Caleb Orozco

Foremost Authority on HIV and AIDS in the region says: no published data to substantiate the hypothesis that decriminalising the practice of anal intercourse among consenting adults would lead to a reduction in the incidence rate of HIV infections among men who have sex with men (MSM).

The matter of Professor Brendan Bain, head of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training (CHART), makes for compelling reading in the Jamaica press. It has its genesis in a case on the way in Belize where the goodly Professor gave expert testimony in a matter against a Gay Belizean Caleb Orozco. Orozco challenged in September 2010 Section 53 of Belize’s criminal code which states, “every person who has carnal intercourse against the order of nature with any person or animal shall be liable to imprisonment for 10 years“. The gist of which he argues that, “the code violates his right to the recognition of human dignity, to personal privacy and the privacy of the home guaranteed by the Belize constitution”.

At a point in the case Professor Bain, regarded as an expert in clinical infections and an authority on HIV/AIDS in the Caribbean, gave expert testimony which has resulted in calls for his dismissal from the UWI by Gay advocates.  Part of Bain’s testimony which has created a furor is quoted in the Jamaica Observer article.

BU’s interest in the case will be to observe how the privilege accorded to Academicians by the University of the West Indies is weighed against the strident LGBT lobby.

BU states for the record it does not support a Gay lifestyle.

484 responses to “Professor Brendan Bain Gets Gay Backlash”

1. Ok Domps, it seems that ghetto gibe must have hit below the belt. So if its any good to you I’ll apologise for it and retract the statement with the proviso that all gloves will be off the next time you choose to attack me.
    Agreed?

2. De Hood,

As a Bush Hall man, I walked all over BIM and fear no one, so bring it on soft man.

3. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DEHOOD
    IF HE FROM DE GHETTO, HE FROM DE GHETTO
    THAT IS VERY APPARENT
    HE COMES ON HEAR TRYING TO SOUND IMPORTANT AND INTELLIGENT OFTEN WITH IRRELEVANT STUFF

I NORMALLY DONT RESPOND TO EITHER HE NOR AC
    YOU SHOULD PROBABLY DO THE SAME
    THERE IS NOTHING TO LEARN FROM EITHER OF THEM BUT GHETTO STUFF

MURDAH

4. @de hood and GP gone on bosey u two a..s lickers.. uh know what they say about birds of a feather.they fly in flocks.

5. Georgie Porgie

Are you going to be alright? De Hood, told me that you went to teke yaa pain medication. PG, for your information: I lived a very sheltered live in Barbados. I was born and bred just behind District A Police Station wall, and my role models were the police men and women who were stationed there during the years. Need I inform your thinking anymore?

6. @GP

Doc whether you realise it or not this is the very reason I rarely make any comments on BU. That’s because I have lived long enough to know that certain folk are always on the lookout to pick an argument and they will pick on the most petty issues just to rile others up. That is why most times I just prefer to read what is posted and LMAO at the comedians that appear here and remain silent on the side. I am quite sure that David could tell exactly when I am logged on here by my IP number. So I will continue as I have been accustomed to doing unless I feel that there is some point that I think I must put forward. Capiche?

7. Georgie Porgie, a word of advice: there are two kinds of education, formal and informal. And apparently, you haven’t done much in the way of reading because if you had, you would have known that a lot of the great intellects were informally educated.

8. De Hood

Whenever you log onto BU, you say a lot of nothing. When have you ever contribute anything with substance here on BU? You keep silent not because you choose to do; you’re silent because you have little to add to the discourse here. And I’ve noticed, that from time to time, you hold onto GP pant leg for dear life, like he is some kind of a sage around here. Brother, don’t let this imposer fool you with his downloaded information from the Internet. I got his card that is why he hates me.

9. De Hood

This man is the worse example of a human being, God stuck a head on and a pair of hands. He impresses me in much the same light, as the Jews were impressed by Adolf Hitler.

10. And just what makes you so sure that GP is an imposter? GP has been around here for years before you newbie and his creditentials are bono fide. Its a pity you do not pay more attention to what he says as there is a great deal you could learn from him. Anyhow, you can have the last word on this issue as this is my last comment on this.

