Submitted by Robert D. Lucas, PH.D and CFS Food biotechnologist & Certified Food Scientist
Leonard St. Hill (former Town Planner believes too many epidemics in Africa seem to have the effect of weapons of mass destruction
Leonard St. Hill (former Town Planner believes too “many epidemics in Africa seem to have the effect of weapons of mass destruction”

There was a letter in the Daily Nation (30th. September 2014), entitled: Ebola a weapon of mass destruction? written by Mr. Leonard St.Hill. The gist of what he had to say is as follow: he avers that the absence of speculation (presumably its origins) over Ebola virus raises some suspicion. He goes on to state “that too many epidemics in Africa seem to have the effect of weapons of mass destruction which can result in genocide. He concludes that Africa is serving as a laboratory where the pharmaceutical (western) industry, use native Africans as test subjects to ascertain the efficacy of the pathogen and antidote, whilst making a financial killing.”

In the past , I have stated that persons should always stick to their areas of technical expertise and that the majority of Barbadians are scientific illiterates. St.Hill falls under both headings. He displays gross ignorance of microbiology and biotechnology and is guilty of disseminating false innuendoes to an uninitiated public.

The major pharmaceutical companies have little interest in doing research in little known tropical diseases. The returns on their investment are not worth it. The people of Africa are too poor and cannot afford the cost of a complete regimen of treatment. The return on investment is also one of the reasons; there have been few new antibiotics on the market. You are infected, you pop a few pills and the infection goes away. Then there is the regimen of vaccinations, which means that most life-threatening diseases are held at bay. The companies make their money from chronic diseases such as, certain forms of cancer, heart disease, hypertension and diabetes. They want repeat clients, this where they make their money.

Africa has the greatest diversity of fauna in the world. One would also expect that the microbial world in Africa would also be diverse. When the Spanish first came to the Caribbean, they found flora which they had never seen before (cocoa, pineapple, avocado etc.). Similarly, in Africa, increases in population density have meant the encroachment by man of pristine jungle areas, resulting in exposure to new pathogens. Some of these pathogens over the years acquire the ability to cross the species barrier. In nature; micro-organisms are constantly exchanging DNA fragments between themselves. The exchange of DNA can be intra-species or inter-species; this process is called either transformation or transduction depending on whether bacteria or viruses are involved, This constant exchange of DNA can give rise to new strains which are either more pathogenic and virulent or less so than their progenitors. It is a documented fact that most new strains of the influenza virus originate in Asia, especially in China a country with the larges porcine population in the world. When animals and humans live cheek by jowl, human-animal inter-actions must occur. In other words, inter-action at the microbial level can and does occur. When this happens there is a new strain of the influenza virus. Are the pharmaceutical firms also causing genocide in Asia?

In Africa, there are myriads of known and unknown microbes. For example: Lassa fever, Marburg virus and Ebola, all of which are haemorrhagic viruses whose vector is the fruit bat. Then there are River blindness, Sleeping sickness and Nodding disease of the Sudan, where children constantly nod their heads and waste away.

There is no need for the pharmaceutical companies to covertly engage in genocide in Africa. The Africans are doing an excellent job of genocide on themselves. The question St. Hill should be addressing, is why are not the African countries doing their own research and solving their own problems, instead of depending on western countries? He should also be addressing the high illiteracy rate which, is resulting in Ebola running amok among the West African countries.

Finally, yesterday, the Journal Science published an article by Professor Pybus of Oxford University and Dr. Faria who used computational analysis and phylogenetic reconstruction (roughly means tracing family history) to traced back the origins of HIV-1 to the 1920’s in the Congo. One can do so by looking at the rates of mutation of some genetic markers. Whenever one mutates a micro-organism, one must check for the revertant rates (i.e. the number of mutants which change back to the original state), to ascertain the stability of the new

384 responses to “Dispelling a Myth About EBOLA”

1. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

OFF -TOPIC
    Blog Moderator , I crave your indulgence but I could not pass up this one . This is a Scud missile that will cat-spraddled IG246; PACHAMAMA; Simple Simon and the rest of that ilk.

