Submitted by Wayne Cadogan
Wayne Cadogan

As far back as the late 80โ€™s I have been addressing the issue of the structure of the West Indies Cricket Board and how it should be restructured. I guess since I am not seen as a cricketer or one who has played test cricket, that I do not qualify to speak on cricket matters as it appears that only those who have played regional or test cricket are qualified to run the affairs of West Indies Cricket. Because of this mentality, this is why West Indies Cricket now finds itself in this a quandary today. I have stated on previous occasions West Indies Cricket is a business and should be structured in the same manner that a company. The manner in which the current Board is structured and managed is very archaic and has been in dire need of revamping for many years to bring it in line to how a professional sports team functions. What West Indies cricket needs is a Sports Manager who is responsible for the day to day operations of cricket, he alone is responsible for the contracting of players, staff, hiring and firing. The West Indies team should be a core of 15 to 18 players and assigned to one or two year contracts when selected for the team as well as the coaching staff and can be fired for non performance or any disciplinary action. Of course, the Manager will also have the regular office support team to handle other duties.

First, one needs to look at the reasons why West Indies Cricket has been on a downward slide after being the dominant force in world cricket for over 15 years and is now just smouldering ashes. Outside of the Board, it appeared some of the other top test playing teams were out to bring down West Indies Cricket especially one team in particular whose fast bowlers were once the most feared at that time before the great West Indian fast bowlers came on the scene. It seems that the West Indies fast bowlers were targeted, first it was the one bouncer per player in an over rule that was brought into to play because of the devastating fast bowlers that the West Indies possess at that time to quell the four prong attack.

That was the beginning of the downward slide of West Indies cricket to which they never achieved that level of dominance after that era. Then one young fast bowler by the name Jermaine Lawson came on the scene and in 2003 against Bangladesh took 6/3 in his third test match and a hat trick against Australia in the 2003/2004 series and a haul of 7/78 that helped the West Indies to defeat Australian in the final Test of that series. He would later be reported to the ICC in May of 2003 for an illegal action. Over the years a number of test players from all the test teams were known to be chucking but were never called with the exception of one, so much that the rule was even change to accommodate one particular player. In steps a young spin bowler in Sunil Narine, who is now seen as a threat to world cricket and more so a threat to bring West Indies cricket back to the heights of its glory days of dominance along with the other young gifted fast bowlers. It is very strange that Sunil Narine was called in India before the West Indies tour of India and the upcoming World Cup!

The current impasse between the West Indies Cricket Board, WIPA and the players should never have occurred in the first place, if the West Indies Cricket Board was operating in a business-like manner and not in an unprofessional manner. The Board is fully at fault since they are the employers and the players are the employees. First, the players should never have left the Caribbean without a contract, especially if they all had a Sports Agent to represent them, this would not have occurred. A lawyer is not a Sports Agent and should not be representing any cricketer unless it was in regards to a legal matter. The Board knew of this tour over a year ago or more and contracts should have been signed long before in order that if there were any discrepancies, that they would have been rectified in the Caribbean. Despite the salary problems, which was a gross insult to the players to take away 75% of their salary is wrong; the players could have handled the matter differently by forcing the Boardโ€™s hands before the start of the game by not starting the game. What the players did was wrong as it was a matter for the Board to resolve and not one for the players. The players put the game into disrepute and single handily destroyed West Indies Cricket image which was an embarrassment to all West Indians and was not in the true spirit of the game.

As a result of the playerโ€™s actions, this has caused West Indies cricket to slip further down into the ashes that they are already in like quicksand. A few years ago the ICC were mulling over a two-tier system and had hinted about splitting up the test teams into two levels and this provides another opportunity for the ICC to further keep West Indies cricket in the cellar. I personally do not believe that Bravo should have been selected captain of any West Indies teams in the first place after he enlightened us a few years ago that IPL cricket was first, Trinidad second and then West Indies cricket. This showed that it was all about the money, which I definitely have no problem with, but Mr. Bravo and all the other West Indian players have to realize that it is because of West Indies cricket that they were given the opportunity to showcase their talent to the world and their worth. The West Indies Cricket Board over the years have been making blunders after blunders and it was only a matter of time before that it all came to a head. The reason for this is that the Board always appeared to operate as a one man show similar as to that as to how single proprietor operates a business.

