Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

First let me state that I hold no brief for either Sir Roy Trotman, General Secretary of the Barbados Workers Union, or Mr. Jacob Hassid, the owner of Diamonds International. I will therefore attempt to put the recent events involving Diamonds International in perspective in an unbiased way.

During a speech on May Day 2012, Sir Roy Trotman reported that twenty workers were dismissed by Diamonds International because they held a meeting to form a bargaining unit at their workplace. If that were so I could understand Sir Roy’s anger. What I don’t understand is why a person of such eminence would stoop to using a racial slur to make a point. Not only is he the leader of this country’s largest union: he is an honourable member of the Senate. His behaviour would have brought discredit to both bodies. Additionally, it should be abhorred that someone who has received one of Barbados’ highest honours would behave in this manner. He is articulate enough to deliver of himself without offending all right-thinking people in this country.

Having brought his union into disrepute, the Executive Council should disassociate itself from those remarks, and censure him at the very least for his conduct which he made worse by saying that he has nothing to apologise for, as reported in the Nation of May 4, 2012. Also he serves as an independent senator at the pleasure of the Governor-General, who should express his displeasure by declaring Sir Roy’s seat vacant. As a person who was knighted, he is expected to set a positive example: he has fallen way short of that example for which he should be converted back to plain old Leroy Trotman.

I have been around the trade union movement long enough to have some serious doubts about the denials emanating from the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Diamonds International. I have been an active trade unionist since 1982, and in all those years I have never seen workers join a union en masse because they were being well treated by the employer. I have no doubt that the statements issued by both BCCI and Diamonds International were merely a public relations exercise to cover the malpractices in that business that have angered the workers to the point where they would seek union representation.

My abhorrence of Sir Roy’s behaviour aside; I give no credence to the explanation given by Diamonds International for those dismissals. In order to convince me, I would have expected the statement to say that after we have given those displaced workers a number of warnings about their performance; there was no improvement over time; and we were force to terminate their contracts. Anything short of that I would tend to believe Sir Roy.

Diamonds International I do not believe you. It is a crime in Barbados, punishable by a fine or imprisonment or both, to dismiss a worker for joining or proposing to join a trade union.

185 responses to “Diamonds International: Who's Telling The Truth?”

1. @david strength comes in number and that is how verbal wars/are won the more support the opponent gets from the masses the harder it is for those who opposes them c to respond. this is more than about racial slur this/is/all about getting others to support DI/inteserst and garnish sympathy from the masses and at the same time holding back SIR ROY in his/attempt tomake bold and decisvemoves in his role as a negitiator. first by starting out with an apology hepls to soften his message

2. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Leroy is a black Bajan man, short too.

3. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Rude yes.
    Unlawful? No,
    Racist? No.
    Sexist? No

4. @acx

This is a dispute which has to be supported by facts i.e. paper trail. At the meeting next week we expect DI to produce documents dated and signed off before the meeting workers held with the BWU which explains this matter. All the other nonsense about race etc is irrelevant. If DI cannot then we can talk.

@Blogger

Context my good man.

5. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

That said Mr. Hassid is welcome and I am sure that he can testify that he and his family have rarely been racially discriminated against by black Bajans (or white ones) or brown ones.

Sir Roy was impolite, but not I think racist or zenophobic.

6. To ac @ 6:36 am.
    Caswell won’t be next as Denis Clarke has taken that position already. Having dragged his sick powerless self back to Dalkeith on Wednesday 2nd May called a meeting, not staff meeting but public meeting because as a member of the union I along with other members of the public and staff, sat there and listen to his discourse of his illness and his to threat to fire staff. He is back and all that was done that he is not in agreement with while he was away for 8 months will be reversed. Now that’s a great Union for you. Why not rename NUPW to CPWU Clarke’s Public Workers’ Union.

