Submitted by Wayne Cadogan
Wayne Cadogan

As far back as the late 80’s I have been addressing the issue of the structure of the West Indies Cricket Board and how it should be restructured. I guess since I am not seen as a cricketer or one who has played test cricket, that I do not qualify to speak on cricket matters as it appears that only those who have played regional or test cricket are qualified to run the affairs of West Indies Cricket. Because of this mentality, this is why West Indies Cricket now finds itself in this a quandary today. I have stated on previous occasions West Indies Cricket is a business and should be structured in the same manner that a company. The manner in which the current Board is structured and managed is very archaic and has been in dire need of revamping for many years to bring it in line to how a professional sports team functions. What West Indies cricket needs is a Sports Manager who is responsible for the day to day operations of cricket, he alone is responsible for the contracting of players, staff, hiring and firing. The West Indies team should be a core of 15 to 18 players and assigned to one or two year contracts when selected for the team as well as the coaching staff and can be fired for non performance or any disciplinary action. Of course, the Manager will also have the regular office support team to handle other duties.

First, one needs to look at the reasons why West Indies Cricket has been on a downward slide after being the dominant force in world cricket for over 15 years and is now just smouldering ashes. Outside of the Board, it appeared some of the other top test playing teams were out to bring down West Indies Cricket especially one team in particular whose fast bowlers were once the most feared at that time before the great West Indian fast bowlers came on the scene. It seems that the West Indies fast bowlers were targeted, first it was the one bouncer per player in an over rule that was brought into to play because of the devastating fast bowlers that the West Indies possess at that time to quell the four prong attack.

That was the beginning of the downward slide of West Indies cricket to which they never achieved that level of dominance after that era. Then one young fast bowler by the name Jermaine Lawson came on the scene and in 2003 against Bangladesh took 6/3 in his third test match and a hat trick against Australia in the 2003/2004 series and a haul of 7/78 that helped the West Indies to defeat Australian in the final Test of that series. He would later be reported to the ICC in May of 2003 for an illegal action. Over the years a number of test players from all the test teams were known to be chucking but were never called with the exception of one, so much that the rule was even change to accommodate one particular player. In steps a young spin bowler in Sunil Narine, who is now seen as a threat to world cricket and more so a threat to bring West Indies cricket back to the heights of its glory days of dominance along with the other young gifted fast bowlers. It is very strange that Sunil Narine was called in India before the West Indies tour of India and the upcoming World Cup!

The current impasse between the West Indies Cricket Board, WIPA and the players should never have occurred in the first place, if the West Indies Cricket Board was operating in a business-like manner and not in an unprofessional manner. The Board is fully at fault since they are the employers and the players are the employees. First, the players should never have left the Caribbean without a contract, especially if they all had a Sports Agent to represent them, this would not have occurred. A lawyer is not a Sports Agent and should not be representing any cricketer unless it was in regards to a legal matter. The Board knew of this tour over a year ago or more and contracts should have been signed long before in order that if there were any discrepancies, that they would have been rectified in the Caribbean. Despite the salary problems, which was a gross insult to the players to take away 75% of their salary is wrong; the players could have handled the matter differently by forcing the Board’s hands before the start of the game by not starting the game. What the players did was wrong as it was a matter for the Board to resolve and not one for the players. The players put the game into disrepute and single handily destroyed West Indies Cricket image which was an embarrassment to all West Indians and was not in the true spirit of the game.

As a result of the player’s actions, this has caused West Indies cricket to slip further down into the ashes that they are already in like quicksand. A few years ago the ICC were mulling over a two-tier system and had hinted about splitting up the test teams into two levels and this provides another opportunity for the ICC to further keep West Indies cricket in the cellar. I personally do not believe that Bravo should have been selected captain of any West Indies teams in the first place after he enlightened us a few years ago that IPL cricket was first, Trinidad second and then West Indies cricket. This showed that it was all about the money, which I definitely have no problem with, but Mr. Bravo and all the other West Indian players have to realize that it is because of West Indies cricket that they were given the opportunity to showcase their talent to the world and their worth. The West Indies Cricket Board over the years have been making blunders after blunders and it was only a matter of time before that it all came to a head. The reason for this is that the Board always appeared to operate as a one man show similar as to that as to how single proprietor operates a business.

