Minister David Estwick

Cabinet collective responsibility is constitutional convention in governments using the Westminster System that members of the Cabinet must publicly support all governmental decisions made in Cabinet, even if they do not privately agree with them. This support includes voting for the government in the legislature. Some Communist political parties apply a similar convention of democratic centralism to their central committeeWIKIPEDIA

The Estwick Affair has started to gather momentum contrary to what the goto political scientists of Messrs Bell and Wickham โ€˜originallyโ€™ predicted. Whether the DLPites like it or not Estwick now commands the attention of the country and beyond given the current state of the Barbados economy which has started to severely interact with another reality; a 2-seat majority government. While the current tension between Estwick is cause for concern for the government, of greater concern is the likely impact on the need to effuse confidence at a most challenging time in our post Independence history.

Local media has been quoting an inside source (attributed to a member of Cabinet) suggesting Estwick should adhere to the tenet of collective responsibility practiced by the Cabinet in the Westminster System.ย  BUโ€™s response is: do we practice a true true Westminster system of governance in Barbados respecting โ€œcodified and uncodifiedโ€ procedures?

The 2-party system is entrenched in Barbados and like it or not one of the ways to attempt to crack the code maybe from within the bowels of the system itself. Such an approach has been advocated by BU commentators. It appears Estwick has decided to FINALLY take this route AND must be given credit for trying to do so. Unlike several of his colleagues in the house he has the stature, financial and otherwise, to give it a shot no pun intended.

The challenge for Estwick will be to defend his credibility in the latest imbroglio with onlookers. Many political pundits are prepared to shove Estwick under the bus because he sat in Cabinet for the last six years and appear to have agreed with the policies of government. He added his voice to debates in the Estimates Debates with no dissent. During the last general election platform his stature was raised as a result of promising to reform the sugar industry by getting the Japanese to finance a multi-purpose sugar factory in the amount of USD$200 million.ย  So far nothing to show for it.

There is the lingering perception Estwick is a hothead aptly demonstrated by his nickname Pitbull and characterized by his Lammie Craig political style. Further supported by the gun incident where Estwick is alleged to have brandished a weapon in the presence of MP Dale Marshall and had to be restrained. The matter was quelled by the Committee of Privileges with the help of both parties. Something to support the view our so called democracy is contrived. DLPites who are honest have to admit Estwick has been a high maintenance member of the โ€˜teamโ€™. Who can forget his 2,405 words statement โ€“ read Estwickโ€™s statement – when he was dumped into the Ministry of Agriculture by the late David Thompson from his deathโ€™s bed? Who can forget Estwickโ€™s show of defiance at the DLP parliamentary group meeting in a red shirt on the morning of Thompsonโ€™s death to select a prime minister? Estwick has a history of demonstrating varying levels of discomfort within the Democratic Labour Party.

In his 201 statement Estwick made the now famous reference โ€˜time longer than twineโ€ฆโ€™.

Although it might seem that I have been given the bad end of the stick it is my belief that I have been chosen by the Almighty, and my constituents of St Phillip West to work on behalf of this country.ย  My mother always said: time longer than twine and that the race is not for the swift but is for he that endureth. I am resilient and will endure. However, under these circumstances I hereby tender my resignation from the Chair of the Cabinet Committee on Economic policy to allow for the Prime Minister to so appoint a new Chair

The public intervention by former Prime Minister Owen Arthurย  following the Estwickโ€™s outburst was interesting. Those who follow local politics may recall that Mascoll considered Estwick an apprentice and allowed him to express himself on economic matters when he [Mascoll] was leader of the DLP before being dumped for Thompson. The situation smells.

What matters is that Minister David Estwickย  ‘will get his dayโ€™ to present to one and all. We are left to contemplate what next for Barbados.

350 responses to “Minister David Estwick May be ABOUT to Deliver on His Time Longer Than Twine Declaration”

1. “If we accept that Estwick wants to be a DEM then our analysis must be so driven. His thinking is likely how can he effect change from within the party.”

Mr Estwick might be holding a bigger ace than he knows or perhaps afraid to handle. I suggest he get in contact with Sir James Mitchell of St Vincent before Thursday for an urgent lesson in political double dealing and he might end up as Prime Minister of Barbados given the unholy state of affairs in the BLP camp.