11. oh dear de hood,,,,,lickei.. licke enough,,,,,,,,,GP ain.t no god ,,he is a disgrace to god,why don/t you use your god given sense and realize that GP is a sleezy hypocrite ,,man take them scales off yuh eyes, ac know uh been around BU fuh a long time but neva realize that you were so foolish and blind,,,,to revere a so called Christan who have attacked people of all races and gender… sexually and otherwise,,,,,can;t believe that u would stick yuh nose out and have it severed to defend this hate filled demagogue, man dehood your really disappoint ac,,,as fuh my political views disagreements and political preferences would cause rifts thats part of the game ,,but this kind of hate expressed by yuh friend GP should not be excused especially if you call yourself a christain….,do the right thing and pulled you friend GP to the side and tell him his hate and vengeance is WRONG,,,,,brother…

12. De Hood

You strike me as an intelligent man, but I am afraid to say that you’re quite gullible, to believe that this man can teach anything. I have been on this blog for quite sometime now, and the people that impress me the most are AC, Ross, Hal Austin, Moneybrain, piece, Jack, and David with his equanimity. If we could get rid of GP and Bush Tea, it would do the blog a lot of good, because I have high hopes for the blog. We need to get the young people on board to help diversify the conversation.

13. @ac
    And peace to you also, ac.

14. Intelligent? Man wuh u sayin bout de ol hood now. Look when the good Lord was sharing out intelligence I mussee one o de las in de line and I only get a l’il piece that nuhbody din want. Lol

15. @de hood

Hope the old bones not creaking too much?

What does the Book of Mormon state about homosexuality?

16. dehood same here bro,,,i ain.t no holy roller like u and other ,,well i can;t put yuh friend in the christian category no more GP is a real disappointment,,man i have followed his comments religiously,,but these hate filled outburst against maybe billions of people some whom might have been part of his lineage hundred of years ago caught ac by surprise,,,man i was completely aghast mouth wide open ,,head shaking and all that,,, but like i told yuh bro a true friend points out the wrong ,,,,,and i belive that yuh have held GP in high esteem sufficiently so that both of u can be considered bu classroom friends,,i hope for his good and for his integrity ,that he would not continue to lower his self esteem trying to villify those whom he believes life style is an abomination,, if he does follow the word he would resist such a temptation. and use his energy to do good and let god be the judge,,,,,,

17. @David

It says just the same as the Bible, Dave. Tell you what, next time you have a few minutes to spare google- ” THE FAMILY- A PROCLAMATION TO THE WORLD” and that will tell you our thoughts on the subject. BTW, will you let me know your thoughts on it when you are finished reading it? Many thanks.

18. @de hood

It is a good message which promotes the traditional values missing so much from the world we live in today. Many of the values listed in the message are subscribed to by the BU household.

19. @ ac

Whatever you may mean by “holy roller” I’m sure doesn’t apply to de ol hood here. I’m just a struggling ol sinful ol man here trying to make peace with the good Lord for all the tresspassing that I been doing most of my life and hoping that He would be merciful to me when the bell rings.

I don’t know if that is any help to you but that’s how it is. Capiche?

20. @David
    So you have read it already? Now does it answer your query to me?

21. Read it Hoodie and yes it makes sense. The tradition family at the centre of everything we support.

22. @David

Yeah Dave. We uphold the tenets of the traditional family. That is…….mother, father, children as well as any members of the extended family as can be accommodated. Not the modern idea of “family” being two mothers and children or two fathers and children.

We most definitely teach our members especially the younger ones to stay far away from those same.sex relationships as possible. However, we realise that humam beings will make mistakes so we do not carry out any “witch-hunts” or progroms against anyone. You follow me?

23. Of course Hoodie and because one holds true to the traditional value set (Christian) it does NOT mean being intolerate of others who subscribe to different values. This is what we need to demonstrate as humanbeings.

24. @David

You’re quite right, David. Intolerance of others whether it be race, creed, religion or class is not accepted by us. But again, remember, we are not on a “witch hunt”. We preach of Christ, teach of Christ and of Him crucified and resurrected. We believe that a person is free to worship God according to the dictates of his heart. The rest is left to the Lord for His decision and judgement.

Does that help, David?