This current impasse was not the first time that the West Indies Cricket Board was involved in a boycott and it seems as if they have not learned from their previous mistakes, since this current problem is over the same contract issues with WIPA and the players as in July of 2009 against the Bangladesh Cricket Team. That boycott led to the Board having to scramble to produce a makeshift team of six players from the Combine Campuses Team with a the sub-par batsman at the regional level having to lead the team and Kraigg Brathwaite being called up as a promising 16 year old player and then over looked for the tour. Again, this particular tour had raised a lot of questions as to who were calling the shots in West Indies cricket, the Board or a particular individual who was very vocal and instrumental in half of the team comprising of players from the Combine Campuses team.

I am in total agreement that some form of dialog needs to be take place between the BCCI and that no government in the Caribbean should intervene because West Indies cricket is already plague with too much politics. A special select team should be put in place to negotiate on the behalf of the West Indies Cricket Board to try and mend the wounds. This group of selected persons should include Sir Garfield Sobers, Sir Everton Weekes, Brian Lara and Darren Ganga. Both Sir Garfield and Sir Everton are highly respected International cricketers in the cricketing fraternity as well as Mr. Lara and Mr. Ganga being a former test player, a great leader as a captain and a lawyer would make a formidable negotiation team.

The time is now ripe for the entire West Indies Cricket Board to disband get its house in order and restructure the organization as to how a business is supposed to operate and stop recycling pass cricketers to run its affairs and select business minded professionals to run its affairs. Yes, cricket is a sport that earns money similar to how any other business earns money through a product. The Board or body should seriously dispense of their old policy and implement a more business-like model to govern its operations.

171 responses to “Will West Indies Cricket Rise from the Ashes?”

1. Good stuff…lovely memories of days of yon by the passionate commenters here.

David, going back to the future and your post re ‘WICB sends apology letter to BCCI’ it seems to me that there been such a deafening silence by regional hot-shots on this mess. Maybe I am just too far away.

I have seen editorials in some regional papers which have called out both the WICB and players but what of the plans for new elections at WICB and the change of the type advocated by many.

The proposal from BCCI to garner WICB’s profits over many years is an excellent tactic. It was more obvious weeks ago that a Joel Garner (hah, no pun intended) yorker trying to win a game on a last ball.

I really hope that the ‘oh woe is me look’ from WICB saves their backsides but realistically even if they are not shafted with a mortgage payment to BCCI until forever the Indian folks will get their ton of flesh in other meaningful ways.

But that aside I come back to the basic problem.

How can Mr. Cameron, the CEO and the executive committee who would have counseled before they decided to tell Bravo we are not talking to you, the same ones who sent the team to India sans contracts; how in the name of all that is practical and good sense are they till calling the shots.

Well, maybe the plan is to let those who took the boat over the waterfall get it down the rapids to less turbulent waters and then they will be thrown overboard (with a life vest of course).

You know, I am still amazed that my people who produce a Time Magazine man of century, create one of the few new musical instruments since eons and other stupendous world beating feats could display such absolute hubris and ego to bring this great nation of ours (collective Caribbean) to its knees.

As a black man I tread carefully with racial comments but smile knowingly when commenters sound off vigorously on our colonial past and how massa this and massa that; most understandable and fundamentally acceptable, but often too over-blown.

But boy, as others have alluded to, look at we now. Massa din do this, we who apparently have thrown off he shackles have shat all over ourselves; we long condemned him of trying to mash up the sport at which the black-man was once king. But we do gone and do the job real sweet.

So don’t look at massa history anymore re our cricket.

Look at the intelligent, gifted, savvy brown and dark-skinned leaders who have brought us to be supplicants at the table of ICC and BCCI.

Awesome, ain’t it.

I know that there are other groups of savvy brown, dark-skinned and white Caribbean business/sports leaders who have the fortitude and humility to rescue us and chart a new course; we need them to step forward.

2. @Dee Word

There is more to come, stay tuned.