2. Listen to Prime Minister Freundel Stuart addressing Barbadians on the election trail in 2008. We must hold politicians accountable:

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=1405330069718008

3. NORTH AMERICAโ€™S big freeze and Rihannaโ€™s popularity are among the reasons cited by a veteran hotelier for the flood of visitors currently in Barbados.
    Alvin Jemmott, general manager of Divi Southwinds, said while he had not analysed the current bumper tourist season in a scientific way, there were a few clear contributory factors.
    โ€œOne, it is extremely cold in all of our major source markets. Weโ€™re having the worst winter in Canada, south-eastern United States and the United Kingdom,โ€ he told the DAILYโ€ˆNATION.
    โ€œIn the case of the UK, I think (Britons) may very well have accepted the fact that the airline passenger duty is in place. Once taxes go into place it takes a little while and then they become normal. People from the UK might have adjusted to that,โ€ he said.

4. ac

…………..but the country loss over a 100 million from its foreign currency account up to the end of January 2014. All despite the tourist arrivals and the proceeds from the credit Suisse loan.

5. Note Alvin Jemmott readily admitted there nothing scientific in his opinion. As soon as the official numbers show increase month over month BU will be the first to run with it.

6. The BLP solution for Barbados – MARCH, RIOT, PROTEST so that we can get back power.
    Note we, the BLP will not tell you if we will also send home public sector workers, we will not say what we will sell and to whom but we want you to march, protest and let us get power.
    A Piss Poor Opposition

7. @bajanfuhlife
    “A Piss Poor Opposition”
    True. coupled with a piss poor government. Murder in the market murder.

@Rocking
    I wouldn’t be surprised but have those figures been officially released as yet?

“We must hold politicians accountable:”
    Again we must ask how.

re. Estwick
    I’ll observe a bit more before commenting but clearly he has become possibly the most potentially politically powerful person for the time being.
    This could be a lose lose situation for the DLP but smart minds, a strong leader and willing loyal team can delay and eventually spin their way out of it and save face. To hear Estwick speak of joining the BLP as an option must have made heads turn and ears cringe. Akin to blasphemy.

Thursday will tell. Will it be applause or adios?

Just Observing

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I got another one of those letters this morning. I would like to compare it with Estwick’s

Dear Beloved,

This letter might surprise you, you must not ignore my letter to you this time as I am writing this letter to you with heavy tears flowing from my eyes and great sorrow in my heart because I only have but a few months to live according to my Doctor. Upon this predicament of mine, I have decided to spread all my wealth, to contribute mainly to the development of charity.

Am in need of a trustworthy and reliable person who will use some funds am giving out for charity ($18 Million Dollars) to build an orphanage home or start up a charity organization in areas in need. Please reply to my personal email for more details as I have but a little time left as I will be much happy with myself at the end if you can sincerely set up an orphanage home in your Country to help cater for the welfare of the poor and homeless in the society. Contact me via my secured email address and remember I have just a few months left. Email:mwass@3mail.ie

Delay in your reply will not be of benefit to me due to my deteriorating health condition and this will compel me to search for someone else. Please always be prayerful all through your life and assure me that you will act just as I have stated herein. I sincerely do hope to hear from you soon. God bless you and members of your family always.

God be with you.
    Mr.Mohammed Djamel Wassim
    Email: mwass@3mail.ie

9. Should Estwick go the quisling route by back stabbing the party that brought him to high Ministerial post and elections are called the DLP can be assured of 13 seats the battle will be on for Pele Bradshaw’s daughter’s riding and Pain and Hinckson’s seats. Trevor Prescod and Maria Agard constituencies could go either way. What is turn coat Eversley and fraud Wickham’s take? How come Mia hasn’t sponsored a ” scientific poll” by Wickham if she is pellucidly clear that people want Chris and deep thinker Fruendel to go.

10. @ The Fan
    Eversley has not just become a turncoat ; that has been the story of his life . Check his employment history ; he like Caswell Franklyn is not employable so he has set about to make a bigger ass of himself . The boy is still belyaching because the Prime Minister would not take his self appointed “only person in the entire Caribbean qualified to manage an election campaign” seriously . He says some degree he recently acquired has given him that credential . What wonders what happened in the period when we had no such QUALIFIED person around . What did Grantley Adams , Errol Barrow , Tom Adams , Owen Arthur, David Thompson and the same Freundel Stuart who made it possible for CBC to allow him to go overseas to get this same QUALIFICATION while receiving pay from the tax payers of Barbados do ?

