Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

First let me state that I hold no brief for either Sir Roy Trotman, General Secretary of the Barbados Workers Union, or Mr. Jacob Hassid, the owner of Diamonds International. I will therefore attempt to put the recent events involving Diamonds International in perspective in an unbiased way.

During a speech on May Day 2012, Sir Roy Trotman reported that twenty workers were dismissed by Diamonds International because they held a meeting to form a bargaining unit at their workplace. If that were so I could understand Sir Roy’s anger. What I don’t understand is why a person of such eminence would stoop to using a racial slur to make a point. Not only is he the leader of this country’s largest union: he is an honourable member of the Senate. His behaviour would have brought discredit to both bodies. Additionally, it should be abhorred that someone who has received one of Barbados’ highest honours would behave in this manner. He is articulate enough to deliver of himself without offending all right-thinking people in this country.

Having brought his union into disrepute, the Executive Council should disassociate itself from those remarks, and censure him at the very least for his conduct which he made worse by saying that he has nothing to apologise for, as reported in the Nation of May 4, 2012. Also he serves as an independent senator at the pleasure of the Governor-General, who should express his displeasure by declaring Sir Roy’s seat vacant. As a person who was knighted, he is expected to set a positive example: he has fallen way short of that example for which he should be converted back to plain old Leroy Trotman.

I have been around the trade union movement long enough to have some serious doubts about the denials emanating from the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Diamonds International. I have been an active trade unionist since 1982, and in all those years I have never seen workers join a union en masse because they were being well treated by the employer. I have no doubt that the statements issued by both BCCI and Diamonds International were merely a public relations exercise to cover the malpractices in that business that have angered the workers to the point where they would seek union representation.

My abhorrence of Sir Roy’s behaviour aside; I give no credence to the explanation given by Diamonds International for those dismissals. In order to convince me, I would have expected the statement to say that after we have given those displaced workers a number of warnings about their performance; there was no improvement over time; and we were force to terminate their contracts. Anything short of that I would tend to believe Sir Roy.

Diamonds International I do not believe you. It is a crime in Barbados, punishable by a fine or imprisonment or both, to dismiss a worker for joining or proposing to join a trade union.

185 responses to “Diamonds International: Who's Telling The Truth?”

1. Private companies in Barbados will never allow representatives in Barbados to sit in the board rooms, never.

2. @bush tea.
    Bush tea wants to dominate this forum but his reasoning skills are poor.
    Truth , did not say anything hostile to Jews , he only reprinted a qoute from the Jewish Scholar ,Moses Maimonides ,who viewed black people as subhuman ( below men but just above apes ) . In modern times , Jewish Scholars /Rabbis continue to preach this nonsense , see the video posted by Taseti. Racism toward black people appears to be engrained in the minds of Jews. This may explain why they would disrespect / treat black employees poorly.

3. @ David
    “Private companies in Barbados will never allow representatives of the workers in the Boardroom…..” Unless FORCED to do so.

If the unions are unwilling or unable to apply such force then we can all resign ourselves to the demise of unionism and the total exploitation of the workers.

Caswell is of course correct about the difficulty of getting Bajans to change or to accept leadership from within. The reality however, is that incremental change has no chance against foes who are willing to openly bribe politicians, defy attempts to organize workers, disrespect local leaders and display open contempt for their own employees.

The employment rights bill is nothing but a farce. Employers will just “rid themselves of the liabilities” and use the loopholes to get around the bill.

It is revolutionary change or defeat.

4. @Blogger 2012

This is a free forum you don’t have to read anything I write, I couldn’t care less who or what makes you think. It seems that you have an issue with anyone challenges your views but you should be an adult and deal with it.

In another thread you wrote about why tourists visit a country and Hants responded that he had never met a tourist from Canada who visited for the reasons you cited. Instead of acknowledging that this was Hants personal experience you asked him to read some 30 year moth bitten research that you had seen at UWI.

I keep hearing about these “Bajan Capitalists” that you write about, if Cave Shepherd got out of the business why didn’t they step in? Who owns Harrison’s? Why don’t these Bajan Capitalists pool their resources like others do and get involved?

Maybe you can get UWI to write a paper on that.

5. Sir Roy, thanks for standing up for all the drug infected Caribbean national who cannot speak for themselves. When they say you need to apologize, they can only influence those who are younger than you are and lack knowledge of their history. Many may agree with you but their social status is more important…….sadly, like slime, they will benefit from your remarks. The title, Sir, does not come with strings attached, and if it does, return it.

6. @ Ralph Forde

Think back to elections 20 years ago – think, just think of the post Leroy Trotman had and the party he represented.

