Submitted by Cedriann Martin, UNAIDS Caribbean

A statement from Dr. Edward Greene, United Nations Secretary General’s Special Envoy for HIV in the Caribbean on the removal of discriminatory laws

Dr Greene is Professor Emeritus at UWI
Dr. Edward Greene, Professor Emeritus at UWI

I am saddened by the turn of events leading to the decision of the University of the West Indies (UWI) to terminate the post-retirement contract of Professor Brendan Bain as Director of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training (CHART) Network.

I am fully aware of the role and functions of CHART and, moreover, of the importance of Professor Bain’s leadership and his impact on a wide array of Caribbean public health practitioners and people infected and affected by HIV. I am also very aware that over the past eight months the Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies wrestled with the issues surrounding Professor Bain’s testimony in the Belize constitutional case, including the question of academic freedom.

Professor Bain’s submission to the court was aimed at upholding a law that, in the opinion of public health experts and members of civil society, reinforces stigma and discrimination against men who have sex with men.  In March 2014 Professor Bain tendered his resignation from the Pan Caribbean Partnership against HIV/AIDS (PANCAP) Executive Board,   presumably due to the recognition that his position was incompatible with that of the leadership and membership of PANCAP.

When, therefore,  the University of the West Indies took its decision last week to end his contract on the basis of ‘a conflict of interest’, this was  a culmination of events based on Professor Bain’s loss of support and goodwill among major national, regional and international organisations working in HIV/AIDS

The protests against the University’s decision unfortunately mischaracterise it as a threat to freedom of speech and to academic freedom. On the contrary, it is simply a lack of credibility to lead CHART given the organisation’s goals surrounding the elimination of stigma and discrimination toward men who have sex with men and other communities that are vulnerable to HIV.

We should grasp the opportunities this situation presents. PANCAP in collaboration with UNAIDS has initiated a series of national and regional consultations under the theme “Justice for All and Human Rights”. The process will give rise to actionable recommendations to be ratified by the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Heads of Government in July 2014.

These recommendations relate to a range of targets—eliminating mother to child HIV transmission; strengthening laws and responses to address domestic violence and other forms of abuse; and creating a framework for faith groups to help address stigma and discrimination. There are also recommendations to accelerate the process for repeal of laws criminalising sexual acts in private between consenting males and females and replacing them with provisions criminalising sexual acts between persons in public or with the use of force.

The UN Secretary General, Ban Ki-moon, has consistently said that human rights are universal and must be universally respected. We in the Caribbean have started a social movement through constructive engagement. During our Justice for All discussions, faith leaders in Jamaica and elsewhere in the Caribbean demonstrated a willingness to reach out to those in need. During the last World AIDS Day, faith leaders across denominations focused on the theme, “Getting to Zero Discrimination through Justice for All”.

I believe that this is the appropriate time to make the effort across society to eliminate the stigma and discrimination that surround HIV. Our governments and community leaders increasingly recognise that laws and policies that criminalise key populations, force them underground, away from information, testing, treatment, care and support services. These laws are discriminatory and counterproductive. They must be repealed or at least modified. Let us address these challenging issues as we work together to end AIDS.

Dr Greene is Professor Emeritus at UWI and former Pro Vice Chancellor and Director of the Institute of Social and Economic Research. CHART was established under his tenure as Assistant Secretary General of the CARICOM Secretariat and Chair of the PANCAP Executive Board.

89 responses to “Let’s Work TOGETHER to End AIDS”

1. David:
    If you ever saw Edward Green, you would know why he protects the sanctity of homosexuality!!

2. A question BU would pose to Professor Bain is why was he not consistent in his decision-making by resigning from the UWI.

Bain tendered his resignation from the Pan Caribbean Partnership against HIV/AIDS (PANCAP) Executive Board, presumably due to the recognition that his position was incompatible with that of the leadership and membership of PANCAP.

