The Sunday, July 6, 2014 Voice of Barbados (VoB) talk show will be the host of The Hon. Christopher Sinckler, M.P. Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs and Commissioner of the Barbados Revenue Authority, Margaret Sivers to clarify public concern about the Municipal Solid Waste Tax and related issues โ€“ Click image to follow the program from 11AM.

The Sunday, July 6, 2014 Voice of Barbados (VoB) talk show will host The Hon. Christopher Sinckler, M.P. Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs and Commissioner of the Barbados Revenue Authority, Margaret Sivers to address public concern about the Municipal Solid Waste Tax and related issues โ€“ Click image to follow the program from 11AM.

280 responses to “Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler and Commissioner of the Barbados Revenue Authority Margaret Sivers Meet Talk Show Host Corey Layne to Debate the Muni Tax”

1. Earth to BTA earth to BTA

The horse Patrick won with today is owned by the CEO of MGM studios.

2. Pacha said:
    “Pachamama | July 6, 2014 at 12:01 PM |

@ Bushie
    These White boys are trying to own all the necessities for life and living in Barbados. And Sinckler and this government, like the one before, have delivered Bajans to corporate interests, wholesale. We are in duckโ€™s guts.”

Tell it like it is, those couple bajan whites ARE ALLOWED to own Barbados and Bajan by inadequate, WEAK BLACK LEADERS who by the way are mostly males.

Independent…..Sinckler probably does not even realize what he is trying to tell you so here goes, property owners HAVE TO pay the tax, property owners who rent their properties will pass on the cost to their tenants, ergo, the tenants are also paying the tax, same goes for the business people who own properties, including government…….bottom line, everyone ends up paying the solid waste tax in one form or another…….SInckler and the DLP ministers are asses, easily fooled by the likes of Bizzy and Cow, who themselves are semi-literate, just imagine all the ministers have degrees and they are all dumb.

Piece…….garbage separation at home is the way to go, Bizzy dreamed another scam and the dumb ass ministers in Barbados fell for it.

SImple said:

“Iโ€™ve been told that the City provides a bin or basket for newspapers, flattened cardboard boxes and such and that since this is clean and dry is is collected once a month.”

The Canadians and Americans have been doing this for years, at least 4 bins are made available, the trucks may not pass for all the same day, there are days when wet garbage is taken up and days when dry garbage/recyclables are taking up, how did black leaders in Barbados get so stupid, Bizzy is getting garbage for free.

when politicians start mouthing this crown shit, i remind them that buckingham palace, windsor castel, westmonster abbey etc. are little more than whore houses with many pimps, pedophiles and whores and have been from before the 15th century….what crown what, crown my ass.

3. Apologies to David and fellow bloggers for introducing an off topic story about one of the most successful Bajan jockeys in Canada.

4. @Well Well “when politicians start mouthing this crown shit, i remind them that buckingham palace, windsor castel, westmonster abbey etc. are little more than whore houses with many pimps, pedophiles and whores and have been from before the 15th centuryโ€ฆ.what crown what, crown my ass.”

I second that.

If you have been following the British media you will realize that many of the peodeophile files have been “loss”

5. @Bush Tea July 6, 2014 at 1:19 PM “Perhaps if he had gone to a school where the story of the man who killed the golden goose was toldโ€ฆhe would not have been โ€ฆ”

But we all learnt that story. I certainly learned it at St.X way back in the 50’s. Maybe the Minister was absent from school that day.

6. Was Corey fearful or fearless

7. @pieceuhderockyeahright July 6, 2014 at 1:41 PM “Do you note that, even with a calculator, Minister Sinckler still has difficulty with the decimal point?”

I worked out the tax myself using the calculator on my $49.95 cellphone..and I failed Math at CXC.

LOL!!! Mr. MInister. LOL!!!!!

8. chris really in’t had no business being the Minister of Finance.

The same person who appointed him…should disappoint him…pronto.

9. With the implementation of this new tax, willnDennis be seeking the salary increase so that we may pay this tax. I remember him saying that the government had reneged on the agreement ie no salary increase/no layoffs – or something of the sort. How are we to pay this bloody tax when we’re at the end of our baller. We can’t even depend on the dividends from the credit union as we no longer get that. Also I hear the credit union Public Workers, want to increase the permanent shares from $120.00 to $500.00. Why the fack enna don’t stop killing us All wunnan dying is stressing we out and there ain’t much more room down Genkins.

10. @lemuel July 6, 2014 at 1:50 PM “Bushie and Piece: We know that Sinklair aint too bright but we need not rub his nose so badly!!”

