Minutes of Meeting Held Between the BRA and NUPW:Customs Department to be Renamed External Taxes and Border Control Division

Chris Sinckler, Minister of Finance (l) Margaret Sivers, BRA Commissioner (r)
The decision by government to transition the Customs Department (CD) under the management of the Barbados Revenue Authority (BRA) must be carefully monitored by stakeholders. BU has no problem with the initiative to improve the efficiency at the CD. If Barbados is to be competitive inefficient and corrupt practices must be weeded out; the government has to change the way business is conducted by the CD. Anyone reading the Minutes of a meeting held on April 07, 2015 with the National Union of Public Workers to discuss the transitioning of the CD to the BRA will not be imbue with running confidence that the interest of the workers are being met.
See full text – Minutes of the NUPW/BRA meeting held on 07 April 2015

Pingback: Minutes of Meeting Held Between the BRA and NUPW:Customs Department to be Renamed External Taxes and Border Control Division
Man they brave, More TAX and VAT X more VAT and TAX = you DUTY to pay? Oh DUTY is another TAX ,, Taxes and Border Control Division
there is no control on VAT, TAXES, DUTY , NO BORDERS AND NO DIVISION, HAHAHAH ALL IS MATH THAT ADD UP TO YOUR LOSS AND LOSSES,
THIS IS NOT THE WAY TO CATCH UP TO THE IMF OR WORLD BANK REPORT,
NO CLEAR TITLE TO LAND , NO OUT SIDE MONEY , LOANS OR INVESTMENT ,
MEANS OVER TAXING TILL EVERYONE STAYS HOME FOR WORKING JUST TO PAY LIGHT WATER , FOOD , AND BUSES CARS SOON OFF THEY ROAD,
LESS ROAD TAXES MEANS MORE TAX, VAT , DUTY FOR EVERYONE,
VOTE BETTER NEXT TIME
LikeLiked by 1 person
It is a skill being able to read AND UNDERSTAND what you read.
On another blog AC read an order to reconnect phones and understood that the Court was telling LIME to pay a claimant and then went on to suggest that the man carry the court to the CCJ!!
The scan which records the minutes of the meeting is very interesting.
It gives some insight into a few things that de ole man going mention here.
I. It speaks to the sophisticated firing of 86 staff from the Customs and Excise Department 365 – 279
II. It speaks to the conditional continuity of employ of some of those 286 remaining based on a test administered by BRA HR resources a euphemism for “if wunna can suck cock good, we may allow you to keep wunna jobs” OR “is you a friend of the DLP party?
III. It shows the impotence of the NUPW and that faction as such relates to articulating the interest of workers in a manner where there is no ability for the powers that be to misunderstand that they are being watched
IV. It highlights a number of Customs and Excise functions which are being systematically devolved to an Agency which does not know how to manage customs operations
V. It speaks to the establishment of a monarchy and structure of despotism in the early stages like a Hitlerian consolidation of powers through Buffalo Sinckliar which is going to have some interesting consequences in the coming years
By the way, unless Buffalo Sinckliar (left) has received a sex change and Miss Sivers (right) the pictures above are inverted LOL unlessing this freudian slip portends to greater matters of gender and identity??
LikeLike
So 86 employees out of a department of 365 are not considered to be necessary – even after the Government’s public sector job cuts. How many others in the public sector are still being paid by our taxes to fill unnecessary posts?
LikeLike
Pieces, I also agonized re: “It highlights a number of Customs and Excise functions which are being systematically devolved to an Agency which does not know how to manage customs operations.”
Initially, it seemed odd to me that a customs/immigration position which can be categorized in general perspectives as policing/interdiction role would be subsumed under the direction of an accountant-business managers direction.
But I is no change management consultant and I ain’t study the role and responsibilities as they have so I would have to listen to the experts on this.
Still seem strange, though.
And not to mention Ms. Sivers’ position grows exponentially in power with tentacles across the service. But again maybe this is my naivety of the service and there are no future issues whatever.
LikeLiked by 1 person
@ De Ingrunt Word.
