Submitted by Yardbroom
Peter Wickham, Head of CADRES

The recent CADRES opinion poll has generated much debate and rightly so, because it has given ammunition to those – mainly BLP supporters but not singularly – who believe this DLP Government will be defeated at the next general election.  It has also caused some anxiety even to committed DLP diehards.  I will take a different view to the majority expressed on BU (Barbados Underground) and in the interest of “balance” seek to address some misconceptions.

“An opinion poll, sometimes simply referred to as a Poll, is a survey of public opinion from a particular sample.  Opinion polls are usually designed to represent the opinions of a population by conducting a series of questions and then extrapolating generalities in ratio or within confidence intervals.”  It was once said: “Opinion polls are like soup you take a spoon full and you have a flavour of the whole”.

But BAJANS know you can dip a spoon in a bowl of souse and come up with only a liquid of peppers, cucumber and onions the “meat” can be at the bottom of the bowl.

Is there empirical data from which I can draw to substantiate the view I have taken.

“The story of opinion polls.  In the 1997 [UK general election] election begins on 9 April 1992, the day John Major won the election and made fools of the polling industry.  In 1992 the four final polls, published on election day, showed the Conservative and Labour parties level pegging, as the polls had been doing throughout the campaign.  NOP and MORI put Labour slightly ahead, ICM declared a dead heat and Gallup put the Conservatives ahead by a mere half per cent, the average of the four was a Labour lead of 0.9%.  Everything pointed to a hung parliament and a coalition government.  In the event the Conservatives won with an overall majority of 21 seats, 7.6% ahead of Labour in the popular vote.”

Opinion Polls are not tablets of stone handed down from heaven, they should not be completely ignored but a measure of caution should be exercised in interpreting them.  I am not saying completely ignore the Poll because it is of no relevance.  I am making the point as forcefully as I can,  there is no reason to abandon ship and man the life boats into the turbulent and icy waters of the deep, no iceberg has been struck.

To the DLP, Prime Minister Stuart should call a WAR council, delegate areas of attack and go on the offensive, all singing from the same hymn sheet.  Focused targeting is required, when the opposition is under pressure then cracks appear.

As for the BLP sometime ago I wrote of Mia Mottley: “Your time will come” and those with undiscerning eyes may not have noticed that time might just be nearer than expected.

The Opinion Polls are only a chapter in this story, there is a long game to be played.

Acknowledgement to: Ivor Crewe

219 responses to “Are Political Opinion Polls Always Right? A Different View”

1. @ David

Long time now the Bushman tell you that the Nation has become nothing more than a mechanism designed to deprive Bajans of our birthrights.
    Harold Hoyte sold us out for 20 pieces of silver.

If you were a foreign entity with designs on Barbados would you not take over the newspapers, the banks, the industry and then simply convince the sheep that what you are feeding them is in fact best for them?

It Bushie can see that, and you can see that …. Don’t you think that these pirates see that too….?

2. To Bushie:
    If you check the political class, most of them have green cards or citizenship of another country. I do not mean only the USA. This thing about being a citizen of another country while sitting in our House of assembly shall never become a sore point in Barbados. Maybe we need to have all of the members of the house declare what type of citizenship they have? Notice we shall never have the integrity legislation. Only notice and you shall wag your head in shame.

3. old onion bags Avatar

O, what a rogue and peasant slave am I!
    Is it not monstrous that this player here,
    But in a fiction, in a dream of passion,
    Could force his soul so to his own conceit
    That from her working all the visage wann’d,
    Tears in his eyes, distraction in his aspect,
    A broken voice, an’ his whole function suiting
    With forms to his conceit? And all for nothing,
    For Hecuba!
    What’s Hecuba to him, or he to Hecuba,
    That he should weep for her? What would he do
    Had he the motive and the cue for passion
    That I have? He would drown the stage with tears,
    And cleave the general ear with horrid speech,
    Make mad the guilty, and appall the free,
    Confound the ignorant, and amaze indeed
    The very faculties of eyes and ears.

4. To Onion Bag:
    I am impressed that you have some leaning to 16 century literature. Good for you!!

5. old onion bags Avatar

Oft expectation fails and most oft there
    Where most it promises, and oft it hits
    Where hope is coldest and despair most fits.”

6. onions please get off the poetry website and stop cutting and pasting. LOLLL

7. old onion bags Avatar

Alas aye, tis a breast
    All gameth at will squander nay
    Nor sayeth nothing worths indeed
    But nature as is truly kind
    A queen when all is said and done
    Leaves nothing to mean.

