be a Kristian like you. LOL

2. Maybe I am the only one who believes the principal shouldn’t have dignified the Prime Minister with a response.He likes silence ? Then feed him some in a long spoon.

3. I agree with you, SuckaBubby.

Were I Sir Hillary, I would not have answered the ugly idiot. The fumbling idiot lambasted Damaini Parris the same way. Mr Parris said he wrote to the PM and as expected, got no response. Instead of replying to Mr Parris, Fumble took the low road and cussed the guy at one of these said branch meetings.

Fumble is a low class moron!

4. We have to stay focus on the big issue which is we have to civil society leaders who continue to demonstrate an inability to solve problems/overcome challenges.

5. RE Artaxerxes April 20, 2015 at 10:17 PM #
    Shiite, Gaston Browne criticizing Barbados and the government left right and center, while believing PM Stuart is being led astray by Ralph Gonsalves. Froon responds by invoking his right to remain silent. Rather than remain silent on the Beckles issue, he gives up that right and decides to talk, forgetting that “anything he says or do can be used against him in the court” on Election Day.

DO YOU REALLY BELIEVE THAT THERE WILL BE A NEXT ELECTION?

DO YOU NOT REALIZE THAT THESE MORONS KNOW THAT THEY CANT WIN ANY OTHER ELECTIONS EVEN AGAINST THE CURRENT POOR RACKY BLP?

DO YOU NOT REALIZE THAT THESE MORONS PLAN NEVER GIVE UP POWER EVEN IF THEY HAVE TO RESORT TO THE MOST FOUL TACTICS?

DO YOU NOT REALIZE THAT THESE MORONS KNOW THAT BUYING VOTES WONT WORK AGAIN?

6. @ Prodigal
    you would repay evil for evil?
    Would you not then be just as bad…? That approach only leads to conflict which causes everyone to lose…

The PM is simply misguided, out of his league, and overwhelmed with the burden of leadership.

Bushie tell wunna that any idiot could drive a car on a flat open pasture… when the traffic hits mediocre drivers are placed under stress…

@ Pacha
    Your position is fundamentally flawed.
    Bushie has previously used the analogy of Lowdown Hoad’s goat farm to illustrate…
    Say Hoadie decides to undertake a farm to produce goat milk …knowing that as long as Caswell can keep a job, his sales will be guaranteed 🙂
    One of his goats called “Pachie” thinks that the whole milk idea is a lotta shiite and grossly unfair since Pachie argues that milk should be reserved for young goats…
    Pachie encourages his herd to stop producing milk….and hoadie simply sends them to the butcher…. matter fixed.

You have NO IDEA what the shepherd has set as the objective for his herd…yet you talking shiite bout ‘unfair’, lies, and crimes…come on Pacha…

…where is the crime if Hoadie decides to use Pachie as a Sunday stew….?

7. @ Enuff
    Steupsss 🙂
    Sir Cave often consults…. with the ‘yes’ people with whom he surrounds himself. Any nay-sayers are quickly dismissed and defanged… ask anyone…(as if you did not know … 🙂 )

The question is not “how many UWI graduates are clerks?”
    it is “how many UWI graduates command the strategic management heights of Barbados”.
    THAT is why UWI was created and why we would have been justified in the humongous expenses associated with it…

Getting a degree to move from field clerk to house clerk does not justify the national cost….. shiite man…we even had house niggers back in the slave days….without the UWI…what we NEED are plantation owners.

Also, post graduate degrees don’t mean shit….indeed it is what idiots seek after as a status symbol….and to an overwhelming extent, the actual content of the post grad studies has not been worth what Paddy shot at…

Finally, if graduates leave Barbados and go overseas and do well ..how the hell does that help Barbados? are we paying for free education so that our GPs and Money Brains could go and contribute to foreign countries…?
    …wuh we would have to be worse than normal bowls boss…..

8. @ Bushie

Gallop on man! Gallop on! We can’t win with you. LOL!

9. @Bushie

Those who sat on the NSC with Hilary understands, to your point, he is a hard nut.

10. @ bushie!

”Michele Bachmann says the rapture is coming, thanks to President Barack Obama’s policies on Iran’s nuclear program and marriage equality.

In a radio interview last week, Bachmann, the former Minnesota Republican congresswoman, told “End Times” host Jan Markell, “We need to realize how close this clock is getting to the midnight hour.”