11. But what are DE proposals ae they really feasable or viable options orhis DE using cold coals to blow hot air creating an illusion….. personally i belive this would go against him by both the BLP and DLP camp it goes back to TRUST in the end what ever route he takes the “judaeus Syndrome” will haunt him and his measures of back peddling and putting his party on the defensive will not leave him unscathed. Time will be longer than twine and righly used to define him.

12. Fan

You must be cajohnny boy. It is safe to say that Estwick has done as much if not more for the DLP than it has done for him.
    If elections are called as I suspect they will then its fair to assume the BLP will win with about 18 seats. The DLP would likely lose Lowe, Brathwaite, Blackett and Carrington. John Boyce who is easily the most bland and ineffective MP for Ch Ch S would also lose his seat.

The PM is in a very difficult position but one not made any better or easier by delay. He must choose either to stay on the present track with Sinckler losing Estwick as result or switch track bringing Estwick into the Ministry of Finance & Economic Affairs and as Deputy Prime Minister.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Fan | February 10, 2014 at 8:24 AM |
    โ€œHow come Mia hasnโ€™t sponsored a โ€ scientific pollโ€ by Wickham if she is pellucidly clear that people want Chris and deep thinker Fruendel to go.

Please exclude the miller from the people who want Stinkliar and the lying Fumbler to go, ya hear.

We deeply wish they would stay. Please S&F, don’t go until you serve your time for the punishment for the lies and deceit.
    Another year would do you fine. Remember the electoral conviction of โ€˜no layoffs, no privatizationโ€™? Your words, resurrected in the video news clip posted by David BU, are ample evidence of justification for your political incarceration. You can never beat self-confession from a โ€˜patrioticโ€™ liar.

It seems your man of integrity has put his twisted foot in his convoluted mouth, (as in the case of him witnessing voter fraud) is planning to bring those responsible to account for the off-balance sheet financing and creative accounting the previous administration engaged in prior to 2008.
    Maybe he could get another creative accountant, the Guv of the CB, to find out who were those creative accountants who made the national debt rise from $4.7 billion including the off-balance sheet transactions to $10.9 billion confirmed by the squealer Estwick.

Whom is he trying to finger this time around? The BLP politicians, the members of the then dormant PAC, the Auditor G, or the accounting officers aka senior public sector managers?
    Is the โ€˜legalโ€™ fool aware of the provisions of the Audit & Financial Administration? Where does it say any minister of the Crown is responsible for accounting matters?

14. To assume this is a outburst or tantrum by Estwick is to display a sense of ignorance about the man and his character.

The PM and DLP must realize the game of politics practiced by Thompson, Henry, Wickham, Pilgrim and Sinckler, one characterized by Machiavellian and duplicitous acts of sabotage will not be enough to appease Estwick nor prevent a chain of events leading to the worse possible conclusion.

15. We await with bated breath Estwick’s lay out of the United Arab Emirates panacea to Barbados’ economic woes. Dealing with middle eastern states is a tricky not to mention dangerous thing to do. The middle east and Islam regimes sad to say are unstable and unpredictable for the most part despite amazing untold oil wealth. These states regretably are hotbeds of violence and mind numbing radicalism in which uprisings, rebellions, bombings, suicide and otherwise take thousands of lives of women, children whoever happens to be in the area. Barbados is well advised to stay clear of more than the normal diplomatic relations with the Arab states. Unfortunately that’s the reality the deadly evidence is there for all to see. Many of us are keen to hear Estwick’s plan even so we are afraid that given it includes billions from the strife torn and volatile middle east it is a cocktail for disaster

16. Fan

You Mother never tell you “not to look a gift horse in the face”

17. @ Hants

In the middle of the melee, like a voice crying in the wilderness you said and i quote “Barbados needs to create an economy that continuously reduces dependence on Tourism and FDI.”

1 divided by 2.

That is what this whole problem becomes Brother Hants where the integer being divided is larger that the number being divided and neither of these clowns can see that.

Now 2 into 10 (our Minister of Finance would probably be able to fudge the decimal point in that sum) as we were taught in Primer, 2 into one cannot go, borrow a nought and make it ten then 2 into ten +5…

We have a problem Hants of national proportions that both nincompoop governments, representatives that we elect by the way, cant seem to understand.

