Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (l) Owen Arthur MP (r)

The public statement by Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler that he is willing to endorse former Prime Minister Owen Arthur serving on an advisory committee of government has come as a surprise to BU. His statement comes a couple days after Prime Minister Freundel Stuart made a similar statement. It is clear there is some public relations being done to smoothed or welcome Arthur’s entry into the DLP’s universe, a naked grab for a man who is widely regarded as one of the best economists in the region. The vast experience Arthur has accumulated leading Barbados for 14 years has positioned him as a priceless resource for an under resourced DLP Cabinet struggling to manage a contracting economy.

Until recently Arthur was the focal point of relentless attacks from the government that bordered on tactless and tasteless in the Lower House. Arthur may have contributed to the venomous attacks by his repeated references to a porakey parliament.  BU believes the angst the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) side holds (held) for Arthur is derived from him having been the face of a successful Barbados Labour Party (BLP) for close to fifteen years. His extended tenure gave the DLP a long time in the wilderness to all but self-destruct. If Arthur had not allowed the Mascoll factor to muddy the issue for the electorate in 2007  many believe Arthur would have served another term. He was mercilessly lampooned in all areas of the media which a generous general election budget supported. An attack on Arthur that resonated with the public effectively decapitated the the BLP figurehead and shorten his coat tail.  The DLP flawlessly executed the strategy to demonize Arthur in the last general election and Stuart was the beneficiary. Unfortunately the economic challenge that faced Barbados was a secondary message.

The courting of Arthur by the government is another example of how politicians play a susceptible public for fools. If it were a script for a play the title would be The Puppeteer and the Puppets. The key learning of the Arthur DLP scenario playing out is that politicians will do whatever it takes to win an election and to hell with the economy or anything else. It must be evident to even the political yardfowl that the Barbados economy was in urgent need of an incisive intervention by government leading up to the last general election but as the IMF Article IV report confirmed – that agency was asked to delay its review until after the election. There is the irrefutable evidence that the winning of an election was given priority over a contracting economy.

If the government were to successfully court Arthur, it effectively delivers a stinging slap to the face of Governor Delisle Worrell. Arthur has been the Governor’s harshest critic using an acerbic tongue for which he is renown. Then to observe Stuart, Sinckler, Inniss, Kellman et al  in close quarters confabulating with Arthur will lend itself for comedic relief. Even on BU the harshest of Arthur critics have recanted to give lucid meaning to political expediency or yardfowlism.

Although BU agrees the time is ripe for a credible alternative political force, it is difficult to anticipate it  will make a difference. The political class of Barbados is comprised mainly of those looking to benefit from self aggrandisement. The idea of representing the people – the job description of a member of parliament – appears to be an unknown accountability by the modern-day politician. Unless others from a different moral timber are willing to offer themselves to the public, it makes no difference if a third or fourth credible political party are formed. It is for this reason that BU dismisses the speculation  about Arthur and a third party. If one is able to judge from the gloating by DLP surrogates on social media, Arthur’s resignation from the BLP has given confidence to the DLP that its narrow 2-seat margin in the Lower House is more secure. Is this Arthur’s objective?

181 responses to “The Arthur Objective”

1. David
    Avoiding the pitfalls is one thing that does not means that the other measures/medicines will not cause the Barbadian public to convulse similar to Greece and others.
    This all started in 2009 with increased taxes and followed by the 2010 David Thompson hiatus. When it is all said and done we would be fortunate not to have a lost decade.

2. what is there to figure out…….OSA .says he wants to be LEFT ALONE……HE WANTS TO BE ON HIS OWN,,,,,,,,what is there to be figured out…….the blp yardfowls best bet would be to encourage their leader to to be guided by the politics of principal and a full fledged commitment to country ,, not relying solely on being a champion of political propaganda and piece meal dipolmacy of doom and gloom..