I left out alot of info here – now consider the knighthood of the said Roy Trotman – and tell if strings were not pull handsomely assisting in the victory of the Government of 14 consecutive years. Then ask about strings………..attach.

There weren’t in Brandford’s case with the late DT but PM Stuart corrected DT’s wrong with no strings attached.

7. @Sargeant

Because they want the white dynasty to continue like how you prefer white domination with banks assiting in it, For your informationm there are always updated studies , but then again, i dont expect you tp comprehend developmental issues, all you can see is the almighty dollar, by the way i dont ask you to read aanything i write, and if you dont understand the issues sorry for you, but you have to have a social consscience, but do you have one, surely not.

I am only an educated dunce with outdated knowledge.

8. Whether we want to admit it or not, Leroy trotman’s statement was very, very inappropriate. I agree with caswell he should be censured by the BWU, but that is highly unlikely as he is the BWU.

9. Sir Roy spoke today after meeting with the CEO of DI.
    He gave a list of the complaints made by DI workers :
    1. DI workers are not paid for overtime.
    2. DI workers are not paid for bank holidays.
    3 Verbal abuse of staff by management in front of customers.
    4 DI is paying local staff at a lower rate than non-national staff for performing similiar duties. ( locals- $800 bds / month vs nonnationals – $2000 bds /month .)

JEW HATE BLACK PEOPLE AND WOULD LIKE TO TREAT THEM LIKE DOGS. BAJANS STAND UP AND FIGHT FOR YOUR RIGHTS , DO NOT ALLOW RACIST JEWS TO COME HERE AND TRY TO TREAT US BADLY .

10. old onion bags Avatar

Thanks unknown…we hearing you..just hold on….

11. Unknown; Did Sir Roy clarify if there were 7 or 20 fired?
    Did he get them to go back to work?
    Are those well dressed bajan “clerkesses” getting only $800.00 bds per month?
    What kind of worker is getting $800.00 per month?
    What are the main nationalities of the foreigners who are getting $2000.00 bds per month?
    What kind of work do they do?
    What is the minimum wage?
    Was the discussion cordial or did he have to cuss the DI man again?
    Did he achieve what he set out to achieve?

12. DI boss told a pregnant empolyee not to get pregnant while working for DI because it is bad for his business , then he fired the young lady. This man is an animal who has no regard for our women. I wonder how DI boss would feel if immigration told his wife she is welcome to Barbados but don’t get pregnant while living here . DI boss and other scum like him should go back to his country .

13. Fire at Harlequin’s Buccament Bay –
    report of arson by unpaid employees

St. Vincent’s I-Witness News is today reporting that a fire at Harlequin’s Buccament Bay Resort “might have been started by disgruntled employees for non-payment of wages.”

……………………………………………………………………………………………….

While barbadians workers remain silent / passive in the face of abuse and non-payment of overtime / holidays by DI . Workers in other countries lke St . Vincent are fighting for their rights.

14. @Unknown

Are you in a position to list some of the employee grievances which may not have made it to the traditional media?

15. Fire at 5-star Buccament Bay Resort

Posted by Kenton X. Chance ⋅ May 9, 2012⋅

KINGSTOWN, St. Vincent – This photo, sent to I-Witness News on Monday, shows employees at the 5-star Buccament Bay Resort in Buccament Bay, South Leeward, using buckets and garden hoses to put out a fire at the resort on Monday.

I-Witness News has so far failed in its attempts to contact the management of the resort about the cause of the fire. However, reports say that the fire might have been started by disgruntled employees for non-payment of wages.

16. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar
    The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall

@BU.David: “Are you in a position to list some of the employee grievances which may not have made it to the traditional media?

Let’s go just a little bit deeper…

1. It’s cheap and easy to make statements here on BU.

2. BU wishes to be taken seriously.

3. Hmmmm….

17. Filipino security guard wins $425,000 in overtime case in LA

27-Mar-12, 1:08 PM | Cynthia de Castro, Asian Journal.

Eight years is a long time for a worker to be exploited, working 24/7, with no overtime pay. But the patience of Filipino security guard Ernesto Salamante finally paid off recently, when he won $425,000 in a lawsuit he filed against his employer.

More than eight years ago, Salamante was hired by a jewelry distributor in Los Angeles to provide security to its premises.

In an apparent attempt to make Salamante work way beyond his eight-hour shift without paying him overtime, the employer provided him a trailer for his living accommodations inside the compound and prodded the Filipino elderly to accept a monthly salary, instead of wages based on an hourly basis.

Unaware of his rights as a worker and worried that he would have difficulty finding another job, the 73-year-old security guard worked every day in the compound, seven days and nights a week.