One fellow doing good selling clothes nex ting you know all de gap selling clothes, like snow cone carts, hot dog stalls, barbeque pork tails, remember that high speed chase for all them brine barrels jes so, we does copy evey ting.

Everybody who got money building a nex hotel but not one uh dem investing in whu de tourisses coming to see whether it be culture, historic sites, beaches, theatre, shows, tailored encounters wid bajan families NUFFIN.

So if the whole tourism deal stagnant in its ideas and, like you say the international bottom dropping out of FDI you really feel dat dese jokers got a clue bout what to do nex?

De sun does shine 80% uh de year here in Bulbados and here we is in 2014 and not a body ent invite de Chinese to gi we some technical assistance to produce a Solar cell plant dat does tek de sunlight and concert it to energy. De granson tell me dat one.

Bt you get my drift Hants, simple achievable doable alternatives dat we cud do and even export to de region and South America. Whu dem people up by Cave Hill doing? After Sam Headley gone home whu happen?

You mean dat dat fellow Giibs who retire from de Faculty of Pure and Applied Sciences only did up deah pulling a salary as Dean and acting as a place holder fuh he cousin when he return from ovah and away?

BRASS BOWLS we are BRASS BOWLS we be…

18. .. where the integer being divided is larger that the number performing the division (divisor)

Man I like i went to the same school and Sinckliar!!

19. @ Caswell

Email: mwass@3mail.ie

Man if that man email was one letter off he woulda had a relationship wid we Minister of Finance and what he doing to Bulbados’ donkeys that we are!

Email: myass@3mail.ie

You sure dat you ent mek up dat email address ??

20. The issue here is not only about the proposal Estwick is reported to deliver on Thursday but the inadequate communication opportunity given to Estwick et al. It speaks to how the ‘manager’ is doing the job.

21. Hants said:
    “I have a difficult time understanding how Bajans seem to believe that Barbados is Utopia and somehow completely insulated from economic recessions around the world.”

From watching this scenario unfold since 2004, I can safely say that both the BLP/DLP politicians who should have known better, believed the island was/is insulated from world wide recessionary shocks, and continually drove that belief into the minds of the electorate just to gain votes/voters who are unaware of international events, that mistake is now costing all the politicians on the island dearly…..they were warned repeatedly and by everyone. Their inactions and belief in their own freaking lies caused the mess on the island, more so than the external shocks.

bite-a-woman……love it, lol

22. What are u talking about David about” inadequate communication” are u privy to thev internal communication DE has had between himself and ministers 0/ PM before he went public…do u have a log or timetable to back up your comments…..or is it all based on what you read in the nation…. if not could you not been presenting a falsehood and putting in the public forum as fact…are u not falling short on the very standard u call for one of integrity

23. @David@10.31a.m
    Re: …inadequate communication given to Dr. Estwick….
    Here is the timeline for the UAE/Estwick plan; DE wrote the PM by letter
    d.d Jan 13, 2014, held meting with UAE envoy in January, 2014. The IMF agreement was concluded Dec 13, 2013, the austerity budget in August 2013. The UAE plan came after the IMF agreement and the aboved budget.

24. DE was wrong he should have known better when he engage a foreign govt with the internal affairs of barbados. giving “precedent” to secuurity. this a matter if had occured in an international setting would have been cause for him being removed from govt.

25. This is a very dangerous game of cat and mouse DE has embarked upon engagng foreign interset now putting the govt on the defnesive and playing the role of victim. for sure he can,t be so naieve not to understand that such a high level of contact and information needs proper protocal and verification in order not to poised risk to country. as for the letter it seems very informal and “tacky”.

26. ac

Barbados sinking into its own lost decade and your worrying about protocol?
    I trust you are an official spokesman for the DLP or the government cause you are displaying a level of ignorance which is quite scary.

27. DE made an error in judgement what he needs to do is apologise make his peace with the Party and help restore a level of Trust to himself…as a citizen of barbados he has a right of dissent and disagreement the country might be havingfinancial strain but it sure as hell doesn,t need detractors or what may be unrecognised or illegitimate sources waiting to take over what is left of it.

28. ac

Apologize for what? For asking the government to wake up and realize that its policies are not working, have not worked and have driven the Barbados economy on the frigging rocks?

You sound a tribal political supporter even in the face of overwhelming evidence that the economy is chronically and perilously unstable and heading for certain disaster.