3. @Roger Smart

Austerity by definition means hardship. It will analogous to landing a burning plane safely. Arthur’s record to date of honouring his word explains why many are dubious he wants to be left alone. Time will tell, and soon.

4. @ David
    Bullshit, Mia can’t shut down social media. Even in China people find underground ways to get their voices heard.
    Wrong David….this is Barbados we talking ’bout….
    Brass bowls don’t predominate in China….
    Even Ossie Moore’s second cousin could shut down the blogs in Barbados if he (or Mia) had the political clout.

Bajans even frighten to talk with sleepy Froon at the helm…just cuz We-Jonesing talk some shiite bout cracking heads…(he meant Randy 🙂 ) ….what do you think they would do bout someone who could get away with burning down Glendairy and building Dodds with VECO’s help….?

5. @Hamilton

Check out Mascoll’s FB page, he has categorically stated his support for Colin Jordan.

6. Life changer + Avatar
    Life changer +

Bajans -Politics has lagged our social and business evolution … There are 20 brands of Potato chips in our local grocery store. How is it that Bajans have so much selection for potato chips and only two brands — and not very good ones — for political parties?

7. @ millertheanunnaki | July 30, 2014 at 9:01 AM |

So your friend Stinkliar (for the third year running) is announcing ad nauseam his plan to restructure and rationalize the numerous statutory corporations and agencies with a view of privatization some of them?
    But not CBC. Don’t make us laugh!
    This is just another red herring to take attention away from the pending IMF programme and his failure to obtain financing for the projects that should have started since January………………………………………

Since this inept incompetent bunch became the government,they have not been able to manage the economy, they have blamed OSA perpetually and the recession. They have been claiming that OSA did not restructure the economy, they have been in charge for nearly seven years and still is talking about restructuring the economy. What jokers!

So are they going to take OSA’s advice on restructuring the economy about which the black widow from St John cussed him?

What is Estwick going to say if these idiots take OSA’s advice and not his?

Is OSA going to work with Worrell and his arch enemy Boyce?

What would the physical deficit man have to say?

The more I think on this, the more I believe that OSA will not join up with dems. I will be shocked if he does but there again, with his erratic behavior, we can expect anything!

8. OSA agenda may be broken into two components: the public and the subtle.
    To come over as statesmanlike and to hinder MIA political ambitions. The strategies will unfold over the next three months

9. @ Crusoe et al
    We Barbadians need a lot more of our politicians today. The following questions are being suppressed but I shall put them up for response by all those who wish to lead this fair land:
    What are your views on same sex marriages?
    Will you seek to repeal law criminalizing buggery?
    Will you put condoms in prison?
    Will you legalise marijuana?
    Have you ever used illegal narcotics?
    What are your views on Christianity?
    Do you believe in God?
    Are you a homosexual?
    Do you think that denying same sex marriages constitutes discrimination?
    Regardless of what is put forward by persons with desire to lead and their cohorts we have to make it clear that from henceforth character will become an indelible issue. We must know who you are and what policies may likely ensue. It is done in other countries. Now is the time to clean up our politicians. There must be a benchmark for public acceptance.

10. Steve greenidge Avatar
    Steve greenidge

Some people continue to misunderstand our system of representational politics. However it plays out in the real world, the fact is the electorate do not vote for a party but for a representative. So to suggest that a person who remains and has stated his goal to represent his constituents , resign his seat because he resigned his party is misplaced. In addition to suggest that Mia “get rid” of people, suggest ignorance or the driving forces working at constituency level. Owen couldn’t get all the candidates he wanted and neither could Mia. And I suspect her first challenge would be how she deals with getting her choice for St. Peter. I suspect Colin Jordan is in an invidious position, being linked to Owen but still a member of blp seeking nomination.

11. There is not more OSA can say or do to Mia that would not harm him and his legacy.

Any further attacks on Mia will make the public turn against him as they will perceive his attacks to be vicious, spiteful and vindictive. Enough said. Once Mia does not respond, she will be seen as the better person.

