Minister David Estwick

Cabinet collective responsibility is constitutional convention in governments using the Westminster System that members of the Cabinet must publicly support all governmental decisions made in Cabinet, even if they do not privately agree with them. This support includes voting for the government in the legislature. Some Communist political parties apply a similar convention of democratic centralism to their central committeeWIKIPEDIA

The Estwick Affair has started to gather momentum contrary to what the goto political scientists of Messrs Bell and Wickham โ€˜originallyโ€™ predicted. Whether the DLPites like it or not Estwick now commands the attention of the country and beyond given the current state of the Barbados economy which has started to severely interact with another reality; a 2-seat majority government. While the current tension between Estwick is cause for concern for the government, of greater concern is the likely impact on the need to effuse confidence at a most challenging time in our post Independence history.

Local media has been quoting an inside source (attributed to a member of Cabinet) suggesting Estwick should adhere to the tenet of collective responsibility practiced by the Cabinet in the Westminster System.ย  BUโ€™s response is: do we practice a true true Westminster system of governance in Barbados respecting โ€œcodified and uncodifiedโ€ procedures?

The 2-party system is entrenched in Barbados and like it or not one of the ways to attempt to crack the code maybe from within the bowels of the system itself. Such an approach has been advocated by BU commentators. It appears Estwick has decided to FINALLY take this route AND must be given credit for trying to do so. Unlike several of his colleagues in the house he has the stature, financial and otherwise, to give it a shot no pun intended.

The challenge for Estwick will be to defend his credibility in the latest imbroglio with onlookers. Many political pundits are prepared to shove Estwick under the bus because he sat in Cabinet for the last six years and appear to have agreed with the policies of government. He added his voice to debates in the Estimates Debates with no dissent. During the last general election platform his stature was raised as a result of promising to reform the sugar industry by getting the Japanese to finance a multi-purpose sugar factory in the amount of USD$200 million.ย  So far nothing to show for it.

There is the lingering perception Estwick is a hothead aptly demonstrated by his nickname Pitbull and characterized by his Lammie Craig political style. Further supported by the gun incident where Estwick is alleged to have brandished a weapon in the presence of MP Dale Marshall and had to be restrained. The matter was quelled by the Committee of Privileges with the help of both parties. Something to support the view our so called democracy is contrived. DLPites who are honest have to admit Estwick has been a high maintenance member of the โ€˜teamโ€™. Who can forget his 2,405 words statement โ€“ read Estwickโ€™s statement – when he was dumped into the Ministry of Agriculture by the late David Thompson from his deathโ€™s bed? Who can forget Estwickโ€™s show of defiance at the DLP parliamentary group meeting in a red shirt on the morning of Thompsonโ€™s death to select a prime minister? Estwick has a history of demonstrating varying levels of discomfort within the Democratic Labour Party.

In his 201 statement Estwick made the now famous reference โ€˜time longer than twineโ€ฆโ€™.

Although it might seem that I have been given the bad end of the stick it is my belief that I have been chosen by the Almighty, and my constituents of St Phillip West to work on behalf of this country.ย  My mother always said: time longer than twine and that the race is not for the swift but is for he that endureth. I am resilient and will endure. However, under these circumstances I hereby tender my resignation from the Chair of the Cabinet Committee on Economic policy to allow for the Prime Minister to so appoint a new Chair

The public intervention by former Prime Minister Owen Arthurย  following the Estwickโ€™s outburst was interesting. Those who follow local politics may recall that Mascoll considered Estwick an apprentice and allowed him to express himself on economic matters when he [Mascoll] was leader of the DLP before being dumped for Thompson. The situation smells.

What matters is that Minister David Estwickย  ‘will get his dayโ€™ to present to one and all. We are left to contemplate what next for Barbados.

350 responses to “Minister David Estwick May be ABOUT to Deliver on His Time Longer Than Twine Declaration”

1. Depends what one is standing down from and whether an assurance is like a promise to a fool.

2. Stand down as in don’t make trouble read don’t disrupt the status quo.

Question is whether speculation or true.

