Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (l) Owen Arthur MP (r)

The public statement by Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler that he is willing to endorse former Prime Minister Owen Arthur serving on an advisory committee of government has come as a surprise to BU. His statement comes a couple days after Prime Minister Freundel Stuart made a similar statement. It is clear there is some public relations being done to smoothed or welcome Arthur’s entry into the DLP’s universe, a naked grab for a man who is widely regarded as one of the best economists in the region. The vast experience Arthur has accumulated leading Barbados for 14 years has positioned him as a priceless resource for an under resourced DLP Cabinet struggling to manage a contracting economy.

Until recently Arthur was the focal point of relentless attacks from the government that bordered on tactless and tasteless in the Lower House. Arthur may have contributed to the venomous attacks by his repeated references to a porakey parliament.  BU believes the angst the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) side holds (held) for Arthur is derived from him having been the face of a successful Barbados Labour Party (BLP) for close to fifteen years. His extended tenure gave the DLP a long time in the wilderness to all but self-destruct. If Arthur had not allowed the Mascoll factor to muddy the issue for the electorate in 2007  many believe Arthur would have served another term. He was mercilessly lampooned in all areas of the media which a generous general election budget supported. An attack on Arthur that resonated with the public effectively decapitated the the BLP figurehead and shorten his coat tail.  The DLP flawlessly executed the strategy to demonize Arthur in the last general election and Stuart was the beneficiary. Unfortunately the economic challenge that faced Barbados was a secondary message.

The courting of Arthur by the government is another example of how politicians play a susceptible public for fools. If it were a script for a play the title would be The Puppeteer and the Puppets. The key learning of the Arthur DLP scenario playing out is that politicians will do whatever it takes to win an election and to hell with the economy or anything else. It must be evident to even the political yardfowl that the Barbados economy was in urgent need of an incisive intervention by government leading up to the last general election but as the IMF Article IV report confirmed – that agency was asked to delay its review until after the election. There is the irrefutable evidence that the winning of an election was given priority over a contracting economy.

If the government were to successfully court Arthur, it effectively delivers a stinging slap to the face of Governor Delisle Worrell. Arthur has been the Governor’s harshest critic using an acerbic tongue for which he is renown. Then to observe Stuart, Sinckler, Inniss, Kellman et al  in close quarters confabulating with Arthur will lend itself for comedic relief. Even on BU the harshest of Arthur critics have recanted to give lucid meaning to political expediency or yardfowlism.

Although BU agrees the time is ripe for a credible alternative political force, it is difficult to anticipate it  will make a difference. The political class of Barbados is comprised mainly of those looking to benefit from self aggrandisement. The idea of representing the people – the job description of a member of parliament – appears to be an unknown accountability by the modern-day politician. Unless others from a different moral timber are willing to offer themselves to the public, it makes no difference if a third or fourth credible political party are formed. It is for this reason that BU dismisses the speculation  about Arthur and a third party. If one is able to judge from the gloating by DLP surrogates on social media, Arthur’s resignation from the BLP has given confidence to the DLP that its narrow 2-seat margin in the Lower House is more secure. Is this Arthur’s objective?

181 responses to “The Arthur Objective”

1. Life changer + Avatar

@ The two inconsistent bully bloggers –Contradictions and factual errors like you, are closely related, because if two assertions contradict each other, then at least one of them is a factual error. Unlike the “Contradictions” section, the section entitled “Factual Errors” does not deal with contradictions between Bible verses. It deals with contradictions between the Bible and reality, as we know reality through credible science and history.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ GEORGIE PORGIE | July 31, 2014 at 11:24 AM |
    “ALSO BY DEFINITION THERE WERE NO FEMALE APOSTLES”

Would you come to the same conclusion about the disciples that allegedly followed your Jesus Christ?

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Life Changer

If you believe that man has the science to prove how old the earth really is thus making the biblical account a book of errs than believe what you believe. I will thread on the side of God and believe the accounts indicated in His book before I stand on the reasoning and science of man. One is in infallible the other fallible.

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Life Changer

Who are these bully bloggers. Pray tell please please please!!! 😛

5. Life changer + Avatar

@ SUNNY SUNSHINE
    I have a problem with the Bible. Here’s my problem…

I’m an ancient Egyptian. I’m a comfortable Babylonian. I’m a Roman in his villa.

That’s my problem. See, I’m trying to read the Bible for all it’s worth, but I’m not a Hebrew slave suffering in Egypt. I’m not a conquered Judean deported to Babylon. I’m not a first century Jew living under Roman occupation.