3. @Bushie
    God havest mercy that Bushie did NOT teach ONE lil ting to Desi!

So Bushie, why dem vagabonds and top quality players did NOT kill AUS in 1965 at the Mecca with Lawrey and Simpson opening wid Double Centuries and Cowper chipping in with a next hundred at 3???? Dem did white boys too!!! How come over history Aus is very far ahead in Wins versus the Windies? Respectability being somewhat retained by the World beaters of the 1980s.
    So as a general historical rule the names should be AusWIN and CarTralia!

Bushie! Bushie! Time to wake up, you did like ya in a Coma or wha!

4. next test match at desmond haynes oval on independence day
    COME ONE, COME ALL
    BUSHTEA VS MONEY BRAIN

BU DAVID IS TELEVISION UMPIRE

EXCELLENT POST DEE WORD

5. HAYNES IS IN MY VIEW A BIT MODEST ABOUT HIS CONTRIBUTION TO THE GREENIDGE HAYNES PARTNERSHIP, BUT HE DID CUT DOWN THE GIANT THOMPSON IN HIS FIRST ODI AND FIRST TWO TESTS.

HE HAD A GREAT RESPECT FOR GORDAN, WHO WAS DESCRIBED BY NONE OHER THAN E R DEXTER AS THE MOST CORRECT RIGHT HANDED BATSMAN HE HAD SEEN

6. Please note the one bouncer rule will be dispensed with for the contest.

By Order of the Barbados Underground Board of Control (BUBC)

DL Haynes (Desmond Haynes)

Test matches player (1977/78 – 1993/94, 116 matches)

Combined Test, ODI and T20I player (1977/78 – 1993/94)One-Day Internationals player (1977/78 – 1993/94, 238 matches)

CG Greenidge (Gordon Greenidge)

Test matches player (1974/75 – 1990/91, 108 matches)

One-Day Internationals player (1975 – 1991, 128 matches)

Combined Test, ODI and T20I player (1974/75 – 1991)

8. Dont mek sport now GP…
    …as a doctor, you would really put Bushie to seriously hurt Money B at Holders Hill on the 30th.?
    Wuh..Money can barely make out the difference between a Grantley and a ten dollar note – wunna feel he could see one o’ Bushies “wind-pipe rippers”…?
    The only calling Money B would have down there is to pay for lunch in Marshall’s bar …and fire a few banks with Wes and the other fellows who frequent the place… 🙂

9. @Bushie
    A Grantley will soon BE a $10 note! lol
    Why U think I invest Globally in various currencies and only keep small change in Bim.
    GP will be required to repair your windpipe and accompany yur soorry rass to the QEH! lol

You will be wearing a reinforced HASMAT suit, with plenty nuff sponge inside, when facing me! lol corbluma!

10. PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT Barbados Underground Board of Control (BUBC) DOES NOT PERMIT SLEDGING ON OR OFF THE FIELD. THIS INCLUDES BEFORE OR AFTER A MATCH

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE ALSO THAT PLAYERS CONTRACTED BY Barbados Underground Board of Control (BUBC) WHO REFUSE TO PLAY WILL NOT ONLY BE BANNED FOR LIFE, BUT WILL HAVE THEIR NAMES REMOVED FROM THE BOOK OF LIFE—FOR LIFE!

THIS INCLUDES NO BANKS BEER OR ICE COLD MAUBY, NO CONKIES, NO BREAD AND TWO, NO FRIED FRESH FISH FROM JOHN MOORE’S BAR, NO PUDDING AND SOUSE, NO COU COU AND FLYING FISH, NO MUD (CANE JUICE) NO COCONUT BREAD, NO LOOKING AT THE GOOD LOOKING LOCAL WOMINS, OR THOSE WHO LOOKING GOOD. NO POrK of any kind.

Barbados Underground Board of Control (BUBC) WANTS CONTRACTED PLAYERS to understand THAT THIS IS NOT THE WIBC

FURTHERMORE DEFAUALTING PLAYERS WILL BE CONFINED TO BE TORMENTED BY AC AND DOMPEY FOR AN UNDETERMINED PERIOD.

