Submitted by Wayne Cadogan
Wayne Cadogan

As far back as the late 80’s I have been addressing the issue of the structure of the West Indies Cricket Board and how it should be restructured. I guess since I am not seen as a cricketer or one who has played test cricket, that I do not qualify to speak on cricket matters as it appears that only those who have played regional or test cricket are qualified to run the affairs of West Indies Cricket. Because of this mentality, this is why West Indies Cricket now finds itself in this a quandary today. I have stated on previous occasions West Indies Cricket is a business and should be structured in the same manner that a company. The manner in which the current Board is structured and managed is very archaic and has been in dire need of revamping for many years to bring it in line to how a professional sports team functions. What West Indies cricket needs is a Sports Manager who is responsible for the day to day operations of cricket, he alone is responsible for the contracting of players, staff, hiring and firing. The West Indies team should be a core of 15 to 18 players and assigned to one or two year contracts when selected for the team as well as the coaching staff and can be fired for non performance or any disciplinary action. Of course, the Manager will also have the regular office support team to handle other duties.

First, one needs to look at the reasons why West Indies Cricket has been on a downward slide after being the dominant force in world cricket for over 15 years and is now just smouldering ashes. Outside of the Board, it appeared some of the other top test playing teams were out to bring down West Indies Cricket especially one team in particular whose fast bowlers were once the most feared at that time before the great West Indian fast bowlers came on the scene. It seems that the West Indies fast bowlers were targeted, first it was the one bouncer per player in an over rule that was brought into to play because of the devastating fast bowlers that the West Indies possess at that time to quell the four prong attack.

That was the beginning of the downward slide of West Indies cricket to which they never achieved that level of dominance after that era. Then one young fast bowler by the name Jermaine Lawson came on the scene and in 2003 against Bangladesh took 6/3 in his third test match and a hat trick against Australia in the 2003/2004 series and a haul of 7/78 that helped the West Indies to defeat Australian in the final Test of that series. He would later be reported to the ICC in May of 2003 for an illegal action. Over the years a number of test players from all the test teams were known to be chucking but were never called with the exception of one, so much that the rule was even change to accommodate one particular player. In steps a young spin bowler in Sunil Narine, who is now seen as a threat to world cricket and more so a threat to bring West Indies cricket back to the heights of its glory days of dominance along with the other young gifted fast bowlers. It is very strange that Sunil Narine was called in India before the West Indies tour of India and the upcoming World Cup!

The current impasse between the West Indies Cricket Board, WIPA and the players should never have occurred in the first place, if the West Indies Cricket Board was operating in a business-like manner and not in an unprofessional manner. The Board is fully at fault since they are the employers and the players are the employees. First, the players should never have left the Caribbean without a contract, especially if they all had a Sports Agent to represent them, this would not have occurred. A lawyer is not a Sports Agent and should not be representing any cricketer unless it was in regards to a legal matter. The Board knew of this tour over a year ago or more and contracts should have been signed long before in order that if there were any discrepancies, that they would have been rectified in the Caribbean. Despite the salary problems, which was a gross insult to the players to take away 75% of their salary is wrong; the players could have handled the matter differently by forcing the Board’s hands before the start of the game by not starting the game. What the players did was wrong as it was a matter for the Board to resolve and not one for the players. The players put the game into disrepute and single handily destroyed West Indies Cricket image which was an embarrassment to all West Indians and was not in the true spirit of the game.

As a result of the player’s actions, this has caused West Indies cricket to slip further down into the ashes that they are already in like quicksand. A few years ago the ICC were mulling over a two-tier system and had hinted about splitting up the test teams into two levels and this provides another opportunity for the ICC to further keep West Indies cricket in the cellar. I personally do not believe that Bravo should have been selected captain of any West Indies teams in the first place after he enlightened us a few years ago that IPL cricket was first, Trinidad second and then West Indies cricket. This showed that it was all about the money, which I definitely have no problem with, but Mr. Bravo and all the other West Indian players have to realize that it is because of West Indies cricket that they were given the opportunity to showcase their talent to the world and their worth. The West Indies Cricket Board over the years have been making blunders after blunders and it was only a matter of time before that it all came to a head. The reason for this is that the Board always appeared to operate as a one man show similar as to that as to how single proprietor operates a business.

