20 responses to “BU Members Featured in Barbados Bu’n-Bu’n”

1. Who dese members is ..?

2. @BFP

Why don’t you click on the image for the surprise?

3. Congratulations to you Rosemary on seeing another book project come to fruition. Looks like I will be picking up a couple of copies for Christmas presents this year (as well as one for myself).

In the meantime, since much of this book relates to our local foods, it’s good to remember that the psychopaths at the top of the human food chain, continue relentlessly in their efforts to make as much money as possible in as little time as possible, even if it means poisoning the food they sell us to eat.

If we want to avoid their attempts to destroy our health and the health of our children (not to mention helping to keep our local economy afloat), as much as possible we must start growing much more of our own food in a sustainable manner. Fortunately for us, we now have organic growers who have deep-sixed the agro-chemical approach, and now we’ve also got the new Caribbean Permaculture Research Institute established on the Ministry of Agriculture’s grounds at Graeme Hall to demonstrate to one and all, how with the proven methods and techniques permaculturalists have developed over the years from all around the globe, we can work with nature to grow meaningful amounts of food intensively, sustainably. At the same time we can also keep our soils fertile and alive, filled with the fungi and micro-organisms that plants need to thrive (but are killed off by agro-chemicals and factory farming methods).

FYI, here’s how how the agro-chemical/GE seed companies plan to address the problems they have created with “superweeds” (i.e. extremely hardy weeds that have become resistant to Monsanto’s glyphosate based Roundup herbicide used with the past generations of genetically engineered crops):

New, More Toxic Breed of Crops Gain Approval
    By Dr. Mercola

Even More Toxic GE Crops and Herbicide Receive Approval

Instead of taking a proactive approach to save the environment and human life, the US Department of Agriculture (USDA) recently decided to deregulate Dow Chemical’s next-generation GE crops.

These crops are not only resistant to glyphosate, but also carry resistance to toxins like 2,4-D, a component of Agent Orange, and Dicamba, which has been linked to non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. The chemical 2,4-D and other herbicides of this class have also been linked to:

Immune system cancers, Parkinson’s disease, Endocrine disruption, Reproductive problems

Then, on October 15, the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced3 its final decision to register Enlist Duo—a new herbicide manufactured by Dow Chemical, to be used on corn and soybeans genetically engineered to tolerate both 2,4-D and glyphosate.

This was the final barrier standing between this new generation of GE crops and their widespread commercialization.

snip

Real solutions are available. What’s lacking is the political will to stand up to the chemical technology industry and break its iron grip on our food supply. But we can still get it done, by making conscious choices each and every time we shop for food. Remember, your money either goes to support the chemical-based system that threatens the survival of the earth and your descendants, or it supports a system that can regenerate and revitalize the soil and the environment so that healthy food and healthy people can thrive. To make conscious choices, we need information, and that is why GMO labeling is so crucial.

http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2014/10/28/new-toxic-genetically-engineered-crops.aspx?e_cid=20141028Z1_DNL_art_1&utm_source=dnl&utm_medium=email&utm_content=art1&utm_campaign=20141028Z1&et_cid=DM58858&et_rid=708708025

4. @ Greenie
    You write for us. It’s better this comes from you, than us.

And you are right! However, there can be no coexistence with industrial agriculture because it poisons the water, the air, the soil, organic organisms, pollutes a seed heritage, and eventually all other living things.

People should know where their food comes from. It is alright to have all kinds of fanciful photos of ‘edible substances’ but if Barbados is still the amputation capital of the world, sweet looking food is not going to make anybody’s leg grow back!

Lastly, people should know that Bu’n Bu’n represents a transformation of the cellular structure of a plant and is a carcinogen. Our food is useless unless it closes down the QEH.

5. A little education is a dangerous thing is proven daily here on BU.

6. man where can i buy the dog on book ,and BTW i would feature it on my face book page,

7. Alright David I clicked on the image two (2) desktops and 1 IPad later still nothing, what gives………?

8. @Sargeant

Updated the image link, try again.

9. @ Hants
    Thanks I saw that page, but I was trying to locate the contributions from the BU regulars.

The author used a recipe from Old Onions? Looka trouble yuh mean he will emerge from self-imposed exile (crab hole) to claim royalties 😄 and….. BAFBFP? Yuh gotta be kidding….. 😢

10. @Sargeant

If you read the comments under the Minister Sinckler News Conference blog you should note Old Onions is alive and kicking.

11. @David
    I knew Onions was not Simmons as someone claimed, Onions is not a Philipean he is from another part of the Island (and if he was anywhere near Dodds where Simmons father was headmaster they would have kept him there) but you’ve got me thinking that he is here under another nom de plume. There is someone with a similar style, I have my suspicions and I’ll keep watching.

12. Ha … Don’ know wah de woman had to say ’bout me .. but I could put together the best tasting sardine omelet and pickled avocado you’d ever taste ….

13. @BAFBFP, I gine try your recipe but I gine use Brunswick sardines with hot peppers.

14. It’s remarkable in favor of me to have a site, which is good
    for my know-how. thanks admin

15. Rosemary Parkinson Avatar
    Rosemary Parkinson

I know this is rather late in the game but I never saw this before…thanks BU for highlighting…and thanks to all who contributed in that conversation for the book…because of space I had to trim down….so some comments without recipes were left out…I did not leave out that sardine omelette…how could I BAFBFB?

I know this is one year later…and I am so sorry but time waits on no woman and I have been apart from exhausted, trying to sort out all manner of organization, ensuring the book promotes Barbados. It has been a difficult four years and now this last one has not exactly been easy. I hope those who purchased the book, enjoyed it for what it is, just my own personal adventure around the island and yes…I did promote organic farming as best as I could without becoming too boring…I wanted people to have fun not do a serious blog within a book.

So Christmas is here again…please be kind to me and push the book…it is available at all Cloister Bookstores…and for those living in England, contact me on Facebook…the link is https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosCulinaryJourney as I am here pushing our island…

I was invited to attend The Henley Literary Festival – that went very well…served up a Mount Gay cocktail (rum, touch of sugar, Angostura bitters shaken to perdition with ice) before my presentation of an interview about the book and photography of Barbados thrown on to two huge HD monitors. I have also been invited to present at the Miami Book Fair.

For those who might not know…Barbados Bu’n-Bu’n picked up several awards for Barbados at the Gourmand World Cookbook Awards 2015 held in Yantai China…Best Photography…Best Design…Best Recipes…Best Self-Published….the final biggie was Best Self-Published Book In The World against five finalist, like Australia and the US. One has to thank all those who allowed me to show how wonderful how island is. So the award is for Barbados!!

16. Congratulations Rosemary also note Elombe gave your book a plug yesterday when he hosted Getting Down to Brass tacks.

17. Rosemary Parkinson Avatar
    Rosemary Parkinson

Thanks David for your kind words…thanks to Elombe too…both of you always so supportive.