Submitted by the Owner

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hooliganism, Bullying, Intimidation, Moral Decay

All of the above, in my opinion aptly describe an experience I had recently. I remember in my youth and even to this day hearing persons muse about the fact that Barbadians are a docile people. One of the favourite things we like to say in times of despair is โ€œif Bajans were like Jamaicans, the things that happen here, would not happenโ€. I assume that by quoting this statement, we are implying that we are a more tolerant society. Ask persons who have been victims of intolerance, if this is so and I guarantee they would not agree.

The moral decay that is endemic in our society, is not a new phenomenon. There have been incidents of violence, hooliganism, bullying, and intimidation for decades. What we are brilliant at, is sweeping it under the carpet or applying a band-aid on an open sore and hoping it would heal.

One of my favourite quotes is โ€œAll it takes for evil to succeed is for good men to do nothingโ€. I live by this principle and one other, โ€œDo unto others as you would have them do unto youโ€. These are lessons learnt as a young impressionable child and they have stuck with me for 35years.

I own and operate a Boutique in Speightstown, St. Peter. On the morning of December 16th, 2013, while assisting a client, a โ€˜Ladyโ€™ entered the store and asked, โ€œIs this Josephineโ€™s Boutique?โ€ I replied in the affirmative and she informed me that she had a delivery for me. I finalized the transaction with my client, all the while oblivious the other activity going on in the store.

I finally had a chance to speak to the โ€™Ladyโ€™, who was waiting on me in the store, this time accompanied by another โ€˜gentlemanโ€™, so I approached them to find out about said delivery. I was greeted by a HUGE box of garbage, with Josephineโ€™s Boutique written on the outside. I immediately recognized the box, since I had put it in the garbage disposal area at the mall where I work the previous week and it had been collected on Thursday of same week. After my initial shock, I asked both of them, why did they bring a box of garbage and put it in my store. The โ€˜Ladyโ€™ responded in a sneering tone, โ€œit was on my property so I brought it backโ€. They wanted no explanation or had any more time to converse with me. Their mission was completed and they huffed and puffed, got in their vehicles and drove off.

Again, their behaviour can only be described in the terms I listed at the beginning of this letter. Common sense, rational thought, decency, professionalism, respect, morals, principles all went south for the winter in this situation. Garbage is collected from one location, it obviously falls of the truck at another location and instead of reacting rationally, this โ€˜Ladyโ€™ and two โ€˜thugsโ€™, drive to my store in Speightstown and dump the HUGE box of filthy garbage, in my store because the box says โ€˜Josephineโ€™s Boutiqueโ€™ on the outside. Bear in mind, everyone else in the mall has thrown garbage in the box since it was the biggest one in the disposal area.

This is an open sore, and no amount of band-aids will heal it. Who does such things, unless they feel that they can get away with it because we Bajans are โ€˜docileโ€™ and we like to sweep things under the carpet? No more!!!! It takes a tiny pebble to start a big ripple in the ocean. I am that pebble.

531 responses to “‘Lady’ Mary-Anne Williams is it really you?”

1. What a thing nuh!!!
    Amused and Ross at each other’s throats again!….. Thank you Lisa…
    …Suddenly 2014 is looking brighter to Bushie… LOL Ha Ha

What a great issue….
    – AC at her most ignorant ….
    – Lisa coming to learn the POWER of having a BU and having guts…
    – Pieceuhderock in rocking form….
    – The (anti Barbados) NATION in normal pissy form…
    ……and Amused having Ross by the short and curly…. ๐Ÿ™‚

BTW
    This is normal behavior for the MAJORITY of people like the “lady”… We just take it for granted and move on…but Bushie is increasingly impressed by the number of “Lisa’s” who are turning up to buck the shiite…… and of the role of BU as a facilitator in addressing these issues.

To Lisa:
    Bravo! …a true bush woman….and DEFINITELY not an ac…..

2. The women is pure evil and has also destroyed Cows private life.

3. Roy had no problem posting a sex scene picture of a challenged student being taken advantage of. Why does he have a problem with posting the letter from Lisa? She has pics/video/witnesses. What is the damn problem Roy? When something like this happens it confirms that publishing the sex scene picture was pure sensationalistic bulshit Roy.

4. Thanks for the support Bush Tea.
    There r many woman and men of like mind who I speak to on a daily basis and yes, we are fortunate for forums such as this.

5. @ Amused, agree with your statement about the original Mrs. Williams – a true lady of class. This is the difference between being great and having “greatness’ bestowed on you. (apologies to Shakespeare)

6. ac just when I thought you could sink no lower.