3. Edward Green has the gall to write this non sense here and people on this blog attacking poor Georgie Porgie!!

4. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Lemuel | May 28, 2014 at 6:49 PM |
    David:
    If you ever saw Edward Green, you would know why he protects the sanctity of homosexuality!!
    ARE YOU SUGGESTING THAT HE DELIVERS FROM THE BACK OF THE HAND? I.E LEG BREAKS AND GOOGLIES?
    YOU MEAN HE IS A BULLER OR BULLEE?

5. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

dAVID

JA KASS GREEN USED THE WORD PRESUMABLY, BECAUSE HE DOES NOT KNOW WHY BRENDAN RESIGNED FROM he Pan Caribbean Partnership against HIV/AIDS (PANCAP) Executive Board,

wHY SHOULD BRENDAN RESIGN FROM ANYTHING AT UWI? HE SERVED THE UWI WITH DISTINCTION FOR 40 YEARS

THERE IS NO ONE WHO HAS DENIED THIS

6. @GP

Yes this is why it would be good to know WHY Bain resigned.

7. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

RE I am fully aware of the role and functions of CHART and, moreover, of the importance of Professor Bain’s leadership and his impact on a wide array of Caribbean public health practitioners and people infected and affected by HIV.

SO WHY WAS HE SACKED IF HE WAS SO GOOD
    I WAS TAUGHT AS A CHILD DO RIGHT AND GOOD AND FEAR NO MAN
    I WAS TAUGHT AS A CHILD DO GOOD AND GOOD WILL ATTEND YOU

HAS THIS BEEN THROWN THROUGH THE WINDOW?

rE I am also very aware that over the past eight months the Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies wrestled with the issues surrounding Professor Bain’s testimony in the Belize constitutional case, including the question of academic freedom.

WHY WAS HE WRESTLING SIR ?
    WAS IT BECAUSE HE WAS GOING TO SACRIFICE A GOOD MAN FOR 30 PIECES OF SILVER?

I HAVE SEEN BERTIE GRAHAM AND TREVOR HASELL RUN MANY GOOD YOUNG DRS FROM QEH BACK TO NORTH AMERICA.

THESE TWO GOT THEIR KIGHTHOODS BUT WHAT DID QEH AND THE BAJAN HEATH SERVICES LOSE IN THE PROCESS

ALL OF A SUDDEN ALL THE GOOD DRS AT QEH GONE! WHAT ARE THE REPLACEMENTS LIKE?

8. GP, so you’re the new spokesman for the homophobic crew here on BU? lol

9. no body owes no ONE a F..king job…..and if one views and opinions differ from that of your bosses on sensitive issues ,,the employee should do the right thing an resign,,,DR, BAIN try stranding both sides of the fence for forty years,,until he got caught and had to pay the price,,,,if he is indeed a christain,,he would understand ..what jesus meant that no man can serve two masters as in the case of BAin..he was a hypocrite living on deceitful time,,glad his a,ss got caught by the words coming out of his mouth,,why would the UWI want to reinstate him.when his views and theirs are in opposition…it is time for his supporters to move on….and let DR,BAIN get on with his life,,a reinstatement is not the answer,,the answer lies in the fact that his way of looking at facts on homosexuality from a christain view are stereotypical and as he said does coincide with his views and opinions on the issue which are not in alignment with world wide views and respect for human rights,,,, a

10. Sorry to go off the topic but as this is the current topic, I just need to vent some steam right now.

How the hell can these so called church leaders justify wasting $300,000 to bring an imposter of the gospel here? For what reason? Are we so sinful that none of them……..pastor or priest or bishop or iman or elder or whoever cannot intercede to God on Barbadians’ behalf?

My goodness, this has gone past lunacy. The pastor Ferdinand is saying that he will be asking 3000 members to put up $100 each. I am sure that if he had asked these same members to give $100 to one of the laid off workers, they may refuse. Could not this $300,000 when collected be divided up among all the workers who have been laid off during the reign of this inept incompetent government. Not surprising, pastor Ferdinand declined to say how much the fraud Hinn will be paid. For sure, they will have to put him up at Sandy Lane, that man only stays in luxury suites.

My goodness, bringing this conman here to fool Barbadians reeks of insanity! I am mad as hell!