When I heard Moderator Maureen Holder giving her experiences with Immigration Officers and how they were all women –and how stupid they behaved as women as opposed to Men , I had to fire this Missile
    Women will prove the destruction of the World and other places. Look and see what women did to Mars -(LOL)
    Women must be stopped -but can they be stopped
    Women never invented anything
    This is not an attack on women
    I love women
    This is a call to CONTROL women.
    They have all but destroyed the Education System in
    Barbados.
    Most women complain about the amount of work they have to do and would watch another woman and say that she not doing her share and would bitch all year about that. They are never willing to put in the extra effort.
    They create unnecessary Tension and Confusion in the work place over petty nonsense.
    Up an On with Men

Down and out with Women

David “Joey” Harper, former chairman of the Child Care Board. (FP)
    MON, OCTOBER 13, 2014 – 7:02 AM

A SOCIAL COMMENTATOR has warned the country’s men to step forward as more of them are being displaced by women who are taking over almost every top position in Government and business.

David “Joey” Harper, who is also a former chairman of the Child Care Board, told the Ralph Boyce-led Men’s Educational Support Association (MESA) that they had an uphill battle on their hands as more men were being relegated to secondary positions while women surged passed them “at a frightening ratio”.

​Insisting that women were fast becoming the dominant sex, he told the men’s group: “Women are filling every major management position in Government, business, church and now even in sports.

​“The problem is men are ceasing to be men. I am not referring to women beaters but real men, respectful fathers, husbands and parents. If MESA is to become the new reality that [chairman] Ralph Boyce envisages . . . real men must be recreated not to rule but to be equal, standing firm as one.”

​Addressing the topic Men Speaking To Men On Men’s Matters, Harper added: “MESA, we must fight to get men to regain their masculinity. Young men cannot stop attempting to match those who are slowly becoming the societal leaders, the CEOs, managers, lawyers, consultants, doctors, while they, the new male, are becoming dependents waiting for women to support them, driving cars bought by women, living in houses bought or rented by women, and they must stop no longer placing themselves on the slowly disappearing job market.”

​He said women were no longer willing to take a slap; they were now quite willing to slap back.

“Women are no longer willing to stay at home and cry, they are quite willing to go out and hunt. Women today have learnt to take off their clothes in public even in fitness events. The mystery is slowly disappearing – Crop Over is a classic example.

​“Men are slowing disappearing from the courts’ benches at every level, [as] magistrates [and judges in the] High Court . . . . There are not too many Ralph Boyces willing to fight against the odds. The stakes are becoming too high and you really cannot be sure whose corns . . . you may step on,” Harper said. (Green Bananas Media)

2. Could the nurse in the USA who worked with the now deceased Ebola patient, and is now herself affected,could have affected a whole plane load of people while traveling the day before being diagnosed on a domestic flight?
    The authorities are now appealing to all the passengers on that flight to come forward.
    Could any of these possibly affected passengers Barbadians, other Caribbean nationals, or other persons traveling on to Barbados or the Caribbean on business or vacation?.
    Any calls to lock down the great US of A?

3. Hope Barbadian health authorities have asked for a passenger manifest of that flight to determine if we had connecting passengers to Barbados.
    +++++++++++++++
    ….and how about SUBSEQUENT passengers who may have used the same seat in following flights? …..used the same bathroom during flight? …….the same magazine?
    …..and how about OTHERS that such contacts may have subsequently contacted…?
    Want those too?

@ the blogger formally called Kiki….
    Who said anything about deliberate attacks with EBOLA…?

Obviously such experiments would have been based “off-shore”….
    …and
    The problem with such complex “warfare experiments” with nature is that Mother Nature is too complex, resilient and unpredictable for our ordinary science…..
    ….one little slip up and the genie can get out of the bottle….

LOL…
    Even now these “experts” seem completely baffled with the characteristics of the EBOLA virus….

Mock scientists playing with BBE technology is like monkey playing with gun….

4. Colonel, don’t worry yourself Ebola will find its way in the Caribbean soon. But this gives the region ample time to prepare for the eventuality.

5. Easy Squeeze (make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make No Riot)

If everyone wore the space suits all the time there would be no risk and BU could still go to Crop Over each year for ever and ever
    http://youtu.be/hwyRLANWyEs

6. Easy Squeeze (make No Riot) Avatar

Question for Georgie Porgie Bush Tea and Green Monkey
    is there a trigger that suddenly makes the incubating ebola virus deadly and contagious internally externally all over

http://youtu.be/9eMDeJ5Ly-o

7. the risk are very high everyone is vulnerable,,the CDC still continues to bury its head in the sand, with a virus of unknown origin having many genetic markings able to literally live inside and outside of an environment for a long and extended period of time and most likely is airborne , the most troubling part is that no clear and definite answer is giving to how this virus can be contracted, IN the hot zone people are washing their feet before and after visiting love ones, how much more contagious can that be, given what has transpired in texas ,there is enough evidence to suspect that this virus can be transmitted in the most innocent and unsuspecting method, ,, would not be surprise if that hospital sooner rather than later be quarantine on the basis that a patient who had no contact with Duncan had contracted the virus,,
    llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
    below is a link showing how the protective gear is made and the steps during manufacturing

8. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Re your question at 5:54 pm.