7. Don’t play you simple David…
    How many ADs you feel the two school sexers will buy next year?
    How many ministers you think they own?
    You feel that school boy could “pass he hand” when called like COW?
    Steupssss
    You think Roy is you nuh? ….you don’t pay Bushie a cent… ๐Ÿ™‚
    He got staff to pay.
    ….think the Editor-in-chief does wuk fuh 10 cents?

Face it!
    Um is BU or nothing.

8. Sorry folks but my sympathies does not lie with the rich and famous who wine and dine with each oblivious of us “poor the meek and mild” for when only on occasion the battlines lines are drawn formed by petty jealousy and in house squabbles they seek refuge and solace amidst the lowly

9. Enuff…if you admit being wrong about ac …could you be also wrong about the BLP? ๐Ÿ™‚ …..and Bushie?
    Perhaps the bushman is not as dangerous as you say… LOL Ha Ha …but the BLP is….?
    …possible?

10. @ ac
    Stop Talking Foolishness U

11. After re-reading that tripe about 3 times, I get the impression that you are implying that I am rich and me and Miss Mary-Anne took some time off from ‘lunching’ or getting our nails done to squabble.
    Really, Thanks to the work ethic instilled in me by both my parents, I have been working since age 17. I started my business with the money and skills I acquired working locally, regionally and internationally. I am eternally grateful to my previous employers for the experiences I had and the knowledge and skills I acquired and for paying me a decent salary in order for me to be able to save as well as contribute to the many house holds I assist.
    I am rich with life, health , happiness and strength.
    I will admit to buying a Mega 6 ticket or two every once in a while but pls don’t insult me and others who want to see justice done with your assumptions.

12. And to those who belive that iam heartless in not taking sides/…to you i say. my sympathies lies with the families in the neighbouring islands who was handed a deadly Xmas gift of death and destruction .there is where my sympathies lie .not in the mundane and friviolous lifestyle of the “well to do”

13. .I think Lisa acted appropriately and responsibly.Mary-Anne is acting out her spoilt brat type anger.Maybe she is texan with oil riches but poor cow in a trap.Lady Di is more sincere,genuine.Lisa,David,Miller,Amused all make sense to me .Rev Fr(aud)can take a hike with his gratuitious crap.

14. Lisa
    It will only take you an hour of so on BU to realize that trying to converse sensibly with ac is like trying to sterilize feces….
    A word to the wise is enuff….. ๐Ÿ™‚

15. @ David[BU]

First my commendations on the new look and feel of the site.

I must admit that when i saw your notice about the comments section being under redesign for 24 hours I said whuloss, it finally happened and Mia, Owen and Fumble finally get a court order and brek down you front door and, in de new year, me and Baffy gine feel de full weight uh de law and de weight uh de mens up at de new prison pun we back

I must admit some disappointment though with the WordPress improvements.

Yes, in a word, FILTERS

You did not add filters so that I could press a button and whuplax, AC (Assuredly Commitable) and CCC (Cocky Locky Cadogan) the latter who i was assured was away on sabatical in a cuntry without internet, would not be able to display their ignurance pun my cuntputer!!

Now i would hope that when AC comments on this observation and threatens me with death or worse, yes there is a wusser punishment David[BU] one could be placed in a house with AC for all of 2014!! yes i would hope that you block her comments and that the last time that she is allowed to comment on BU is going to be at 11.59 on December 31st 2013

16. @pieceuhderockyeahright!!!

There is always the option to allow ones cognition to work and voila problem solved…lol.

17. I gine down Swan Street today and tell all of those who I thought were ‘Entrepreneurs’ that apparently we are all well to do and we should jus shut up shop and ‘Summer’ in the Maldives.
    Your assumptions are really silly and to assume that by fighting for justice I have shut out the entire world and the horrific things that have happened to our neighbors over Xmas and have become a self centered person is a far from the truth as east is from west.
    I asked for this to be posted here since it was not posted elsewhere, since the 16th and again I am grateful. Btw I posted about it on FB the same day it happened.

18. Lisa, I hope this episode shines some light on your boutique and brings you additional business in the new year. There is a saying about a silver lining at the end of every cloud. Wishing you good cheer in the new year.

For the other person, it appears that her actions both current and past have left a lot to be determined. I do not know her or you so I will hold my judgment.

One thing I will commit to is a visit to your shop on my next trip with my wife and hopefully she will find something that as she says “fits just right”..