In addition, he was made to clean the compound’s yard before the employees arrived in the morning and after they have left in the evening, his lawyers said in his lawsuit.

The employer refused to pay Salamante overtime and argued that the security guard position only paid minimum wage.

Salamante sought the assistance of the Division of Labor Standards and Enforcement, which recommended that he hire a private attorney………

18. @unkown

Ok we get where you are coming from, you are in your pulpit.

19. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar
    The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall

@BU.David: “Ok we get where you are coming from, you are in your pulpit.

What I find very interesting is this submission was submitted within seconds of my submitting my post.

I would hate to think you are a vampire….

20. Diamonds International stands by dismissal of staff
    Posted By: admin Published in News.

In a statement published today in the Antigua Sun, the managers of Diamonds International (DI) stated that they were left with no choice but to fire their staff after last Thursday’s strike action.

Twenty employees, mainly women, were given letters of dismissal last Friday when they reported for work after protesting last Thursday because four long-standing employees were to be moved to another branch of the store to work hours they considered would have been outside of their contract and a threat to their work/life balance.

The jewellery company repeatedly called the actions of their staff “alarming” and “distressing” and a “critical breach” of trust and confidence. They said also that the company was enormously damaged in corporate reputation and finances because of the strike.

The statement said, “The catalyst for the alarming events on Thursday was not a complaint about salaries not being paid. It was not a complaint about staff being terminated. It was not a complaint about staff not being paid overtime pay. No. It was the fact that two employees, which only one of them is a senior staff out of a total of 70 had been asked to relocate to our Sandals store to boost sales there and one more sales staff who was asked to relocate to our Redcliff Quay store, two minutes walk from our main store (and with exact same working hours).”

The statement further stated that DI’s management considered the strike a “critical breach of the trust and confidence” that should exist between employer and employees and that the “surprise strike action” had shown plainly that the employment relationship had totally broken down and could not be expected to continue.

It said, “DI therefore exercised its lawful right under the labour laws of Antigua and Barbuda to take the only step left to it by the employees and the union, i.e. termination of the employees that had participated in the demonstration.”

They maintained that staff relocation between branches is practised regularly, without intervention, in Antigua, the wider Caribbean and worldwide and so were at a loss to understand why it was met with such resistance and to understand why their response would result in a call from the unions to revoke their business licence and to not renew the work permits of their management staff.

The latter, they believe, was said in the heat of the moment by the unions and unfortunately without thought to the consequences.

The management made it clear that they acknowledge and support employees’ right to strike, even though the participants had not officially been a part of a union, but that there were accepted procedures that were not followed such as a notice the protest would take place.

The statement stated that the three members of staff who were transferred refused to work as assigned the day before the strike and when asked to work the day of the strike left the premises before a meeting with management could take place and the strike followed after.

Source: http://www.antiguasun.com

21. Diamonds International-Developing Story

Tuesday, 10 March 2009 05:55
    By Aisha Caleb Browne

The management of Diamonds International has been asked by the Labour Department to reverse its decision to dismiss a number of workers who refused to comply with a request to be transferred to another location.
    According to General Secretary of the Antigua Trades and Labour Union, Stafford Joseph, the Labour Commissioner, wrote to the manager of Diamonds to allow the process take its natural course after a failed postponed meeting on Friday.
    Joseph said that management went ahead and took matters into their own hands, even as they and the union were engaged in ongoing talks about the relocation of the workers. “Even without advice from their lawyers they went ahead and committed this cruel act against the workers. And the labour department is asking them to immediately reverse their decision,” Joseph stated.

Workers from divisions of Diamonds International took action on Friday, after management of the company made a decision to transfer a number of employees from downtown St. John’s to their stores located at Dickenson Bay and Sandals.

The workers were protesting that the transfer was last minute and the sudden change to their working conditions conflicts with existing arrangements in their personal lives and they needed time.

Joseph added that the commission has given the employer three days to act accordingly. “What they did was basically a slap in the commissioner’s face, and a total disregard for the industrial relation process in Antigua and Barbuda.”

As a result, the commissioner and the union are in unison that the action of the Diamonds International has raised serious questions about their place in this country. Joseph has since determined that the company needs to close down until the matter is settled……..

Read more: http://www.caribarena.com/antigua/news/latest/2195-diamonds-international-developing-story.html#ixzz1unOH6rhm

22. Comments made by a blogger on the incident with DI in Antigua.
    happy» 2009-03-12 22:59

news flash….DI wants to settle with the 20 employees they FIRED….hmmm…D.I, if you were right with what u did and u consulted with the best lawyers in antigua, why r u trying to settle??????? oh i c, DI was wrong with what they did…..JUST REALIZED IF THEY CLOSE U DOWN U WOULD LOOSE 2 MUCH MONEY….and oh, the person who asked about the 50 employees that are left, well, put it this way, the 20 sacrificed themselves so that they can have a job…and the 50 that remained, sad to say, they’re afraid to stand up for their rights and they’re the WEAK ONES!