I doan tek a rocket scientist to see what DEM (no pun intended) is really doing.
Consolidation of Power.
And not a man Jack or woman Mia ent saying a ting bout it!!
DEM is a law to demselves
De Nex ting dat I expecting is some changes to the Boundaries and Electoral Committee and the method by which voting is going to be done.
NEW & IMPROVED BALLOTS to address the fact that all of them going get vote out, even Dipper Barrow Seat!!
LikeLike
Recently, de ole man tek to reading Edmund Burke.
I am fascinated by the timelessness of his speeches as I am with the commonalities with those of Malcolm X Shabazz.
If you look around the world with all of the social upheaval, just today we are seeing that Mohammed Morsi Egypt’s ousted president has been sentenced to death.
I all of this increasing revolution there is one common thread that is visible one that is best expressed by Burke’s comment
“People crushed by law, have no hopes but from power. If laws are their enemies, they will be enemies to laws; and those who have much to hope and nothing to lose, will always be dangerous.”
Burke also says
“Those who have been once intoxicated with power, and have derived any kind of emolument from it, even though but for one year, never can willingly abandon it. They may be distressed in the midst of all their power; but they will never look to any thing but power for their relief.”
It applies to Antigua and Barbuda, it aplies to St Kitts, it applies to Guyana and as of latem we are starting to see that IT NOW RAMPANT IN Barbados.
ALL HAIL FUMBLE, LONG MAY HE REIGN…
LikeLike
@ Piece
Perhaps you may have also noted the compliant role of women whenever such levels of shiite are contemplated by Jackass leaders….
Who the hell is this Shivers woman….? what has she done? where did she show the potential to take on such a role? ….she looks like somebody’s favourite aunt ….or some shiite…
…what is Bushie missing Piece…?!?!
Women, having no balls, are ideally suited for positions to rubber stamp despotic shiite…
From the EMERA Macdonald woman, to the Labour minister, …..to the hoards of them infesting all levels of the society in unsuitable roles….and contributing nothing but confusion…
WTH…
Listening to the comments of the acting NUPW general secretary, one is left to wonder how we even managed to survive thus far…..
No wonder the DEMS have been actively womanising every shiite …from the transport board to AC….women rarely challenge idiocy from a man in a position of power….
LikeLiked by 1 person
@ Bush Tea
While the ole man is not a male chauvanist pig (my wife tell me I can say that) it would appear that as you are suggesting, this is a tacit strategy of the DLP even moreso that Mia and the BLP.
You would hint to the obvious danger of giving women balls and it does send “shivers” down the ole man’s spine.
“It is our turn” to run tings while it is a chant that the DLP recently in from the doldrums has cause to cry out since they were in the doldrums for 14 years, I dont think we are able to gauge the impact of what putting INGRUNT WOMEN, not just women, Bush Tea, INGRUNT WUMEN appointees of the same INGRUNT DLP VISIONARIES, in these positions.
Now SSS, Smooth Chocolate and IslandGirl246 DO NOT MISINTERPRET what the ole man is saying.
I am not talking about equal opportunity for intelligent women, I am talking about ingrunt wumen, who by the way Bush Tea, does live 15 years longer than the average man!!
So you and I, after AC done kill we wid she swift kicks to we noggins, gine be gone and AC gine be bout heah, pun BU, 15 years longer, tormenting de Blogmaster David!!
I do hope that he succession plans don’t include no ingrunt wumens…
LikeLike
Wha loss u cuss de women because she is a woman. That is so wrong and just a load of cow-dung. This should got nutting to do wid her directly.
She did bout there is the civil service for donkey years almost now.
Not that it matters one single iota, but she even was at that school that de dead king attend…of course as a transplant to the upper school but she was a proper chica and was like one of de boys being a cadet and ting.
But anyhow wha dis got to do wid de womens and their role as part of the gov’t apparatus.