I’m a citizen of a superpower. I was born among the conquerors. I live in the empire. But I want to read the Bible and think it’s talking to me. This is a problem.

One of the most remarkable things about the Bible is that in it we find the narrative told from the perspective of the poor, the oppressed, the enslaved, the conquered, the occupied, the defeated. This is what makes it prophetic. We know that history is written by the winners. This is true — except in the case of the Bible it’s the opposite! This is the subversive genius of the Hebrew prophets. They wrote from a bottom-up perspective.

6. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

THE BIBLE IS SPEAKING TO YOU IN Romans 1:22

Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools,
    HOW WAS THE BIBLE WRITTEN?
    2 Peter Chapter 1
    20 Knowing this first, that no prophecy of the scripture is of any private interpretation.

21 For the prophecy came not in old time by the will of man: but holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost.

2 Timothy 3:16-

16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:

7. steupse .i fail to see the interjection of vible literature and the topic at hand,,,,,,,,,,MIa was tested many times over and fail.her inabilty to stimulate is her weakest link……Had not for OSA speaking openly about MIA lack of decisive leadership,,,,, her weakness would have remained unchallenged or unnoticed,,,,,,, any strength which she must have mustered up of recent was not of her own doing but by the collective voices of her female supporters,,,

8. Simple Simon:
    In your 12:21pm post are you trying to make Mia a Bible character. You women on BU taking this foolishness too far!!!! Next minute Mia shall be walking on water for even Island Girl!!!

9. Life Changer:
    Man’s materialistic focus as the top prize for success is not what the Bible is about!! It is about man’s final realization that there is another way which brings the total reality of what should have been in the first place!!

10. Life changer + Avatar
    Life changer +

@ lemuel
    Firstly, if one looks at this from any sort of rational perspective, one can see that of course the layman needs the help of experts to understand the Bible, as I am sure you are, if one just picked up a copy of the Bible he found in the wilderness and read it cover-to-cover (something that few will do, and some cannot do) current doctrinal positions are the product of two millennia worth of theological thought, which the isolated Bible reader could not replicate in his own head, even allowing that most of that theology is based solely in the Bible. It is not: one must have at least some background in Western philosophy and the history of the times to do that properly, don’t you agree…

11. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Actually many novices have read the WORD from cover to cover AND BY THE SPIRIT OF FOUND CHRIST. NOTABLY AMONG THESE IS JOSH MCDOWELL WHO WAS A SERIOUS COLLEGE AGNOSTIC BEFORE BEING CHALLENGED BY HIS BELIEVING CLASS MATES.

HIS BOOKS ON APOLOGETICS ARE GREAT READING ESPECIALLY EVIDENCE THAT DEMAND A VERDICT
    YOU ARE RIGHT ABOUT
    he isolated Bible reader could not replicate in his own head,

YOU GET TO KNOW THESE THINGS BY COMPARING SCRIPTURE WITH SCRIPTURE AND FOLLOWING THE COMMAND OF 2 Timothy 2:15

Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

12. Life Changer:
    The Bible is the only place that details the beginning of man to the end of man or what we call our existence. Evolution has been trying for the 1840s and the Bible was supposed to go out of existence by another 1840s document the Communist Manifesto. All of these things have failed and there still remains the Bible.

But the beauty of your problem is that even in the desert what is contained in the pages of the Bible is relevant, even today. What makes it relevant is the prophesy as to where this existence is headed. Even Miller and his evolution crew do not have a clue!!

13. Life Changer:

Just read Daniel chapter 2; the statue tells it all!!

14. Life Changer + Avatar
    Life Changer +

@ Lemuel.

Firstly, returning to the captioned matter.

Polling shows that women care about different issues. The United Nations says that a critical mass of at least 30% women is needed before legislatures produce public policy representing women’s concerns and before political institutions begin to change the way they do business.

Now for an unending human debate.
    Everyone is entitled to a belief, and there are many forms of religion.
    And I will chose to slide out of this one.
    Enjoy the rest of you day sir…

15. @Artaxerses
    “Once again, he step down from leadership, which was given to Mottley,”
    Therein lies another issue, did Arthur step down officially after the BLP narrowly lost in 2013 or was a meeting at which Arthur was not present usurped by the Mottley crew to coerce others to support her ?

