Submitted by the Owner

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hooliganism, Bullying, Intimidation, Moral Decay

All of the above, in my opinion aptly describe an experience I had recently. I remember in my youth and even to this day hearing persons muse about the fact that Barbadians are a docile people. One of the favourite things we like to say in times of despair is “if Bajans were like Jamaicans, the things that happen here, would not happen”. I assume that by quoting this statement, we are implying that we are a more tolerant society. Ask persons who have been victims of intolerance, if this is so and I guarantee they would not agree.

The moral decay that is endemic in our society, is not a new phenomenon. There have been incidents of violence, hooliganism, bullying, and intimidation for decades. What we are brilliant at, is sweeping it under the carpet or applying a band-aid on an open sore and hoping it would heal.

One of my favourite quotes is “All it takes for evil to succeed is for good men to do nothing”. I live by this principle and one other, “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you”. These are lessons learnt as a young impressionable child and they have stuck with me for 35years.

I own and operate a Boutique in Speightstown, St. Peter. On the morning of December 16th, 2013, while assisting a client, a ‘Lady’ entered the store and asked, “Is this Josephine’s Boutique?” I replied in the affirmative and she informed me that she had a delivery for me. I finalized the transaction with my client, all the while oblivious the other activity going on in the store.

I finally had a chance to speak to the ’Lady’, who was waiting on me in the store, this time accompanied by another ‘gentleman’, so I approached them to find out about said delivery. I was greeted by a HUGE box of garbage, with Josephine’s Boutique written on the outside. I immediately recognized the box, since I had put it in the garbage disposal area at the mall where I work the previous week and it had been collected on Thursday of same week. After my initial shock, I asked both of them, why did they bring a box of garbage and put it in my store. The ‘Lady’ responded in a sneering tone, “it was on my property so I brought it back”. They wanted no explanation or had any more time to converse with me. Their mission was completed and they huffed and puffed, got in their vehicles and drove off.

Again, their behaviour can only be described in the terms I listed at the beginning of this letter. Common sense, rational thought, decency, professionalism, respect, morals, principles all went south for the winter in this situation. Garbage is collected from one location, it obviously falls of the truck at another location and instead of reacting rationally, this ‘Lady’ and two ‘thugs’, drive to my store in Speightstown and dump the HUGE box of filthy garbage, in my store because the box says ‘Josephine’s Boutique’ on the outside. Bear in mind, everyone else in the mall has thrown garbage in the box since it was the biggest one in the disposal area.

This is an open sore, and no amount of band-aids will heal it. Who does such things, unless they feel that they can get away with it because we Bajans are ‘docile’ and we like to sweep things under the carpet? No more!!!! It takes a tiny pebble to start a big ripple in the ocean. I am that pebble.

531 responses to “‘Lady’ Mary-Anne Williams is it really you?”

1. David

Whatever agenda I have is written on the face. So far as this post is concerned, can you say the same? Mind, at no point do I think I used the word ‘agenda’….correct me if I’m wrong.

2. Indeed Hants and as stated before if a lowly Bajan had dumped a box of garbage at the polo club in Holders while the lady was sipping sherry and eating cheese that person would have suffered at the hands of our police force AND local media. We definitely been to cut to the chase.

3. @Ross

Simply no time today to engage you on your pedantic bullshit. With respect of course.

4. David

You’re funny.

5. See……you just did.

6. You have referenced a plot and Agendas. I’m very aware what you are inferring and it’s far out in left field. I stated my intentions for sharing this letter and these pictures and why I felt I needed to do so.
    I sent this Letter to the Nation on the 18th of December. Silly me for thinking they would think it merited sullying their illustrious paper or was of national import. I don’t think that highly of myself btw there are much more pressing issues affecting our country and diaspora but correct if me if am wrong…aren’t blogs such as this one a way to get issues of national import and those that lack such veracity out to a wider audience? I follow many of them online and all types of issues are discussed.
    Agendas? Really? Stupse

7. Let me reply to what I deem to be a rhetorical question asked by David.
    No, I don’t have time for childish games…yes, I agree the person who removes the refuse is at fault as well, and since I would hate for this to happen to any of my friends at the mall, the owners of were informed immediately and being people who have been in business for many years, I am sure they r putting systems in place to make sure this does not happen again.

8. @David

You like you got “too much on your plate”. What comprehension skills? I agreed with you that the whole incident started with what appears to be a case of illegal dumping and the attendant results. Without that there is no “tit for tat”. Is “Lisa” right to be offended? Sure she is and that brought up the point about elitism (yuh see how de Police and the employees at Williams Industry and the Nation treat her complaint?) I also refused to get caught up in the emotion of the moment by not castigating COW’s madam by acknowledging that we haven’t heard her side of the story and perhaps her “estate” may have been deluged by a flood of garbage from various sources and she reached her boiling point, which brings us back to the garbage disposal people, where are they in all of this contretemps?

