Submitted by the Owner

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hooliganism, Bullying, Intimidation, Moral Decay

All of the above, in my opinion aptly describe an experience I had recently. I remember in my youth and even to this day hearing persons muse about the fact that Barbadians are a docile people. One of the favourite things we like to say in times of despair is โ€œif Bajans were like Jamaicans, the things that happen here, would not happenโ€. I assume that by quoting this statement, we are implying that we are a more tolerant society. Ask persons who have been victims of intolerance, if this is so and I guarantee they would not agree.

The moral decay that is endemic in our society, is not a new phenomenon. There have been incidents of violence, hooliganism, bullying, and intimidation for decades. What we are brilliant at, is sweeping it under the carpet or applying a band-aid on an open sore and hoping it would heal.

One of my favourite quotes is โ€œAll it takes for evil to succeed is for good men to do nothingโ€. I live by this principle and one other, โ€œDo unto others as you would have them do unto youโ€. These are lessons learnt as a young impressionable child and they have stuck with me for 35years.

I own and operate a Boutique in Speightstown, St. Peter. On the morning of December 16th, 2013, while assisting a client, a โ€˜Ladyโ€™ entered the store and asked, โ€œIs this Josephineโ€™s Boutique?โ€ I replied in the affirmative and she informed me that she had a delivery for me. I finalized the transaction with my client, all the while oblivious the other activity going on in the store.

I finally had a chance to speak to the โ€™Ladyโ€™, who was waiting on me in the store, this time accompanied by another โ€˜gentlemanโ€™, so I approached them to find out about said delivery. I was greeted by a HUGE box of garbage, with Josephineโ€™s Boutique written on the outside. I immediately recognized the box, since I had put it in the garbage disposal area at the mall where I work the previous week and it had been collected on Thursday of same week. After my initial shock, I asked both of them, why did they bring a box of garbage and put it in my store. The โ€˜Ladyโ€™ responded in a sneering tone, โ€œit was on my property so I brought it backโ€. They wanted no explanation or had any more time to converse with me. Their mission was completed and they huffed and puffed, got in their vehicles and drove off.

Again, their behaviour can only be described in the terms I listed at the beginning of this letter. Common sense, rational thought, decency, professionalism, respect, morals, principles all went south for the winter in this situation. Garbage is collected from one location, it obviously falls of the truck at another location and instead of reacting rationally, this โ€˜Ladyโ€™ and two โ€˜thugsโ€™, drive to my store in Speightstown and dump the HUGE box of filthy garbage, in my store because the box says โ€˜Josephineโ€™s Boutiqueโ€™ on the outside. Bear in mind, everyone else in the mall has thrown garbage in the box since it was the biggest one in the disposal area.

This is an open sore, and no amount of band-aids will heal it. Who does such things, unless they feel that they can get away with it because we Bajans are โ€˜docileโ€™ and we like to sweep things under the carpet? No more!!!! It takes a tiny pebble to start a big ripple in the ocean. I am that pebble.

531 responses to “‘Lady’ Mary-Anne Williams is it really you?”

1. two egos bruised….no harm done…..two victims of over reaction. to both of you i say have a nice day.

2. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

AC; Really!!! Stupseeeee!

The Owner;
    Sounds like another extreme example of things going bad in our society. But perhaps we need to hear from the other side as to their justification for the ridiculous act.

The nearest thing I’ve heard to your story is the one about a Chinese Food Restuarant in Port of Spain, Trinidad, where a dirty character came into the store at peak time with a huge bag of dead cats and emptied it on the counter and said “boss, this is today’s delivery, the back door was closed”. Turned out that the man had been hired by the restaurant’s competitors to act out that charade. The Restaurant didn’t survive.

3. All day all night with Mary Ann even little Cow loves Mary Ann. Cow gone to help in St Vincent? or he retired?

4. โ€œA pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.โ€
    โ€• Winston Churchill

5. Interesting responses. To the first commenter I say…my ego is not bruised. I have no ‘beef’ with this individual what so ever. This was an act of nuisance, and said act was carried out because no one expected it to go any further or to be recognized. If the box had said Cin Cin, or Lone Star (love their food btw) or Barbados Turf Club for that matter, would the same thing have been done? I supposed the guy in the hat was there for moral support?
    This was a disgusting thing to do to someone and it was indeed shocking but ask yourself, why would someone do this? Someone of that stature? Someone who had the means and I suppose the common sense to utilize so many other options. Would any of u do such a thing?
    My business will survive because of my work eithic and my loyal clients, so spare me anecdotal stories about TNT and Chinese restaurants.
    There is something wrong with us. We are too hostile and are too quick to do the wrong thing. My reason for exposing this, is to show everyone how those we place on pedestals don’t deserve to be there. I am not the first and I would hope to not be the last.