12. Prodigal Son

Totally agree with you there chap.

13. Prodigal look up the meaning of the word Independent,,,,,You seem to be hell bent in dragging your saviour OSA into a continual fight with MIA,your comments so far have no interest of country,,but conveys the same ole school method of political cut throat and divide ..

14. ac

Don’t rejoice quite yet. There is a lot of bitter medicine soon to be given to the Barbadian public which they will have to swallow and its best that this not be wrapping up in partisan politics. There is no other way out for Barbados.

15. Life changer + Avatar

@ Roger Smart.
    Please note when bloging -Political scientists typically distinguish between two types of political polarization: elite polarization and popular polarization. “Elite polarization” refers to the polarization of political elites, like party organizers and elected officials, while “popular polarization” (or mass polarization) refers to polarization in the electorate and general public. In either context, opinions and policy positions are characterized by strict adherence to party lines. Elite polarization and popular polarization can occur at the same time or independently of each other. A central issue in the study of political polarization is investigating the relationship between elite polarization and popular polarization, particularly any causal relationships between the two….

16. Roger Smart | July 30, 2014 at 8:53 AM |
    “To my simple mind Owen’s action last Friday was just a rash response the Mia’s success the day before. How do you remain relevant when you are fast becoming irrelevant? Throw caution to the wind and put down a ‘big foot move’……”

Perhaps your observation may be true, and we could continue to be speculative of Arthur’s intensions. If we are analytical of his actions leading to his resignation from the BLP, a few pertinent assumptions can be made.

Firstly, Arthur obviously had the support of some members of the BLP’s parliamentary team, hence the reason for his rogue behaviour. His henchmen joining the Mottley led march may have caught him by surprise.

Secondly, A man acting irrationally out of anger or frustration would have presented his resignation in similar manner. Arthur’s resignation was not an irrational act, but a carefully planned and cleverly executed maneuver. This is indicative by the fact he informed the press, who were on hand to witness him deliver his resignation and immediately interview him afterwards, via live broadcast.

Thirdly, a live broadcast was of significant importance to him, but we can only speculate why it was. Perhaps he wanted his henchmen to know he had resigned so they could rally around him and resign as well… and to draw on the sympathy of his perceived non-supporters, who would beg him to return for two reasons (a) he is responsible for many of them being included in the BLP [through the “politics of inclusion”], so they would have some loyalty (b) these loyalist would not want to see Arthur in the DLP camp, especially since many of them cannot return there.

This would put Arthur in a position to dictate the terms under which he will return to the party. With the majority in his favour, he would see himself as being a sovereign who, “through coronation”, would be inaugurated as the opposition leader once more.

17. Life changer

Thanks but I have do not have any uses for theoretical bullshit. Its this theoretical political bullshit that has us in the trouble we are in in the first place.

18. Prodigal Son

Any further attacks on Mia will make the public turn against Arthur, is pure bullshit. Now, are you talking about the same public that is impartially divided between the BLP and DLP? The kind of argument you’re selling, I am afraid, the Barbadian public ain’t buying brother.

19. Artaxerxes

I cannot and will not fault the logic that underpins those assumptions. Assuming the motivations you assign to OSA are actually correct then does OSA not realise that it is always harder to fight from the outside?
    Will Mia draw her support from the people or from capital? In my view the people can make the impact of capital irrelevant but it cannot work the other way around.
    If OSA hopes for a coronation in the future then surely a part of that plan would be have capital withheld from her so long as she is LOTO, yes? If yes, then the question is do she have or is likely to have the people as her insurance?

20. Life changer + Avatar

@ Roger Smart.
    Good afternoon sir, and please have some table manners..
    If you ask the average Bajan to explain why they hold a given opinion, “They will come to realize the limitations of their own understanding, if you ask them gently and non-aggressively to walk you through their point of view, they’ll likely see the holes more according to their theory.
    Bajan liberals & conservatives view these concerns differently. For liberals, care/harm and fairness/cheating are the most important of the five, while conservatives are more into loyalty/betrayal, authority/subversion, and sanctity/degradation.
    So what side of the fence you bat from, plus a little rum and all is lost.
    Until their next meeting…..