8. They may not be the smartest bunch, but regardless of what they say about the CADRES poll, I do not believe they are dumb enough to ignore the indications of the poll. They are only trying to save face and pretend as if the poll is wrong so as maintain the support and faith of their supporters…the majority of whom are people who cannot think for themselves.

9. old onion bags Avatar

@ zack
    I do not believe they are dumb enough to ignore the indications of the poll.
    Are you sure about that ?

10. @OOB
    Ha ha ha…no, I could be wrong. But I believe they are worried…just don’t want to let it show.

11. @ David (BU) May 25, 2012, @ 6:35AM
    Thanks
    @ Clone May 24, 2012 @ 4:36PM
    Thanks
    @ Citizin May 24, 2012 @2:51 PM
    Thanks
    I wil try to steer a straight course, give credit where it is due and speak of the disadvantaged and those who labour but whose voice is never heard. I will not always be right but no effort will be spared on my part in trying not to deceive.

12. Freundel is a Good Prime Minister Avatar
    Freundel is a Good Prime Minister

My Prime Minister is a strong, confident,competent, brilliant and proud black man steering the ship of state through some rough seas. May God bless you today sir as you give your all in service of your country and fellow man.
    I know that you are driven only to do the best for Barbados.
    Those who know you can attest that you remain cool under pressure. They underestimate you at their peril.

13. When he finally gets off the slow train and call the election, the people of Barbados will make that determination.

How could we or what is there to underestimate about Freundel? He has never won a seat twice. That is the reality that is steering him right between his eyes. Maybe that is why he is so hesitant to call the elections.

Harold Bernard St John had more virtues and integrity than Freundel and the people kicked him out unceremoniously. Somehow, methinks a similar fate awaits Freundel.

14. Observing (and listening for a bell) Avatar
    Observing (and listening for a bell)

“This election will be one with a difference: no long coattails of the leaders and the perfect economic storm which citizens still have not come to terms by appreciating the gravamen of the situation.”

Yup. Whoever wins their seat deserves it. Then let’s move on as a country.

15. I am of the opinion that the reason we see such a reaction to this poll which favors the BLP in the next general election is that is goes contrary to the “propaganda” machine lead by our national press that all is well in Barbados under the DLP.

The “PEOPLE” know that things are not well with the leadership of our nation and they are seeing beyond partisan politics to what is best for Barbados.

16. Perhaps the DLP are indeed a hapless bunch.
    Perhaps the BLP before them were just as hapless….
    Quite likely, whomever we elect next time around will disappoint us and be equally inept in the face of the global and regional challenges that we face…… Because we ourselves, from whom these politicians have been, and will be elected, are ourselves inept and clueless in our own lives….

Be that as it may.

One would think that even pure, selfish, self-preservation would dictate that we ALL rally behind whatever leadership is in place at the time as we face the frightening external challenges that mount almost daily.
    Instead, in the face of outsiders virtually taking over our whole economy, industry, banking, entertainment and other sectors, we continue to stab at our elected leaders rather than try to point them in the right direction and to rally behind them.

When we finaly elect the alternative set, the other half of our population will then take their turn to pull them down and clamor for a return of THEIR gang…..as obviously they too will be unable to deal with the overwhelming forces out there without full support and unity.

The outsiders must be ‘deading wid laugh’ at this highly educated set of people called Bajans….no wonder we are losing everything and are not even cognicent of that reality…..

17. Old Sugar Cane Bags Avatar
    Old Sugar Cane Bags

De Bushman be sayin “The fact that Peter Wickhan has not had the balls to continue participating on BU speaks volumes to the bushman”.

Bushman, I is needin lessuns on how ta rite in de turd person. You is greated at dat. Wunna wanna gimme private lessands? It always good to read you in D turd person, Bushie. Doan mek ya look foolish at all.

Keep it up. At least it’s entertaining.

18. old onion bags Avatar

WOW..
    Can’t remember when last Bushie been so active…..Can’t remember when last he did not end with a whip-out ..at Onions..Oh boy I can’t remember. I can’t remember when last Aarson, ac, !, Pringles, Clone been so long outta action…(though they could really keep it that way). I can’t remember when last Brass Tacks been so quiet. Fa real though something like it happen. Call it bringing on the Big Guns….or a yard fowls much needed vacations…Onions only guessing..What ever it is ..I ponder if the boy wonder Wickham had anything to do with it.?

19. @ onions

When you DLP “keep it that way” you are going to talk to yuhself! now ireally know that yuh crazy! anyhow we watching tthe BPL geriatrics try to make abolt to the head of the line .

