Submitted by Anthony Davis
Dr. Carlos Chase, President of BAMP

With the financial viability of the health care system under threat,  the head of the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) HAS OFFERED Government a rescue plan. President Dr. Carlos Chase today proposed the establishment of a Health and Education Security (HES) Fund that he said could put an estimated $120 million into Government’s coffers annually. Under that plan, $100 would come from the approximate 100,000 workers in Barbados and paid into the HES Fund which he said be managed by the National Insurance Scheme” – Barbados Today

Pray tell me, Dr. Chase, how many more taxes should be put on the backs of the people of this country? $100 annually may not be nothing but a drop in the ocean for you and some others in our society, but we still have people in our country who are being paid $5/hour – with a loaf of bread costing $5.00. How are such people to pay an additional tax no matter how small?

Paying the money into the NIS would be like putting a child in a candy store and telling him/her to take what he/she wants for the Minister of Finance as he would have more money which he could dispose of as he pleases – especially to pour into the bottomless pit called “Four Seasons” which is always about to start, and has not been resurrected up to now. Putting it into the NIS Fund would be the worst move. It should not be placed anywhere where Government can get its hands on it.

In the editorial of the same issue on page 2, the writer states: “Maybe the greatest contribution all of us could make is leading and living a more healthy lifestyle ourselves. It is no secret that much of our health care dollars is spent on patients with chronic conditions, which might have been prevented – these ailments that need not have sprouted into crises and unnecessary costs to the hospital itself. It certainly is neither rational nor considerate to eat and drink whatsoever, without thought of benefit or not to body, but with the satisfaction the QEH is there to put whatever is wrong right – free of cost.

“Leading and living a more healthy lifestyle” is all well and good, but what about the environmental pollution – especially air and noise?

Do we want to walk around wearing masks like people in some cities already do, or should we all stop breathing?

Do we want to scare away those tourists who leave their polluted cities and come here for a bit of peace and quiet by allowing people to drive/ride around with vehicles from which too many decibels emanate?

What’s the use of using millions of tax payers’ dollars in jetting around the globe and expounding lofty theories if you do not put what you said into practice by putting the relevant laws on the Constitution of this country?

These laws must have teeth and everyone must adhere to them!

Carl Moore has been crying out for anti-noise pollution laws for eons, and up to now – as with the anti-air pollution ones – we have only been fobbed off with promise after promise. Where are the anti-air pollution laws which are supposed to deal with the indiscriminate burning of stuff? The promise of such a law has remained nothing more than a promise!

The problem with burning stuff is that it does not only affect the immediate neighbours, but people who may be driving/riding/walking through the area at the time, and as we know, there are many people who already have problems with their airways, and suffer from asthma. It is callous for people to burn stuff because they do not know whom it will affect!

I can eat as much health food as I like – if I can afford it, as the price of health food is bordering on that of gold and silver – but if I do not have clean air and noise at the lowest level possible, I am still up the creek without a paddle!

In Wikipedia under the topic air pollution it states: “Indoor air pollution and urban air quality are listed as two of the world’s worst toxic pollution problems in the 2008 ‘Blacksmith Institute’ World’s Worst Polluted Places report. According to the 2014 WHO report, air pollution in 2012 caused the deaths of around 7 million people worldwide.

Diesel exhaust is listed as a possible carcinogen for humans as stated under “diesel exhaust” in Wikipedia also.

The particulates which the exhaust contains can be compared with coal dust which coal miners inhale, and give them problems with their airways, so we need to clean up the exhaust of such vehicles instead of allowing them to spew thick, black clouds wherever they go, and thereby increase the number of people who would suffer from CNDs. A healthy lifestyle and healthy living are not the panaceas for getting rid of CNDs. If you do not clean up the environment you will continue to have the same problem.

It is time to stop talking the talk, and start walking the walk on environmental issues – especially air pollution as nobody can survive without breathing, and if the air is not clean it would lead to complications!

46 responses to “BAMP Proposes Health Tax”

1. David

What’s your argument? You already know that the engine of government is financed off the backs of the masses. Here in my state we pay:

(1) Property Taxes
    (2) Clothing Taxes
    (3) Gas Taxes
    (4) Cigarrett Taxes
    (5) Car Taxes
    (6) Corporate Taxes
    (7) Grocery Taxes
    (8) Social Security Taxes
    (9) medicare Taxes
    (10) Federal Taxes on annual gross income
    (11) State taxes on annual gross
    income
    (12) Municipal taxes for operate one’s car etc .