19. I have to say that were I in Lisa’s situation, I would be justifiably angry. The whole situation was badly handled. I can see that Lady Williams was aggrieved by the constant illegal dumping of garbage on their property and presumably let her emotions get away with her…I would hope that on reflection, she does realize how wrong she was to take such precipitate action…I’m sure that Lisa did not drive up to St Lucy or where ever with the box of garbage and deliberately dump it on the Williams’ property. Now having said that, I would call attention to John’s comment. We do have a problem…a very serious problem in this country with the illegal dumping of garbage and for some people, that last pile of dumped refuse..some toxic, some breeding rats spreading leptospirosis and mosquitoes spreading dengue is just too much to take ..the proverbial straw that broke the camel’s back. I don’t know what the moderator or the commentators on this thread think about what I perceive to be a major underlying issue in this discourse…Lady Williams’ temper/personal idiosyncrasies not with standing.

20. Likewise to you and your Askquith. Look forward to seeing u both on your next visit. Blessings

21. @Lisa
    Bravo for posting what happened to you! I’m delighted that you stood up for yourself; there’s hope yet that Bajans will stop accepting foolishness.
    Not sure how long you’ve been reading BU, but getting in an argument with ac is a waste of time and energy.

22. @Karl Watson

Agree we have a parallel issue to confront. See an email comment received recently:

“What are the air quality readings in and around Bridgetown as well as around places where smoke stacks exist such as downwind of Arawak Cement plant, to the west of QEH and down wind of the asphalt plant at Seawell. Why is the EPD not willing to release data to those who ask? http://www.epa.gov/pmdesignations/faq.htm

23. So my dear lisa u speak of seeking justice . but where ? on a blog! isn,t the courts the correct place as a way forward. surely one can also suspect that along with the justice you say u seek. this forum provides adequate place for revenge and demonising of your accuser.

24. LOL! Seems COW got two pigs living with him; one his pet pig hoggie and the other his wife Mary-anne; her behaviour is typical of European white trash. Sticking the title of “lady” on her does not one make.

25. @ Lady Mary- Anne- Williams
    โ€œDo unto other as you would have them do unto you.โ€
    This principle I am afraid to say isnโ€™t a sound one. I was taught along time ago that some of us do not desire to be treated the right way. For example, women as well as men who are attached to abusive women as does men; thinking somehow their can change them.

26. @ Karl Watson

The proverbial straw that broke the camel’s back….

To what degree can one having become so incensed by that “the straw”, can justify this “precipitous action?”

So let me see… flashback to After Dark before it closed a few years back and the young man who, having had his $400 shoes stepped on, being that he too was experiencing the “last straw syndrome” could find a gun an kill the offending miscreant.

So let me see, when i am driving down the ADC Highway next week and one of the enthusiastic MTW, Sanitation Service Authority or Water Works department workers cuts in front of me with the government truck while he driving back to de yard, you mean, “because they have done it one too many times, and this is the last straw, that i can drive back wid dem to the respective yard, and pull out me bushwacker cutlass and teach them a little respect???

Man dis sound like dat movie Purge dat me grandaughter did watching de udder day dat i had was to comment was nufin but Hollywood preaching murder and mayhem.

De woman ingrunt and you prettying up she ingrunce for whatever reason you got to get brownie points.

Dat is de ting we have to draw a line in the sand and tell these idiots that this shi*e is not going to cut it here.

Suppose Lisa had stepped out from behind her counter and helped the Lady out uh she store, like any proprietor would have done with the three street indigents who plague Speightstown?

Supposing it was dat mad umman who does walk all up Mile and a Quarter, or Deidre who de Policemens at de District station does catspraddle pun a night or Flash?

@ Lisa

You know Flash Lisa? Tell me honestly, if it was Flash who did enter you shop and do dis foolishness what would your response have been? And how wud de police have reacted?

Honestly?

Tell me Lisa, you tink dat Flash did gine be outta prison all like now?

Flash wudda be in Dodds and COW din cumming fuh he to get he bail out neider.

“Until de philosophy dat hold one people superior and anudder inferior,
    until una bajans start to represent wunna selves ‘gianst injustice, dese tings gine keep happening (Bob Marley plagiarized by PUDRYR)

27. I have been warned to ignore u but your reading comprehension skills don’t seem to b functioning ac.
    I’m still waiting on the cops to do something about this matter and if they have I await their update. If u lib bout here u would know the wheels of justice turn quite slowly. As for disparaging someone’s character….that someone has to have said good character in the first place.
    Ok Bushie ๐Ÿ™‚ done responding to ac ๐Ÿ™‚

28. Bollocks, Bushie. Ross and I are not at each others’ throats. Can you not tell the difference between being at each others’ throats and a little, good-natured teasing? In fact, I am very much in favour of Ross at the moment and will forgive him almost anything, after a simply excellent newspaper article he was responsible for recently. And I was pointing out that there is only one supremo in the arts of provokation – and that is Baffy. Not Ross, nor you, nor me, nor the Miller. We are also-rans. At each others’ throats indeed. Such rubbish.