20. “It is true the BLP started the initiative but it wasnt all inclusive. In fact what Barrow espoused was for everyone to be given teh opportunnity at all schools and that was rejected by the BLP.

It is disingenuous and hair-splitting to say that BLP introduced it because they did not envisage free education to EVERYONE at ALL SCHOOLS primary secondary and TERTIARY”
    i should not even be wasting my time responding to an obviously indoctrinated DLp follower like you. if you want to wallow in your ignorance , then so be it.

i

21. old onion bags Avatar

Man ac …you of all people don’t have to be so light skinned…Dun know all we all in here like cousins……no malice duz ever be intended ..

22. but truth be known wunna a bunch of geriatrics tryiing to rethread a new world economy with yesterday politricks! and it not gonna work. but take a second look at the polls and if truth be told Sinckler would be the one to beat but the DLP not going to put there image out there to be trash again by the public but i bet if OSA had to make such a call he would not think twice about it using the excuse”give the people what they want and party image be dammned.

23. old onion bags Avatar

but ac like Wickham polls forcasted..let the truth be known….the people want Chris and the whole perry gang out quick quick…..They tired of the Ole talk about new world economies that the D’s don’t understand cuz d driver can’t drive….Talking about behind times..man we hear a Canadian offshore company that had spent $15 Mil in building a structure up Warren…..tek up and left just so …leffing George to see only RED….no that is geriatric.

24. sorry the focus of the poll was to out manueveur pm Stuart using OSA as the big stick to do so

25. IS Stuart a good Prime Minister ?
    HAS Stuart done a good job ?
    HAS the DLP performed ?
    DOES Stuart and the DLP deserve another term ?
    IS Barbados better off than it ws pre 2008 elections ??
    WILL somebody please answer my questions ?

26. @ JUST ASKING
    …..let us say that the answers to all your questions (except the last one) are all…. NO!

May Bushie ask you a few questions in return….?

Since Stuart is PM for the time being, whether we like him or not, does it not make sense to do our best to get the most out of him in the TOTAL country’s interest?

Are we not cutting our own noses to spoil our faces by undermining OUR leaders?

Should we not work together and then quietly and efficiently vote him out when the time comes?

Would it not make sense to come together so that when YOUR people are elected you can expect the DEMS to give nationalistic support to your leaders too?

Can a nation divided in two compete against itself and the rest of the world too?

If the BEES Fight the DEES don’t you thing that we will only succeed in making it easier for the ‘MEES’….. (ENEMIES)

You are not like an Old Onion 🙂 so can the bushman expect a rational question from you in response….?

27. Yardbroom…you are one stupid ole DLP apologist c__t-hole who try to mask your bias with a lot of rhetoric. Why dont you declare your bias and stop pretending to be objective. You are not!

28. The disingenuousness is nauseating. We know the Dems have failed, but concocting all manner of stories to discredit the FACTS.

29. The 17.5% VAT stays……expected!!

30. …”..let us say that the answers to all your questions (except the last one) are all…. NO!

May Bushie ask you a few questions in return….?

Since Stuart is PM for the time being, whether we like him or not, does it not make sense to do our best to get the most out of him in the TOTAL country’s interest?

Are we not cutting our own noses to spoil our faces by undermining OUR leaders?

Should we not work together and then quietly and efficiently vote him out when the time comes?

Would it not make sense to come together so that when YOUR people are elected you can expect the DEMS to give nationalistic support to your leaders too?”

just can’t work under our system of governance bushie where the political institutions aided by our gimmee, gimmee mentality have evolved to such an extent that they see themsleves as paramount. attemts to dismantle this” first past the post, winner take all the spoils” will be met with stiff resistance from those who feed on the fatted calf directly and indirectly.

i am all in favour of a new system of governance where all roads lead to Parliament and not roebuck street or george street.

31. Hi Jezz, Good morning.
    @ May 25, 2012 @ 11:32 pm

Quote: ” Yardbroom… you are one stupid ole DLP apologist c_t-hole who try to mask your bias with a lot of rhetoric. Why dont you declare your bias and stop pretending to be objective. You are not!”

Yardbroom has got you rattled, you seem all fired up. Have you been knocked off balance? Fire one for me.

Have a nice weekend…cheers.

32. the poll says Stuart NO! Sinckler Yes! the question would Stuart put Party first or Himself!

33. Stuart exudes stateman like qualities and bajans prefer politicians who lie cheat and tell them what they want to hear that too is a refection of the polls as one can see the talk of integrity so much balloed about by talking heads never was a factor by the respondents on their preffered choices even if they were not asked.

