Owen Arthur, Leader of the opposition (l) Fruendel Stuart, Prime Minister (r)

There was a noticeable shift in debating strategy on the government side in the Budget debate just completed. Minister Chris Sinckler known for the old fashion debating style in the mould of the late Harold Blackman and Lammie Craig appeared at times to be straining at the leash to go after Arthur which he resisted. Surprisingly it was Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart who departed from his usual studied delivery to attack leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur on the CLICO matter and the buried and forgotten FBI Report.

The aggression which Stuart unveiled during the debate surprised many. Barbados Labour Party (BLP) supporters believe Stuart has finally shown his true colours. What man of integrity what! Democratic Labour Party (DLP) supporters are breathing a sigh of relief that their man has shown some passion at last.

Of interest to BU is the fact Prime Minister Stuart selected CLICO and the FBI as the issues to launch his salvo on the other side. Given the protracted nature of a CLICO settlement and the likelihood many CLICO policyholders will be dissatisfied at the outcome – why select the CLICO issue? Not to forget there is the Leroy Parris dimension. Messy! A reasonable conclusion is that the government will attempt to attribute some of the blame for the CLICO Mess to Arthur and the BLP. Good luck if that is the strategy.

More surprising has been the return by the government to the forgotten FBI Report. If this were a Matlock Show the judge would be forced to ask where is this lead of argument intended to unearth. Is this a case of the government framing an argument to say to the public Arthur lied about the report? Is it a case of the government finding the report? It certainly makes no sense for Prime Minister Stuart to reference the FBI Report without having in mind an objective. What is it?

There have been several references on BU about The Pegasus Tape which places Arthur in a negative light. The emerging strategy of the DLP appears to be one of discrediting Arthur. This strategy should not surprise anyone because the Opposition is currently winning on the issues of leadership and the economy. The two issues were identified by the CADRES Poll as the battleground issues.

1. Did this chihuahua now turned pit bull actually read this so called report? You know he has admitted to not receiving and reading reports in the past.

2. The Dems are desperate and are clutching at straws. Pray tell me, does anyone in Barbados with the exception of the DLP yardfowls care anything about a FBI report, hashed out a decade ago. This is pure desperation. What people may be interested in, in 2012 is the reports we hear surfacing of two DLP cabinet Ministers under the FBI radar. More particularly, one who was stopped with a suitcase full of money.

Their internal polls must be telling them something that has caused Freundel Stuart to show his true colours. So much for the gentleman! He came over on Thursday night as agitated, unprepared and angry.

The people’s minds are made up like in 2008. They realised soon after that they were duped and the Dems cannot fool Barbadians again with any lies. People are concerned that those out of work cannot find jobs, that their children are leaving school and UWI and cannot find jobs, that their take home pay has been reduced because of the taxes on their allowances, that the cost of living is making them snort, that they have not had an increase in pay for years and that their standard of living has been reduced.

Freundel, the do not want to hear you bringing back the dead king’s trash from 2008. The want jobs and an ease in the cost of living and they see the BLP as the better choice. Get out of the gutter, man!

3. It will be interesting to see where this FBI Report leads. If it turns up nothing new then,,,

4. @ David

Lawyers don’t usually ask questions for which they don’t already know the answers to. It appears FS has gone for his buried weapons of war and has started oiled them up for the impending battle.

FS has the measure of OSA otherwise the former PM would not have allowed FS to drag him back into this issue and then get him to take up the mantle and ask for the FBI Report to be produced. It will be produced I am reliably informed and some of the BLP MP’s (former and present) will be damaged goods.

This FBI Report and the Pegasus audio tape and the other cheques NOT featured at Haggatt Hall 2008 will make for a very uncomfortable next 6 to 9 months for Arthur and the BLP.

5. Barbados does not need Owen Arthur – plain and simple. Let him go back to West Terrace to the garden that he only touched when he arranged the CBC interview and media photo session while he was in office.

6. old onion bags Avatar

Surprisingly it was Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart who departed from his usual studied delivery to attack leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur
    This strategy was as transparent as an empty Juc bottle…D budget was not saying anything….Geese had failed to deliver with his usual theatrics… THEN….Mia exposed the FROTH of “a political no ball” for what it was……why all was left for Stuart to try his hand at something……which turned out to be yet another nothing….This said it all… The DLP has signed its fate with this last delivery….. all that’s left now is the bell signaling the end of their innings and the match..Bye DLP.!!!