LikeLike
I am reliably informed that Customs hours of work are set in law since 1908 and their hours are fixed: Monday to Friday 8.15am to 4.30pm.Any work performed outside these hours are overtime hours.1908 is almost 18th century.No wonder the BRA is needed to change that stupidity in this day and age of mass air transport,huge shipping lines passenger and cargo ,big courier business where any Bajan can go on the net and have the item delivered to their home quick sharp.Customs Officers and Guards are hiding the truth from the public.All airlines and shipping lines pay overtime to customs officers and guards for work performed outside of what they call normal hours and every attempt made by airlines and shipping companies to change it,lead to blackmail from the NUPW.All these extra costs are passed on to the consumer and I am informed that the UN did a study on it and gave its recommendations to Government to stop the inefficiency and the extra cost burden on the mercantile and consuming public.I was given an example.If an officer is required to work before 8.15am he/she is guaranteed the double hourly rate plus transportation from home to the work location.Work after 4.30pm is paid at 1.5 the hourly rate plus transportation to home.On public holidays,the cost is astronomical and is a guaranteed full 8 hours overtime rate,so that an officer required for 1 hour has to be paid 8 hours at full rate plus transportation to and from home.In the event the 8hour public holiday work day is extended for an hour,a further 8 hours are guaranteed for that officer and the guard because you don’t get an officer without the guard.Its like coucou and salt fish,you don’t get one without the other.I understand the BRA will not be constrained by the archaic Customs rules which are made up after every NUPW negotiation and sometimes by some unruly customs officers who abuse their power and bully customers.ITS MORE IN THE MORTAR THAN THE PESTLE.Lets see if Sivers got balls or would be given goadies by the staff of Customs and Excise,among some of the brightest and smartest in the Service.
LikeLike
@ Gabriel
Your perspective is an interesting one.
Let me see if de ole man got this right.
Archaic 1908 Law prescribes Customs operations during times when messages came via telegrams and packages came via steam boats and on camel backs.
the age of cvntputers and super-liners with an interceding 30 different colonial and post independence administrations and not one of them thought of, or was able to change, the said laws up till today.
So whereas it was the responsibility of several governments to make these changes to optimize the operations of our ports, you are now saying that Miss Shivers, and her team of quasi-parliamentary knights in shining armour, have seen the travesties of the laws of this land and the pernicious hold that the NUPW et al has on the cvntry’s balls, and she, like a veritable superwoman, hath conceived of a plot sorry plan, to address said 1908 laws through this Machiavellian construct?
I have a swing bridge that I want to sell, it makes a marvellous tow for “the chilrun who are is reading well” meet on Friday next week when I am down there with the Feed My Sheep programme opposite Parliament House (our equivalent to the OK Coral Gunshot pun a fellow gunshot to Smiley Teets Marshall) and I will give you the title deeds.
LikeLike
Piece
You would think that Customs might bring on more staff to work at least 2 shifts like Chefette or Kentucky.No siree,the NUPW say dont bring on no staff pay the fellows some overtime money and I would get them to do the work so you wont have to hire no extra shift.Then some bright spark come down from the High Hem Hef and ze wirl banc and say all revenue should be under one roof,becuz lan tax doan speak to customs and income tax doan speak lan tax and licensing awtortee is a law unto demselves whichin dem did police.So confusion raining.Same ting went down in Jamaica,Trinidad and Guyana.Buhbaydus got to come on board.
LikeLike
Now Gabriel,
There is a rationale I could accept
Is there a memo of this directive that can be scanned and shared with doubting Thomases like me?
Now, and this is only wishful thinking, since the High Hem Hef and ze wirl banc are prescribing these actions which mekking dis administration look like Goebbels AND amazingly enough this administration is only following those recommendations which consolidate their position, did the IMF and the World Bank give these clowns any recommendations on how to jump start the economy with any initiatives that the administration has taken with equal alacrity?
I would only stand to reason that the High Hem Hef and ze wirl bancwould not just prescribe taxes, staff cuts, and tighter money management but would make some suggestions about government minister infelicities and diversifications of the economy in a meaningful way
I will research the precedences you speak of in Jamaica, Guyana and T&T and see if what you state is true
LikeLike
This move was on the cards long before ’08……..
