The Sunday, July 6, 2014 Voice of Barbados (VoB) talk show will be the host of The Hon. Christopher Sinckler, M.P. Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs and Commissioner of the Barbados Revenue Authority, Margaret Sivers to clarify public concern about the Municipal Solid Waste Tax and related issues โ€“ Click image to follow the program from 11AM.

The Sunday, July 6, 2014 Voice of Barbados (VoB) talk show will host The Hon. Christopher Sinckler, M.P. Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs and Commissioner of the Barbados Revenue Authority, Margaret Sivers to address public concern about the Municipal Solid Waste Tax and related issues โ€“ Click image to follow the program from 11AM.

280 responses to “Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler and Commissioner of the Barbados Revenue Authority Margaret Sivers Meet Talk Show Host Corey Layne to Debate the Muni Tax”

1. Minister Sinckler we will be listening to you very carefully.

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

A snake can not talk straight MoF

3. Livy Carter โ€“ In Memorium

Pachamama

We are born alone
    We die alone
    Only love and friendship
    Help us believe, we’re not alone
    (Hunter S Thompson (sic))

On Tuesday 17th June 2014 Cleveland Livingston Carter (Livy) transitioned to another state of being. I would like to think that he is now with our ancestors but he was a Christian man and possessed strong beliefs in those traditional values. So for this moment and for my friend Livy, I hope that he is right and that I am wrong.

Livy was a special human being with a deeply rooted sense of right and wrong. In another time and space he would have been a social activist of world renown. In a space unencumbered by a certain kind of history he might have found politics as the best means of service to humanity. In the end it was service to others, from his younger days and for most of his life, that separated Livy from the many. Those of us who knew him well would sometimes suggest to him that he needed to re-order his priorities, but not Livy. For he believed in helping others and that helpful nature informed his character as the most decent human beings.

In recent years I witnessed this remarkable father and friend carry the heaviest burdens any human being can be expected to bear. He carried those burdens with the highest sense of decency. And although conditions were getting more grave he would still occupy himself with the struggles of others. He would still find the energy to speak to those of us who would constantly call to inquire about him. He would still see the usefulness of engaging us with matter for which he was the expert. Though severely weakened he would still find the energy to speak publicly about health issues with a sense of courage and determination. An act of and within itself was his ultimate give to all of us.

My thought are with has family. I trust his life’s work will help us all to create the better world that is possible. That his memory gives his family the strength to fill the void his passing has created. A great oak has fallen and its sound will forever reverberate throughout the universe.

Farewell Livy. Sleep well, my friend. Sleep well!

4. Adian Loveridge Avatar
    Adian Loveridge

I hope someone will ask WHY the email address shown on the MWT bills does NOT work and that the telephone number states VOICE MAIL BOX FULL.

5. @Adrian

Will pass on to Corey.

On 6 July 2014 12:11, Barbados Underground wrote:

6. A certain future coalitional regime of Barbados and of which the PDC will be a part shall lead the way in creating a POST-Taxation society for Barbados.

7. Shiite man!!!
    The BIGGEST impediment to a viable third political movement in Barbados is the blasted PDC……on and on with a lotta incoherent shiite talk….
    You ain’t got no socks to sell…?

8. Waiting aka Passing thru Avatar
    Waiting aka Passing thru

Bush tea yuh killing muh this bright Sunday morning wait the one member PDC sells socks on Sunday too. Prodigal spilt personality island gal and the BLPites pledge never to march with PDC again that means the marchers will be down to ninety seven next time commie Bobby write the COP for permission.
    When you survey the array of twerps David included on BU they are straight out of that hit Broadway show, Send in the Clowns!

9. Amen Bush Tea!!
    PDC can’t even write one lil contribution to the blog withot having to follow up with “in advertence”.