And why not?

We pay him $17,000 per month.

We expect better for our $17,000

Instead of rubbing his nose in it we should fire him.

11. @ Well Well
    Sinckler very clearly said that payment of solid waste tax by government owned property would simply be “an accounting matter”. It would not acually be paid.
    At the moment there is a lot of property for sale/for rent. Passing on solid waste tax to tenants is easier said than done! You may very well end up losing a tenant, which will only make your situation worse. Some property owners who have tenants to help pay mortgage on the property already have to supplement the rent, because rentals have dropped by between 25 to 50 %. Rentals were way too high but problem is that mortgages are/were high as well, and the mortgages have not gone down.

12. Another thing. Some landowners don’t even / can’t even get a blind cent in land rent. So they have to pay this tax for another’s garbage.

we really got to wait for another 3 to 4 years?

13. Didn’t Minister Sinckler suggest that the tax is not as onerous as many is making out in the interview?

14. @Anti Corruption Officer. July 6, 2014 at 2:13 PM “Where is Dr Denis Lowe and his new $250,000 BMW X5?”

Alas it is likely that the Minister will be solid waste long before his BMW X5 joins him in the place of no return.

15. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

crown land means the DBLP and the AG taking
    or the Queen of England is also know as the crown.
    when thses crook say crown i does not mean the Queen of England.
    It means pvt Fraud hands and bank accounts front man Sir Cow from Sir Cheltenham .

16. @Deeds

How your party expect to spend $29.37 cents and win an election in Barbados?

17. Sinckler should be taken seriously, he is just a buffoon. The PM having a laugh and he and we.
    He went to The World Bank last week only to be told that The World Bank has suspended extending any credit to Barbados due to country risk for Barbados being too high.
    WHAT A FRIGGING CLOWN.

18. Correction Sorry I meant Corey was fearless.

19. Independent………..it get worse as times go by, much worse.

Dumbville Inniss is at it again, encouraging Bajans to buy local yet his ministry APPROVES import license for Paul Enterprises to IMPORT CHICKEN WINGS, and i really hope it’s not for 5 years…….what the hell is wrong with Dumbville Inniss, that ass..

20. When asked about applying it as per water usage the man dance like a music box. If a financier of a Political party needs to be repaid .. let the f’cking political party do the repaying … not the tax payer

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Simple Simon and Hants

Just for a little while I will bring a little Tsun Tzu to the blog to show how bereft of ideas this pack of she dogs and she rabbits is.

“Parallel Operations”

Tsun Tzu advised this manouvre even though he rarely employed it recommending a pincer movement, or “double envelopment” where military forces simultaneously attack both flanks (sides) of an enemy formation.

Fast forward to modern warfare 101 and we see “the versatility of air and space power, properly executed in parallel attacks, can attain parallel effects which present the enemy with multiple crises occurring so quickly that there is no way to respond to all or, in some cases, any of them” Air Force Doctrine Document.

Enter the POC, no not the PDC, those several madmens who collectively display Dissociative Identity Disorder as if smoking from the same cocaine pipe, at multiple locations all over Bulbados no the POC.

The Personification of Cvnts or the DLP.

Now they do not know doing things in small measures so that the ranks and file might be fooled as to their intent.

No without Harley Henry these rabbits do not understand pincer movements where they (i) choose a few districts with enough land reserve in front of peoples houses to install 3 to 4 bins (ii) run the sort at source programme in these areas (iii) evaluate the metrics of such programmes and the cost benefits of these pilots against the $342M dollar plant that i know Denis Lowe is not going to live long enough to enjoy.

Thereafter make an informed decision as to whether the bins, funded by a EU grant or the Climate Fund, makes more sense than the Bizzy Williams idea/programme/strategy/kickback.

We could even go to Jean Balleau at the Wildlife Reserve and ask him to give us the blueprint to the granulation of tyres project to have some of the 6000 phvcking workers set up a plant to made de phvcking bins for installation in front of the houses.

But then again this is the same PHVCKERS who, arem with EU$35M euros have, instead of looking at every single ghetto and shanty village all over Bulbados and getting the Chinese to supply PVC units for the houses of the economically disadvantaged and tek an nex part of the 4,000 more government servants that them yet to sen hope, train dem, and let dem start de installation process of PVC’s to bring down we $800M fuel bill.

