Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (l) Owen Arthur MP (r)

The public statement by Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler that he is willing to endorse former Prime Minister Owen Arthur serving on an advisory committee of government has come as a surprise to BU. His statement comes a couple days after Prime Minister Freundel Stuart made a similar statement. It is clear there is some public relations being done to smoothed or welcome Arthur’s entry into the DLP’s universe, a naked grab for a man who is widely regarded as one of the best economists in the region. The vast experience Arthur has accumulated leading Barbados for 14 years has positioned him as a priceless resource for an under resourced DLP Cabinet struggling to manage a contracting economy.

Until recently Arthur was the focal point of relentless attacks from the government that bordered on tactless and tasteless in the Lower House. Arthur may have contributed to the venomous attacks by his repeated references to a porakey parliament.  BU believes the angst the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) side holds (held) for Arthur is derived from him having been the face of a successful Barbados Labour Party (BLP) for close to fifteen years. His extended tenure gave the DLP a long time in the wilderness to all but self-destruct. If Arthur had not allowed the Mascoll factor to muddy the issue for the electorate in 2007  many believe Arthur would have served another term. He was mercilessly lampooned in all areas of the media which a generous general election budget supported. An attack on Arthur that resonated with the public effectively decapitated the the BLP figurehead and shorten his coat tail.  The DLP flawlessly executed the strategy to demonize Arthur in the last general election and Stuart was the beneficiary. Unfortunately the economic challenge that faced Barbados was a secondary message.

The courting of Arthur by the government is another example of how politicians play a susceptible public for fools. If it were a script for a play the title would be The Puppeteer and the Puppets. The key learning of the Arthur DLP scenario playing out is that politicians will do whatever it takes to win an election and to hell with the economy or anything else. It must be evident to even the political yardfowl that the Barbados economy was in urgent need of an incisive intervention by government leading up to the last general election but as the IMF Article IV report confirmed – that agency was asked to delay its review until after the election. There is the irrefutable evidence that the winning of an election was given priority over a contracting economy.

If the government were to successfully court Arthur, it effectively delivers a stinging slap to the face of Governor Delisle Worrell. Arthur has been the Governor’s harshest critic using an acerbic tongue for which he is renown. Then to observe Stuart, Sinckler, Inniss, Kellman et al  in close quarters confabulating with Arthur will lend itself for comedic relief. Even on BU the harshest of Arthur critics have recanted to give lucid meaning to political expediency or yardfowlism.

Although BU agrees the time is ripe for a credible alternative political force, it is difficult to anticipate it  will make a difference. The political class of Barbados is comprised mainly of those looking to benefit from self aggrandisement. The idea of representing the people – the job description of a member of parliament – appears to be an unknown accountability by the modern-day politician. Unless others from a different moral timber are willing to offer themselves to the public, it makes no difference if a third or fourth credible political party are formed. It is for this reason that BU dismisses the speculation  about Arthur and a third party. If one is able to judge from the gloating by DLP surrogates on social media, Arthur’s resignation from the BLP has given confidence to the DLP that its narrow 2-seat margin in the Lower House is more secure. Is this Arthur’s objective?

181 responses to “The Arthur Objective”

1. ”However, when told there were rumours that he was interested in the St Peter seat, Morris laughingly declared: “All I would say is that I have always served in whatever capacity God has called me to. That was a consideration and I have pledged if it is to be, whenever it is I will go.” Nation Wastepaper

We are surprised that clowns like this Morris character will have the temerity to pretend to want to be in a government or present himself for office. A guillotine is essential!

2. I doubt very much that Owen would lower his dignity to align himself with the bunch of idiots posing as DLP ministers, not to mention that yardfowl AC… yee gads…lol

Owen would not want to become a worldwide laughing stock, that’s for sure.

3. Yes…. welcome home Owen, there is still room left for you in the DLP. I know that you do not want to disappoint the memory of Tom because he obviously made you what you are today, but now is the time to live out your true desire.

4. Well Well

All indications points to the fact the Owen Arthur, has had enough of the fragmented and fractionalized BLP opposition.