11. @ ac
    Even by you universally acclaimed pissy standards of intelligence, your rantings here are clear contenders for “the most asinine sentiments that can be expressed by an idiot, and who is able to continue living afterwards…”
    You have to ‘beyond a jackass’ to posit that a man, an academic at that, who stands by a position of principle – IN A COURT OF LAW, should them resign his 40 year job if his boss is pressured by bullers who provided a few dollars to bribe UWI into endorsing bulling?
    ….you are a REAL brass bowl …..

That is the mark of a REAL man yuh shiite….. They only fired him….wunna kinda BBs does even crucify people when confronted with the TRUTH….
    ….but REAL MEN are those who willingly DIE…..or get fired…on principle.

…a fellow like Ross (or your unfortunate husband) would have negotiated something…and probably got promoted….

12. @ Prodigal Son
    LOl
    You ARE mad as hell……if you have not yet grasped that the WHOLE place has gone insane…

What Sinckler should REALLY do, is to tax every last church instead of the damn credit unions.
    Wuh if they got to bring in a man to pray, why the hell are they enjoying tax free status?
    Tax their donkeys Sinckler…..you ain’t got to be frighten, obviously God don’t pay them no mind……

13. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Prodigal Son
    Agree with you and BT 100%

14. bush tea that is the job of a lawyer and that is what they are paid to do ,,but in reality ,,no one in their right mind would want to stay where they are not welcomed ,the DR ,, credentials in no way protect him from being fired no matter how many years of service he rendered ,,it was a paid job subject to terms and conditions some of which he broke,,,,,he was noit doing it for FREE,,even if MR BAIN had offered some of his time and resources,,,,,,a noble and respectable thing he was not exempt from rules and guidlines with in his contract and apparantltly one which has become conflicted with his interest and that of the UWI … ,,the bottom line being that a job unless signed and agreed upon for one of a lifetime is subject to review,,,and in the circumstances as that of mr, bain and the UWI there have been an obvious parting of ways which was called for necessary action resulting in his termination..and ,,the UWI as his employer had every right to terminate ,,however on the other hand mr bain can seek resolve though legal means,,,,however the recurring problem that have come about because of his firing and continues is the onslaught of verbal abuse being heaped on billions of homosexuals who might have never heard of the case and mr bain involvement….. and that is wrong and inexcusable,,,,,,how funny that u can side with the employee and his rights,,however in the case of MR broomes and the employee rights,,,u the hypocrite that your are saw no wrong on mr broomes part,,,,,,boyi hope BBE don;t make none uh wunna anymore,,,cause two faces take up plenty time and hardwork,,and when finish uglyyyyyyyy as helll,

15. Bush Tea

Real men die for principle… what a load of bullshite. Real men die foolishly because their are too prideful, arrogant and thick headed dude.

16. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

BALAAM ‘S ASS BRAYS AGAIN
    HE HAW HE HAW
    HE IS READY TO BE MADE A LAUGHING STOCK AS AN ASS IN A RACE WITH RACE HORSS BECAUSE HE IS “too prideful, arrogant and thick headed dude.”

BY THE WAY BALAAM ‘S ASS THE CORRECT WORD IS TOO “proud” HE HAW HE HAW

MAN IS FELLAS LIKE YOU THAT RAN ME FROM ST LEONARDS IN 1974
    THEY SENT ME TO TEACH A FIRST FORM WHERE THE BOYS COULD NOT READ WRITE SPELL OR COUNT

I HAD NEVER SEEN SUCH IN MY 22 YEARS THEN

BALAAM ‘S ASS WERE YOU IN THAT INTAKE?

THAT IS WHY ST LEONARD’S HAVE THE BEST HIGH SCHOOL TEACHERS IN BARBADOS.

