Minister David Estwick

Cabinet collective responsibility is constitutional convention in governments using the Westminster System that members of the Cabinet must publicly support all governmental decisions made in Cabinet, even if they do not privately agree with them. This support includes voting for the government in the legislature. Some Communist political parties apply a similar convention of democratic centralism to their central committeeWIKIPEDIA

The Estwick Affair has started to gather momentum contrary to what the goto political scientists of Messrs Bell and Wickham โ€˜originallyโ€™ predicted. Whether the DLPites like it or not Estwick now commands the attention of the country and beyond given the current state of the Barbados economy which has started to severely interact with another reality; a 2-seat majority government. While the current tension between Estwick is cause for concern for the government, of greater concern is the likely impact on the need to effuse confidence at a most challenging time in our post Independence history.

Local media has been quoting an inside source (attributed to a member of Cabinet) suggesting Estwick should adhere to the tenet of collective responsibility practiced by the Cabinet in the Westminster System.ย  BUโ€™s response is: do we practice a true true Westminster system of governance in Barbados respecting โ€œcodified and uncodifiedโ€ procedures?

The 2-party system is entrenched in Barbados and like it or not one of the ways to attempt to crack the code maybe from within the bowels of the system itself. Such an approach has been advocated by BU commentators. It appears Estwick has decided to FINALLY take this route AND must be given credit for trying to do so. Unlike several of his colleagues in the house he has the stature, financial and otherwise, to give it a shot no pun intended.

The challenge for Estwick will be to defend his credibility in the latest imbroglio with onlookers. Many political pundits are prepared to shove Estwick under the bus because he sat in Cabinet for the last six years and appear to have agreed with the policies of government. He added his voice to debates in the Estimates Debates with no dissent. During the last general election platform his stature was raised as a result of promising to reform the sugar industry by getting the Japanese to finance a multi-purpose sugar factory in the amount of USD$200 million.ย  So far nothing to show for it.

There is the lingering perception Estwick is a hothead aptly demonstrated by his nickname Pitbull and characterized by his Lammie Craig political style. Further supported by the gun incident where Estwick is alleged to have brandished a weapon in the presence of MP Dale Marshall and had to be restrained. The matter was quelled by the Committee of Privileges with the help of both parties. Something to support the view our so called democracy is contrived. DLPites who are honest have to admit Estwick has been a high maintenance member of the โ€˜teamโ€™. Who can forget his 2,405 words statement โ€“ read Estwickโ€™s statement – when he was dumped into the Ministry of Agriculture by the late David Thompson from his deathโ€™s bed? Who can forget Estwickโ€™s show of defiance at the DLP parliamentary group meeting in a red shirt on the morning of Thompsonโ€™s death to select a prime minister? Estwick has a history of demonstrating varying levels of discomfort within the Democratic Labour Party.

In his 201 statement Estwick made the now famous reference โ€˜time longer than twineโ€ฆโ€™.

Although it might seem that I have been given the bad end of the stick it is my belief that I have been chosen by the Almighty, and my constituents of St Phillip West to work on behalf of this country.ย  My mother always said: time longer than twine and that the race is not for the swift but is for he that endureth. I am resilient and will endure. However, under these circumstances I hereby tender my resignation from the Chair of the Cabinet Committee on Economic policy to allow for the Prime Minister to so appoint a new Chair

The public intervention by former Prime Minister Owen Arthurย  following the Estwickโ€™s outburst was interesting. Those who follow local politics may recall that Mascoll considered Estwick an apprentice and allowed him to express himself on economic matters when he [Mascoll] was leader of the DLP before being dumped for Thompson. The situation smells.

What matters is that Minister David Estwickย  ‘will get his dayโ€™ to present to one and all. We are left to contemplate what next for Barbados.

350 responses to “Minister David Estwick May be ABOUT to Deliver on His Time Longer Than Twine Declaration”

1. i wil tell u ‘Slic dic “: oilman what good about that is the news one which is beneficial in building investor confidence ,,,,,,one which can help create growth and jobs eventually making life for those who have been unemployed…. sandals barbados almond has ventured into rebuilding and using it clout to help re-brand the hotel industry nobody says a dam thing about the jobs that would be created ,but jump on the gimme gimme bandwagon to exploit and create confusion……..

