Peter Wickham at the 'vanguard' of the Gay lobby in Barbados
Peter Wickham at the ‘vanguard’ of the Gay lobby in Barbados

BU has written and posted extensively about the issue of homosexuality. BU’s position is well documented. We do not subscribe to the lifestyle but will defend the right of the homosexual to co-exist in our society as defined by our society. It has proved and will continue to prove not a simple matter to resolve.

In the case of Barbados the homosexual debate has become interesting on a number of fronts. It is an issue which Peter Wickham has taken to wearing on his sleeve. He uses his weekly newspaper column and the talk show on Voice of Barbados radio to bombard citizens with his view. But guess what, this is his prerogative to take. Perhaps his advocacy would take on credibility if he were to declare his hand.

It is interesting to note that leading up to the last general election Ministers Adriel Brathwaite (Attorney General) and Stephen Lashley (Family and Youth) reaffirmed government’s position to support what BU describes as the traditional lifestyle of man and woman, and marriage, man and woman.  It is obvious the two ministers felt bold to make public their positions because they believe it resonates favourably with the majority of Barbadians poll or no poll. Where do we go from here if government is not inclined to endorse homosexuality as a normal way of life?

Another other issue comes from the moral relativist position where individuals leverage their right to engage in bisexual relationships. A stroll any evening through the UWI Campus, Samuel Jackman Prescod or Barbados Community College, one is confronted by many young people publicly practicing bisexual behaviour behaviour. Such a position pressures society to demarcate how we want to organize our society. Or should we go with the flow?

The final issue is the full court press by homosexuals to be allowed to participate fully in the Boy Scout movement. Sure we should not discriminate against individuals who may want to play active roles in the movement. Conversely, it is the right of the parent who feels uncomfortable sending their male offspring to a Scout gathering where homosexuals are involved to say, go to hell!

It is evident that the Christian movement in Barbadian has cowered in the face of an aggressive advocacy by the gay agenda lead by Wickham et al. If we have beliefs which are different why the hell don’t we represent those views and not go with the flow? If we believe there is no logical basis to rebut the homosexual lobby let us pack it in and move on.

Finally BU poses the question to the BU theologians – Was Jesus Christ a homosexual?

350 responses to “Homosexuals Are People Just Like Us…no?”

1. @NO BULLING IN BIM, HEAR?

Thank you for accusing me of being a Bajan and living in Barbados. Neither statement is true, but I am honoured at the adaptability and cosmopolitanism it suggests. I have been to Barbados several times and once had an uncle who headed one of the commercial banks there. I also love the food and lifestyle. Apart from that, my opinions are offered as a human being with a mind, rather than being representative of any nationality.

2. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

Bahamared
    I knew it!!You would be very offended at that word Bulling because you do not see the act of buggery as downright bulling,the act of a bull covering a heifer!You cringe at that word as the white man cringe at the word Black.When the white man hears the word Black he breaks out in sweat and fear.So do the human bullers.I have heard Triinidadians refer to menfolk by name such as Buller Phillips and Buller Peters and you will be pleased to learn such a greeting is accepted as a norm in Trinidad,evidently evoking no offence.
    @Amused
    Commission of the act on buggery on an innocent child is buggery.You might want to describe such a sexual deviant as a paedophile.I would refer to such a person as lowlife scum,totally unfit to breathe fresh air.

3. miller……… First let me say that I don’t care a million hoots if Greenverbs and his associates whether dead or alive in the form of the man who says Leroy is his friend and not a leper is gay or nay.
    I assess people and deem them to be genuine and worthy of emulation according to higher principles of morality and what they can do for their fellow man to make the burden easier along this journey called life according to a menu of benchmark prescribed by your friend and mentor .
    ***************************************************************************************wuh gosh darn u coulda fool me. ……after all the derogatory and scandalous remarks u made about the PM and his association with Parris and David thompson and all the kneeling and bending which u took pleasure in describing for over five years going on among them u think some body gonna believe u…….. repentance is good for the soul but in this case a genuine apology would be of preference. but then again i think u see the writing on the wall …….No miller maybe it is time for u to drink some bird soup…… lawd hav merci he didn’t make that comment with a straight face …or did he….

4. Bahamared…………Dummy said the word came from the British, need we say more…………

5. @well well,

exactly, but I am sure the irony is lost on him

6. Bahamared……………….i am sure

7. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Well Well
    I didn’t create the word only researched the history of it. The British probably made it popular in Barbados, it now being the standard for Bajans when describing the homosexual act.