10. Posted to David’s FB page:

Why is there a new tax for solid waste? Why do we pay someone $30 Million per year to separate OUR waste? Future Centre Trust said years ago, SEPARATE AT HOME. Is the solid waste tax designed to target middle incomes in order to pay funds to upper income businesses, while they forgot to educate and GIS speak to the population? I want to separate my own waste, I don’t see why government forces me by taxation to pay Solid Waste 30M because it is too incompetent to organize home recycling, it’s unfair. Why pay Bolt Solutions $25Million dollars, a company that was only just formed, which received a contract prior to its formation according to Advocate News? Is this another, yet another in the list of Government continuously awards giant funding for stupid money in cook up untendered, secretly back room organized contracts to big business, and now expects and decides the droid captive citizen to pay in solid waste tax?

11. Adian Loveridge Avatar
    Adian Loveridge

Thank you David, even Ms M Sivers (Commissioner) email address doesn’t work either, so effectively there is NO practical way to contact them other than personally visit the office.

12. The PDC has evolved so far fourteen (14) fundamental principles concerning Money and its uses in Barbados.

The tenth (10th) principle states that M can NEVER be TAXED – only nominal incomes, nominal revenues, nominal transfers by an evil wicked government in the industrial commercial realms of a country most despicably evilly however.

Furthermore, and related to that principle, there CANNOT be TAXED ANYTHING physical whatsoever.

Thus, it is stark ignorance and folly of prodigious proportions for any one to falsely believe that garbage can be TAXED (a very gross and wicked intellectual psychological ruse subterfuge by the government of Barbados), when in truth and in fact that government of Barbados – in setting up such a damned ruse and subterfuge for many people to unhesitatingly swallow down the wrong tract – continues to wickedly evilly STEAL and ROB many hapless TAX victims of portions of what are rightfully their own remunerations in this country.

TAXATION is THEFT, THEFT is EVIL, TAXATION is EVIL.

TAXATION MUST GO in this country!!

13. @Caswell

An X5 BMW will sooth the disappointment.

14. Separating the garbage from home will require at least 4 bins per house/apartment complex, i am sure it would be cheaper than paying 30,000,000 per year, something is wrong with this picture.

15. Waiting aka Passing thru aka aka aka aka aka……….?

16. What is absolutely horrendous and criminal about the government of Barbados is that it makes sure that in the law courts of the people of this country that there is a process of criminal justice meted out to persons who are convicted of THEFT and ROBBERY on the facts of those cases and on the judicial officers application of the relevant law, et al.

Yet where the government WICKEDLY STEALS and ROBS (TAXES) the relevant persons, businesses and other entities of what are rightfully theirs – those relevant portions of their remunerations – there is no retributive justice system put in place yet to deal with the wickedness and badness of the government STEALING and ROBBING (TAXING) those persons, businesses and other entities of what are theirs.

Such is fundamentally wrong and wicked!!

This is another reason why Arthur’s bid to phantomly get relief for some people in ST. Peter from some so-called really NON-existent Municipal TAX is such a flagrant political gimmick dead on arrival.

17. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

I do not understand why people want to rationalize this ridiculous tax. All wunna got to understand is what is the definition of a tax……… A tax is a means for govt to get revenue from the people. All this govt trying to do is milk an already overtaxed populace in this homemade economic crisis. I mean how can this govt claim that that are thinking of the people and now want to implement a tax that is less avoidable to pay than the VAT. I mean, with the VAT any shopper can stop buying certain items or due to the sake of Inflation they have to buy less because prices have increased in comparison to salaries that have been virtually frozen. This govt seeing VAT and other tax revenues declining are looking for creative ways to get a more stable revenue stream by “getting more money from the people”. Placing a tax on assets is LESS AVOIDABLE, i mean are people and businesses gonna sell their property to avoid paying a tax? It is a tax that they MUST PAY!!!!! And it is a new tax in an ECONOMIC CRISIS!!!!, new taxes in economic crises just WORSENS the crisis. I mean is this govt DAFT!!!!!
    I want to tell this govt….FOR CHRIST SAKE STOP………TAXING……. DE…….. PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! since 2008 from their very first budget they increased the cost of living by increasing taxes and fees across the board.
    Then you got to address the implementation of the tax…….which….to put it mildly….IS BULLLLLLSHHHHIITT!!!!!!!!!. I mean does Barbados have THAT SERIOUS of a problem in the producing and handling of solid waste??????. I can understand it for First World countries. Then, if i am correct, the tax is based on the value of a property which has… a…. building… on… it,………… and not on volume of waste produced……….I mean if any thing they could of based it on the SIZE and not the PROPERTY VALUE…….