MEN WHO CAN TEACH JACKASSES LIKE BALAAM’S ASS FOR SIX YEARS GOT TO BE GOOD FOR TRUTH

MURDAH

17. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

RE
    no body owes no ONE a F..king job…..and if one views and opinions differ from that of your bosses on sensitive issues ,,the employee should do the right thing an resign,,
    I HAVE DONE JUST THAT……AND THEN GONE ON VMD AND TOLD THE WORLD HOW STUDENTS GRADES ARE CHANGED ON PAYMENT OF MONEY TO THE DEAN

HOW I HAVE BEEN ASKED TO POST SPURIOUS GRADES

I HAVE ALSO TOLD WHICH DEAN WERE SOLICITING SEX FROM FEMALES AND WHO CURSED THE SAME STUDENTS

WAS THAT THE RIGHT THING AC

YOU MAKE BALAAM’S ASS LOOK LIKE A STALLION LOL

BUT AC THE BIBLE SAYS THAT BULLIN IS WRONG
    DOES NOT MATTER WHAT THE BULLERS AND WICKERS SAY

18. St George's Dragon Avatar

Just in case it’s necessary, here are the rules about how someone can be admitted for treatment for mental health problems:
    http://mentalhealthcommission.gov.bb/Mental%20Health%20Act%201985.pdf

19. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

THANKS FOR POSTING THIS DRAGON

IT SHOULD BE USEFUL FOR THOSE FAMILIES WITH LITTLE BOYS IN OUR SOCIETY WHO HAVE BEEN BULLED BY OLDER MEN OR THE YOUNG WOMEN WHO ARE BEING RAPED AND “BITTEN” BY OTHER WOMEN IN BIM.

WHAT YOU THINK DRAGON?

YOU DO KNOW THAT SUCH STUFF IS HAPPENING IN BIM EVEN AS WE SPEAK . Ah lie?

20. St George’s Dragon | May 28, 2014 at 8:38 PM |

Just in case it’s necessary, here are the rules about how someone can be

admitted for treatment for mental health problems:

http://mentalhealthcommission.gov.bb/Mental%20Health%20Act%201985.pdf
    ””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’
    BUSH TEA AND GP TAKE NOTE

21. St George's Dragon Avatar

“Specific phobias, formerly known as simple phobias, reflect excessive, irrational fears of a specific object or situation. The focus of the phobia almost invariably provokes an immediate anxiety response and the phobic stimuli are typically avoided, or endured with extreme distress. Importantly, to meet diagnostic criteria, the fear must cause some kind of impairment in the individual’s functioning, and the fear must be greater than others would likely experience.
    Psychological Treatments
    Exposure Therapies (strong research support):
    Exposure-based therapies reflect a variety of behavioral approaches that are all based on exposing the phobic individuals to the stimuli that frighten them.”

22. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

You have been cutting and pasting from the net as usual, and clearly you do not understand what you read.

A phobia is a fear –comes from the greek.

No one has a phobia hear or an anxiety about anything. I AM simply MOCKING THE BULLERS AND WICKERS and running the BU herd ragged.

Are you suggesting that the cure for fear of bullers is to send such a person to bull or be bulled. Do you understand what you have cut and pasted you jackkass?

Now will you please kindly go back to your mark and run in and bowl again
    These slower ball bouncers on a lat track are just cannon fodder

23. St George's Dragon Avatar

Yes, I confirm I understood what I posted.

24. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

St George’s Dragon | May 28, 2014 at 9:42 PM |
    Yes, I confirm I understood what I posted.

WELL THATS BAD MEDICINE IN THIS CASE

to get the right treatment you have to have the right diagnosis LOL

I LIKE WOMAN TOO BAD, SIR

THAT IS WHY I ABHOR THESE BULLIN MEN CAUSING THIER DEATHS UNNECESSARILY

25. ST GEORGE don;t let that whacked out of control mind called GP yell u how to think…if u believe the cuckoo bird have a phobia,,that is your belief,,just like he believes ridiculous and unproven theories and concepts and no bending or twisting can change his mind ..you are entitled to your assumptions assertions and theorizes yours can’t be no worse than those which GP believes like .a seven day creation ..and a man physically being elevated skyward to live with god,,,so when GP the intelligent tells you how stupid and ignorant you are,,ask him to explain those phenomenon in real terms,,he will them go HEE HAW<<, a noise only known to a balaam.s ass ..