7. @ David
    Maybe this FBI report is irrelevant. Perhaps it is dated.
    …but are you not concerned that we could have a situation where a PM goes public to announce this matter and to promise full public disclosure and appropriate action….only to have second thoughts and have the matter disappear completely…?
    It could not have been a simple procedural matter – given the manner it which the OSA himself raised it and committed to action.

Even if only based on the fact that THIS SAME former PM is again offering himself for the post, it seems reasonable to a simple bushman that the matter can become fair game…

Bushie knows nothing about the details, but certainly an explanation is owed to the people of Barbados for the way in which the matter was (not) dealt with…and if FS can provide such, are you saying that as a politician he should not…?

8. @Bush Tea

Not at all!

Just saying if he intends to make this an issue it MUST have a conclusion. Many stand to be touched by this alleged mess.

What is evident is that the usually taciturn Stuart intends go go down with guns blazing and with Estwick and Sinckler his deputies there is bound to be a lot of bloodshed.

9. @ Bush Tea

FS is going to unhinge OSA with this an other nastiness. FS will unleash this pack of wild young turks on him and it’s not going to be a pretty sight.

Mia, the consumate politician, will give all of the evidence to the DLP to put OSA into retirement fully and finally, once and for all.

10. NO body needs an FBI report to know that OSA is a demagoue and a bold faced LIAR of the highest ranking. it is official OSA is a LIAR! CASE CLOSED! anyhow i can’t wait to hear more. i think the elections might be called on the day of the election. so much BLP dirty laundry to air so little time to do it. . Boy CLICO DAY has finally arrived.

11. @ flinstone

YABADABADOOOO! you got it!

12. It is amazing that there are no links to be found online about this matter from 10 years ago.

Can anyone out there assist so that we can brush up on the matter.

13. Flinstones, ac,

Does Fruendel also have the FBI/CIA reports on two of his cabinet ministers also to bring to the public when he is bringing the report and the tapes on the BLP? Has he read the JM report yet? Is he going to ask Mara to give back the millions her husband embezzelled from the policyholders of CLICO? Is going after Leroy Parris, a prominent member of the DLP and his friend for the policyholders’ money?

Is this how you sorry people intend to win an election? Defend your record! That is what you will be judged on. The Dems are desperate!

14. Who was Clico’s attorney when the BLP was the government? Is the DLP now disassociating itself from the late P.M/ Is F.S trying to show what he was alleged to have said about the late P.M at a DLP conference;was the late P.M really a poison to the DLP?

15. It is in the interests of all Bajans for this matter to be ventilated in a public forum once and for all. This issue arose in the aftermath of 9/11 where the US started to look at non resident accounts with excess funds in the names of individuals far and above what they would normally have received from remuneration or other work related activities.

I like many other Bajans have heard rumours of the “names” of public servants who are reputed to be on a list which was provided to the then PM. If some of these people have had their good name tarnished by gossip and innuendo it is only fair that they should have the opportunity to clear the air so that the guilty can’t hide behind the skirts of the innocent.

16. equal rights and justice Avatar
    equal rights and justice

well well i thought de DLP had done so much for de ppl in Bim in de last 4yrs and that was what they were going to campaign on cause they said they did more in 4yrs than de bees in 14 then to run ah campaign on shite we hear in 2008,and as ah country how that gine mek we look sounds like somebody insecure

17. @ Scout

was it you who coined the phrase ‘Time is longer than twine” all your questions would be answered in short “TIME’ Clico day has finally arrived!OSA can run but he can’t hide he has left his finger prints all over the place. he is indeed an imbicle of the highest order he just thought that the DLP would sit idlly down and not meet him face to face on the CLICO matter. BOYeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

18. equal rights and justice Avatar
    equal rights and justice

something bout Owen that does got de Dems rattled Hummmmm??

19. @ PRODIGAL

THe DLP already defended their record with a truthful accounting of the public purse on BUDGET NIGHT! oops! my bad i forget you were asleep ! Sorry you missed it. !

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ FLINTSTONES:

As prodigal Son pointed out, the Bajan electorate are interested in bread and butter issues and not political campaigning entertainment. They have had their share of the 2008 Haggat Hall ‘Reveal All’ comedy show.

The only way the Bajan electorate would be turned on to any mention of a FBI report is if the Police should charge those mentioned in the report and alleged to have broken the laws of Barbados designed to maintain decency and integrity in public office.