8. Dummy……….that’s what i said, the British created the word, they are known for being rude, crude and disgusting.

9. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Seems that has rubbed off on Bajans, we can be very rude and cruel a lot of the time.

10. Dummy………………..it has become cultural, you cannot exist in close proximity to people who have that nature for hundreds of years, breed with them and don’t inherit some if not most of their traits.

11. Bush tea if u pleass……….I am modelers”type no ands buts about it,,,,,,,,,,anybody who knows ac can attest to that no need for an old goat like u to try to define me .,,,,,,,,,,,,,u centipede…..

12. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

Funny you should bring up the british. In the days of slavery the white man raped not only our wives and daughters at will. Many a salivating pervert raped fathers and sons too. Fight back, get lynched; preferable.

13. Riots………….explain to them, tell them who brought all of their perversions and sick sexual habits to the Caribbean cause apparently they don’t know, left it there to thrive and also had the nerves to leave laws against it, but they changed the laws in England and these hard-headed people can’t get it through their skulls. I am for keeping the buggery laws as it relates to rape, and even back then which englishman you know was arrested for raping black people, man, woman or child?

14. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

Oh yeah, almost forget. Some of these men were castrated to feminize them even more and make them less agressive. What a terrible existance.

15. Black people seem to never want to learn but prefer relegating themselves to constantly sit in judgment of others, they never judge the people who are partly responsible for their total confused state of mind but love to sit in judgment of each other, an excuse to mind each other’s personal business.

16. Bullers Bullers Bullers Bullers Bullers Bullers
    Bulling Bulling Bulling Bulling Bulling Bulling

Who dont like it could lump it
    NASTY BULLING BULLERS !
    who do not like the description know what to do

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | May 28, 2013 at 6:10 PM |

The truth hurts, doesn’t it? The truth will out, light will shine and the balm of Gilead will heal.
    Now that everything is out in the open will you stop maligning OSA and making derogatory remarks about his personal lifestyle? Same thing applies to MAM.
    Those who live in glass houses should not throw stones!

Now put all the bulling, wicking, rum drinking and fornicating talk to rest and get on with the people’s business. We don’t want any more distractions from you or this administration.
    The country is up “shit street” and this administration doesn’t have the solutions to saving it from IMF bailout.
    Now are you going to deny this and continue with your piffle of lies and deceit?

Talking about the BLP and its leaders past and present will not shift the focus of the debate.
    Now piss off, you silly idiot! Do you really think that you or the fools in the DLP are really worth a hill of beans in the grand scheme of things?

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ DR. THE HONOURABLE | May 28, 2013 at 4:47 PM |
    “Homosexuals are people too, I agree, albeit mentaly ill. No person is born gay that’s homosexual propoganda, gay is a lifestyle choice.”

So you really think that homosexuals (including lesbians) are mentally ill people? And you also believe that humans make such a choice in such a matter of fact black or white way to be either gay or heterosexual?
    This straight jacketed type of black or white analysis can only come from the mind of person trapped in a small-island-mentality cocoon but living with devils within his or her very soul and fighting the homosexually-repressed demons hiding in the closet fighting hard to be free.

Since that is your position can you explain to us the following conditions?
    Why are a minority of people, say, between 7-10 % out of any population, left-handed?
    Why does homosexuality exist among all human groupings irrespective of ethnicity, gender, culture, religion or geographical location?
    Would you say that some of the greatest minds that shaped this world were considered mentally ill?
    Even Galileo Galilei, Newton, Darwin and even Einstein were considered by the likes of you at that time to be mad or mentally handicapped
    Do you, peeping out of your myopic shell of a cocoon, also know that some of the greatest artists, writers thinkers and inventors like Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci (left-handed, and presumably dyslexic), Oscar Wilde, James Baldwin (just to mention a few) were homosexual?

Do you really feel that people would suffer the indignity, social ostracism risks of loss of limb or life just to choose to be homosexual in societies that are exceedingly repressive and dictated by religious madmen like you?

It would do you a world of intellectual good and soul cleansing if you were to see the homosexual movement for open recognition as a minority lifestyle without threats of physical harm or social discrimination the same way you would wish to view the anti-slavery or black power movement driven to emancipate another minority (and you better accept that black people are indeed a minority on a global scale) from discrimination, physical abuse and attacks and social ostracism.