But I blame you and me Simple Simon causing when dem female rabbits cum to we house wid de pathways to Progress Dogshite and faeces and de next one dat Owen Seethru does print we buhkvnths does doan let de topsie wid de pee dat we was keeping from 2008 fuh dem backside loose in dem face and mouf…

We are the ones responsible for replacing one set of incompetents with this udder set….game set and match

22. @Baffy

Are you negating the seriousness of the need to dispose of waste in an efficient manner? Remember the issue is not garbage collection but disposal.

23. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Barbados get a lot of fraud mention on google under massive land land fraud Barbados,
    no need to be on the horse the World know more than the Bajans
    The PENNY SHALL RETURN

24. Can anyone tell me whether Bizzy’s newish mother-in-law (Shelly’s mummy) still working for Inland Revenue/Barbados Revenue Authority?

25. David,
    For Sinckler to say that the tax is not as onerous as people are saying clearly shows how out of touch, pompous and arrogant he has become!

Just because $200 is nothing to him does not mean that to the poor pensioner it is not a big deal!

26. “The only responsible approach of any right-thinking person is to urge those eligible to pay the tax to obey the laws and to take such protective action for themselves as is embedded in the said legislation” – reproduced from the editorial in the Sunday Sun of the 6th of July, 2014.

No citizen or no entity of Barbados is entitled to obey any tax laws in this country.

None whatsoever!!

The fact that TAXATION is THEFT means that no amount of local laws can legally repair the government’s theft and robbery of the relevant portions of the remunerations of the relevant persons, businesses and other entities in this country.

Hence any citizen or any entity of Barbados has every political right to protect their remuneration properties against such illegal criminal impositions by the government.

Furthermore there cannot be a better time than now for the broadest numbers of the people of this country to REVOLT against this evil criminal TAXATION system in Barbados, and to also help usher in a POST-Taxation society for Barbados.

“We do not feel that any minister ( of health? community development? tourism?) in the present or any government of this country likes to impose onerous taxation on anyone especially at a time of recession and reduced incomes in people’s pocket” – reproduced from the editorial in the Sunday Sun of the 6th of July, 2014.

The fact is that any parasite for a Minister of Finance of any government of Barbados likes to impose TAXATION on the remunerations of the relevant others, when it is clearly factually established that the same Minister of Finance does not wish to get out there and to make sure that he helps make income for the government.

And this unwholesome attitude of the Minister of Finance has nothing to do with whether Barbados is in a political economic recession or not, but has every thing to do with the Minister’s absolute constant immorality in pursuing his own wicked self interest and greed at all costs, as he – on the basis of oppressive suppressive laws and the enforcement of such – wickedly deprives the relevant others of many of their hard earned remuneration properties.

27. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

David | July 6, 2014 at 7:06 PM |

@Deeds

How your party expect to spend $29.37 cents and win an election in Barbados?@

DAVID ,@ As YOU now can see that those crooks liars and vote buying scumbags had more than 2million to buy votes ,
    By all other law in any case we WON , for the cheated.
    PM saw the crooks, Police saw the crooks and The C.U.P maybe part of the reason they cheated,
    Think if the law was working and We had to do a re-vote. All the people who stayed home might have come out the 2nd time to vote and we would WIN, for proof of both parties being crooks, Win at any COST.
    So as said , You all now looking to get the Picture and some still looking to cover up what we did not even write , But now they saw.
    We in the C.U.P , will never buy a Vote as you can see in Britons Hill vote range was $200. to $300 and up to $400 in Rockley ,Ch Ch.

Base on the Math DAVID we not spend $200 so no vote buying By the Bajan Free Party. None Of the C.U.P Members bought any votes and used our OWN money , As Reported by Barbados Today ,A CLEAN CUP.

Next Election David they Will have to come with more than 500million USD to win Next time, Roll -Royce will be Sold to Keep UP with the CUP , FULL 30 on standby,
    Remember this POST

28. @Deeds

Actually you have to look for a full slate of credible candidates if you want to be taken seriously. You have to write articles to the media, you have to have a message that resonates NOT NO TAXATION, a constitution, some damn thing.

29. LOL
    Some shiite is seriously wrong with PDC…..but lo and behold …..
    …he is CORRECT…..for once.
    Wuh even a broken clock is correct every now and again…..
    +++++++++++++++
    “….any citizen or any entity of Barbados has every political right to protect their remuneration properties against such illegal criminal impositions by the government.”
    ++++++++++++++++
    This brass bowlery by Stinkler et al ….is so nasty, devious and wicked, that Bushie fears that PDC has been made to be correct by the excessive idiocy of these DLP clowns….

Taking money from widows and pensioners to GIVE to Bizzy …..IN ADDITION to giving him FREE raw materials for his business …..AND paying him millions of dollars to “desalinate” pure, fresh, Bajan water ….Bushie tired with crooked Bizzy now!
    Why not put some real sea water through Bizzy’s shiite plant and see what happens…..

