Mangrove Pond/Vaucluse Solid Waste Complex Leachate and Liquid Wastes Treatment Plant – Revised Contract File No: IXO162610.0400 - Page 1, Page 2

Mangrove Pond/Vaucluse Solid Waste Complex Leachate and Liquid Wastes Treatment Plant – Revised Contract File No: IXO162610.0400 – Page 1, Page 2

The following communication is bouncing around in cyberspace.

400 workers gone home from Ministry of the Environment and yet bad boy Minister Dennis Lowe could allow Bizzy and Williams Industries to end up with a Cost Plus 20% contract? What about operation of the facility? This is looking like the same highway robbery as down at the Desal Plant at Spring Garden. Sounds familiar?

I am calling for the following immediately;

(a) Termination of the entire board of the SSA
(b) Termination of Burnside
(c) Removal of Minister Lowe from the Cabinet
We are a struggling country and things like this cannot be permitted to continue.

Related Link:

Mangrove Pond/Vaucluse Solid Waste Complex Leachate and Liquid Wastes Treatment Plant – Revised Contract File No: IXO162610.0400 – Page 1, Page 2

142 responses to “Fire Minister Denis Lowe, NOW!”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Who the hell voted for that Crook , liar and scumbag. People will or never learn that people like him is she-it , Fire or never vote for him in the first place, Is he be best we have to vote for ??That does nothing, but look for ways to get rich,,,

2. BU has published several blogs about Lowe and his fraternization with Peter Allard which generated many questions, questions which were NEVER answered.

On 11 January 2014 21:44, Barbados Underground

3. How can the prime minister say he was not fully aware of the sackings at the Drainage Unit?
    The man is a joke.

4. This another set of thiefing project from the Barbados tax payers. Imagine a no fixed price contract with an additional 20% contractors fee. WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON? And the country has no money? How can you hire someone to do a job and have no idea what it is going to cost? This is an abomination! Barbadians must get up off their asses and march!

5. This how corrupted this country is. When the IMF and Credit Suisse gets wind of this they will have to do another assessment on whether the present government is capable of managing funds. We are now at junk bond status now we are going to be at the latrine status.

6. It is about time that we taxpayers start protesting about the level of corruption in this country. How can anyone sign a contract like this? Where is the integrity that this government promised the electorate? It is time to put a stop to these swindlers.

7. No fixed price for design and construction works.

There must be an estimate of the cost of these works and it should be made public.

They are not NASA building a Spaceship. Why an open ended contract ?

8. Are the social partners, not partners anymore. Do they not have a voice?

9. I guess the Government is so anxious to get a capital project started that they will do it on any terms.
    There are similarities with the BWA headquarters where Government signed off a deal where they paid $5 million to start the job, when they should have paid nothing until the building was complete and occupied and rent started flowing.

10. You can add Sandals to the list where it can be questioned if we gave away the shop.

On 11 January 2014 22:59, Barbados Underground

11. Wunnah think COW get rich by being simple? The rich keep on getting richer and the poor get Hobson’s choice. Cost plus 20%? Or In other words “Heads I win, tails you lose”

12. aBajan New Yorker Avatar
    aBajan New Yorker

Try bringing R Burnside corporate headquarters to the attention of this article and site. Seem to me Cow is acting at the middle man. am sure these companies are link to social media networks.

13. At aBajan New Yorker

This company doesn’t appear to have a social media presence but here is their website:

http://www.rjburnside.com/international.html

On 11 January 2014 23:12, Barbados Underground

14. Their contact in Barbados:

R.J. Burnside International Limited
    15 Greenidge Drive, Payne’s Bay
    St. James, Barbados
    Telephone (246) 432-7456
    Fax (519) 941-8120

The only other international contact is in Maputo, Mozambique.

15. Is it a coincidence that Burnside turns up in all these contracts. Michael Lashley you tell me you read the blog daily. Tell me what de ass has changed under the DLP, we could have stuck with the blasted BLP? This is not what persons voted for and wunna expect educated persons to keep quiet, hell no, when yardfowls and paymaster feed from the fatted calf.