7. isn.t it ironic that all this hulabaloo and demonising of Roy has raied its ugly head now that the Emploment BIll of RIGHTS is to be come in to reality . These PLAYERS are not not going to roll over and play dead afterall they have been having it easy for years so now they have seized the opotune time to unleashed an attack one that was not racially motivated by Roy unlike themselves who for years trampled on the rights of workers and never thought twice about it

8. Well! Well! Well! just catching up after a few days and I noticed the headline and the content of the article seems to be at odds with each other, based on what is written in the article instead of “who’s telling the truth” the title should be “Sir Roy it’s time to go”.

Enuff wrote about “context” and I would love him to explain how the words used in that manner become a term of endearment. “Jew” is often used in a pejorative sense and I don’t see any difference here

If a company has enjoyed years of relative labour peace and provided employment for many Bajans wasn’t there a better route to ascertain the facts? And whatever the facts these “leaders’ owe a duty to the public to refrain from inflammatory rhetoric as it hinders rather than advance their cause and burns the bridges that they seek to build.

Barbados is still reliant on foreign investment and the next investor on the horizon
    (doesn’t have to be Jewish) but when they read these kinds of statements from one of the”leaders” you can bet they will choose another destination for their investment so to coin a phrase “At the end of the day” who will be the loser?

9. @ Sargeant
    I made it clear that Sir Roy used ‘Egyptian Jew’ to portray Hassid negatively.

Taken from http://www.worldofjudaica.com:
    “Yesterday, an Egyptian-Jewish businessman re-launched his lawsuit against Coca Cola, claiming the company has been using his family’s land illegally for the last 50 years.”

Note his ethnicity is mentioned but not perjoratively.

10. Unless Jewish vs Jew makes a difference.

11. Unlike most i don,t kiss any body arss to get along with there face the verbal abuse and onslaught which i would get is most welcomed because i get to witness first hand the brain washing that the Masses have been exposed to over the years in the name of economic freedom however for one to be freed one must be free physchologicaly as well from those who have done them wrong

12. On a lighter note I see that Onions has claimed to have packed up his “georgie bundle” and left, I guess that means we won’t have to read “The World According to Old Onions” everyday.

Since Miller left “onions” has been floundering in some deep waters so maybe he needed an excuse to pick a fight just to depart with a bit of dignity

So long “Old Onions” see you in the next hurrah or until you fill your guts with “pudding n souse” today.

13. Sir Roy, is one militant, combative, pugnacious, arrogant, ‘racist’.

Just look back at the not too distant ‘Royal Shop’ and ‘Sandy Lane’ fiasco; the BWU, Trotman did NOT, and still does NOT have any sound industrial relations principle, to stand on, to have won that case, as Employers also have RIGHTS, which are seldom, if ever mentioned in such disputes, Trotman is so full of PRIDE, his runty arrogance, and racist slight, is so obvious in his facial expressions, as he speaks, his EGO driven personality, is unlikely to offer and duefull apology, No way!

Regarding DI, Trotman did, if I’m not mistaken, say, it WAS 20 employees fired, in fact I think he went so far as to say 30, NOT 7, then he launched INTO his unmistaken RACIAL/RACIST diatribe, about this man being an Egpytian/Jew, etc, etc.,this was clearly a VENTING of what is inside his obvious ‘racist’ heart, boiling for years, disguisting to say the least.

14. Here is what Sir had to say at his press conference yesterday ‘any one who knew him could not call him a racist or anti-Jew’. Is that the point Sir Roy? The point is your remark was inflammatory whether you are anti Jew or not. You are a leader in the labour movement then lead. You should have gone into the meeting with DI and check the damn facts of the case and resolve the dispute. However many of us don’t hold out much hope when we think back to the Royal Shop and Sandy Lane issue and the LIME matter where workers were sent home and call centre establish in St. Lucia despite your intervention.

15. There is a belief that capital can exist without labour and all this talk about captalist can take their money else where is foolishness. The owners of capital look at a number of factors when they want to invest their money; such things as infrastructures, the educational level of the workforce, and economic stability among other things. Thus the talk that people will not come is junk. We have never had a climate where people were afraid to bring their capital to barbados to make huge profits.