2. @ac
    lol this shows that even you are so cynical about what this DLP government doing that you see two years of sucking salt as something to shout about. De ting is that even if growth start to come back in 2 years time, it still takes a while before de unemployed and those facing hardship actually get some kind of ease in real terms.

3. what opinion of others /…ARE u fuh real… every f thing on BU is an opinion . wuh god dam…. dont tell me that you take what is said here as gospel ….and dismiss those who are privy to internal affairs as nonsense,,, no david U did not make that comment..

4. @ac

It is not BU’s opinion that Estwick has the government by the curlies ok?

On Sunday, 9 February 2014, Barbados Underground < comment-reply@wordpress.com> wrote:

5. slic dic oil man you looking at a two year period bu t what i see is a window of opportunity one which can be shortened,,,,,,me gone,,got to support the economy …

6. It is not the opinion of BU the government has decided to stop ‘free education’ and send home public workers, some thing the DLP less than a year ago stated it would not do ok?

7. It is not BU’s opinion that this government has been noble to grow tourism despite the fact our neighbors have been able to do so ok?

8. It is not BU’s opinion that this government is still to deliver integrity legislation and other transparency laws promised in 100 days six years ago ok?

9. Which economy is that ac? You are not of voting age.

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You wrote: “Estwick sees himself as a DEM, all he appears to want is validation of his views.”

No one in Cabinet cares about Estwick’s views. They just want him to behave so that they could qualify for their pensions. He is a doctor and presumably of above average intelligence. His behaviour of late is erratic which in my layman’s opinion betrays some level of mental defect. You could not end up as a doctor and be this silly. He should do the decent thing – resign from Cabinet and sit on the back bench.

11. @Caswell

Why should he resign when from a political perspective he holds the best hand?

On Sunday, 9 February 2014, Barbados Underground < comment-reply@wordpress.com> wrote:

12. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

He is making a mockery of our system of governance. He is obligated to publicly support the Cabinet or he should resign or be fired. Unfortunately, the PM seems not to have any re al balls.

13. Caswell
    Customary protocols cannot obtain in this current environment. We have a weak government, a weaker PM, a Minister of Finance who is clueless and virtually despised by his cabinet colleagues and a public who perceive they have been duped into voting for the present government.
    If we can accept a PM who does act, who does not speak why is it so difficult to accept a Minister who decides to speak the truth in the national interest.

14. @Caswell

What makes is customary practice? Please quote chapter and verse. Also it is the governance system which should dtermine the behaviour of the actors in it.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Rockin Engine | February 9, 2014 at 5:11 PM |
    “If we can accept a PM who does act, who does not speak why is it so difficult to accept a Minister who decides to speak the truth in the national interest.”

What truth are you referring to? If you want Estwick to โ€œspeak the truthโ€ then he ought to resign and inform the nation that he does not agree with the arrangements the MoF has made with the IMF to โ€˜superviseโ€™ the fiscal affairs of the country going forward.
    There is nothing Estwick can do at this late stage other than salvage what little is left of his reputation and moral character.

Donโ€™t expect the Fumbler to expend the necessary energy to fire Estwick. Barbados would sink politically and economically into the Atlantic Ocean before Mr. Molasses gets to the top of that decision-making hilltop.

However, Fumble is well advised to take the easy option and reshuffle his cabinet. Sinckler would take anything on offer to get away from that ministry that is slowly killing him and making him look like a braying jackass. He has no political future and could as well call it quits and cool out in Foreign Affairs to qualify for his full pension. Of course he will rather die than accept with absolute shame Agriculture after Estwick.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ JUST ASKING

Where are you? Your presence is required at this most crucial time.
    Whatever you have been saying about the worst government in Bajan history is unfolding by the day, if not the hour.

Please return and help bury acโ€™s destructive lying party.

17. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Margaret Thatcher resigned from the leadership of her party and the premiership after an unsuccessful challenge. She reasoned that she should have done better in the contest. Now we have people holding on for dear life despite being extremely unpopular among their colleagues. They should do the Honourable thing but as they say: There is no honour among politicians

18. @Caswell @4.44p.m
    The PM and cabinet will hear Dr Estwick UAE Funding idea. He will be advise to continue discussions with the UAE envoy. Discussions will all talk talk and talk, that will be the end of DE idea. Dr Estwick must be aware that debt restructuring program will require all the debtors and the IMF.
    DE is seeking to borrow US $5billion to pay of the Bdos debts, to repay
    the UAE loan after a 30year period. Dr Estwick plan is a disaster, a mere bullet loan.
    After the laying off of the 3,000+, the IMF will implement a debt restructuring program. This level of international finance is beyond DE pay grade.