That’s the most important question asked on this blog.

I think (and this is just my hypothesis only based on reading a fair bit of the literature) that there is a trigger and that that trigger is pulled when the patient is close to death and that the virulence is magnified several times at that point and remains so for a few days after death. Before that point people who come in casual contact with body fluids, etc. are relatively safe.

That is why Nurses who give intimate care on the deathbed and Undertakers and Family members who touch the bodies are at such high risk. Serious research is needed to investigate that question but I think it is hinted at by the infection of the nurses of people who have died as compared with the Duncan family who were in intimate contact with Duncan but days before he died and has seemingly avoided infection. I would hazard a guess at this point that if any of that family becomes infected it will only be his fiancee (Ms. Troh?) but that even she, according to my reasoning, might be safe.

If this is so it will make the handling of this hopefully transient outbreak and future ones much easier to control.

Just a theory at this point in time but it will be tested soon.

9. John Hanson 1781-1782 Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782

Shit, a white police man in America will kill you faster than Ebola or even Aids,As you can see only person who died so far is a black man and all other whites are still alive to this point.

10. John Hanson 1781-1782 Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782

2ND Nurse just died , of Ebola

11. John, this clearly shows that their couldn’t have done much for Duncan, given the extent of his infection in comparison to this latest nurse.

12. Regional teams to help with Ebola

BARBADOS AND SOME Caribbean countries are considering sending small teams of health professionals to West Africa to help countries struggling to deal with the exploding Ebola epidemic.

13. can this virus be aire borne by some scientist belive so

here is article that should be of interest to all which includes the unnerving details of this virus being cultivated to be aire borne through scientific methods

http://rense.com/general32/eboa.htm

14. CDC Gave Latest U.S. Ebola Patient OK To Fly With Slight Fever

ASSOCIATED PRESS

A Dallas nurse who took a commercial flight from Cleveland hours before reporting symptoms of Ebola says that the Center for Disease Control and Prevention told her it was okay to fly.

Amber Vinson helped treat Thomas Eric Duncan, the Liberian man who died in Dallas of the Ebola virus earlier this month. On Wednesday, the CDC announced that she had contacted the virus as well. The CDC also revealed that she had taken a flight to Dallas on Monday, though it said that it was extremely unlikely that any other passengers were exposed.

Vinson told CBS Dallas Fort Worth that she was feeling ill before boarding her flight. She had a low grade fever, but she said that officials told her it was okay to get on the plane. Vinson told CBS that she called the CDC several times with concerns.

The CDC confirmed to FOX 4 News that they gave Vinson the green light to fly.

After Vinson reported symptoms of Ebola on Tuesday, she was placed in isolation. On Wednesday, she was transported to Emory Hospital in Atlanta, where she will continue to receive treatment. She is in stable condition.

Vinson’s comments contradict remarks made earlier today by CDC Director Tom Freiden, who said that she never should have gotten on the plane.

The 29-year-old nurse is the second person to contract Ebola in the United States. The first was Nina Pham, who is also a nurse at Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas, where Duncan was being treated. Duncan is the first person to have died of Ebola in the United States.

Read the whole story

15. John, where have you gotten your information because I just saw on CNN that the second nurse just arrived in Atlanta?

16. Ebola is going to wipe out a half to two thirds of the world population if it is not stopped in its tracks now.

17. @ Crusoe
    According to biblical predictions, SOMETHING is going to wipe out about 2/3rds of the world’s population. It won’t be EBOLA alone though, since the chaos that would accompany the panic that “runaway EBOLA” would bring …will itself be a calamity of biblical proportions…..
    Food, water, war, fear….. Hmmmmmm

….so bad perhaps, that ” except the Lord shortened those days, no flesh should be saved…..BUT FOR THE ELECT’s sake, he hath shortened those days….”

18. John Hanson, de only thing that kills a black man faster than a white policeman is another black man. Unfortunately.

19. @ Bushie
    That is a bridge too far for us. We like to think that we are the ones we have been waiting for. Not no fictitious god in the sky! That we, as Gods, can save ourselves from such a wicked White god and these satans currently amongst us. In any event the book you have quoted is replete with lies from G to R!