By the way, there will always be capital flight, when investor see new markets where they can get a greater returns on investment. By the way, DI is not a producer of goods and the service it provides can be profided by a bajans capitalist. Investors come and go, Intel was here and after tts concessions ran out, what did it do, like many other companies.

16. @ISLAND MY COMMENTS ABOUT PLAYING THE “race card” was in reference to those like DI wHo are using it to villify SIR ROY Triotman. so if you have a problem with that so be it.

17. Sir Roy must stand his ground and don.t be influence by the “subservant mentality of those who would want others to believe you are “Racist” those of us who know you knows better.

18. When the UK said if the Caribbean and Asia would reform LGBT laws and if Trotskie had said we are our own people and cannot be dictated… Suppose the owner of Harrod’s, Muhammad Al-Fayed, said why should we listen to the words of “SOME BLACK ANGLICAN IN THE CARIBBEAN” then Trotskie would want the apology from the entire British Empire including Segundus Regina Elizabeta, aka: QE2

Unions are supposed to be a form of Human rights championing and this runty racist is pontificating when he does not even know how Jewellery stores operate – you are told when you are hired this is a SALES driven job! You are given a target and if in your 6 month probation you do not have at least 3 months with 90% of your quota then you are sent along with a golden handshake, Happened with me, no big deal – I know I am not so fruitful with sales… That is what happened with the 7 let go, if there were 20 who sought Unionisation then Trotskie needs to bring fwd the documentation to support his claim?

The runty racist also needs to answer if he is truly for the common worker then why does he treat his own staff like dirt and not allow them to join or form an association to safeguard their own rights? That knighthood needs to be stripped in a harsh & public manner to teach him and his ilk a severe lesson. The ILO should be made aware of what a retrograde piece of nostril-mucous he truly is!

19. Having only read Caswell’s posit – I ask was there a charge laid against Royal Shop by the said BWU?

BWU continue to leave cases in public domain open and staff unemployed.

Like you Caswell I’ve been in town too long to believe Diamonds and Andy Armstrong. Those HR practices by private co’s that release workers for seeking an employment representative have never re-hired them.

In my opinion, within 3 months the minimum the other 13 will be fired conditionally.

20. @Brief

and this practice has nothing to do with foreigners. All private companies fight to keep their businesses non unionized. We all know it.

21. Onions
    You cannot let one little battle send you into exile. Stand up like the man I thought you were and fight on.
    I am on Trottie side no discussion.

22. My first response to what Sir Leroy said was: ‘he should be fired from BWU; removed from the Senate and stripped of his knighthood.”

Even if he thought of cursing the man you hold back terms that would sound like and use tact and finesse.

I therefore humbly concur with your frankness and am happy that your (Caswell’s) response is here.

Furthermore Diamond’s boss can take a deep breath as he is not fooling Bajans about fearing for his family’s life – if he had he won’t be here. Barbados care for all and sundry and quietly observe the rise to success of non-nationals patronizing their businesses. We don’t care less nor more if you are Hindu, Polish, African, Portuguese, Chinese.

We see person until you behave in a brackish, disdainful manner to disadvantage one of us then we publicly voice our discontent.

We will continue to respect God’s creation and let all men know that though some behave like ‘duh mek duhselves” we know that we know that Almighty God our Creator made each and every people, nation and tongue.

23. Trotman would know from discussions with the employees that something is amidst and the employees do not want their rights infringed and so they sought professional representation. I acknowledge that and fully support the workers with their Union rep to get the best returns for their services including whatsoever benefits they are entitled to or can be given as the company profits.

Trotman has information that we don’t have and if he recognizes that management of Diamonds can enhance the livelihood of the employees (BWU) ought to take their case and get the best treatment for them – I fully support that. His racial comments have nothing to do with BWU’s ability and capacity to represent employees

ALL EMPLOYERS IN BARBADOS MUST ABIDE BY THE LAW OR FACE CONSEQUENCES.

24. Having dealt with Leroy Trotman and the BWU before I can honestly say that Leroy Trotman is a fraud. Always was and always will be. He is now a racists fraud

25. David:

Even Government especially corporations prefer not to negotiate with unions. Yes we are a democratic society but how many agreements are signed between Union and Corporation? Then when there is a problem the management says the agreement was not signed so you can go by that. Totally ignoring ‘implied’ sometimes due to precedence.

