Canadian Court orders woman to removed Niqab
Canadian Court orders woman to remove Niqab

This week in the news we learned that a Canadian woman will have to remove her Niqab in order to testify against her attackers. This is a case which has occupied the attention of the Courts for five years โ€“ read Niqab ban in sexual assault trial causes controversy. Also in the news this week, and closer to home, we heard from Jamaican Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade AJ Nicholson uttering his concern that Jamaica is not satisfied with how free movement of nationals across the Caribbean Community (Caricom) is being facilitated – read Nicholson to address Jamaican travel across CARICOM.

BU took interest in the comments of Nicholson because he pointed to the Shanique Myrie case which is pending before the Caribbean Court of Appeal. By doing so he made his intention obvious that Barbados was in his โ€˜gun sightโ€™.

In strictly legal terms the two cases are unrelated BUT for BU the cases resonate because in the Canadian judgement there is a sense that the laws of Canada are in consonance with the expectation of mainstream society. In the case of the Myrie matter one gets the feeling that Barbados is being bombarded by some obligation under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas even at the risk of compromising its rights as a sovereign country. Are we a sovereign country or not? Why doesnโ€™t Jamaica take a similar case to the World Court to challenge the decision to refuse their citizens entry into the USA, UK and several other developed countries which occur with frequency on a daily basis. If they were to pursue this avenue one may believe that their motive in the Myrie case is sincere.

โ€œMs. Myrie alleges that she was discriminated against because of her nationality in violation of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas (RTC) and the 2007 Decision of the Conference of CARICOM Heads of Government. These Agreements, she claims, provide CARICOM nationals with a right of entry to all CARICOM countries.ย  She also claims that her detention overnight in Barbados was unlawful and that her treatment violated the UN Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the Charter of Civil Society, and other international accords and agreementsโ€ โ€“ More details on CCJ website.

BU is reminded by a comment made by Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart in his former role as Attorney General. At that time when Barbados was gripped in the Guyanese invasion debate, he stated to the effect, that Barbados will not allow itself to become the warehouse of unskilled labour. BU is always tempted to replace warehouse with whorehouse. A visit to Nelson Street, Fontabelle, Clubs and private parties there is the possibility to be treated to the performances of imported girls from neighbouring islands especially from JAMAICA.ย  Are we saying that our border authority should have their hands tied by the RTC where we must allow unrestricted access to our country by girls with $300.00 in their bosoms who want to stay for 3 weeks?

BU issues the disclaimer that all immigrant from Caribbean islands do not subtract form wholesome productivity. We however have to be intelligent enough to separate the issues by quelling our urge to become emotional.

For many years Jamaica looked North to fulfil the economic aspirations of its people. It seems to BU because this channel has been choked off because of the tightening of immigration laws and the global economic downturn, our tiny islands are being bullied to welcome this influx of immigrants whose majority objective is to add to the burden of our moral, security and economic fabric.

It is premature to take this matter any further until we receive the CCJ decision promised in 2-3 months. Given Barbados penchant for taking it in the gut from the other Caribbean islands post the Tome Adams era, one wonders what Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart will do if the CCJ rules in favour of Myrie.

153 responses to “Does Barbados Aspire to Become the Warehouse and Whorehouse of Unskilled Labour in the Caribbean?”

1. Barbados—-NO DUMPING of HUMAN WASTE!!!

Bim has undoubtedly benefited emigration to the north and in the vast majority of cases those countries have benefited from those Bajans working hard. Here in Toronto, Bajans are performing well and I can say that those I conduct business with ie Car Dealership Sales Mgr, Accountant, Furnace guy, UPS Courier et al are very good or else I would go elsewhere.

Jamaicans have produced some good representatives BUT far too many “BAD Actors” in terms of thieves, drug sellers, murderers, pimps etc.
    Commonsense demands that Bim retains its right to protect the Nation from any infestation from any source country.

2. Nobody….I say nobody can make we open up wide ….so that every nook and cranny can come bout hay and sell their en pervious wares…..only this week we have held and charge two harlots for bringing in foreign ‘meats” to sell now that the reggae entourage is here……another was also held for ganja…..don’t stop…..Dodds accommadating…but not for long

3. Old Onions………………..i was recently told about a load of brazilian prostitutes who were offloaded in Bim in the dead of night some years ago (when I say load, a huge load), first you have to catch the heads of the human trafficking in Bim, not just two or three hoodrats from nelson street and eagle hall…….there is a lot more going on here and a lot more people involved.