5. What is the problem with the women that they cant wait their turn. These women forcing their way and causing bare problems. Mia feel that she should be PM at all cost. Her good friend felt the same way too and look what happen to him. The women nowadays want to lead although leadership is for men.. Men should be the main leaders, women would then like pick up the pieces and support their menfolk,,,,.
    The women in Barbados are doing it wrong

6. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

@ David…That Mascoll has endorsed Jordan for St Peter bolsters my take that Owen Arthur will not join the DLP. As a candidate for any party Clyde Mascoll is damaged goods, and Arthur has way too much political savvy to walk that same road. Arthur is bent on frustrating the efforts of Mia Motley in her quest to become the first female PM of Barbados, and from all indications is willing to die trying. Should he join forces with the DLP he accelerates the very process he so bitterly opposes. Perhaps he has inside knowledge to which we are not privy, but then if he has on her surely she has on him. Problem is Freundel Stuart in one of the rare moments he felt compelled to address Barbadians reminded us most profoundly about THE POLITICAL CLASS. Dem does stick together and screw we, so we should expect no dirt .

7. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

@ ac….Please tell me that someone has stolen your handle. AC you cuss Owen Arthur more than I have, and truth be told I said some of the most vicious things ever said. Only thing is they were all true. AC YOU HAVE NO SHAME.

8. Jason Price

Where have you gotten the idea from that women shouldn’t lead? You’re obviously backwards and twisted in your thinking or lack thereof, if you believe this ancient idea. Throughout history, women have led and led with great confidence, brother! When God could not find a good man to rule Israel, He chose Deborah; who did it with great competence. And queen Victoria of England ruled with great confidence for 70 years, as well as women in Egypt were treated on the same equal footing as men etc.

9. Life changer + Avatar
    Life changer +

@ David the blog master – reference
    GEORGIE PORGIE -15:55

@Life Changer

NOTE THAT ANYTIME YOU ARE SMARTER THAN THE BU HOUSEHOLD OR CHALLENGE THE BU HOUSEHOLD YOU WILL BE DEEMED TO ……………
    “demonstrated so far you mean the BU family harm by attempting harvest info ” LOL
    THIS IS DESPITE CHALLENGING IS WHAT WE DO HERE ON BU!

HILARIOUS
    BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE BU RUM SHOP.
    As my fellow blogger suggests, good banta – Harvesting, or more in line with your – Web scraping may be against the terms of use of some websites. The enforceability of these terms is legally unclear according to my think tank.
    In the outside world, the only way to find success in the world of blogging is to have content that provides value and gets people coming back to your site. I gather content can be created in many different ways. David, you can write all of the content yourself, or you can have it outsourced. In public relations, “spin” is form of propaganda, achieved through providing an interpretation of an event or campaign to persuade public opinion in favour or against a certain organization or public figure. It neither asks questions or answers them. It just guids the traffic.

Yet still no answer, no rush, I’ll wait….

10. When you name some more women leaders, women inventors and women creators , I will be convinced. Women !!!—Not born to lead
    Mess up everything if given the chance. They are just not the persons to lead. Men –M-E-N are the true leaders. Women are Imitators . Check wherever in Barbados that a woman is in control and listen to the stories.

11. Neither Mia Mottley nor Freundel Stuart is married . Ah wonder why.
    Add Maureen Holder to that list . A man attacked she today on the Talk yuh Talk show. She nearly collapsed on air . The man quoted Proverbs about a contentious woman. That one floored Maureen , left her gasping for breath. I laugh !!!

12. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

The man quoted Proverbs about a contentious woman. That one floored Maureen , left her gasping for breath. I laugh !!!
    LOL WE GOT SOME AH DEM HERE PUN BU LOL

13. You guys need to be more analytical in discussing this topic, and the response of Struart and Sincklier to this Owen Arthur fiasco. Firstly, Owen is going nowhere in the Dems Camp. This would only destroy his legacy given the perception currently of the DLP , and the fact that the odds are against them regaining power in the next general election.
    When Struart mention of working with OSA, he is suggestion in the context of Owen’s support of government’s future economic initiatives and policy, based on his economic profession. With Owen now becoming an independent MP, he can now give an objective assessment of any government’s policy without the hindrance of party politics and loyalty.
    I’m sure Owen’s open support of the Solid Waste Tax , primarily based objective economic principles rather than opposition to it, based on party politics, was influential in the acceptance by the general public of government’s credibility of the necessity of , and the rationale behind the way the tax is applied based on asset wealth
    I believe this support is what Struart and Sinckler is referring rather than support based on an appointed cabinet position. I believe these two are hoping that with Arthur’s continued independent assessment and hopeful support of government’s economic policies would garner some restoration of confidence in the Barbados economy by outsiders