18. DLP said:

” A tax is a means for govt to get revenue from the people.”

But not necessarily FOR THE PEOPLE, and these particular parasites got a really bad track record.

19. Corruption soft or hard occurs when large capital projects are being rolled out. It is difficult to misappropriate a tax revenue which flows into the consolidated fund.

20. I understand the consolidated fund is easily accessible.

21. @ Adrian
    “Ms M Sivers (Commissioner) email address doesnโ€™t work either”

Try the following…. worked for me a couple of days ago

'siversm@gob.bb'

22. Adian Loveridge Avatar
    Adian Loveridge

Wily, Thanks very much. Will do.

23. Notice how differential this sucker is when it come to monied owed to Cow & Bizzy. What about others? Including Barack! These Whites boys got this government over a ‘barrel and receiving big’. This has been the tread of transferring resources from the public to the private sector. The minister seems to be working for Williams Industries, no?

24. @Pacha

The treatment of waste disposal is being given priority.

25. What priority! This government has a long history of Mal-administration of waste management. That the so-called cure is to consolidate more wealth into the hands of Williams Industries on the backs of other small property owners is tiefing from the poor to enrich COW.

26. Listening to Stinkler ….we are in even deeper shit than even Bushie thought….this man is totally clueless….
    Bizzy decides to build a multi-million dollar recycling plant at vaucluse …..so therefore BAJAN LAND OWNERS must pay a shiite tax to ensure that Bizzy’s investment is profitable…?
    What the shirt!!!

And even if a tax is needed to be applied to deal with excess GARBAGE …how the hell does that translate to property ownership?
    …ANY KIND OF JACKASS ( even ac) would see the need to tax the CAUSES of the lotta garbage….
    IMPORTS….and wasteful habits…

NOT INVESTMENTS IN REAL ESTATE…..

We have been cursed with the most stupid leaders ever to have been visited on this little island……

27. Sinckler is no more than an employee for COW and he brodah!

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The first caller had to have been a plant and he did not ask any questions of the minister what he did was to allow the minister to expand rather consolidate him previous comments.

Sinckler spoke for 45 minutes and then, after the first caller called, Sinckler spoke another 10 minutes.

Roughly an hour to himself

29. @ Bush Tea
    I agree with you 100 %.

30. @Bush Tea

If you listened to the minister carefully he indicated his government continued with blessing (without an agreement) to give Williams Group commitment to the project. No similar commitment to B’s Recycling?

31. All the minister had to say to Mr. P is that BRA is expected to address arrears more efficiently. No long talk necessary.

32. Pacha
    The ONLY logical explanation ….and the common denominator…. is that Bizzy and COW OWN these shiite hounds we call politicians.

How the hell does it become GOVERNMENT’S responsibility to guarantee Bizzy’s profitability?
    Why does Bizzy not have to come up with a business plan to source the garbage needed to fuel HIS recycling plant?

We already PAY HIM LARGE SUMS of money for “desalination” of water (that is really already fresh water when pumped- as EVERYONE knows)…..

Who the hell is Bizzy that Bajan taxpayers should underwrite every shiite project he dreams up ….just because he can bribe some political shiite hounds…?

…we just lucky we aint paying for Red Jet all like now too….