Down with the damn DLP and the Blasted BLP
    ….and the mad-ass PDC

30. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

David | July 6, 2014 at 8:48 PM @ Actually you have to look for a full slate of credible candidate
    Do the Bajan People have a full slate of crooks now in Office. all the best liars and scumbags , Who got their paper work at fraud as UWI, now running the country , Who dont want no one to learn any thing to see and to know what these crooks are doing ? Is this now the so called dark ages for the Bajans, , Who the hell need to be a Lawyer, QC , Sir or any Minister to Rob the People , Even the Ex CJ was and still a crook, the ex COP also a crook,
    So we need Good clean People no Pimp titles and the few good lawyers if needed and Citizen to advise if needed , None of who is there now will be looked at ,
    All laws will be followed and the World will look at us with a good eye,
    Plantations sugar and other things we need to be fit and good and no GMO foods,
    We can also start from pre 1997 before MIA and Own VAT fraud removed,
    Audit will be done to see where we stand and roll back to all is balance ,
    None of the Party will take any pay until the Work of the People is set in place,
    COP will have full power to all records to see who did what ,Audit Audit . All report will be made public , new paper will have full freedom to print what ever they find ,,New will report and will have more than one TV station and Radio . just to start,

31. David if the public of Barbados are being asked to raise 53 Million dollars a year to pay Bizzy Williams I say, raise the money and build public’s own facility .. simple. I rather have money INVESTED in plant than payed to service providers that have a an attached return on investment agenda. How could a political party give an assurance to anyone to invest money because the public will pay them back..?

32. How much did both political parties make on this deal ..?

33. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

BAFBFP | July 6, 2014 at 10:16 PM |

How much did both political parties make on this deal ..?@ ALL

34. If only we knew how much money Bizzy gave in campaign contributions to BOTH parties.

35. http://www.dec.ny.gov/chemical/8732.html

is not solid waste mostly made by businesses.with polluting stacks and refuse from construction etc.a home owner and regular person has to pay to do what ? get rid of construction material,fridges,and so on.
    can all of this so called solid waste not be recycled.?
    just wondering .

36. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

Frankly, i am disappointed that more people couldn’t smell a rat as far as this tax is concerned. Listening to MOF Sinckler “dancing around” callers probing questions on VOB is just hilarious. It is part of the great DLP smoke and mirrors campaign to hold on to power and to do as they like in Barbados!!!!!!This tax is just another weapon of mass distraction in the DLP arsenal so that they can get more money from the populace!!!! Listening to people trying to rationalize and intellectualize the tax is hilarious and painful and the same time because they have totally been misdirected by the govt. They call it a municipal and solid waste tax but it is really a property tax!!!! Another blow to the middle class. Property value to waste production is such a POOR correlation it isnt funny.

37. @ BAF
    We have said previously that the political and economic elites have conspired against the people of Barbados. Elsewhere such an alliance is called by its proper name – FASCISM. So we can’t on the one hand pretend to have the trimmings of one systems when the central determination of that system, economy, is usurped through foul means by a few. In essence, the people of Barbados have been, are and will be mere window dressing for the political and economic elites to play this fascistic game. This is the only game this one trick pony knows.

38. This is the time now for the broadest numbers of people in Barbados to REVOLT against this criminal thieving unproductive anti-masses anti-middle classes TAXATION system in this country.

No citizen or entity of this country is entitled to obey any thieving robbing TAX laws in this country.

None what so ever!!

This is the time now for the broadest numbers of people in this country to help usher in a POST-Taxation society for Barbados.

39. The Holy Bible that many Christians in Barbados use in their daily weekly prayers and worship sessions state in the Eighth Commandment: Thou Shall NOT Steal.

All Christians must totally reject and oppose TAXATION on the necessary biblical theological moral political material grounds!!

For, TAXATION has been and is pure unadulterated THEFT and ROBBERY by the government of Barbados of the relevant portions of the relevant remunerations of the relevant people, businesses in this country.

No citizen or entity in Barbados is entitled to obey any criminal thieving anti-productive anti-masses anti-middle classes TAX laws or any TAX laws in this country.

None what so ever!!

40. The MOF has trivialized the Bajans ability to pay this extortionist solid waste tax. This government has lost touch with its people and has brushed us off as pests and enemies of the state.