LikeLike
Since Government is trying to save money, can someone tell me why in Chris Sinclair’s Deacons constituency a shop next to the Skills training building has been benefitting monthly for several years of FREE ELECTRICITY BY RUNNING AN EXTENSION from the shop to the building?
The Skill Training Centre put there to train people in new skills is paying this bill as part of their own monthly operating expense.
The Staff at the Deacons Skill Training cannot do anything about it as it is sanctioned by Chris Sinckler.
The owner of the shop does a lot of the ‘dirty’ work for Chris in the area especially at election time with votes at election time.
The owner of the shop is also known to be a drug dealer.
Anyone can visit the Deacons Skills Centre and will see the long electrical extension running from their building to the shop.
THIS I REPEAT IS BEING PAID FOR BY TAXPAYERS MONTHLY FOR SEVERAL YEARS AND THE Deacons STAFF CAN DO NOTHING ABOUT THIS FLEECING.
Barbados is indeed a BANANA REPUBLIC.
LikeLiked by 1 person
What is the role of the president of the NUPW at the bargaining table. This is an elected person by members with no IR training. Just asking.
LikeLike
According to the Sunday Sun,some Customs staff have gone over to Caswell’s Unity union.It might be a start of a whole new ball game in town.PAD and Sivers now got to come good.I told you these clever Customs people are among the more intelligent to be found in the Civil Service.
LikeLike
@ Mr Caswell Franklyn.
I have a few words of advice for you.
I would suggest that if you got accounts fuh de Unity Union, today Sunday 17th of May 2015 tex dem and get dem notarized and get dem post to two or three people by registered mail.
Plus do an inventory uh de tings in you house at today’s date too and do de same ting wid dem.
In fact I want you to do the same thing that these varmints was supposed to do under dem integrity legislation and I gine tell you why.
When all of dese peoples run from dem NUPW and de BWU to Unity allot of ting gine happen and you gots to be prepared.
Like fuh example dese Customs fellows.
NOw remember dat i ent say dat dem fellows does be able to buy a house cash a year after dem start wukking nor nuffin but I want you to be prepared for de allegations DAT GINE CUM YOU WAY.
Imagine looka Caswell he did po jes yesterday but all offa sudden look how he got new furniture in he house.
Now Mr. Franklyn even if you had dat furniture in you hose fuh 15 years dem varmints gine say so.
En a nex ting Mr Franklyn, whenever you meeting with dem fellows doan tek nuffin from dem an unlessing you tekking dem dues doan meet dem no place dark to transact no business wid dem causing dem ent beyond doing a sting pun you and saying dat you does tek bribes and kickbacks.
You is a man uh principles and de first ting dat dem does do wid wunna is to put wunna in compromising positions whey amazingly enough CBC reporting Lies and De Nation and Sankey Price does get you in “positions” if you get de ole man drift..
Any business you transacting wid dem carry witnesses and tek you ipad and record whu dem does be saying.
Remember dat letter dat you had was to read fuh Edison tuh relinquish he position when he fire dat girl, leh me lef dat alone but you see how he crumple? But you is an old battle axe so I ent got to tell you nuffin but still be careful heah?
Cause me and Bushie still hoping dat you going run in dis nex general election…
LikeLike
Will this new Border Protection Agency, be fitted out with their own “coast guard cutters”, light aircraft and drones or will they be scotching up alongside of the RBPF Marine Unit and the Barbados Coast Guard. Will they be armed. om Duplication leads to confusion and eventually more redundancies.
LikeLiked by 1 person
Imagine a Senior Administration Officer (SAO) taking motes for the meeting but does not know the difference between the words “complement” and “compliment”!!! But she shall go on to a Permanent Secretary in a few years!!!
These minutes demonstrate a cold hardheartedness towards the Customs Department and this transition shall be brutal!!
LikeLike
What is the role of the president of the NUPW at the bargaining table. This is an elected person by members with no IR training. Just asking.