25. Thanks for your intervention Hoodie, words of wisdom for all to savour.

26. David both you and De Hood are missing the meat of the argument, ya’ll are submerged somewhere in a deep gravy. It has little to do with traditional values which by the was disguised under male chauvinism. It has more to do with a society that allowing its members the latitude to determine their course with in reasoning of course. So therefore, if two consenting adults of the same gender decide that their love each another and want to share a life together. Who are you and I to pontificate on the morality associated with their life choices? I can’t help but to think that we’re venturing into uncharted territory as far as our moral condemnation is concern. God gave to Adam as well as Eve and the entire human race the gift of self-determination/ free-will. And finally, David, you can’t obviously can’t be serious about thev book of Mormons Brother? You should have asked De Hood,
    How did the good book of the Mormons used to regarded the people of colour centuries ago? The same religion that was accused quite recently of sexually abusing boys as well as girls. The same religion which has a history of forcing women in subservient roles. And whose elder was featured on America’s Most Wanted for raping innocent children. Good family values David, when a man could have as much wives as he chooses. Leaving the morality which is associated with religion aside, and deal with the empirical reality regarding homosexuality.

27. @David
    And thanks to you for allowing me to answer your queries, David. Enjoy the rest of the day.

28. You and yours too Hoodie.

29. @ M F alias the donkey

I would strongly suggest that you get your facts straight before making statements that have no substance in actual fact. Don,t jump on the keyboard of your new toy, as, G P said earlier, and start typing without doing the required research.

30. It has been reported that students and staff at a secondary school in the north of Barbados are at risk of exposure to tuberculosis. Wouldn’t this imply someone with this ailment moving around the students coughing? Who is likely to have tuberculosis today?

31. De Hood

Here is one fact to get the ball rounding: Warren Jeff, President of the Fundamentalist Church of the Latter Day Saints ( FLDS, was sentenced to life in prison for two felony counts of child sexual assault. Google… this is old news brother… I’ll give the history of discrimination again colour of people within the Church later. It was quite extensive!

32. @ Balaam’s ass

Now you see if you had taken the time to do any research you would have realised that some years ago Mr. Warren Jeffs broke away with his group from THE CHURCH OF JESUS CHRIST OF LDS and formed his own organisation which, as you said, is known as THE FUNDAMENTALIST church of lds which has no connection to the organisation to which I belong which is, THE CHURCH OF JESUS CHRIST OF LDS. These are are two SEPARATE and completely distinct organisations. Some of the reasons that he broke away would have been that he could not have his own way to do as he wanted which, as we all know now, was to carry on with his perversions. So please when you want to distribute false information take it to someone else who may be as illiterate as you as, perhaps, you just might have an audience.

Now, mf, in any proper court of law you would have totally been discredited as a material witness because of the very false information which you have just disseminated in your above statement. Also this is not the first time that I have discovered that you are a stranger to the truth! You you proven yourself to “vary” the facts to suit your agenda! So in future I or anyone else would have to take whatever you put forward here with a huge spoon of salt, not just a grain of salt as we do with some others! Capiche???

33. Ping Pong:
    As I understand it, it was a student who had TB.

34. @lemuel | May 27, 2014 at 9:18 AM |

Ping Pong:
    As I understand it, it was a student who had TB.
    ………………………………………………………………………….

No need for panic and running around in circles. Our very able and capable government with its well funded Min. of Health is on on top of it all so no cause for any alarmist attitudes now!

35. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Hoodie ma boy
    How you doing this good morning
    I am enjoying the bovine excrement from the Devil and her new assistant Balaam’s ass.
    LOL TELL BALAAM’S ASS THAT I DONT HATE HIM……….I PITY THE GHETTO BOY WHO GOT A LITTLE COMMUNITY COLLEGE EDUCATION IN THE USA IN HIS LATER YEARS AND THINKS HE HAS MADE IT

HERE THE FOOL
    Here is one fact to get the ball “rounding”
    I’ll give the history of discrimination again colour

You think we could write such nonsense when I went to school?
    Watch the jackass bray now

@ ac the antibullers in Chancellor Hall in 1975 beat that bwatty bwoy Lesmonde till he went mad and had to be returned to St Lucia.

