Submitted by the Owner

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hooliganism, Bullying, Intimidation, Moral Decay

All of the above, in my opinion aptly describe an experience I had recently. I remember in my youth and even to this day hearing persons muse about the fact that Barbadians are a docile people. One of the favourite things we like to say in times of despair is โ€œif Bajans were like Jamaicans, the things that happen here, would not happenโ€. I assume that by quoting this statement, we are implying that we are a more tolerant society. Ask persons who have been victims of intolerance, if this is so and I guarantee they would not agree.

The moral decay that is endemic in our society, is not a new phenomenon. There have been incidents of violence, hooliganism, bullying, and intimidation for decades. What we are brilliant at, is sweeping it under the carpet or applying a band-aid on an open sore and hoping it would heal.

One of my favourite quotes is โ€œAll it takes for evil to succeed is for good men to do nothingโ€. I live by this principle and one other, โ€œDo unto others as you would have them do unto youโ€. These are lessons learnt as a young impressionable child and they have stuck with me for 35years.

I own and operate a Boutique in Speightstown, St. Peter. On the morning of December 16th, 2013, while assisting a client, a โ€˜Ladyโ€™ entered the store and asked, โ€œIs this Josephineโ€™s Boutique?โ€ I replied in the affirmative and she informed me that she had a delivery for me. I finalized the transaction with my client, all the while oblivious the other activity going on in the store.

I finally had a chance to speak to the โ€™Ladyโ€™, who was waiting on me in the store, this time accompanied by another โ€˜gentlemanโ€™, so I approached them to find out about said delivery. I was greeted by a HUGE box of garbage, with Josephineโ€™s Boutique written on the outside. I immediately recognized the box, since I had put it in the garbage disposal area at the mall where I work the previous week and it had been collected on Thursday of same week. After my initial shock, I asked both of them, why did they bring a box of garbage and put it in my store. The โ€˜Ladyโ€™ responded in a sneering tone, โ€œit was on my property so I brought it backโ€. They wanted no explanation or had any more time to converse with me. Their mission was completed and they huffed and puffed, got in their vehicles and drove off.

Again, their behaviour can only be described in the terms I listed at the beginning of this letter. Common sense, rational thought, decency, professionalism, respect, morals, principles all went south for the winter in this situation. Garbage is collected from one location, it obviously falls of the truck at another location and instead of reacting rationally, this โ€˜Ladyโ€™ and two โ€˜thugsโ€™, drive to my store in Speightstown and dump the HUGE box of filthy garbage, in my store because the box says โ€˜Josephineโ€™s Boutiqueโ€™ on the outside. Bear in mind, everyone else in the mall has thrown garbage in the box since it was the biggest one in the disposal area.

This is an open sore, and no amount of band-aids will heal it. Who does such things, unless they feel that they can get away with it because we Bajans are โ€˜docileโ€™ and we like to sweep things under the carpet? No more!!!! It takes a tiny pebble to start a big ripple in the ocean. I am that pebble.

531 responses to “‘Lady’ Mary-Anne Williams is it really you?”

1. Jeff,then the law must surely be an ass if anybody can bring garbage into an establishment,deposit it and leave it on the premises just like thatSoon somebody will test this insanity and get Dodds which is what most have been saying on this matter today.It ain’t what you do it is whodunit as far as the laws of buhbaydus go.It’s this insanity that has this country as sick as it is.The Medes and the Persians?

2. As I suspected; yet again a so called white person in Barbados does something wrong and nothing -according to Jeff Cumberbatch -can be done about it. This is why I would be tempted to exact my form of justice when confronted with such “apparently Lawfull but uncivilized behaviour” from one of Barbados elites…… apparently it is a waste of time calling the police.

3. This has nothing to do with the illegal dumping of garbage. It is an English woman demonstrating her disrespect for local people. She knows that backed by her husband’s oversized wallet she could get away with anything.
    Who were the goons with her? This small act of vandalism should not be allowed to end there.

4. Ask what husband? You think that man is an idiot? Every chance he gets – it is off to Arizona….and sanity …away from she who must be insane… ๐Ÿ™‚

5. Indeed Hal. Only, if i may make a slight correction to you commentโ€ฆ.’She THOUGHT that backed by โ€ฆโ€ฆ
    There was no formal introduction of the two thugs or the Lady herself for that matter, so I don’t know their names.

6. Gabriel
    What law is what ass what?!It is the LAWYERS that are ….
    -always looking to make mountains out of anthills…. Trying to sound intelligent.