6. The correct thing to do would have been to call the authorities or discuss the matter with the owner. To arbitrily dump the box in Lisa’s store is wrong. An explanation is required.

7. so now two victims mad as hell from a box of garbage being dumped on their premises ,,,,,,egos in flight . one returns the garbage to its owner …….the other turns to the blog for consolation……,,,,,,,,have a nice day,

8. @ac

This submission is not about you. If you don’t have anything intelligent to contribute to the discussion there is the option ‘silence is golden’. As always you can have the last word.

9. I guess it was the shock of what happened as well as what happened itself which causes the concern. Whenever someone we are close to hurts us there is always the same kind of shock because it goes to the very heart of what we supposed the relationship to be. In this case there was, seemingly, no prior relationship but the disgusting nature of what happened and the irrationality of it still causes deep hurt. Whether it signals a decline in morals I’m not sure. In any event I hope Lisa, who is obviously a strong and successful person and now she has exposed what has happened, will feel the strength to allow the wound to heal as with all the others we receive in this knock-about world we live in. ‘Comfortable words’ I know are not much help and sound patronizing even if they’re not intended to be. Time is the best friend we have – and often a good cry. And there is nothing wrong with feeling sorry for ourselves a bit – till we’re ready to come back throwing punches at life.

10. why should it be about me ‘ in any event..if the same had happened to me i would have taken it to the proper authorities not pop up on a blog…but then again it is not about me,,,,,,,,,different strokes different folks,,,,my ego just the size of a mustard seed never looking for any one or anything to massage it,,,,,,hav a nic day

11. Different strokes for different folks. Maybe her satisfaction is to exposed the natter when mist Bajans would have cowered in silence. Maybe you should have asked Lisa if she has taken it to the authorities or what other action she has taken. If the reverse had occurred and she had dumped the box at Holders while polo was in session one wonders the reaction.

12. I must admit being a little confused here.

I am not a legal luminary so i beg your indulgence.

Someone walks in off the street, be they white or black, “lady” if white, “woman” if black, subtle nuances, and brings a bag of offal and, because the offal is in a container with my name, it is dumped unceremoniously at my place of business, by three oafs, and I don’t call the police?

So let me see then, if I am the Sermac Laundry and Ninja sees fit to relieve himself in one of my boxes/bags and leave the container by Cave Shepherd, John Williams can bring two or more of his goons, and dump it on my counter?

My first option would be to call the police and my second option would be to pull my bushmaster out and tell de damn woman and she two thugs to lef it dey if dem want dem testicles tomorrow.

Merry Xmas and may the cheer of Jesus the Christ bless you all.

The thing is that on the one hand wunna does let people rub shi#e in wunna mouf and den intone the name of the Master because we are a GOD fearing country.

It is wrong and unless we start manning up to the injustice being meted out round here we are going to be pussy whipped daily.

What is the difference between this incident of walking in off the street and terrorizing an owner and the thugs who walked in of the street at Campuz Trendz and terrorized that owner and the patrons with a molotov cocktail.

By Monday morning the new Commissioner of Police should be dragging all three terrorists before the courts with the appropriate charges i.e. if Charles Leacock, DPP, doesnt know the white lady and cant be bought like with the Jada case

13. I agree the situation was handled badly. I would hate anyone to do that to me. I wonder what the othe rside of the story is i.e. is it common for persons to dump garbage on LMAW property and was this the last straw and Lisa just took the wrap for everyone.

Lisa so sorry this happened to you it is not acceptable behaviour regardless of stature. Stay positive and focus your energies on continuing to make your business a success. God will look after the rest..

14. This post is beginning to say more about us than the post writer……..and I guess that is its value..

15. I heard that Mary Anne is something else. She once told a long time employee who was the skipper of one of COW’s boats that in the UK people spit on people like him. The man gave her a bajan dressing down. She went and complained to COW and COW fired him. Someone went and told COW what really happened. COW made her go and apologize to him and told her never to step foot on that boat again. COW had to beg the man to come back. She poses as an interior designer and many of the Sandy Lane and West Coast crowd laugh at her and say her work is dreadful. She has moved her design shop three times. Lisa I would have called the police for that woman or take that same box and put it in front of her shop. You also need to talk to the Mall about this incident. You need to also let COW know about this. I don’t know where he found this piece of white thrash from.