34. AC you are like a yo yo bouncing all over the place trying to defend your party. Yes it hurts to see that your party has let down many many bajans and has lied to us all including you. The population has simply lost faith in their ability to manage this country properly. They are lost out at sea with no radar nor compass to find themselves back to shore. The captain cannot even find the north star to figure out where they are positioned. Peter Wickham has tried to alert them that the public is disillusioned with them and that they are eager to remove them from office. They pretend not to hear and bury their heads in the sand with their backsides sticking up for more licks and kicks.

35. ac
    For the first time, I’m agreeing with you, ” bajans prefer politicians who lie, cheat and tell them what they want to hear”, this is exactly what the DLP did to win the last general elections. They lied about the corruption within the BLP ( to date NO CHARGES MADE, NO FORESENIC INVESTIGATION ), they were cheating ( DOUBT ME ASK DT ABOUT CLICO ) and they told the people what they wanted to hear, that time it was NOT just refected in the polls but also in the ballot boxes. It seems those lies and cheating has now come back to haunt them, to make matters worse the DLP don’t have the instigator to help, he long jump ship.

36. old onion bags Avatar

@ Bushie
    Wait anybody here got the number for the Obeah man ?Cuz Bushie talking like somebody burning candles under they bed for he.What foolishness I wake up to hear ? You not you…logical…6 months before we kick these losers to the curb..what working with them to do what crap ?Keeping them comforty only makes them feel we condone this nonsense…wastage squandamania…don’t you see if not for these polls …they really believed the people was for them because they were could not…. showing their disgust.? Man what cut what nose foolishness we hearing…?
    By the way… how do we get the most out of him…when more is less ?

37. Why should the BLP work with the DLP to solve the country’s problems? while the suggestion is very good, our politics have not matured to that level. Remember in the last period of the BLP governance, DT gave OSA licks, and rightly so, DT actually walked out of parliament on numerous occasions before finally walking out with his whole team and vowed NEVER to return until general elections are called, I further remember when the DLP gain the government, a BLP member tried making a suggestion to the new government, during a debate in parliament, and a certain DLP M.P shout across the house “shut up we don’t want to hear anything from you”. It would take an extra ordinary politicians to come now and offer to assist having been rejected and snobbed on a number of occasions. At least, the BLP has not forced the DLP’s hand to call a general elections by walking out and vowing not to return until elections are called.

38. AC said
    “Stuart exudes stateman like qualities and bajans prefer politicians who lie cheat and tell them what they want to hear

the question would Stuart put Party first or Himself!

if truth be told Sinckler would be the one to beat but the DLP not going to put there image out there to be trash again by the public

this is going to be a long hot summer one that the DLP would surely remember.”

AC you remind me of a floundering fish gasping for air. Why don’t you just accept the inevitable and try to make some sense of what life in Barbados really is. It is obvious that you are not hurting with the high water, lights, food, land and road tax.

39. The DLP hacks are always referring to the global economic situation and countries like Greece, in their haste to defend a political party. Let us be rational, firstly, it is true that the ongoing protracted economic crisis has affected many economies, but the test lies in how those countries responded to the crisis. Clearly, this government’s response was to increase taxes and operating fees, which would ultimately be passed on to consumers. This obviously would increase the cost of living (an issue that they were supposed to address as one, two, and three, and has not done so to date. Maybe this is the same strategy manual Stuart got his “phase one, two and three” from.

Barbados cannot be compared to Greece, because for years before the crisis, Greece “enhanced their books” by increasing capital assets and decreasing liabilities to create the impression that their economy was stable. The crisis exposed this fraud and they are paying for it now.

40. Another interesting observation, which was also raised by a regular caller to “Brass Tack”, was Irene Sandiford-Garner’s resounding and emphatic defense of women’s rights when Mia Mottley was removed as Opposition Leader. However, where was her voice on discrimination against women, relative to issues concerning: (1) Dr. Esther Byer-Suckoo refusal to give her former Assistant, Ms. Deane, the necessary document for her to receive unemployment benefits; (2) the manner in which, Dr. Donna Hunte-Cox was treated during her tenure as CEO of the National Cultural Foundation, and her subsequent dismissal. (3) the issue with Marilyn Rice-Bowen and how she was treated by Michael Lashley (4) Those women who are among the 500 going home from Almond, those women who being unfairly treated by the “Egyptian Jew” at Diamonds International, and all those women who are experiencing discrimination in the workplace.
    (5) those disabled women who have to climb the stairs to get into the Disability Unit, after much commotion was made on the Unit’s location by Dr. Denis Lowe and Chris Sinckler when the DLP first came to office; four years on the Unit is still located the same place. (6) the women who have to seek shelter from abusive spouses. (7) the many single mothers who have to cope with the rising cost of living (oh, their children travel free on the bus and go to summer camps free).

41. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

ac | May 26, 2012 at 6:17 AM |

the poll says Stuart NO! Sinckler Yes! the question would Stuart put Party first or Himself!

this is the first time you have said something that makes common sense. keep it up.

42. Bush Tea thinks that FS is indecisive and bushie will be one of those who thinks that O$A is a better leader, BUT Bushie will never vote for O$A unless he explains those allegations of dishonesty and gives a commitment to honesty in future.
    Now why would he do that? If Bajans elect the same team that was perceived to be dishonest wouldn’t that be a sign that “we like um so”
    If you were a member of the team wouldn’t you be sitting back rubbing your hands in glee dreaming of the moolah to replenish you bank account? Dreams do come true especially for some politicians.

43. old onion bags Avatar

This DLP party has NO INTENTIONS whatsoever to ease the burden on the people…the truth of the matter..just like the polls..they don’t believe we deserve relief…The middle class that is (Bushies ENEMIES)…we are seen as the have too muchers…the undeservers…hard workers or not…NO DLP ..you got it all …wrong. Don’t you see that by breaking the backs of the middle class… you do the same to all artisans (lower classes) as well? Case to point. Saturday morning…I am accustomed to hearing weed wackers blurring ..lawn mowers chomping ..as the small man gets a $65 for cutting the lawn…Go look thru the window…quite like a Sunday morn..next door neighbor’s grass 3ft….Says he looking for a sheep….look send one waana politicians up here do…Hey hey…I now look thru my window and see canvassers….dat was fast.

44. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

Artaxerxes | May 26, 2012 at 9:11 AM |
    (2) the manner in which, Dr. Donna Hunte-Cox was treated during her tenure as CEO of the National Cultural Foundation, and her subsequent dismissal.

funny you say that, i watch the news last night and saw a Senior Officer, Sealy-Smith talking about NCF matters. i was shock, the order has been lifted now? i was told this lady is family to a MP and she is next in line for the CEO job. i asked the next logical question, why would anyone take that job when elections are around the corner and if the DLP lose, it would be clear she would be chopped. the logical answer? she will get a sweet heart deal of a contract.

this crap is to good to be made up.

45. The scoutof the floor Avatar
    The scoutof the floor

I’m thinking the same thing too, Stephen Lashley was one of those M.P’s I thought was fairly genuine, now he, to me, has joined the ranks of the other unreliables.

46. old onion bags Avatar

ac | May 26, 2012 at 6:17 AM |

the poll says Stuart NO! Sinckler Yes! the question would Stuart put Party
    first or Himself!
    David(Not BU)
    this is the first time you have said something that makes common sense. keep it up.
    Get real people…and fast…Sinckler….has shown he is a complete blunderer….Travel Allowance…..no problem…the mistake (taxing Govt travellng) can be corrected (smiles) ..the Bill has not yet passed…..Making Directors liable…..blunder in drafting…no problem again….Eager 11..I know or have absolutely nothing to do with that……Ok we now know what we know……Blowhard Man ..(.Geese-ingjonesing)…same thing.

47. In there/haste to make waste the yardflows still yet to adress what methods their leaderwould put in place in order to stop the ship from running aground as of now the DLP austerty methods have become unacceptable but no alternative plan has been mentioned by the BLP and the economic boom of the past which help sustained most economy is over so i am left to belive that the same methods use at present would continue unless the BLP is going to depend on heavy borrowing in an econmy with high

48. @ ac

Thou fool, where have you been living, surely not in Barbados. Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley, Clyde Mascoll and others, including the President of the Barbados Economic Society, The Accountants Association, and heads of business sector organisations, have been articulating alternative policies for a long time, and more so in recent times. Arthur has addressed a number of business associations where he gave a synopsis of the economy, and solutions to the problems that exist.

However, I cant blame yuh, becausen you musee does be watching CBC and reading de Advocate, and yuh know that nutting the Opposition says is carried by them.

49. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

old onion bags? what i’m say is that the poll says Chris has a 10% lead on the PM and in that case should be the leader but will the PM see that? guess not seeing as he does not read the paper and polls don’t vote.

would Chris win? i don’t know because of you use the above logic, Owen has a 10% lead on Chris.

50. All the poll indicates is that Chris Sinckler has more national appeal to the electorate. If Sinckler were to lead the DLP then his stewardship as MOF comes more into play. It is not as simple as some may suggest i.e. switch out Stuart for Sinckler and the problem is solved.