This current impasse was not the first time that the West Indies Cricket Board was involved in a boycott and it seems as if they have not learned from their previous mistakes, since this current problem is over the same contract issues with WIPA and the players as in July of 2009 against the Bangladesh Cricket Team. That boycott led to the Board having to scramble to produce a makeshift team of six players from the Combine Campuses Team with a the sub-par batsman at the regional level having to lead the team and Kraigg Brathwaite being called up as a promising 16 year old player and then over looked for the tour. Again, this particular tour had raised a lot of questions as to who were calling the shots in West Indies cricket, the Board or a particular individual who was very vocal and instrumental in half of the team comprising of players from the Combine Campuses team.

I am in total agreement that some form of dialog needs to be take place between the BCCI and that no government in the Caribbean should intervene because West Indies cricket is already plague with too much politics. A special select team should be put in place to negotiate on the behalf of the West Indies Cricket Board to try and mend the wounds. This group of selected persons should include Sir Garfield Sobers, Sir Everton Weekes, Brian Lara and Darren Ganga. Both Sir Garfield and Sir Everton are highly respected International cricketers in the cricketing fraternity as well as Mr. Lara and Mr. Ganga being a former test player, a great leader as a captain and a lawyer would make a formidable negotiation team.

The time is now ripe for the entire West Indies Cricket Board to disband get its house in order and restructure the organization as to how a business is supposed to operate and stop recycling pass cricketers to run its affairs and select business minded professionals to run its affairs. Yes, cricket is a sport that earns money similar to how any other business earns money through a product. The Board or body should seriously dispense of their old policy and implement a more business-like model to govern its operations.

171 responses to “Will West Indies Cricket Rise from the Ashes?”

1. Editorial

More questions for West Indies cricket

Saturday, November 08, 2014     1 comment

West Indies One-day captain Dwayne Bravo

We note with interest a letter in yesterday’s edition which briefly explored the perilous position of West Indies cricket following the catastrophic decision of players, led by Mr Dwayne Bravo, to abandon their tour of India last month.

In seeming reference to team selection, letter writer Mr Winston Tai says "the WICB and selectors should act from a position of strength as their predecessors did with the rebel tour of South Africa during apartheid".

Just as a summarised reminder, the letter writer is referring to the early 1980s when the fascist and racist system of apartheid was still the law of the land in South Africa.

Many cricketers from around the world, including a group from the Caribbean led by Mr Lawrence Rowe, breached a United Nations sporting ban on South Africa and indeed, common decency, by choosing to tour that country in response to offers of money.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/editorial/More-questions-for-West-Indies-cricket_17895964

2. Why is everyone pinning the tail of the donkey on Bravo?

3. John Hanson 1781-1782 Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782

WHO CARES, WEST INDIES , IS THE NAME OF A SLAVE COMPANY

WE NEED C C OR CARIBBEAN CRICKET.

THE WE CAN BEAT THE WEST INDIES TEAM AND SEND THEM BACK TO THEIR MASTERS. THE CARIBBEAN CAN GET ITS OWN TEAM AND LEAVE THEM ALONE, NOTHING WE BUY HAVE W,I ON IT ,

4. Will WI cricket raise from the ashes?

YES …. when the winds blows the remnants of this condescending nonsense back across the Caribbean sea from whence it came…

How the hell is there a “West Indies” cricket team when there is no West Indies?
    This was just a slave master ploy to achieve the bundling of a collection of the “inferior” natives together under the mistaken impression that they were no match for the “masters”.

After Frank Worrell demonstrated the folly of that ploy, we should have disbanded the shiite and done like EVERYONE else and formed NATIONAL teams. Instead we continued, apparently OURSELVES believing that we are inferior and need special concessions in order to compete….and subsequent events does seem to have achieved that…. What you visualize you tend to realize…

Meanwhile…
    Who the hell can compete with Jamaica in track and field?

5. I agree with the well thought out and well written observation, laid out here. West Indies Cricketontinues to face dysmal prospects, and may never return to its former status at the apex of the world’s cricketing elite. Of greater importance though, should be the psyche of those players chosen to represent our region in the national pastime of the caribbean, its cricket. The mental approach and comittment to cricket, has woefully declined. The lack of mental preparedness and emotional cricketing intelligence, reflect’s a solidarity by our cricketers, to mediocrity and sloth. It is mesmerizing, that the only cricketing completeness that is being offered today, is malfeasance on the part of the WICB and reckless disregard as it relates to the players. Those of us who understand the history of our region, should be mindful that the impact of poor cricketing values, are sytemic to a larger breakdown in our communal value system.