“We in our lifetimes potentially could see Jesus Christ returning to earth and the rapture of the church,” Bachmann said. “We see the destruction, but this was a destruction that was foretold.”

We hope there is no relationship between your bbe and this lunatic.

11. Patchy mama
    It is very apparent that the rapture is now very imminent. The rapture has nothing to do with Obama’s policies on Iran’s nuclear program and marriage equality, however.

12. David

If he’s all this ‘hard nut’, hard seed, as you say, why has he not done anything outside the confines of protected environments?

13. @Pacha

Have we not given credit to Hilary concerning the Mutual Society affair.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son April 21, 2015 at 10:11 AM
    “Fumble is a low class moron”

Of the highest order too! Nothing classy or refined about the man, morally or intellectually. Big words do not make the man, they only define and defile him.
    A man of unrefined manners from the cane fields of Marchfield stilling walking around with an ugly social monkey on his back bigger than the proboscis looking protuberance blocking his vision to anything decent or morally upstanding.

When will Bajans wake up to the monstrous perversion of decency and integrity they are facing?

First it was the big ‘black’ lie to the little school boy.
    Next words of comfort to the university students and to the CLICO policyholders both of whom are being chastised for their dependency mindset and greed.
    Then there were the words of ‘blessed’ assurance to the public sector workers with the ‘No layoffs, No privatization’ slogan.
    Then there was the rude dismissal of Mia and her letter about the solid waste tax.
    Then poor Damani Parris was arrogantly dismissed and put back into his little toy box.
    Now we have the dictatorial approach to the republic issue.
    Does Hilary deserve the tongue lashing he got for trying to run with the hares and hunt with the hounds as his empire comes stumbling down?

Who will be next on the list to ‘feel’ the taste of Fumble’s poison-coated tongue?
    Will it be the Gassy Browne or Ralph the political sneak Gonsy?

What bigger words of comfort will Queen Mara from the Kingdom of St. John be given should there be no grand opening by the 30th June.

“Think like a wise man but communicate in the language of the people.” –William Butler Yeats
    “Speak properly, and in as few words as you can, but always plainly; for the end of speech is not ostentation, but to be understood.” –William Penn
    “But I tell you that men will have to give account on the day of judgment for every careless word they have spoken. For by your words you will be acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned.” –Jesus Christ (Matthew 12:36-38)

15. @ Pacha
    Bushie don’t know Michele and is not inclined to change that…. however, the bushman is intrigued to find out on what basis you know that she is a lunatic ….when we have established that you yourself do not know what BBE’s purpose is in putting together his goat farm…
    ..or are you presuming that any ideas that do not conform with yours could not possibly be BBE’s? … LOL …a bit arrogant aren’t we?

STEP 1…..
    Find out the OBJECTS of the Organisation that was created …as stated in the articles of incorporation.

THEN we can debate what is lunatic, what is practical, what is successful…without this knowledge, we are spinning top in mud….

“It is very apparent that the rapture is now very imminent.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    It is very apparent that global chaos is now very imminent, but Bushie would welcome more information on the specifics of the ‘rapture’….
    Is that one of those things like the ‘trinity’ that needs to be deduced from careful study…?

When a man could be as “hard a nut” as Sir Cave and as focused in his objectives, and could so cooly and professionally respond to the PM’s attack – you KNOW that you are dealing with special talent.
    Only those directly in his sphere (and those who know every shiite) would be aware of his private ways…
    If Sir Cave could be properly focused, he could be even greater than EWB in the kinds of National contributions he could make….
    His failing has been very similar to David Thompson’s…. he fell for the temptation of taking the broad road to “success”…. when the targets of his previous rhetoric (SAGICOR /COW etc) suddenly became his benefactors…

Remember when the devil took Jesus to a mountain and suggested to him that to make things easy for his mission, they could work together and enable Jesus to accomplish his journey must faster and easier…?
    Sir Cave should have told them to kiss his donkey… (get thee behind me Satan)
    …like Caswell did….. 🙂

16. We need to ask ourselves what is the purpose of education. We boast of our investment in education yet when challenges have to be wrestled to the ground we resort to braying like JAs.

@Bushie

We all have our blind spots the important thing is to know :-).