16. I pray that some leader emerge from among bajans or some person of Bajan ancestry can lead Barbados into having a new dynamic third party of the people. The BLP and DLP has squandered their mandate and continue to exploit the trust of the people. Sad when your own race can do this to you. Only when a third party emerges will politicians move beyond jokes, theatrics and embarrassing each other on platform to a situation where some will have temporary residence in St Philip.

17. Bill Yokom he is the fella corning all de money. Special Branch. hint hint time to get off wunna ass and deal with corruption in Barbados and understand its just as dangerous as drug dealing.

18. @David
    You can add Sandals to the list where it can be questioned if we gave away the shop

Still on that high horse? Barbados has always been a country where we have provided incentives for others to set up operations. (BTW this goes on in other countries e.g. Canada & USA). The great EWB provided tax concessions to companies operating in the Harbour, Grazette & Newton Industrial Parks. Anyone here was around when Cooper Canada which made Hockey equipment for export to Canada was operating near the Harbour? How about Intel which was located on land from Adams Castle Plantation which is now the site of the Sheraton Shopping Centre?

The reality is we bought jobs with Tax concessions unfortunately we were unable to hold onto them post tax holiday but it gave the Gov’ts of the day breathing room as thousands of people who would be otherwise unemployed trudged to those sites daily.

This season it is Sandal’s turn, hopefully the company will remain here for the long haul.

19. @Sargeant

We know you always find it difficult to appreciate the subtly of the debate. The issue here is not whether concessions are to be given, it is the level.

20. “In the Barbados Advocate and Nation newspapers of Saturday, 13th October, 2007 there’s a press release from the government that the MInistry of Public Works and Transport and 3S Barbados SRL the major contractor for the Barbados road network infrastructure project, met last Thursday with representatives of the Barbados Association of Professional Engineers (BAPE) following the concerns raised publicly by that body. Among other things, it mentioned that detailed road design, including the associated drainage work, had been carried out by STANTEC Consulting, “a well established and respected profesisonal engineering firm in Barbados, in conjunction with their offices in the U.S. and Canada. They are one of the largest and most respected engineering firms.”

It would appear to me that STANTEC is the major brain behind this project, and that it will end up as a disaster for the motoring public, as well as for the taxpayers of Barbados. For those with short memories, or who have just recently arrived in Barbados, STANTEC Engineering is the new name for Stanley Engineering of Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. Its name change took place about 10 years ago, after the failure of the engineering design for the Greenland garbage dump in the Scotland District National Park, St Andrew, Barbados.

Was this name change undertaken to avoid civil or criminal liability on this project?

Stanley Engineering had worked in Barbados from the early 1970s, which included road and land use in the Scotland District, and the ocean currents flowing around Barbados. When they tendered for the solid waste disposal study in 1994, they recommended that the dump site be retained in Mangrove Pond in St Thomas, but it had to be better managed and financed.

Government told Stanley Engineering to go and look again and include Greenland in St Andrew. Stanley Engineering re-submitted their findings and recommended Greenland, but with a provision that they had never considered Greenland, because they had understood that it was in the Scotland District National Park as outlined in the physical development plan of Barbados.

The studies carried out by Stanley confirmed that the Scotland District had a long history of storm washouts and landslips, and that Greenland was particularly subject to this. However, they went ahead and designed a landfill which was built in 1996 at a cost of over $20 million, plus the re-building of damaged roads and a bridge for a further $11 million. To date not 1 lb. of garbage has been delivered to the site.

A second Canadian company, R.J. Burnside of Toronto, Canada carried out a study and recommended a retro-fit. To date, over $20 million have been spent, but no engineer will design the foundations to hold the leachate pond that is necessary. This leachate system will cost over $25 million but was budgeted to cost $4 million. With the transfer station rolling stock, the whole project will cost over $100 million, and will fail.

The land at Greenland is constantly slipping, and should the leachate tank, which is 140′ x 40′ x 20′ slip, it would crack either the cement or metal tank and thousands of gallons of poison leachate would drain into the Greenland River and into the ocean at Green Pond and Morgan Lewis beach.