21. Life changer + Avatar

@ Roger not so Smart.
    Emotions drive politics. So why all the concern about facts and fact-checking? Because, among the whirl of our feelings, there is a desire for our beliefs to be rational, to have support from the facts. We’re uneasy if we can’t make a plausible case that what we say is true. Notice that political campaigns do all they can to undermine the analyses of the fact-checkers who award them “Pinocchios.” At a minimum, citing the facts is one important rhetorical ploy. I recall hearing of a university administrator who allegedly admitted, “Sometimes telling the truth is the best way to get people to do what you want.”

But, strictly speaking, facts by themselves provide only the premises of a rational argument. To draw a conclusion, we also need a logical process of reasoning. Sometimes, the process is obvious and insisting on it a mere technicality: if the train is in fact bearing down on you, the conclusion is that you should get off the tracks. But in political debates, there’s often a questionable move from facts to a conclusion….
    Enjoy the rest of the day sir,

22. B or D, where will OSA land? It really isn’t important at this time. Wherever his final destination, it’s his image and legacy that will take a hit. Lesson? Never make a decision when your head is hot. Should he engineer an invitation to rejoin the B camp, then the old saying “Dog gone back to vomit” will be the call. Accepting an invitation to join the D camp will forever follow him throughout history and the Caribbean. Tell me, in what position would he enter into a relationship with FnC? Anything less than PM would be a giant step down and we know that can’t happen.

23. There is the hardcore party supporters and the independants. How many from the base will take umbrage at Arthur’s decision and the same for Mia. To discuss this matter in absolutes is silly. We have to let this matter play out. What we know is that political motivation is driving events.

24. If MAM and the faithful think that the jettisoning of OSA is going to make the road to ‘ILLara’ Court any less bumpy, they got another thing coming.

25. David I agree with your last post. Let the matter play out.

Owen Arthur can still contribute to Barbados.

He did not suddenly forget everything he learned when he resigned.

After all he is an “eminent person”.

26. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Pachamama | July 30, 2014 at 12:43 PM |
    If MAM and the faithful think that the jettisoning of OSA is going to make the road to ‘ILLara’ Court any less bumpy, they got another thing coming.

PATCHY YOU MEAN SHE WILL HAVE LIKKLE HELL LIKE HAMAS?
    YOU NEED TO MAKE A NEW POST WITH AN UPDATE MAN. LOL

27. Life Changer.+ Avatar

Fristly, enjoy the rest of your day.
    Political discourse in Barnados has reached levels of douchebaggery previously only theorized about but never observed, like conversational dark matter. We’re in a whole new world of hating people based solely on their opinions on a few key issues, and since this is unexplored territory, our conversations about politics are usually only a couple notches beyond the “hold your breath until the other person agrees with you and/or you die” technique.

But it’s the 21st century. We have access to the entirety of collective human knowledge in our back pockets at all times. We have taken pictures of the deepest corners of space. We have three different goddamn TV shows about bidding on abandoned storage units. We as a society should have moved beyond figuratively (and literally, probably, knowing assholes) shitting in our hands and throwing it at each other whenever someone brings up the political direction, and then while amusing yourselves with arrogance, the main culprits again get there salaried
    Position without question…