14. Jason Price
    “To aswer your question rgarding the Barbadian woman alienable right to lead”

Now, because Barbadian women haven’t been given the fair opportunity to lead early in our development, that does not mean that their aren’t capable and competence to lead. I do remember quite vividly, when there weren’t any women driving the Transport Board Buses during late 60’s and not because their didn’t wanted to, but because society at the time, felt that it wasn’t their place to do. Listen! You cannot limit the human imagination and potentiality brother because none of us are conditioned, neither are we determined, but we must determine for ourselves, whether we’re going to live by the same conventional way of thinking or transcend it.

15. Madame Curie, Joan of Arc, Mother Teresa, Maya Angelou, Rosa Parks, Harriet Tubman and many, many more…..

What are you afraid of with women? I do not fear them, why should any man?

Do they make you feel less of a man?

No, a woman should complete you, not make you feel less.

16. But then, that is what happens when a civilization / land is not matured, feet stuck in superstitious and unfounded thinking.

17. @Jason the PRICK….you must have come out yuh mudder’s back door to say that women shouldn’t lead. You claim that Mia wants to be PM at all costs and went on to state that David Thompson was the same way and look what happened to him or do you mean HER? BOY go and read your comic books and stop talking shoite bout here on BU.

18. There will always be supporters of nonsense. Some people support nonsense for the simple reason that they must oppose. There are some of you who you oppose everything and anything that comes from anyone but yourself, When you all realize the damage that Women are doing to the fabric of this society, it will be too late.Most of you have this image of your old mother and how sweet she is and how she was to you as a child. WAKE UP !!!! –Today’s woman is not the same and you all are fooling yourself if you think otherwise. Women have declared War and you all are failing to admit it. They are pushing and forcing their way into positions and even when there are not in the positions, they are latching on to men who are in positions and influencing decisions in their favour. Look at that CCJ Judge in Trinidad and the selling of the complimentary tickets.

19. Jason the Prick……please go to Jordan’s supermarket and buy a door mat that you could wipe yuh foots pon and to sleep with. Or better still try catching one of dem big up men fuh yuhself den !

20. 1 Mascoll probably does not want to contest a seat and be involved in the rigours of an elected politician, he just wants a top big job like Central Bank govenor, 2 The BLP used to cuss and insult Mascoll but now they all are huggin and kissing him up; the same can be said of the DLP and Owen but the hugging and kissing up aint start yet.

21. i just don’t understand the barrage of bile being leveled at ac,,,,,,,reading ac comments only a jac…a,,ss would conclude that ac said that the anointed one OSA should become a member of the DLP,,,,but didn’t the yardfowls plot to throw him out,,,,,,,wunna even gloat” the march”,,yes that march was the straw that push OSA ,, now wunna want to control the man…..,,just for the record please leave ac out of wunna confusion,,,couldn;t careless where OSA goes,,he is a grown man and can make his decisions,,,,,,don;t need ac prompting,,,,steupse…

22. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

@ ac…you have gone soft on the rhetoric where Owen is concerned. I think that you have come to the realization that where your DLP is concerned Heavenly Shades Of Night Are Falling--its twilight time! Like a drowning man you are willing to clutch at and latch onto anything.

23. New world order Avatar
    New world order

It appears a new crazy has emerged on BU called Jason … Wow brother what planet or time warp are you from… I feel sorry fa she !!

24. Arthur got beat by a buller (2008)and a fumbler(2013) .If he can’t beat the sleeping thesarus he should realize that the jig is up! Thanks for your sevice to this country Mr Arthur. Now you should go quietly into the good night. Fumble will give his new best friend a pimp title usually given to the degenerate legal tiefing class.