So David, ya’ll have it good in Barbados and still complaining?

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Dompey | September 28, 2014 at 8:16 PM |@
    We know what you are saying , but Bajans are not America, Things were running well until the Massive land Fraud that took us off the system we have in Barbados, With out a True tax base all things will have to be taxes to help cover the short falls
    Most poster and media groups REFUSE to admit the for all the down fall of Barbados , Its the Massive fraud dealing with the land ,Lawyers and History books,
    You all allow the limited NEWS and reports to block you all ,
    We still await some one to show us how we lie to the Public,.
    Its like the whites in America say there is no such thing as racist, and to say all equal under all laws,
    Yet the writers of the blogs for their own personal reasons will not look at the land base taxes that show Bajan Pay little or no taxes on land compare to the rest of the World,
    So until they come and deal with the owners of the land , None can take no one to court for taxes of any kind,
    The ministers and lawyer and other pimp title holders done fill there land greed belly and now working on their Bank accounts like Minister MOF Stinckler,
    Donpey please study when maybe 60 to 90% of bajan pay to taxes on house and lands,
    The few that can get a false deed made thinking they getting some thing for nothing drag them on the tax rolls to suffer each time these crook want money for new Rolls Royce , Check the Math, it dont lie,

3. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Dr. Carlos Chase, President of BAMP@

This man
    Is a Sucker and a fool, he is also part of the problem ,Ask where he lives and look at his taxes he is to pay , then look to see what he did not pay,

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“Pray tell me, Dr. Chase, how many more taxes should be put on the backs of the people of this country? $100 annually may not be nothing but a drop in the ocean for you and some others in our society, but we still have people in our country who are being paid $5/hour – with a loaf of bread costing $5.00. How are such people to pay an additional tax no matter how small?”

The goodly doctor is in the right hospital but in the wrong ward.
    Taxing people through the payroll system is not the way to go to raise additional revenue for financing the public health service that is overburdened as a result of NCDs or other life-style related diseases.
    It’s an easy target and, like the solid waste tax, an easy copout. Why must Peter always pay for Paul? Why not tax the products and activities that lead to or contribute significantly to the spread of these diseases?

The same way alcohol, cigarettes and gambling are penalized why not tax the products and services that lead to bad eating habits and pollute the air and water?

5. I am told that Dr. Chase is a gynaecologist, maybe just maybe, he has been peering into too many of those things.

6. Plus he has some hair above his lip, so we can excuse him if he talks like one of his subjects.

7. @Caswell Franklyn September 28, 2014 at 9:24 PM
    I am told that Dr. Chase is a gynaecologist, maybe just maybe, he has been peering into too many of those things.
    @Boy Blue September 28, 2014 at 9:58 PM
    Plus he has some hair above his lip, so we can excuse him if he talks like one of his subjects.

De 2 o’ wunna got something against pokeys?

Weren’t you both born from one, and don’t you get your greatest pleasure in life from one?

8. $100 would come from the approximate 100,000 workers in Barbados

$100 per year is 27 1/2 cents per day.

We have to be able to afford it.

And for those few individuals, families, very seriously ill people who cannot afford to pay the rest of us have to pay because we are already in practice paying anyhow.

But a discrete, well managed fund should enable the Ministry of Health/QEH and other health care facilities and providers to plan better.

And I get sick and tired every time I hear some official say that we Bajans like too much freeness, don’t those fellas (and it is always a fella) that we pay for all the freeness with our tax money…and to besides some of us are lucky to be born with very good health, and have taken care of our selves and so we have never used the QEH because we have never been sick.

So yes we the lucky healthy ones have to pay for the very sick ones.

Because if someone needs dialysis there is no way that they can pay for 15 or 20 years of treatment out of their own pockets.

That’s life.

9. TAXATION IS THEFT, THEFT IS EVIL, TAXATION IS EVIL.

A certain future coalitional regime of Barbados and of which the PDC will be part shall ABOLISH ALL TAXATION in this country, shall help free all the relevant people in this country from the evil bondage of TAXATION and shall simultaneously therefore lead the way in the creation of a very necessary post-TAXATION society for Barbados.

10. BY GERALYN EDWARD | MON, SEPTEMBER 29, 2014 – 12:10 AM

Mia Mottley does not want to say “I told you so”, but the Opposition Leader lamented it was now very clear to Barbadians that the country had gone from bad to worse under Fruendel Stuart.