AC sometimes I wonder about your reasoning skills.

16. This is WRONG! and should not be tolerated we hope not to see this again – Lady Williams should know better or we hope so!!! would she hv done that at The Gatsby in Sandy Lane? NEVER!!!
    She surely didn’t do justice to her title “Lady” ……. “Sir” must not be pleased…..

17. Going to the police will do what again?

What Lisa needs to do is send the video to BU. In this case there is nothing like a reputation all dent to make people of a certain ilk to sober up.

18. There was a police officer patrolling the mall when this incident occurred and I spoke to him. He advised me to call the Station and make a report. I promptly did that and spoke to Sargeant. I have made subsequent follow up calls have only been told that they will check and get back to me. I am still waiting and this incident happened on Dec 16th. I assume they are doing their due diligence with this matter and I will give them the benefit of the doubt…but in the mean time I intend to share this far and wide.

19. As I stated in a reply to a previous commenter. I did call the Police numerous times and I am still waiting on them o tell me what they findings are and to even come by the store.

20. Just to let everyone know. I called the offices of Williams industries including the Construction department where I was informed I would b able to speak to Sir. Charles or another close relative. I am still waiting on either of them to return my call. Unfortunately, if either of them tries to reach me at this juncture they will be instructed to speak to my lawyer.

21. Ah David……now we have it.

There were various ways of treating this
    One is the practical approach which can either be no-nonsense (ac) or compassionate (Islandgal). I’m not sure that Lisa doesn’t know all that.

Another is the inter-personal approach – the ‘I’m taking this at face value. Someone’s hurting’ approach (me)

A third is to the approach which seeks the sub-plot (piecehu) – which is fair enough since it does seem odd for someone to write to BU about it.

But now a fourth emerges – the ‘get lady whoever’ or, to use Islandgal’s powerful description, the get ‘this piece of white thrash’ approach. David suggests publishing a video to scar a reputation when (as someone or two have said) we have heard only one side.

NOW – which approach is it to be? And are there more? How about ‘THE REAL STORY’?

22. The real villain here is the person who is hired to remove the garbage but instead chose to dump it illegally. While I understand Mrs. Williams frustrations and garbage being dumped illegally on her property, she should have called the store and discussed the matter in a more dignified manner.

23. How is she a victim again? Please enlighten me

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | 28/12/2013 at 7:03 am |
    “why should it be about me โ€˜ in any event..if the same had happened to me i would have taken it to the proper authorities not pop up on a blog..”

What are you on about?
    Why didn’t the same filthy-minded people take the matter to the same “proper authorities” before sullying the reputation and image of the owner and the boutique?
    That act of Cow(ardice) could only be justified if the boutiqueโ€™s owner or her agents were the ones clearly established to have done the illegal dumping. But we all know money cannot buy class or basic decency.

While you are in your usual mode of โ€˜talking garbageโ€™ why not tell the same โ€œProper Authoritiesโ€ to remove the massive pile up of the offensively smelly decaying garbage at Browneโ€™s Beach Bay Street.
    We have been reliably informed (and supported with photos and videos) of this โ€˜awfullyโ€™ dirty state of poor public hygiene that has been posing a threat to public health for weeks on end. What is even more despicable and nationally embarrassing is that the same beach is a favourite for many visitors from overseas- both tourists (especially from the cruise ships- first impressions count) and returning nationals.

You, ac, given your own personal standards of hygiene and decency might be inured to such ghastly sights in full view of visitors and would even try to justify the inaction of the so-called proper authorities but those residents who are very concerned about the current poor standards of garbage collection ought to see this as a major threat to public health.

Why are you inviting people from overseas to your island whose streets and former beauty spots are fast becoming dumping grounds for garbage and imported waste thereby providing havens and breeding grounds for vermin and dangerous bacteria that could easily destroy the tourism industry, eliminate the international business sector and wipe out a good slice of the local population with just one outbreak of a contagious disease?

25. @Ross

You need to hush. This is not Court. Whether Lisa is wrong or not wrong there is abosulutely no justification for a box of garbage to be dumped in her place of business, a place which puts bread on her table. She has a right to act out here outrage however she see fit.

26. David

I entirely agree – which is why I treated it as a wound to be healed.

