Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

First let me state that I hold no brief for either Sir Roy Trotman, General Secretary of the Barbados Workers Union, or Mr. Jacob Hassid, the owner of Diamonds International. I will therefore attempt to put the recent events involving Diamonds International in perspective in an unbiased way.

During a speech on May Day 2012, Sir Roy Trotman reported that twenty workers were dismissed by Diamonds International because they held a meeting to form a bargaining unit at their workplace. If that were so I could understand Sir Royโ€™s anger. What I donโ€™t understand is why a person of such eminence would stoop to using a racial slur to make a point. Not only is he the leader of this countryโ€™s largest union: he is an honourable member of the Senate. His behaviour would have brought discredit to both bodies. Additionally, it should be abhorred that someone who has received one of Barbadosโ€™ highest honours would behave in this manner. He is articulate enough to deliver of himself without offending all right-thinking people in this country.

Having brought his union into disrepute, the Executive Council should disassociate itself from those remarks, and censure him at the very least for his conduct which he made worse by saying that he has nothing to apologise for, as reported in the Nation of May 4, 2012. Also he serves as an independent senator at the pleasure of the Governor-General, who should express his displeasure by declaring Sir Royโ€™s seat vacant. As a person who was knighted, he is expected to set a positive example: he has fallen way short of that example for which he should be converted back to plain old Leroy Trotman.

I have been around the trade union movement long enough to have some serious doubts about the denials emanating from the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Diamonds International. I have been an active trade unionist since 1982, and in all those years I have never seen workers join a union en masse because they were being well treated by the employer. I have no doubt that the statements issued by both BCCI and Diamonds International were merely a public relations exercise to cover the malpractices in that business that have angered the workers to the point where they would seek union representation.

My abhorrence of Sir Royโ€™s behaviour aside; I give no credence to the explanation given by Diamonds International for those dismissals. In order to convince me, I would have expected the statement to say that after we have given those displaced workers a number of warnings about their performance; there was no improvement over time; and we were force to terminate their contracts. Anything short of that I would tend to believe Sir Roy.

Diamonds International I do not believe you. It is a crime in Barbados, punishable by a fine or imprisonment or both, to dismiss a worker for joining or proposing to join a trade union.

185 responses to “Diamonds International: Who's Telling The Truth?”

1. Bushie; re your 8.04 post;

You’ve lost me there. Did I say anywhere that you don’t know almost everything?

2. I heard about the BWU’s leader mentioning the term “Egyptian Jew” and I am asking what is the problem with that description. Don’t you hear daily about Curly hair Guyanese or Trini Indian or Hindu Indian or Collie man or Nigerian negro or Caucasian or even Red legs from St. John connected to individuals. Are those names related to racial slurs. If the man is a Jew and he from Egypt. Should we call him an Egyptian Bajan. Come on people, deal with the real issue and stop side stepping. Frankie, I am surprise with your defence in this issue. David, since you are singing in the same choir, why don’t you deal with John King’s crying down of Bajans in todays papers.

3. @TMW

How is the man’s ethnicity relevant to the debate especially if he is a naturalized Bajan living in Barbados for 17 years?

4. David. Remember we all spout ethnicity within or discussions. Just recap the discussion regarding the purchase of Almond and one investor was calling another investor foreigner and non were born bajans. DI CEO went overboard stating that his children were in danger by the statement. Pure sympathetic nonsense. I am still awaiting your rejection to John King’s denigration of Bajans in the Nation. Was it relevant to to his explanation regarding to his alleged discrimination pertaining to his private life?

5. @TMW

You are on the same wave lengh as i, as im my earlier blog. I am not a fan of sir roy, but i was thinking your way in relation to the term used..

6. @TMW

John King has been sing that tune for a long time. Nothing new there.

7. @Saegeant

I expect you kindagarden response.

8. 1. Rihanna is a Black Barbadian superstar currently taking the international music world by storm.