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I think it is reasonable to ask, who will get the finder’s fee for sourcing this UAE loan? And who will pay it? Please don’t and say Estwick.

20. ppl dont lend money just so ,must be some catch in it for d arabs

21. @ Caswell Franklyn
    Whatever you’re said about Owen Arthur, I can’t help but to totally agree with you. He should have been gone like yesterday but you know as well as I do, that ego often impedes our ability to see conspicuously. Perhaps, time will awaken him to a sober reality, knowing how much he loves the rumshop. lol

22. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David;
    You said above:-
    “Why should he resign when from a political perspective he holds the best hand?”

He would still hold the best hand, most things considered, if he resigned from cabinet and sat on an independent bench. As an independent he would determine the fate of the DLP on a vote to vote basis. Abstaining most often, Voting with the Government on strategic votes, but holding out the strong believable possibility of voting with the BLP opposition, like a gigantic whip in his erstwhile colleagues faces if they stepped out of his line.

Resignation to an independent bench would not be a bad option.

Would this be a healthy situation for Barbados? I say NO, as with a weak leader at the hellum, it could persist for a while, during which time nothing that DE does not support would pass the House and governance could grind to a halt. David Estwick would hold the virtual balance of power in the country and no one in Barbados would be certain how he would use that power.

During the eager 11 debacle I posited that the leaking of the letter could only have come from one source only. The same scenario is rearing its ugly head here and It has also developed into a leaking situation once more. IMHO the Leaker then and now is either the same individual or a member of a small select group, on orders from that individual.

23. @ ac-even vice president joe biden has some goods news to share with the world about our airport and then there is also the good news of increased airlift.this is the kind of news that helps rebuild our growth and nations confidence but as always any good news is either deliberately thrown in the BU waste dump and regurgitated rubbish is repeated on a daily basis by the BLP yardfowls as newsworthy,,,,then YOU BU david got nerve to lecture and point finger in my face because i made a comment about the hypocrisy of the BLP yardfowls >>

Don’t stress yourself ac the anti government, anti Barbados slant on BU doesn’t resonate with the public. Miller and blp die hard yard fowls have zero traction in the public arena. If Caswell ran as a candidate he would not get a single vote. Same holds true for Prodigal, George Braithwaite, miller, Loveridge, the David’s and dem so. Word is miller ran last two times and got a royal cut ass. The public discusses the issues discussed on BU thankfully most Barbadians don’t sign on to being unpatriotic, selling out their country or disrespecting its values, mores and traditions as miller does 24/7 on BU.

Does miller take a shower? Like the now missing onion during elections one wonders if there are a dozen millers. How can the hum bug be on BU all day and night is mind boggling.

Barbados is taking tough decisions there is pain but if we stand fast there will be gain at the end. We’ve beaten economic scourges before and we will beat this one. It may appear that there are thousands of miller’s and Caswell Franklyn’s don’t be fooled these miscreants and their nasty writings outnumber normal right thinking Barbadians only on BU not in the homes and neighborhoods of this country. Peter Wickham the ultimate fraud learned that to his detriment this time last year. Barbados will overcome. The miller’s and the Caswell’s are and will always be seen as traitors even when we right size our economic affairs

24. are-we-there-yet
    Desperate people will do anything to hang to power especially when they know they do not deserve it in the first place. The DLP is paying for its sins.

25. @Are-we-there-yet

If we accept that Estwick wants to be a DEM then our analysis must be so driven. His thinking is likely how can he effect change from within the party.

26. @Ruffin aka waiting

You can’t even be honest with your moniker. Biden was not being complimentary of Barbados. He was conveying how is it a third world country like Barbados could have an airport with a higher grade than LaQuardia. He wan looking down his nose so to speak.Go to the Advocate for the contrived news. Like someone stated last week on the talk show, when one reads the Nation it forces the question – which country are they wring about.

27. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Caswell; Is there such a thing as a “finder’s fee” in a Government transaction related to loans with accredited International Banks?

If so, who would have got such fees for the numerous such loans that Government entered into over the past 20 years or so?

Perhaps Due Diligence could be given some homework to check out the modus operandi of the sources of the proposed DE loan and any other info that comes up on them.

It is quite possible that the Lenders might not be pleased at the publicity given to this particular loan proposal to the extent that they might even withdraw the “offer”.

In my view, this situation has a whole plethora of perhaps unexpected ramifications that made it imperative for swift action to have been taken by the PM and Cabinet when it first reared its ugly head.

BTW, Is there some connection between the gift of the 3 wheeled ambulances and the DE proposed loan? Are there other Government Ministers independently building up relationships with the Near East Oil states?

28. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David you said above;

If we accept that Estwick wants to be a DEM then our analysis must be so driven. His thinking is likely how can he effect change from within the party.

Situations can often lead to monumental changes. DE might be a dyed in the wool DEM at heart but the situation as it unfolds might impel him to strategically change gears perhaps with some thought of going back into the fold at a later date. Very hypothetically, Suppose he gets very angry at a realization that none of his erstwhile comrades supports him. Might he not change? Suppose his position in Cabinet becomes totally untenable if more leakages occur. Might he not change?

29. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Ruffin

That Caswell bone seems to be stuck in your craw. Yes we have been through crises

30. are-we-there-yet

I hardly think doc Estwick will leave the party for reasons other than they, his cabinet colleagues refuse to change tack and give him the tools to implement the change necessary to salvage the Barbadian economy and the jobs that have been loss/ are to be loss.

31. Ruffin

Right size our economic affairs? Are not alarmed by the ease at which the MOF and the cabinet has thrown workers to the wolves after all the political rhetoric before and during the elections?

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Sorry about that.

Yes we have been through crises before but this one could have been avoided. The current economic challenges are completely DLP grown. They know how to entertain on the political platforms but seem devoid of any ability to manage the affairs of state.

They ignored the economy, preferring to cite silly slogans like the country is more than an economy: it is a society, whatever that means. All they did was to do feel good projects and programmes and have landed the country in a royal mess.

You remember that they gave away the NHC houses that were generating rents that could pay staff and the dramatically increase the staff compliment. Then they borrowed money to pay them. Shortsighted!!!

33. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Rockin Engine
    This situation is an extremely complex one. It can escalate to one where the Government can fall in the twinkling of an eye or it can peter out as the protagonists realize that further washing of dirty linen is not in the best interests of themselves, the governance of Barbados, and the very future of Barbados.

I would vote for it petering out as small accommodations are made but the truce might well be a tenuous one that might recur over the life of this Government as DE or some other Parliamentarian realizes the power that they have as individuals in this almost hung parliament.

34. @Are-you-there-yet

Situations can often lead to monumental changes. DE might be a dyed in the wool DEM at heart but the situation as it unfolds might impel him to strategically change gears perhaps with some thought of going back into the fold at a later date. Very hypothetically, Suppose he gets very angry at a realization that none of his erstwhile comrades supports him. Might he not change? Suppose his position in Cabinet becomes totally untenable if more leakages occur. Might he not change?

DE will not cross the floor, he is a DEM. After Thompson made him suffer the hurt of being transferred from economic affairs to agriculture and he did not switch then he will not now.

35. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This proposed UAE loan was not the negotiated in the normal way. Sovereign states do not normally deal with governments through any ministry other than the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. I wonder who is duping whom.

I got an email the other day from someone telling me that they have access to several million dollars and they needed my help to get it out of their country. Do you think that Estwick got one of those emails? Or could it be that Sheik Al Queida is trying to launder his money?

36. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

He tried to switch then but the gun incident was too fresh in people’s minds. That is why he is not a Bee now.

37. @David
    Estwick sees himself as a DEM, all he appears to want is validation of his views. However for Stuart and the government to validate his views it must be at the expense of Sinckler. The government was warned managing government with a 2 seat majority would come to this. What we have are political decisions trumping those which should be in the national interest
    Well Estwick has a strange way of showing his allegiance; he is pissing inside the tent and all over his colleagues. The PM is cognizant of the two seat majority so he has tried not to ruffle any feathers and that is why there are no genuine backbenchers on the Govโ€™t side (the BLP did the same).

