The Sunday, July 6, 2014 Voice of Barbados (VoB) talk show will be the host of The Hon. Christopher Sinckler, M.P. Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs and Commissioner of the Barbados Revenue Authority, Margaret Sivers to clarify public concern about the Municipal Solid Waste Tax and related issues – Click image to follow the program from 11AM.

The Sunday, July 6, 2014 Voice of Barbados (VoB) talk show will host The Hon. Christopher Sinckler, M.P. Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs and Commissioner of the Barbados Revenue Authority, Margaret Sivers to address public concern about the Municipal Solid Waste Tax and related issues – Click image to follow the program from 11AM.

280 responses to “Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler and Commissioner of the Barbados Revenue Authority Margaret Sivers Meet Talk Show Host Corey Layne to Debate the Muni Tax”

1. Yatin……..sorry i did not read your post first before i sent mine, but i suspected it was some asinine scam like that to claim improved value.

2. Pacha…….i really, really don’t know what to say anymore about these bands of asses…..lol

3. Roger Smart

Question: it seems as though you have a personal vendetta against Dompey? What have Dompey done but to expressed an impartial opinion regarding the topics before deliberation on BU? And why do you insist on harboring your misdirected animosity and antagonism against Dompey sir? It certainly, appears as though to some onlookers here on BU, that Dompey have stolen your man/ shemale, given the nature of your cheap shots against Dompey? Now, I certainly hope you’re cognizant of who you’re dealing with? If not… it’s best you ask Bush Tea, Georgie Porgie and my good friend De Hood because they all have retreated into the confines of they little corner on the blog, after experiencing Dompey poison pill.

4. Pachamama

I am sorry to make mention of Mr. Clarke’s failed march, but the PM certainly feels quite confident in his position as Prime Minister, given the resulted of such a colossal failed attempted. And I bet he is laughing his ass off right now because he obviously knows that the people are still on his side.

5. Pachamama

The people seems to have a better understanding of the economic affairs in Barbados than BU prognosticators. lol

6. Same piss Castro intoxicated the people with making it a sure bet for him to become dictator

7. AC, Castro fought hard for Cuba. And it was only when America turned its back Castro just after the Revolution, that he and Che fixed their eyes on the Soviet Union. Who betrayed their trust just after the Cuban Missile Crisis, so their fixed their eyes on red China.

8. David. I hope that you finish with ratings after each submission.

9. @ Dompey
    If an election were help today somebody other than the DLP will win – by a landslide. Not that that result will be helpful to Barbados, but your popular PM will loose, big time!
    Even so we never presume that any majority anywhere is right or ever has been, but they have a right to rule, if an election is won. Though even this expression of ‘democracy’ can be gamed, like is happening now and has happened in every election known to man. So what was your point again!

10. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Can a person be prosecuted for publicly calling for citizens not to pay this tax?

11. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Frustrated Businessman | July 7, 2014 at 2:41 PM |Can a person be prosecuted for publicly calling for citizens not to pay this tax?@ no, no no NO, fIRST YOU MAY HAVE TO BE THE TRUE LAND OWNER,
    THE COURTS WILL BE FULL OF WORK FOR THE FRAUD JUDGES AND MOST DONT LIKE TO WORK ,
    IT WILL EXPOSE THE FRAUD IN THE LAND RECORDS AND ALL WILL SHUT DOWN,

12. Obviously no one can be as asinine as this DLP set of jokers are acting with this shiite tax, ..so the only logical conclusion is that these politicians have been brought by Bizzy and his clan – and are being squeezed to deliver these monies via poor people’s taxes.

Since It appears that the current top DLP players did not attend the quality of school that would have explained the principle of “the killing of the goose that laid the golden egg”, …Bushie will try to explain the concept….

Most complex concepts are non – linear in nature. In other words, just because you see a trend at one level DOES NOT mean that same trend will hold at another level.

When taxes are reasonable, (or even generally high, BUT people can see the benefits of said taxes) compliance will be good and the golden eggs will flow like clockwork…..

When taxes are unreasonable, and illogical, and ESPECIALLY when the money is clearly being extorted from poor widows and pensioners… by rich white interests like Bizzy, …Bajans will tend NOT to pay these shiite taxes…..

The Government will then retaliate by combining all taxes such as land taxes, road taxes etc in order to hide the wicked and pernicious shiite tax…..and Bajans will delay / avoid/ dispute ALL taxes…. Thereby killing what was a happy productive goose…..