2. Rihanna, a Black Barbadian, needs to leave America and go back to her own country.

9. @ Checkit-out
    Bushie was just joking about your new look at the DI situation.
    The Bush man is ALWAYS amazed at how Bajans seem to in a hurry to diss their own – in favour of the unknown…

David ask how a person’s ethnicity becomes relevant….? Well Bushie must be a biased, racist, chouvanistic pig …. ’cause ANYTIME someone with even a Nigerian accent offers Bushie ANY kind of deal, the Bushman starting with a bias….

…anytime ANY white person or any woman, offers to do him ANY kind of favour – Bushie DONE KNOW that there is something they want …BADLY.

Intelligent people learn from experience David. …and 1 plus 1 Usually end up as 2. (except when the former CH entity does it – and comes up with 10 ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Now as a simple Bushman, it was amazing how certain types of citizens have been able to run successful businesses – buying and selling such simple items as clothes, shoes etc at rock bottom prices, (and Bushie means SUCCESSFULLY!!!)

After a number of incidences of criminal cases came to light involving very costly (but illegal) items, it became clearer how such a basic business could be sustained.
    (…by the way David, what ever became of the case with the container of weed…?)

ADMITEDLY IT IS WRONG, AND RACIST, AND BAD (FOR BARBADOS’s image…?), but the Bushman is unfortunately guilty …and is a suspicious blogger by name and nature……s o r r y hear?

Allan Sanford was always an enigma….. Too willing to just GIVE money away…. Too keen to BUY friends and Image…..

Perhaps Sir Roy, being even more experienced than a simple Bushman, was simply drawing to the gentleman’s attention that the process of disenfranchising Bajans is not yet completed – and that we have not yet reached the stage where external cultures will be rammed down our throats….
    ….of course on THAT point Sir Roy is wrong….but that is a different topic…

10. david i am surprise at your blaise response to John King predicament after all his family is being destroyed by a viciuos rumour with small comparison to the socalled racial slur which you thought Sir roy should apologised for the parallels although not of the same nature highlights how people lives can be destroyed when others for wathever the reason play to an audience who believes any and everything there are told.

11. Bushie; My posts usually try to look at the logic of situations based on the data available to me. This one was no different. My first post on the matter essentially agreed totally with Caswell’s take in the blog essay. When I checked out what an “egyptian jew” connoted I posted it, I think, showing that it was not a racist term per se but in the way it was used by Sir Roy might be construed as such. Also that the DI man was attempting to make it appear racist. I also tend to respect Islandgal246’s posts and when she said, in her usual style, that she had worked there and essentially gave DI an unqualified pass mark. I accepted that. However, in reading the BFP posts referred to us by Amused, it was clear that the aspect of DI’s operations that had been covered in BU was not as rigorous re. the current situation at DI vis-a-vis IR and my last post tried to point our posters to those discussions to get a fuller picture of the whole situation.

Just on a point of order. My last post wasn’t a new look. It was the last of a continuum based on currently available information.

12. islandgal246 Avatar

Checkit-out ….I have many friends who work there and I have worked for two of the other foreign Jewelry businesses. I never said I worked there, I worked for the other two competitors.

13. YARDIE
    May 6, 2012 at 9:11 pm
    Taseti posted a youtube video where a Jewish Rabbi called the former UN Secretary General , Kofi Annan a โ€ Monkey โ€ . The Rabbi also called Jesse Jackson a monkey as well . This and the other videos posted by Taseti show how much Jews love Black People.

14. Islandgal 246; My sincerest apologies for misinterpreting your post.

15. @yardie

the difference being the jewish people don’t raise a fire storm unlike bajans who are quick to piss all over there own. when in reality these easterners do not have any respect for black people . to them we will always be good fuh nuttin and there actions more often than not say so! they are good impostors and most blacks fall for it! sometimes it is hard to tell the difference between fact and fiction as in the case of roy . there are stories all over the internet that talks about egyptian jews and the way they are treated in ISrael now comes along the DI owner and tries to label one of ours as a racist he got some nerve,and intellectual bajans falls for it, Doin’t we know by now when we are being “HOOD WINKED” give me a break

16. So when we say the ‘dem returning nationals come ’bout and think dey know everything’ aren’t we being discriminatory? Aren’t we putting down our own bajans born here and migrated and returned to close a life as a Bajan?