27. i am not commenting on the wrong or right , just the reasoning and rationale of the person who sees this act as a wrong inflicted on them using the blog to lashed out at the accusers while seeking a sympathetic ear, Aren;t they more important issues that can be brought to the table, yes many of us have been hurt or done wrong by uncaring and selfish people in society however it behooves me to even begin to understand where this issue would lead to resolution being highlighted here, except that of being a sympathetic ear to the person who believes she has been victimized while on the other hand in fact the accuser obviously from their reaction felt that a wronged was being done to them with such a disposal. and overacted . can simply be a misunderstanding lead to overreaction by both parties,

28. Here is a response to you ac, o person who seeks attention. In 300 words submit an issue which BU commits to posting.

Your uncanny ability to distil any issue to its lowest denominator has now become legendary.

29. There is no ‘Real Story’ as you are implying. This was a defiant act on her part. I was at work as usual taking care of my clients. I had done as I am required to do when I have emptied my boxes of all my merchandise, which is to store the box or boxes in the ‘garbage disposal’ room. Maybe from now I will cover the name of my store before I dispose of the box to prevent another event such as this. Sad thing is, I should not have to do that.
    If I was in her position, I would have put the box in an area where it could have been collected and still made a call to the owner of the business listed on it to let get some idea of how it ended up on my property….but you see, my mother, God rest her soul, taught me manners

30. Maybe I should have provided more details smh. I called the owner of the Mall ass soon as this happened and implored her to speak to the company who removes the garbage to ensure this does not happen again, to myself or anyone else at the premises. Then I spoke to a cop who was patrolling the Mall and followed his instructions to make a report. Then I called the offices of Williams industries since it was the ‘Lady’ herself and she used one of their trucks and I wanted to find out if someone was aware and condoned what she had done. After getting no satisfaction from anyone, I decided to expose this issue. I called the Nation and was told to submit a letter. It was never published. A good friend recommended this forum and here we are…..

31. You did good Lisa, and nuff respect for showing some backbone. Most Barbadians cower in situations like this one. Consider emailing the video to ram this matter home. We need to send a message at large that because you have money it does not mean that we are all suckers.

This matter provides insight to how things work in Barbados. The politicians have a story to tell.

32. Sad. But it has to be said that this kind of thing would NEVER have happened with Sir COW’s first wife. Because you see, although she is just a Mrs, she is a true lady. Here we have a situation where the PM and the GG (and Sir COW) have done what God Almighty himself could not and turned this Mary Ann female into a “Lady”.

@Ross. While generally agreeing with much of what you have said, I feel it necessary to point out that to those whom much is given, much is expected. Like manners and courtesy. When they fail to act in a sensitive and apporopriate manner, they betray their responsibility and it is right that this should be aired. They are high profile and therefore subject to the scrutiny and expectations that others of lesser profile escape. I don’t mean this to sound sanctimonious, but it is merely a great truth.

I also want to point out that Sir COW himself would NEVER have acted like his wife has. Not in a million years. Yes, he would likely have lost it at first. But then he would have considered how it might have happened, made a call and quiety disposed of the offending container. But then, you see, for all his bluster, the secret of Sir COW’s success lies largely in his ability to get on with people and to think laterally. For all his rough edges, Sir COW is one of nature’s gentlemen. Pity about his wife.

I agree with David. Post the video. Shame the bitch. Let us see if the Police act, as they really ought to, and bring charges. I would say that there are grounds for criminal charges of assault, due to the perceived threat of Mary Ann’s goons, far less from the deposit of the container. I would also say that there are grounds for civil actions in tort. @Ross. Would you not agree with me as a member of the Brethern (legal, not church)? But of course it will not come to that as it is likely that Sir COW will step in and not just from the point of view of protecting his unfortunate wife, but also because he will genuinely see the grossness of the act and wish to offer his tangible apologies – and he will genuinely mean it. Unless he is so pussy-whipped by this Mary Ann female that he dares not. If SWMBO did something like that, I would treat her like a child and put her across my knee and deliver six of the best to her backside. But she never would – ladies don’t, you see.

33. Sympathetic ear. That is laughable. You do not know me. I have been fighting injustice for quite sometime now and when it lands on my door step u can bet that I will not ignore it. I would be a hypocrite.
    Over-reaction!!! You certainly jest

34. Of course the Nation newspaper has no problem featuring Cow and Bizzy whatever the content. In this case one appreciates why they would COWer. Bizzy spends a lot in advertising and COW does his thing.

35. I have met Sir Charles many times through my previous job, though he might not recall. I agree with your sentiments about him. This is why I initially called his offices when this happened. Unfortunately his staff don’t seem to be aware of the type of affable person he is and I never got the chance to speak to him, neither have my calls been returned. Though I have no doubt he never got the messages.