20. LOL @ Pacha
    “WE as gods?” …. Ha Ha Ha Ha

Don’t you mean “WE …as a pack of retarded brass bowls” …Wuh..
    every shiite that we have touched have turned into death…..even the VERY BEST Of US….

Boss, our ONLY HOPE is that there IS some SENSIBLE external entity somewhere with a plan……else we can all start digging our own graves right now….

Fortunately, you are just as completely wrong as those you consider “the wicked white gods” about this most vital reality called BBE….and for the ELECT’s sake, the lotta shiite will be CUT SHORT…..by the very creators of our existence…

21. Bushie you like yuh shitting bricks … wha happen yuh still eating bush meat? Yuh hear dem say that all dat wild meat yuh like ent good fuh yuh?

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Crusoe | October 15, 2014 at 9:34 PM |
    “Ebola is going to wipe out a half to two thirds of the world population if it is not stopped in its tracks now.”

That would rebalance the geographical equation between the Earth’s resources and the number of species placing demands on those finite resources.

BTW, who would stop the virus in its track now? The scientists and serpent worshippers in spacesuits or Christian evangelists?

Why not invite back Bonke to pray for the healing of the nation? After all, the Christian magician was marketed as being more powerful than Jesus bringing back to life many Africans who could have died from the same Ebola.
    Karma is a bitch, isn’t it!

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | October 15, 2014 at 10:42 PM |
    “Boss, our ONLY HOPE is that there IS some SENSIBLE external entity somewhere with a plan……else we can all start digging our own graves right now”

You are beginning to sound like Louis Farrakhan from the Nation of Islam.
    He claims to have been taken on board a spacecraft hovering over the planet and met your BBEs and his teacher Elijah. They all told him about the plan they have for the reforming of the Earth and its inhabitants.

Bushie, have you received your employment papers for future weed-whacking work on the spacecraft or are you waiting for the return of the Elohim and a visit from Zecharia Sitchin on board the spacecraft from Niburu?

24. @ Bushie.

Well, what it will take to stop Ebola now is something ALL nations lack.,

Political will.

And I agree, chaos indeed. Hence, why a number of us have been harping on food security on these blogs for the last 8 years.

Ah well. I am with you, because I cannot be against (how you like that turn of the proverbial phrase)… 😉

In God We Trust! (your BBE).

My belief is Solid.

25. Easy Squeeze (make No Riot) Avatar

What would Jesus do to fight ebola

26. Easy Squeeze (make No Riot) Avatar

Pacha is right we are all individuals with a name and an ID identity
    and Facebook to advertise and change the world

27. with every case in the medical ( field) as in the case of the nurses . the CDC are looking like the biggest liars and fabricators of the truth, it seems as if the CDC is on a mission to turn lies into truth! with the growing concern and the popping up of nurses who have been affected by the virus , the CDC constant meandering and bobbing and weaving is undeniably a way of seeking to hide and distort,, all of the incidences of the nurses has brought such evedience to the forefront and have left the CDC looking like deers staring in the headlights, how much more of this grand illusions must people bear? as the CDC tactics by means of escapism only helps to drive more fear in the public’s perception of what is really happening,

28. @Are-we-there-yet

Your theory is beginning to take shape. It is clear based on an arms distance Eric Duncan case study the Ebola virus becomes more virulent at a certain ‘stage’.

29. are-we-there-yet Avatar

AC;

Ebola looks like it rapidly becoming Obama’s Katrina.

However, on another point. It is now more than 21 days since Duncan got sick and exposed his family and friends with whom he was staying in Dallas to Ebola. There have been no reports that I could find on their condition recently. The early reports indicated that they were under quarantine for 21 days and were being monitored for fever for 21 days after which they would be released from quarantine. You’ve been able to find lots of relevant information on the Internet. Could you search out for anything that has been reported on this recently? Their planned release should be imminent.

The key to the success of the stop of spread effort in Dallas and perhaps the USA arguably lies in this area. Please post anything you might find.

30. Konkieman is right nothing kills a black man faster than another blackman. It wont be long if the ebola virus cant be controlled like the genocides before it opportunists will mark an ethnic group or tribe as the culprits and will go on the attack. The only difference this time… the world will not come and help.

31. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

Some more data is needed on the current health status of the Duncan family and friends recognizing that some people (approx 15% of those infected) may not develop symptoms before 42 days and that a similar percentage may not display fevers.

32. Which means the hullabaloo about the nurse flying on Frontier Airline although it should not have been allowed is a false flag being used by those driving the emotional argument. Regarding news about the Duncan clan, no news is good news.

33. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Reading back my post before the last one, In the case of the Duncan associates it would be most likely that the health personnel would be monitoring them for the absence of the virus in addition to fever to sanction their release. My apologies, Loose writing on my part.

34. Let us hope our local policymakers have been closely observing what has happened so far. There is no airtight contingency to be implemented but there are pitfalls that can be avoided.

35. But what do expect when everything is based on the honor system. It starts in Africa did you have contact with an ebola patient? no ..okay get on plane
    In America stay home okay check your temperature okay an honor system may not be the way to go on something so serious

36. heard this from a reliable news organization outside of barbados .
    the technique used to source and filter Duncan blood at the dallas hosipal might have been compromised

37. @ Bushie
    You are wrong! Your ‘hope’ for survival is part of the same multifaceted paradigm you criticise so much, we criticise. It is a mere marketer’s trick. In any event this thing you hope for was always just a creation of man and not the reverse. There shall be no salvation coming from this nonsense. If there is to be a god she/he/it must surely be inside each one of us. So let us be the Gods we are and save Pachamama, the universe/s!

38. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Lawson;

What the countries of the North seem to be doing is perhaps discounting the Nigerian success story where the authorities there have limited the spread to 8 persons only in a population of several million in Lagos. Learning how Nigeria stopped the spread should be an important aspect of the development of plans to do control the spread of the disease from small foci in the Countries of the North.

I suspect that the use of an honor system and a big official whip (just speaking figuratively of course) figured significantly in the Nigerian system and not a misplaced use of the previously PPE’s that were considered infallible..

39. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Oops! Another mistake this time in my 7:56 am post above ! What I meant to say was “…. and not a misplaced total reliance avant gard PPE’s that were previously considered to be infallible.”

40. Has our Government considered the possibility that airline usage may be significantly reduced due to panic over Ebola? What then of tourism and thus our economy?

41. @Konkie
    U will be branded as part of the Conspiracy to spread untruths, BE CAREFUL! lol

How does any group solve problems if they dont seek the facts and properly identify the real problems to innovate and implement real solutions?
    Problem definition is crucial!

42. @ Bushie
    We can state that your views and ours coincide 99% of the times. However, on the matter of magical thinking, looking for a saviour. We think you forget that 65 million years ago our ancestors were down to maybe 12 females of child bearing age, near extinction. Like the 90% of the organisms which were wiped out, we might have been too. Where was your saviour then. He was not even invented then. So our ancestors had to save themselves. Mere luck!

In the modern era there were MANY times when nuclear weapons use could have meant a global holocaust. Where was your saviour then? The record shows that is was only the God within us that saved the planet then, not your White god. Mere luck again! Your god continues to rely on luck. It is like winning the lottery every week.

There is nothing special about the human. We are no more than animals. No less, most times. The problem with your god is that he relies on luck so much that sooner or later he will run out.

43. @Pingy
    Airlines followed by Shopping Malls et al if this Ebola gets a grip on Europe and Nth Am!
    The difference between the Flu and Ebola is that :
    The flu is high probability with low impact and
    Ebola is low probability with very high impact!

Ebola should have been stopped in its tracks9-10 months ago when the first cases appeared but the WHO is chock full of Nuts/ bunch of useless BUREAUCRATS!

44. @ Pacha
    We have no quarrel.
    Indeed, the very fact that you can be so brilliantly insightful is so many complex areas of life and yet so completely ignorant of the only REALLY important ontological construct that there is…..only confirms Bushie’s position.
    EVEN YOU, with your unquestioned brilliance, cannot decipher this mystery through the genius of your brain……it actually takes a childlike acceptance of our very limited senses and abilities and an openness to instruction ……to understand the mystery of BBE.
    What GP likes to mock as Ask, Seek and Knock….. 🙂

“Let the little children come to me, for of such shall be the kingdom of BBE.” (….or something so….)

Suffice it to say that all that you know, and all that has happened…. have been the consequence of a brilliantly designed and executed master plan WITH A SPECIAL AND UNPRECEDENTED END IN MIND.
    …..and everything has gone EXACTLY as planned so far.
    Don’t sweat the small stuff…..
    While you are thinking about micro outcomes, the plan is achieving macro results of galactic proportions…..

45. @ MoneyB
    Ebola should have been stopped in its tracks9-10 months ago when the first cases appeared but the WHO is chock full of Nuts/ bunch of useless BUREAUCRATS!
    ++++++++++
    Looks like the Barbados government has been drinking the same water as you- know- WHO……
    …or is it the other way…?

46. @ Bushie
    What a wonderful head fake! LOL