I would recommend that both the Nation and Barbados Advocate publish the response by John Whittingham, a road engineer with many years experience, both in Canada and the Caribbean. I also look forward to the reply from Roger Blackman, President of BAPE, and again this should be carried in full in both newspapers.

Richard Goddard”

21. Unfortunately, every DLP and BLP government for the last 46 years has promised to implement an Environmental Protection Act, but they have never done so. That is true for our current Prime Minister Stuart, and it was true for our past Prime Ministers Thompson and Arthur.

We think the reason for this lack of environmental laws is that large corporations give ‘political donations’ of money to the DLP and BLP to assist with their election campaigns, but in return the politicians unofficially promise the companies that they will not make any environmental laws that would harm the business interests of their political donors.

As a result, the corporations are pretty well free to do whatever they want in Barbados with no government environmental oversight or rules. Don’t forget, it costs money to be clean and to properly dispose of chemicals. The corporations don’t want to do things properly if they can get away with cheap solutions.

This has harmed Barbados and our environment in the long run and is threatening to wreck our tourism industry.

22. While you all beating up on the DLP you should keep informed about what is happening in the rest of the world.

Canada lost 49,000 jobs in December.

The US economy created only 74,000 jobs in December. The number of jobs created was the lowest for three years and was well under half the number expected by analysts.

The above does not bode well for Tourism but Barbados may benefit from people needing a break from the cold.

23. aBajan New Yorker Avatar
    aBajan New Yorker

Time to move beyond talking my BU family members. What’s our next move?

24. @David
    I live in the real world and it informs me that Barbados was not dealing from a position of strength. Imagine if you had a home on the market for several years with no offers but an outstanding mortgage which you are unable to pay. There are several homes on the market similar to yours that are available at a cheaper price then an offer comes along which is not quite what you wanted and may have refused outright a few years ago. Do you turn down the offer? Or will you swallow your pride and do whats best for your family

25. Professor Henry Fraser targets conspirators in government and business
    “Places like Cove Bay must be protected from concrete, cranes and capitalist conspirators, even if we have to lie in front of the bulldozers”.
    Sam Lord’s Castle “betrayed… plundered and pillaged… destroyed by a series of acts of piracy on land”.
    Look at what the West Coast became as we all watched it happen and that includes yours truly. It didn’t matter whether the DLP or BLP was in government: there was no planning for green space or public access to the beaches. Our greedy politicians and business people like Owen Arthur, the Williams brothers and (insert dozens more names here) conspired to sell off our natural heritage, block off our beaches and spoil our most beautiful views – and we let them do it.

26. Farmer from Pegwell Avatar
    Farmer from Pegwell

No rules or disclosure about election financing means that developers pay big money to the political class. Owen Arthur, David Thompson and Freundel Stuart made decisions against our national interests because they were paid to.” Shell jet fuel in the south coast water wells at PegWell Boggs and Enterprise..Both the DLP and the BLP preferred to take cash for political donations from the corporate polluters instead of putting Barbados first.

Polluters don’t like environmental laws, so our politicians took their money and delivered what they were supposed to: no environmental legislation, protection of corporate polluters, and profits to the auto dealers and road construction companies.

So now we have a legacy of 47 years of no environmental laws

27. If you say so Sargeant, bear in mind other offers were made for the Almond property and Couples was kicked out of Casuarina..

28. @student
    No green spaces?

29. Hal Austin | 11/01/2014 at 6:02 pm |

How can the prime minister say he was not fully aware of the sackings at the Drainage Unit?
    The man is a joke.
    ………………………………………………………..
    The PM is like the minibus driver who was recently involved in a fatal accident at Eagle Hall, and has since claimed that when he pressed the brakes the vehicle,seemed to have had a mind of its own ,and would not obey his command, although he was sitting behind the wheel and should therefore should be in control.
    The PM appears to have no control or any knowledge of what goes on in his cabinet. Is it that we have two cabinets. One supported by 11 MP’s and the other by 5?

30. whatif both the pm and the minibus driver are lying?

whatif?

31. I would like one of these cost +20% contracts.

How does one go about getting one?