25. my comments prior to OSA resignation ,have remained the same,,,none have i retract,,maybe for the man it was a necessary change ,,how many times does a person have to walk the same path with no results,,apparently OSA got tired of the same path and decided enuff,,, i rather u guys not put words in my mouth…..there are no overtures or a welcoming party as far as i am concerned,,however i will say without hesitation …that if govt calls on OSA for necessary input,,he should remove his political hat forthwith and act statesman (like) all for the good of the country,,,

26. @Jason
    If many of the black pioneer merchants of Bridgetown and Barbados in general, who built up thriving businesses, and at their death , left these businesses to their sons, had to return shortly afterwards, would have found the businesses gone bust. But that was not the case for those who had left these businesses in the hands daughters.
    Bridgetown and Barbados was built , long before we had university papered engineers, by artisans, tradesmen and technicians. The driving force behind these craftsmen were their mothers, many of whom paid Master Craftsmen to pass on that vital knowledge to their sons.
    Women can still hold their own in Barbados.

27. @BajanfuhLife
    Arthur knows all that transpired. He was fed up with the deceit and a Mottley crew that was intent on destroying him after all he did for the BLP.
    ++++++++
    Not many people paid attention to that comment but you hit the nail on the head. Arthur and others know that Mia or her surrogates funneled money into the campaigns of the opponents of the sitting members of the BLP who voted to remove her as Leader of the Opposition. This was especially true of those she thought were vulnerable i.e. Payne and Marshall both of whom retained their seats but with reduced majorities in the face of a swing towards the BLP.

Mia was conspicuous by her absence from many of the BLP Election platforms during the last Election many people thought that it was Arthur’s doing but her nonappearance was of her own volition. She was hoping that the BLP would lose the Election as victory would put the kibosh on any hopes she had for leadership and a loss would dash Arthur’s hopes and spell the end of his political career and the Party would look to her as its saviour.

It sounds Machiavellian but megalomania has a strange face.

28. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Sargeant | July 30, 2014 at 10:31 PM |
    YOU ARE 100% CORRECT
    BUT SHE WILL SUFFER LIKE HAMAAN IN THE BOOK OF ESTHER

29. J@ason Price July 30, 2014 at 8:31 PM ” When you all realize the damage that Women are doing to the fabric of this society, it will be too late.Most of you have this image of your old mother and how sweet she is and how she was to you as a child. WAKE UP !!!! –Today’s woman is not the same and you all are fooling yourself if you think otherwise. Women have declared War and you all are failing to admit it. They are pushing and forcing their way into positions.”

Jason, Jason, Jason, this misogyny does not become you. Women (like men) are the same as they have ever been, fully human. And human nature does not change.

I know a lotta, lotta women, the oldest woman whom I knew very well was born in 1879, and the youngest female was born just yesterday.

None of them have ever killed.

None of them have ever been convicted of a crime.

All are hard working.

Every one of them (except for the youngest childless ones) raised their children

Every single one of them (except for those too young to work) held down a job, sometimes while raising one or many children.

Dear Jason: We are your grandmothers, your mothers, your sisters, your girlfriends, your wife, your school mates, your neighbours, your friends, your teachers, your doctors, your surgeons, your blood and organ donors. We are the mothers of your children. We love you and we will not abandon you.

We are the majority, and we will remain the majority.

Get used to it boy.

30. Jason Price @ 8:31pm.

There is alot of merit to what you say in this post.

31. @Jason Price July 30, 2014 at 5:38 PM

Jason’s statement: What is the problem with the women that they cant wait their turn.

A Simple response: And when will that turn be?

Jason’s statement: : These women forcing their way and causing bare problems.

A Simple response: What problems? Document the problems that women are causing. Do we have 1,000 problem Bajan women in jail?

Jason’s statement: Mia feel that she should be PM at all cost.

A Simple response:It is a good thing to desire the office of Prime MInister

Jason’s statement: Her good friend felt the same way too and look what happen to him.

A Simple response: There is no evidence that pancreatic cancer is caused by desiring to be Prime Minister. But good evidence that heavy drinking may be a contributing cause

Jason’s statement: The women nowadays want to lead although leadership is for men..

A Simple response: There is nothing new about female leadership as seen in these examples:

In the midst of the violent and turbulent aftermath of Joshua’s conquest of Canaan, “the Lord raised up judges” to provide leadership for the kingless people (Judges 2:16). One such leader was Deborah. At the beginning of Judges 4, the text reports that “Deborah, a prophet, the wife of Lappidoth, was leading Israel at that time.”