I did not order the hit. I just reporting it. And I am happy to see that it has you spewing the hatred you have been displaying towards me since you came on BU. NOW YOU HAVE BALLAAM’S ASS TO HELP YOU

IT WILL BE FUN. LOL LOL

36. De Hood:
    Who say that I am panicking. You are always chastising Dompey about facts; what I wrote is a fact. Where do you see the panic, unless this is tongue in cheek!!

Tb within a school setting is nothing to play with. It has the potential to manifest itself in every hold represented within that school environment!!

37. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

LEMUEL COOL IT
    HOOD IS NOT SAYING THAT YOU ARE PANICKING
    HE IS STRESSING THAT OUR UNDER FUNDED MOH CAN HANDLE THE SITUATION
    TB WAS ERADICATED IN BIM YEARS AGO

THE FACT THAT THERE ARE CASES TODAY SUGGESTS THAT WE HAVE BEEN ALLOWING IT TO RETURN BECAUSE OF LAPSED IMMIGRATION

IN ADDITION THERE IS OBVIOUSLY A LARGE POCKET OF IMMUNO-COMPRPMISED PERSONS ON THE ISLAND WHO ARE SUSCEPTIBLE E.G THOSE WITH AIDS CONTRACTED FROM THE BULLERS THAT AC AND BALAAM’S ASS ARE DEFENDING.

38. @lemuel

Hoodie is obviously being sarcastic. What are the possible outcomes as far as this TB business is concern?

39. @GP

Our comments crossed. If you have time maybe a post detailling the problem currently faced, required response by the Nation etc can be useful. Thos TB business seems scary.

40. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

You are getting slow LOL
    Already gave instructions for a three part ppt to be sent for BU readers LOL

41. Thanks GP, will be updated in the next rotation.

42. @ David

Quite so Dave. Its a scary situation all right and any modern, forward planning national Health department would be able to handle the problem competently and efficiently. However, with the kind of leadership that pertains to Barbados presently can we say so with any degree of confidence?

I can tell you of a case that came before me just within the last two weeks where a patient was sent to the QEH two years ago for an Angiogram to be performed because of suspected blocked arteries to the heart. The procedure was never performed at the QEH (for whatever reasons I don’t know) and the patient grew worse and worse over the intervening 2 years until she was seen by another heart specialist and treated for her health problems immediately. I can now report that the patient is now much improved and gaining strength daily because of the timely intervention by this very competent specialist! Left to those presently in charge of running the affairs at the QEH she may very well be planted by now!

43. @ GP

Hi Doc top o’ the morning to you too.

Doc man, yuh knows we is got ta hol’ on pun one anedder coattails odderwise the bovine excrement that flows from the betzapaenic brains of some of those here will wash we out tuh de ocean fas enuf an’ drown we in it too effen we is not kareful. Ah lie??

44. De Hood

You’re a member of a religious body that once felt that black people were too inferior to served in leadership positions. Now, anything that I espouse on BU can be verified
    factually; I can assure you brother.

45. Would it be unreasonable to connect the appearance of TB in Barbados and some aspects of this thread?

46. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

no hoodie
    the bovine excrement that flows from the betzapaenic brains of some of those here will kill we long before we get to the ocean

can you imagine meeting ac on a dark night with the ghetto man called balaam;s ass?

it would be worst than having tb wid aids together

WE IN BARE TROUBLE BOY
    THE BULLERS BRING THE AIDS
    NOW THEY BRINGING BACK THE TB
    we in bare trouble

47. De Hood

I am impressed by the manner in which you flow above. You could probably teach you mentor PG how to flow without writing in Caps.

48. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Ping Pong | May 27, 2014 at 10:43 AM |
    Would it be unreasonable to connect the appearance of TB in Barbados and some aspects of this thread?

DAVID WILL SOON POST ON TB
    AND WE WILL CONNECT THE RE-APPEARANCE OF TB IN BARBADOS WITH AIDS AND BULLIN

49. @ Balaam’s ass

Yeah sure……….and……..yaaawnnnn………. so when was this supposed to have been done according to your so-called well known “facts”? “Facts” like what you have been disseminating here for some time?? BTW, can anyone please pass me a bottle of salt to season these “facts” with so that they may taste better as they force themselves down my throat?? Carry on smartly BA, I suppose you have done all he research needed to find these “facts” correct?

50. Geogrgie:
    I hear you!