32. I’ve done some building myself and I would NEVER pay anybody cost +20%

I AM NOT MAD..

If you are an experienced contractor, you and your quantity surveyor should know what the building should cost.

I’ll pay that cost and my contract would say if you do not deliver on time AND on on budget I will pay you 10% LESS than the agreed cost.

And in any event the government’s own civil servant quantity surveyors should have been going through the contract with a fine tooth comb, so that the government knows the cost even before the contract in tendered.

Our government’s really need to stop playing d’ @ss with the taxpayer’s money.

I think that our officials have forgotten where the government’s money comes from.

Look fellas. The government’s money comes from the pockets of the overburdened taxpayers.

33. Simple Simon

If you really want one of these cost + 20% all you need to make a large donation to the re-election campaign of both partie.

34. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

What’s the estimated value of this project?

35. @Back in Time

Didn’t the MoT in a recent statement suggest 300 million in fdi?

36. @ Kammie Holder
    I am not a leadership candidate, but Barbados badly needs alternative ideas.
    Count me in when you get a sensible group going.

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Caswell & Simple Simon

What Caswell cant say and you in asking this question need to know is that the ridiculous 20% is like the graft that the Mafia men took from the small business men in their stores in the Hollywood movies and either burned down their shops or killed them if they did not pay.

The HONOURABLE Minister Denis Lowe is no different from those common thieves and crooks, he also coerces the people but he does it under the clear light of day with the sanction of the Government of Barbados and, more particularly, Fumble Stuart who is in a perpetual coma, and does not even know that 2700 civil servants are slated to be sent home.

John Boyce does do it, Michael Lashes does do it, in fak all uh dem, pun boaf sides does do it. so whu wunna getting all upset bout?

“What 2700 civil servants I talking bout?

The Fumble clearly said that he had no idea about the 300 drainage workers recently released and, if my maths is correct, 3000 minus 300 that leaves 2700 right?

Not if Buffalo Sinckliar doing the calculations doah, causing he going put in a decimal point somewhere in dere to mess up the calculations.

Sinckliar gine be pun we accounting team when de IMF come back round here?

Man dese Garrison boys really meking we look like fools in the eyes of the world doah, how de heck you can miss putting down a decimal point in a national budget speech?

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

BDS$ 15 million does mek a cool retirement pillow David [BU]

15 million smackeroos man, who gives a $hite if 300 drainage workers gine home, brek fuh wunna ef…ing selves!!

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hal Austin

I see dat you jumping into the fray for dis national service.

I would jump in and offer meself too but at 80 nuff, in two years when de elections call, if i did get elect, nuh sooner dat i get in de house we would be planning a state funeral.

In fac, effing i get in, i sure dat dat umman/man/whatever call AC gine eider pray down deaf en destruction pun me, or beat me up sheself, or get de same imaginary goons dat attack Sinckler and promise to kill he, to do me in.

So i better had not offer up meself boasie plusing dat de madam did gine loss she seat among de saints in de church when dem hear dat PieceuhdeRockYeahRight running fuh Parliament in Fumble constituency AND might win (man you cud run a rat in dat constituency and it gine win!!)

Imagine de irony uh my victory and my epitaph

“PieceuhDeRockYeahRight, late of St Michael Souf East, wond his seat in Parliament House and loss he seat in he house when he madam, now sitting in de front row uh dis church AGAIN, put he out”

“He sought to be a light tuh dis cuntry but, up to now, de incompetent Polices in de RBPF and Charles JheriCurl Leackcock is still trying to determine why AC put out he lights” In fac de DPP has not brought any charges against AC for dis action against the citizen of BU”

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright | 12/01/2014 at 6:34 am |
    “The Fumble clearly said that he had no idea about the 300 drainage workers recently released and, if my maths is correct, 3000 minus 300 that leaves 2700 right?”

PUDRYR, you will have to “recalibrate” your numbers here.
    Hasn’t the Minister of Labour clarified and confirmed the 300 odd workers from the Drainage Division do not form part of the 3,000 odd slated to go home from next week?