17. @ millertheanunnaki April 21, 2015 at 11:53 AM #

Does Hilary deserve the tongue lashing he got for trying to run with the hares and hunt with the hounds as his empire comes stumbling down?

Who will be next on the list to ‘feel’ the taste of Fumble’s poison-coated tongue?
    Will it be the Gassy Browne or Ralph the political sneak Gonsy?
    ………………………………………

Excellent post, miller.

He dare not attack Gaston Browne or Ralph Gonsalves. He only got ‘talk” for Barbadians. Something is happening behind the scenes, they are panicking and lashing out at any and every one!

18. @David:

We gave up education for certification; and we debunked knowledge for regurgitation. We sowed; now we reap!

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea April 21, 2015 at 11:55 AM
    “Remember when the devil took Jesus to a mountain and suggested to him that to make things easy for his mission, they could work together and enable Jesus to accomplish his journey must faster and easier…?
    Sir Cave should have told them to kiss his donkey… (get thee behind me Satan)”

So who else was there on the mountain to record that discussion if not the ‘creative’ imagination of some playwright decades down the road of time?
    The same way the son of the devil (miller) can quote scripture so too you (Bushie) can hold private counsel with your imaginary BBE and relate to us lesser mortals his plan for humanity on Earth.

One thing I share with you, though, is your concern about Sir Hilary’s intellectual honesty moral integrity.
    How could a man so opposed to the shackles of colonialism can turn around and wear with pride one of the finest jewels of monarchical snobbishness, that of the title “Sir”?

The sycophant Sir Hilary claims he is not in the business of criticizing governments.
    So how is he going to convince the British government of his demands for reparations to compensate for 300 years of slavery and colonialism? Is he going to do a white shadows /COW / Mutual manoeuvre on Westminster?

20. @Dennis

Correct!

And our children continue to observe. Elsewhere there is the SBA saga.

To be educated is to be able to improve the space we occupy or why bother.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son April 21, 2015 at 12:10 PM
    “He dare not attack Gaston Browne or Ralph Gonsalves. He only got ‘talk” for Barbadians. Something is happening behind the scenes, they are panicking and lashing out at any and every one!”

Exactly what I am implying!
    Just a motor-mouth liar and a growing bully towards a docile frightened people.

Not a word from him about the LIAT fiasco. What is he waiting on? For the airline to be grounded and then run around like a black-ass fly to try to salvage as he and his cabinet of jokers are doing with economy?
    Neither Bjerkham nor Butch Stewart is interested in running any regional airline. So his donkey is grass this time around.
    Why can’t the fool be proactive for once and show some modicum of competence and achievement as a show of respect for his luck of becoming the P M?

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

“It is very apparent that the rapture is now very imminent.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    It is very apparent that global chaos is now very imminent, but Bushie would welcome more information on the specifics of the ‘rapture’….
    Is that one of those things like the ‘trinity’ that needs to be deduced from careful study…?

LIKE THE TRINITY, THE SPECIFICS OF THE RAPTURE IS CLEARLY DELINEATED IN THE NT.

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HERE IS ONE OF MY BRIEF ONLINES ABOUT THE RAPTURE FROM THE 80’S
    the following questions on the “RAPTURE” following the Topical Method of Bible Study ARE ASKED

It must be emphasized that the rapture is not synonymous with the second coming of Christ, THOUGH the second coming of Christ BEGINS with the rapture!.

WHAT
    1. (a) What is the rapture?
    (b) What events are involved in the rapture?
    (c) What is the importance of the rapture?
    (d) Is it true that the word rapture does not occur in the Bible

WHY
    2 Why will Jesus come again at the rapture? –

HOW
    3. How will the rapture occur?

WHO
    4. (a) Who will be the participants in the rapture?
    (b) John 5.29 implies that there will be two resurrections. Who will be raised at the first resurrection?
    Who will be raised at the second?

WHERE
    5. Where will the rapture occur?

WHEN
    6. When will the rapture occur?
    We will discuss the following two statements
    (a) It is clear from the teaching of scriptures that there is nothing to prevent the coming of Christ for his saints at any moment.
    (b) Although it is true that no one knows the day or the hour of Christ’s coming, we may know when it is at hand (Matt. 24:36-42 I Thes. 5:15)
    7. Will there be religion after the rapture?
    8. WHAT THEN

What are the implications of the rapture?
    (a) to believers
    (b) to unbelievers.