28. Ever wonder where all the foreign currency that comes into Barbados goes? Someone on BU with the wherewithal please add up the numbers and publish for the rest of us. Here goes:
    CIBCFCIB
    First Citizens
    Royal Bank
    Republic Bank
    Consolidated Finance
    CLICO
    McEnearneyQuality
    Massy
    Arawak Cement
    Sandals
    Sandy Lane Hotel
    Hilton Hotel
    Southern Palms Hotel
    Illuminat
    BrydenStokes
    KFC
    BurgerKing
    PriceSmart
    SaveULess (sorry, Cost U Less)
    United Insurance
    Guardian Life
    LIME
    Digicel
    DirectTV
    FLOW
    NationNew
    VOB
    (feel free to add to this list)
    Now to the best of my knowledge, ever one of the above will return the profits garnered in Barbados to the home country in US dollars. Is it any wonder that we can’t earn enough foreign currency to satisfy the avaricious financial appetite of this Government?
    And consider this; it is highly unlikely that local drug dealers pay their foreign suppliers in Barbados Dollars. Consider further that they cannot go to the banks to purchase foreign exchange in order to complete their transaction. Where is the money coming from and what is the size of the drain on our foreign reserves? Just sayin’.

29. FearPlay | July 30, 2014 at 1:03 PM

“And consider this; it is highly unlikely that local drug dealers pay their foreign suppliers in Barbados Dollars.”

That may be true, but the “underground economy” is not included in calculating GDP.

30. Life Changer.+ Avatar
    Life Changer.+

@ Fair Play.
    Well said sir,
    I have tried to indicate as much, but the more obvious question. With the Harliquin fiasco, attornerys are suing the Barbadian Government for £40 millions + costs. If they succeed, who will pay this and what budget will it come from..?
    Yes, that’s $120 + million bajan dollars, that will be paid by tax payers in some way….

31. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

LIFE CHANGER
    RE We’re in a whole new world of hating people based solely on their opinions on a few key issues, and since this is unexplored territory, our conversations about politics are usually only a couple notches beyond the “hold your breath until the other person agrees with you and/or you die” technique.

YOU GOT THE BU RUM SHOP MAIN PLAYERS DOWN TO A TEE!
    THEY CALL THAT CHALLENGING SIR
    WHEN THEY CANT DEFEAT YOU LOGICALLY OR WITH FACTS THEY USE AD HOMINEMS AND CALL IT CHALLENGING
    THATS WHAT WE DO ON BU. ah iie?
    BARE SPORT IN THE RUM SHOP LOL

32. @Lifechanger

Are you still upset because that petition you posted to harvest emails from BU was deleted? Will not fly on BU, we have been here for 8 years and counting. That BS will not fly.

33. Life changer + Avatar
    Life changer +

@ David.
    Been on for 8years, If there is one misconception in this space that bothers me the most, it’s this belief that blogging & content marketing doesn’t work unless it’s “meta”.

That is, people don’t believe blogs can be successful unless they are about blogging, marketing, or social media.

What they don’t understand is that it’s only the marketing blogs that publish things like “traffic reports”, “income reports”, case studies and the like.

Regular blogs in popular “normal” topics don’t do this, yet they are still out there killing it…

I try to remain civililized at the table….

34. @Life Changer

Have to admit your last comment is incoherent but we give way to your ‘superior’ knowledge.

35. Life Changer + Avatar
    Life Changer +

@ David.
    In simple terms, you can’t talk properly with your mouth full.
    In epistemology, the prefix meta- is used to mean about (its own category). For example, metadata are data about data (who has produced them, when, what format the data are in and so on). In database metadata are also data about data stored in a data dictionary and describes information (data) about database tables such as the table name, table owner, details about columns, – essentially describes the table. Also, metamemory in psychology means an individual’s knowledge about whether or not they would remember something if they concentrated on recalling it. The modern sense of “an X about X” has given rise to concepts like “meta-cognition” (i.e. cognition about cognition), “meta-emotion” (i.e. emotion about emotion), “meta-discussion” (i.e. discussion about discussion), “meta-joke” (i.e. joke about jokes), and “metaprogramming” (i.e. writing programs that manipulate programs).
    Is that more clear, on your stance as the blog master….

36. Why is it that dems want to hold on to power by any and all means even though they are destroying the country as they cling to power? Yet every time they open their mouths, they are always saying that OSA power hungry, Mia power hungry. Mia wants to go in Illaro Court.