There is nothing sensible about this stupid tax. The BEST way to manage solid waste is to tax the IMPORTS at source… THIS IS WHAT CREATES THE WASTE.
    Stinkler’s nonsense about CARICOM being vexed with the environmental levy is just so much shiite….
    WITHDRAW FROM CARICOM…..
    CARICOM shiite…!

…so this Johnny is taxing property… in order to facilitate the continued imports of expensive foreign goods ….because OUTSIDERS may get vex……!!!!
    …but Bajan property owners can’t get vex….?

13. AC, Che Guevara travelled throughout South America as a young doctor. And it was during those trips that he saw the hands of European Economic Colonialism stretched a crossed the face of his beautiful continent, and he vowed to do something to changed it. But his life came to a sudden end in Bolivia one day because of a fatal mistake in his thinking. Instead of appealing to the intelligentsia in Bolivia, he erroneously appealed to the peasant population who were concerned with their basic survival needs. And you know how the rest of Che’s life story goes?

14. @ Bushie
    We never understood why Bajans think we have to wait on other people to act. For example, a Peoples’ Court could be convened to try these people for crimes. Those finding could be reported to the UN and though that Court may not, at this time, be able to enforce its findings a time will come when the criminals will have to face popular justice.

15. @ Maxine McClean
    Can you explained why the QEH is in the state it is in , DLP operatives cut from QEH to spend on the thing in St. John , I sat and hear you day after day on VOB before 2008 about The QEH what do you say now that you are a DLP operatives and enjoying the sweet life that was bought in 2008 election with CLICO policyholders money stolen by your beloved David Thompson who has paid for that deed by drying up and died a thief, your beloved brother must be ashamed of you for helping these DLP
    Crooks , remember you have a son that has a no named father in this world .
    Please think, if you can, in the end you are just a thief like David Thompson but you knew that when you got a child and could not name the father ,why a woman
    Man

16. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Dompey | July 7, 2014 at 1:26 PM |@

When people hear new things that are true it takes a while to adjust from lies, , We dont get mad, we give the info to any question asked or joke made , Free -smart of information,
    we do not shy away from any question unless it may hurt who are innocent.

What the DBLP ,WILL never tell you we will, and may can come at us anytime day or night or even in court.
    As” Bush tea” may have said at one point or another , Yall think the Defendant will take the Plaintiff to COURT?
    The DBLP Et Alii are such DEFENDANTS , Now we just need the People of Barbados to get on board.AND vote them OUT

17. Pachamama

If the people were truly discontented with the current state of affairs in Barbados, the organized march would have been the appropriate venue to expressed their discontented one would have thought? Listen! One woman rallied the American populace through civil protest to expressed her dissatisfaction with the war in Iraq because her son had been killed there. Why hadn’t this happened in Barbados given the suffering some have claimed the DLP has inflicted on the poor people of Barbados? Man give me a break because you’re in some much words is saying that the Barbadian people are doltish. You ought not insult the collective intellect of the Barbadian people, or else you’ll be in for a rude awakening again Pachamama.

18. Pachamama

You ought not insult the collective intellect of the Barbadian people, or else you’ll be in for a crude awakening once again brother. Haven’t you given any thought to the significance of this failed marched and what it said about a weak and disconnected opposition?

19. Dompey or should i rename you “Don’t Pee”. Remember the march was sanctioned by Bobby with David by his side. These two don’t have the power to pull people to march. I bet if Mia and Owen hold hands and say let’s march…the whole town burst with marchers.

20. Pachamama

My popular Prime Minister would lose by a landslide if election were held today. And this sentiment is coming from a few gutless soldiers hiding in the bush right? Where is your evidence? Extraordinary claims requires extraordinary evidence and the pulses of populace seems to indicate quite the opposite Pachamama, given the resulted of your failed march of course. lol

21. Dompey
    You are wrong! Your conclusion in mired in common sense not the Bajan culture. Get a few of your White boys at the front of a march tomorrow, and the whole country shut down, again.

22. Do some of you understand how ignorant it is debating these issues with people who live out of Barbados and are clueless to what is happening on the ground?

23. Tell me Why

Man what are you saying fool? As I have stated above: this unknown woman rallied the collective conscience of the American people to actively protest against Bush illegal war in Iraq, which took her son’s life. It was called Mothers Again the War in Iraq when she first started her civil protest fool. So stop making excuses for Bobby and David because the march was a colossal blunder to say the least.