SIGNED .
    ABCD HANTS, President Barbados Underground Board of Control (BUBC)

11. @GP
    These rules would place Bushie at a serious disadvantage because he would need to boost his own ego by reminding me of my Whiteyness!
    Coulda hear he wif “Baccra johny”, “ecce becky” right upto he wakes to hear the ambulance doors closing!

Mt Gay Extra Old, pumpkin and ham soup wid massive “water welps” wid cornmeal plenty nuff ground provisions,Barracuda cutters,dolphin steaks, foreign womins, are good den? Lawdy, I coulda get by!

De TORMENTORS going be dey, look a me crosses doh!

12. mb
    Barbados Underground Board of Control (BUBC) IS VERY TOUGH.NO WIMPS ALLOWED HERE. HENCE THE RULES

DONT WORRY THOUGH
    APPARENTLY BUSH TEA IS CARRYING AN INJURY

HE GOT HIT ON HIS THIRD LEG PLAYING BACK TO A GOOGLY AGAINST A MAMMA JAMA IN A GAME HE WAS PLAYING FOR THE
    CHURCH ARMY VS THE MOTHER’S UNION THERE BY ST JOHN BAPTIST ANGLICAN CHURCH
    SO HE LIMPING ON ALL THREE LEGS—–WHAT AN UNSTABLE TRIPOD

CAN YOU IMAGINE ONE O DEM WOMEN PHYSIOTHERAPIST RUB HE THIRD LEG WID BENGUE’S BALSAM? HE WIFE HAD TO SOAK HIS THIRD LEG IN 100% PROOF WHITE RUM AFTER

IN ADDITION THEY CANT FIND A HELMET TO FIT HE HEAD THAT GOT ROOM FOR EXTRA PADDING, BUT HE GOT TWO PILLOWS FOR CHEST GUARDS AND TWO FOR THIGH PADS SINCE THE AFORE MENTIONED INCIDENT

TICKETS SELLING FAST
    PROCEEDS TO THE CLEANING UP DE GARBAGE ROUND BIM

13. GP
    SWEEEEET fa days!!! Shiiiiite talk can done!

How ya does rub Bushie third leg without a microscope and tweezers?????????

14. mb
    you forget where I learn to talk shite?

re How ya does rub Bushie third leg without a microscope and tweezers?????????
    I WONT KNOW SIR
    I NOT INTO ER MEDICINE sir

i only telling you the report that came to the board

I AM A GYNAECOLOGIST SIR!
    AND I DOES ONLY SEE YOUNG TINGS
    DE KIND THAT WHEN THEY TEK OFF THEIR CLOTHES YA DOES GO WEAK IN THE KNEES AND YA TONGUE DOEs SIEZE UP
    and ya does say tings like ” let me examine your BESTS

15. GP
    You lucky old dog!
    De only prob wid Gynae is having to tek home de wuk!

Just NOT having to see Bushie naked would be a great reward! lol

16. MB

I DONT PRACTICE NA MORE MANi will give ya a joke bout me when I was a young dr seeing recruits for the BDF

YA does have to do some test of power in de arms and legs they call PULHEEMS

I HAD THIS QUIET CHICK THAT YA TINK WUNT HURT A FLY
    I TEST THE POWER IN SHE UPPER LIMBS
    THEN I TURN TO THE LOWER LIMBS AND PICKED UP A LEG, BUT SHE STARTED RESISTING BEFORE I WAS READY TO START TESTING

SO I SAID DONT MOVE YET JUST LET ME DO WHAT I WANT TO DO

I REALIZED THAT I HAD NOT GIVEN MY INSTRUCTION IN DE BEST WAY AND STARTED APOLOGIZING

HEAR DE GAL
    ITS OK DOC I WAS HEAR WAITING FOR SOME SORTA THRILL

SEEMS I FLATTERED TO DECEIVE AND FAILED TO DELIVER WHAT WAS EXPECTED

NOW YA KNOW WHY I DIDNT MAKE IT IN MEDCINE
    I FAILED TO PLEAS

17. Follow the Andrew Mason cricket show here:

http://vob929.com/

18. And there is the other cricket show with Keith Holder:

http://www.qfm.bb

19. The latest sorry news is that Kensington Oval is a mess:

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/59152/oval-invasion

20. David | November 12, 2014 at 12:31 AM |
    And this was ONLY just discovered? Who been watching the field?

Gross mismanagement. As always, cricket is a give job slush fund, as is much else.