Cricket is not only a national/regional pastime, but a way of life, linked to our collective DNA, and core in our familial structure. Of God, Family, Country, Cricket, we West Indians hold with passion, cricket. I would walk away from any woman in all her splendor, to see Sir Garfield Sobers, or Sir Vivian Richards at the crease. If ever angels walked on earth, yes then Sobers and Richards are the personifications of that angelic offering. If I act as one set into the arms of nostalgia, forgive me, for I have been blessed by the greatness of a dominant West Indies cricket machine of the 1970’s. Why would I not want to remember the heroism of our regional icons. You see god give us West Indians dominance in the 70’s and 80’s to prepare us for the current colossal failures now. To whom much is given, much is expected. And maybe, just maybe we squandered our greatness and perhaps even our cricketing legacy.

6. @Bush Tea

Your comment can be challenged if we accept cricket is a unifying force (supposed to be anyway) for the region. We all know your view, the countries should all fight for their own positions.

7. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

@ Wayne… my question for you would be in terms of a background of business what does the resume of Mr Cameron tell us? There certainly is enough blame to go around but for me the place to start is with the WICBWC… without control that is. Lets not forget that we had dominance, we had prominence, but we had no influence even though ours was the team that was the straw that stirred the drink so to speak. If it were an English or an Australian team that possessed a fearsome quartet of fast bowlers, do you think that any one bouncer per over rule would have come into being? Have a chat with Sir Viv or Sir Andy, or better yet take a look at the documentary Pace Like Fire. That shows just how long administration of west indies cricket sucked. That time line ties right in with political infiltration.
    Bravo and co should not be permitted to just wriggle off the hook. All major players in this exercise of monstrous embarrassment for the region should face a ban from a brand new WICB.

8. @ David
    What unifying force what?
    it is a major point of divisiveness….has been for a long time, and this was only hidden by the personal dominance of some individuals.
    Now it is all about sharing the money around…..

On a higher level, however, think about the conceptualization of “West Indies cricket”. This was put together by the white masters to reflect the following: (in Bushie’s words)

“Ha Ha …Lets combine all the natives together in a cricket team and cut their collective asses. These crude morons can’t possible match our players – THAT should show them how much they are valued”

Bushie also felt the kind of pride that you speak of – when SIr Gary dominated the global game, BUT, after three or so years of dominance, UNLESS A CARICOM POLITICAL ENTITY WAS FORMED, Bushie would have disbanded the West Indies shiite and created NATIONAL teams. At that time, at least FOUR test teams could have come from the region.

Can you imagine what THAT would have done for the sport in the region?
    Shiite man…. where else in the world would it have been possible to play test matches against 5 test teams in a single regional tour?
    What would have happened with infrastructure? Training? opportunities for youth?

Instead of building an empire, even after dominating the world for a decade, we suffered when English county cricket decided to discriminate against west indian players….
    we are just brass bowl sheep…..

9. Bush Te you are a radical, you and Pacha are peas in a pod. but we need radical thinking to kick the establishment in the ass sometimes. It is the only way change is inserted on the agenda.

10. John Hanson 1781-1782 Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782

DAVID , DONT LABEL THE TRUTH, WE NEED TO SEND THEM ASSES BACK TO HELL , JUST LIKE CLICO AND THE 2 CROOKS ASS BLP AND DLP ,
    ALL THEY DO IS COME TO THE CARIBBEAN AND PULL THE MONEY OUT TO THEIR COUNTRY WE CAN DO OUT OWN THINGS, AND BE HAPPY.
    THEN OUT TEAM CAN PLAY THERE BEST FOR THE TITLE OF THE WORLD,
    IF NOT TO HELL WITH THEM , LET THEM PLAY CRICKET IN THE SNOW.

1492- TO 2014 = 522 YEARS OF RAPE, WHICH IS ALSO A 9 ,
    THIS IS THE END OF THE 1000 POINTS OF LIGHT SPEECH BY PRESIDENT RR OF THE US OF A , FOR 1000 YEARS MORE RULE,
    MANY NIGGERS STILL SLEEPING, BARBADOS IN A COMA

11. @ Bushie who wrote,How the hell is there a โ€œWest Indiesโ€ cricket team when there is no West Indies?