24. David, I have four brothers two sisters and my madda who keeps me abreast about what is going on in Barbados, in addition to what I read on social media. So put on your thinking cap David because right about now you’re beginning to sound like Bush Tea and his sidekick Georgie Porgie.

25. David, do I have to live in St. Andrew in order to know what is going on there? Do I have to live in California to know what is going on there? Don’t be ignorant man because we’re living in 2014 and now 1914 as you may have assumed.

26. I really don’t deal with blind partisan pimps. I said that Bobby don’t have the power to pull marchers. I am telling you once and I have nothing else to say to you….Barbadians are suffering but prefer to sit on the sideline and allow others to fight the battle. Whilst walking on Saturday, an old lady beckoned to us saying “wunna in got nuttin’ to do but to march. The majority of people who pretend that nothing wrong with this tax, sneak in the house and draw up in a corner crying because pride overcome them. These people don’t want no one seeing them marching. That’s the problem with bajans…too much pride with a hungry belly. Back in Bay Street, two women with accents shout to the marchers at the back “Wanna want killing”. These are reasons why this country is in such financial and political turmoil. Our leaders gone crazy and our countrymen following. Pure brassbowls according to BT.

27. Balaam must be turning in his grave!!

28. @TmW

You arw correct, Bobby has done his part to kickoff the initiative but some others need to take the baton if they feel public protest by marching is the way to go.

29. Maxine McClean | July 7, 2014 at 12:52 PM |

I laud you for your quick response in trying to clarify what you actually said in the senate. it shows that you guys actually read Barbados Underground, and that’s good.

Maxine, could you please ask your colleagues to adopt a similar attitude of responding quickly…… with a special mention for a response from Denis Lowe as it relates to clearing the air on the $5M and BOLT Solutions Inc.; and for Freundel to answer everything.

30. Tell me Why
    I was lucky then not to hear the stupid comments you heard last Saturday. I heard some encouraging comments on Lower Broad Street, by the market a man shouted “I wid wunnah”, I saw some thumbs up along Baxter’s Road and back on Broad Street, a lady starting shouting the same as us and some said, yes it is time to get rid of the Dems.

So the folk are waking up!

I heard Dwight Sunderland on Brasstacks today complaining about the cuts in the bus service on the week ends in his constituency. I laugh to myself as I know the woman in the DLP election bus ad, one Ms Mapp lives in St George South……………..her lies have become a reality and not by the BLP but by her lying DLP.

Dems now, dems again…………..worst thing that could ever happen to Barbados.

David Ellis said today that the dems are not like the ones of 94 who voted against themselves…………they are political and will stick together. Yea….David, little do you and the dems know………….time longer than twine! These dems do NOT care about Barbadians only about themselves!

One would think that after all the outcry against this tax that any government with a heart would at least delay it but no, they have a commitment to line Bizzy pockets with more and more money for Shelly to spend on brand name bags and fancy houses in Florida. Our hard earned money is to be spent for their pleasure under the guise that we have a garbage problem. Well, hell let them buy my garbage from me. Without the garbage, the plant cannot be viable. Now I hear that the land this plant is on is taxpayers’ land. What the hell!

Heartless brass bowls, according to Bush Tea!

31. the PDC comes here on BU to spout the communist propaganda ,,at a time when barbados is at its weakest financially and emotionally,,,,,,these political scumbags are using the fragilityof the mindset of people to fool them into a false sense of security of building an economy with no taxation ,,,,,a leaf out of the page of fidel castro,, CastRo tried it for over fifty years and it has failed …the PDC and its communist pigs should be aware that their ideology and philosophy no matter under no circumstances would sway the minds and hearts of barbadians ,,castro might have used it effectively, to win an election,,,,but history has proven that Castro was wrong Fast forward to more than sixty years later, into 2012 ,the castro regime has now pulled a page out of the Western handbook and has implemented taxes ,,as a way to stave off more poverty and discontent…like it or Not a REALITY has faced CUBA,,,,, the Dictator has respondede accordingly.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/11/28/us-cuba-reform-taxes-idUSBRE8AR05F20121128

32. The Bushman said:

“There is nothing sensible about this stupid tax. The BEST way to manage solid waste is to tax the IMPORTS at source… THIS IS WHAT CREATES THE WASTE.”