Hello, aint you dems power hungry and are doing everything to hold on to the very things of which you accuse the BLP. So sick of you dems!

37. Prodigal
    Don’t forget the current crop of Dems first order of business is to collect their pensions at our expense and to hell with everybody else.We will have
    to revisit and rewrite these peculiar laws which encourage the type of political class now coming up from the morass of miasmic matter.

38. @Life Changer

How is meta relevant to BU, hosted blog?

39. Life changer + Avatar
    Life changer +

It is not wide to be a wise man amongst fools as it is to be a fool amongst wise men..
    Wise people say that as every other discipline requires reasoning, and maths is the king of reasoning, therefore maths is the most difficult and the best mathematicians are the most intelligent, but maybe not wise.
    I disagree. Social intelligence (not just emotional stuff, but understanding and predicting behaviour and society), linguistic intelligence etc. seem to me to be different aspects of intelligence. It seems to me that mathematical skills just happen to be the easiest to measure.
    Perhaps you could enlighten me as to who will have to pay back the HARLIQUIN funds then, being so wise.

40. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

David | July 30, 2014 at 2:24 PM |
    @Life Changer

How is meta relevant to BU, hosted blog?

u r not in this man;s pay grade sir
    you will have to call in he who nose evating bout evating for help— and he is at best a brimbler and seedpicker LOL LOL
    WATCH THE AD HOMINEMS NOW
    MURDAH
    BARE SPORT IN THE RUM SHOP MAN

41. Life changer + Avatar
    Life changer +

@ David.
    If your bloggers could see, with the vision that matters, the mere timing of you response blogs, indicate that I can articulate myself a little better that the norm.

Try answering a direct question…

42. @Life Changer

When you answer the question how is meta relevant to BU which is a hosted blog the conversation can move forward. You have demonstrated so far you mean the BU family harm by attempting harvest info.

43. charles skeete Avatar
    charles skeete

“especially since many of them cannot return there”

Are you sure of this Artaxeres? Did not Mr Hall, Mr Evelyn Greaves, Mr keith Simmons after contributing to the DLP’s sojourn on the opposition benches for 14 years return to the DLP and was there not a boardwalk named after Richie Haynes who statred the slide of the DLP’s misfortunes?

44. Life changer + Avatar
    Life changer +

@ David.
    Firstly, sorry I was so long responding, I was eating my lunch.
    This is information is on your sight; for the www. to see.
    Welcome to Barbados Underground blog or the abbreviated BU. We intend to focus on the news which does not usually make it through to the traditional Press because of the strange liable/slander laws which currently exist in Barbados. Given the recent assault on the Barbados media it behooves each and every Barbadian to “speak-out.” Many of the articles posted will be the opinions of my wife and me, which have been influenced by our experiences derived from observation of our society and the interaction with many people both past and current. We seek to stimulate discussion and at times, we expect that discussions may become robust but that is ok because Barbadians are not known for speaking out. We will be seeking to join others who have resorted to the Internet to join the fight to protect our democracy that we hold so dear.

Seeing as its a case of ” you show me yours and then i’ll show you mine.-/

Web definition about “meta” blogging ; blog about blogs to bog about blogging.

Now, could you at least give me the answer to the question- the Barbados government is being sued for $12 million dollars +, who is going to pay, or what budget is this coming from…..?

As you know the answer, I presume, then you should answer quickly, blog master.

45. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

@Life Changer

NOTE THAT ANYTIME YOU ARE SMARTER THAN THE BU HOUSEHOLD OR CHALLENGE THE BU HOUSEHOLD YOU WILL BE DEEMED TO ……………
    “demonstrated so far you mean the BU family harm by attempting harvest info ” LOL
    THIS IS DESPITE CHALLENGING IS WHAT WE DO HERE ON BU!