Will any be saved after the rapture?

24. Bushtea you talking shiite as usual–no evidence pure emotion. Until you can tell me where these glorified clerks are now, your argument aint holding water. You continue to behave like Buhbaduss exist in a universe all by itself. Tell me the alternative please.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dennis Johnson said, “We gave up education for certification; and we debunked knowledge for regurgitation. We sowed; now we reap!”

Beautiful. I couldn’t have said it better.

26. @ Bushie

Bachman is a well known looney, Christian, dispensationalist, quack. See that is the problem with your BBE, you see. It can’t very well explain a lot of strands in the fold, even the most outrageous like Bachman and Beckles and Stuart. For they are all Christians. Most times criminal Christians, but Christians!

”or are you presuming that any ideas that do not conform with yours could not possibly be BBE’s? … LOL …a bit arrogant aren’t we?”

Here again, you have your fairy tale god in the sky and that is your model. This writer assumes God. That you would refuse to bow down and worship Pachamama is in itself the height of arrogance! The only difference is that this writer has the power to bring you under divine judgement, as soon as this sentence is completed.

27. Now that DJ comment sums it up beautifully and it is not a UWI thing but transcends the primary and secondary levels. If we weren’t so focused on regurgitation, graduates would be able to function competently in any role unless it required specific training ie medicine, law etc.

28. @enuff

Cave Hill is the ‘poster’ institution of education let us agree but it has a leader role you shouldn’t underestimate.

29. LOL @ Enuff
    Bushtea you talking shiite as usual
    Correct!
    Bushie is talking a foreign language that must sound like gibberish to you nuh???

“Glorified clerks”?
    who said glorified? …basic clerks. People who execute the directives of others, who depend on others for their livelihood.
    shiite man…even our leaders exhibit these characteristic ..depending on benefactors for every thing…
    Imaging Stuart going in front of Obama crying because people stop giving us alms ..due to improvements in our living conditions… are we wishing to be permanently mendicant?

You want the alternative…?
    The damn education system should be designed to SYSTEMATICALLY seek out talented Bajans in all areas and to honing them into the VERY BEST that they can be…

Obvious talents like Sir Cave, Jeff Cumberbatch, Walter Blackman, Caswell, should be far more influential in shaping the future of this country….instead they are all relatively minor bit players..while foreigners like the EMERA woman make strategic national decisions, set the agendas, and parade up and down on we TV talking with funny accents talking through their damn noses at we….

There are some other bajans that are IMMENSELY talented too …some driving ZR vans or lock up in Dodds because the education system has FAILED to recognise their talents and in many cased have deemed them to be criminals or crazy….

As Bushie was saying to Pacha, FIRST thing we need to identify in education is a National VISION for the country that defines success for us…until that happens, we are spinning top in mud…..at a cost of $400M dollars each and every year….

Have we such a vision….?
    …now THAT is shiite…

30. *transcends the tertiary to the primary and secondary levels.

31. Bushtea well tell them go run for parliament!!! Flexibility, resilience, agility, responsiveness to change are traits the talented and bright should possess.

32. Johnson’s remarks sound good but nearly all school systems, in most of the world, are being homogenized. Some of the best universities, once, have all kinds of satellite campuses, distance learning facilities, lower professor to student ratios and so on.

In the USA we have the privatization of junior high and high schools. This Juggernaut is accelerating at such a pace it will be difficult to stop.

Johnson’s assumption that Barbados ever had a proper education system cannot be rooted in fact. There are a lot of anecdotal mouthings based on a ‘primer standard’ schooling but that cannot be inextricably linked to any developmental ethos.

What Dennis Johnson cannot say is that with or without ‘education’ – whatever that is to mean – there must be a discussion about resources in Barbados. More specifically, land reform, and we are not talking about house spots.

Johnson will also have to explain why is it, that patently uneducated or under-educated people are the leaders of corporate Barbados. So how important is that kind of education if idiots are in charge? And if we are led by idiots in the commanding heights what does that say about the rest of us? And why would we need the older system when it makes no difference in resource allocation?

33. One day UWI would get on the philanthropic lists of former alumni like Bizzy.Like the old ivy league varsities in the US and the UK,a few combined billion a year from these sources would play a significant role in the life of the UWI.Bizzy moved up while Lowdown stayed put,both possessed of the twin virtues of hardwork and innovation however.Perhaps there are others.