A man like Arthur who built a party into a formidable election machine would not walk away unless they was a serious force pushing him.
    Mottley and her crew wanted Arthur out. Why do you think her advisor Peter Wickham was so quick to start spinning Arthur’s departure as a good thing for the party in the long run.
    Do not mind Mottley’s “wear white for country” bull. She is a strategist and she is playing politics from sun up to sun down.

Peter’s goal is the election of Mottley. If the BLP or DLP leader changes he will sing a different tune.
    Arthur did not simply jump. He was pushed.

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Life Changer

I have no problem with the bible. I know rather it is right or wrong what I know is that its the one book that has last the tests of time. And its a number one best seller. It is book of inspiration and one of conviction. It also saves. THat is enough for me…Later dude

17. Bajanfuhlife

Arthur, was forced out because he is no longer welcome in the ranks of the BLP, is just one more of the Speculations, in the handbags of Speculations. And, furthermore, extraordinary claims requires, extraordinary evidence sir? In scientific world as you well know, empirical evidence confirms hypothesis, and this must be tested and evaluated in order to determine fact. Arthur, has said in the past that,” The party has lost its Soul.” Why is it so difficult to take the man at his words? Are we in denial here?

18. Lifechanger

” polling shows that women care about different issues”

Your failing attempt to fix women into this tightly confined box of labels, ought and must be met with a stern repudiation sir. And to compound your ignorance, you’re relying on polls, which by all intents and purposes, are incorrect 99.99% of the time; to convince us of the woman’s likes and dislikes. Are you cognizant of the fact that the political- polls predicted Romney, beating Obama by a landslide, last general-election. Now, let’s be serious here for a quick second sir: can you say with any degree of certitude, that polling is an exact science?

19. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Dutch response to Islamist concert conductor‏
    Dutch Orchestra walks out !
    QueenBeatrix of Holland attends an Orchestral Concert. The Conductor, who just happens to be Muslim,
    proceeds to give the Queen a lecture on the “beauty” of Islam.

The members of the Orchestra stage a walkout! They make clear their objection to a Muslim prophet
    promoting Islam and their Allah. Good to see people with the courage of their convictions!

http://www.safeshare.tv/w/cqjiYhtiXs

20. Lifechanger, from a sociological perspective: you ought to know that gender roles are socially inculcated right? And as a society which prides itself on the idea of Intellectual and Cognition liberty, why should a woman’s role remained fixed, conditioned, and determined? Perhaps, you’ll try to convince me that she is physiologically, psychologically and emotionally different than her male counterpart?

21. ….Or should I say Lifechanger, that the woman is instructed to assume those roles dictated by the Hebrew Scriptures, or perhaps what nature has hardwired into her? And finally, sir, somethig to chew on: who knows and ( this is an existentialist view of reality) the true nature of the woman, in absence of the social and religious conformities of the modern life?

22. Georgie Porgie

The right to religious freedom, is by all intentst and purposes a democratic right, as well as a fundamental human right, and whether or not Islam, promotes a violent ideology, the right shall be respected. The Establishment Clause of the First Amendment of the United States Constitution, offers every citizen the right worship or not to, if he or she so choose. The First Amendment of the US Constitution also gives the KKK the right to preach racial hatred because it is part of the Freedom of Expression. So you see my my learned brother: you cannot act as though you’re the judge and jury with respect to your views on Islam, that’s God’s place because He alone is the final arbiter of man’s fate.

23. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

It behooves me , as a matter of clarification, it gives me great pleasure to once again make a contribution to this august cyber assembly of ideas , views, some extreme and otherwise and other contributions.
    I was off for quite some time now due to circumstances above and beyond the control of a serious individual. Anyhow first of all , let me thank my friends , my backers and my sponsors.

My views on religion are well known and my views on women are well known. My views on Bush Tea is well known, I drink a lot of Bush Tea and my views on Island gals, ac (s) , Simple Simon and the other women who pollute , ah mean infect , no populate this blog and frowsy up this forum are also well known

I have said here already that Bajan women are pretty difficult persons to deal with and one’s experience with Bajan women might cloud one’s view of all women. I believe the Bajan woman to be a unique species given our cultural / historical origins and where we are at this time in our development. The Bajan woman is still evolving and so far there are not many of them that can be held up as exemplary. They are still somewhat at the rudimentary stage of development and therefore require all the guidance and counseling possible, I t would be remiss of us to leave the women to themselves to struggle in a world not exactly fashioned with them in mind. Women were considered property and denied a lot of the rights that they are now claiming. They need help in getting to a level of understanding that is acceptable. Gregory Isaacs sang that the : “dawters take a longer to site up the ‘works’ of the father”

On Owen and Mia
    Owen is a talented man with substantial abilities but after 14 years of sweetness , it becomes a drug and like an addict , one can crave the’power’ Anyhow Owen should be given every respect. Mia could have waited until the man was really ready to hand over. However Owen should have given up after the 10 years that he said he would have spent as Prime Minister and not allow persons to convince him to stay. One concludes that is one of the reason he made a shocking announcement. He did not want anyone to change his mind.