38. @Ruffin

You have painted what appears to be a very accurate discription of the characters who maligns the good image of the Democratic Labour Party incessantly. But on the other hand, I must commend the BU blog for its willingness to entertain the opposing view- points, which in essence is rather uncharacteristic of others political blogs that I’ve been on. So there we go….! Something positive to commend the BU blog for beside the usual propaganda it have been spew about the Democratic Labour Party.

39. Well Estwick has a strange way of showing his allegiance; he is pissing inside the tent and all over his colleagues. The PM is cognizant of the two seat majority so he has tried not to ruffle any feathers and that is why there are no genuine backbenchers on the Govโ€™t side (the BLP did the same).

It is all about a leader being able to manage his people.

40. David
    And what will the PM and the cabinet do when the IMF issues its Final Report on the Article IV Consultation tomorrow?

41. That Report is likely to be a ringing indictment of the Stuat Administration policies, no?

42. @Rockin Engine

You have the BU family at a disadvantage.

43. Caswell Franklyn wrote “The current economic challenges are completely DLP grown.”

I have a difficult time understanding how Bajans seem to believe that Barbados is Utopia and somehow completely insulated from economic recessions around the world.

I am prepared to accept that the DLP has made mistakes and they do not have a charasmatic leader but to suggest that they according to you “completely ” caused the current economic problems is ludicrous.

Barbados is in trouble because your economy has ridden world economic 3 to 4 year recessions followed by economic booms but this time the world economy is not booming.

Barbados needs to create an economy that continuously reduces dependence on Tourism and FDI.

Time to stop trying to live like Amurcans.

44. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Caswell;

It used to be that for all new Governments several charlatans would descend on the various Ministries with all kinds of schemes to bring in foreign exchange, etc. It normally fell to the PS’es to shield new Ministers from these quacks and hardly any of them managed to get through to wet around the ears and somewhat gullible MInisters. I wonder if the same situation applies nowadays. Perhaps “a former PS” can advise us.

I too was wondering if there might be any parallels in the DE billion dollars situation and the NIgerian and other Scamsters whose fraudelent offers most people with email have encountered from time to time.

45. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Hants; How about The current economic challenges are primarily DLP grown in a global environment which has not been kind to governments that cannot discern the real connections between economies and societies?.

46. People, remember when the tall fellow Colin Jordan was President of the BHTA and every minute he was critical of the government ?

Do you remember that he publicly vilified PM Stuart accusing him of never responding to their request for a meeting and then the PM’s office produced the response letter which had been sent?

Now, the same Mr. Jordan is at every BLP public meeting speaking, is seeking the BLP nomination as the BLP candidate in St. Peter and was in Saturday’s newspaper at a function as the “representative of Owen Arthur MP.”

The obvious question is how many other “representatives” are in these organizations like BHTA,etc which are led by known partisans who seem to be putting politics in all they say and do.

47. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You don’t have to look very far – NUPW

48. In tomorrow’s Nation newspaper Stuart challenges the Private Sector to invest. People only invest when there is confidence in the Govt …… and there is no confidence in this Govt as their credibility is shot with all their broken promises and failed fiscal policies.

49. David here you go again talking bout leadership have any idea for a good replacement and fuh god sake don;t even mention BLP cause every body including member past and present would disagree.,,and don;t tell me nuh bull crap bout she not PM..cause right now the BLP would be the only alternative given that there is no viable third party,,,
    as fuh the DE story that wunna keep harping don;t forget that the PM is giving Him his day in court,,,,one can assume that DE is taking a lot of heat however in this one he is flying by the seat of his pants hopefully there are suspenders attached to keep him from falling…

50. @are-we-there-yet?

Barbados is fcuked because we have very little to work with. We dug a hole of reliance on intangibles.

Tourism.we all know how competitive that industry has become.

FDI low tax? Risky business especially when the Prime Minister of Canada wants to stop Canadian companies from using tax havens..

Sugar. Nobody wants to buy it.

Barbados has nothing to sell and no money to invest in new industries so you will wait and hope for the magic of a world economic boom.

Wunna just have to have them $100,000 gas guzzlers parked outside grossly over priced houses.

Cou cou an salt fish still taste good an ketchin bus an slappin tar ain’t bad.