OF COURSE it is against the law to dump garbage on someone else’s property….even against the health act…. Just as it was against the law for whoever dumped it on Lady COW’s land ….but wait – how is it HER land and not SIR COW’s bozie…?
    What Jeff and Ross really means is that OUR laws do not apply to those who can afford to pay lawyers $10,000 and whisper sweet nothings into the ears of whoever party is in power…
    Such persons can even shoot their young sons and walk away…far less dump some trash in a store….

Bushie still can’t believe that Amused cozying up with Ross when he here talking so much shiite….and for what?!?….trying to piss of David(BU) ๐Ÿ™‚

Steupssss
    Lady in her store minding her own business and working hard – and some unmannerly lout walks in with two goons and dumps garbage on the floor….SIMPLE….her ass should be picking up garbage for three month – as community service….she and the stupid contractor that dumped it on her land….

…instead we have legal brass bowls here making mountains out of a straightforward issue. We need a lot more Lisa’s bout here….

@ Islandgal
    Bushie has to cozy up to Lisa….we dun!
    – she got guts – ain’t fraid a fella
    – she articulate
    – she don’t cuss Bushie
    – she is a big-up entrepreneur
    And most important, she don’t beat people with 2X4s

…if only she could ignore ac….Bushie would be hooked… ๐Ÿ™‚

7. What was all this garbage that was in the box, paper, hangers, what? it wasn’t a butchery you were running.. Tempest in a teapot again

8. Why are we surprised that noting will come out of this episode if taken to court.
    Anyone remembered Mr Swayne who killed the little Smith boy at Bloomsbury plantation, for picking his potato slip? He was represented by no other, than (Sir) Grantley Adams, and he spent a little time in jail. While around that same time Millie,from St Joseph the last woman to be hanged in Barbados,(1948), was swiftly convicted and executed on very flimsy evidence for poisoning her man Cornie .(to which a known poisoner confessed , on his death bed many years later).
    Some years ago, a black man was killed ,and a woman was charged for the murder, but the case was thrown out at the lower court, as it appeared that it was the husband , who caught the wife with the guy and killed him, but the wife made it appear as if she was responsible. Both of them got off scot , or british free.
    And over in Balantyne Heights ,one Sunday a woman shouted, “Murder! Murder!” , and out came her neighbour with a shot gun and kill the fellow who was on her property,without asking a question. I am still waiting after 20 plus years to see if any charges will be brought against that killer.
    I also remember a robbery being carried out at a plantation house in St Joseph, and a squad of policemen arrived on the scene while the robbery was still in progress, resulting in one of the policemen sustaining gunshot injuries. Do you think that the police , then , would have turned out so rapidly,to serve and protect us , if that call had come from the village or tenantry?

Justice in Barbados was never meant for the masses, at least not the poor ones.

9. You noticed that too Adrian…?
    …BU lawyers making the case that no law was broken and that the matter should NOT be pursued….?
    Translated, they are saying that in THEIR ratty system, people with enough money and LODGE connections will NEVER be charged with ANY shiite in Barbados so we may as well move on smartly..
    …also, according to Ross, the NATION “knows the game” so we should cut them some slack….

So you see David…if we are going to change ANYTHING in Barbados we must FIRST ship the lawyers overseas….preferably somewhere in the Atlantic…. ๐Ÿ™‚

10. I trying real hard Bushie..trust me. It ain’t easy but I will take your advice and ignore ac.
    I never ever considered acting violently towards any of them and never would. I like my freedom and I’m a law abiding citizen.
    Alas, there is more than one way to skin a cat.

11. jeff Cumberbatch wrote “I am not so sure, as some others on here are that any legal wrong was done in this case.”

Please indulge my “idiocy” but was there also no legal wrong done when the box of garbage was placed on COWwife property?

12. Yes you did. Then you offered up a half-assed apology, saying that she does not really attack you, or words to that effect. I do NOT lie. Have no need to.

you seemed proud that people were attacking and denigrating you.

GO BACK AND CHECK YOUR POSTS. I am sure David would not have deleted it.

13. Note the size of the box and the fact that I put it in a garbage disposal area for a few days before it was collected. While that thought is swimming in your brain, think of the fact that it sat exposed on someone’s property, giving anyone else ample opportunity to throw whatever they felt like in it. Darn, I should have dragged the box into my storage room and itemized every single item, silly me. Instead I dragged it back to the storage area and dumped it AGAIN.
    Hope your teapot never gets into rough seas and if it ever does, please, I implore you, take notes and pictures of every minute detail. Would not want anyone thinking it was full of tea!!!!!!!