29. ”forget that the PM is giving Him his day in court,,,,one can assume that DE is taking a lot of heat however in this one he is flying by the seat of his pants hopefully there are suspenders attached to keep him from fallingโ€ฆ”

Lol. His day in court??? He does not have to answer to anyone for his conscience.

Flying by the seat of his pants??? No, he alone at this time (unless someone else grows balls) has the power to direct the future of the government.

And, if there was an election tomorrow, there would be no jobs to promise…for votes, by either side.

Rather a raw election. Figure that into the equation of the result.

However, I suspect that the BLP do not want government yet, they will let the government implement the worse additional measures coming and then try for government / tell those willing to cross…after.that time.

And the government, will drag out the necessary actions that need to be taken, as long as they can…to stay in government…

Charades.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Rockin Engine | February 10, 2014 at 2:52 PM |
    โ€œI trust you are an official spokesman for the DLP or the government.โ€

But ac is indeed the official spokesperson for the current DLP administration. She is the chief trusted advisor to the leader who listens only to ac and not one of his thousands of critics.

The reasoning underlying her statement reproduced below represents the kind of thinking reflected by the current managers of the countryโ€™s affairs:
    โ€œthis a matter if had occured in an international setting would have been cause for him being removed from govt.โ€

Doesnโ€™t the matter involving the borrowing of UAE money without IMF approval one of international confusion? So who would dare fire Estwick with $5 billion ready for the taking?
    Donโ€™t โ€˜loansโ€™ of such magnitude require some serious collateral and pledge of security to the lenders? What does Bim have to offer by way of collateral other than 280,000 odd souls that can be sold into everlasting financial slavery?

The IMFโ€™s report on the recently concluded Article 1V consultation is due to be made available in a few days.
    Sinckliar will probably be shitting his pants when he sees the long list of โ€˜non-negotiableโ€™ recommendations he will be demanded to implement within the coming months; with privatization a top priority with immediate urgency.

We shall soon see what the bailiffs have to say about this Estwick plan to escape from one slave master only to be bought by another lot from the lands of Arabia.

31. millertheanunnaki

Was the UAE offer negotiated with the help of OSA and does that spell doom and gloom for MAM?

32. Hants”Wunna just have to have them $100,000 gas guzzlers parked outside grossly over priced houses.Cou cou an salt fish still taste good an ketchin bus an slappin tar ainโ€™t bad.”

True words. The basic things in life are the best.

And people got caught up in the big ‘real estate game’ too much here, just as in US.

Imagine people getting loans to buy likkle 2 and 3 bedroom houses for 500,000 and 600,000.

Lunacy. Even likkle such houses asking for over 300,000 now, in those slapadash developments that selling now, with the neighbor kitchen 4 feet away from yuh bedroom.

Nothing wrong with that, if that is one’s home and what one can afford, it ais a home, but not for over 200,000 and definitely not for over 300,000.

Gotta be joking.

33. What ever the circumnstances DE should have been cautious and not let emotion dictate commonsense using backroom diplomacy and now political theatrics as a sounding board.has not hep the situation. morevore the measure stated in the letter (if authentic) would take longer to implement and a reversal of measures govt have already implemented would only cause for further instabilty and cause to question indecisiveness on govt part

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Rockin Engine | February 10, 2014 at 4:57 PM |

Any plan involving OSA isn’t worth Jack Schitt.
    OSA is a spent force and Arabs donโ€™t deal with electorally impotent old men; not even as eunuchs.

You will soon see what is going to happen to the Estwick plan and the OSA plot when the IMF delivers its ultimatum to Bim.

Do you really feel Sinkliar and Estwick are playing games with monopoly money lenders? Whom do you think the UAE moneylenders would listen to? Two unknown Bajan crackers or the international finance scorekeepers and economic performance evaluators?
    There is absolutely no way the UAE will lend Bim one red Bajan cent without the nod of the credit rating agencies and the IMFโ€™s backing.

35. PM says Government will not flip-flop
    Added by Ryan Gilkes on February 10, 2014.
    Saved under Local News

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart is insisting that his government will not be derailed from its fiscal programme.

And he says Barbadians will have to make sacrifices for it to work.

Stuart did not make specific mention of criticism by senior minister David Eswick of the current policies being pursued by his administration.

