Submitted by Yardbroom
Peter Wickham, Head of CADRES

The recent CADRES opinion poll has generated much debate and rightly so, because it has given ammunition to those – mainly BLP supporters but not singularly – who believe this DLP Government will be defeated at the next general election.  It has also caused some anxiety even to committed DLP diehards.  I will take a different view to the majority expressed on BU (Barbados Underground) and in the interest of “balance” seek to address some misconceptions.

“An opinion poll, sometimes simply referred to as a Poll, is a survey of public opinion from a particular sample.  Opinion polls are usually designed to represent the opinions of a population by conducting a series of questions and then extrapolating generalities in ratio or within confidence intervals.”  It was once said: “Opinion polls are like soup you take a spoon full and you have a flavour of the whole”.

But BAJANS know you can dip a spoon in a bowl of souse and come up with only a liquid of peppers, cucumber and onions the “meat” can be at the bottom of the bowl.

Is there empirical data from which I can draw to substantiate the view I have taken.

“The story of opinion polls.  In the 1997 [UK general election] election begins on 9 April 1992, the day John Major won the election and made fools of the polling industry.  In 1992 the four final polls, published on election day, showed the Conservative and Labour parties level pegging, as the polls had been doing throughout the campaign.  NOP and MORI put Labour slightly ahead, ICM declared a dead heat and Gallup put the Conservatives ahead by a mere half per cent, the average of the four was a Labour lead of 0.9%.  Everything pointed to a hung parliament and a coalition government.  In the event the Conservatives won with an overall majority of 21 seats, 7.6% ahead of Labour in the popular vote.”

Opinion Polls are not tablets of stone handed down from heaven, they should not be completely ignored but a measure of caution should be exercised in interpreting them.  I am not saying completely ignore the Poll because it is of no relevance.  I am making the point as forcefully as I can,  there is no reason to abandon ship and man the life boats into the turbulent and icy waters of the deep, no iceberg has been struck.

To the DLP, Prime Minister Stuart should call a WAR council, delegate areas of attack and go on the offensive, all singing from the same hymn sheet.  Focused targeting is required, when the opposition is under pressure then cracks appear.

As for the BLP sometime ago I wrote of Mia Mottley: “Your time will come” and those with undiscerning eyes may not have noticed that time might just be nearer than expected.

The Opinion Polls are only a chapter in this story, there is a long game to be played.

Acknowledgement to: Ivor Crewe

219 responses to “Are Political Opinion Polls Always Right? A Different View”

1. @ac,

“Another known glaring factoid in the poll is that Chris would whip the geriactric OSA behind how about that i know that the BLP is hoping that it would not come to such a showdown also chris would have more appeal to the youth voter Than overthe hill OSA”…………………….

ac, girl, you must remember that your former leader, told the same Owen that he was past his sell by date like a cartoon of milk past its sell by date. Do you remember what happen to him? Months later his sell by date expired. Be careful what you call people or wish for!

2. JB,
    Michael Lashley must be living in la la land. Does he really think that with his track record (morally speaking) he could rise to lead the DLP as Opposition Leader if the DLP loses.

Hell no! The elders of the DLP will never allow that. Do you remember what they did to a Combemere boy? They told him he was not the man to lead the DLP. What do you think they would do to a Garrison boy?

3. “Conclusion, both parties play the electorate for asses.”- Taken from the above comment by David at 2:43 pm, 27 May, 2012.

That part of your comment is very true, to some extent.

We have got some word from very reliable insiders/sources that that is what many of their members do think.

What poll are you referring to, David?

4. @ Artaxerxes | May 27, 2012 at 2:38 PM |

Dont bother with ac, she chooses to ignore facts and stick to her theme song these days…Owen is a geriatric. Poor lady, she never calls her leader that and he is the same age as Owen. The difference is that Owen has performed as PM, now we can definitely say that is not true of the present PM. Now can we?

5. DOES Stuart care about me ?

I dont think that Stuart cares about anybody.
    If Stuart was a caring man, I would have seen it manifested in his personal life but I am looking and I dont see .