34. @ Enuff
    When your man Owen articulated his approach of development by ‘attracting high net worth individuals and companies’ to Barbados, the message that was sent to the education officials was to turn out large numbers of “literate workers”, who learnt to follow orders quickly.

That has been the closest we have had to a “national development vision” of late…
    To achieve this, he went for CSME, selling our assets to whosoever, and frustrating any local attempts at entrepreneurship such as B’s Recycling, recondition car dealers etc…

If the vision was to “ensure that talented Bajans were prepared to lead the country towards a successful future” education would take on a very different approach…
    We would NEVER allow people such as GP, Walter, and a host of others to simply run off to waste their time developing other people’s assets….
    …while inviting foreign money-grabbers to come here with the undisguised intent of maximising profits for their OWN damn countries….

The only thing worse than having NO VISION…is having a shiite vision…

35. @ Prodigal Son April 21, 2015 at 12:10 PM
    “Something is happening behind the scenes, they are panicking and lashing out at any and every one!”

It also seems they are also finally picking up on the uncomfortable atmosphere bout hey and trying to flex their muscles by way of a warning. If so, sadly, they are only making things much worse.

While they may be succeeding in getting so-called ‘docile’ Bajans to withdraw into their shells, I don’t think they have any idea how potentially lethal that can be. Anger and frustration suppressed and repressed is a great deal more dangerous than anger and frustration expressed. As for the more outspoken, they will only shout even louder.

If ever there was a time to try and appease the general population by adjusting the content of their speeches and their attitudes towards the people and addressing not just their party faithful ‘sheeple’ (many of whom appear to be increasingly fed up, even embarrassed) but the people at large, like they actually give a shite, it is now.

But it seems they have neither the nerve nor the skills.

36. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

But what exactly is this thing called EDUCATION? or phrased as above, ” So how important is that kind of education if idiots are in charge?”.

How big an idiot can a person be if they are transacting business with people about Barbados and internationally and doing it successfully enough that they are making profits, employing people and living well? What idiots they are!

Johnson said, we have given up “education for certification”. But isn’t that a bit too simplistic.

Back when there was an apprenticeship system, there was learning on the job. There was education. So have leaders forgotten how to educate? Of course not.

Certainly, many universities do more than simply certify. The subject matter knowledge must be gleaned and learned some where, at some point. Students today are giving robust opportunities to have exchange programs to gain exposure in other systems; they can avail themselves of all types of distance learning from top professionals.

The opportunities to really spend those 4 years LEARNING and gaining key insights are tremendous. I think the focus should be on the laziness and indifference of the students.

Those many idiots we denigrate so ridiculously like COW, Bizzy, Rayside, Gates etc are running businesses without a university education so we already forever knew that it’s absolutely not required to develop or start a business.

So what is EDUCATION?

Is it a lotta fancy quotes and distillation of great authors and thinkers or is it discerning what has to be done, finding the best way to do and then completing that as efficiently as possible.

Who gives a shiite if you have already read Sun Tzu or Tom Peters or Porter of Harvard or Sartre or whomever.

You DO. Like a COW or Rayside and then hire the very educated guys and girls who have all the fancy certification to fill out the many forms and clarify the many rules the bureaucratic government creates.

It’s a f***ing game. Has always been and will be to the end of time.

37. Minister Jones addressing constituency members in St. Joseph about the teachers and the SBA saga. The majority were old people who looked as if they never heard or know what a SBA is nor what a CXC exam looks like. Some of them like many don’t even understand what the minister talking about but they agreeing with him. Not one young person in the crowd and by young I mean 18-35. This is the type of fools who will support a party yet don’t understand what their leaders are saying. We need younger folks to participate and challenge these piss poor leaders.

A friend who lives in the USA, who went to school with John Boyce at HC asked me how can he be put in charge of Health with no health background. That is the kind of people who are put in charge of ministries that are impressing our PM with their lack of skills.