14. again i say YOU are a LIAR, never did i say anything to such an effect to island girl , you might be suffering from dementia,

15. look lisa expect and got the standard the response from most here one equivalent to a child being told how nice they are except that those responses which were unusually not along the same trend she became frustrated while trying her very best to defend her side of the story.

16. There is no major crime, but there is a strong case of trespass, since although a boutique is open to the pubic, that access if for legitimate business, not vandalism; there is bahaviour likely to cause a breach of the peace; there is threatening behaviour; and there is ;iikely to be an offence under environmental legislation.
    In any case, there is a legitimate reason for the alleged offender to be questioned by the police.

@ Colonel
    How about the wealthy New Barbadian who shot his son? What about the plantation owner who shot the boy because he thought he was a thief? What about the well-connected lawyer who shot the black lad because he looked as if he was a burglar?
    If the law fails to treat a citizens equally, then there are alternatives. What about the alleged Muslim drug dealer who got bail? What about the retired reverend who got remanded in prison for suspected possession of ammunition (but no gun)?
    Our criminal justice system has always been an extension of the ruling elite. But we get the justice we deserve.

17. look at you people look. almost look like barbados…!!!1u funking animals.
    why wunna dont go there for a visit nuh. ya get of lucky in barbados nuh,disguisting people.
    http://youtu.be/ZRuSS0iiFyo

18. AC, honestly you have left me at a loss of words at the stupid sentiments you have been espousing for this entire discussion. I can only hope as I read on that you finally heed David’s suggestion and shut up! Cheez lady, please give it a rest!!,

19. BT

I realize that our relationship is now deep and rich and meaningful such that my name is always on your lips. But I have to point out that at NO TIME have I offered any opinion about the legality of what happened to Lisa. Indeed I suggested she consult Amused.

20. Lawson

H Austin now turned lawyer describes what happened as a “small act of vandalism”. Bush Tea attacks the lawyers, who are not jumping for law books, for making mountains out of mole hills. SITH suggests we might have better things to do. You refer to a storm in a teapot. There seems to be a consistency principle emerging whichever side you’re on don’t you think?

21. If no CRIME was committed by Lady COW then we can organize a dumping exercise in front Lady COW’s place of business. Let us stand up and be counted. I am first in line, who is next?

22. Apparently Lady Cow been doing this shite for a long time and also getting people fired “cause she can” About time somebody exposed this piece of white trash. She real ugly too.

23. You like you crazy or something!!

24. That comment refers to AC.

25. Islandgal

“Let us stand up and be counted”

That is SO sweet – whichever side you’re on someone who is prepared to Do rather than JAW. Well, let’s see. If someone joins you, we may even get a national day of protest yet, a march down Broad Street, a Nation (and don’t forget the poor Advocate) flooded with letters about governmental incompetence from the BU Party – something, anything which says we believe what we say and can be counted on to put our bodies where our mouths are – within the law of course.

26. A crime was indeed committed and despite all the rigmarole that’s been said here by certain folks, luminaries or otherwise…A crime has been committed.
    Spoke to an officer again yesterday afternoon and was given the usual reply, I will check and get back to you…but the letter is on the way and unless the postman/woman falls in Boban quarry, the good Lady will be reading it very soon. For those who don’t know about Boban quarry, a drive to the North won’t kill yah or cause a pox. We got some nice folk down here and the breeze is amazing.
    The whole point of my ‘letter’ was to get people thinking about the depraved things happening in this society. No, not the behavior on the boat cruise or at a yard fete, but the deeper things, some of which have been noted here by Hal and Colonel. These things happen, and we accept the outcomes, bitch in our homes and communities and move smartly along.
    My issue is not as extreme as those I referenced, but it has the same ingredients…privilege, corruption, brooms and carpets.
    Hince why I decided to expose it. If I am to be denied justice, I will not and cannot be denied freedom of speech. Or by extension access to social media and now BU ๐Ÿ™‚
    I appreciate your fighting spirit ‘islandgal246’ but I learned long ago that persons feel much worse when you do the opposite of what they expect in these kinds of circumstances. Try this..the next time someone annoys u…Say I love u instead of F U and watch the look on their face..lol it’s priceless.
    Blessed Sunday to all and sundry