4. Moneybrain……………just how would we get the bajans who perform so well in North America and Europe………to help the population in Bim do the same??…………don’t mind they don’t like bajans who have been abroad to tell them anything……………they always want us to be gone.

5. David wrote “A visit to Nelson Street, Fontabelle, Clubs and private parties there is the possibility to be treated to the performances of imported girls from neighbouring islands especially from JAMAICA.”

David did you do the research yourself or are you relying on other unimpeachable sources? lol

6. Life is the greatest teacher of all.

When you were at school, primary or secondary, you would recall that you only picked a fight with the people that you knew, or felt, that you could beat.

This Jamaica/Barbados tussle and the latter’s predisposition NOT TO RUMBLE WITH THE MIGHT USofA for similar infractions on its citizenry in Amurica is to be seen in the same light.

The Might United States of America does the same thing too, fight with Iraq, Afghanistan and Somalia, and now even pointing dey doggie at North Korea BUT they avoid Russia and China (Tianamen Square) and have paused with NK BECAUSE they fear, the repurcussions of fighting with a fellow who can PHUCH them up seriously.

The Law of the Medes and the Persians

7. I forgot………..that load of Brazilian prostitutes were imported for tourist consumption only……….see, there is a part for sex tourism. No hoodrats could have organized that, I wonder whom the police think they are fooling, the public or themselves.

8. Moneybrain wrote “Jamaicans have produced some good representatives”

To be clear, there are a very large number of Jamaican Canadian that have excelled in Toronto.

The Jamaican criminal element is a problem and detracts from the good Jamaicans.

Jamaicans in Canada outnumber Bajans 10 to 1.

9. @WW
    The first step is appreciating that the mere fact that someone decides to leave the idyllic shores of Bim to venture North indicates they are likely serious about improving their lot in life. They believe they will be rewarded for hard work, which of course is generally true. Opportunity abounds in many spheres/ aspects.

While there are really excellent, hardworkers that remain in Bim the truth is that we Bajans are a very proud, insular bunch regardless of class, colour or creed. Even family are suspicious of those who have left and when they return are envious of any apparent success and disparaging at any hint of failure. Some think has this person passed me out financially? Educationally? Experientially?

Serious psychological processes come into effect.
    Some black peeps will think or say “who dis lil black boy/ girl think he/she
    coming back here telling we how to do dis?”
    The situation calls for tons of patience, understanding and loads of communication with underlings and all others in the organisation, some of whom are very insecure with your arrival. It will never be easy that is for sure!

10. I know Moneybrain…………i tried it and just gave up…….i cannot live that long to put a dent in the twisted psyche i saw displayed……….a hopeless cause………………..they are totally incapable of seeing the big picture, unless they themselves are forced to leave the island.

11. @moneybrain
    thanks for validating I’m not the cause of the many times I was set upon by my fellow Barbadians, this is having returned home after some time abroad.

12. Some Jamaicans just don’t know how to behave………products of their environment……………many are very hardworking and have done extremely well as business people in North America……………it’s that criminal element that makes life difficult for other Jamaicans.

13. Whitehill………….as long as you are aware you can lose your life around that type of mentality…………….i thought i could swing it and wing it but after some time it was very clear that the only change in that type of mental makeup is if something drastic happened to them on the island which could go either way, make them better or make them worse…………we are now witnessing a change about to happen.

14. In Support of David [BU]

There are about eleven places of disrepute operating in Nelson Street practicing the same nefarious trafficking as the two “whore masters/mistresses”. (remember i used to be a *** years ago)

Zanzibar, the fellow below Zanzibar, Bridgette’s up de street, the one above Brigette’s, Wisdom Bar, two out on Bay Street.

There are no less than 20 bourgeois clubs operating in the heights and at cultivated residences, one at a plantation, all over the place.

So since we are not talking about the big wig “purveyors of flesh” and we are only dealing with the low lives in the City (and judging from the comments here, these people are the scum of the earth, worse than centipedes) tell me oh keepers-of-the-faith and sinless ones, why were the other ones, in Nelson Street, not raided in this dragnet?

Is it because the bourgeoisie $1000/phuck “ladies of the night” are not similarly deployed on their backs, equally constrained in their movements, having certain clearance privileges accorded them coming through our ports, is it because they are sophisticated whores and they their owners drink Cognac and Champagne instead of Platinum and Red Bull, that this dragnet was so focused and specific?