3. David
    I am curious.

4. It is what others are putting out there.

5. @ David
    Bushie continues to be amazed at your ability – given the level of understanding that you obviously have, of the deep, institutionalized corruption and graft at all levels of our society – to continue to hope that things can somehow be “turned around” WITHIN the existing system.
    SURELY you can see that even if YOU YOURSELF were to be propelled into the position of PM today, you could NOT change the ‘system’…..and that you would be forced to conform – or suffer dire consequences.

Come on man! let the dead bury their dead.
    You are too intelligent to waste your time in futility. When can we move beyond this ‘spinning of top in mud’ and start to explore the REAL issues and the REAL solutions…?

We can always continue with these fun blogs to allow ac and Miller to go at each other’s throats ……nothing beats a good cat fight LOL Ha Ha

6. David

‘Others’ was a good movie, did you ever catch it?

7. Yes Warika, BU understands Machiavellian.

8. It appears the situation is getting worst for the Stuart government with another member of Cabinet indicating to Estwick his willingness to depart to the Independent benches along with Estwick, if it should come to that.
    ++++++++++++++++
    Interesting speculation, however if these members decide against sitting as โ€œindependentsโ€ but cross the floor to the other side then the LOO could approach the GG and say we have a majority of the House and we intend to form a Govโ€™t the GG would have no choice but to acknowledge a new Govโ€™t sans Election which could start a new fight about who the PM would be given the wrangling going on over there.

One of lifeโ€™s ambitions was to write a novel what a cast of characters.

9. i don;t see DE getting too much movement on the proposals,,,,,,one can suspect that govt has already looked at every alternative rather than take the harsh route,,it is also interesting in the DE article one official openly states that “forces were at play” on that note one can assumed that PM interest would only go as far as listening….

10. ac

Does ‘listening’ resolve the situation.

11. What Alternatives ??? the die is already cast the IMF has stated the terms & conditions of the loan. This nonsense about the Unions & Estwick putting up alternatives is a joke. Barbados is in such a weak position that it has to accept the IMF dictates.

12. The Unfettered Mind

13. Christ……Barbados is like a movie set with real life actors. It says a ot about PM Stuart that he NEVER reshuffled that cabinet, he comes across as uncaring, does he even care that is the image he is projecting….

14. Should read….. a lot, but maybe it’s correct.

15. warinka i did not suggest that listening would resolve but then again that is a positive staring point not necessary a conclusion but who knows.. …….but u need to reread my comments…….my assertion is that the PM might have already look at all alternatives…….one may conclude also that the many treaties that barbados have assigned can carry weight as to how we do business with other countries………just saying……..not a diplomat……

16. “Think that person will do a Estwick and declare themselves publicly in the near future.”

was of the feeling that person did not hold a seat in parliament and any action therefrom would not make any difference to the scenario but you seem to be very well informed about these inside matters so i will await your further revelations. In my view, I see another nine day wonder on the horizon with or without Dr Estwick’s epiphany.

17. Looked at what alternatives?? the PM- who does not know – has allowed the MOF to introduce impractical & flawed fiscal (should that read physical?) measures which could only have the end result we now have.

18. Respectful i believe the Prime Minister is facing a crisis within his cabinet, one where some of the members are disaffected by the conduct of the minister of finance an economic affairs.

19. Whatever happens we must have members of cabinet who are uncomfortably perched.

The legacy of the 19919 Sandiford beacons.

E11 concerns real anyone?

20. A crisis of his own making, remember the “eager 11” the PM stated “heads will roll” but a man gone. This PM is a man of “inaction” does nothing, says nothing and when he does say something its better that he had kept his mouth shut.

21. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

@Caswell
    โ€œIdiot, point out anytime when any of my articles call for the BLP to be in power.โ€

FRANKLY SPEAKING Column, Sunday, December 13, 2013 by Caswell Franklyn:
    โ€œIn Government the DLP are horrible leaders; in Opposition they were not good followers; and the only thing left is get out of the way for the sake of this country.โ€

When last I checked Caswell, there are two parties that will form the government of Barbados- the DLP or the BLP. Therefore, Mr. Franklyn, one does not need to read a truckload of law books to know that a call for the DLP to leave office will result in the BLP taking their place.
    Even an idiot could figure that out.