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re A friend who lives in the USA, who went to school with John Boyce at HC asked me how can he be put in charge of Health with no health background.
    THOSE OF US who went to school with John Boyce at HC FROM 63 KNOW THAT HE IS NOT SO VERY SHARP
    THOSE OF US WHO KNOW ABOUT HIS EXPLOITS AT BANKS BREWERY KNOW THAT HE FAILED THE BREWING EXAMS AND THAT HE WAS NOT VERY WELL LIKED BY THE WORKERS THERE.
    WHEN HE WAS FIRED THE WORKERS WERE GLAD TO SEE THE BACK OF HIM BECAUSE HE WAS SUCH A BELLIGERENT ASS

THOSE OF US who went to school with DARCY Boyce at HC FROM 63 KNOW THAT HE IS DID WELL THERE BUT ARE SURPRISED THAT HE IS ABLE TO CONVERT THIS PROGRESS TO ANYTHING MEANINGFUL IN THE NATIONAL INTEREST

39. Bush Tea April 21, 2015 at 1:46 PM #

“The damn education system should be designed to SYSTEMATICALLY seek out talented Bajans in all areas and to honing them into the VERY BEST that they can be…”

Bushie, who says our educational system was not designed to do exactly what you articulated in your above comments?

UWI has a number of undergraduate programs that if undertaken, graduates would be in a position to assist in the development of Barbados.

However, we have situations in this island where many individuals apply to UWI in the hopes of pursuing “easy” BSc degrees in subjects such as History, Sociology, Philosophy, Psychology, Political Science, Social Work and Social Sciences, in addition to combinations such as History and Political Science, History and Philosophy or French and Gender and Development Studies.

What will occur, is a graduate with a degree, for example, in History & Political Science, who has an affiliation to a political party, being given a management job, as is often the case at statutory corporations. You have many cases within the civil service where there are “square pegs in round holes.”
    For example, George has been working as a clerical officer in the accounts section of NHC for the past 10 years and decides to complement his experience by pursuing BSc in Public Sector Management & Accounting.
    Tom, who has a BSc in Sociology, joins the organisation also as a clerical officer. A vacancy for an assistant accountant becomes available and both individuals apply for the job. Tom lives in the minister’s constituency and is given the nod for the job, even though sociology has no relevance to the job.

Bushie, yuh can’t blame Hilary fuh dat.

Additionally, you mentioned the “education system should be designed to SYSTEMATICALLY seek out talented Bajans in all areas and to honing them into the VERY BEST that they can be…” Let’s discuss this statement within the context of the further development of tourism in Barbados.

What signals are the authorities sending to those students who, after spending 4 years to graduate with BSc degrees in Tourism Management or Tourism & Hospitality Management, cannot find a job within the hospitality sector, even though they may have the requisite qualifications.

It’s not their fault (or Hilary’s) that duty free and tax concessions are given to expatriate employees of Sandals and other hotels, or that hotel management is allowed to advertise for a Front Office Manager and subsequently advertise in the press that they receive no suitable applicants and is seeking a work permit to employ a foreigner.

If you were to compare the other islands this practice, in many cases, is somewhat different, since potential students often pursue degrees that are more or less for the development of their people or country. But there are some underlying factors that contribute to this way of thinking.

For example, you will find many students from Trinidad & Tobago opting to pursue law or medical degrees. Reason being (as I have been told by many students during the matriculation period), some from each racial group prefers to patronize doctors and lawyers of their individual race.

40. Dee Ingrunt Word April 21, 2015 at 3:02 PM #

“Those many idiots we denigrate so ridiculously like COW, Bizzy, Rayside, Gates etc are running businesses without a university education so we already forever knew that it’s absolutely not required to develop or start a business.”

Bizzy has a degree in engineering.

41. islandgal246 April 21, 2015 at 3:11 PM #
    Careful islandgal,my roots are in St Joseph. But do you realize that as a BL&P stronghold, the DLP supporters, have been voicing similar sentiments about the Josephines?.
    I recall back in the early days when Dipper and the Democratic Labour Party came to Mayers Corner, after a meeting a long standing BLP supporter, lambased Barrow, and then, in all honesty asked, “What does democratic means anyway?” A good question that even today, especially, no one is able to answer.

42. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Arta, thanks for the correction. The point is made with his name removed.

And your post was absolutely on point.