This current impasse was not the first time that the West Indies Cricket Board was involved in a boycott and it seems as if they have not learned from their previous mistakes, since this current problem is over the same contract issues with WIPA and the players as in July of 2009 against the Bangladesh Cricket Team. That boycott led to the Board having to scramble to produce a makeshift team of six players from the Combine Campuses Team with a the sub-par batsman at the regional level having to lead the team and Kraigg Brathwaite being called up as a promising 16 year old player and then over looked for the tour. Again, this particular tour had raised a lot of questions as to who were calling the shots in West Indies cricket, the Board or a particular individual who was very vocal and instrumental in half of the team comprising of players from the Combine Campuses team.

I am in total agreement that some form of dialog needs to be take place between the BCCI and that no government in the Caribbean should intervene because West Indies cricket is already plague with too much politics. A special select team should be put in place to negotiate on the behalf of the West Indies Cricket Board to try and mend the wounds. This group of selected persons should include Sir Garfield Sobers, Sir Everton Weekes, Brian Lara and Darren Ganga. Both Sir Garfield and Sir Everton are highly respected International cricketers in the cricketing fraternity as well as Mr. Lara and Mr. Ganga being a former test player, a great leader as a captain and a lawyer would make a formidable negotiation team.

The time is now ripe for the entire West Indies Cricket Board to disband get its house in order and restructure the organization as to how a business is supposed to operate and stop recycling pass cricketers to run its affairs and select business minded professionals to run its affairs. Yes, cricket is a sport that earns money similar to how any other business earns money through a product. The Board or body should seriously dispense of their old policy and implement a more business-like model to govern its operations.

171 responses to “Will West Indies Cricket Rise from the Ashes?”

1. Hi David, I have missed your point re Narine; why should they refuse his entry?

One thing which the IPL worked out nicely was these Non Objection Certs. I am not a lawyer but I could imagine a slew of restraint of trade suits to the sports body in Geneva or where ever it is if cricketers were denied the opportunity to earn a living with their skills because a governing body made some type of biased unilateral decision to restrict them.

To refuse a player the opportunity to earn a living that you cannot provide him would be very wrong.

2. @Dee Word

The point is, in those countries with pro leagues there is a credible case when suasion is used to encourage players to make themselves available for country. Added to which rich retainer contracts which cascade with a wider reach.

3. As a boy the bush tea brews my parents advocated never resonated with me but now here I am basically in the same shoes as my parents so the drink finds much favor with me…so let me see if I can imbibe some of your brew, Mr Bush Tea.

You say that BIM would have provided its own test team from Hayensville alone. Ok, let’s see.

As I recall, Des Haynes burst onto the international scene around the time of Kerry Packer. He made the WI team as a newbie and was an immediate standout against the Aussies on the afternoon- right there a few short miles from your vaunted nursery of WI crickets Haynesville- when Jeff Thompson bruised and battered the cream of the WI top order with express bowling at its fiercest. Yep, I was at Kensignton. And that’s for real, no pretty story! Des showed how good he was

I also recall that Des was dropped later in that series as the result of a Packer matter and Lloyd and the rest of the squad resigned in solidarity.

Now sir, here is where your tea needs to show its medicinal value.

I would challenge you to match your rhetoric with some research. As I recall, the bajans who made that ‘interim’ team under Kallicharan were Syl Clarke, Van Holder, Alvin Greenidge …oh gosh those are all can track from memory. I believe David Murray was there too.

But what I would want you to tell me sir, is how many bajans in that team were from St.James/Haynesville. Not Murray I know and Greenidge was Spartan if memory serves.

How many BCL trophies did Haynesville win between 1978 – 1990?

How many Maple/Haynesville boys made the Barbados team and were outstanding enough to go on to WI?

In fact how many BCA 1st Div cups did your Maple boys win between 1978 -1990?

Bushie let the rubber hit the road here. To become a test team you would need to be dominant at the local level…you know like how Des showed his dominance coming out of Hayneville. Where were all these others you speak about?

Oh, that’s right they did not have the incentive because they was no Barbados test team.

Mr. Bush, put some Mount Gay in your tea and let’s enjoy a toast to telling good stories. Because sir your comments are indeed a good yarn but absolutely not serious discourse. But then again you knew that!

4. @Dee Word and Bushie
    Dee you beat me to it! Holders Hill is a bastion of good players to be sure BUT Test calibre—-NO WAY! Bushie really exagerating there!

Alvin “The Finner” Greenidge was from Bath Village/ Dover area, as was Emmerson “Kong” Trotman, both excellent Bajan players. So could Dover produce a World beating team too, Bushie????????????