Bushman these politicians gotta be dizzy, that is what they should be doing starting with Dumbville Inniss’ call for Bajans to buy local, he should STOP issuing import licenses to bring in garbage and TAX the importers if they insist on bringing in chicken wings that can be grown in Barbados……..now no one will lend Sinckler money on the international markets, because they are not STUPID, it would make sense for this crowd of DLP fools to start the economy fresh and from scratch without continually thinking about millions of dollars, start with a sensible idea and let it grow and manifest into reality……..i know it’s asking a lot but what else is there to lose…oh i forgot, the Transport Board, the Port, the Airport, the Water Authority and a few others……hmm.

33. Tell Me Why,

You need to do some serious thinking and analyzing about what TAXATION is and what it is has been doing to decimate and degradate the lives of hordes of people and various sectors in Barbados.

You need to make some serious use of your imagination, thought and reasoning critical awareness processes in your thrust to navigate this world in which you have been placed and furthermore socialized in an essentially westernized eurocentric manner.

These things and more, before you can argue that a very people centered productive POST-taxation society is NOT possible.

You have to get your fundamentals in place and in order – like the person behind the pseudonym, Pachamama, has already done – before you really fallacize that drivel about a POST-Taxation society NOT being possible.

34. It is good that certain people here don’t represent as repositories of knowledge. Barbados represents itself as a near tax free domicile to most of the world. While we don’t hold this as a hard and fast policy, why would it be impossible to imagine a country with a similar near-zero tax regime for its own citizens? Why do taxes, like death, have to be constants in our imaginings? Already we know how to live till 150, why can’t taxes not be made to go away forever? These things are only impossible until we make them possible.

35. “These PDC people come across as intellectuals yet the basis for their (anti-/No-)TAXATION argument leaves a lot to be desired” – the person behind the pseudonym, Sunshine Sunny Shine.

Can you outline for us what is the basis of our Anti/NO-TAXATION argument? And why it leaves a lot to be desired?

36. this is or was the view of the old Soviet guard

Death and taxes may have been inevitable everywhere else, but, as old communist leaders were always quick to point out, that wasn’t necessarily true in the Soviet Union. Personal income tax payments were limited to nonexistent. It was hardly worth mentioning that the quality of virtually all state services, from garbage collection to health care, was lousy. But at least the tax system was not burdensome.

37. “Extraordinary claims requires extraordinary evidence and the pulses of populace seems to indicate quite the opposite Pachamama, given the resulted of your failed march of course.”

Speechless. Jesus take the wheel.

38. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

are you the woman in these u tubes?

39. you pachaman and PDC all power hungry rodents . wishing and hoping to to drag barbadians into a civil war,, but not going to happen…….bajans do not like dictators,,never have ..never will.

40. GP boy u are twisted,,,,,not even close lol,,,,,,,,,look btw hurry leave miami..where u pay all them taxes PDC and pachaman lead by Bush Tea going to rip up ..tear down..and rebuild..a system in barbados where there would be NO TAXATION …..free lunch fuh allll,, hurry catch the next flight out,,,,,,,sure u wouldn’t want to miss out on such a great deal……..i think they caught the castro fever,,,,,,,

41. St George's Dragon Avatar

Is the Municipal Waste Tax going to be an annual thing?
    Chris Sinckler says “the regular budget cannot take care of the costs”; he also says the tax is to pay for the cost of collecting and treating….garbage”. Garbage collection does stop at the end of December. Will the tax get repeated every year?

42. The WtE plant does not come into existence for another 3 years therefore unless the government is able to generate additional revenues, the tax will have to stay. If we are lucky it maybe tweaked.

43. Members of the BU household read some of the comments posted and we wonder why bother sometimes. Some of you know how to deflate any motivation we have for providing a forum where we can candidly address issues. Instead, some of you remain selfish by making this about you and you and you instead of, the issues, the issues, the issues.

@PDC

If 200 Bajans are aware of your existence it is a big number, get real. If you don’t want harsh feedback to become better, carry on with your harangue.

@All

BU requires a lot of time to manage, and we make no money by allocating that time, we do it because there is a need for a forum in Barbados to expose the dark transaction and so far we have stepped up, we wish other would do the same. Some of you who post comments please ask yourselves if you prefer BU to not exist for much longer.