Now if I could only find something horrendous to say about Sir COW’s wife, oh yes she once said “Let them eat cake”

9. David

Yes, I did use the word ‘agenda’ in my remarks to Amused.

Let me put it this way.

1 Sarjeant gave a balanced view of it all – what you call ‘commonsense’. He got criticized by you. Why?

2 One aspect of this post is declared to be the decline in morals – but it hasn’t been referred to. Why?

It was obvious to me at the outset that since Lisa was a business lady she could hardly be a fragile egg who wouldn’t know what to do, as some bloggers supposed. Indeed she has admitted that she knew exactly what to do. So there was clearly more to it all than that – the wronged party simply venting.
    Hard-nosed AC was painted (as usual) as a cretin – and yet what she was saying was justifiable from a hard-nosed perspective which was the line she was entitled to take – we’re a democracy aren’t we?.
    I took the line that the first thing to find out was whether this was someone who was venting her injured feelings – though I didn’t quite understand why she chose BU to do it in. So I expressed sympathy for the hurt in very personal terms. That went nowhere – not even from her. It follows that sympathy is not what she seeks.
    Then the crowd took over and wanted cruel punishments for this white (Islandgal) bitch (Amused).
    Then you, David, use the whole thing to attack the Nation because Lisa didn’t get her letter published, and me for writing to it. Why?

Well, it is a little mystery isn’t it? It’s certainly not what it seemed when I first read this post this morning. Where now?

10. A few years ago someone dumped a heap of garbage in my driveway. I examined it and found some correspondence belonging to one of my neighbours. I went over to her house and told her what I had found in my driveway and that I found her name on some discarded envelopes. She was surprised and came over with me to see what I was speaking about. When she checked her bin she found it empty and exclaimed that she had recently put some garbage in it. I told her that I suspected it was some young men in the neighbourhood who were responsible. She came over with a garbage bag and cleaned up the strewn refuse and apologized to me. I told her that it wasn’t her fault and I was also sorry that it was her bin that was chosen.

Lady COW should have approached Lisa to discuss what she had found on her property. Lisa would have explained that she had disposed of her garbage correctly and this would have shown that it was the Mall’s disposal company was responsible. Then they would have teamed up and gone after that person.

Lady COW acted without any care and attention and should be charged with malicious damage. Lisa get hold of a good attorney and have him send a letter off to Lady COW.

11. @IG246
    Lisa get hold of a good attorney and have him send a letter off to Lady COW.

That is what is called throwing good money after bad or if we are to stick with the subject throwing good money into the garbage. All in all it is still a bit more reasonable than your first post; after reading it I thought that Sir COW had committed a social faux pas of drinking from the finger bowl by marrying his trophy wife.

12. Robert Ross (the Lawyer) you are trained and or you have developed the skill to defend the theoretically indefensible as any good Lawyer would.

If somebody found a box of garbage with Robert Ross llp on it and walked up to your Benz or Bimmer and tossed the contents on the drivers seat and if you saw that person commiting the act wh
    at would you do.

Methinks said person would be staring down the barrel of 25 or 38 ( doan know wha wunna fellas packing these days ).

As a disclaimer I do not know any person by the name of Robert Ross.lol

13. @Hants

Glocks.

14. Sharing, exposing but not venting and why should accept disingenuous sympathies from you or anyone else.
    I sent the letter to this forum because this and the Nation offer an option to submit letters. Would I rather I get old school and print it and stick it on all the electric pole in Bim?
    I was minding my own business and someone took it upon them self to commit these acts and I’m supposed to just let it go and go cry into my pillow and get over my so called injured feelings?
    My actions thus far have been rational and I don’t particularly care whet here you agree with them or the sequence or the outcome.
    I’m sure the same way you spoke to the Editor in private you could have tried to do the same with me…but no, you sit on your soap box and act like you at above such things and how dare I think that the Nation should entertain my musings.
    Well this is 2013, I have FB, Twitter and thx to BU, I have been able to expose this incident.

15. Reality check please this same sceanario taking place among blacks would have been summed up as “WE CULTRE” however this story is not throughly convincing that there is not more hidden in this box of garbage than a a casul relief of a dump

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | 28/12/2013 at 3:22 pm |

Your neighbour acted the way she did because she is a true lady; an intelligent woman of class and decorum.
    Not so in the case under discussion. Your use of the title “Lady COW” is rather apt given the character of the individual. In Britain referring to a woman as a “Cow” has special implications that could resonate in the current “contretemps”, to use Sarge’s expression.

17. Hahahahahaha, Get a good lawyer and go after Lady Williams? This is BIMSHIRE you people talking about. In BIMSHIRE there are people who are above the law. That is what the people of BIMSHIRE prefer for their island.