26. It is quite amusing that in 2014, there are people who hold such vicious views of our homosexual community. The remarks by some on this blog reveal a very limited view of humanity. The homosexual community should have all the rights of our heterosexual community. I support gay marriage; the right to adopt children and every single right under the law. Furthermore, the broken marriages; dysfunctional families, excessive philandering and the almost total break down of family values within the heterosexual community gives it no moral authority to question the sexual /lifestyle choices of others. We delight in calling the politicians hypocrites, on this issue there is a high level of hypocrisy.

27. William Skinner:

You are an ass!! I believe in my right to label you thus!!

What are you going to tell your children or grand children when you support something that not only limits the human race but is full of destruction socially, psychologically and physiologically!!

28. William Skinner:
    Sorry for assuming that you would have children or grands. Your great effort here would suggest otherwise!!

29. William Skinner you doth froth at the mouth with ignorance. Can you imagine a child being adopted by two married bullers or wickers? We must never allow bulling to be accepted standard for this society. We have to strive to maintain the Christian family unit. More over we have to seek to correct any problems therein rather than allowing free bulling all over the place. Cut out that shitty conduct.

30. It seems we are confusing two issues. At a personal level we are entitled to have personal preferences i.e. whether hetero or homo. The other issue is while we express personal preferences the rights of all individuals to co-exist must be respected (accomodated).

31. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

We delight in calling the politicians hypocrites, BUT WE CANT CALL BULLERS AND WICKERS, BULLERS AND WICKERS?

IF WHAT THEY WERE DOING WAS RIGHT WOULD THERE BE A CONTROVERSY?

A BULLER IS A BULLER. THERE IS NO HATE THERE . THIS IS ABOUT FACTS

The homosexual community ( I.E THE BULLERS & WICKERS) should have all the rights of our heterosexual community, BUT A MAN WHO GIVE HIS LIFE TREATING THEM CAN BE FIRED BECAUSE HE DIDNT SAY IN A BELIZEAN COURT WHAT THE BULLERS AND WICKERS WANTED TO HEAR?

IS BRENDAN BAIN NOT HUMAN TOO?.
    WHO WILL BE NEXT TO BE FIRED LIKE BRENDAN?

YOU CAN BE SURE IT WONT BE A BULLER OR A WICKER

32. GP, I do not mine you calling A BULLER a BULLER or a WICKER a WICKER. It is your constitutional right to express your opinion within reason. But it is your dehumanization of these groups of people that is so disturbing and troubling to many of us who are heterosexual. And as I have stated early, and intend to state again: I hope that BULLERS as well as WICKERS spite in your food, when you return to Barbados for vacation.

33. David wrote “At a personal level we are entitled to have personal preferences i.e. whether hetero or homo.”

I don’t agree David.
    The majority of homosexuals don’t choose. They grow up with that sexual preference and continue into adulthood.

We need to focus on preventing the spread of HIV/aids without treating the LGBT community as monsters.

34. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

WHen I was a lad the word GAY meant “happy”
    Some children were even given the surname GAY.

WHen I was a lad the word used for people who BULLED WAS BULLER
    WHen I was a lad the word used for people who WICKED was WICKER

Now the WICKERS & BULLERS have us change the vocabulary to call them GAY.i.e they happy! WHAT BULL!

A BULLER IS A BULLER AND A WICKER IS A WICKER, SIMPLE! AH LIE?

THESE GAY PEOPLE GOT A LOT OF FOLK IN JAMAICA AND ELSEWHERE VERY UNHAPPY.

35. BULLER IS A DEROGATORY TERM FOR A HOMOSEXUAL MALE.

WICKER IS A DEROGATORY TERM FOR A LESBIAN.

NI–ER IS A DEROGATORY TERM FOR A BLACK PERSON.

36. Hants
    There is some scientific evidence which supports your position. There is a corpse of evidence out there which supports the finds that the majority of the people who are homosexuals, were born with these tendencies. And continue to practice this behavior right into their lives adulthood.

37. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

the LGBT ( ie the BULLERS & WICKERS) community ARE monsters WHEN THEY GET MEN LIKE BRENDAN FIRED FOR DOING RIGHT

. 35 GROUPS OF THEM WENT AFTER ONE MAN WHO LOOKED AFTER BULLERS FOR 30 YEARS

THEY TREATED HIM LIKE A CRIMINAL.

the LGBT ( ie the BULLERS & WICKERS) community ARE monsters WHEN THEY GO TO COURT AGAINST A POOR PHOTOGRAPHER IN COLARADO WHO REFUSED TO PHOTOGRAPH BETWEEN TWO BULLERS

WHEN WILL THIS BULL STOP?
    WHEN WILL THINGS LIKE THIS HAPPEN TO FOLK IN BARBADOS?

WAIT TILL THE NEXT ELECTION WHEN MIA AND JEROME TAKE OVER!
    THIS IS BARE FUN

38. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

rE BULLER IS A DEROGATORY TERM FOR A HOMOSEXUAL MALE.

WICKER IS A DEROGATORY TERM FOR A LESBIAN.

WHEN I WAS GROWING UP THEY DIDNT TEACH ME THAT IT WAS DEROGATORY
    I STAND BY MY EARLY TEACHING ON THIS ONE

MAN MUST NOT LIE WITH MAN THE GOOD BOOK TEACHES

REVELATION 1 TEACHES HOW THEY GOT SO.
    1 Revelation of God derided
    2 Rejection of God preferred
    3 Rationalization of God’s Word decided
    4 Reversal of Truth presented

5 Religious perversion accepted
    6 Reprobate minds adopted
    7 Ravishing appetites practiced
    8 Retribution of God delivered

4 Reversal of Truth presented THIS IS WHAT THEY TEACHING IN SCHOOLS IN THE USA TODAY

A FAMILY MAY BE COMPOSED OF A BULLER & A BULLEE AND CHILDREN
    A FAMILY MAY BE COMPOSED OF A WICKER & A WICKEE AND CHILDREN
    A REVERSAL OF THE TRUTH OF GOD’S WORD IS NOW PRESENTED FORMALLY VIA TEXT BOOKS IN THE USA

THIS HAS LED TO PERVERSION BEING ACCEPTED & REPROBATE MINDS HAVE ADOPTED SUCH PERVERSION AS THEY PRACTICE THIER RAVISHING APPETITES FOR BULLING AND WICKING

AND STRAIGHT THINKING PEOPLE MUST ACCEPT THIS BULL?

I WONT
    I WILL DIE FOR WHAT I KNOW TO BE RIGHT

39. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

TELL US WHAT ARE THE GENES THAT ARE DISCOVERED OR BULLING AND WICKING

ON WHICH CHROMOSOME ARE THESE GENES FOUND

ON WHICH LOCI OF THESE CHROMOSOMES

40. Georgie Porgies

You think because you’re at liberty to express an opinion, that you’re entitled to say and do as you wish. But speech which intends to cause harm, or incite public violence is illegal. Justice Wendell Holmes of the US Supreme Court said it best in one of his dissenting opinion that: “Just because a person is entitled to freedom of speech, it does not give him/ her the right to shout fire in a movie cinema, when there isn’t any fire. Legal speech falls within the confines of constitutional protection and all other speech which fall outside of this defined frontier is unconstitutional. So you better be circumspect with respect to the manner in which your shoot off your food trap.

41. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

THIS IS WHAT I BELIEVE
    I WILL STAND BY IT
    AND I WILL DIE BY IT

18 For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who hold the truth in unrighteousness;

19 Because that which may be known of God is manifest in them; for God hath shewed it unto them.

20 For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse:

21 Because that, when they knew God, they glorified him not as God, neither were thankful; but became vain in their imaginations, and their foolish heart was darkened.

22 Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools,

23 And changed the glory of the uncorruptible God into an image made like to corruptible man, and to birds, and fourfooted beasts, and creeping things.

24 Wherefore God also gave them up to uncleanness through the lusts of their own hearts, to dishonour their own bodies between themselves:

25 Who changed the truth of God into a lie, and worshipped and served the creature more than the Creator, who is blessed for ever. Amen.