When we say that ‘that’s a returning national who volunteers service to …’ Isn’t that in a different context and uplifting rather than putting down.

Let us not forget the context in which it was used. Listen to and or read the context again.

Even if it was misconstrued Leroy has the right to ensure that his language and terminology is so clear that we do not have time to wonder if he is being discriminatory. He is certainly of age and knowledge.

As for Hassid trying to play the ‘fear for children’ he can shut them up at home and keep them from among our people whilst using our monies traded in his shop to feed, clothe and shelter them.

Will we offend his children and he returned to work next day, have press conference and we believe that he is afraid. To me his comment was a boldfaced lie.

I shall be following this IR story very closely … another one.

17. Going into the meeting Hassid should deal with the IR issue at hand without delay or else he will surely as a major challenge on his hand.

18. @ Checkit
    Bushie on board….

@ ac
    Yuh got the Bushman REAL nervous…. First of all we agree on something (first ever? )… Second- Bushie notice that you sounding highly excited over on that sex topic….
    And best of all, Old Onions ‘carry he smelly self’ off the blog….at last..
    Life sweet yuh!!!

Watch it ac…!!!

@ Yardie
    “….shows how much the Jews love blacks”
    Get over it Yardie. EVERYBODY HATES BLACKS….
    It is not difficult to understand why….
    Specially blessed peoples….Strong, loving, peaceful, – made in BBE’s own image….. (but foolish as Shoite((c) IG246) because they have turned from their spiritual origins….)

Do you think that ANY OTHER race could survive 400 years of the kind of slavery and degradation that the black race did, and turn out in two generations as we have?…to produce people such as Nelson Mandela, Obama etc? And in little Barbados the likes of EW Barrow, Crawford, Bushie ๐Ÿ™‚ , and countless others…?

Like HELL!!!

…and how did the Blacks typically repay the wickedness inflicted over the centuries when we took power…? …well Mandela was typical….TRUTH and FORGIVENESS!! (compare this to America -60 years on, still spitefully punishing Cuba and Haiti)

Shoot man, it is dead easy to see why others would feel the way they do about blacks…..
    ….what is more challenging is understanding why BLACKS hate themselves….?

19. @ busie why don’t you come and join the conversation your words of wisdom will be much appreciated fom a spiritual point of view

in reference to this ongoing topic what i have said is no different from what i say all the time and i am adamant in my feelings adout the way we treat our own this is a trend which is devsive and strong countries can only thrive when its citizens bond together and form support from outside influences whether these influences are right or wrong . that is how great countries survive it is the ultimate wall of security which is hard to penetrate however bajans do not and cannot understand that to them everything is black or white that is why this great land of ours is being taken over a stone throw at a time and bajans rally with those who are doing it!

20. What interest rate did the Itinerant traders charge poor people in Barbados?
    “yuh want clawt?”

How many businesses in Barbados were built on the labour of Bajans? We really don’t want to talk about these things do we.

Remember that the people in Barbados in the 50s and 60s until today are a captive market.

Over to you Bushie.

21. @ ac
    “..come and join….words of wisdom will be appreciated…”

Your mouth sweet enough….if Bushie was a few decades younger….!!
    ..anyway, no thanks, Bushie will be dealing with any matters related to the ‘feared’ sex (that was ‘fairer’ sex ๐Ÿ™‚ ) under advisement….and specifically under the wise guidance of Amused.
    Next thing you invite Bushie to a rendezvous and then you got Islandgal waiting in ambush!!!!

Count BT out!!!

22. Well I happen to know of a short, Black, big nose, stumpy l’il man that does threaten to fire he staff on a daily basis. And nobody willing to talk about that!

23. @ Hants
    ….over to you Bushie…?