27. Robert, As we all can see Lisa was and is upset about this, probably just as upset as the other lady was when she found the garbage on her property and was looking for someone to blame. By bringing it back she knows that eventually Lisa is going to give the people who pick up the garbage hell or refuse to pay them. Everyone of us at one time would like to catch that guy who tagged your wall with paint, would love to meet the person who scratched your car in the parking lot, that owner who’s dog shit on your lawn, etc. and if you say you wouldn’t you are a lying to yourself, I bet there are a few people here that may like to meet me in person to tune me up LOL. So forget the stupid way she handled it ,forget she is not from here, forget she is white, forget get she is rich, and see her as a regular person who is tired of garbage dumped on her property.
    Lisa you created the garbage, as a business owner your responsibility doesn’t end when you drag your garbage to the curb. Depending on what business you are in the levels of responsibility escalate, If people went through your garbage and got credit card # s or private info about your customers they would be upset, if you owned a clinic and left used needles or bio-logical waste in your garbage there would be an outrage. If by accident you tossed out one of Hal’s articles that would be grounds for immediate excommunication. Go after the real culprits here, the people who took your money to perform a service that ensures the confidentiality of your business, the cleanliness of your business and the reputation of your business .

28. the article accomplished what it set out to do that would be to embarrass and shame mary ,a collective band of yahoos all join in unison and did so with delight and much fanfare, In the meanwhile lisa still feels the sting of such an ungodly act and not even the best massage which she received on BU would soften the blow,,

29. See, what I mean ‘islanggal246′. Someone was just lurking in the wings waiting to pounce as soon as a suggestion like your was made. So darn predictable.
    Sorry to disappoint u again..Not really ๐Ÿ™‚ but it ain’t gonna happen and since there are sides in this thing can I be on the side with the people who are good cooks? Yes…..I reduced this part of the discussion to the trivial, mindless junk that it is.
    Don’t patronize people, it’s beneath you…or maybe not…’shrugs’

30. ac and Lawson

You got that right.

31. It is truly unfortunate that this lady is so deprived of even the tiniest bit of class and that her goons would participate in this insanity.

I applaud Lisa for speaking up especially after trying to use the appropriate channels without success.

I understand why the nation has sold its soul but I am saddened that the RBPF sees it fit to ignore this matter. I say ignore, because I’m not optimistic that they will pursue this as they have long lost the opportunity to visit the scene in a timely manner. Hopefully they will be embarrassed into action and use Lisa’s video as the evidence they failed to obtain.

This is a sad commentary of our society. The police would have been there in a heartbeat to arrest a vagrant so that type of action. Thumbs up to you Lisa; do not be intimidated and let it die.

32. Lisa

I’m afraid you’ve totally lost the plot.

33. I suggest you go back and read my comments. I followed the rules. I emptied my box and put it in a storage area to be removed by a company hired by the owners of the mall. Which was done..jeeze the had the engine of the truck on a t the back of my store for 15mins with the fumes choking me, so I know they removed it. I asked the question before and here it is again…why would someone do this? Be honest. She did it cause she was within her rights, and she felt that she could just walk away and I would pull out my broom and sweep it under the carpet.
    If persons are dumping illegally on her property, that is also against the law and she should take very measure possible to put and end to it….but just as I’m not going to form a gang and go and drop a bunch of garbage on her property because of what she did to me..mainly cause I got a modicum if decency and that would be the most stupid thing to do, she should not have brought it into my store, with her thugs and dumped it there. Simple

34. How judge mental of u. Love u

35. U r applauding Lawson for implying that I am the one who paid a company to remove my garbage and giving tips on how to run my business AND I am the one who has lost the plot? Smh
    Hope he’s read my reply and it clarifies what I stated earlier….the owners of the Mall take care of all garbage removal…not the tenants.

36. Robert, It is unfortunate that Myre sorry Lisa cannot realize that she is partly to blame for what happened here, her story barely passes the odor test . I am willing to give her the benefit of the doubt even though hers is the only side of the story we are hearing But it is nice to see that some people still believe there is a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

37. Lisa

I luv u too…..but your memory seems to be very selective. See your response – lurkful from the wings – to my applauding Islandgal. Obsessed as you are, maybe you don’t get it. If ONE person joins her, wonderful. If two, promising. If three, we have a movement. Translate that into the problems of the day. But votes are already in.so it seems we ARE in fact eunuchs and the only thing we can gnash is our teeth.

38. still trying to wrapped my head around the fact that LISA garbage found its way to mary anne ‘s premises,, as lisa suggest only could have happened by falling off the truck…..and the plot thickens,,,,,,

39. Lisa, don’t repeat yourself, some of us with brains understand what is at play here. You should know that BU publishes to FB, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google. The hits on your submission are the highest BU has achieved on ANY blog, several thousands. You have the public’s attention.