Commishoner, close them all down, they are all involved in the same thing – whoremongering

“For this ye know, that no whoremonger, nor unclean person, nor covetous man, who is an idolater, hath any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and of God”.

But that would possibly upset the apple cart for your boys in red and black who pick up the young tings at Bush Hill and render their own version of “to Protect and SERVE” emphasis on SERVE

15. Well Well, how long did you stay before they drove you nuts?

16. As I recall Myrie’s case was brought to the CCJ by the very same AJ NIcholson when his party did not form the government.When the PNP was returned to government he became a minister.When the CCJ held its powwow in Jamaica,the local Nation carried a photo of Nicholson and Byron chatting and smiling like cheshire cats and I concluded there and then that something is amiss.I have no time for this Jamaica sub culture and all these dirty looking people I see on DLP TV like they are God’s gift to entertainment.I find nothing uplifting with the decadence and rot Jamaica has become under Bustamante,Shearer,Seaga,Sangster,Golding,Patterson and Michael Manley.The place is a lovely place and there are many nice and intelligent folk I have had the pleasure to meet when my work took me there.But they have been taken over by pot smoking,low life criminal entertainers and the same riff raff are now here peddling their drugs and nastiness.I saw 2 on TV last night.Ugh!

17. @Whitehill

The problem for a returning National is that the same way you made the adjustment to function in say the USA or Canada you have to make an adjustment to fit back in to Barbados.

It is all about “fitting in” and compromise.Life is short.

I am already over 60 and if I return to Barbados I will fit in nicely because I will not be working and and my biggest worry will be where I am going to go fishing.

18. Whitehill………..after 4 years i realized it was time to save my sanity and my life and let the bajans carry on smartly………….i prefer watch them self-destruct from a very great distance………….if i feel the island is drifting too close to where I am, I will move to Japan…………..that is the kind of experience i had in Bim.

19. By the sounds of it you have ladies that sleep with men for money in Barbados. In Canada it is different we do not pay them for sex ..we pay them so they will not stay the night.

20. “Is it because the bourgeoisie $1000/phuck โ€œladies of the nightโ€ are not similarly deployed on their backs, equally constrained in their movements, having certain clearance privileges accorded them coming through our ports, is it because they are sophisticated whores and they their owners drink Cognac and Champagne instead of Platinum and Red Bull, that this dragnet was so focused and specific?”

Piece…………..Don’t forget the grey goose or the fact that they are also well protected.

21. Wow Lawson……………that’s a new twist on things.

22. @Hants
    It takes at least 10 Jammies to equal one Bajan!

It is certainly a serious problem for Jamaicans that are hard working and developmentally minded to have to be negatively effected by the “wildass” Jammies messing up society and giving all a bad name.

23. Mr. Hants, the same way I adjusted to a life with people marching, picketing,demanding changes, do you really think I can do the same with people whose mantra is ” I know but wha yuh gwine do?’
    Maybe, when I came over to Canada with the Somerset cricket team, had I known the Canadian Bajans had the answer…would’ve spent more time there.

24. Barbados has been cited in the UN Trafficking Report through the years but to Commissioner Dottin’s credit he fired up a human trafficking task force late last year which seems to be now hitting its straps.

25. David……………..he will get even more credit if he opted to lock up the heads involved in the human trafficking ring and not just a few bottom feeding nuisances.

26. @Well Well
    YES YES YES!!!
    100% agree.
    Stay out of the “contamination” zone.
    I wish we all can.
    Leave Phucking Phrundel,alseep pretending all is well.
    Let he wake up with Aids ,Syphilis and POXED up yardfowls round he till he dead.

27. We tend to lok at the activities in Nelson St and Bush hill, but I heard of monthly parties at some places with GATED Communities or executive houses with electronic gates, where high level shows are kept. On one occasion, around christmas last year, a private jet brought in some international strippers for a private birthday party. It is obvious when we encourage and assist Brazilians to come here, we are also bringing their underground cultural trade.Well done Mr Tourism Minister.

28. Dr. Love, I have some really good friends in Bim…….good people………..I am really sorry they have to experience that mess that was totally avoidable……………..my heart bleeds.