In a 90-minute presentation to a meeting of the St Philip South branch of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) at Rices Pavilion last night, Mottley said it was now left to individual citizens and institutions to raise their voices against the deteriorating economic and social circumstances in the country.

Mottley argued that while people were promised a “pathway to prosperity” during the last general election campaign, they were now being led down a “pathway to poverty”.

Condemning the last few months as the “summer of discontent” in Barbados, Mottley said she and her party colleagues had spoken methodically over the past six years about the troubles facing the country at every level.

“Government continues to prescribe the wrong medicine over and over,” she told party faithful, adding that “too many people are suffering and too many businesses are shutting down” while Stuart and his Cabinet ministers remained silent.

Please read the full story in today’s DAILY NATION, or in the eNATION edition.

11. If the GOB were to follow all these brainiacs 100% of all wages and salaries would end up in the treasury. They are in essence calling for a reconstituted slave society. This is the problem we have with Black people in Barbados. Bizzy just got his environmental level, COW the water payments, we have VAT of around 20%. Income tax and other levies are still payable. The hoteliers always begging. Jesus Christ man, is this to be the new limit for the ruling classes, always depending on taxpayers to support their agendas? Somebody important should be shot publicly to instil a message to the rest.

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The goodly Dr. Chase is tossing up a self serving interest. Life must be a bitch when the sycophants lifestyle are threatened by a return to possible larder days.

13. @Pacha

Or conversely trying to remove the grip of entitlement on the treasury by a post Independence Barbados.

14. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar

Postage Paid | September 29, 2014 at 6:51 AM | @
    All of this started under MIA , So dont get on the wagon so fast , If you want to help Barbados you have to learn and know the truth of this Land Fraud Matter, Her supporters have GAIN under this Violet Beckles land grab fraud ,
    Mia need to be in Jail for crimes against the state and its people,
    She will fight to remain in Office till her rotten ass is dead,
    Jail and Hell is her next Stop
    Brittons HiLL Cave in is the Blood of MIA ,
    Tell the truth, know the truth before you support a murderer ,Owen and Mia as AG and EX CJ Simmons are first hand crooks, liars and scumbags, As MIa for the deed, and permission from the owner to build, She is not and never will be the owner of the land no where in Barbados, As her of Beatrice Henry or Violet Beckles and all the Ralph Thorne ,Blackman, and the over 63 lawyers who is and was a part of the Massive land fraud of Barbados,, The Minister so deep in this that they now have DNA mix with these crimes,
    Mia Know who I am and can do shit for PLANTATION DEEDS never lie to gain , If you dont want truth STOP going to church ,

15. Private sector employees pay the rate of 10.10% of their earnings in NIS contributions, which, when broken down, includes percentage payments towards injury and unemployment benefits, training and health levies.
    Appointed public sector employees pay less NIS contributions because they do not contribute to unemployment and sickness benefits.

Hence, in view of BAMP’s proposal for the implementation of a health tax, are the doctors suggesting we pay a health tax in addition to the health levy which is included in the NIS contributions?

16. @Artax

If current revenue is inadequate then the answer is yes.

17. David | September 29, 2014 at 9:03 AM |

“@Artax: If current revenue is inadequate then the answer is yes.”

Ok, point taken. Then we have to ascertain if the revenue earned from the NIS health levy is being if it is currently being managed efficiently and allocated to its intended purpose, or if it is being allocated to finance government’s expenditure.

It is mandatory that NIS be deducted from salaries and wages; therefore, we have a right to know how much revenue has been collected how these funds were disbursed, especially since depletion of the fund will affect our being able to receive pensions. We should not have to wait until situations like these arise to be asking for this information.

Of course, it is easy to say let’s implement another tax. However, in my opinion, before we explore the idea of implementing additional taxes, the government could look at the revenue from the levy and hospital, to determine if enough revenue is being collected and earned, respectively, to meet current expenditure, or if additional funds have to be sought.

Additionally, an internal audit of hospital’s operational and financial activities should be undertaken in an effort to improve hospital operations, risk management; ensure regulatory compliance with established policies, procedures, applicable regulations and laws; organisational objectives are achieved; evaluate and improve the effectiveness of the financial management.

18. You are paying health insurance already, how much more can people take. Every time an institution has a problem with money, the out is to place a tax on people, come on people wake up and smell the coffee. No wage increase for the last decade, doctor fees were increased on the 1st July 2014, medicine gone up, everything gone up and ya salary cut back by 100%.