Yes, private sectors prefer not to negotiate with Unions. Are Armstrong Agency’s employees unionized, how about Simpson Motors? Quality Motors?

Are workers at Royal Shop unionized yet?

Personally, I shall not rejoin a Union because of certain mannerisms of each party and often unnecessary aggressive approach in negotiation.

LIME the type of aggression was necessary – BSTU ‘no’ not at all – there was an alternative; what was the result of Sandy Lane when workers in support of an employee stopped work?

I agree with anyone who says that there were more win win than losses however, the unionized employees in our country behave like they are a law unto themselves and most do not follow procedure to settle grievances but the Union moves with a sledge hammer most of the time.

26. jew openly discrimminate against black people . I WONDER HOW MANY BLACK BARBADIANS CAN GO TO ISRAEL AND LIVE IN PEACE SIDE BY SIDE WITH JEWS.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cYjuxifYxIc .

27. onions

bf stop pouting and come out. i just cook some corn beef and onions ! Yuh want to share!

28. Taseti:

Share with us now the youtube on Hassid of Diamonds Int’l and his treatment of Barbadian employees.

Will you also share the same on Indians, Chinese, Japanese and all other offshore companies and their treatment of local Barbadian employees?

Honestly, what is your point here?

How many British hate Barbadians and we stayed in UK and worked alongside of them, returned here after retiring most of us wealthy and well-off. Likewise in the US.

DO NOT TURN THE TABLE HERE ON JEWS NOR EGYPTIANS WE ARE DEALING WITH A BARBADIAN MAKING A VISITOR FEEL UNWELCOME BY REFERRING TO HIS ETHNICITY WHICH CANNOT BE CONDONED.

Leroy Trotman was wrong in any language we speak whether we live to hear an apology or not.

BWU still have the majority and can legally be the bargaining unit for Diamonds employees. No reason to go public at this time showing unnecessary anger and mouthing racial slurs. Be respectful, show pride and industry (dignity), measure of decency after you invite the or are invited to meet with the management and hear from the management (Hassid).

29. with times hard employees would suffer more at the hands of employers and remain silent out of fear of losing their jobs. a lot of the time employees are treated in an undignifed manner and keeps quiet and the problem with that is because of the employers influence politically. i have heard employees say that they boss is a SOB and treat the workers like slaves but the emolyer is smart enough to keep division amony the employees which works to his benefit because nobody squeals on him.

30. DO BARBADIANS STOP JEW FROM BUYING LAND IN BARBADOS ?
    DO BARBADIANS STOP JEWS FROM ATTENDING CERTAIN SCHOOL IN BARBADOS ?
    DO WE STOP THEM FROM RENTING /BUYING PROPERTY ?
    JEWS TAKE PLEASURE IN OPPRESSING BLACKS .
    SEE THE VIDEO BELOW.

31. now that we have know that the term “egyptian jew is not a racial slur. but is connected to the jewish population who lives in Egpyt however DI international in its quest to win over the public put its PR propaganda wheels in full motion but bajans illiterate of such liitle know facts should have done a little research before crucifying one of its own .

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/egypt.jews/?tab=s

32. DI is not a producer of goods and the service it provides can be profided by a bajans capitalist

So where are they? Yuh got some in your back pocket? Bajan capitalists ready to invest in Barbados are as scarce as hen’s teeth. That reference to Intel is so dated, Sheraton Shopping Centre now occupies the site that was formerly home to Intel and previous to that was a canefield and part of Adams Castle plantation.

I love it when Bajans say we should do this or we can do that but Bajans are famous for blowing a lot of hot air and don’t do crap and BTW who said the next investor is a “would be” Diamonds?

33. Sarge what you are saying is soo true. It is amazing to hear what they wudda and shudda done and nutting will get done. People love to live in the past and soo afraid to step into the future. We have more cowards than warriors but got nufff hot air as you say. LOLLL. Mediocrity is the standard and if anyone dares to go above that all hell will break loose because they choose to get ahead of the pack.