And people wonder why West Indies cricket is joke now?

Wrong people, for the wrong job. Last efficient person there was the Aussie coach, but wunna fired him.

Too many home truths?

Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result = madness.

I only hope the WICB does not have the gall to turn to countries like Barbados for more handout.

Disgusting.

Sadly, some of you all actually expect it to improve in the current environment.

Well, when Bangladesh et al rout them…..

Which is why I said above, retire with what dignity they (WE) have left, and focus on 20/20.

Its over, get used to it.

Those old videos of 1970-1990 will be precious history.

21. At the break entertainment  in the Independence (one game only) Bush Tea vs MB to be sponsored by Butt Inc.

Barbados Underground Cricket Board of  Control (BUCBC) understands from  an impeccable source Hants has majority stake in the company and question if there is not a conflict of interest at play. Will the management of cricket in the Caribbean change in our lifetime?

Kim K’s Paper Magazine Covers Will Definitely Break The Internet

22. David I recommend Alison to provide the entertainment at the interval.

Will need an Ambulance and a Cardiolgist on stand by for Bushie and MoneyBrain.

23. Hants | November 12, 2014 at 12:46 PM |
    re Will need an Ambulance and a Cardiolgist on stand by for Bushie and MoneyBrain.
    WILL THIS BE FOR INJURIES SUSTAINED DURING THE GAME OR DURING THE INTERVAL?
    WHAT PROVISION WILL BE MADE FOR THE GERIATRIC FANS PRESENT?
    IF THIS FEATURE PRESENTATION by BUTT INC WORKS HIGH FUTURE ATTENDANCES AT WINDIES CRICKET IS ASSURED

24. DURING THE INTERVAL GP.

BEFORE ALISON FINISH THE FIRST SONG DE TWO A DEM WILL BE COMPLAINING FUH CHEST PAINS.

25. @ The Bros
    Skippa i reserve the Cardiologist and the Physiotherapist/ Chiropractor / potentially the Orthopedic Dr TOO, cause wid Allison (that beautiful creature with a most proper botsy and hips/ legs and plenty nuff more) I likely to attempt reverting to my youth, misspent at The Marine when The Troubadors nused to clash wid BRC. I nused to wukup like a corkscrew, de peeps did wanna know iffin my mer nused to bathe me in clorox cause whiteys in suppose to wukup so! Da fa likka!

26. @Hanys
    It’s all in the mind and de behind! lol

27. MoneyBrain wrote “misspent at The Marine when The Troubadors nused to clash wid BRC.”

In my book that was time well spent. I was a BRC fan and even had some tutelage on lead guitar by Manny Leslie.

28. @Hants
    I mekking mock sport, of course I really remember those clashes very fondly! Wild animals could not a block me from dat!

29. Watching this video could be harmful to the geriatrics.

30. mR HANTS SIR!

IF YOU PERSIST WITH THESE PROMOTIONS YOU WILL BE ASKED TO STEP DOWN FROM THE Barbados Underground Cricket Board of Control (BUCBC)

YOU ARE HEREBY WARNED THAT THIS IS NOT THE WICB.

31. @GP,

UNLIKE THE WICB LEADERS I AM WILLING TO HEED A WARNING.lol

32. LOL HANTS
    THE BOARD ABSOLVES YOU FROM ALL YOUR SINS–CURRENT OR FUTURE
    YOU MAY CONTINUE SMARTLY IN YOUR PRIVATE BOX AT ALL THE BOARDS EVENT’S

DO YOU THINK THAT IF THE YOUNGSTERS TODAY HAD THE BANDS THAT WERE SO POPULAR IN THE 60’S THAT THEY WOULD BE ROOTING AND TOOTING TODAY, AS THEY DO

33. THE YOUNGSTERS OF TODAY ARE DISTRACTED BY THE RAP AND DANCEHALL CULTURE.

MOST DON’T HAVE AN APPRECIATION FOR MUSICIANS EVEN THOUGH BARBADOS CONTINUES TO PRODUCE GUYS LIKE ARTURO, NICHOLAS BRANCKER AND OTHER REALLY GOOD INSTRUMENTALISTS.