29. Cow should have known you can buy the milk without having to buy the cow.

30. @pieceuhdrock I’m not sure which street person in S’town is called Flash but if he is one of the two men who I often buy food for or give $2 to ( don’t judge me there were times I ain’t had nutting, unlike what ac thinks, I was never well to do), I think they have a bit more respect for me than this ‘Lady’. And since I am from the North and went to school in S’town, I’m kinda familiar with our street people.
    I agree with you though, the situation would have been different if the cops had been informed about an incident involving either of them.
    Pls don’t plagurize Bob no more lol.

31. DRATT!! ….and double dratt…
    …a bushman can daydream of the good old days can’t he…? ๐Ÿ™‚
    Every shiite going wrong bout here. Can’t even get wunna back at each other..
    .. Not since wunna discovered that common interest…!

32. It is amazing how the BU court of public opinion can pontificate and give advice and ridicule and castigate a persons charcater and based on evidence supportive of one side….

33. @Lisa

For your information the MP for the area is a domino partner of Sir Cow. If you have a relationship with said MP it maybe an avenue to pursue if our men who have sworn to protect and serve do not respond in the near future.

34. LOLL Adrian yuh got me brekking down. You are correct COW has two pigs to deal with in his family. ROFLMAO Lady COW and Hoggie! Lawd muh belly hurting.

35. Lisa AC cannot help herself she always forgetting to take her meds. Now I know you were in shock and I would be too BUT you should keep a 2×4 handy for sow pigs like Mary Anne.

Bushie please stop trying to slither up next to Lisa. She will find out that you are AMANA….All mouth and no action! ๐Ÿ™‚

36. Nice to see you here Amused and Season’s greeting to you and your family. Bushie don’t like to see people having fun at all. He is one grumpy old man AMANA!

37. LOLL …and COW found out that the milk curdle after he took it home! LOLL

38. This post is fascinating.

BT

Sorry to disappoint you but Amused is quite right. Banter only. Though I’m not clear what he means by my taking on the role of agent provocateur. My thoughts on this have developed with time and a scrutiny of agendas – including what the agenda is clearly not

AC

In what has become a who-dunnit I suppose there’s a danger in revealing the plot before its time.

Gabriel

Look Mr Cocky-Slick – stick your silly sneers up your organ. Ponder your own ‘gratuitous crap’……maybe you could compose something on it for the piano. Oh, yes, you have it wrong. There is no ave verum corpus. Stick to Faure..

I have no idea when Lisa sent her letter to the Nation. Maybe it’s in the pipeline. BUT – it may just be that the editor felt it did not raise an issue of national importance or interest. I can’t see that it does myself.

Smooth Chocolate

This post has been everywhere else. Why are you being warned off?

39. Ever since this pig married the cow and broke up his family his empire has collapsed and he lost all his real friends. Mary Ann is a nasty evil sow pig who needs to be put back on a boat.

40. @pieceuhderockyeahright…I’m sorry you didn’t read all that I posted…no where in my submission did I “pretty” up any one’s “ingrunce”..nor do I need “brownie points”….never needed them before as I have always listened to my own drummer and at this stage in my life, I certainly don’t need them now. I clearly stated that Lady Williams was wrong to do what she did. What I did was to draw attention to our callous disposal of garbage. Where I live, garbage is sometimes thrown over my wall. I gripe to myself and clean it up. I would never collect it and throw it back over the wall or deliver it in a box…not my style. Worse for me are the people up wind who insist on burning garbage or other things, early in the morning or even late at night. These things provoke, but seem to be ingrained in our national culture. So do we continue to accept or do we attempt to bring about change?

41. @Robert Ross

You mentioned agendas, your little missives have found favour with the Nation editor so you must be happy. Agendas indeed!

42. The BLP vs DLP is obvious as Sir Henry Fraser’s comments on the financial status of the QEH–“pellucidly clear”. lol

43. Ross
    Axe yuh pardin.I volunteer for 50 halemarys as penance for ruffling the Rev Fr(aud)fedders.

44. @ AC
    What is/are you saying?