But the prime minister told those attending the Democratic Labour Partyโ€™s St. Andrew branch meeting last night that his government is not playing blind manโ€™s bluff with the countryโ€™s economy.

He maintains that his administration is putting the necessary structures and remedies in place to put the country on sound footing.

โ€œIf you announce that youโ€™re pursuing a course, you have to show that you believe in the course upon which youโ€™ve embarked. You canโ€™t be vacillating and changing today and changing tomorrow. Thatโ€™s why we build a house with a plan. If you start to build a house and everybody that pass by tell you how the roof should look and you take that advice, the house will never finish. So thatโ€™s the route weโ€™re going and I am sure that it will yield the kind of success to which we all look forward,โ€ he said.

Meantime, the prime minister says heโ€™ll tell Barbadians about the challenges the economy is facing and whoโ€™ll be held to account for the state of the economy during the upcoming estimates debate in March.

36. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

And he says Barbadians will have to make sacrifices for it to work.

The Prime Minister is calling on Barbadians to make sacrifices to get the country out of the mess that his Government’s policies have gotten us into. I am not hearing about the sacrifices that he and his Cabinet are making, except that they let go some of their yard fowl supporters.

37. Has mia Mottley gone mad ? Am i hearing right that she has given the PM until Sunday to fire Chris Sinkler or else BOTH OF THEM WILL GO ? Well 1 Well ! Talk about a ‘power hungry political paranoiac”!! Mia Amor Mottley

38. @ Miller @4.51&5.26 p.m
    What a job , you have grinded and dusted out DE, CS and OSA like a gill a corn

39. A review of the past IMF reports suggest their Public Information Notices and Staff Reports are published about 3 months after they finish their work in Barbados; so we can expect to see their report some time in March, about the same time as the estimates debate in March.

40. In the UK recently,it was reported that under little used legal procedures,people who say they have evidence that someone has committed a crime can ask a magstrate to issue a summons requiring them to attend a court hearing.
    The district judge could then decide whether or not to proceed with a case or dismiss it.
    I assume that the above might be among those laws saved at independence in which case the silly primate inter pares can take the evidence he has about his findings as well as the evidence he has about first hand knowledge of vote buying ,as well as the evidence of the pig who told the House that 2 policemen overheard somebody or bodies planning to dispatch him to hades or wherever liars,theives and dishonest lying porcine bipeds go in the after life. Stuart,the total bajan embarrassment.

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Gabriel

That procedure might work in England but unfortunately, we have a constitution that gives the Director of Public Prosecutions the right to take over and continue or dismiss any criminal case. What would be the use filing these cases.

42. Like her demanding that the PM fired the MOF by Sunday or else; she really is a gimmick!!!

43. miller,
    Have you noticed the change in the spin? The bandit chaser was on TV tonight saying that they did not know that they would have had to lay off people when they campaigned last year!!! Are you kidding me? I knew you Dems are dumb but I really could not dream that you could be so dumb.

You Dems are damned liars, plain and simple. Everybody in Barbados knew the economy was in trouble. How the hell you are all running the country and did not know that borrowing 14 million dollars from out of our NIS funds monthly to pay salaries was unsustainable? Are you Dems idiots or what?

Said the bandit chaser tonight………….things changed, they found out things were bad and they had to change course. So the Stinkliar was lying to you all in cabinet? Even if this was so, dont you all read? But there again you Dems dont listen to critics as the lying PM said yesterday. That is why your ass is grass and you have made all of ours grass too!

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

You really mean that our ass is grass and the IMF is the sheep. Sheep graze down to the dirt.

45. The prime ministers comments last night that there will not be change to governments fiscal policy has gone down quite inflammatory in some quarters.
    This weekend will be the most important weekend in politics in a decade or more.
    The prime minister has not read the ball correct one this one.

46. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

If he is not changing anything, Why is he entertaining Estwick on Thursday with his Al Queida proposals.

47. @Rein Back

Why are his comments seen to be inflammatory?

48. David

Ask Caswell.

49. Many of you were impressed by Dr. Eswickโ€™s analyses of the economy when he was the then DLP Opposition spokesman on economic matters. However, one must be reminded that the Sunday Sun carried a three-part series of interviews with Estwick, highlighting his description of Barbados being in a โ€œdebt trapโ€ prior to the 2008 elections. Interestingly, his analysis was dismissed as nonsense by none other than Dr. Frank Allyene.