The prophet Micah identifies Miriam as one of the three leaders sent by God to bring Israel out of Egypt (Micah 6:4)

Josiah …summoned a prophet. It’s important to note that contemporaries of Josiah included the famed prophets Jeremiah, Zephaniah, Nahum, and Habakkuk. But Josiah did not ask for help from any of those men. Instead he chose Huldah, a woman and prophet who lived in Jerusalem…Huldah confirmed the scroll’s authenticity ….Thus, Huldah not only interpreted, but also authorized, the document that would become the core of Jewish and Christian Scripture.

The Bible identifies ten female prophets in the Old and New Testaments: Miriam, Deborah, Huldah, Noadiah, Isaiah’s wife, Anna, and the four daughters of Philip. In addition, women like Rachel, Hannah, Abigail, Elisabeth, and Mary are described as having prophetic visions about the future of their children, the destiny of nations, and the coming Messiah.

When the Holy Spirit descended upon the first Christians at Pentecost, Peter drew from the words of the prophet Joel to describe what had happened, saying, “Your sons and daughters will prophesy…Even on my servants, both men and women, I will pour out my Spirit in those days, and they will prophesy” (Acts 2:17–18).

The Shulamite girl of Song of Songs is the first to speak in the poem, declaring, “Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth” (1:1). She actively seeks out the handsome shepherd in his fields, saying “Why should I be like a veiled woman beside the flocks of your friends?” (v. 7). When the two are separated, she goes out into the streets, looking for him,

Rizpah a sort of Old Testament Antigone, who protested the massacre of her sons by publicly mourning, night and day, at the site where their bodies had been left to the elements. She cried out for months, “from the beginning of the harvest till the rain poured down from the heavens on the bodies,” keeping watch over her sons and fending away wild animals and birds (2 Samuel 21:10).

And if they shoot our children or crack their heads we will NEVER let them rest. We will publicly mourn from the beginning of the harvest until the September rains pour down

“God did not consider Mary’s flesh as something to be despised. No. God selected Mary to be the very vessel of our salvation in Jesus Christ. God saw fit to honor women by entering the world through one of them.

And from the Magnificat/the Song of Mary “he hath scattered the proud in the imagination of their hearts. He hath put down the mighty from their seat and hath exalted the humble and meek. He hath filled the hungry with good things : and the rich he hath sent empty away.”

All four gospel accounts identify Mary Magdalene as among the first witnesses of the empty tomb wen she declared “I have seen the Lord!”

Jason Price: Men should be the main leaders, women would then like pick up the pieces and support their menfolk.

A simple response: No Jason. No, no, no. You got it wrong. Neither God nor nature designed women to be the picker upper of pieces

Jason Price: The women in Barbados are doing it wrong.

A Simple response: No Jason the women of Barbados are doing it right. They are doing it exactly like the women in the Bible.

Why should we be like veiled women?

32. GEORGIE PORGIE July 30, 2014 at 7:07 PM “The man quoted Proverbs about a contentious woman. That one floored Maureen , left her gasping for breath. I laugh !!! LOL WE GOT SOME AH DEM HERE PUN BU LOL”

Dear Georgie Porgie: Know ya place!!!

33. “Greet Andronicus and Junia,” Paul wrote in Romans 16:7, “my fellow Jews who have been in prison with me. They are outstanding among the apostles, and they were in Christ before I was.” Junia is the first and only woman in Scripture to be explicitly identified as an apostle.

34. @Jason ”Women have declared War and you all are failing to admit it.”

Ahem… oh boy… you gone on a loop, youngster.

Likely the same sort of thinking that had Benazir Bhutto murdered on her return to PM.

Women, not allowed to think. Next thing… only ‘SOME’ men aka Jason allowed to think…. yup, that is how it goes.

‘First they came for….’

If yuh cant work on the playing field, rip up the field?

Sorry, but anytime I see generalization vs independent thinking I get worried, it is sinister.

Thing is Jason, it is about individuals, the ability, integrity and work ethic, nothing more, nothing less.

You will find igrunt women, same as igrunt men.