29. These Brazilian women might be lovely on the outside, but riddled with AIDS, theirs is one of the higher incidences of AIDS in the world, nice going ministers……………police are not allowed in the gated communities……….can’t solve crime if you can’t get in…………

30. Whitehill wrote,
    “had I known the Canadian Bajans had the answerโ€ฆwouldโ€™ve spent more time there.”

No need to listen to us BajanCanadians.
    Take a Dale Carnegie course.That might help.

and Whitehill wrote “the same way I adjusted to a life with people marching, picketing,demanding changes, do you really think I can do the same with people whose mantra is โ€ I know but wha yuh gwine do?โ€™

You have chosen to live in Barbados.
    People in Barbados do not march unless it is behind a behind behind a band at cropover. (BAFBFP) is an expert on the cropover behinds.

I empathise with your frustration.

31. The Mike Nurse cartoon in the Nation is funny. “She practicing to be a Lawyer.”

32. Many years ago when a naval ship from England or the US came a -calling, the sailors used to make a bee line for Nelson Street,and all of those seedy nightclubs in Fairchild Street and Lower Bay Street. The girls in these establishments were easily and readily identified as what they were. Today ,its a different ball game, Nelson Street is a hotel room, a guest house, an apartment , a catamaran,a plantation house,……..remember the prominent guy who was accused by two Ukranian call girls? The girls no longer dress up flashy and tacky like the traditional night club ladies, and may very well be holding down a respectable 9-5 job,and the patrons are not your average $40 /$50/ punter who as soon as he gets his leg over comes out and tell the whole world whats going on.

33. Whitehill…………………….you can also choose to return from whence you were before going to Barbados, I know of many nationals who had to return to England, US, Canada………..just because they could not handle the problems associated with resettling into their own country, the biggest problem was being robbed blind………………they just left their house, packed their things and shipped out…………………it’s a nightmare for some people.

34. Even if the police are able to stop some of the culprits there will always be someone else to fill that void…. or get that void filled. You should be looking at ways to tax the women…… Maybe a consumption tax, or a vat on dat tax.Why let this happen and the govt not get its end……. or maybe they are getting an end and that is the problem

35. Lawson……………..now you are getting closer to the truth……….

36. @lawson

Barbados is a small place do you think the authorities do not know who are the deep pockets bringing these women to Barbados?

When the police catch a few of these girls have they not shown that they are adept at extracting confessions from others? What is the problem? It is a similar matter to be compared to how the minibus/ZR culture has grown. People pay for protection Elliot Ness style.

37. What is happening to these mainly Guyanese girls, is very similar to wh at was experienced by many a Bajan woman in Cuba many years ago ,when Cuba was on friendly terms with the USA,and anyone entering the States from Cuba regardless of nationality, required no visa or other immigration papers. Many young Bajan women were sent to Cuba by their parents, in the hope that they would make it over to the states in a matter of days after arrival. Unfortunately, some often experienced lengthy delays, which burned up the little funds that they left Barbados with , and this is when the waiting body sharks moved in and coerced them into the oldest profession.
    One of the most notorious of them all was Harry, the boxer,and years later the well known proprietor of Harry’s Nitery.
    You won’t hear the historians of Cuba-Bajan friendship society mentioning this.

38. When single people have known over the years would say they were going on a trip to Thailand or Haiti etc I would always look at them in a different light. Certain countries conjure up visions of the sex trade for me and the poor people that have to resort to it by need or force.I can only hope as Barbados tries to dig itself out of the economical turmoil it is in, the people can hold on to their values and respect

39. @Colonel B
    Yes this is the nastier side of being poor, and today that is exactly what happens to young girls in Thailand, Phillipines et al. The parents are told that she will get a job in a factory in the big city but it is a Gin Factory! She will be co-erced into the life and then will be unable and too ashamed to get out of town.

I thought Harry was making “nitwear”, no???LOL

40. @Lawson et al
    Politicians globally are Corrupt as hell and refuse to honestly, professionally lead the populace to success in the correct direction. They make promises they have absolutely no intention of keeping BUT take loads of money from criminals in the drug trade, Prostitution business, banking/ finance et al.

Pols dont give a RODENTS RECTUM for the Nation they “lead.” Lie to the peeps, give lazy ones money and thief TAXES from the hard workers. I know a hard working Bajan in Toronto who just decided to stop killing himself since the Taxes were biting too much, so he is now semi retired and works Security guard work especially at odd hours for higher pay. This chap is fit as a fiddle in his early 50s, what a waste of ability by Govt BS!