19. @ Artaxerxes | September 29, 2014 at 10:09 AM |
    Of course, it is easy to say let’s implement another tax. However, in my opinion, before we explore the idea of implementing additional taxes, the government could look at the revenue from the levy and hospital, to determine if enough revenue is being collected and earned, respectively, to meet current expenditure, or if additional funds have to be sought……………………………

I would suggest to this inept incompetent government that they scrap the solid waste tax. Ensure that the health levy deductions go to the QEH monthly after it is collected.

Right now no one knows what is going on in the NIS. In a few years time, I intend to apply for an early pension as no one knows when the fund will run dry and I want what I have contributed that is my due. Another tax that needs to be scrapped is this consolidated tax……… were we not told that this tax was to be for 18 months? Damn liars, these dems are!

20. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Prodigal Son

Don’t forget that the major problem that needs to be dealt with is the thieving amongst politicians and their political lack lickers. Since they have amass millions in free deals and draw backs and have boldly invest their monies in real estate ventures, car dealerships and overseas off shore sectors, that there should be a personal tax leveled at all of them called: “The illegitimate means tax”. The tax will be base on non declaration of assets, gifts acquired etc. That would ensure that though they are getting money from their deals and drawbacks that the state will get back a high percentage of their wealth back in the treasury.

21. @SSS
    Has any one of these inept incompetent lying Dems sign on to the integrity legislation in which they were supposed to declare their assets? Does anyone know if the legislation was ever proclaimed?

Another DLP LIE…………………integrity legislation in 100 days!!!!!!!!! What liars!

22. Mia mottley ! steupse. when last mia mottley say anything about the economy that make sense..sound bites and political cheer leading does not cut it..nobody listening to that .

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | September 29, 2014 at 10:39 AM |
    “Right now no one knows what is going on in the NIS. In a few years time, I intend to apply for an early pension as no one knows when the fund will run dry and I want what I have contributed that is my due.”

There could be sufficient grounds for your fears.
    Do you know if the financials promised by the Chair since 2012 have been published?

As it stands Bajans ought to be very concern about the viability of the NIS funds.
    Both Marshall and Robinson are from business/management backgrounds (even if one is from industry and the other from academia) and should be ashamed of themselves.
    How can decisions be effectively made in the absence of timely and reliable information.

24. ac

……..but Mia ain’t the Prime Minister or a member of his Cabinet. She don’t have an obligation to make economic recommendations to the Stuart administration, even if she would they listen??
    How many times and how many failed plans is sinckler and worell attempt?

25. Senator Irene Sandford-Garner addressed this matter on under Colin Daniel’s page a couple weeks ago.

26. but with them “childish”sound bites like “i told u so” the possibity of her becoming PM is not only questionable but satarical .” told u so” really and what the hell does that mean.

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@all of Wunna

Look Mia Motley ain’t my favourite person and will never be. In fact none of the sons of bitches in the BLP camp are in my favour. But looking at what this administration has done; where they have placed Barbados and the outward and open show of arrogance in their silence and DECISION, not to listen to anyone….GIVE ME MIA MOTLEY AND THE BLP ANYTIME. i prefer to put these crooks and arrogant devils back into power before I continue with this current lot of cunts who has caused tremendous pain to Barbadians. At least with the thieving BLP crooks and vagabonds, Barbados was not this bad off. Recession or no recession the BLP did what was necessary to pull Barbados out of a previous economic slump. It seems that this administration seems intent on keeping us in this one.

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Prodigal Son

I never expected to see ITAL implemented under none of these administrations. That was a nice political tool use by schemers to achieve a desired outcome. The Bees did it and anyone expecting the Dems not too must be “head-buried-in-sand” Ostriches. Politics is about lies and keeping secrets; mustering business allies to secure lucrative deals. Implementing a legislation that could place a damper on money laundering is wishful thinking by those who was expecting it to pass.

29. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar

Check and see how Much Public was taken from the time David T, The PM died , Watch and see the Magic of the MOF greed and Fraud,

Money seem to just up and walk away from the Volt .
    Before they even get going 1 Million walked ,Who went to jail or even arrested , or even charged,
    Ali Ba Ba and the 40 Crook, liar and Scumbag Barbados Ministers of the DLP and BLP , j

30. Politics is about greasing one another palms. How long will it take us to realize this obvious truth? So therefore, when we vote for those persons who occupies our highest offices in Bridgetown, we must do so with the expectation of anticipating the best but always be willing to accept the worse . And when we bear this principle in mind there will be no future disappointment.