18. @Lisa

You mean your episode did not merit a mention in putton & sous?

Not good!

19. ac has implied that this is a race issue and there is something deeper and underlying that I am not with sharing with you all.
    I wish there was a lead up and a plot and a whole damned long list of characters to write about just to please here but alas there isn’t. Maybe a visit to one of the local cinemas will provide her with the entertainment she seem to be seeking.
    I’m a hard working individual who is respectful of others and thinks things through clearly before I act. I don’t have time or energy to play games with anyone, black or white and I hope I never acquire said time or energy.
    That being said, I am no fool and I know wrong from right and what was done to me, was just plain wrong. I have done everything I thought was right to expose this incident and i don’t expect everyone to agree with my actions, but don’t insult me with silly accusations. Or am I supposed to deduce from your posts thus far ( ac )that only ‘wealthy white people’ stand up to this kind of nonsense?
    That is tragic if that’s what’s really going on in this country

20. Apparently not.

21. @island

That story you related sounds just like COW. He is like that.

But this second wife…..white trash is the word. She is good at delivering it too.

He had such a beautiful and pleasant wife. Mother of his sons, who stood beside him on his way up, in her one little white shift, which she wore every Sunday to Church.

Now look what he put himself with. yuck…

22. See u lady (lisa) why are u attacking me. u seem to have a deliberate agenda one of offending and dragging people into your little skirmishes using the sympathy card to garnish support something which i have refused to engage.

23. @Lisa

You were warned,,,lol.

24. Sarge in my first post I was informing people about Lady COW’s past antics. When she told the black boat skipper that in the UK people spit on people like him it says exactly what she thinks about us. Going into the Lisa’s shop and dumping the filthy garbage without trying to get the truth speaks volumes about this British COW! She has again shown contempt for locals. As someone mentioned earlier if it were Gatsby’s boxes would she have done the same at Sandy Lane? Royal Pavillion? Tamarind Cove? HELL NO! She came with her henchmen to a struggling Black woman’s business to intimidate and Bully her. WHY? Because she is Lady COW and feels she is above the law! Had she done that to Karen Hopkins at Gatsby Boutique there would have been a cat fight and Lady COW would have had to pay dearly. Lady COW knows how to choose her victims.

25. AC Please go and take your meds. Ask your husband to duck tape your fingers.

26. You are TOO funny David!! I like your spelling of our delicacy, haha.

27. @ Amused

Seasons Greetings stranger.

You are right about both Sir COW and his first wife. Decency personified. One of his workers who was with him from his start, fell out of a coconut tree and became paralyzed. The manager laid him off and when COW heard, he raised Cain. He insisted that the guy be rehired and given an office job. That he be trained and paid same as the ‘whites’ for doing the work. He is still working there. I know, the guy is from my area and is cousin to my mother.

28. Hants

Your idiocy is showing. I have not said, nor will, I say, that what happened to Lisa was other than wrong. When I wrote this morning I meant exactly what I said. But I also realized that there were risks since we had to take so much as gospel. As I see it, those risks have substantiated themselves in the way we are being required to lean a certain way and, in particular, in that we are being required to vilify someone without more. When David uses it as an excuse to attack the Nation the whole thing becomes absurd. IF you want my view, it roughly accords with Sarjeant’s – which is why I mentioned him.

Lisa answered her own dilemma. Get a lawyer. Amused is free at the moment and he’s made his views clear.

29. AC, I can’t remember ever noticing you so worked up. Please don’t take what I’m about to say as an offense…It seems as though you had a lil bit too much for the holiday; or is it that you are playing devil’s advoate.
    Have you heard or do you remember the saying, “sticks and stones can break my bones but words can never hurt me.”

30. @ AC,
    just hush do!

31. I thought the island was having a financial crisis with 3000 people about to be laid off. I guess this is more important.

32. Sith

This is the light relief before the ship sinks. Think of it…a maiden wronged, a wicked devil woman, the evil Merlin, Cerridwen stirring the cauldron, Sir Galahad at every door, a king orchestrating good over evil – it has the makings of an epic.

33. @Andrea,

Wait you like you from Glenburnie too. Or is it Foster? Man de people up dey hate dat wummun wid a vengeance, fuh teefing COW from they Diane.

34. @ Lisa

As David [BU] said “you were warned NOT TO engage with AC” (absolute cretin).

You are new here and obviously thought that to engage the outpatient was going to result in some intellectual dialogue of merit.

AC has been called by persons wise than i can ever be, “the Dark Hole of Calcutta”, as well as “Barbados’ equivalent and antipode of the Bermuda Triangle”. Please note that i did not say dumb as a black belly sheep.

I am still here ROTHLMAO, the young people in the house taught me that one, as you stepped onto her mat and she pulled it from under you.