The singular verb introduces bad english – is saying but the second verb “are” is reflective of the correct declination of the verb to be third person plural since, in your case, i am reliably informed they are two of you. Would that it was only one and at that the more reasoned one

“ridicule and castigate a person’s character, based on evidence supportive of one side…..

I will hazard to interpret what you are trying to say only because this is 2013 and David [BU] may yet put filters on this site, so by 2014 all cretins, of which i am one, will be debarred from BU

I have some idle time so I will be kind to animals until 2014.

I believe that you are saying that the BU audience has jumped in to assassinate Lady Mary-Anne’s impecable character and that the evidence provided here is one sided right? (Baffy forgive me, Bush Tea excuse me, the insulin has run out)

Now let me see if i can break this down for you in simple talk (I did not say simpleton)

It is not as if David [BU] and Lisa wrote this article only to impugn the character of the Lady MAW wife of Sir COW.

The article is supported by pictures, the sequence of which, verified by time stamps on the photos should give the group of BU conspirators some credibility about MAW.

As an aside AC you know you really should be careful what you name your children because of what their acronyms spell. There was a fellow called William Charles Pitt, i know him well, and he went through school with the nickname WC Pitt!

I have recently told my grand daughter that her association with that young man Bullen has to end since, her double barrel name is potentially, Bullen-Pitt or Pitt Bullen ….yes, yes, yes, I admit it, I am WC Pitt and, up to today, that name has given me some serious psychological scars, that i have not recovered from. This is the reason i write so much shi*e!!

TO continue AC, i understand that wid a cuntputer you can photoshop a picture and mek it look like i shaking Obama hand en ting, why it can even make it seem that I does have dinner wid Fumble or Sinckliar but de four pictures in a sequence, is sorta difficult to do, especially wid de box.

By de way why is it, after you decry David [BU] fuh dis article dat you still went ahead an put you mout in tings? Man you cudda lef it alone and go to someting bout how Fumble fcukup de economy en ting

45. Gabriel

You ruffled no-one’s feathers. You simply spoke as a prick and I told you so. ‘Ruffled feathers’ is precisely what this post is about.

46. The most interesting thing about these comments on BU is that there is no real emphasis on whether this was a CRIMINAL act and if so what we want to happen.

In 2013 no one should get away with what was done to Lisa.

If the box was from a rum shop in Speightstown would COWwife have done the same thing?

No.

But we is Bajans so gih she a break.

The best outcome imho would include a public apology to Lisa by COWwife.

Question to our BU Legal luminaries. Chould the two men who entered the store with COWwife be charged?

47. @David
    The real villain here is the person who is hired to remove the garbage but instead chose to dump it illegally.

Isnโ€™t that the crux of the matter? Shouldnโ€™t that individual be called on the carpet to explain how the garbage ended up on someoneโ€™s property? Is it illegal to fire people? Buh wait sir COWโ€™s better half coming in for a lot of licks on the blog but just suppose that her estate has been the repository of several loads of garbage labelled โ€œXYZ boutiqueโ€ what should she do? What would you do? Most people are rational in the cold light of day but sometimes emotion gets the better of them and they react irrationally. Ah wonder if the garbage truck driver got something against the rich and famous anybody notices any garbage on LPโ€™s estate? I wish people would pipe down about Sir COWโ€™s choice of consort the man can marry or live wid with whomever he wants. Ah mean the English preferred the blond sainted Lady Di over wunnah future Kingโ€™s first choice Camilla, look who is having the last laugh?

This whole affair smacks of good old Bajan elitism, clock watching, incivility, non accountability and passing the buck. Iโ€™m not surprised that the Nation figured prominently in non-reporting the story, what else did one expect from the daily fish wrap?

The moral of the story? The meek won’t inherit de Earth time for a local Billy Jack to bring some semblance of sanity into Bim.

48. @ Sargeant

What is the matter with your comprehension skills today?

What the ‘lady’ was wrong and Lisa has a right to express her outrage within the boundary of the law as the citizen who was offended.

Yes the Nation newspaper refusing to print her letter to the editor and the dumpster are all parallel issues which BU concerned in our response to Dr.Watson.

49. Let us use a little COMMONSENSE. Would Lisa sanction illegal dumping in a box with her store’s name emblazoned on the outside of it?

50. The real villain here is the person who who walked into Lisa’s boutique and chose to dump a box of garbage illegally.

A case can be made against the person who put the garbage on COWwife property and whoever else but cut to the facting chase.

Lisa should not be assaulted because of the name “Josephineโ€™s Boutique” on a freakin box.