I also dont kill myself anymore as paying $100,000+++ in Taxes is not worth the time away from family!

41. They get you with the taxes every time…………

42. Lawson……………….too late…..that went out the window years ago, new gadgets, weaves and cell phones now running the show, most now sell not only their bodies, front back and every hole that’s visible, but also their very souls…………….way too late.

43. moneybrain if your paying 100,000+++ in taxes time to get a new accountant, Warren Buffet pays less taxes than the girls in his office.I dont mind paying taxes in canada our roads are good our healthcare top notch.My 93 year old mum has people come in everyday to feed and look after her,she has the best of care and medicines paid by the province.My streets are in good repair and reasonably safe,well policed, well kept green space abounds, garbage is a priority sure the weather sucks at times but our taxes pay to plow the snow all in all our taxes seem to be used for the benefit of the people,with some notable exceptions.

44. @Lawson
    I agree with some of what you contend BUT there is far too much waste in the entire system.
    The roads are quite horrible in TO! Only Suspension and repair shops love them!
    The transportation ie TTC is 30+ years behind where it should be. Just came back from Singapore, where in a small Island not much bigger than Bim they have 40% more Subway/ LRT Stops/ Stations than Toronto. The network there is like a spiders web compared with our distorted system. Worse yet the IDIOTS in control here want to place Street Cars down the middle of busy roads like Eglington and Sheppard in stead of a Subway. Boston a much smaller city has a spiders web Subway too. SHAME on TO!!!

The Govts pay too many people too much money for what little they do.
    Ontario Liberals have overseen too much CORRUPTION!!! Did U know they stopped the Oakville Hydro plants at great cost and the majority of the cost was $150MN for Financing!!! YEs a loan contracted in the USA at 14%/yr when any fool could borrow at 4% in TO!!!! Loan had major cancellation fees!! Was Orange Helicopters OK? E Health was a disater that cost a not so COOOOLL $1BILLION.

Give me an army of properly incentivised Accountants and MBAs and I will deliver better service and SAVE 30% of what these fools spend!

45. moneybrain, the notable exceptions, I like singapore especially when they caned that graffitti painter ray as all the bleeding hearts said not to .. good on them.I agree there is a lot of waste..When the ndp were in power they were throwing money at social services with no oversite. People collecting checks under different names, working for cash and collecting welfare not a bad gig.Liberals arent much better. Mike harris said he was going to make it painful on us and he did I respect honest talk When we came to canada you got off the boat working there was no safety net you didnt work you didnt eat.Not today it seems everyone comes palm up.Paying to bring back (citizens???) who choose to live in a war zone and only come home when they are sick or old baffles me.But we live a lifestyle better than 99% of all the people whoever lived on this planet.Can afford to go to restaurants, holidays, new cars Brazilian hookers if you choose its not all doom and gloom. Try ottawa toronto is getting to big

46. @lawson | April 27, 2013 at 4:58 PM…”.My 93 year old mum has people come in everyday to feed and look after her,she has the best of care and medicines paid by the province.”

So has your 93 year old mother ever paid any taxes in Canada?

Or is she a foreign leech on the system?

47. @moneybrain “Give me an army of properly incentivised Accountants and MBAs and I will deliver better service and SAVE 30% of what these fools spend!”

So if you are so good why you don’t throw your hat in the TO political ling?

Or are you just bare talk?

48. @lawson “Paying to bring back (citizens???) who choose to live in a war zone and only come home when they are sick or old baffles me”

So didn’t your own mother show up t live offa the system when she was old and sick?

People don’t choose to live in war zones. People live in one of the two or more countries of which they are citizens.

Haven’t those citizens paid taxes during the years they lived in Canada?

So if war were to break out in Barbados you would expect that those Canadians who live here, and who paid taxes there for decades to stay and be killed?

Stupseee!!!!!!!!!!

And if you know anything you know very well that when the Canadian government evacuates citizens form war zones, the individual citizens are billed for the evacuation.

49. Moneybrain | April 27, 2013 at 4:26 PM |
    @Colonel B
    I thought Harry was making โ€œnitwearโ€, no???LOL
    ———————————–
    He also had a bottling plant.

50. Page 17 of the Advocate.

Digital jam 2.0

4000 jobs created for young Jamaicans.