Bushie tek de Mt Gay outta ya Tea! lol

5. @Dee Word

You appear to have a good grasp of the cricket landscape of Barbados reaching to the 70s.

On a side note, yes Haynes did well on that evening, those present will never forget pace like fire. It would be interesting to find out how many balls Haynes batted from Thompson that evening. If memory serves Richards, Greenidge and Kallicharan took the most balls 🙂

6. Come on fellas. We all know that Bushie sometimes exaggerate to make a substantive point.
    He shouldn’t have to read an spell fuh wunna bloggers except fuh dum an dummer,lol

The fact is that there was a huge pool of talented cricketers in the 60s and seventies when cricket was played all over Barbados including in de cart road and on the beach.

7. Thanks Hants, sometimes we like to trip-up on the hyperbole and trivia for the sake of argument…lol.

8. Very true David, I don’t think he faced Thomo much. Will check Crininfo on that.

But boy that was the proverbial pace like fire. And Viv was Viv. Love him or hate him as a personality but no one, absolutely no one intimidated him on a cricket field. That was macho v macho.

Always loved the game and blamed my dad (LOL) for now passing on any talent to be any good but yea have been following it for a while.

BCA member and all that good stuff. Used to voice opinions at meetings back then too.

9. oh Lord….for NOT passing on..

10. @Dee Word

Here is a report of that game those who those saw we are tole will never forget:

Second Test Match Wisden home
    Almanack archive home
    1979 home
    West Indies v Australia
    At Bridgetown, March 17, 18, 19. West Indies won by nine wickets, their fast bowlers again causing problems for the Australian batsmen who failed their side.

Lloyd again sent Australia in after winning the toss, but when they went to lunch at 104 for one on the opening day, his decision was open to question. At that point the left-handers Wood and Yallop were batting competently and Lloyd had already introduced spin.

But once Wood was l.b.w. to Croft in the second over after lunch, offering no shot, the frailty of the batting was exposed. Wickets fell so quickly that the score was 161 for seven twenty-five minutes before tea.

Yallop, who created a piece of history by being the first batsman to appear in a Test match wearing a protective helmet, batted steadily for two and a half hours before being spectacularly caught behind square leg by Austin.

The Australian spirit was revived by Yardley’s unorthodox but effective aggression which earned him 74 off the 48 deliveries he faced – scored out of 101 added while he was at the wicket. He cut and hooked Garner for two 6s, was struck on the body by the same bowler, and eventually yorked by him.

West Indies were left an hour and a quarter’s batting before stumps and, in that time, Thomson produced a memorable spell of speed and hostility during which he discomforted all the batsmen and dismissed Greenidge, Richards, and Kallicharran, three of the finest of contemporary players.

Greenidge was caught at slip off the glove; Richards at long leg off a top-edged hook; Kallicharran at short leg off the glove. In between, all were struck by balls which climbed steeply off the pitch.

Richards enlivened affairs by engaging in a stirring duel with his rampant Australian adversary. Dropped off Thomson from a mistimed hook before he had scored, Richards decided on an all-out counter-offensive. He hooked him for 6 and 4, lifted him overhead for another 4, and appeared to have won the day with 19 off a nine-ball over when Thomson snared him with the last ball.

Thomson’s exertions caused him to strain a leg muscle and he was able to bowl only three overs at the start of the second day before he retired for treatment. In his absence the cricket lacked the excitement of the first evening, although Australia did well to contain the potentially explosive West Indies’ batting.

Haynes passed his second successive half-century, adding 83 with Lloyd, who scored 42. The West Indies’ captain was below his best and was twice dropped in his hour and fifty-five minutes at the crease. It was left to the reliable Murray, with help from Austin and Parry, to secure a lead of 38 for West Indies.

Thomson returned to take the last three wickets and finish with six for 77, the best figures by an Australian in a Test at Kensington Oval.

It had been a close contest until then, but now West Indies took a firm grip, in the final session of the second day dismissing five Australian batsmen for 96. Darling, Yallop, and Rixon – sent in as night-watchman – were caught either by the’keeper or first slip; Serjeant and Cosier perished to unwise hook shots.

Only Wood, calm and collected, withstood the West Indies’ fast bowlers, and when he was narrowly run out by Richard’s direct throw to the bowler’s end in the third over of the third day, the match was as good as over. Yardley again hit vigorously for 43 in just over an hour, but Australia were all out before lunch.