34. Told my kids years back that most Rap was Crap, especially the fellas chatting about Hos etc. NOT in my Home! Turned them on to Motown,(Luther/ Rev Al/ Smokey/ et al) Beetles, Bee Gees et al.

35. West Indies name full-strength Test squad
    ESPNcricinfo staff
    November 12, 2014

Denesh Ramdin has been retained as captain of a full-strength West Indies Test squad for their upcoming tour of South Africa, but the players have been given a deadline of November 18 to sign tour contracts. The squad is the first to be named since West Indies walked out of their tour of India last month due to a pay dispute between the players, the WICB and the West Indies Players’ Association.

“Of course at all times the selection panel aims to select the best and strongest team available,” chairman of selectors Clive Lloyd said. “We look forward to this squad giving a good account of themselves for the three Tests in South Africa.

“There is a significant amount of international cricket to be played over the next six months, including Test matches against some of the higher ranked teams in world cricket and as such it would be critical for the squad to get off on a positive note in South Africa.

“Specifically we have selected young fast bowler Sheldon Cottrell who is a good prospect. The selection panel is looking to introduce players such as Cottrell who can contribute in moving West Indies cricket forward.”

The three Tests are scheduled for Centurion, Port Elizabeth and Cape Town from December 17 through to January 6. The West Indies squad is due to depart the Caribbean on November 30, but the WICB said in a statement that tour contracts still had to be signed.

“All players selected have been notified of their selection and that their selection is contingent upon their signing of the Match Tour Contract which was sent to each player selected on Tuesday November 11,” the statement said. “The deadline for the return of signed Match Tour Contracts to the WICB is 5pm (ECT), Tuesday, November 18.”

Test squad Denesh Ramdin (capt), Sulieman Benn, Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sheldon Cottrell, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Leon Johnson, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton.

36. @ Hants,
    I tried listening to and watching that musical clip from Alison Hinds and that Indian woman and found it sad that you and your cohorts derived a degree of pleasure from it. This party music is meaningless, and sums up why the Caribbean is in such a bad state. Rap for all of its faults is far more progressive and challenging than the soulless music coming out of the Caribbean.
    May I introduce you to a musical form and a musical colossus: John Coltrane. You will recognise the song.
    https://soundcloud.com/shchxango/john-coltrane-1963-my-favorite

37. @ Exclaimer,

I am a born Bajan. Not an American.

However, having been musically inclined since I was about 5 years old, I acquired a taste for various genres of music and artistes.

While calypso from the Sparrow / Kitchener is my preferred choice of music I also listen to Miles Davis, Eric Clapton and in recent years Victor Wooten.

The posting of the Alison Hinds video was in the context of the planning of an event at Holders that will see Bushie and Moneybrain at the wicket and GP in stands as medical consultant.

Now you can go and listen to Coltrane and I will try to perfect my guitar licks of Layla.

38. BREAKING NEWS

MB WILL NOT BE TURNING FOR GAME ON INDEPENDENCE DAY BECAUSE HE HAS STARTED A NEW BUSYNESS

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/59132/booty-business

39. @GP
    Right up my alley bruds—watching Botsies getting large/ convexier and my Net Worth simultaneously growing, among other “growths”. It is close to orgasmic just thinking about it, especially Nikki Minaj!

Now dem is a setta hips! Chocolate hips too!!!! NB Chocolate supposed to have nuff good biochemicals.

40. Georgie Porgie | November 12, 2014 at 7:36 PM | West Indies name full-strength Test squad….of a full-strength West Indies Test squad for their upcoming tour of South Africa

Sorry Dr GP, but ‘full strength’ West Indies squad is currently an oxymoron.

41. @ David, is there a rumour that the image of ‘Kim’ above is actually a photoshopped image of ‘ac’ with K’s face put on?