LOL – you think Bushie is a back-up singer? Try and sing your own song skippa, Bushie does only sing solo – cause before too long you and Bushie going be at one another throats – as you well know… ๐Ÿ™‚

24. @ Lizbeth
    YOU!!! Yuh had Bushie frighten there yuh!
    …but the Bushman ain’t short NOR stumpy…

…Bushie hope that you know that is the only way to get a little work out of some o wanna Bajans…? …a bull pistle would probably improve productivity too, but the same Sir Roy and his crowd had issues with that approach too….:)

…or are you saying that the stumpy boss threatening to fire his productive and hardworking workers…?

25. @ bushie
    all the while you got me thining that your love of woman was to protect them now to my disappointment you say you fear the female anyhow the invite remains open/ but in the mean while keep peeking neva know who you might me.tonight the topic is going to be about “DATING”

26. islandgal246 Avatar

t is not difficult to understand whyโ€ฆ.
    Specially blessed peoplesโ€ฆ.Strong, loving, peaceful, โ€“ made in BBEโ€™s own imageโ€ฆ.. (but foolish as Shoite((c) IG246) because they have
    turned from their spiritual originsโ€ฆ.)

Bushie my spiritual origins are intact more so than many of you who follow the Christian false religion. So don’t waste your time over my spiritual awakening.

You telling AC that you ent tekking nuh chances meeting her on a rendezvous because yuh fraid I ambush yuh? I gine be there to chase yuh back up the hills with a bull pistle. LOLL

27. Judaism or Racism?
    The Rambamโ€™s (โ€œRabbi Mosheh Ben Maimonโ€ ) View Of Black People
    The Racist views of Moses Maimonides (Jewish Scholar ,1135- 1204 )

โ€œThose who are incapable of attaining to supreme religious values include the black coloured people and those who resemble them in their climates. Their nature is like the mute animals. Their level among existing things is below that of a man and above that of a monkey.โ€ (Maimonides, Guide To The Perplexed, Translation from the Hebrew Version).

28. No amount of YouTube videos showing discrimination against blacks can justify or excuse Trotman’s behaviour. His words were inappropriate plain and simple.

Unfortunately, there are too many people who believe that you must defend the indefensible because the person who happen to be giving offence is their friend. That is why Barbados is suffering as it is. The same thing applies in politics, we have an incompetent Government and an equally incompetent Opposition but both sides have their supporters telling them what the think each group wants to head. If they were really friends they would tell them the truth. Same thing applies for Trotman, if you are his friend tell him the truth.

29. @ island gal

wuh yu doing over here on this high falutin thread that going to giv people high blood pressure listen go back over on the other one where the talk is sweet the least you might get is diabetes but it is all worth how yuh get it because it from sex.

30. @caswell
    OH calm down yuh mixing apples and oranges. You behind the eight ball and you should be looking out for the rights of the employee. don’t worry fuh Roy he still gotb yuh back , yuh time soon and coming!

31. Was the great and revered rabbi Moses Ben Maimon (Maimonides) a racist?

The Encyclopedia of the Jewish Religion refers to Moses Maimonides, a.k.a. Rambam, as โ€œthe symbol of the pure and orthodox faith.โ€ His Guide of the Perplexed is considered the greatest work of Jewish religious philosophy, but his view of Blacks was Hitlerian:

โ€œ[T]he Negroes found in the remote South, and those who resemble them from among them that are with us in these climes. The status of those is like that of irrational animals. To my mind they do not have the rank of men, but have among the beings a rank lower than the rank of man but higher than the rank of apes. For they have the external shape and lineaments of a man and a faculty of discernment that is superior to that of the apes.โ€

Several Jewish scholars have translated the โ€œGuide,โ€ interpreting the above passage as referring to Black Africans:

Moses Maimonides (1135-1204), The Guide of the Perplexed, translated and edited by Shlomo Pines; with an introductory essay by Leo Strauss (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1963), Chapter 51, pp. 618-19. Moses Maimonides, The Guide to the Perplexed, trans. and ed. Shlomo Pines (Chicago: Univ. of Chicago Press, 1963), 2:618-19. Other translations use the term โ€œcushitesโ€ or โ€œblacksโ€ in place of โ€œNegroes.โ€ See M. Friedlanderโ€™s translation (1904; reprint, New York: Dover, 1956), 384.