Read more: http://www.caribarena.com/antigua/news/latest/2195-diamonds-international-developing-story.html#ixzz1unPnyvRt

23. We are seeing a practice by DI of how it treats its employees which is the point BU has been making from the beginning of the impasse.

Instead we focus on the individual ONLY and not the company.

24. DI were nearly sent packing from Antigua after they unfairly dismissed 20 employees.However , they quickly retreated and settled the matter.
    A similiar situation was unfolding in Barbados and Sir Roy sounded the alarm but DI created a smoke screen to divert attention from the real issues.

ANTIGUA MAY BE SMALLER THAN BARBADOS BUT THEY HAVE BIGGER BALLS WHEN IT MATTERS.

25. Still feel Sir Roy focusing on the person and not the company let them off the hook.

26. David they are not off the hook. I am sure some of the aggrieved employees will be motivated to leak their greivances on BU.

Even better would be if BushTea, Blogger2012,ac and Islandgal246 would go undercover as lovebirds looking to buy trinkets?lol

27. @Hants

BU know Bajans. The environment is now so toxic those employees at DI are running for the hills…lol.

28. @ unknown
    Everyone appears to have bigger balls than Bajans….

@ Hants
    You too like to laugh at Bushie nuh!! NO WAY that the bushman would go undercover looking for trinkets as you suggest.
    ….no problem with going undercover
    …no problem buying trinkets
    …no problem digging up the dirt on DI
    …no problem smiling up in ac face….
    BUT… NOT BUSHIE and that Delilah Islandgal !!! 🙂

29. old onion bags Avatar

unknown | May 13, 2012 at 7:40 PM |

news flash….DI wants to settle with the 20 employees they FIRED….hmmm…D.I, if you were right with what u did and u consulted with the best lawyers in antigua, why r u trying to settle??????? oh i c, DI was wrong with what they did…..
    Six days of blogging ….354 hrs of rocks aimed at Sir Roy…..now a news flash…..already people …..hauling in clothes lines…Ronnie Clarke …the FRY SOCK GENERAL……bring the BBQ sauce n come…..I smell humble pie n BBQ fryed socks for some….
    The number 20 employees. DI…..sounds strangely familiar ….don’t some think.. on another thread of past….and “a shut to hell up.”.hmmmmm Now where is the connection ????? LIZBeth…dis is the BIG ONE baby..bring my Ray-bans..justin case

30. News flash , the PM has finally spoken ,he has no prolblems with the comments made by Sir Roy.
    The Sunday Sun had a poll which stated that most bajans thought the comments made by Sir Roy were offensive.
    DI PR Team probably paying the media houses well to put their side of the story ( they tried the same thing in Antigua in 2009 ) .
    I hope that the comments made by the PM finally bring this debate to a close.

31. SORRY FOR THE MISTAKE – WAS IN A HURRY

32. old onion bags Avatar

The PM has finally spoken ,he has no prolblem with the comments made by Sir Roy.
    Stuart’s comment making Donville look like a …like a ….like a ..[.man a stick help me somebody]..like a

33. Hants ……diamonds are a girl’s best friend they say but I have to put off buying trinkets I have more important things to do like fixing my roof.

34. Carson C. Cadogan | January 19, 2011 at 10:55 PM |

“Today I spoke to a former Foreign Minister of St. Lucia and I asked him what he thought of Owen Arthur’s rant with regards to Mara’s nationality.

He said that he is Personally alarmed at Mr. Arthur’s statements and the people of St. Lucia are shocked and dismayed at the statements made by Owen Arthur.

He said that this is the same man who went up and down the Caribbean claiming to be Caribbean regionalist. This by election, he went on, shows what Owen Arthur really had in him.

He said that the statements which Owen made will bury him, no one in the Caribbean will ever take him seriously again.”

Sir grantley Adams is reported to havesaid that bajans have short memories and it seems that this assertion des indeed have some merit for it is inconceivable to believe that those including Mr Stuart who went the length and breadth of barbados condemning mr arthur for his reference to Mrs Mara Thompson’s nationality in the st john byelection could now see fit to lend MR Trotman their support in his public battle over his reference to an employer as an ‘Egyptian jew’.

Rate

35. Yes, really. So happens. Let’s discuss this question.