On a lighter side Mr sinckler is not trained in finance and he leads the most prestigious and important ministry in the country. However, on a more serious side, Mr Mcdowall is not the only President or union official for that matter untrained in industrial relations matters who has attended negotiations. Mr frost as an untrined trade unionist has been more effective in representing interests than more recognized trained personnel. Effective repreentation in most cases depend on the level of commonsense displayed at the negotiating table rather than training.
LikeLike
Of late, the reasoning that has entered the Halls of Politics has been based on the rationale that “Sir Richard Branston, while he owns Virgin Atlantic, neither is a pilot, aircraft engineer or mechanic”
While that is acceptable and makes for sound reasoning (borne out by the fact that the Garrison School ex-pupil did not and still does not know, where to put a decimal point) it is unacceptable that the staff, Directors and the PS of Finance cannot count.
The direction of competencies dilution that has been creeping steadily across the Public Service is based on this misconception of “there only needing to be people who have a basic understanding of what their job entails “because they will rely on others”
So if your accuntant is looking to foop you with a debit under furniture purchases and the nails cost $70 and not .70 cents (the case of Chris Sinckliar and the famous decimal point) you simply cant tell.
Imagine going to the QEH to get your left big toe “cut off” and there is no doctor on duty BUT through pure serendipity, the night watch man who “cuts” coconuts pun a Sunday, who is also the nurse pushing your guerney is present and offers to do the job for you, while he is holding your left testicle?
We enjoy having alot of square pegs in round holes dont we??
LikeLike
A reason why this is so much mediocrity which abounds is that we trivialize the rigour of discipline subject matter experts bring to the table. And of course we will have exceptions who by dint of their uniqueness will force themselves to the table.
LikeLike
Just last Friday I renewed my driving license,at Oistin. The BRA was very eager to grab the fee out of my hands, and then inform me that I would have to “go to the Pine” to have the License plastic card updated.
Fearing the long lines that Government entities are now known for, I traveled to the Pine this morning,and was surprised that there were no one ahead of me. Then I found out why. Why are government departments playing the taxpayers of this country for fools.
The BRA Oistin,and I suppose Speighstown, could have posted a similar notice at their respective locations.
Is this another computer system breakdown, like the one we recently experienced at the NIS? or is it that the BRA has no more blank plastic card in stock.
And why is the Government of Barbados, which is so eager to inform us via the GIS,of the penalties and jail time for untimely compliances ,when it comes to owing them money, not inform the public of this breakdown of service via GIS /CBC
LikeLike
Gabriel May 16, 2015 at 6:07 PM #
I am reliably informed that Customs hours of work are set in law since 1908 and their hours are fixed: .No wonder the BRA is needed to change that stupidity in this day and age of mass air transport,huge shipping lines passenger and cargo ,big courier business where any Bajan can go on the net and have the item delivered to their home quick sharp.Customs Officers and Guards are hiding the truth from the public.All airlines and shipping lines pay overtime to customs officers and guards for work performed outside of what they call normal hours and every attempt made by airlines and shipping companies to change it,lead to blackmail from the NUPW.All these extra costs are passed on to the consumer and I am informed that the UN did a study on it and gave its recommendations to Government to stop the inefficiency and the extra cost burden on the mercantile and consuming public.I was given an example.If an officer is required to work before 8.15am he/she is guaranteed the double hourly rate plus transportation from home to the work location.Work after 4.30pm is paid at 1.5 the hourly rate plus transportation to home.On public holidays,the cost is astronomical and is a guaranteed full 8 hours overtime rate,so that an officer required for 1 hour has to be paid 8 hours at full rate plus transportation to and from home.In the event the 8hour public holiday work day is extended for an hour,a further 8 hours are guaranteed for that officer and the guard because you don’t get an officer without the guard.Its like coucou and salt fish,you don’t get one without the other.I understand the BRA will not be constrained by the archaic Customs rules which are made up after every NUPW negotiation and sometimes by some unruly customs officers who abuse their power and bully customers.ITS MORE IN THE MORTAR THAN THE PESTLE.Lets see if Sivers got balls or would be given goadies by the staff of Customs and Excise,among some of the brightest and smartest in the Service.