You will find lovely women, and you will find good men.

It is about individuals, not groups.

35. Life changer + Avatar
    Life changer +

Its time to face it, in a to horse race, Women are better survivors than men. A woman can out-think a man, every time. Women are more honest, more blunt and a lot more organized than men. They make way better decisions. It’s too bad that politics is a “Boys Club”. We all lose because of it!

36. Why do we spend time debating ‘ah feeling’?

37. @ Jason Price
    In the land of brass, you should be pleased that most here disagree with your analysis…..it is a sure sign that you are on to something….
    This world is no accident…. It was DESIGNED….with specific ends in mind…and NOT by brass bowls either.

OF COURSE men and women were designed for different roles, ….but so brilliantly designed, that in emergency situations, such roles can be interchanged or exchanged….

HOWEVER…when we reach the stage where it makes ‘more sense’ for women to take over the man’s designed role…. it must be clear, even to a brass bowl, that we are in duck’s guts…..
    …which we are….
    So let them lead.

38. Life changer + Avatar
    Life changer +

@ David.

Firstly, good morning.
    Why? Because we love to debate minutiae.
    When we do, we somehow feel satisfied with ourselves. We might have just spun our wheels, and failed at changing anyone’s mind (and our ideas certainly weren’t changed because who knows more about trans fat than us?). But we feel like we really expressed ourselves, and it’s a good feeling.
    The problem is that the feeling is totally illusory when it comes to getting anything done. Ironically, debating minutiae is the easiest way to get nothing done: Imagine the last time you and your friend talked about this stuff. Did you go for a run afterwards? Of course not.
    Because we love to debate minutiae, which absolves us from actually having to do anything.
    I prefer to do it another way. Let the fools debate the details. I’d rather get something done by keeping it simple and actually doing it.
    Who wins at the end of the day? The self-satisfied people who heatedly debate some obscure details? Or the people who sidestep the entire debate, recognize the underlying essence of the issue, and quietly get it done?

39. “One of the most senior members of the Turkish government sparked an outcry on Tuesday, after declaring that women should not laugh loudly in public.

The deputy prime minister, Bülent Arinc, one of the co-founders of the ruling Islamic-rooted Justice and Development party (AKP), made the comment while lamenting the moral decline of modern society.

“A man should be moral but women should be moral as well, they should know what is decent and what is not decent,” Arinc said in a speech on Monday, in the western Bursa region for the Bayram holiday that marks the end of Ramadan.

“She should not laugh loudly in front of all the world and should preserve her decency at all times,” he added.

Bush Tea and Jason the PRICK why don’t you relocate? Nobody stopping wunna. I will gladly help yuh pack!

40. THE REVERAND CHARLES MORRIS:
    Thank you Sir.
    Your actions have been so beneficial in Highlighting all I have ever said about the Contraption of a System in a Crumbling Country.
    We live WITHOUT LAW. Without REAL Freedom .
    Without the ability to express ourselves OPENLY and Freely, without incurring the vengeance and animosity of the Filth that RU(I)N our country.
    EVERYBODY UNDERSTANDS and AGREES that Fruendel Stuart is the WORST PRIME MINISTER ever in Barbados since this Land was declared INDEPENDANT. His Governance will go down in the Annals of INCOMPETENCE.
    Can you ever IMAGINE this Monstrosity of a Bow tie nose Nigger ,the Massiveness of his BLOATED EGO.
    That he will DARE to allow a WARNING against you for exercising the very most Basic form of our FREEDOM.
    FREEDOM OF SPEACH>
    WHO does this FKUCING PIG of an EXCUSE for a man , feel he is.
    But Like shit sticks to your shoe you may be sure that this piece of Political SHIT will stick to his Trough till the BITTER end. Suck it dry.
    Leave us with the Salt of his making.
    Take us all to an early grave ,with his massive ego driven incompetence.
    He and his side kick StinklLiar, part of the contraption, of an imitation of a shambles, of a PRETENCE of GOVERNMENT.
    A M o F that has recently learned to count, and now see’s this new found “Knowledge” as the font from which all things spring.
    Mr OWEN, please SOON declare your NEW political party and lead us out of the Wilderness.