West Indies, left with only 141 to extend their lead in the series, did it in style, Greenidge and Haynes, both Barbadians, entertaining a large crowd with stylish strokeplay. Haynes fell with victory 10 runs away; Greenidge was not out 80 when he made the winning hit. Between them, the pair hit three 6s and sixteen 4s. It was the first definite result in four Tests between the teams on the ground.

11. @ David,

I was at Kensington that afternoon although it was difficult to focus with a lady whispering promises in my ear. lol

http://www.cricbuzz.com/cricket-scorecard/8147/west-indies-v-australia-17-mar-1978

12. @Hants

Hopefully you did not have to hear the collective groan when Wayne Clarke ran in from the long leg boundary to catch Richards going for a hook of Thompson. Luckly for Haynes Thompson was never the same the next morning 🙂

13. …spectacularly caught behind square leg by Austin

As far as I was concerned this dude was the man re fielding. All respect to Collis King.

I first saw him in a Jam/Bdos match and thought that he could fly, the way he caught balls in those close in positions.

Alas, sad he fell so badly on hard times.

14. IN THE BRIDGETOWN TEST ON THAT FRIDAY EVENING WHEN THOMPSON WAS BOWLING FAST HE CARRIED AWAY GREENIDGE KALICHARAN AND RICHARDS- WHO STARTED SWIPING, AND HOLED OUT IN FRONT OF THE KENSINGTON STAND

HAYNES BATTED LIKE THE GIANT HE WAS AND MADE ANOTHER HALF CENTURY IN WHAT WAS HIS SECOND TEST.

ON THE BASIS OF HIS BATTING IN THE ODI IN ANTIGUA (148) HIS TWO HALF CENTURIES IN HIS FIRST TWO FEARLESS TEST INNINGS, HE WAS PICKED BY PACKER FOR THE SECOND SEASON OF WORLD SERIES CRICKET ALONG WITH RICHARD AUSTIN.

THE WICB STUPIDLY HAD BOTH OF THESE PLAYERS DROPPED! THEY MIGHT HAVE GOT AWAY WITH DROPPING AUSTIN- WHO HAD CLEARLY FAILED, BUT IT WAS CLEARLY UNREASONABLE TO DROP HAYNES.

HAYNES BECAME A VICTIM OF HIS BRILLIANCE—A VERY COMMON AND PAINFUL EXPERIENCE IN BARBADOS. THE WICB BORE HIM IN MIND FOR THE CONSEQUENCE OF THIER OWN EVIL FROM I978 UNTIL 1995 WHEN THEY FINALLY GOT RID OF HIM UNDER ANOTHER PRETENSE; SIMULTANEOUSLY STARTING THE DECLINE OF WEST INDIES CRICKET

BUSH TEA, THOUGH EXAGERATING A BIT IS CORRECT IN THAT SEVERAL BDOS AND WEST INDIES PLAYERS AROSE FROM THE GENERAL HAYNESVILLE AREA, WHERE THEY ARE THREE GOOD BCL TEAMS

STEPHENSON FRANKLINSON ,NEIL PHILIPS, BROWNE, CARLISLE BEST & HIS NEPHEW TINO, PHILO WALLACE AND ANOTHER WICKET KEEPER WHOSE NAME I HAVE FORGOTTEN . THIS TEAM WOULD BEAT BANGLADESH, ZIMBABWEE QUITE EASILY

15. Of note is that the batsmen of that era did not wear helmets.

16. Richie Richardson was derided for saying that the 1995 was the weakest Aussie team that he had played against, but he was 100 correct! What was also true is that we were without Haynes!

This was the difference in that series and the subsequent one that we drew in the UK that year, just as the lack of Greenidge affected the 91 result in England.

17. @GEORGIE PORGIE,

THERE WAS ALSO THE PAYNES BAY BOYS HARTLEY ALLEYNE AND CALVIN HOPE.

18. yes Hants- there were definitely good players who emerged from St James (not forgetting Chetwyn Burhnam, JOhn Shephered and Hartley Doyle who preceeded the group I mentioned above)

19. @Hants et al
    There is no doubt that the 1950-70s Bim had a wicked array of Cricketers!
    there were times Bim had 7-8 Pacers that could not get into the Bim team!!!
    But could have made nearly all the other Regional teams!