We could think of “West Indies” as a BRAND NAME amd treat it as such.
    The NAME is now so tarnished that it should be discarded and replaced by “Caribbean”.

The WICB becomes the CCB.

12. Our best hope is that the BCCI follows through with the law suite and that the WICB(C) is driven into bankruptcy. Only then will we have a chance of cultural renewal by cleansing the idiots on top, everywhere! Just like in the politics, etc. Catastrophe must return, in full force, for us to have any chance of any cultural transformation.

13. West Indies Cricket did better, and was more respected, under the auspices, and tenure, of the three St.Lucians: Sir Julian Hunte, Dr Ernest Hilaire and Captain Darren Sammy. But then again, they are small islanders, who, by all means, had to be replaced; quickly.

14. I thought West Indies cricket died after Sir Carl stopped playing. How could I have been so wrong.

Anyway, as long as people are motivated by money and prestige and not genuine love for the game West Indies cricket will not rise from the ashes.

15. The fact is that West Indies Cricket is a BRAND!
    Ever heard of WINDIES?
    Highly respected by spectators ie customers GLOBALLY!

Therefore all this talk of colonialism etc is TOTALLY IRRELEVANT!

WE ruled the Cricketing World for at least 15 yrs! We were revered in (somewhat racist) Australia in 1960-61 and the peeps there lined the streets to say goodbye WHY? Did they just want to be rid of the darkees?
    NOT AT ALL! They loved the competition and style of play!

I say let the BCCI sue the WICB who would then DECLARE BANKRUPTCY!
    FANTASTIC! What an opportunity to get things right in the new INCARNATION!

The new “CRICKET WEST INDIES”. Just do the RESEARCH as to exactly how the best boards are designed and run for maximum positive results for ALL CONSTITUENTS! Bring in true PROS in Sports Management.
    Develop proper systems and procedures for EVERYTHING! Especially Player contracts at a regional and international level.

The concept that little island nations, individually, can consistently field a globally competitive team is ridiculous! Barbados came close in the 1950-60s.( and maybe JA in the last 10 yrs) SL has 20MN people and punches above its weight but JA with 2.5MN would find it very difficult especially these days with competition from Athletics, Bball, video games etc.

RESTRUCTURE! Bring in the SUCCESSFUL LIONS of yore and listen to them—Richards, Lloyd, Roberts et al FELLAS that know how to put the WIN back into WINDIES!

16. @ Bushtea……if as you suggested individual teams were formed, given the declining level of talent that is pervasive throughout the region, would not these teams be even less competitive than the one we have…or had? Which test team would travel half way across the globe to compete with a team a tier above Ronald Tree talent?

17. @ Hamilton
    …mean like how Jamaican Track and Field has diminished over the years since they declared themselves world beaters…?

Boss, cricket would have taken on a completely different path in the region…. just as Track has for Ja….

Indeed, the main reason it stumbled and fell was because it was built on the fallacy of a ‘West Indies’.
    …where do you think a ‘West Indies’ athletics team would go…?
    …to hell in a breadbasket fighting over who should be president, coach, trainer, captain and such shiite…

18. Just had a look at President Cameronโ€™s work experience on Linkedin:

President & Chief Executive Officer
    Infiniti Capital Jamaica

July 2014 โ€“ Present (5 months)Shop 22 New Kingston Business Centre, 25 Dominica Drive, Kingston

1. Wealth Management

2. Fixed Income Trading

3. Corporate Finance

4. Investment advice

combined in excess of 30 years experience.

http://www.infiniticapitalja.com

West Indies Cricket Board Inc. (WICB)
    President
    West Indies Cricket Board Inc. (WICB)

March 2013 โ€“ Present (1 year 9 months)

Vice President, Fixed Income & Securities Trading
    Sterling Asset Management & Services Ltd

September 2010 โ€“ September 2013 (3 years 1 month)

19. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

@ David….thanks for the info on Cameron. That is what I was driving at in my initial question to Wayne. What we have is a situation similar to what obtains in our governance system. We pay good money to highly trained consultants and is the job done? Advice bought and advice taken are two different things…..@ Bushman…. I think that it will take another example or two for your argument to gain traction. Compare the population size of Jamaica and lets say Barbados or Grenada, the bigger the pool the greater the odds, along with the fact that they for quite some time have placed their emphasis in track & field ably supported by university scholarships. Perhaps the slave masters of whom you speak have no connection to those universities.