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David BU:

Is it true the Government of Barbados (GoB) has once again agreed to settle with Al Barack with the consideration being the building at Warrens and $30 million in cash?
    What has finally forced government’s hand? Could it be the slap in its face received from foreign lenders and investors during the recent overseas begging mission?
    The GoB was probably told by lenders and investors they would not be putting their money in a country where the government behaves as if it is above the law and refuses to settle its legal obligations.

If the GoB can treat its own people in that way can one imagine what it would do to foreign creditors and lenders and investors.
    I suspect the whole Al Barack mess in addition to the CLICO incestuous fiasco have been major contributors to Barbados’s downward sliding credit rating and poor financial and fiscal assessments and reports in the international financial arena.

The question is where would a cash strapped administration, barely able to fulfil its obligations to the QEH, find $30 million, find that sort of money unless it intends to print more money or to use the proceeds from the sale of the BNTCL to SOL?

Would the sitting tenants in the Warrens Office complex be making the rental payments to Al Barack on time or would they be racking up huge arrears before moving out?

42. @Miller

What a mess, see BU’s conversation with Minister Kellman on Facebook a week ago.

43. The role of Prime Minister of the Government of Barbados must NEVER be suggested by any persons in this country to be up for hire, lease, rent or passing or any other type of transactioning or negotiating among any political groups or sectors to any body at all in this country.

The person seeking to carry out this role must truly earn it in the eyes of the vast majority of the very political sectors and actors of this country.

It cannot be reasonably stated simply by some people in Barbados that by the logic of Ms Mottley being BLP leader, that it must not be entertained by them that her being a woman must not be used by some to stand in the way of her becoming Prime Minister cannot be any more than the logic of a mason’s position, an engineer’s, a young person’s social rank, a comic’s social rank, a sheep stealer’s position, the rum bibber’s status in a society like Barbados must also be used by some persons too to help persuade many others against them from becoming Prime Minister of this country.

Neither can it be reasonably stated simply by some people in this country that women cannot be made to lead in any national political sphere in Barbados any more than a man can in any such sphere.

What it is the question though is is if the BLP leader, is if the mason, the engineer, the young person, the comic, the sheep steeler, the rum bibber, are each politically intellectually psychologically competent able extraordinarily enough in the minds of many person’s very politically reasonable persons in this country at this juncture to become prime minister of this country and to remain so for a reasonable length of time.

As it stands now, there is no evidence at all that the PDC can unearth that can be pointed to and be used to show that Ms Mottley – a good lawyer though – is sufficiently politically intellectually psychologically extraordinarily fit to meet the test of becoming and for some time remaining Prime Minister of the government of this country.

None what so ever!!

In Mottley’s case, one piece of evidence that can be used to show that she is not so fit it that she has been spectacularly failing to unveil and articulate a cosmology for the idealizing of this country being put back on a trajectory of further growth and development.

The role of prime minister of this country cannot be filled on the basis of political financial negotiations on the whims and fancies of some people.

So just like Ronald Jones, just like Dr Maria Agard, just like Chris Sinckler, just like David Comissiong, like Mark Adamson are – all at this stage – not politically intellectually psychologically extraordinarily fit enough in their own ways to become Prime Minister of the government of this country – the BLP leader is not politically intellectually psychologically fit enough at this stage to fill the role of Prime Minister of the government of this country.!!

44. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Jason Price

I am a woman and the truth is, I really thought there was only one cunt on here who if you give her Einstein brain would still talk shite and that is AC. But now I see there is someone who can talk more shite than AC and that is you. But if its any consolation to my PIMP, not even AC would spew from her mouth this one-sided male chauvinistic old time-ish view you obviously still have of women. But as a consolation to my boo, her views are only bias and sometimes twisted when talking about her beloved DLP. Outside of that touch my boos gender and she all over like flies on shit.

THe non sense about women cannot lead is not just shite talk but bigotry from the mouth of a real real Johnny. You sound like one of these muslim extremist who believe that a woman’s sole purpose is for your good pleasure, reproduction and making your meals. Other than that she has not the mental capacity to generate the interest that is required to push endeavours forward at the helm of the leadership position. Well Mr. Price if you look carefully, women have been pushing you male chauvinist pigs for years. Especially when you have lost your way and need direction, you come crawling to us in bed for an opinion or ideas and we have readily offered you whilst you pompersett on stage making the whole world believe its yours.