Shouldn’t this kind of ‘misunderstanding and mix-up’ be clarified by the man who made the initial announcement of the 3,00(0?) layoffs before end March 2014.
    We doubt very much he would be able to differentiate between 3,000 and 300 even if written in words.
    Maybe David (BU) can clarify.

What is happening to the NEEP is the Government’s first phase of outsourcing many functions and programmes as mandated by the IMF. The first stage is to get rid of the workers some of whom could find employment by the private sector entities to be engaged to execute the “National Environment Enhancement Programme”.

Listen to the PM and you should hear the first signs of his jumping off the anti-privatization bandwagon whose wheels have gone off track since the IMF visit and heading straight to the Transport Board repair yard.

41. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

This is not right. How the frigging hell can SSA and Lowe give Williams are contract without knowing the final cost? This is some serious rashole gouging tho.
    This the biggest bunch of crookery I have seen in years. Bizzy like he is a new age Robbing Hood, stealing from the poor to give to the rich.

42. Dennis Johnson made a very insightful statement on a talk show last week. He said words to the effect that many Barbadians are clueless to what is happening in their country. The BU family is exposed to a “goings on” in Barbados which mass Barbados remains ignorant or comfortably avoid.

On 12 January 2014 13:01, Barbados Underground

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Anunnaki

Lawsie man, you mean dat it is 3,300?

Man you mean dat after all dese years pun dis earf dat I, who did not a slouch in Mr Oxley class, cyan add, nor subtract 3,000 an’ 300?

I wait to 2014 A.D. and instead uh say 6 from 3 cannot go borrow a one and mek it 13, then 6 from 13 leave seve, you mean dat i wait til now to lear decomposition math functions and i still get it wrong?

Man I am become to math what AC has been to reason!!

I shudda gone chrch wid de madam instead uh stanning hey man, you know dat she telling me granson dat sincing I is flesh uh she flesh en blood uh she blook and dat de two uh we has become one, dat he is to gi she my password? becausing, we is not to have nuh secrets??

He ask she, granny, gramps like he got a young chossil pun you dennnnnnn? She tell he no causing to do dat “tings got to be alive” but she add on dat it ent dat dat she fear, i is a hrmful flirt she say, but she frighten dat i up to some mischief”

Imagind dat!! Like if i talking to de El Qaida!! Man de closest dat i does come to dat revolution tingy is when i does talk bout Mia and de guns dem find at ***

Man i tell he dat if he evah was to gi she my password dat he gine hafta change he las’ name to he mudder, my daughter in law name Miller!!

Instant excommunication or dat ting dat you does do wid you family when dem do bad tings dem.

Man if she did to find out dat i is dis character hey pun BU man it wud cause more stink dan de noise dat young girl from de pine keep when, after su**king Sealy *** to get dat job at Sanitation she loss she pick las’ week!! Wunna did heah bout dat??

Doan worry you head bout dat doah, she still got he credit card wid it $15,000 limit.

Whuloss man I letting out de guvment secrets dem.

Look sharp de new Commissioner uh police coming fuh me and Charlie Leakycock gine press charges against me, if you know what i mean…

44. This sort of thing does not come as a surprise to me. That the Opposition would used every political tactic necessary to undermine Minister Denis Lowe credibility. Now if your memory serves you correctly? You would have recalled that President Obama had also been accused by the Republicans of pumping millions of taxpayers dollars into a company that had later filed bankruptcy. And at a time their contended: when America was still in the grips of the economic -meltdown.

45. @Fenty

You are rapidly falling to a point which is lower than Lowe in credibility. In the US a president must persuade others to support his decision. This is especially interesting in a democratic controlled senate and republican controlled house. You really need to stop polluting the blog with bullshit arguments.

46. According to today’s press the number sent home from Drainage is 392.

47. @Pacha

Please note BU received a communication from Gresham University admitting that Persaud is entitiled to use ‘professor’ to his name.

48. Interesting to read Sir Lloyd Sandiford’s statement in today’s press. He encapsulates all we have posted on BU. Come together to find solutions, level with the people, the social partnership needs to step up,

49. Its only a matter of time before the hungry takes to the sleep and they will have no choice but to go after those responsible. Who can blame them under present conditions.