In my earlier post I had deleted the paragraph now shown at the end but you articulated the point much better with:

“UWI has a number of undergraduate programs that if undertaken, graduates would be in a position to assist in the development of Barbados….However, we have situations in this island where many individuals apply to UWI in the hopes of pursuing “easy” BSc degrees in subjects such as History, Sociology, Philosophy, Psychology, Political Science…”

I attempted it thus:

—-So those glorified clerks that Bushie likes to expound about are there because they need a job. They went for their degrees because the damn thing was basically free and society morphed that paper into a de facto higher clerical standard were degrees were coins of the realm to do the business of business and life. They sought easy humanities degrees because of the laziness.——

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David April 21, 2015 at 1:43 PM
    “Cave Hill is the ‘poster’ institution of education let us agree but it has a leader role you shouldn’t underestimate.”

I am putting it to you David (BU) that there is more in the mortar than simply this recent outburst from the former sleeping giant now transformed into a raging hungry tiger. These are signals of moves to make the Cave Hill campus appear redundant or a surplus to the country’s educational and training requirements. The longer term objective is to restructure and ‘rationalize’ the UWI reducing it to a two-campus tertiary institution. The Cave Hill campus is the one identified to take the hit. First by starving it of funds. Second by discrediting the quality of output and its contribution to local and regional socio-economic development.

Sir Hilary knows this and that is why he is playing his part in tandem with the hypocrite Fumble.
    How will the IMF and other lending institutions continue to allow a country with such an already high rate of penetration of university graduates (many unemployed or unemployable in a shrinking service economy and with a $11 billion and rising debt burden) to provide heavily subsidized university education to its young with an instant coffee and a freeness from the cradle to the grave mentality and a reducing population of contributors to the tax pot and social security schemes?

Why did Cave Hill become a standalone campus in the first place if not for the Law Faculty now a redundant paper mill in light of the exceedingly poor quality and surfeit quantity of jurisprudence and legal practitioners it has produced giving credence to Dennis Johnson’s claim of its failure to educate but can show only success in the certification social misfits (including liars like Stinkliar, hypocrites like Fumble and crooks like Carrington).

Why not close down Cave Hill as a UWI campus like many other sectors of socio-economic failure? Sugar is dead. Manufacturing is dying. Tourism is barely surviving. The Financial Services sector is under political stress and technological restructuring.

We see no future for Cave Hill other than a physical place for a merged University College of Barbados and an extra-mural centre for a restructured UWI.

44. Barbados is one of the lucky places on Earth. Sun and wind in abundance.

20 years from now the whole island should be using alternative energy.

Cave Hill can continue to produce doctors, lawyers and civil servants.

Bajan engineers and technicians can be trained overseas so that we don’t have to hire foreigners when the inevitable happens.

How about those who claim to love Barbados investing in training young Bajans?

A 3 or 4 year scholarship conditional on returning to Barbados to work for minimum of 6 years.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants April 21, 2015 at 5:49 PM
    “Cave Hill can continue to produce doctors, lawyers and civil servants.”

To do what? Continue to rob, kill and frustrate poor and ordinary people?
    BTW, Hants, the Sun does not shine at night neither does the wind blow everyday in Barbados thinking about a 24/7 economy.
    Who will buy the much boasted about oil off Barbados? Canadians?

46. Scour the big firms overseas in accounting, insurance, consulting etc and many of the employees do not hold business but soft degrees in History, Pol Sci, English, Geography etc. It is not the 1st degree but how you are able to master the COMPETENCIES required for the wuk. Why can’t the “bright” lawyers run Sandals?

47. miller,

Did not these lying whelps, the dead crook in particular, tell Barbadians that the BLP lied to them and that there was no oil off Barbados and that the money the BLP spent fighting Trinidad was part of their political double speak…….cost over runs?

How the hell can the ugly man come on DLPTV and say that they are signing an agreement with a company to start exploring the oil wells? Dont these clowns remember their lies. In 2008, money spent to secure our rights was wasted, there is no oil but BOOM…..in 2015, oil appear all of a sudden.

I detest these liars more and more! But wait, I thought these morons were into alternative energy!! Hypocrites!

48. If this government really cared about Barbadians, it would have found a way to finance their education at UWI.

The DLP has fooled Barbadians for eons….brainwashing them to actually believe that they are for the small man. These low information voters (LIV’s) still fail to see that EVERY time the DLP is in office since the days of EWB, the DLP has destroyed the middle class and subsequently made life harder for the poor. Look at the first thing they did after fooling the LIV’s into voting for them again……….lay off 6500 people from the bottom (latest Caswell’s count). I have not heard of a fellow from the top who went home.