36. while garbage may have been dumped on “lady” Williams’ property previously, she handled this very badly – not that I am surprised by her actions as the old people say “class is class form is only temporary” . Both Williams brothers are obviously “pussy struck” in their old age.

37. And what about my reputation? I was attending a client when all of this went down. What if my clients get the impression that I’m some crazy person who goes around at night dropping garbage off at selected properties. I can’t help but lol at your educated foolery.
    I don’t need some silly title to walk with my head held high or for others to expect me to behave like a rational person and it is expected of her because of her prominence in society and just because…..!!!!!

38. Amused

You’re just a wife-beating monster.

On ‘brethren’ – you forget the big boys – the 33’s. Do they mix I wonder.

Do we expect too much of the ‘not so great nor good’? If we say ‘no’ (as you do) aren’t we really subscribing to the old saw “Bless the squire and his relations and keep us in our proper stations’?

39. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

i am looking at the photos and do not recognise the people but going by what is said here who ever ‘lady williams’ is should be taught a lesson…there is coming a time and it probably here when bajans will no longer give a rat’s ass about someone status etc in this tiny island. i know i have had encounters with Ministers in this island, i do not recognise them since i don’t care too, when i have to threat them in the same manner as everyone else, others get uncomfortable…i just don’t care

40. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

the woman and the dog with her have no class, if this is the person who was dumped for a black girl, then she maybe has a beef for all successful black women

41. @Smooth Chocolate

You have the brothers mixed up plus there is no reason to go there.

42. But Ross, you know perfectly well that they mix. You have been mixing with them quite a lot recently, I am pleased to have observed. As for the rest of your comment, you must know that neither you nor I will ever stand a chance in hell of replacing Baffy as the agent provocateur without peer. So, I leave it to Baffy and don’t even try. Recommend the same to you.

43. Agree with David. 100%.

44. Bob Marley in an interview once said “Dem divide de people up into classes, but some a dem ain’t got no class”. This is a perfect example of such.

Lisa, stay strong. You are the lady and the one here with some class.

AC, David is right on this time around. “Silence is Golden”. You don’t always have to be a hard ass and everything in life is not centered around politics.

45. This deserve a tweet as if the masses feel the law is really an ass they will over time take the law into their own hands. Perhaps the law and piss in pants Nation are the same compromised organizations which have sold their souls to the devil.

46. @ Ross

If i read between the lines of you posting i get the impression that If it were Miss Headley at Deacons putting she garbage pun Mr. Dale land it might not have been posted here.

That may be so but i would counter to say that if it was Ms. Headley doing what she has been doing these 50 something years, you may not have deigned to comment about it either.

“Membership has its privilege” and we have often selectively overlooked the kleptomaniac wives, and mothers, of former prime ministers while we have incarcerated the relatives of the not-so-genetically qualified for the same crime of teifing.

One thing about Sir COW is that while he can at times be lofty, he is for the most part a fair man and i am sure that while he will not publicly decry “flesh of his flesh and bone of his bone” for obvious reasons, he will set right any wrong done

47. And yes the elephant in the room is the Nation newspaper and the relinquishing of its fourth estate role. If Lisa considers sending the video to BU, she should also send the correspondence sent to the Nation newspaper. There is another culpable party here.

48. Amused wrote “Sir COW will step in because he will genuinely see the grossness of the act and wish to offer his tangible apologies ”

” I would say that there are grounds for criminal charges of assault, due to the perceived threat ”

Let us hope this issue is dealt with as it should be.

Stay strong Lisa. Let your lawyer and the police deal with this.

49. Ah Mr. Marley..he was a wise one. He also said ‘money don’t mek you rich, my richness is life’ He along with the Bunny and Peter released the song ‘Big Tree’ when the prominant studios in Jamaica decided to form a big corporation to control the up and coming musicians.
    I don’t see this as a race issue because as I alluded to before, I do not know this lady personally and I have no reason to engage her at all. I see this as a case of ‘Big Tree and Small Axe’…and injustice must be exposed and corrected.

50. Interesting. When I initially attempted to send the letter to the Editor, I neglected to include the attachment. I received a follow up email that stated “Hello, there is no attachment”. I guess that should have been a warning sign for my sister and I to donate our daily newspaper buying funds to charity instead of being on our futile mission sigh
    Anyway, I appreciate the exposure this forum has given to the matter. Thank you David