22. Recently there was a rumour that the MOF would be taking a leave of absence owing to โ€œill healthโ€, what happened? Was the โ€œill healthโ€ occasioned by the visit of the IMF or the spectre of the MOA looking over his shoulder?

I also heard that Freundel was a compromise choice between Sinckler and Estwick and was only supposed to hold the reins for a couple of years which gave rise to the โ€œeager elevenโ€ led by Sinckler after he didnโ€™t live up to his end of the bargain.

Now we have the other party to Freundelโ€™s Faustian bargain making a play for the heart and soul of the Party and leadership of the country.

This isnโ€™t about Economics or Finance it is about โ€œpowerโ€ or in the words of one of the combatants โ€œPOWAHโ€

23. Should read “but not a man gone.

24. With all the crticism being leveled at the govt i am still awaitng practical allternatives from the BLP that would not result in harsh decisiions… wunna need to hush… cause outside of gimmicks wunna have yet to make proposal that would have avoided any layoffs..bunch hypocrites.sitting and pinning hoopes on govt to imploded..

25. @ac

In case you are not aware events have overtaken your concerns.

26. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

When last you checked there are two parties that will form the Government. You should have said two discredited parties. But people like you like it so because each on gets a turn at plundering the country. Can’t you see from my writings that I prefer neither one. As they say one is six the other is half dozen. We need a new party that is not made up of members of either party.

27. @ caswell frankly
    The BLP and DLP are not the same ,and you know, so please stop saying that because we talk , we the people where living so happy under the BLP that some Church Rev/pastors started to see all kinds of things in 07-08 years , what not notice was the Devil. in David Thompson to win the government at all cost , means gimmicks, thief Clico policy holders money buy vote do as he pleases with the blessing of such blind minded people as the ones that write on BU ,who don’t seems to understand that in the DLP will plunder
    taking it supporters , look at the layoffs
    You know it started dishonesty ,so it end

28. @Caswell
    Dr Don Blackman described the parties in these words: BLP is a wicked party and the DLP is a weak party

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | February 9, 2014 at 9:47 AM |
    โ€œInteresting speculation, however if these members decide against sitting as โ€œindependentsโ€ but cross the floor to the other side then the LOO could approach the GG and say we have a majority of the House and we intend to form a Govโ€™t the GG would have no choice but to acknowledge a new Govโ€™t sans Election which could start a new fight about who the PM would be given the wrangling going on over there.โ€

There is some politically โ€˜scientificโ€™ appeal to your โ€œspeculationโ€.
    But under which Constitutional provisions would the GG be acting without offering the incumbent PM the right to dissolve Parliament and call for fresh general elections?

The following section of the Constitution covers such scenario you speculate on:

โ€œ66. (1) The office of Prime Minister shall become vacant-
    a) if he ceases to be a member of the House of Assembly for
    any reason other than a dissolution of Parliament;
    (b) when, after an election of members of the House of
    Assembly following any dissolution of Parliament and
    before that House first meets thereafter, the Prime
    Minister is informed by the Governor-General, acting in
    his discretion, that the Governor-General is about to
    re-appoint him as Prime Minister or appoint another
    person as Prime Minister; or
    (c) if the Governor-General revokes his appointment in
    accordance with the provisions of subsection (2).

(2) If the House of Assembly by a resolution which has
    received the affirmative vote of a majority of all the members
    ought to be revoked and the Prime Minister does not within
    three days of the passing of the resolution either resign or
    advise the Governor-General to dissolve Parliament, the
    Governor-General shall, by instrument under the Public Seal,
    revoke the appointment of the Prime Minister.

30. @Bush Tea February 8, 2014 at 11:28 PM “Bushie has been talking with a โ€œcontactโ€ in the Russian government who is will to buy us all for $6B. โ€ฆโ€ฆ$1B more than the Arabs.โ€ฆapparently he wants the rights to Rihannaโ€ฆ..
    โ€ฆ.and Peter Wickhamโ€ฆ :)>

Sorry Bushie, back to the negotiating table. Tell your Russian friend that she will never have these 2 rights. We ain’t giving up Peter nor Ri-Ri not for all the oil in Russia.