If to get a degree is a way to move up, does it matter if it is only in sociology or psychology? The world is now a village, the young people need to be willing to leave Barbados and look for a future, there is none here for them under these lying thieving whelps. Some of the friends of one of my children went off the the USA and Canada to study and never came back. I know of young doctors who have gone to Bahamas and Antigua to do their internships. So the young folk have to get up and look for opportunities for themselves. The DLP does not CARE about them, only their vote.

If anyone doubt me, look at the way the DLP sees the LIV’s………

They cannot find money to pay welfare benefits,

They cannot find money to give to the schools for them to be able to buy the basic teaching materials for teachers to teach the same LIV’s children,

They cannot find money even when they go in parliament and promised to give QEH money to buy basic supplies to treat the same LIV’s (bloody liars)

They cannot find money to buy buses to transport the same LIV’s

They cannot find money to buy garbage trucks to collect garbage from LIV’s neighbourhoods…………….

But surprise, surprise……. they can now find money to organise a football tournament to fool them and make them feel good…..trying to keep alive the name of a thieving crook. What idiots!

49. prodigal you are going too far with your blatant disrespect of the PM, you need to chill, your behavior on these blogs is one of the reasons that the authorities are contemplating laws to govern this type of activity, you are too damn disrespectful, come on,there is absolutely no reason for your attacks on the appearance of anyone, enough, is enough, you need to check your self, but unfortunately you have already wrecked.

50. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Wunna all know how de Ole Man feel bout Fumble…singularly the worst Prime minister and the leader of the worst Government Bulbados has even had.

I cant repeat that enough times other than to say that hopefully the Bajan populace will understand that if you elect a BLP or DLP “female rabbit hair” to run our affairs, it is obvious that some sort of FCVKING going happen and invariably, as we the people who have elected these dimwits are seeing of late, the FCVKING is being done to us.

I have decided to take another perspective per this Sir Hilary matter which i would beg you all to tolerate my deviating and, “on leaving Holetown to go to town, traveling by way of Oistins…”

I teif dis from the internet so forgive me Mr. Plantation Deeds.

How Universities can Earn Money

I. State subsidy. Public universities receive money from the government. (same exists/ed here
    II. Tuition (having students pay for their education- recently increased here).
    III. Establish an endowment. …NEVER EXISTED HERE
    IV. Grants and contracts. …A DREAM HERE
    V. University name licensing…WILL NEVER HAPPEN HERE (T-shirts, sweatshirts, coffee mugs, etc. with the university name on them generate income to universities. The university licenses its name to a commercial firm that manufactures the products.)

While the above “modalities of revenue generation” are taken from the United States of Amurica, i think that they inform on the malaise that besieges the UWI Cave Hill and puts us deeper into dodo than we think we are.

How the endowments work is that (US) alumni often give money to the university they attended. Indeed universities now have full time staff engaged in “development” or “advancement” which means asking alumni to make contributions to the university. This money is used for scholarships (so talented but poor students can attend the university), to increase faculty salaries, to pay for research, to build buildings, etc.

Grants – Faculty members at US universities write proposals and apply for grants from public and private foundations to fund research or educational improvements.

Unfortunately the Regulations on Intellectual Property of the University of the West Indies is dated 1964 so Professor Andrew Downes or any other UWI faculty member is loathe to write or research anything that is going to generate income on behalf of UWI.

So let us say Bizzy Williams wanted to resource research data or an enhancement to his Waste To Energy Bilking Exercise that is Designed to Fleece Bajans (and some may say give certain ministers kickbacks, I doan know bout them sort of things) he would engage the UWI Department of Physics etc lead by the spaced our Dr. Depradine, to develop some sort of solution for which the UWI would be paid, the faculty member would also be paid and ONCE THE UWI GETS UP OFF THEIR COLLECTIVE ASSES AND writes up the IP regulations properly, the UWI could become self sufficient and WOULD be able to tell Fumble KISS THE ASS!!!

Take a look at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_colleges_and_universities_in_the_United_States_by_endowment which will show you universities with endowments that exceed the GDP of Bulbados!!

So let us not sidestep the real issue here of the UWI, after all these years of existence, taking responsibility for its longevity and focussing on meaningful enterprese instead of building footstools all over the place

Yes we can ascribe Fumble some blame but not all the blame for this impasse, Sir Hilary and the rest of his colleagues with tenure, have to take 80 % of the blame.