32. @Blogger 2012

I expect you kindagarden response.
    Spoken like a man who is unable to form an argument to rebut what I wrote

33. Caswell wants Sir Roy to fall so that he can climb to the top.

34. Caswell is a Jew now , sorry a Black Jew ? NIGGERS ALWAYS LOOKING TO KISS ASS . Caswell go kiss the asses of the Jews ,hope they lynch you.

35. @ ac
    Why are you surprised that Bushie fears the female? A CLEAR SIGN OF Wisdom in any man is a healthy fear of the female. Throughout history there has been no greater cause of the downfall of great men…
    Precisely because women are so vital and integral to a man’s self actualization, women are at the same time the greatest threat to men…
    So yes, Bushie scared ….

@ Caswell
    Trottie is no more wrong in his response than you were with AX. In both cases as union leaders wanna applied ancient tactics to modern day situations. Sir Roy was ‘ROBUST’ in his response to the issue because he RIGHTFULLY recognizes that it has the potential to end the current trade union movement in Barbados.
    You like you can’t see that…

The comment is EXACTLY as his mentor Sir Frank would have responded – but Trottie was probably a bit more polite – they would have been unable to print Sir Frank’s statement…. ๐Ÿ™‚

None of the modern trade unionist have shown the vision to conceptualize a viable organization for the 21 st century…. This ” wait for employers to mess up and fight” approach is laughable. As Bushie said to you already, the modern trade unionist needs to be in the BOARDROOM representing the employee’s interest and capital investment in the business.
    The ULTIMATE trade union leader would be in the SENATE ensuring that laws are just and rules are properly applied and that the powerful are kept in check…..
    …but you too hard ears….

36. Judas

You are quite mistaken, Sir Roy is not in my way. There is no vacancy for a successor to him at BWU. He is in the way of a young articulate Julian Hunte, who is more than capable of meeting the challenge. However, Sir Roy has other ideas, instead, he is trying to put a handpicked successor in place. While he is holding on to give time to make her palatable, he is becoming increasingly more senile. A few years ago a Leroy Trotman in possession of all his faculties would never have made such a blunder. Yes Judas, I would like to see Trotman go, but not for my sake; for the sake of the labour movement, and for his sake before he is forced out in disgrace.

37. @ Caswell

what took you so long to show yuh true colors towards Sir Roy. in the AX story you were made at hell at NUPW Clarke for representing Broomes now That Roy has said a mouthful in defense of the employee relationship and Unions you can’t wait to take side wid the employer .i wonder why? somehow i detect a ting of revenge.

38. @ Truth
    Give it a rest with the “Jews hate Blacks” thing already… Yuh can’t hear that EVERYBODY HATES BLACKS -including blacks? ….and what if somebody said that blacks were like animals…? Wuh Bushie always saying that….especially about BAJANS who closely resemble sheep to the bushman…
    …in any case that would not justify Sir Roy insulting the man. We don’t really do the’ eye for an eye’ thing.

The man wanted cussing so that he comes to the realization that ’bout here, we got some ways of doing things and we ain’t quite ready to roll over and play dead ….not yet anyway….

39. @ bushie

Why not take this conversation over on the other thread where we can be more intimate and open. maybe you would be pleasantly surprise .how about …….well you would have to come over and spend a little time with the girls! looking forward to seeing yuh! ta! ta!

40. Bushie

You are correct that the place for the modern trade unionist is in the board. Worker participation is not a novel idea, it has proven to be quite successful in Germany. Unfortunately, Barbados is always slow to implement policies that would benefit the masses. Government must take the lead and include genuine trade unionist on all statutory boards. Mind you, those selected must not be chosen for their political affiliation, but must be chosen because of their commitment to the workers’ cause.