20. What will please me Wayne,is the claim to be unconditionally enforced and followed by the lawsuit.It is evident they are incapable of paying that sum of money,therefore bankruptcy and the inevitable transformation and structure of the entity running WI cricket.

21. What the ICC statement says is that it is in the corner of the BCCI. Surprised anyone?

22. YES the BCCI does market to the largest market by a very long distance.
    All the more reason for Windies not to disintegrate into irrelevant lil entities.

23. The ICC statement may give support to a popular position in the Caribbean that the players (captains) should feel some backlash from the position they took to abandon the tour.

24. Why did the players want to abandon the tour?

Gross management INCOMPETENCE for not coming to the Contractual Agreement before leaving the Cbean. Did some “genius” think it would give the WICB a stronger “bargaining” position??? Sure seems so because management did not take the situation seriously and try to solve it asap.

When you call a bluff you have to understand the cost/benefit and consequences BEFORE such action.

25. @ Hammie
    how many examples will you need? Boss this is soooo obvious….
    comparing Jamaica with Barbados is nonsense … Bolt etc are not CARIBBEAN giants… they are GLOBAL giants…. why not compare Jamaica in size with the USA, China and Russia?
    @ MoneyB
    All the more reason for Windies not to disintegrate into irrelevant lil entities.
    +++++++++++++++++++
    Big Man, this kind of visionary conceptualization may be above even your pay grade….
    You do realize you are talking about a COMBINED entity that has enjoyed lavishly paid players and staff ……and which has (to quote you) “disintegrated into irrelevancy” …despite the clear ABUNDANCE of talent (as shown by the IPL records)

This supports bushie’s point that a WEST INDIES athletic team with even the clear talents of Bolt, Ottey etc would likely suffer the same fate ….and for the same reason.

Jamaican Track is successful because they enjoy EXCELLENT leadership. If it was a West Indies team, our BOA jokers would want to be in charge; the Trinis would want to run things; St Lucia would want a piece……they would end up with some rotation system of management which ensures ongoing mediocrity…..

National teams with national spirit and national support stand a much better chance of finding excellent leaders and thus of being successful…
    …well not bout here of course – where national failures merrily continue to run things in sports now for nearly 2 decades – with NO sign of any change towards success…. ๐Ÿ™‚

26. Obviously the Bushman does not support the franchise system implemented this season? Note only two non country players were selected by Guyana and Trinidad.

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@gentlemen all

One this supposedly enlightened day anno domini, we have in presenting the compelling arguments as to the wisdom of having the BCCI destroy the bereft WICB forever shown ourselves to be the true male chauvinists pigs that the fairer sex has oft called us.

I have long placed a bet that the West Indies Female team would beat out male team really badly and should be given the opportunity at this time to represent our cvntries during this time of cricketing PMS if I can be insensitive and show my chauvinist’s characteristics here as well

Notwithstanding the substantive issues re the WICB how has it been that the women’s team presents a team of winners even in the face of all the customary infighting and favoritism towards certain islands?

While we menses walk round pulling we ballses in classic AG Williams styling a la WCIB/BCCI/ICC ISSUES look how in the face of all of this male testosterone de wummens standing tall and performing fuh we

Is anyone taking the time to detail what is the empirical recipe for creating women cricketers and seeing if it can be grafted to the continuous losing streak of our male team?

Sorry as usual de ole man off pitch , half way between de 12 o’clock shot and 6 o’clock time fuh some Shirley Buscuits dat I hide in de tool box in de tool shed. Sugar Rush…

28. The franchise system presumes that most people like cricket for cricket sake…..This is a fallacy, certainly at this time…
    While there are still some connoisseurs of the game like GP, many people are nationalistic – and will support THEIR team for this reason.

It takes a beautiful, exciting, skillful, short (one to two hours) game like soccer, basketball, hockey etc to really exploit a franchise system.

The 20-over thing will last for a while, but there is no real long-term selling value in swiping and hoping….