44. We would have thought that Barbados was in a civil war since 1627 circa. That that low intensity conflict is destined to burst at the seams we would suggest that the conditions for such were more created by a number of circumstances and people who are revered by some. These may include the absence of land for the post slavery landless. And so on. Surely the inept DLP, especially Barrow and his public order act made a sizable contribution. But also currently Stuart, with his narcissistic personality as deployed to numb himself form the suffering of the people. Indeed, he takes delight in additional punitive measures. This national sickness pervade the other side too. And you think a mere scribe could do as much damage as the system itself. You must be smoking something. All these would of helped in inciting the righteous public rage that will come. For it must! If some want to shoot this messenger, be our guest! We have no fear of no man or wooman. We have no fear of death, itself. Let’s fearlessly transform our country!

45. How do you expect the government to take care of the elderly, the poor, deaf, dumb, the intellectually disabled, without taxing able bodied people? – Dompey – in his 10.42 am, July 7, 2014, blog.

1) There is ABSOLUTELY no connection between the TAXATION system in Barbados, and the government and other’s providing services, facilities, infrastructures and communication media to those same sectors of people.

These are absolutely mutually exclusive arenas.

Where as one involves the government and its tax enforcers evilly criminally STEALING ROBBING the relevant portions of the remunerations of the relevant people, businesses and others in this country, the other involves the human physical constituency make up maintenance re-forming aspects of these respective things leading up to the human physical mechanical functioning operating of these material forms themselves to the extent that they – in or of themselves, together in conjunction with one another – help provide the services, the facilities, infrastructures, communication media for themselves and for every sector in this country including the government sector, the poor sector, the differently abled sector, etc.

For instance, taxes are NOT buses; taxes CANNOT run buses. Only the material making them up and the relevant different human technical engineering and other components coming together to make the bus and to run the bus for it to provide a bus service for commuters.

2) There is absolutely NO TAXATION of able bodied or any other persons in this country.

There is only the evil criminal TAXING by these intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt, and discredited DLP and BLP governments of countless portions of the remunerations of the relevant people, businesses and other entities in this country.

Too, as said before, the government CANNOT TAX anything physical including human beings.

Again these areas are totally mutually exclusive.

46. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Pachamama | July 7, 2014 at 1:27 PM | PM is a crook , liar and scumbag
    He is a crook as a lawyer
    He was and is a crook as AG
    Was and is a Crook as PM
    More of a crook after PM David.
    PM a crook Before during and after the elections
    PM is a crook after viewing vote buying
    PM a crook while in office as his little PIMP Minister doing his bidding,
    PM is a Crook looking to have the poor pay taxes on all the trash he speaks

Bajans better take a good look at him and his ways , but dont look at him to long , , you may turn to stone.

47. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

David | July 7, 2014 at 6:58 PM | every thing is an issue in BARBADOS, these issues are all of use and we all will respond in may different ways , It may depends on what we know or who we trust as the speaker, how we grew up and what we learned along the way.
    Some may not go in the street but they will type to let the world know just how they feel , no one can tell another how they feel and how event effects them .People of Barbados are in PAIN ,
    Time are hard and getting harder, The PM the COP, the AG, the MOF and Lowe need to be removed, right now , today ,

48. But Plantation, why remove a few minions and leave the system in place. Firing these people will not get us a square inch of stolen land.

49. pdc you really bump yuh head

For instance, taxes are NOT buses; taxes CANNOT run buses. Only the material making them up and the relevant different human technical engineering and other components coming together to make the bus and to run the bus for it to provide a bus service for commuters.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

.so where is govt going to find the money to buy the buses or provide the service,,,,,,,,,,what de . ,, ..in economics there is cost and labour no matter how the product is put together and by whom,,,,,when govt needs to have a safe and reliable transportation system ,it need revenue,,,,,,and one way is by taxing,,,,,, now if you lived in the soviet union………here is what might happen

Soviet citizens are basically all welfare recipients. The government controlled business and the means of production, and all revenue went to the government, which then dished out monthly cheques to everyone. The amounts didn’t differ all that much, which is why the Soviets always tried to claim that everyone was equal.

50. Thank you Senator Mc Clean for your explanation to my query. Madam Senator I would like to also ask you do you really believe that we have nuff money put down to take up and pay this tax?? Why is the hospital in the state it is in?

The government can’t further raid the NIS and cannot borrow money on the world market so they will raid whatever the population has.

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a Socialist.

Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a Trade Unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.