DOES this sound like a man who care wha anybody say ?
    “I passed phase two long long long time ago”
    ” I aint promised nobody a running commentary.
    Of Owen Arthur he said that Owen is nobody without the title of Prime Minister and that he power hungry etc. Now I am particularly dissappointed in Stuart for this statement. I had still retained some measure OF RESPECT for Stuart but after what he said about Owen , I have banished Stuart forever if he does not seek repentance for that statement about Owen.

What does he think about the large majority of Bajans when he is going to say something like that about Owen. I feel particularly insulted as a Barbadian. We know the history of Black people in this country and no black Prime Minister should be making that kind of a statement about any citizen. Stuart should not continue to be Prime Minister after making such statement about Owen. I felt particularly insulted by the statement. Stuart like he is something else in truth though.

Stuart is a !@#$ or what ?

JUST ASKING

6. But if old onions had said so about Freundel and ac would have her knickers in a knot!

7. @prodigal i don’t wear knickers i wear Boxers!

8. Prodigal Son
    I am a man who does not make sport at people’s health but I am concern about your leader. Today VOB played a clip of his comments at BMEX and he sounded funny like he was catching for his breath.

9. old onion bags Avatar

Wait that is Clone ? The same Clone that was comatose by the poll results ? The same Clone that could not find his tongue for 7 days…..This is the same clone dat come in hay talking about OSA who now flying above the high sky..like a American Eagle…Well Well look a Clone….lol

10. Onions
    You are an amazing character. You can join any circus as a contortionist. I vividly remembered when you said that you were finish with this blog and I encourage you to be a man and return to talk your foolishness well I am not sorry that return. I made about three posts since the poll was released. I accepted that the poll was accurate and the Prime Minister should accept the results and strategized to win the next election. If Owen Arthur can be forgiven in four years for taking 75000 dollars for the party and put it in his account then the Prime Minister who the people said was decent and honest can be forgiven for his slowness.
    I must inform you that I am a hard working productive member of this society and not retired to be a political junky like yourself.

11. @ clone
    man what retired what? Onions too young to retire – he is just unemployed until whenever his party return to power…

Retirees are respectable people 🙂

@ ac
    You wear boxers…?
    Yours must be heavyweight….LOL

12. old onion bags Avatar

Well Clone ..if you did say those things and since the issuing of the poll..you have my apology..BUT BUT BUT…you are so wrong about OSA…man he is a fit as a fiddle.He so fit he gone on flying and leading off Operation DLP Pelt Out…..lol man Clone…Circus ?.. what you smoking ? Onions dont mix wid no circus clowns….lol so ole friend …get that right..(glad to see you..still working too….and not drawing a pension).Another consolation…..you better hope the NIS got in $$$$..when is time for you to retire…

13. AC yuh airing yuh self by wearing boxers? Where the bibbidy?

14. If Owen Arthur can be forgiven in four years for taking 75000 dollars for the party and put it in his account then the Prime Minister who the people said was decent and honest can be forgiven for his slowness”
    tell me clone ; if someone wries a cheque in your name. whose account would you put thecheque in moreso now when the bank is loathe to accept third party transactions. in addition, it is mandatory for persons to declare to the bank the source of transactions in excess of 10,000 dollars. so there could have been nothing secret about the cheque.has there ever been sufficient evidence to suggest that the cheque did not end up in the coffers of the BLP.

15. There is speculation concerning the doable use of diamond as a semiconductor suitable to build microchips from,
    or the use of diamond as a warmth sink in electronics.

16. If you want something more like a shoe, quite a lot of
    main manufactures like Icon and Alpinestars make motorcycle specific
    sneakers like those you see at the right.

17. By watching television sequence, you may get an ideal motivation from it.
    Seeing the fantastic thing about the cities within the series can drive you to the travel agent and book a ticket or two
    for you to go to these cities.

18. Other laws embody the Social Fund (Applications for Review) (NI) Regulations and the Social Fund (Recovery by Deductions from Benefits) Regulations as amended.

19. See the Holidays to Kyreni But, the poor financial development
    shall not cease you in touring around the globe and visiting the tourists spots
    in Cyprus; hence, getting lodge lodging there may be very crucial.