… ๐Ÿ™‚ but Bushie admits to bias… LOL

29. @Bush Tea

That is some sound insight there ๐Ÿ™‚

30. @Bushie
    We agree on the National angle, the political BS etc BUT the truth about JA is that they have punched above their weight in terms of SPRINTING only.
    When the final tally is conducted at the Olympics where does JA rank?

TRY 18th??? EXCELLENT in SPRINTING!

Would a Bdos Cricket Team be any different—top notch Pace Bowling will not win the WC by itself. Hence we would rank 12th Globally??????
    WI can (and has) WIN ODI and / or T20.

Dont take the WIN out of WINdies!

Bring in and remunerate with INCENTIVES for performance, top flight INDEPENDENT PRO Sports people! We have dominated the World before and certainly can again! Probabilities strongly suggest that as individual Nations we can NOT dominate the CRICKETING World!

Use the BRAND awareness that we have built for 84 years!
    When Coke decided to mess around with New Coke etc and got hurt, did they sell the company OR did they deal with the problems, eliminate the weaknesses and exploit the STRENGTHS?

Cricket WI can do that!

31. @Bushie
    Sorry to say BUT T20 has the most appeal for the modern day public!
    It is Tests that will be under serious pressure to survive in a fast paced world.(no pun intended) 5 days for a draw???? I played 3 day Club Cricket in Bim, so that is my bias BUT reality always rules eventually.

32. Wayne Cadogan as is his wont penned a few home truths mixed with a bit of misguided balderdash.

This is a home truth>
    “I personally do not believe that Bravo should have been selected captain of any West Indies teams in the first place after he enlightened us a few years ago that IPL cricket was first, Trinidad second and then West Indies cricket.”

We are told Bravo along with Sammy and Pollard were the driving forces of this disaster. Obviously they were selfishly thinking of themselves only. After all they are millionaires from T20 cricket around the globe. They couldn’t care less about the bulk of players who are barely eking out a living from cricket..

The great history of West Indian cricket, the loyal fans and the costly long term damage to our cricket was the least among Bravo’s concerns. As such the leaders of the debacle must be dealt with harshly. Rev Massiah is bang on target in his recent Nation article.

The WICB has few supporters because of the social climbers, hangers on and pimps who over the years populate it looking for power trips and free money. However in this case the blame on them is minimal. You cant abandon a tour as practically the first option in an industrial dispute not giving a hoot of repercussions like the $42 million law suit it generated. That’s like Leroy Trotman closing down the port causing widespread starvation before thrashing out the issues with port management.

Does Bravo know how important cricket is to the economies of the Caribbean. The English and Indian tours add millions to the Caribbean GDP. If you lose them it will be felt by every citizen not to mention government treasuries..
    Now ambulance chaser Ralph Gonzalves has gotten involved. One can be assured he will only muddy the waters and offer no solution except self promotion.

When one thinks of icons like Sir Gary, Sir Everton, Sir Frank, Lloyd. CLR, Michael Manley, who fought selflessly for negligible monetary rewards to bring West Indian cricket to the pinnacle one must call for swift and fitting punishment against the offending players.

33. It will be interesting to observe what transpires for CPL2015. Who will retain as captains ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

34. @ Waiting
    Again lack of competent management! Why are Cricketers not required to sign contracts at age 18, for Country and WI that clearly state that the player owes allegiance to the WI first and foremost and that in the event of IPL etc the WI must benefit from an over ride fee and grant permission to the player to participate. Why should any organisation spend $$$$$$ developing, coaching etc players in exchange for a kick in the teeth!

What happens at Real Madrid, Man U et al?

35. The dilemma for the WIBC is the absence of a professional league. How can you force WI cricketers to be available for home series when there is limited opportunity to earn in the Caribbean. To compare to larger and richer markets can’t wash.

36. When WI cricket was its zenith there was no professional league. In those days WI cricketers were available for home series when there WAS NO opportunity to earn in the Caribbean.
    THESE ARE FACTS THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED.

This was so even up to the nineties when the WICB mistreated players who stopped playing regional cricket after retiring from test cricket.
    WICB created its dilemma when it banned 18 of the best cricketers in the region for life; compared to the other countries that issued only a thee year ban.

Sobers and all the great WINDIES players used to play lots and lots of cricket. Even those of us who did not even represent our school or played in local competitions played lots of cricket.
    Practice makes perfect and as Greg Chapell said PERFECT PRACTICE MAKES PERFECT.