Act to prosecute the wrong does or shut up!
    It would do you lot a great deal if you were to listen to the message contained in Madd’s current calypso regarding the total disillusionment of Barbadians with politicians on both side of the divide.

21. something bout Owen that does got de Dems rattled Hummmmm??

@ equal rights no something about OSA is being rattled! LOL!

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | June 30, 2012 at 10:59 PM |
    “If some of these people have had their good name tarnished by gossip and innuendo it is only fair that they should have the opportunity to clear the air so that the guilty can’t hide behind the skirts of the innocent.”

That is the province of the Police, the DPP and the Law Courts of Barbados. Not the politicians!
    Are we a wannabe sophisticated state that adheres to the rule of law as established by Parliament or are just another banana republic run by a bunch of black hoodlums and crooks?

23. old onion bags Avatar

DEMS bowling bare political NO BALLS…one after the other and got poor ac in a quamdrom…….DESPERATE DESPERATE DESPERATE…..
    Look ac….you are looking empty…..

24. @Scout

David Thompson is dead and cant defenr himself. So let us deal with the living. Do You understand that or mental reasoning limits you from so doing.

@Prodical, island Gal, miller the nuke et al

There was/is never a public statement that there is/are reports on any DLP officials. The fact that OSA stated publicly that he had a report on his desk is enought and he ought to produce the report. To get up in our parliament and deny he said that is tantamount to beind disingenoious. He is either losing it or he does not know when he is telling a lie because he has accustome to being a liar that he doent realize that he is a liar.

He denied that he was involved in the issuance of the Vesco contract. he stated that he was not around when the contract was signed. He wanted to push it off on Mia. Freundel produced the evidence and made it a document of the house.

Did u all remember the old gentleman who wanted to get permission to subdivide land and it was refused. Who bought the land and who had an interest in the said land, shorey et al and Owen with the stroke of a pen give permission. Why? Because he stood to benefit.

What about him being warned about the Clico matter and what did he do? Nothing. the DLP then inherited the problem. Do you think that the problem reached crisis level in just a short time under the DLP?Caertainly not. When your thinking is short sighted, it cant be long sighted.

25. @Miller

Bajans dont want corrupt, lied, thiefing politicians either,

26. Would Farley like to know what is in the report. and what about the gentleman who is allegde to have 6million dollars on usa bank account that is frozen, among other things.

27. Miller etc.

That is the province of the Police, the DPP and the Law Courts of Barbados. Not the politicians!

That may be so but if a report exists and was never handed over to any prosecutors what then? In any event do the existing laws have any teeth? The releasing of this “report” could make the case for Integrity legislation a lot clearer than the gales of hot air blowing on this or the other media.

Finally I think that you have been around the block a few times don’t you think that the DLP will use any weapon in their arsenal to discredit the BLP?

Its called politics.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The BLP is not off the hook.

Just remember that the FBI has the ORIGINAL copy of the report.

Just remember that a HIGH FLYING former Minister of the Corrupt Barbados Labour Party was refused a US work Permit?

The same one who said that “he done wid politics” now he has slinked back to Barbados and wants to take on the most Illustrious Bajan in Parliament.

Stay tuned folks!!!!!!!

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The evil men do lives on after them!!!!!

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@To the point | June 30, 2012 at 11:23 PM |
    “Bajans dont want corrupt, lied, thiefing politicians either,”

Agree!
    Then there will be a lot of empty (vacant) benches on both sides, especially where the housing and environment seats are located.

31. David, of note is that a Prime Minister is fuelled each and every day with information, they are the largest stockpile of damaging information from a vast array of sources and leads, what information makes its way to a Prime Minister is shocking, also bear in mind that as Prime Minister he has access to all files unless as was done by Liz Thompson she had trucks emptying the filing cabinets of her Ministry, the Prime Minister is well armed with his information and trust me when I say to you that in an effort to relieve some of Arthur’s friends of their own share of wrong doing they have volunteered information in the hope that they are not treated harshly as the supreme crook Arthur, you also need to be reminded that Mottley worked alongside and for Arthur and is well armed with much information on his misdeeds, link that with her promise to deliver onto the DLP four seats of those that cut her throat and left her gasping for air and bleeding to a political death, she is doing exactly as she has said that she will do, the say He’ll hath no fury like a woman ( or in this case one of uncertain gender ) scorned !