HILARIOUS
    BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE BU RUM SHOP.

46. charles skeete | July 30, 2014 at 2:46 PM |
    “Are you sure of this Artaxeres? Did not Mr Hall, Mr Evelyn Greaves, Mr keith Simmons after contributing to the DLP’s sojourn on the opposition benches for 14 years return to the DLP and was there not a boardwalk named after Richie Haynes who statred the slide of the DLP’s misfortunes?”

You are distorting the facts by including Hall, Greaves, and Simmons, because the scenarios are completely different. Although individuals you mentioned voted against the DLP according to their personal principles, they never joined the BLP.
    The individuals I was referring to were solicited by Arthur into joining the BLP through his “politics of inclusion”, a strategy which saw many young DEMS heading to Roebuck Street. Some of them even contested seats for the BLP, including Rudy Grant and Kerry Symmonds.

Naming a boardwalk after Richie Haynes is insignificant; Arthur gave Leroy Trotman, Erskine Sandiford and some others knighthoods and they were opposed to the BLP. It’s just a matter of recognizing individuals for outstanding contributions to their country.

47. I sense the pain of the BLP supporters on BU who pretended not to see the vicious infighting, fracture and continuing disunity in the BLP.
    Mottley has pursued a strategy of publicly being conciliatory to Arthur while privately maneuvering behind the scenes to destroy him and his allies in the party.
    Do not believe for a minute that Mottley and her crew were not aggressively working behind the scenes to ostracise Arthur.
    Do you think that she asked Rommell Marshall not to campaign in St. Joseph against Dale Marshall?
    Do you remember George Payne saying that she was trying to assist Irene in beating him?
    Who can forget her actions to defeat he coleader in 2008?

Arthur knows all that transpired. He was fed up with the deceit and a Mottley crew that was intent on destroying him after all he did for the BLP.

48. Bajanfuhlife | July 30, 2014 at 4:06 PM

“I sense the pain of the BLP supporters on BU who pretended not to see the vicious infighting, fracture and continuing disunity in the BLP.”

I think you people are really going overboard on this entire situation. What is presently occurring in the BLP is no different to what occurred in the DLP.

There was infighting between Thompson, Mascoll and other DLP members, which saw the party being in opposition for 14 years. It culminated into Thompson staging a coup to replace Mascoll as opposition leader. Mascoll being a former “opposition leader” decided to join the BLP. Thompson was able to go on to win the 2008 elections.

After losing the 2008 elections, Arthur decided to hand over the reins of leadership to Mottley, but used Thompson illness as an opportunity to stage a coup and replace Mottley as opposition leader. Arthur went on to lose the 2013 elections. Once again, he step down from leadership, which was given to Mottley, but Arthur continued the infighting. This went on until he, as a “former prime minister”, resigned from the BLP to become an independent.

The only differences here are “former opposition leader” and “former prime minister”.

49. Hants | July 30, 2014 at 12:50 PM | ..After all he is an “eminent person”.

These days any jackass can apparently quality as an eminent person.

After Stuart titled Sinckler, Kellam and Sealy thus.

Sinckler, who does not know if something is 7%, o.7%, 3% or 0.3%, or what or whether it should be in the first place.

Sealy who can grandstand about Government buying a property that not one, but THREE private captains of industry were after. Di the government issue a contract to the Chinese to rebuild that one, rather than any local construction firms?

Kellman, who repeatedly calls in to the Brass Tacks and talks rubbish, such as having another airport in St.Lucy. At least he calls in and speaks, unlike some who have no words, but slither behind the scenes….. but the rubbish…good gosh.

Idiocy. No wonder Buhbayduss operations in disrepair in every manner and means.

50. Fractured BLP Avatar

Relax your brain cells!

The Right Honouratble Owen Seymour Arthur was always a ‘ Barrow Dem’

Welcome home brother, Owen.

But David were you not the one who was promoting bi – partisanship among the DLP and BLP politicians?

between