33. Maybe Bizzy is recieving Redjet payback.

34. David
    This sucker is an employee of certain interests. Barbados is so inbreed that even the ads are sponsored by the same interests. So you have a moderator paid by COW. A minister paid by COW. And a radio station dependent on revenues from COW. Bajans are no more than fish, in a barrel.

35. @ Bushie
    These White boys are trying to own all the necessities for life and living in Barbados. And Sinckler and this government, like the one before, have delivered Bajans to corporate interests, wholesale. We are in duck’s guts.

36. Who is listening to this female caller?

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Let this ole man axe a stupid question.

What about the strategy of separation at source?

Three bins at each man’s/woman’s house where we place food/bio-degradables in Bin A, non-biodegradables Bin B and gl(ass) in Bin C

Can we not establish a concurrent strategy where we the homeowner effect part of the cycle of solid waste management?

Does that not make it possible for homeowners to get some sort of credit for this sorting?

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

She got Sinckler jumping and running from the bouncers and googalies

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Sinckler has not answered her question. She is simply saying if there is $$ being derived from the waste why does it cost so much and is commensurately reflected in the solid waste tax.

40. We can discuss this matter until thine kingdom come the mini tax is implemented, done!

Applying a tax to site value with improved value is a stupid criteria to determine payment.

How can you put this tax on pensioners and the tourism sector? A sector accepted as being uncompetitive.

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

This caller is making some serious sense relative to the quantity of waste/household and if there is any equity in the measurement of waste collected and $$ levied.

Let me explain.

If my Point of Source Garbage collection/sorting system has a standard size and when collected we just apply a per unit cost so that the Sanitation Service Authority can easily quantify the number of units collected and compute the associated cost per household

42. And when middle class people lose their land because they cant pay Bizzy Williams, the other one Cow Williams will be all too eager to snap it up.

43. Can you imagine idiots of the ilk of Stinkler negotiating on our behalf?
    This jackass is arguing that Bizzy is doing us a favour by “taking garbage for free”

Our NATIONAL representative takes a decision to provide raw materials for Bizzy’s plant – from which Bizzy is actually making millions of dollars from recycled products – FREE OF COST to Bizzy…..
    ….and now over and above this, he is now TAXING property owners in order to FURTHER enhance Bizzy’s pockets….

If Bizzy wants to operate a recycling business why does he not have to source his operational costs JUST LIKE other black Bajans…?

Who signed this 15 year contract with Bizzy?
    Who signed the water desalination agreement with Bizzy?

You are right Pacha….these white people are obsessed with owning every shiite that their eyes can see….and the politicians are so dumb and open to bribes, that they are all a bunch of sitting ducks…

Bushie is suddenly having new respect for minister Hutson for scratching the Red Jet scam…. …yet another Waterford boy who may be ever true to God and right…..

44. @Bush Tea

The deal was started by the BLP and concluded by this DLP government.

@St. Georges Dragon

Ok, we accept your position, we will look the other way that all the directors bar one live in the same area etc. The optics!

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

“the minister may remit or provide injunctive relief” for money that is paid in.

You hear the idiocy!! I ent got a cent to pay this tax but, i gine sell my botsie and pay the tax, then apply to BRA for injunctive relief AFTER the fact or fvck

46. This government wants overthrowing! Over the last 20 years all types of new tax regimes have been implemented. Most noticeably VAT, now this levy. Imposed on an impoverished populace. And a Minister telling us about the bureaucracy to make beggars of Bajans of stinking politicians. Let the guillotine start its work!

47. @ Pacha
    This government wants overthrowing!
    ….worse…
    They need committing…

48. More Waste to Energy docs:

doc 1

doc 2

doc 3

doc 4

49. This tax DOES NOT make sense. The minister said that EVERYBODY creates waste, so why should ONLY property owners have to pay the tax? They only represent a certain percentage of the society, but pay for everybody’s waste.

50. The dirty politicians always saying that a new tax will be for a short period. Then it become permanent. This is a regular lie. They said the same thing about VAT. Sinckler is a liar!