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Recently, Cedric Murrell, who is also President of CTUSAB,1st Vice President of NUPW and a personal friend of Dennis Clarke said on Brass tacks Sunday that NUPW and BAPPSS should not have been representing Broomes because he was not charged with any offence by his employer. How is that different from anything that I said from inception.

What true colours are you talking about: I am not saying anything that is not being said all around the trade union movement. Again, what utter rubbish are you talking about, my record of defending workers’ rights cannot be called into question by anything that I have ever done. Why do you think that employers and heads of department actively discourage their workers from associating with me; instead, telling them that they prefer to deal with Clarke and Trotman?

42. CASWELL!!!

WHAT THE @$$ WRONG WITH YOU??
    What government must appoint trade unionist to what boards what?

Do you seriously think that we will EVER have a government that will willingly do such a thing? ….. Unless we take Bushie’s suggestion and set up the Cooperative Government? ๐Ÿ™‚

TRADE UNIONS MUST CONCEPTUALIZE AND FIGHT FOR THIS RIGHT.
    Not only in government, but force private companies to provide shares to employees in lieu of pay increases….and a directorship to the board.

Government is even easier – those crooks will be looking for VOTES just now…. Mobilize workers to demand that this be done ….so that the workers can vote for some directors on each statutory board…or no vote for the party….

Stupsseee you like you getting soft now you old yuh….

43. Caswell

You should know by now that union men don’t like to give up the ghost. Barbados trade union history has many examples of leaders not wanting to step down. What is wrong with Sir Roy holding on? Just last week Dennis Clarke returned to work, after seven months of sick leave and accumulated vacation, with his walking stick, cushion and URINAL.

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

What is wrong with you? I am agreeing with you. The problem is you want giant steps while I am willing to do it incrementally.

45. @ bush tea.
    Leave Truth alone ,his response is way over your head ,if you have something better say it / shut up.

46. @ Caswell
    There is no time for incremental Caswell. Can’t you see what the plan is….? “Hard times” is just an opportunity for certain people to put master plans into place… If we are not observant and proactive, workers will be set back 50 years….

@ unknown
    What happen, Truth cant represent itself? ๐Ÿ™‚

Understand this unknown, there is no requirement for any opinion to either ” better” another one OR to shut up.
    …Wuh you is David King?…. Or you think this is BFP?

What do you mean by ” better” anyhow? More disparaging of Jews?to prove what? That we can be just as nasty?

Even foolish opinions from a ignorant bushman are welcome here…but they don’t have to be accepted.

47. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

If you don’t do it incrementally, you will never get it done in Barbados. Look how long it has taken for us to get the rid of Queen Elizabeth as our head of state. Don’t you get embarrassed traveling overseas and trying to explain how a foreigner holds the highest position of Government in our country.

Barbadians are a fearful people, preferring to suffer than to try something new out of fear that it might not work. If you don’t do it incrementally, you will never get it done. The same people who you are trying to help would be the first to curse you. Trust me I have fallen to be the victim of abuse from those you are trying to help only to hear them say that I was right some time after.

48. @Sargeant

I have never read anything plauisble on this blog u have written. Deal with all the issues i have written in the blog, the service he is providing can be done by any barbadian businessman, was it in the hands of cave shepher before the egyption jew took over. But deal with the entire article.

By the way,articles from bushie, brudda bim, amused, check it out are the ones that make me think, not yours.

49. @ Caswell

you did answer my suspicion even though you are not smart enough to realise it in your haste to castigate me!

50. Do you seriously think that we will EVER have a government that will willingly do such a thing? โ€ฆ.. Unless we take Bushieโ€™s suggestion and set up the Cooperative Government”
    I do not know the criteria for sitting on private sector run boards but trade unionists have always been present on government appointed boards eg the NIS scheme board and the Bdos tourism authority, two of the biggest and most influential; the problem is that they represent the interests of the political institutions who appointed them and not the interests of the workers. The trade union movement in barbados gas been privileged to have representation at the highest levels of parliament but again unfortunately we have had the spectacle of a trade unionist parliamentarian suuporting a government’s decision to cut public workers salary and alter serance payments legislation to the detriment of the workers.