This is but part of what is to come on Arthur and there will be more in store for him, he only took a small brush up from the Prime Minister on Thursday evening, his saviour on Thursday was only the lateness of the evening which I am sure he was thankful for but trust me his files will be made public before too long, his legacy is confirmed as the most corrupt Prime Minister to ever have led this country and by extension the most corrupt Government to have ever led this Country.

Let me also state that Mottley was not an innocent bystander in all of this as she is implicated and tied in very well as well.

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Just remember that a HIGH FLYING former Minister of the Corrupt Barbados Labour Party entered Parliament with the debt collectors hounding him and he emerge fourteen years later a MILLIONAIRE on a Minister’s salary?

Lest we forget!!!

33. @ Miller

Bajans want the issues ventilated in the lead up to elections, especially the economy. Rest assusred the DLP will account for themselves their actions or inactions on the issue of the economy, of that I am assured.

But Haggatt Hall 2008 was a turning point in Barbadian politics, it was the beginning of crossing the line against OSA and driving him into retirement given that the people of Barbados could NOT afford him any longer.

It is clear he did not accept either message of the people or the shot from the DLP demonstrating that he has corrupted the office of Prime Minister. So now it seems obvious to me that FS and his attack dogs, Estwick and Sinckler are going to do the unthinkable.

“The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting.” – Sun Tzu

The day FS announces the elections will be the day he comes to know the victory is already assured. That however make for a very brutal and cruel lead in period, especially for the Opposition.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

To all you BLP jokers who like to count your chickens before they are hatched, do you notice that Clyde Mascol is not a Member of Parliament?

Do you think that was an accident?

We have allies in the most unusual places.

He who laughs last laughs the best!

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Sargeant | June 30, 2012 at 11:30 PM |
    “Its called politics.”

Then see it as that!
    Not some grand altruistic concern on the part of the DLP to see wrong doing punished and that the people’s expectancy of an acceptable level of decency and integrity in the execution of the public affairs is of immediate concern to them.
    We all know that no politician or senior civil servant will ever be prosecuted for wrong doing. Just look at the CLICO report and assess the present administration’s approach to its ramifications!
    What about the St. Joseph Hospital report? Why not call on the current administration to come clean and publish all reports so that we the public would not have to speculate and falsely accuse innocent parties.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I am so glad that you all enjoyed the Budget debate!

37. @Miller

you really got the gall, to return to this blog after your long absence thinking that OWen is not as corrupt as the word corrupt, in fact i think he is more lied than the said word, and more corrupt than the word corrupt, in fact i woul bestow a doctorate of corruption and liedness on him with distinction.

38. @Miller

Your owen commisioned the st joseph hospital inquiry to discredit brandford and did not find a smking gun and never released the information and kept the public guessing. So u r really losing this argument.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ FLINTSTONES | June 30, 2012 at 11:45 PM |
    “The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting.” – Sun Tzu”

Well and widely read! At least you are not confined to the good ole Bajan Bible scriptures to buttress your arguments and analyses. There is great wisdom and philosophical discourse lying dormant in the East just there waiting for our awakening.

But just out of sheer intellectual interest, do you think Freundel has a similar plan to wrought revenge on the Eager Eleven currently warming the seats in his own camp?
    After all, he has displayed a streak of sheer political brilliance that even Machiavelli would grudgingly approve of. By appointing a trusted mentor to guard the loopholes at Pilgrim House he has effectively put paid to any schemes to replace him as leader going into any general elections this side of the electoral timetable. If he wins the government next time around he will have his own mandate and he would then “execute by firing squad from his cabinet the known internal enemies after destroying his external ones. Now then would his promise of heads rolling be fulfilled- better late than never but typical of the molasses man.
    Just a scenario! Don’t expect it to materialize! (LOL!!!)

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“The Al Barrack monster mess we know originated during the days of Owen Arthur. Like it or not Bajans, the BLP government under leadership of Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley awarded Al Barrack Construction Company a thirty six million dollor contract WITHOUT TENDER. The court in 2006 ruled in favor of Barrack for 34.4 million. Barrack in 2008 received 2.5 million from the David Thompson administration but nothing from Arthur. He, Arthur instead of surrendering payment of some kind to Al Barrack invested 2.4 million dollars into a Nigerian Water Heater project. No water heaters were produced and the 2.4 million was lost and or unaccounted for.”

http://welcometotherealityworld.wordpress.com/2012/06/29/al-barrack-fighting-the-barbados-government/

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ To the point | July 1, 2012 at 12:06 AM |
    “Your owen commisioned the st joseph hospital inquiry to discredit brandford and did not find a smking gun and never released the information and kept the public guessing. So u r really losing this argument.”