31. Time longer than Twine
    Dr Estwick timelines: Letter to the PM d.d JAN 13,2014; met UAE envoy In January, 2014. These two events occurred after Cabinet austerity budget of August, 2013 and agreement signing with the IMF in Dec, 2013. Dr Estwick knows the IMF agreement cant be rescinded . Therefore, what is Dr Estwick motives? To undermine the MOF? Dr Estwick is in the twine with no time on hand; time is in hands of OSA and FS not DE. The UAE funds is a mere ghost , no substance but to save is ass

32. @ Caswell
    Read your todays article , are you saying the BLP supporters, e.g Ivor Hoyte, must wait until age 60 for pension, but the DLP, employed after 2007 will immediately be compensated

33. @ AC, because of the impractical, misguided policies of the DLP in addition to their failure to take action in a more timely manner, and made worse by their lies to win an election at any cost, the situation is so bad now that any Govt B,D, N has to take drastic action to save the Country.

34. @ Bush Tea

”Bushie continues to be amazed at your ability โ€“ given the level of understanding that you obviously have, of the deep, institutionalized corruption and graft at all levels of our society โ€“ to continue to hope that things can somehow be โ€œturned aroundโ€ WITHIN the existing system.”

The Bush Master made the above statement to David. Of course, we agree! We could never understand why David of all people who knows well the maladies of our society will, at every opportunity, depend on those very systems for some kind of a self-correction. We must really be in a bad place. A place where dystopia beckons.

While we wholeheartedly concur with the Bush Master, we are sure that even he will agree that there is no national collective intelligence to point to a ‘genuine’ way forward. In short, we will contend that the people we look up to are waiting for something to happen elsewhere for us to copy what we then will think is true, the way forward. There is however, no chance for this, this time. The interest in the man from the east is misplaced, we contend.

Misguided notions that returning the BLP, or the DLP, or the third party we hear about that comes from a collection of Bees and Dees is tantamount to a rearrangement of the chairs on the Titanic. So in some ways David represents the quintessential Bajan petrified by a national and ingrained fear which centrally emanates from an historic landlessness.

35. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!. It is SOOOOOO hilarious watching the illusions of stability and so called competence of the DLP fading so fast!!!!!! What is not funny is that it is occuring with HORRIBLE consequences to this country. I am tempted to tell the DEMS “DAH FUH WUNNA”. I would be one of the last to advise the DEMS but I would say do very LITTLE to irritate Eastwick or you may find the consequences being the downfall of your gov’t. Forcing him to adhere to the collective responsibility of Cabinet blah blah blah… is not the way right now. To Estwick, it is one thing to have your opinion but being insubordinate to the leadership no matter how incompetent they may be would not be tolerated anywhere. To me Eastwick options are to get support from the gov’t side to remove Fumble as PM or resign from Cabinet. To me it depends on how strongly Estwick feels that the path the country is under Fumble is the wrong one. The easiest path would be for Estwick to sit as an independent on the opposition (not neccessarily on the “BLP” side) cause a deadlock in parliament, force elections someway and hope for a change in gov’t. However Estwick says he is a DEM so siting as a independent even if temporarily, to return later to the DLP will definitely damage his reputation but not kill it. I don’t think Estwick wants power because you can’t get power without support. Estwick wants recognition. To me it would be VERY FOOLISH for the DEMS to “run out” Estwick, then again the DEMS have a reputation of intolerance to “intellectuals” and stronger members of the party that want to “challenge” the leadership e.g Richie, Clyde.

36. @Pacha & Bushie

Don’t you think that the level of dissonance must swell to a level to act as a tipping point to create a movement? How does one help to fuel the dissonance? Writing blogs which promote a militancy which do not and will not resonate with a mass of people not yet located in that place is nonsense.

On Sunday, 9 February 2014, Barbados Underground < comment-reply@wordpress.com> wrote:

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Chaucer

It no me saying that I am only reporting how the CCJ misinterpreted the law in the Winton Campbell case. You would note that I used quotation marks. When the highest court mess up it becomes the law.

38. @ Chaucer

Don’t worry about Ivor Hoyte, poor example. He is pushing 64.