If so, I suspect Bush Tea will seek a renewed interest in ac, with the intention of teaching her about the finer philosophical points in life…..

42. @Crusoe

Very far from, NO BALL Sir!

43. @Crusoe
    You nearly hit the Sq Leg Ump wid dat!lol

44. @ Crusoe
    …there are so many ACs that one may well look like that, but the original AC it is NOT …..
    …as to any “intention of teaching her about the finer philosophical points in life…..” Bushie does not delve into the impossible.
    Why do you think Mr. ac headed off to Arizona…?

45. Sorry to butt in on this not so interesting conversation..however a comment with referance to rumuor has been brought to my attention
    in effort to deny and deflect attention.ac categorically denies having any part in that picture..however for what it is worth the person depicted knows how well to use her ass..ets to further fatten her bank account..
    again please excuse my indulgence..just maybe a “booty “cover shot may all it takes from the board members of the cricket faternity to pay indiacricket association

46. This mandate given to the WICB Task Force looks and smells like just another boondoggle for the regional professionals tasked to action to get some sweet dollars to use on their Christmas shopping and vacations. Good for them, a waste for us.

Because, apart from the first item the Terms of Reference can be interpreted as a badly veiled attempt by the WICB to ‘mammaguy’ the gullible masses.

How else can one interpret the request @ 1(b) to examine the “relationship between the parties with a view to making recommendations on the nature and structure of the relationship between WICB and the cricketers (separate and apart from the relationship between WICB and WIPA).”

Dispute resolution is not an arcane, foreign construct about which we need to appoint learned QCs and other experts to create some new model.

There are very clear, well-defined processes that can be used.

But then when you realize that the WICB have lost badly on every occasion in the last 10 years when they have used the arbitration component in that process, it’s abundantly clear why this nonsense is being perpetuated.

They go on to add to this swill by asking @ 1(c) to “design and propose a fast-track dispute resolution mechanism… and give the players an expedited process through which they could ventilate any issues”

Now recall, that it was Cameron and his team who REFUSED to deal directly with the players when they asked him to, in WICB’s own words, to ‘fast-track’ the dispute and effect “an expedited process through which they could ventilate [the] issues.”

There is a very intricate and complex system which this Task Force will spend countless hours to design. It’s called engaging in respectful, meaningful discourse.

Folks, I am not a scholarship boy, nor I ain’t got no fancy letters behind my name, so I must be missing what the sharper brains have grasped because this sounds like a load of pig-swill to me.

Of course you all remember this little ditty from Animal Farm: “Four legs good, two legs bad” When the pigs advocated a change to life on the farm that was the battle-cry. You also remember that by the end of the book it was ‘Fours legs good, two legs better.” Same cadence, different rhetorical thrust.

This looks a lot like that to me; controlling the masses with a controlled rhetoric that leads to the desired outcome.

I do hope the Task Force is NOT a complicit participant in this fraud. But I will reserve judgment on that.

Consider for example, how the deck is stacked: why was at least one non-regional person not contracted to bring in an outside perspective and maybe even chair this group; someone from FICA, the international players association, or any former, respected and knowledgeable cricket official.

More and more I agree with Tony Cozier who wrote, “… The governing body for world cricket would act as caretaker for the WICB over the next two years, ensuring that proper governance is maintained.”

Looking at this window-dressing mandates given to this Task Force, that is needed now more than ever.

47. What causes the stomach to lurch is the possibility of impoverished Caricom states seeking to raise money to pay the BCCI. Really?

48. @David
    Why not place the WICB in BANKRUPTCY and start fresh with everything?

Design from scratch using a suitable model of properly working Boards ie Cricket Australia, or ???

49. @ David | November 12, 2014 at 10:42 AM
    I believe that you was responsible for posting that image of KK. Sad to see that KKK believes and stereotypes still resonate in the good ole USA.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2834564/The-19th-Century-Kim-Hottentot-Venus-s-big-bottom-sparked-global-scandal-200-years-certain-Miss-Kardashian.html

50. They better pay or else they a.sses would be blacklisted for a very very long time.