Beware. for in the next few days of her vacillating diatribes, she (and her faithful sidekick) are going to first blame you for (i) the trials and tribulations that have left Speightstown as bare as Mother Hubbards cupboard, another term for the infamous Owen Arthur roundabout that killed the town in St Peter, (ii) the woes and tribulations of Fumble and Sinckliar and then not to be outdone by this blame game she and CCC will (iii) call down death on you and anyone else who speak ill of the Fumbler.

I hope that you have learnt a lesson, do not put a viper in your back pocket causing if you dont sit on it first, it will bite you in your pooch

35. Personally, I think those two men were there to intimidate Lisa.

36. Dear Lisa

Listen to Bush Tea, ignore ac. Good luck. I was in your boutique two years ago, while on vacation.

37. @ Lisa

AC likes it when people comment on her nonsense posts. She recently told Islandgal that she ac, gets more comments to her posts than islandgal. Moreover, she went on to tell islandgal that she may have to respond to her own posts, or words to that effect.

38. Lady COW was showing Lisa the privileged class she belongs to. Where they feel that they are beyond the law and many times true. Her contempt for the less privileged is glaringly shown. Perhaps this will be the straw to break Sir COW’s back. The COW really married a PIG indeed. She makes Percy look real good.

39. What does Lisa want?
    To expose the idiocy of a silly woman?
    Well, doubtless it’s done. The stars remain in their courses. Is she now content?

40. ‘See u ac’ ….is this approach to what I posted supposed to make me feel like a little girl who should take her place??
    My deliberate agenda is to expose the foul act that has been perpetrated on me. Simple.
    Btw I know where to find sympathy…right in the dictionary between s**t and syphylis h/t to Major Payne
    Sorry, I know I’ve been warned and I tried but I’m allergic to ignorance.
    I can’t ignore this person. Is there some medicine I can take to help me…SOS

41. Am I content! This is one Forum and they are many more my learned friend.
    I swear, one would think I somehow caused this on myself and I should be thanking my lucky stars for all that has been said and done thus far, pack up my little iPad and go sit in a corner. Never gonna happen. That is not who I am nor who I ever hope to be. Sorry to disappoint you…then again, No I’m not

42. I am totally shocked, totally shocked…not once have I seen anyone actually bend over to pick garbage off the ground in Barbados. So a woman of the upper crust doing it almost defies believability. I think is more likely a servant on one knee with head bowed probably held it aloft for her to see the name on it. You should be happy this happened. The free advertising, you have gotten, you can claim..Sir Cow’s wife comes to your store and brings her friends. . Money cant buy manners. .take the high road at some point she will realize her stupidity

43. Pat | 28/12/2013 at 5:57 pm | Reply @ Lisa

AC likes it when people comment on her nonsense posts. She recently told Islandgal that she ac, gets more comments to her posts than islandgal. Moreover, she went on to tell islandgal that she may have to respond to her own posts, or words to that effect.

really ! you pat you are one bald faced LIAR< with that piece of pup you scribbled for a comment……couldn’t careless who responds in any case would not prevent me from making my presence here… dumb jerk,,,,,

44. o.k. so i am now to belive that the accuser found some garbage on her premises tagged with your name and got made as hell and dumped it in your store,,,,,,,,,,,that is the long and short of the story,,,,,,,right,,,,,,,,,,nothing more nothing less……… u know i like cameras but unfortunately the don;t tell the whole story,,,,,,,,,,

45. .Lisa

Since there’s to be no end to it further comment is as crazy as the post has become.

Lawson

She wore rubber gloves and other eco-friendly protective gear.

46. jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

I am not sure, Lisa, what you hope to achieve, beyond the recounting, by the exposure of this matter on this forum the various fora you speak of @ 7:03 pm. Yes, it was a most gauche and ill-mannered reaction from Lady Williams who, I imagine, was suitably upset at the deposit of garbage on her property… as most of us would be.

To imagine that the garbage must have come from your establishment would have been a logical deduction, although the idea that you must have personally put it there or had it put on her property betrays an ignorance of commercial garbage disposal in this country. Such an irrational “ig’runt”attitude says much about her and nothing for her, but it seems to be par for the course these days.

I am not so sure, as some others on here are that any legal wrong was done in this case. There was, however, a patent wrong done to civility, to good manners, to equanimity and to common sense.

I sympathize with you.

47. jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

*…this forum and the various fora…

48. If I were in that store when Euro trash Anne-Marie brought in that box full of trash; it would have brush up against me, it would have soiled my clothing, she would not have apologized and I would have washed she and her goons in licks. When will Bajan realized the contempt that these people have for them? When will they realized that the laws by which they are guided and control are not meant for the so called rich? She should not have left without wearing some of the contents of that box. chuspes!