26 For this cause God gave them up unto vile affections: for even their women did change the natural use into that which is against nature:

27 And likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust one toward another; men with men working that which is unseemly, and receiving in themselves that recompence of their error which was meet.

28 And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient;

29 Being filled with all unrighteousness, fornication, wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness; full of envy, murder, debate, deceit, malignity; whisperers,

30 Backbiters, haters of God, despiteful, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents,

31 Without understanding, covenantbreakers, without natural affection, implacable, unmerciful:

32 Who knowing the judgment of God, that they which commit such things are worthy of death, not only do the same, but have pleasure in them that do them.

NOTE WELL
    1 VS 24 God also gave them up to uncleanness through the lusts of their own hearts, to dishonour their own bodies between themselves:

2 26 For this cause God gave them up unto vile affections: for even their women did change the natural use into that which is against nature:

27 And likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust one toward another; men with men working that which is unseemly, and receiving in themselves that recompence of their error which was meet.

3 receiving in themselves that recompence of their error which was meet.is a wonderful way to describe AIDS
    HERE IS A PROPHECY OF AIDS THAT HAS COME TO PASS
    4 Who knowing the judgment of God, that they which commit such things are worthy of death, not only do the same, but have pleasure in them that do them.

THE SUPPORTERS OF BULLING AND WICKING HAVE PLEASURE IN THEM THAT DO IT
    ITS A MILLION DOLLAR INDUSTRY

SO MANY HERE IN SUPPORT OF THE BULLERS AND WICKERS
    NONE OF YOU HAVE GIVEN A THOUGHT FOR WHAT THE JAMAICAN ASSOCIATION OF BULLERS AND WICKERS DID TO BRENDAN

42. @ Dompey and @David. A right has to be an accepted norm in the society. Bulling is not a normal thing. The majority rule in a democracy. If everyone had the right to do as shim pleases then we would be in a shitty mess

43. Georgie Porgie

If that’s your personal opinion, than keep it to yourself. No one needs to know that you believe because what believe does not really anyway matters. Keep your religious convictions to yourself because the same God who you claim you worship, imparted to every human being free-will/self-determination.

44. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Where Do You Stand, Nigel Harris?
    Published: Monday | May 26, 2014 8 Comments
    THE EDITOR, Sir:

I feel compelled to write regarding the termination of Professor Brendan Bain from the UWI’s CHART initiative, as he is not only a good friend but someone I have held in high esteem for so many years.

There where times we met weekly and prayed about the challenges we faced in our positions. Brendan would often pray for his superiors.

How disappointed he must feel now that Vice-Chancellor E. Nigel Harris would succumb to pressure to sacrifice one of the university’s best!

I am constantly amazed at the power of the minority, and maybe the only time a majority speaks is at a fair election. Which brings me to the point: What would the Jamaican electorate say about the buggery law? I am sure J-FLAG would do every thing to prevent this being voted on. I wonder if the vice-chancellor checked with his full constituency as to the stated position of the university on this matter.

In closing, I would like to share with VC Harris that if his decision was in any way motivated by financial pressure, I once faced a situation where one of our large overseas customers requested us to do an unethical transaction and threatened to take the business away if we didn’t. We lost the customer and at the time it seemed like a catastrophe, but we recovered, and today we can still hold our heads high as a reputable company.

Dr Woodrow Kroll has a quote:

“Men of great learning are

respected,

Men of great

strength are feared,

BUT ONLY

Men of good

character can be trusted.”

Where do you stand, VC Harris?

ROBERT LEVY

Chairman, Jamaica

Broilers Group

RLevy@jabgl.com

45. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Bain Risked Stigma By Shielding HIV+ Persons
    Published: Monday | May 26, 2014 3 Comments
    THE EDITOR, Sir:

Many years ago when treatment for HIV in Jamaica was in its infancy, I had a conversation with Dr Brendan Bain. I suggested he consider being discrete in how he incorporated the care of HIV-positive patients into his hugely successful internal-medicine practice.

The concern was that non-HIV patients may abandon his practice out of fear of association with a physician treating HIV-positive patients, being themselves labelled HIV-positive or considering themselves at increased for the disease.