40. The more I hear about this situation a picture seems to form. A big truck, spewing fumes for 15 min behind her store near killing her, Well Lisa does not seem like a shrinking violet to me, and probably went out back and reprimanded them, the men as they are going to the dump said screw her and tossed the garbage with her name on it at the property of the other lady hoping for a result. See Lisa instead of going out back and yelling your killing me and my customers you should have said I luv u.

David please present yourself at st Dominics church with the other fellas with brains. Bishop Jason the nativity play is back on

41. It’s amazing how, in your mind I’m at fault for standing up my for rights and exposing one of the many things that normally would have gotten swept under the carpet.
    Ah well, this is not a game to me. This is about fighting for my rights and the rights of others, whether they have gone before me or will one after me. In this life there will always be those for and against anything anyone of us sets out to do, as I alluded to previously.
    The thing is though, I have the right and the ability to fight. Note what I said..I have the right…as humans we all do…but there are millions suffering and they don’t have the ‘ability’.
    As long as I have that ability, I will see this incident through. To the poster above who implored me not to give up..Don’t worry!!!!!

42. You were not there…I said nothing of the sort to these gentlemen. In fact, I did not even have a conversation with them, I do not behave in such a manner. Thankfully, those that know me, know this and I can simply carry on smartly and ignore what you are implying. Have a great day Sir.

43. Lisa you are behaving in such a manner

44. @Lady Mary-Anne

Maybe you are reading this blog, there is a good chance. The unforgivable act you visited on a struggling BLACK entrepreneur is beginning to go viral on social media if it has not already. We urge you and your principals to demonstrate good sense and visit with Lisa to bring this matter to a close. Sometimes all it takes is to do the morally correct thing and apologize.

BU commits to support Lisa exposing this wrong and this is against the background that the police and established media (Nation newspaper) have been unresponsive to date. Our offer to Lisa to post the video of the incident is an open offer, the last time we posted a video (of William Duguid) it went viral.

Next time your boil starts to boil, which will happen from time to time with any individual, count to 10 and make the best decision.

45. since this allegation is being tried in the BU court,,,,, can Some one present a picture of the Garbage TRUCK or one of its likeness,,Lisa this is your call!

46. @Lisa

For heaven-sakes, MLK, Mandela, Gandhi, what did they have in common? They all had detractors. Just back your convictions and get on with it. Sometimes where ignorance is bliss tis folly to be wise.

47. Lisa, donโ€™t hold your breath for the Police. Donโ€™t you know they busy, busy, busy,? The Jheri Curl man got them doing a big able investigation into some insignificant something or the other to do with Parliament. So like the rest of the population, I guess you will have to wait and wait and wait until that investigation into the garbage in Parliament complete.

Hopefully the Minister of Garbage is reading this because you know he is very much against illegal dumping and littering and this act by โ€œThe โ€œLadyโ€ certainly deserves some strong censure from him.

48. It’s amazing how this thread has exposed the very things that keep us shackled in virtually every sphere of our lives in this “system”. Even if there were two wrongs…..two wrongs don’ t make a right.

ac, you are a massive disappointment on this one.
    David, this is why you exist. Embrace your calling
    Lisa, continue to speak up and speak out. Disregard the fact that it is your own that is trying to pull you down here. We tend to be like that.

Civility is a lost art. Compassion is dying characteristic. Communication is apparently a non existent skill and cooperation for the common good is a thing of the past.

Forget the racism, forget the classism, forget the elitism…the reaction if indeed it was so, was unwarranted and out of place, full stop. This always was and always will be bigger than Lisa’s box of garbage. I look forward to the day when the majority realise that.

Just observing

49. David

Please look again at your open letter to the “white bitch”. You say that this act on a struggling black entrepreneur is unforgivable. You also say that she should visit Lisa and offer an apology. You note, then, the pointlessness of the exercise? And to do what? To convince BU that she is not a ‘white bitch? I’m quite sure the lady would tell you to naff off

BTW…has Lisa written to the Advocate? Maybe its time she did.

50. Oh and David…..since you are inclined to sing the praises of Lisa for being fundamental in engineering the longest post ever, or whatever it was, please give credit where credit is due….to ac, RR and others who refused to be bulldozed into the position you want.

Observer

I agree entirely with your last and penultimate paragraphs.