Soon we will have a professional league with pissy cricketers playing against equally pissy players.
    THE RESULT WILL BE PISS POOR PUNKS FROM A PISS POOR PROFESSIONAL LEAGUE THAT WONT EVEN BE ABLE TO BEAT BANGLADESH OR ZIMBABWE

I dont know what all the fuss is about

I am just sorry that three opportunities were denied Brathwaithe and Chanderpaul to advance their records

There is a lot of good cricket to be seen on the WILLOW channel— even though WINDIES not playing

37. @GP
    I believe that WI MUST always have at least 1 but preferably 2 National A Teams playing in our Domestic Season.( if need be, include Kenya, Zim, Bangla Full Team).

We seem to forget that Touring Teams used to play the various Cbean Island Teams, indeed even the Colts! My first journey to the Mecca was to see Bim versus MCC with Hall, Griff tearing in and just as you thought the pace was going get real easy Prof Edwards at your throat.

WICB has ill treated far too many players eg Haynes,Hunte,

38. mb
    re I believe that WI MUST always have at least 1 but preferably 2 National A Teams playing in our Domestic Season.( if need be, include Kenya, Zim, Bangla Full Team).THIS WAS TRIED AROUND 2000 OR SO, ENG A KENYA ETC

YES WE NO LONGER HAVE THE COLTS OR ISLAND GAMES VS THE TOURIST WE ONLY HAVE PIISY ISLAND TEAM VS ANOTHER PISY ISLAND TEAM

39. I am distressed by Bush Tea’s radicalism as David refers to it.

As was said above with the decline of the regional teams (Barbados, T&T etc) over the years would they not too have been badly beaten by other test teams.

The Money man has got it absolutely right I suggest “all this talk of colonialism etc is TOTALLY IRRELEVANT!”. The WI brand can work very well as the Money suggests.

And thank you again MoneyBrain, “JA … have punched above their weight in terms of SPRINTING only”

How can we compare the continuous development of 11-15 excellent cricketers over 8-12 years to turning out 4-10 top sprinters over a similar time period.

And then we want to extrapolate that to 44- 65 top cricketers from a combined population of 6+ million.

Come on let’s be real.

40. “…therefore bankruptcy and the inevitable transformation and structure of the entity running WI cricket.”

What about being even more beholden to BCCI cricket under a plan to repay that debt.

David you cited above the ‘resume’ of Mr. Cameron. I took a glance at his background previously when I was preparing a submission here. I glanced too at the backgrounds of other board members and key employees and I it simply made be angrier .

We all here talk about getting the right structure and right managers but I would ask you David to publish the Financial reports of WICB and the list of Board Members. Bankers, top managers, accomplished professionals all.

Systems organized up and down the wazoo.

Do you forget that our own departed Mr Alleyne, Bdos Scholarship winner, trained actuary, CEO in his 40’s of a top insurance company was on the board at one point.

Folks so sharp they could sell half of what they know and still be the sharpest tool in the box!

But as a general group, the complete befuddlement and mismanagement because of the ego driven bull-s—- of I went to Harvard or Woolmers or QC. The, I got this degree or whatever BS that governs our regional and local elite. (Not saying for one moment that Stephen Alleyne was pompous, he absolutely was not)

ALL of the structures are there already at WICB. Please do the research.
    Read the financials. Changing from WI to Cricket Caribbean in itself is meaningless. Let’s get to the core of the problem and fix that.

Kick all of these big-shots out and restart. Will they not have egos too…of course they will, so we need to ensure that we can kick them out as soon as they screw up too.

That’s the simple and oh so RADICAL idea. ACCOUNTABILITY.

41. @Dee Word

Have come to the conclusion insularity in our region will be the death of us and it is rapidly coming to pass.

42. BTW I would absolutely also censure and fire Bravo and the other leaders who were there and abrogated the duties expected of captains, but you know what I can’t replace them without badly affecting the team performance. So they get a reprieve.

The ICC statement is absolutely understandably as I am unaware of any professional sport where the corporate chieftains will allow the players to set the path and strike when they choose.

Bravo and his team were so far outside of the basic rules and practices that governed their organization that were I in his shoes I would be deeply embarrassed to know I made such insanely stupid demands.

How can you fire a duly elected officer by an email based on a meeting convened with any proper process. And then demand that body elected legally be bypassed.