39. Well Well | February 9, 2014 at 10:28 AM |

Christโ€ฆโ€ฆBarbados is like a movie set with real life actors. It says a ot about PM Stuart that he NEVER reshuffled that cabinet, he comes across as uncaring, does he even care that is the image he is projectingโ€ฆ.
    ………………………………………………………………………..
    Tom Adams was one vindictive son of a bitch, which he forcibly took out on lesser mortals, but he loved Barbados. The present prime minister is taking out his vindictiveness, not only on the people of Barbados, but the country itself. I believe that Mr Stuarts , political ambition in recent years, was to wreck Barbados, a country that had its sight set on First World Status in the early 2020’s. As it is we are up the creek and in the same boat as Haiti.

40. here is another event you would not hear on bu, one which should be shared as it has to do with the economy which is projected to have growth with in 22months according to a well known head and executive of one of the worlds largest banking institution in the Caribbean that only shows that there are people outside of this hostile environment who does not believe everything that is coming via social media and slanted news periodicals about this tiny island , even vice president joe biden has some goods news to share with the world about our airport and then there is also the good news of increased airlift.this is the kind of news that helps rebuild our growth and nations confidence but as always any good news is either deliberately thrown in the BU waste dump and regurgitated rubbish is repeated on a daily basis by the BLP yardfowls as newsworthy,,,,then YOU BU david got nerve to lecture and point finger in my face because i made a comment about the hypocrisy of the BLP yardfowls >>Well let me tell YOU this it is the truth no BULL and You know what there are others who think So too

41. @ac

Clueless is the word.

On Sunday, 9 February 2014, Barbados Underground < comment-reply@wordpress.com> wrote:

42. BUSH TEA and others keep calling for alternative parties not one of wunna got guts or intestinal fortitude to go up against the powerhouse iron clad mafioso types that control the economy… u tink so.. i waiting….if wunna so adamant why not join the PDC revolution of NO TAXES……go ahead make my day,…

43. @ac

After your myopic rant why not discuss the issue at hand? The fact that there is no confidence in the government. More importantly the fact that one man now is holding the government to ransom while Barbados, which the PM and the MoF have been asking to play its part investing the economy, is looking on.

44. ac wrote “22months according to a well known head and executive of one of the worlds largest banking institution in the Caribbean”.

The forecast has come from David Noel, the new chief executive officer of Scotiabank Barbados and Caribbean East as he spoke to the SUNDAY SUN during an extensive interview on the banking sector and the performance of the Barbados economy.

He made a textbook statement coming from coming from someone who has landed a dream job eh!

It is perfectly logical that Barbados will experience growth after a long continuous contraction of the economy.

45. lol de real thing to note is that 22 months is almost 2 years. So people go suck salt fuh almost 2 years. What so good bout that?

46. What is real here is the sense of hopelessness which is enveloping the country. This is against a background of 40% of the electorate remaining at home. There is something happening folks.

47. David wrote “More importantly the fact that one man now is holding the government to ransom”

If I were him I would use one of these options.

Resign from the party and sit as an independent.

Sit as an Independent while creating your own new political party.

Resign from politics and return to life as an ordinary citizen.

48. @Hants

Estwick sees himself as a DEM, all he appears to want is validation of his views. However for Stuart and the government to validate his views it must be at the expense of Sinckler. The government was warned managing government with a 2 seat majority would come to this. What we have are political decisions trumping those which should be in the national interest.

49. my point is that any good news about the economy is totally ignored here on BU in preference to the daily hogwash from miller and other BLP yardfowls on their race to the front line to see the govt collapse with they ole musty outdated ideas policies of gimmicks and hat tricks waiting to become law, i make no apologises……..u have the likes of one adrein loveridge with his racist crap calling people lazy while asking for govt handouts for his friends and pissing and ranting over any govt proposals govt does or say to help the lazy ass hoteliers,,, all this slimy crap does not help. so in future i will point out what ever good news i see or hear on one a daily basis,,,,,and BU can continue to entertain the bLP yardfowls with fish and foul

50. @ac

BU is not the Advocate and what you pointed as good news is just the opinions of others.