Just listen to how and what the PM, MOF and Donville are saying to the population. Their manner is flippant, arrogant and extremely condescending when addressing the nation about this tax. ” Bajans should stop grumbling”. “There will be no change to this tax”, “you have to pay the tax first then apply for waiver if you can prove hardship”, They really think ALL Bajans are stupid. Yes we have the stupid ones like AC, Donkey, and few others.

Bajans now have to look for extra money they do not have, choose whether to fix their leaking roof before a hurricane, buy school clothes for their children, buy food for their family, pay their mortgages, pay their house insurance, pay their road tax, pay for their utilities.

This government is stripping every piece of dignity from Bajans bit by bit. When a nation looses its dignity what do you think will happen?

Barbados Barbadians PLEASE stand up and march. Do not cower and think that only a certain class will march. There are serious choices you will have to make, either you want a better and more transparent Barbados or let the politicians do as they like wid we. Listen to me THEY DON’T CARE ABOUT YOU AND ME!

41. @PDC

Do you realize that your narrative is tired and does NOT resonate with 99.999% of the BU family of Barbadians for that matter?

42. Why don’t you all IGNORE PDC? He is a mentally challenged person. Leave him alone and scroll down!

43. The idea is to interact with all people so that hopefully we have learnings on both sides.

44. We urge many Barbados to NOT give over any amounts of their hard earned or very legitimate or any kinds of described remunerations to any remuneration STEALING ROBBING so called Barbados Revenue Authority.

There are viable alternatives to the government of Barbados and its tax enforcers wickedly evilly thieving robbing the relevant individuals, businesses and others of countless portions of their remunerations in this country.

One of the first acts of a certain future coalitional regime of Barbados and of which the PDC will be part shall be to begin the process of ABOLISHING this so-called stupidly named Barbados Revenue Authority.

45. If the PDC and the CUP do not realize from their interactions on BU that their message is not resonating then they can feel free to lose another $29.37 cents.

46. Didn’t we hear before that the tax was on the improved value? Senator McClean was heard saying that?

47. McClean stated the muni tax will be applied to the landowner who has an improved value i,e, there is construction on the land which adds value.

48. Two of the principal undemocratic anti-people aims of the government of Barbados’s TAXATION laws and the TAXATION system in this country are in essence:

1) To OPPRESS and SUPPRESS the majority of the adult populace by making sure – by means of its perpetuating perpetrating such a regime of evil wicked theft and robbery laws and policies – that these same ordinary adults, especially males, only have just enough financial material means to on the balance of probabilities seriously challenge the power and authority government at any time

2) To DIVIDE and RULE the majority of the adult populace of this country on the bases of the same odious nefarious TAXATION laws and on this same criminal thieving TAXATION system, to ensure it remains undemocratically fascistically in power and authority in the present and future in this country.

These two essences are clearly present in the psychology mythology of a really non-existent MUNICIPAL TAX – which really is a mirage a subterfuge ruse for deceiving distracting disorientating as many people as possible into believing this is another TAX when it is totally objectively NOT so – when too it is just evidence of the extension of the government of Barbados’ evil wicked thieving robbing conduct into greater more realms of civil business society activity in this land.

Any serious local 21st century political party must provide these kinds of truths to the people of Barbados for any of them to understand them.

This is part of our profound responsibility to the people of Barbados.

49. DLP (formerly CBC) TV | July 7, 2014 at 2:12 AM |
    โ€œFrankly, i am disappointed that more people couldnโ€™t smell a rat as far as this tax is concerned. Listening to MOF Sinckler โ€œdancing aroundโ€ callers probing questions on VOB is just hilarious.โ€

Absolutely true………. Sinckler was clearly on the back-foot, as more informed callers used the opportunity to ask probing questions and were ably assisted by Corey Layne, who was fearless (and balanced) in moderating the program. I noticed that Sinckler was under so much pressure, his trademark bombastic and cantankerous style, which often make people retreat, was hardly given a chance to come to the fore.
    I was also happy to know that David Ellis did not moderate โ€œBrass Tacks Sundayโ€, because he usually ask DLP ministers a lot of lollipop questions and would โ€œback-downโ€ when they get aggressive.

When asked to explain or give further information, Sinckler replied with words to the effect that the DLP is not to blame for the solid waste tax because when they formed the government, they discovered the plant was negotiated under the BLP, so they (the DLP) had to continue with it. Then he went on to defend the tax.
    Also, Sincklerโ€™s vulnerability was exposed by the woman who asked pertinent questions about the money to be paid to Bizzy Williams, when she suggested we are providing garbage as the raw material, paying a tax to facilitate processing, while Williams makes money from the end product. He had to admit she was well informed.