However, 2014 is a completely different scene. Competition from Bball, video games etc and a mindset of general laziness does not allow for a logical conclusion that Bim can ever match its former supremacy. Just look at players with talent like Carter, Hinds, Tino—these fellas just have not progressed to their talents indication, WHY? ATTITUDE?

WINdies should be the mantra for 2014 and beyond!

20. Didn’t Terry Hunte of recent vintage arrive from the Holders Hill area as well?

If memory serves Yallop wore a motor cycle like helmet in that match.

Greenidge wore a sweater claiming he was under the weather. Took a few on his chest…lol.

21. WICB sends apology letter to BCCI

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Sanjay Patel said that the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has sent “an apology letter” for the sudden cancellation of India tour by their players after an internal payment dispute.

“We have received a letter from WICB a couple of days ago. It said that they are apologetic and bankrupt and they urged us to resolve the issue through the Disputes Committee,” Patel told the mediapersons at Cricket Centre.

However there are reports from a reliable source in the BCCI that world’s richest cricket body has informally proposed to WICB to part with 50 per cent of their imcome earned through revenue sharing of ICC till 2023.

It is estimated that WICB stand to gain USD 100 million from the ICC during the next eight-year cycle and BCCI wants at least USD 50 million of that through instalment to cover up for the loss of revenue. BCCI has decided to reply after consulting with its members during the AGM in Chennai on November 20.

22. @ Dee Word
    Boss, Bushie don’t know what tea you are drinking, but it aint the right bush tea….
    Even beyond the outstanding names listed ONLY FROM THE HOLDERS HILL AREA, we had Padmore (Albert?) the off spinner, and there was a fellow named Luther King or something close, who was probably one of the best unknown batsmen anywhere… EVER….

Can you even imagine what was possible islandwide…?
    wuh cuh shiite….
    Can you IMAGINE how this lotta talent could have developed if there were opportunities to be had at the international level WHERE THE DECIDING FACTOR WAS TALENT?
    …what the hell is the point of talking about what ACTUALLY HAPPENED? we all know that shiite happened….which is why we are where we are….
    steupsss…

Wunna think Haynes was great? …boss he could barely make 20 runs when he was at his best playing at home in Haynesville 🙂 …the level was that high…
    In fact, where Haynes REALLY stood (stand) out was (is) in his self-confidence, outgoing manner and gregarious character…but he was just another Haynesville talent…

There are MANY areas in which Barbados could be world class – despite our minute size, and cricket presented one of the most achievable opportunities…..which we fumbled precisely because of our small-minded and limited self-image and our lack of vision ..as we see even now….

Thanks for reminding us of some of those names GP….

23. Not sure if the Sandford brothers were mentioned.

24. FORGOT the Sandford brothers, Luther King and Padmore

25. @Bushie
    Luther Wiltshire??? Loved to kill 2nd Div bowling for donkey’s years! He and Henderson Cathcart at Mental!

Bushie you been at the Joy Juice again! Man, I played Cricket against many of the guys listed in this piece. Desi Haynes became a GREAT! If he only made 20 down Holders/ Haynesville it was because he did NOT want to take advantage OR wanted to rest! Desi was THE TALENT from down dey! I cleaned him up in under 15 when he was at Federal but did not want to boast, but still consider him one of my best wickets ever which includes more than 11 National/ WI players like Thelston, Alvin et al.

NO DOUBT Bim can/ did and does punch way above its size, in a multiplicity of spheres! We have produced World class Doctors, Scientists like Warde at MIT, Steinbok Pediatric Prof at UBC, Roach that was at NASA, Dr Harry Bailey who conducted Leptosporosis Research at Cambridge U, to name a few. ( to say nothing of people like Cammie Tudor the 1st black Pres of the Oxford Union,)

26. MB
    i HAVE SEEN SOME OF THE BEST BATTING BY OLD VILLAGE CRICKETERS WHO NEVER PLAYED REPRESENTATIVE CRICKET THAT I DONT SEE FROM TEST PLAYERS TO DAY.
    THESE FELLOWS USED TO DEFEND TO LONG OFF AND LONG ON AND DEEP EXTRA COVER WITH A FLOURISH

I PLAYED SOME GERIATRIC TAPE BALL CRICKET ABOUT TEN YEARS AGO, AND WATCHED RAWLE BRANCKER BAT THE SAME WAY, AND IT REMINDED ME OF WHAT I HAD SEEN IN THE LATE 50’S IN MY VILLAGE.