31. well folks welcome to the real world…everyone in this together

Hospitals ask patients to pay upfront
    Get ready to whip out your credit card before you are wheeled into the operating room or undergo an MRI.
    Hospitals are increasingly asking patients to pay for procedures either upfront or before they are discharged. That’s because Americans are shouldering a greater portion of their health care bills, and medical centers don’t want to get stuck with patients that can’t pay.
    Starting the cost conversation early is especially important now because patients are facing higher deductibles and larger payments for services. Some are surprised to find out that they have to fork over thousands of dollars before their insurance even kicks in, hospital administrators said.

http://money.cnn.com/2014/09/29/news/economy/hospitals-deductibles-payments-patients/index.html?iid=HP_LN

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | September 29, 2014 at 6:43 PM |
    “well folks welcome to the real world…everyone in this together”

So ac what has become of your unshakeable anti-privatization position?
    Have you switched choirs? You know the miller, like Jesus, will welcome you with open arms to the ‘Privatization Choir’ if only to weaken the stranglehold politicians have over the likes of you.

BTW, any news on the proposal to sell off the BNTCL?
    Are you still against it as you were prior to February 2013?

33. As promised here is what Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner stated elsewhere:

This Government has been working around the clock to bring the financials of many of our corporations/companies/ up do date Allan Corbin. This is not a situation which occurred post 2008. I and my colleagues are dealing with unaudited accounts previous to our tenure and it is frustrating. The Government of the day has been fired and it’s our job to get behind the jobs.Of what use is a list??? You plan to do the audits?

The audits can only be done with the cooperation of the staff. The process has to be managed and it was not. Thus you have defaulting. Check the management and staff profiles of the compliant entities. You spoke of NIS. There are others. And they all have common characteristics.

First, there are numerous ill-equipped managers in place. Then you have staff in accounts departments who were paid and promoted above their competency level. Then you had board members who were appointed by politicians, not based on skills sets, but on what they did for a campaign. So, auditors are in the place, as required by law, and they cannot make head nor tail of certain things, and you have accounts staff who cannot give them what they want. Sometimes because they are dunces. Sometimes because managers ordered them not to. The manager is answerable to a board and minister, but if they are ministers friends what do you think you get?

So now a set of new brooms come in to sweep clean. Cannot touch a fella because "audits going on…" New boards with competent Barbadians begin to get frustrated. Some leave it out. After all, a board pick is alwright if they aint much work. It sounds real good to larm off to your friends you on so and so board.

But when you see that same board has the potential to destroy your Now, as a senior Government person (Parl Sec or Minister) you can get together with the Permanent Secretary (who will tell you he or she would have been fighting for years with the entity but "Minister" was resistant to change for obvious reasons). You can join forces with PS to help run things. Staff hollers micro management. Managers holler victimisation.professional reputation, you will run.

The composition of the Boards is peripheral and please do not lay emphasis where I did not. Be very accurate when you interpret what I say or I shall say nothing more. I outlined the genesis of our national challenge way back Colin. "The power is in your hands to act…" is quite the rallying cry. But unless you wish to have total chaos descend on the public sector with a clean sweep of every single organisation, from top to accounts, you will have to wait. Wait, just as we who actually do the work have been forced to. Responsible management means we have to be practical, methodological and intelligent in our response, as frustrating as it may be. Because we want the work completed. The crap did not evolve overnight, and it certainly will not be cleaned up in six.

34. @ David
    Here is a summary of comments by Bushie’s new girl – Irene…..
    ++++++++++++++++
    “We came and found the whole system fc?$&d up, and unfortunately, we don’t have the balls, guts or competence needed to deal with such a big mess….
    …so what the @$$ wunna want me to do?” Wunna feel we is bushmen or wuh?
    ++++++++++++++++++

35. Bushie I hope you read that info I posted on how to take care of muffins the tabby. I hope you read it well and let Irene know that you practicing them often pon she.

Will this proposed health tax improve the service at the QEH? I think not because we cannot implement anything new or worthwhile. Why? Because anything that is good and just and straightforward is too difficult for these educated jackasses who run these organizations.

Take some of the solid waste tax and put towards this new health tax.

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Irene Sandiford Garner said all of that? I have great difficulty interpreting this first time truth by a politician. What does all this mean David? Is the goodly Senator saying what I think she is saying – that the entire political diatribe and there selfish thinking has placed incompetency,i,e, triangles in oblong holes, in key positions to funk up the place. Now if all this is true, it means that the so called government rules, its General orders and the Public Service Act is just for now and then or it strings pulled when the puppet masters want to flex some power. David where you thing Irene gine wid this?