34. Not That Chris Avatar
    Not That Chris

So Trotti big plan for nuff exposure to push his case to be GG like it backfire?

35. […] more here: Diamonds International: Who's Telling The Truth? | Barbados … This entry is filed under Uncategorized and tagged africa, barbados, business, corruption, crime, […]

36. @David. I decided to slum it and go have a look at BFP this morning. I see that they too have taken up the Trotman matter and I was fascinated by the last of their unusually (for them) high number of comments (59). It reads:

“BFP
    May 6, 2012 at 7:27 am
    Message from Barbados Free Press to our readers:

We’ve allowed the language and racist comments on this post to illustrate the truth of the theme that racism is accepted by far too many people in Barbados.

From this point on we will return to our normal standards where we do not allow racist comments. Please adhere to our rules, or, if you wish to continue making racist comments go to Barbados Underground where such attitudes are defended and even celebrated.

Thanks!

Marcus”

Might this be the SAME Marcus, whose aka is “Marcus Davidoff”, who e-mailed a list of his anonymous commenters’ ISPs to Keltruth so that these commenters could be identified in court proceedings, simply because he (BFP) didn’t like what they said? And this e-mail ended up on the public domain files of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice!! And their price? US$650 per week, it is mooted! Such credibility. BUT, at least BFP can boast that it has acquired the “wisdom” of RR on this issue. Yiiiippppeeee!!!!!

37. @Amused

They are free to run their blog as they see fit. On another note, perhaps rr should do a search if he prefers to blog over there of the word ‘ david simmons’…lol.

38. @David.Maybe he has and he likes the artwork of DS in drag.

39. @ David and amused
    there is a thread on BU talking about “Good sex lives ” how about your input! all this industrial talk raise yuh blood pressure now go cool down a little .

40. Amused; Excellent post above. The info about isp sales to authorities by Marcus Davidoff is very interesting and somewhat frightening. I had a look at the BFP blog for the first time in months this morning and it really has a few very good posts that the BU family should look at as the posts detail, from an insider standpoint, another side to the DI story, especially as related to current DI labour and other practises now in the current economic environment, balancing and putting the other side to Islandgal246’s comments here on DI’s practices in better times and putting Sir Roy’s comments in a better perspective.

41. @checkit-out

Thanks for the feedback, as you know all are invited to contribute to BU. Let us see the outcome of the meeting with the BWU and DI next week. It is clear Sir Roy threw some stupid remarks in the public domain which unfortunately have overshadowed the IR matter.

This link mighht help to put the stupid remarks by Sir Roy in context:

http://robtshepherd.tripod.com/falasha.html

It is all about context. The Egyptian Jew has been a persecuted people and to single out Hassids ethnicity was not complimentary.

Anyway lets move on if we can.

42. LOL @ Checkit-out
    Man did you not listen to Hants?
    Bushie knows practically EVERYTHING!! 🙂

43. @ onions

good morning BF hope you are in a better mood today your are exclusively invited to join me and island girl on the thread which deals with SEX and Couples!
    LUV gf ac

44. oh ! you guys need to stop this nonsense of playing the race card fuh sure it aint going to help the image of barbados for all intended purpose a blind man can see the PR by DI against roy was all about damage control so far it has work but on employee relationship issues DI still has a lot of accountability and answers to address. i hope ROY would hold their feet to the fire and delve into any complaint s level against DI by employees with an “iron fist: after the past few days of political rhetoric and hard ball by DI Roy has his job cut out for him and now is the time for him to step up to the plate and address the public about what he knows about DIa employer/employee relations > DI is not bashful about holding one feet to the fire and Roy should not be ,Enough is enough

45. @ac | May 6, 2012 at 7:18 AM | Where is this discussion? But I warn you, all I can do is peep, cause if I comment, She Who Must Be Obeyed gon lick muh upside down. She got cybernanny pon my laptop.

46. @amused

It is on the side bar under the topic: Housework for men lead to good sex” have fun peeking.