Any you are reinforcing my point or the gist of the argument.
    By publishing reports the public would be in a more “informed” position to reach a fair assessment of a person’s integrity or lack thereof in public office without the continuing propensity to speculate and spread unfounded rumours. Has the St. Joseph Hospital report been published? (I don’t know). The promised forensic audit and report into the Hardwood Housing debacle would serve a similar useful purpose of “convicting” or exonerating persons similarly accused.

It would be more stimulating in order to keep me intellectually awake (and stop me from losing it) if you could lift your level of discourse a notch higher. Maybe a short pep talk from “Flinstones” would assist greatly.

42. The government to be consistent in its argument should publish the St.Joseph Hospital Report. A Ministerial Statement is not good enough.

43. @David

I believe all investigative reports should be made available to the public and I mean all.

44. @Miller

I reach your level of denate and argrument, so hence your dinosourial thinking is what keep you from being objective/

45. @Carson

what about the buildings at the top of Newton? Enlighten us about the corruption that went on with those two buildings. Actions like that is what contribute to the National Debt.

46. @Miller the mule

Do u think the Mia has something in store for the eager four?

47. HAMILTON HILL Avatar

Wake me up when some politician gets a stint in jail.Till then save the lotta long talk.Show me something Mr.PM!Lock up somebody,so that if persons on your side slip,the bees would lock dem up too when the power is theirs.Then we can all say that our country is on the right footing.PS…You could start with the minister wid muscles….de over-night millionaire.

48. old onion bags Avatar

Talk about this… NO COLD COLD CASE….talk bout now DLP DETRACTORS..TALK about now and not a FIB case of 10 yrs..sly foxes..

Come Budget Day….We hoped to see
    1.Vat off light and water bills .
    2. An expanded vat exempted. fool basket for the poor
    3. Price control on sardines, biscuits and cornbeef..( poor to live at least)
    4.Lowering of petrol prices by another 16c.
    5.Vat off Day(15 %) …every 2 months.
    6.Traveling Allowance only non taxable.
    7.Vehicle registrations revert to 2007.
    AT LEAST A LITTLE REPRIEVE…..but WE GOT NOTHING NOTHING NOTHING…..a political NO ball Budget……still fresh!

49. The old blame game is a relic of the past. If ANY Parliamentarian wants to take things seriously or make a voter believe that they are serious, then act on the recommendations that the Auditor General continually makes in reference to Government institutions.

Until then, anything said without reports and substantiation is lip service and tiresome.

As for reports, why is it that the Parliamentarians, collectively, seem to want to keep the voters, taxpayers and OWNERS of the expenditures in the dark about projects and expenditures?

1) Please publish, for the viewing of the people who paid for them (the taxpayers), ALL reports of enquiries, projects etc, immediately.

2) Where is the Kensington financial report?

As for the blamce game that they keep playing to the audience, who gives a damn anymore?

Reports, facts, THAT is the issue, please. Anything less…waste of time.

50. @Onions ”Come Budget Day….We hoped to see
    1.Vat off light and water bills .
    2. An expanded vat exempted. fool basket for the poor
    3. Price control on sardines, biscuits and cornbeef..( poor to live at least)
    4.Lowering of petrol prices by another 16c.
    5.Vat off Day(15 %) …every 2 months.
    6.Traveling Allowance only non taxable.
    7.Vehicle registrations revert to 2007.
    AT LEAST A LITTLE REPRIEVE…..but WE GOT NOTHING NOTHING NOTHING…..a political NO ball Budget……still fresh!

>> 1. Water, not light. Light is driven by foreign oil, still need to reduce usage. If at all, only up to a specific level, say $150.
    2. Agreed.
    3. Agreed,
    4. No, petrol is imported, why should we encourage usage?
    5. No, why? To allow people to spend on expensive imports heavily on one day?
    6. This has been taken care of by the adjusted income bands and rat of charge. Only if JSUT for actual tax expense reimbursement for those who actually travel in jobs.
    7. Agree. These are too high.