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

We are your foundation and if you want to go biblical you can check out Proverbs 31 and see how we stir you. We have shown the mental tenacity far more superior than yours to lead with strength and to motivate. We have used that strength and translate it into striving business earning the respect of the male counterpart who secretly plots for our demise because their fragile egos are shattered. The problem that you men have with our ability to lead is not the perception you hold of us being weak but the intimidation you hold in your own hearts because of the strength you know we possess. Thus your egos won’t allow you to support and work with a woman at the helm.

46. Dr Love
    And for good measure I add…. Gaul bline all ‘o dum,de stinking lowlife bag blind bayfut hoes

47. Life changer + Avatar

@ Sunny Sunshine.
    The first and most obvious problem with Biblical inerrancy is that science has utterly and completely falsified it. We now know that the earth is far older than 6,000 years and that the many species of life developed slowly through the mechanisms of evolution and that familiar spirits and wizards, which the Bible refers to as though they are real, have no influence on the world.

However, since Biblical inerrantists have not gotten this memo and sent out bands of so-called creation scientists to slap a pseudoscientific veneer on Biblical inerrancy and impugn without grounds the integrity of actual scientists, we will say no more about the scientific falsifications.

Instead, we will focus on inconsistencies and contradictions within the Bible itself, as well as inconsistencies of the Biblical inerrantists’ position with acknowledged Church history.

If you yourself want a harmony between the two, you may have to accept change, or accept that you may be surprised, either right or wrong….

48. @ Jason Price & SSS

Not all women can lead and not all men can lead either.

If, and I will make and assumption here Mr Price that this is what you really wanted to say (for if it is otherwise I leave you to SSS – the stealthy, sleek sidewinder), one were to say that the % of active, women leaders in Bulbados, and in the Caribbean were to be polled one would find that the % were glaringly low, then, while i would agree on that statistic, low %’s of active, competent women does not translate into the % of competent women capable of managing.

It is like saying we have no gifted children in Bulbados because we have no School for Gifted Children.

When we look across the landscape of Bulbados what I will agree with both of you on is that we have a dearth of males and females, moreso now that the DLP is in power, and that the environment for either group to do something meaningful, relevant and world shattering, is noticeably absent.

Do not be for a moment fooled that there are not women birthed or untimely taken from the womb that can and will fight the Dragon.

This is not a time for anachronisms, rhetoric and cliches, it is a time for action so the Ralph Boyce chant bout the “womens is emasculating de menses and not letting them visit the chilren” is BS. Women may not like a man’s ass but, once the man has a cose of ethics, and does the right thing, they will respect him, albeit with certain “actions”

Let us see how we menfold do in the coming months as this unravels

49. Life changer + Avatar

Very well said.
    If only more women could be brought into politics, says a particular strand of commentary, our public sphere would be transformed. We’d have a more thoughtful, less corrupt, more inclusive politics, and all this silly in-fighting/aggression/phallus-wielding one-upmanship would fade away.

The thinking that female polititions are better than males because they ‘inject less libido and less testosterone into the equation.’ Women are more collaborative, less inclined to project themselves and their own will onto the decision-making process….

50. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Simple Simon | July 31, 2014 at 12:30 AM |
    GEORGIE PORGIE July 30, 2014 at 7:07 PM “The man quoted Proverbs about a contentious woman. That one floored Maureen , left her gasping for breath. I laugh !!! LOL WE GOT SOME AH DEM HERE PUN BU LOL”

Dear Georgie Porgie: Know ya place!!!

i think that there are contentious women on BU AND I SAID SO AND HAVE NO APOLOGIES TO MAKE THEREFOR

Simple Simon | July 31, 2014 at 12:34 AM |
    “Greet Andronicus and Junia,” Paul wrote in Romans 16:7, “my fellow Jews who have been in prison with me. They are outstanding among the apostles, and they were in Christ before I was.” Junia is the first and only woman in Scripture to be explicitly identified as an apostle.

READ THE TEXT AGAIN AND CHECK THE WORDS
    ALSO BY DEFINITION THERE WERE NO FEMALE APOSTLES