ON THE TEST SCENE MEN CANT GET THE BALL OFF THE WICKET WHEN DEFENDING

Henderson Cathcart DIED A FEW MONTHS AGO

27. @GP
    Few of these youngsters have a clue. You are right that the old timers would just lean forward and time ya to the mid off fence. I leaned into Waco Daniel for “not a man moved or grass grow” 4 through Extra Cover but was scared fecesless that he would kill me! Waco could bowl a heavy delivery! At one’s throat!

28. One of the best batsmen from the area who made it to the Barbados team for a few games was Ricky Skeete.

29. Money ya lie… ya saying that the Bushman’s top drawer best batsman Luther used to lick bout 2nd DIVISION bowling… oh lawd.

Yu got me doing a Paul Keenes Douglas character, pun de ground rolling up, hold my belly laff here.

I definitely gotta drink some more of the Bush Tea it’s an awesome tension tamer.

But I agree with ya that much talent there and also a proper system of BCL all the way to 1st.

30. @Dee
    One of Bim’s major Cricketing problems is the relative decline of the BCL.
    Sandiford, Syl Clarke, Seymour Nurse, Conrad Hunte and many, many more came through BCL.

31. MoneyBrain | November 10, 2014 at 6:08 PM |
    RE
    One of Bim’s major Cricketing problems is the relative decline of the BCL.
    AGREE WITH YOU

Ricky Skeete IS THE NAME OF THE WICKET KEPER BATSMAN WHOSE NAME I FORGOT

32. MB
    WAYNE DANIEL AND SYLVESTER CLARKE WERE FEARED IN ENGLISH COUNTY CRICKET
    I WAS WATCHING IN THE KENSINGTON STAND ONE DAY IN 82 WID SOME FELLAS FROM BARPAK WH OHAD TWO SILVER PLATTERS OF BAKED PORK, WHEN DANIEL GIVE RICHARDS ONE BALL.

THE MEN DROPPED THE PLATTERS IN THE COMMOTION AND CELEBRATION

33. @Mr.Cadogan, well said.

Unfortunately some of you have more faith than I.

As far as I am concerned, the monies now being wasted on cricket should be put into cycling, athletics (which Mr.Cadogan would know well needs the support, a lot of gifted athletes never got an ounce of support compared to mediocre cricketers), swimming and other INDIVIDUAL sports where we don’t need a team to play, which is both expense to maintain for travel etc and also, difficult to manage re attitudes etc.

A least we have the videos etc of the grand old days of Windies, that we can rewatch over and over again and enjoy.

34. @GP
    YEs Skeety was Mr BCL!
    Waco had the Englishmen running about in 1976 Tests. I was living in London and some would not believe I had played against Waco et co!

35. As fearsome as Synnie Clarke was many a spectator to Searles ground looked forward to the BCL batsmen who showed no fear and would deposit some balls in the nearby cane ground when he dared to bounce lol.

36. While WC is quite right, as to the efforts at disparaging our more recent talents such as Jerome Taylor, whilst chuckers like that Aussie bloke fast bowler, or the spinner who bend arm is most pronounced from Sri Lanka, were allowed to continue, I still think other reasons, one being , as he says, the ineptitude of the Board, contribute to the demise.

However, I must wonder, whether we can expect more, from a compilation of a now dysfunctional grouping who cannot even sign a fishing agreement, full of intra-country jealousies, thrown together to create a grouping we call a team.

When we as Caribbean people, who were far more cohesive , tolerant and welcoming of one another in past years, now being antagonistic to each other, witness the fishing agreement, the Myrie case, etc., can actually bond as a team is highly questionable.

When we add the ‘sabotage’ efforts of outsiders and then add an inept Board, what do we really expect?

Probably, as Mr.Cadogan says, immediately turning it to a private enterprise is the only answer, albeit, a tad late.

However, there is one caveat to that. We may indeed (or not) get assistance form outside, because the reality is, the demise of West Indies cricket is but a stone’s throw away from the demise of World Test cricket, it is only the first stone breaking away from the path.

It might very well be all 20/20 in ten years time.

The march of progress.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Crusoe | November 10, 2014 at 6:41 PM |
    “It might very well be all 20/20 in ten years time.”

Couldn’t agree with you more. Test Cricket is a form of sport and entertainment of the past , much like the mobile cinema.
    Test cricket, as the name implies, is an exercise in concentration and patience with application of appropriate strategies in a civil game of war. Do young people and players with their instant coffee mentality possess such requisite skills?
    Cricket today is pure entertainment, betting and gambling business enterprises.