(o) MR GABRIEL -YOU KNOW LITTLE OF WHICH YOU SPEAK BUT LIKE MOST UNINFORMED PERSONS AS USUAL ,YOU MIX UNTRUTHS WITH HALF TRUTHS AND PASS IT OFF AS FACTS TO FOOL THE POPULACE WHO WOULD BE AS IGNORANT TO THE FACTS AS YOU ARE.
Monday to Friday 8.15am to 4.30pm.Any work performed outside these hours are overtime hours.1908 is almost 18th century”
Please check the Customs Act for the hours of work again
You have stated part only
..And what is wrong with 8;15 to 4:30 anyhow ? Pray tell us !
“Customs Officers and Guards are hiding the truth from the public.All airlines and shipping lines pay overtime to customs officers and guards for work performed outside of what they call normal hours and every attempt made by airlines and shipping companies to change it,lead to blackmail from the NUPW.”
WHAT TRUTH ARE THEY HIDING ?
YOU SEEM TO BE THE LIAR HERE !
Almost Everything that you have stated is inaccurate and you have misled persons on this Blog. You managed to fool PieceuhtheRockyeahright who seems to be a senior person. For that alone you are condemned.
You seemed to be suggesting a Shift system to counter the Overtime. Any shift system will be a cost to Government and if Government is trying to cut costs but allow the Private sector to trick them into absorbing the costs of employing various shifts , kudos to the Private Sector.
By the way, your calculation of the Overtime payments is inaccurate ESPECIALLY when you stated the following inaccuracy.
“In the event the 8hour public holiday work day is extended for an hour,a further 8 hours are guaranteed for that officer and the guard because you don’t get an officer without the guard”
Sir, I submit to you that what you have stated here demonstrates your ignorance and I would implore you to go and do proper research before you come to a public place and spout these half truths, untruths and inaccuracies. If I were to grade your contribution, I would have to refrain from giving you any grade at all. Your contribution is totally off base and misleading. Clearly you need to do more research.
Sidebar: You seem to want something for nothing . You should check Captain Sawyer’s 2015 calypso.
I would therefore advise you and your kind to leave Customs Matters to the Customs People because you and your kind have heard crap and repeated it but do not know half of the story. Sadly some of the persons making decisions with regards to Customs are of your thinking and this is sad as well as dangerous but regrettably these are the times we live in. There are persons who are seeking to re-invent the wheel but they should wheel and come again. You people do not know what you are messing with. President Bush went into Iraq and removed Saddam , it was a mistake. As bad as they tried to portray Saddam, he was the man to control that situation. So far the BRA has not demonstrated any improvements and seem to have taken the simple paying for a Driver’s licence back a hundred years. You people are in for a rude awakening !
Have you ever heard of a Comptroller named Nathaniel “Natty Greene” ?
I am sure you would have heard of –
Harold Bernard “Bree” St.John a prominent lawyer who once told some persons who brought a matter to him with regards to Customs, to : ” Leave Customs matters to the Customs Officers. “
LikeLike
Say what?????
“Upset that some local employers were unilaterally changing employment conditions and were not paying workers their due, the Barbados Workers Union (BWU) has served notice of a possible national strike.”
http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/05/21/bwu-warns-of-national-strike/
LikeLike
Commander
Put me right
LikeLike
Every day we opened our eyes there is some contentious issue to confront.
Port takes a hit
LikeLike
Facts and Truths to the BLP Brigade are as distant as day is from night. all there facts and truth are taken from the the Nation News Paper, lol,,,
LikeLike
@ David,
The picture painted by the BWU boss is scary.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/67690/bwu-head-warns-industrial-action
LikeLike
So far the BWU has shown it has rubber teeth, it refused to confront the government on the NCC matter, it was ignored by Sandy Lane etc. Caswell has taken over piece of Customs and has started to flex his muscle. We shall see if the calm IR climate Barbados is known for supported by the social partnership is shattered.