Forthright and honest, Dr Bain politely and firmly corrected me. He was dedicated to the welfare of voiceless and powerless, almost-abandoned HIV-positive patients, and intended to openly provide them optimal, comprehensive and affordable care.

It is an unfortunate and ironic twist: gay advocates are now passionately calling for his removal from the position he helped develop to provide members of their community, whom the disease dispro-portionately affects, with needed services.

Those familiar with the infectious-disease literature will fully endorse the accuracy and authenticity of the high risk of HIV among men having sex with men (MSM). MSM is the single highest risk factor associated with acquiring HIV among all groups,

WYCLIFFE L.

WRIGHT (MD)

CEO Nashville Infectious

Disease Specialists

46. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Cecil Richard McCaw
    It is obvious not only in this case but in others around the world that there is a concerted attack against freedom of speech. But when an excellent professor like Dr. Bain, who was my personal physician for some years, comes under attack, we have to stand up and say “Enough is enough!”

We are not in the Middle Ages. We must now seek out leaders of our society who have the courage to objectively examine situations and provide just judgment, leaders who will not be afraid of supporting intelligence, professionalism and facts as presented by Dr. Bain.

The facts presented may expose the defects of the lobby group that feels it can bully the rest of society into supporting their particular agenda. It is also sad that in order to get financial support leaders will stoop so low and grovel in the dust for monetary assistance.

47. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

I am struggling to reconcile some issues. Since 1983 Prof Bain has provided clinical care to men and women living with HIV and AIDS – patients of all sexual persuasions. He has pioneered HIV/AIDS training for health care professionals.

The CHART initiative that is the subject of this controversy has, under his leadership, won successive awards. In the CHART curriculum, anti-stigma and anti-discriminatory training are paramount.

Prof Bain has been honoured twice by the National AIDS Committee of Jamaica for demonstrating visionary leadership in improving the quality of life for persons living with or affected by HIV.

Over the years, his personal views have not changed and it seems to me that in the Belize case, his expert report simply reported the same facts that have guided him in his outstanding and ground-breaking work. He has been delivering on his mandate with excellence and commitment. On what basis is his dismissal justified? Are the interests of the persons living with HIV and AIDS served by this move? I Support Professor Brendan Bain.

48. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

The inconvenient truth that gay lobbyists do not want to hear is that the counter Christian lobby are not a set of self-righteous, unintellectual people who simply want to advance their hatred of others. Amongst the group of Christian lobbyists are doctors like Brendan Bain who have worked quietly over the years, with love and empathy, to attend to some of the most vulnerable in our society.

49. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

“Where was Carolyn Gomes back in the days when Professor Bain dedicated his time and energy to create the very first health centre for people living with HIV/AIDS in Jamaica?

Where was Carolyn Gomes when patients were being treated like garbage by medical professionals because they were diagnosed with HIV/AIDS and told that they were going to die? Where was Carolyn Gomes and all the others shouting from their gay rights pulpits, when Brendan Bain, with his compassion and expertise, was busy saving many lives?

Where was Carolyn Gomes and all the other loudmouths when he was busy drying tears and giving comfort to the families and friends of those who had lost loved ones to this dreaded disease?

When this disease came to light in Jamaica, and was known as the gay disease, this man said ‘no, it is a human disease, and everyone affected still holds their humanity’. And yet, here we are today.”

50. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

“Did he say that gays are to be stoned or killed?

He was called to give evidence and he did just that.

If Professor Bain’s testimony was faulty or wrong, then the lobby groups should have stated any facts showing otherwise, rather than just calling for him to go.”

“A decision such as this, against such a reputable professional, has served to concretise the view that those with a homosexual agenda are prepared to discriminate against, stigmatise and silence those who do not share their world view. Therefore, this is likely to cement the lines of separation and bolster the stridency in opposing the homosexual lifestyle. No doubt, Professor Bain’s casualty will be lifted up as a local example of what happens to those who share a different world view and it is likely to significantly impact the work of the faith- based community in its work among those who are living with and affected by HIV/AIDS, a contribution that is most critical to the mission.”