But please don’t make the cardinal mistake of labelling me as gay or an apologist for the ‘gay lifestyle’ (whatever that means).
    Ac certainly will not agree with you after exposing such closet skeletons at the top of the political hide and seek pole.
    Just see me in the same light as you should see William Wilberforce, Clarkson, or even John Brown. Just as a force for good over evil and to counter backward myopically “dark” thinking to expose the people like you who might have found pleasure in witnessing the Salem witch trials in which a Bajan played a pivotal role.

Trust you have now become a true honourable person worthy of using the title ‘DR’.

19. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

In the next election vote the Bulling, Lesbian Party = ?

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Dummy @ Dumo | May 29, 2013 at 6:52 AM |

What about this Dummy?

In the next elections circa 2014-15 why not vote out the Destructive Lying Party = DLP?

Whom do you have to replace either Mara, the Pit bull Dr. D or the drugs-dependent speaker or even the fainting leader who has recoiled back into his silent shell?

Why don’t you focus on the economic survival of this fast sinking ship called SS Barbados or even the closet bullers and lesbians in the DLP?

21. Ok i get here late i ent read none of the above but i pretty sure what the comments are about i want to add my piece.

1: The gay people that don’t want to be gay anymore need a voice and protection from the full time gay people (as they are for some reason very relentless in shutting up this minority in the gay group)

2: Being gay is a choice no matter how you look at it, every mental function is a choice.

3: Why are gay people fighting the church? the church has every right to say they not marring same sex as much as gay people should have the right to marry by LAW, in my opinion LAW is NOT the church, as i see it, it should be legal for same sex but not one church should do it.

4: Being married ent what it used to be.

22. Miller

You know I am with you totally – in this as in other things despite our marginal differences in religious perspectives. You have just written the most beautiful piece and we could both add many names to your list of gay people who have contributed to civilization in a way these people never could. I suppose we’re not really talking to people like that but rather to those silent ones who simply listen and evaluate. I suppose they must be there somewhere. If not, well…………..is there any point in it all?

23. Ready done

Getting an erection is a mental choice right ..? Yah jack ass ..

24. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

So Michelango,Leonardo di Vinci,Oscar Wilde,James Baldwin were bullers.Ipso facto we should all accept the filthy act of bulling as normal human behaviour and give these lunatics pride of place in our thinking.I say they should all burn in hell…yesterday,today and tomorrow.Stinking,lowmind,deprave swine.

25. BAF

LOL You know dear BAF, when you get to a certain age a lot of ‘mental choicing’ is involved!!! Glad to know it still works well though.

26. Miller you neva hear ’bout a man named Olaudah Equiano …?

BTW … Please Do Not Feed The Troll …!

27. Oh you of the name of an angel but the mind of……no, not a mind at all………do you realize you are very sick?

28. Ross

Be at peace … for by the time you reach that phase in life I am sure there will be a drug or supplement on the market that you would be able to make good use of … 🙂

29. BAF

It IS a consolation that many have to though much, much younger than me…..I wonder if the problem is much more prevalent than we suppose – especially when so much does in fact have to do with the state of the mind.

30. So let us try to follow your logic Miller….
    Since some famous people were fond of playing in excreta, it stands to reason that this is a good and socially acceptable practice to be encouraged…..
    …you know how many kinds of famous freaks have existed…?

Basic common sense…. Excreta is not intended to be fondled…
    QED

31. Baf…………i thought i heard the guys saying if the head don’t work, the erection can’t work either, don’t know, need guidance from you.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel Tackle | May 29, 2013 at 9:43 AM

So should we who have been made in God’s image accept those black stinking smelly bastards into our community to rape our women and lower the values of our homes?
    Sounds familiar?
    What about blacks are intellectually and socially inferior to whites and must be cared for just as we look after monkeys or our dogs because those blacks are just the white man’s burden. Pity that God made them to be our slaves and servants!

Those uppity niggers like you that that dare step out of line would be dealt with by making them hanged like strange fruits after facing the white robes and red crosses and torches to burn.

What about ” No blacks, Coloureds or Animals allowed”?

Sounds familiar to you, again, Gabriel Tackle?

33. My opinion, if what someone else does do not affect you or anyone else personally, mind your business. None of us came here to be dictators.

34. Miller…………..some people would pretend that did not happen, or is still not happening or thought of………….these same ‘educated’ beings have no problem practicing the same attitudes and discriminatory practices against their own people, note, they do not approach white gays with their discrimination….My recent interaction with MoneyBrainless is indicative of how they are still thought of on the island by the idiots still considering themselves superior, but that makes no difference to the ‘educated’ as long as they believe they have the powers to discriminate against someone else, that makes them quite happy.

35. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

@ millertheanunnaki

I can answer these?

“Why are a minority of people, say, between 7-10 % out of any population, left-handed?”

I have nothing against left handers. The way I see it they learnt to use their left hand better than their right hand , same as right handers learnt to use their right hand better than the left. All by choice with the little conscience a baby has as they were growing into childhood from the baby stage. Actually the world needs more people who can equally use both hands and be ambidextrous.

“Why does homosexuality exist among all human groupings irrespective of ethnicity, gender, culture, religion or geographical location?”

All humans seperated vastly geographically and culturaly are susceptible to mental disorders. Ideas spread faster than the plague in this small world now even millenia ago. Think about it, a mayan or aztec king could go crazy same as a chines emperor. They didn’t have to meet.

“Would you say that some of the greatest minds that shaped this world were considered mentally ill?”

Ever heard of mad scientists. Alot of these fellows had nervous breakdowns more than once in their lifetime. Stress from trying to over-achieve. Also alot of the names cited were’nt exectly christian thought they were products of christian societies.

Galileo Galilei-Jew masquerading as a catholic.
    Newton———-Illuminati, name shows up on the list of priori of sion.
    Darwin———-agnostic.
    Einstein——–agnostic.

36. So I see … ALL homosexual engage in anal sex … Jesus Christ Bush Tea … did you even bother to take a poll …? After all, many heterosexuals love the anal thing. How do you get into people’s bed rooms to see wah it is that they are doing anyway ..?

Well Well

You must have heard about “morning glory” … a mean yah head in a dream state den … Women love the morning thing as Miller can confirm, because when the head start kicking in and yah realize that mamal next to yah was dey for the past twenty years and the emails that you should have responded to the previous day start coming back to the fore things change a bit…

Head what … On this side of the divide we still have one blood supply and invariably it follows instinctual commands as to the organs to service and BTW, I really pity blind males …

37. Riots in de land!!!

Give me productive madness any day before stagnant bigotry.

You know in Barbados there is the swampy crab (land crab). Most of the males have very large RIGHT claws for fighting, but a few of them, around the same 7% have large left claws instead … I am seeing a corresponding in nature ..

38. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

About these homos; Where it is rumored I will state as homos want to make all historical figures gay nowadays.

Michelangelo—–family was of the “Black Nobility”. These were’nt black people but evil european barons an baronesses or royal blood who teamed up to hold onto power. They practice the occult;worship the devil,run child pornography rings, sex slavery, child sacrifice and hold huge orgies in their old mansions. Infiltration and userping an enemy organization is their forte.The films “The 9th gate” and “Eyes wide shut” touch upon these topics.

Leonardo da Vinci- Illuminati, member of the priori of sion, in fact an Illustrious Grand Master of it at one time. Rumoured gay, molested by his teacher Verrocchio since childhood. Was also rumoured to practice necrophilia with the corpses he studied for his art.

Oscar Wilde- Black nobility and Illuminati, famous for his novels and plays. A homosexual pedophile. When the father of a young man exposed Wilde, Wilde tried to sue the man for libel. He himself was exposed as a child molester who preyed on young boys and young men luring them with extravegant gifts. The young man’s father, a marquess, declared witnesses of homosexual prostitutes wilde had frequented. Wilde in fear dropped the charges but having been proven to be what he was accused of, was arrested and given two years hard labor for sodomy and gross indecency.

Uh know a lotta uh wunnah gine say “illuminati”?, “priori of sion”?, “black nobility”?, man he talking bare shoit. But I hasten to you, these secret societies are real, as the Lodge in barbados is real. They are some of the nastiest parasites in all existance.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | May 29, 2013 at 9:57 AM |

No small island thinking Bush Tea, there is no “QED “about what you are arguing.
    You blame homosexuals for dabbling in faeces and hence should be held responsible for any outbreak of cholera.
    Does a similar conflated crappy deduction apply to women who like women sexually?

Do you now see why the prisons at Glendairy had to go one way or the other? After all, according to your argument, women only have sex with other women because real men (like you) are NOT around.
    Same reasoning can apply to those men incarcerated for many years. Lack of real women means riding a bull instead of a cow.
    Do you agree with this line of analysis, BT, the chief spokesman on earth for BBE?

How come countries that have accepted homosexuality as a fact of life and have adjusted their laws to reflect this reality (just like they have recognised the existence of black people and the positive and productive role they play in Western societies like Barbados) are not ‘challenged’ with cholera?