LikeLike
Commander Go to the head of the class your submission is the first that i have read in as much as about 8 times in the lo many years that ac have walked the halls of the BU classroom.. On this day the 22nd of May 2015 You have been promoted to General.
LikeLike
@ Commander
The ole man on one of my trips last year to Amurica, had was to go in de horspital for a little problem. You would know how de body does me at dis age.
When I did dey a nurse log me in pun de cuntputer, print a tag and put it round me wrist and dem admit me to de unit.
Den a nex one come and scan de tag and tek all de ole man vital statistics and um all went to de cuntputer.
Den de two doctors come and do dem examination, a junior one come first den de senior one oh, I shoulda mention dat in de corridor pun a wall was a 42 inch screen wid each name uh every body, whu time we come in and whu room we did in, not de rest uh de ifo jes whu you name is and whey you was. Den after de diagnosis next nurse come wid de medicine, scan me wrist, scan de medicing bottle and gi me muh medicine.
De rest uh de information is inconsequential to the point I am seeking to make but you kin see whey I pointing at 2015 wid de IDB Port Improvement Loan/Grant of US $6.5
Say you is a customs officer and I want to know de following tell me how I does find out.
Whu you name is? Is you supposed to be heah in dis shed?
Whu you gots to do today? # of examinations, containers, boxes, etc)
Where you is at any given time (pun de port, in a shed, at a man property off site, driving bout at de rum shops?)
How long did it tek fuh you to inspect each container? (time to get to the shed/site)
What is de Metrics?
Is you an efficient Customs Officer?
Does you pattern show a predilection to ovah time?
I know dat you gine tell me that like a haircut, there is no metric that can be assigned to the time that a container takes to examine, but we gots international metrics to compare dem to
I appeciate that point that you have made and will state that I am not against paying a man overtime 1 &1/2 or 2 times the pay, for a Bank Holiday.
All I want to know is if the practices are in keeping with work that is being honestly completed during work hours or effected under a style that the Customs Officer have grown accustomed to their own form of wages increases a practice against which it would seem that our Port HAS NO WAY TO ASCERTAIN if they are being robbed or if this is for valid work rendered.
I ent even touch pun de point that the BRA should extend their oversight to
Whu type of house you living in? what type of car you driving? how come you got four chilren, three pickni at St. Gabriels and de big girl at Harvard, and you is only a Grade 1 Customs Officer? You tax returns fuh de last 5 years ent support this lifestyle that you obviously paying fuh…but dat is a nex article called “Sharing out De Fatted Calf”
LikeLike
Good Lord the Customs officers have joined Caswell’s union and are on strike or go slow. Well well well the inmates have taken over the asylum. Reading Caswell’s droppings on BU this chronic complainer should not be a union organizer in any part of the world. His extreme solutions and opposition for the sake of opposing adds up to chaos. Casweell’s philosophy adheres to that of the ninetieth century anarchists. How is the nonsense he is spewing on ‘behalf’ of the Customs officers going to help the situation. The Income tax officers and a host of government revenue collecting staff raised the issues the Customs officers are now raising when they were transferred to BRA. Everyone witnessed that the incoming officers not only had nothing to fear they are now settled in the new BRA and doing the people’s work as they are paid well to do. It would have been the same with the Customs officers were it not for the rabble rousing unions. No one will be disadvantaged as evidenced by the revenue earning agencies already coopted into BRA. Its a lateral transfer all else remains as you were. Custom officers should take their own reasoned counsel ignore Caswell’s foolishness ,settle into BRA and get on with the people’s business no one is being unfaired. What Caswell what!
LikeLike
To the political yard fowl waiting (my two cents).
The BWU is reported to have thrown it’s support behind the Customs Department. Don’t make this about Caswell.
LikeLike
Pieceuhderockyyeahright
Man yah faget taa mention de most important piece of yah visited to de American horsepital young boy. How come dem ain’t tell yah bout the HIPAA laws over hear? That is bout de most important piece aa information any American does get young boy.
LikeLike