38. Bush Tea leading the parade down nostalgia drive, it sure to conclude on dead end street.

Last December I penned the following about WI cricket in one of the frequent discussions on this subject

“Old men will wax nostalgic about the glory days of WI Cricket ,spin tales of batting or bowling heroics to their grandchildren and gaze wistfully into the sunset lamenting what we lost.”

At the time I didn’t realise that it would happen so quickly.

Wax on fellows……..

39. Maybe now is the right time to take an alternate approach.

Bow out with dignity ‘somewhat’ intact. Announce, formally, a retirement of the West Indies from Test Cricket.

State that although WI dominated for a period and has cherished memories that shall never be forgotten, due to the social, entertainment, financial and world changes that have taken place over the last twenty years, Test Cricket no longer fits in with the long term goals of the West Indies.

Thank the fans, the ICC, the world for the memories, for the great times.

Announce that forthwith, West Indies shall concentrate on the 20/20 as the main form of the game, will still participate in the World One Day Championships.

This will enable a pragmatic financial, managerial, and business approach to be taken, with an inter island or interisland/club as now exists, format to bring standards up, which cannot now be done with Test cricket as mentioned heretofore.

That is the future.

40. @Sargeant,

We can watch videos of test cricket on youtube.I have been doing it for years.

41. We can watch test cricket on willow channel live
    currently the pakatanis are set to slaughter new zealand having just done the same to australia

TODAY HAS BEEN A BEAUTIFUL DOMPEY-LESS DAY

42. @Georgie Porgie,

I WAS REFERRING TO TEST CRICKET FROM THE 60S AND 70S.

43. BAMMA

44. @ MoneyB
    Man stop showing off do….
    What you used to play was “bat and ball”… when the men came up against wunna white fellas back in the 70’s we used to give wunna an “ease” …as you well know… 🙂
    …tink a fell want to lick off your head wid a bouncer and next ting ya know your ol’ man pull some strings and things get tight fuh that fellow?

Also when Dessie was playing under 15, cricket was not even his top game… more like football or even boxing…do you know what his REAL original nick-name is…?
    Man stick with your cash do…. and leave the visioning to Bushie…. LOL

BCL shiite…
    ..after the brand that was built by our GIANTS, we could have created a Caribbean Super League and attracted players from around the world to come here for training, play and for the prestige….The TV rights alone could have exceeded our tourism receipts…
    …instead, we had ‘LEADERS’ whose only dream was to go to London and get on like the mendicvnts that they were…

Man where there is no vision, brass bowls will continue to be pissed into….

45. For Desmond it was a top drawer attitude meshed with an average ability. You talk to him and he will tell you, they played what he referred to as ‘mortgage cricket’. It was the partnership with Gordon which combined to make both great; the partnership.

46. @Bushie
    You dont have a clue bout dis!
    I see couple white fellas get cut by pacers. Gumbsie that nused to play fa Empire brek a whitey hand at Bank Hall and I get a promotion immediately slap him for a 3 and then flick for a next 3 before he lash ma hard above the pad. Next morning I had a rather large bruised area in that exact vicinity—-ease wha! Dem fellas see me and start wid, ” I ent see a white man bleed recently” coming from slips!

The younger speedsters love nothing more than to build a reputation for cutting anybody but whitey was more sport!

Bushie you did ever play 3 day Cricket doh?????? Steupse!

47. LOL @ MoneyB
    ha ha ha ha ….those were the few vagabonds that you came across. As a general rule, decent cricketers knew that wunna fellows mostly only made the team ’cause wunna had expensive gear… 🙂

If Bushie revealed his exploits on the field too many oldsters may come looking for revenge … think Bushie only get ig’runt in his old age?
    …so BT dun wid dat!

48. @ David / Money B
    Talking bout Haynes though, wunna know that even as recent as the late 90’s Bushie was able to leverage significant respect in both London and Australia on the mention of names like Haynes and Wes Hall?
    Upon revealing to a certain official in London that Bushie knew Dessie “from small”, and actually knows Wes personally, … Man wunna should see royal treatment den…. 🙂
    …of course Bushie may have also hinted that it was he who REALLY thought Dessie to bat…. LOL, so what was he going to do? Fax Dessie? …besides – it was just a ‘hint’…. LOL Ha Ha