How could anything then agreed upon be acceptable and proper.

I am sure that a number of you here are members of group etc and over the years have played by the Roberts Rules of Order. Some of you are probably fully trained lawyers or other professionls and know this stuff ‘real tall’ and better than my little diatribe.

So let’s get real and know that this debacle is BS piled on top of real BULL SHTEEEE. I really hope the WICB can find some longterm practical way to appease the BCCI but may there be a POX on both these groups of idiots who got s here.

May they live long with their individual wealth so that one day they may reap all of this bitter, disgusting crop that they have sown.

It’s ego, greed and abject stupidity…systems, name change and all other stuff is chaff blowing in the wind…left, right, up or down it makes nary a difference. Still the same chaff.

43. that should read : WITHOUT any proper process

44. @Dee Word

One senses the players in ICC are happy for the opportunity to bury WI cricket. Keep your fingers crossed.

45. DEE wORLD
    iT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER FOR THE BOARD TO HAVE COMPROMISED AND LET THE ODI’S AND T 20’S BE PLAYED

REMEMBER AN ALMOST DIFFERENT TEAM WOULD PLAY THE TEST MATCHES

I DONT THINK YOU CAN DO THE “naughty players” MUCH

AFTER ALL THESE GUYS PRACTICALLY OWN WHAT IS TO BE THE CANADIAN PREMIER LEAGUE.

tHIS WAS A CASE WHERE THE BOARD HAD ITS HAND IN THE LIONS MOUTH AND HAD TO DRAW IT OUT SLOWLY– THEY DID NOT BECAUSE THEY ARE STUPID

THE “naughty players” LEADERS DONT CARE ABOUT WIBC OR WINDIES CRICKET BECAUSE
    1 THEY KNEW BCI WANTED THEM FOR IPL …….FOR NOW
    2 THEY OWN THIER OWN CANADIAN LEAGUE SOON TO START
    3 THEY CANT PLAY FOR WINDIES FOR ALL THAT LONGER
    4 THE WICB HAS BEEN MALIGNANT TO PLAYERS IN THE PASS

46. @ Dee word
    I am distressed by Bush Teaโ€™s radicalism
    ++++++++++++++++++
    …as are many others. However, your being “distressed” does not mean that Bushie is in error…

NOTHING that exists under any regional umbrella has succeeded spectacularly since the colonial days…. NOTHING.
    The simple FACT is that we dislike each other and insularity is rife – from the court, university, trade, travel, even the RSS.

You obviously know much more about cricket than you do about Athletics….
    How many countries play shiite cricket?
    How many countries compete in athletics, up to the OLYMPICS level – especially in the sprints?

Boss, what Jamaica has accomplished in sprinting is MANY TIMES more impressive than anything done by West Indies cricket since the greats like Worrell etc…..and Sir Frank’s accomplishment was more to do with black self-esteem than it was with cricket expertise…

Finally, if you think that little Caribbean nations could not produce world class teams IF THE CONDITIONS WERE RIGHT, then you have been away much too long.
    As GP said, there was a time when practically EVERYONE played cricket at some level in Barbados….some outstandingly so…

When Haynes came to national attention, he was playing cricket in an area (Haynesville) that itself could produce a test level team at that time…
    Interest and enthusiasm was high because success breeds success… If there were opportunities created to make a Barbados test side, then even HIGHER interest could be expected.

But when the West Indies’ insularity turned around and treated people like Haynes and others as they did, and the pissy results started to roll in….young people said “frig that” and dissed cricket …..

It could all have been so different….

But where there is no vision, the game must perish…

47. @Bushie/ Dee word et al
    Gents please lets appreciate that ALL Cricketing and other Nations also have major political, racial, religious and other divisions.

Do you really think that being a Muslim in India is a help?
    \ Do you think that an uneducated batsman from East End London will be favoured over a Cambridge blue assuming they have similar records?

Do you believe that the various States in Australia dont push their own players? Several occasions players have moved state to play with a senior Aussie or Captain and thereafter gained an Aussie play!

This is unavoidable with human political animals everywhere!

48. The challenge for WI cricket remains when considered in the current’ epoch.

The best example is West Indies not having the guts to refuse Sunil Narine’s entry into the IPL after being offered a USD750,000.00 contract if memory serves. Unlike the other countries which have pro-leagues to offer as an alternative, we don’t.