37. @SSS

To be fair to the Senator the posting encaps several posted to Colin Daniel’s FB page but the gist is obvious. We found a mess and it will take time. How much time who knows. We have a government which is a continuum right?

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sunshine Sunny Shine | September 30, 2014 at 8:08 AM
    “David where you thing Irene gine wid this?”

What do you expect to find in a garbage can of stupidity and incompetence?
    She is absolutely no better than the idiots and square-pegs-in-round-holes she is so wont to criticize and blame for the present administration’s inability to deal with the problems its promised to solve. Now you know the problems are not with the political class but lie squarely at the feet of faceless bureaucrats. What a shameful confession!

But what can you expect from an idiot who is adamant three times over that an increase of $320 Mill over $490 Mill represents a 6.7% increase. What does such a calculation tell you about that intellectually sub-normal person? Shouldn’t that person be sent to the Dodds Academy for remedial training in basic commonsense?

39. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@millertheanunnaki

I do not know much about Garner Sandiford. But what I know is that whatever nasty business that was left behind by the last administration should not be an excuse for the current nonsense this administration has sought to do. Blaming is not the fix. The economy is in bad shape because of poor management and whole lot of thieving. So if there are Triangles and in Oblong holes than tweek the legislation, as is the custom of all governments when they want their man in place, to deal with the matter of incompetency. I mean after all there are more than one way to kill a rat.

40. Miller

Christ man you aint pulling an punches with Hurricane Irene.

41. David | September 29, 2014 at 11:45 PM |

“As promised here is what Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner stated elsewhere…”

I read the statement, and ironically it’s déjà vu for me. Let us make a comparative analysis of Sandiford-Garner’s statement to determine if they are any corresponding characteristics.

1) “First, there are numerous ill-equipped managers in place. Then you have staff in accounts departments who were paid and promoted above their competency level.”

Sandra Forde, who was appointed General Manager of the Transport Board on April 1st, 2010, comes to mind as one of those ill-equipped managers. Is the Financial Controller at the TB qualified?

2) “Then you had board members who were appointed by politicians, not based on skills sets, but on what they did for a campaign.”

ALL board members are appointed by politicians. Can she tell us what skills set Leroy Parris, Pedro Sanford, Guy Hewitt and Marilyn Rice-Bowen possess to merit them being appointed chairman/woman of CBC, Transport Board, QEH and NHC respectively, other than being associated with a campaign? What special skills does David Durant have to qualify him a member of National Assistance Board?

ALL in coming governments complain about the difficulties they received from those individuals who are loyal to the outgoing party. Hence, such activities are not unique to the DLP. I’m sure the BLP had these experiences after the 1994 elections.

42. “First, there are numerous ill-equipped managers in place. Then you have staff in accounts departments who were paid and promoted above their competency level. Then you had board members who were appointed by politicians, not based on skills sets, but on what they did for a campaign”.
    ………………………………….

You can write on the senator’s page that this description fits her to a perfect T. Sounds just like all of the current dems we are saddled with as a government….come to think of it!

43. We boast of the high number of educated Barbadians this country has produced yet we continue to fall for the “Free” prefix placed before health, transportation, education etc. People, not one damned thing is Barbados is FREE. We pay through our noses so that Government could provide “Free” this and “Free” that. “Free” my eye! Every time a new tax is introduced we are told that it is necessary because Government is providing some benefit to the general population and now low and behold, every day something else is being charged for directly and another tax is added. I fear for the day that the other side of the “Docile Barbadian” rises up against the many wrongs that is being inflicted on us. Once that horse bolts from the stable it will never return.

44. @Artaxerxes | September 30, 2014 at 12:40 PM |

“ALL in coming governments complain about the difficulties they received from those individuals who are loyal to the outgoing party. Hence, such activities are not unique to the DLP. I’m sure the BLP had these experiences after the 1994 elections”…………………………

Barbados was is a REAL REAL mess when the BLP took over in 1994. They got to work and got on with the task at hand.

The other difference was then that the BLP was made up of competent ADULTS not like the inept incompetent children we have now as a government. They are forever complaining……”we found a mess”….well tell us what mess you found……..six years is ample time to turn anything around if you have the skills and knowledge. But alas, this DLP cupboard is bare and scraping rock bottom.

The electorate will throw their tails out soon and they will still be blaming the BLP.

45. Any political party that promises and implements a change in legislation denying these incompetents of their undeserved pension should get the vote of the electorate.