How come you- as a so called educated although intellectually misguided man- can live in a country with a topographical make up of porous limestone but its “enlightened” inhabitants can still shit and dump extremely dangerous chemicals in holes that lead directly right to their major water resource?

How, Smart man, do you think cholera is spread? A lesson of what happened in 1850’s Barbados when there were no ‘bullers’ in Bim might just be an eye opener. Or are you going to blame that outbreak on some English gay seaman visiting the Island and humping a black boy?

It would do your intellectual soul a world of good if you were to press your government to urgently start the West Coast Sewage project with definite expansion to greater St. Michael and Christ Church before the shit hits the country’s public health fan and totally destroy the coral reefs and put the entire country at risk of a plague of not only cholera but also a loss of its more important industry tourism.

Get it, closeted fella?
    Up and On but not behind in thinking!

40. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

“You know in Barbados there is the swampy crab (land crab). Most of the males have very large RIGHT claws for fighting, but a few of them, around the same 7% have large left claws instead … I am seeing a corresponding in nature ..”

Where are the ambidextrous crabs with two big claws, yuh comparing two totally different species. How a simple claw could compare to the miracle of the complex hand and the brain that controls it? Crabs are’nt even as evolved as humans they are a lower species that eat shit. But I guess you want humans to start doing that.

And this folly wid comparing human with animals. Well who the cap fit’s let them wear it. You want to behave like animals you should get treated like one.

Either way you look at it evolution or creation humans are for right now the king of the hill on earth obviously by doing something right.

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Riots in de land!!! | May 29, 2013 at 10:41 AM |

You are right out of your league and depth.

Word of advice: Stick to understanding what gave rise to the 1937 riots. You can even dabble into finding out even if your sweet Jesus was really a king in exile or a gay man living within a cult of a groupies with 12 men.

Maybe if you study the painting of the Last Supper by the same Leonardo da Vinci whom you so vilified you might just get the key to decode the mystery whether Jesus was gay or a happily married man as a king in waiting to the Jewish throne left by Solomon and his descendants from 700 wives and 300 concubines.

42. Baf…………i told you i needed your guidance, i knew you were not one of the slick males who would try to bamboozle me.

43. Miller…….tell them, the person sitting to the right in the picture is either a female or a shim.

44. Miller………..sorry, i think the her or the shim was sitting to the left.

45. @ Baffy and Miller
    LOL ….don’t get worked up, it is affecting wunna comprehension.
    Bushie never said that all homosexuals played with crap…or that it was ok for heterosexuals to do so….

READ THIS SLOWLY

ANYONE who is moved to dabble in excreta (whatever you want to call them) is WARPED and ABNORMAL. A NY O N E !!

And Anyone who seeks to convince Bushie that such a practice is acceptable is a Brass Bowl. OK?

Now if homosexuals do not engage in this practice WHY THE CONCERNS WITH BARBADOS’S SODOMY LAWS?

There are no laws bout here against homosexuals…ONLY AGAINST PLAYING WITH SHIT,

….and Miller, quite frankly, your reference to blacks and lesbians in response to Bushie’s shit talk is downright asinine….

46. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

The opposite and equal reaction to encouraging bulling and bullers, is that the success of the human race is diminished by the sum equal to the increase in homos in the world.

47. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Bulling is pointless. It takes the human race nowhere except to extinction.

I heard and old lady say many year ago ” you can always tell bullers by the mouth, watch their mouth and you will always spot the buller. A mans mouth is not made or shaped to suck piggy”

48. Dummy…………..let’s talk about the real threat to the human race, i want your honest opinion on what you think about the below link………….

http://dailycurrant.com/2013/05/28/gina-rinehart-calls-for-sterilization-of-the-poor/

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | May 29, 2013 at 9:47 AM
    Miller you neva hear ’bout a man named Olaudah Equiano …?

Of course I know of Gustavas Vassa and his most interesting life from his birth circa 1745 in modern day Nigeria to his death in London 1797.
    A real black intellectual and globetrotter gifted with a brilliant brain and natural gift of the pen that Europeans found most beautifully appealing in addition to his god-like looks and magnetic personality and hung like a stallion.

But would such a mention mean anything to the intellectually dead that haunt this blog calling for the killing of those who happened to be born different from them?

50. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Miller
    No one here is calling for the killing of queers on this blog. The issue is that there is no need to repeal the buggery laws in Barbdos. If queers argue that what they do in there bedroom is private, the buggery laws outlawing bulling should only bother them if they are in the habit of bringing members of the public into their bedroom to watch the bull, thereby have witnesses to a crime.