Mia has been accused of being Power hungry. We just had an election and she having been psychologically influenced by the events of 1994 has continuously sought to effect the same historical event that would justify history repeating itself. Mia needs not to force it. Prince Charles has been waiting now for a long time . I do not see him disrespecting his mother. One wonders if Charles was a woman if Elizabeth would still be sitting on that throne or if she would have been nagged off her rockers and surrender.

On Crop Over
    It is disappointing that the blogmaster has not submitted a post dealing with this year’s songs etc. Anyhow my horses for the Finals –the top three are Kidsite, Biggie Irie, Announcer , Cyrstal Blood, Webster, Classic, Lil Rick , Red Plastic (not fuh trute).

It is disappointing that a Rum song won a major prize and now the performer has to come in the News paper to say that Rum is not the way. Yet he sang the song–Hypocrite . He should not have been given a National Prize. It is highly irresponsible and he should have been censored. To Beside , it is Clown Prince song !! Just goes to show where we are at as a country –Shame !!!

Freundel has awoken to welcome Owen into his liar.
    “Chris cut back pon everything but he aint cut back pon the food that he eating” –Kidsite

24. Dr. The Honourable

Women throughtout history enjoyed different level of freedom, depending on their social status, so please get your facts straight. I do agree that the lower classes of women were viewed as second class citizens.

25. Dr. Honourable

Here is a historical fact: Queen Cleopatra and Queen Victoria, governed their respective countries, with the confidence and competence of the men folk, and was well respected by them. Women in the West were relegated to second class citizens and this I have read is due in part to the Judeo-Christian- tradition. Aristotles, also felt that the women weren’t fitted for the vote because of their nature, and this idea found its way to the America’s, with the American Republican form of government. And also throughout history we see records of women operating outside of their designed roles.

26. Life changer + Avatar

@ The DOCTOR.

Do you do any voluntary work..
    What, an expert on everything.
    Unlike specialists, they don’t do procedures like biopsies or colonoscopies, which generate revenue, but instead, are still paid mostly per visit, with only minor adjustments for those that go longer.
    And many doctors may face greater financial pressure as many insurers offering new plans through the health law’s exchanges pay them even less, offering instead to send them large numbers of patients.
    What’s in your wallet…

27. Life changer + Avatar

@ Dompey.
    As it turns out, it may be better to turn to neuroscience rather than to Cosmopolitan magazine or a blog to figure out what’s going on inside that guy’s brain. Research indicates that men and women do in fact have different structures and wiring in the brain, and men and women may also use their brains differently. In some cases, this may explain some of the stereotypes that we may not like to acknowledge about the genders. For example, men do score better at tasks that involve orienting objects in space, while women do better at language tests. From there, it’s but a quick jump to the conclusions that men are better at reading maps and women talk too much.
    If you wish to further the known statistics in this, why not give someone else a go, and see if they do better…

28. Life changer + Avatar

@ Dompey.

I have worked in a situation where the logistics passed to me are purely by work station, with no surprise to find that some where women.
    I draw on some common Bajan reference to the tourists and professional comments I have encountered- it seems natural to see men gathered playing dominos- drinking and cursing- or just Liming.
    If anyone, were to pass the numerous bars with women drinking and cursing, it would be a bit concerning.
    It is therefore taken for granted that its a mans Island/world.
    Note; God isn’t a Goddess, I suppose in your eyes, as much as it’s not Adam and Steve its Adam and Eve.
    But imagine /FATHER NATURE as opposed to the power of MOTHER NATURE…
    It just doesn’t seem to cut it for me…..

29. Life changer + Avatar

Sometimes we make choices and sometimes choices make us.
    Attorneys must self-report an entry of judgment in a civil action for fraud, misrepresentation, breach of “fiduciary duty” or gross negligence committed in a professional capacity….

30. Hi David
    If you can make it to Kensington Oval tonight be sure to walk with your pen and camera to record for posterity, the Hon. Stephen Lashley presenting Mr. Owen Arthur with a plague for Owen’s contribution to the development of the island’s cultural industries.