Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

First let me state that I hold no brief for either Sir Roy Trotman, General Secretary of the Barbados Workers Union, or Mr. Jacob Hassid, the owner of Diamonds International. I will therefore attempt to put the recent events involving Diamonds International in perspective in an unbiased way.

During a speech on May Day 2012, Sir Roy Trotman reported that twenty workers were dismissed by Diamonds International because they held a meeting to form a bargaining unit at their workplace. If that were so I could understand Sir Roy’s anger. What I don’t understand is why a person of such eminence would stoop to using a racial slur to make a point. Not only is he the leader of this country’s largest union: he is an honourable member of the Senate. His behaviour would have brought discredit to both bodies. Additionally, it should be abhorred that someone who has received one of Barbados’ highest honours would behave in this manner. He is articulate enough to deliver of himself without offending all right-thinking people in this country.

Having brought his union into disrepute, the Executive Council should disassociate itself from those remarks, and censure him at the very least for his conduct which he made worse by saying that he has nothing to apologise for, as reported in the Nation of May 4, 2012. Also he serves as an independent senator at the pleasure of the Governor-General, who should express his displeasure by declaring Sir Roy’s seat vacant. As a person who was knighted, he is expected to set a positive example: he has fallen way short of that example for which he should be converted back to plain old Leroy Trotman.

I have been around the trade union movement long enough to have some serious doubts about the denials emanating from the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Diamonds International. I have been an active trade unionist since 1982, and in all those years I have never seen workers join a union en masse because they were being well treated by the employer. I have no doubt that the statements issued by both BCCI and Diamonds International were merely a public relations exercise to cover the malpractices in that business that have angered the workers to the point where they would seek union representation.

My abhorrence of Sir Roy’s behaviour aside; I give no credence to the explanation given by Diamonds International for those dismissals. In order to convince me, I would have expected the statement to say that after we have given those displaced workers a number of warnings about their performance; there was no improvement over time; and we were force to terminate their contracts. Anything short of that I would tend to believe Sir Roy.

Diamonds International I do not believe you. It is a crime in Barbados, punishable by a fine or imprisonment or both, to dismiss a worker for joining or proposing to join a trade union.

185 responses to “Diamonds International: Who's Telling The Truth?”

1. The following comment was received via email:

When the UK said if the Caribbean and Asia would reform LGBT laws and if Trotskie had said we are our own people and cannot be dictated… Suppose the owner of Harrod’s, Muhammad Al-Fayed, said why should we listen to the words of “SOME BLACK ANGLICAN IN THE CARIBBEAN” then Trotskie would want the apology from the entire British Empire including Segundus Regina Elizabeta, aka: QE2

Unions are supposed to be a form of Human rights championing and this runty racist is pontificating when he does not even know how Jewellery stores operate – you are told when you are hired this is a SALES driven job! You are given a target and if in your 6 month probation you do not have at least 3 months with 90% of your quota then you are sent along with a golden handshake, Happened with me, no big deal – I know I am not so fruitful with sales… That is what happened with the 7 let go, if there were 20 who sought Unionisation then Trotskie needs to bring fwd the documentation to support his claim?

The runty racist also needs to answer if he is truly for the common worker then why does he treat his own staff like dirt and not allow them to join or form an association to safeguard their own rights? That knighthood needs to be stripped in a harsh & public manner to teach him and his ilk a severe lesson. The ILO should be made aware of what a retrograde piece of nostril-mucous he truly is!

2. Now Caswell as a Union HEAD you must keep your eye on the ball and don’t be drawn in by the cheap tricks that companies like Diamond International would use to break the back of the Unions. Using the race Card against SIR ROY is one blatant attack and on all out attempt to do so. It has always work. However people like your self must be constantly aware that it is a long time a coming and once the door is open it would be hard to close instead of jumping on the bandwagon of what Sir Roy said and its effect or non-effect one must b stay focused on these Companies treat their employees > SIR ROY is not the problem but it is symptomatic of a growing trend among employers of how they are going to disorganise and divide a country against the Union . look out Caswell You might be necxt!

3. @ac

You have it all wrong, it was Sir Roy who used the term ‘Egyptian Jew’ which to all reasonable interpretation is a racial slur. Whether he meant it is moot and he should apologize to the man when they meet next week.

4. Well you are on the wrong side of this issue and next week you will see a photo op with both Sir Roy and Hassid smiling. It is all a ploy by Sir Roy to intimidate.

5. Apologize for what . However knowing Mr Trotman he would do so. Even though he meant no offense , However Diamonds has achieved its objective by weakening Mr. Trotman who would forever be seen as a racist. Like i say Bajans need to be LOYAL and beware of hidden agenda by people whose only interest is self and could not give a hoot about anybody but there fat Rich arsees and voluminous bank accounts workers can go to hell .Polling out the Race Card ! give me a break. When last did Diamond Stand up publicly for A wage hike for its workers.

6. @ David

Agreed. Sir Roy should have, and still should, publicly apologise for using that term. For him to argue he was not being racist or offensive is disingenuous and unbelievable. We all make mistakes in the heat of the moment, and he was clearly angry at the time he was making the statement on May Day.There is no harm in admitting that one has erred, even if you are a prominent Senator and Trade Unioninst such as Sir. Roy.

7. ac you must be aware that Diamonds International does not have a history of laying off staff unlike many others. As reported in the media DI never sent home staff through the recession. You have to deal with the specifics of this issue and stop the generalizations.

Sir was wrong to use the term. He needs to go home. There is a new approach required to managing industrial relations in Barbados instead of his 1960s modus.

8. Wether they smiled and hug is not going to remove the blemish that Diamonds has placed on the Back of Sir Roy as those who write history would placed it along in the historical archives of his story as one of his low points. nothing would be mentioned about his apology for like i say Bajans must back their own !

9. Words must be seen in context, therefore it cannot be reasonably argued that the words alleged to have been used by Sir Roy Trotman would not offend a large number of people. However, to suggest that he should be summarily dismissed from the Public positions he holds “now” seem unjustified . The course of justice must work for both parties before, any drastic action is contemplated by a Senior Figure to censure Sir Roy.

He – Sir Roy – should be given an opportunity to explain himself. A meeting of minds might conclude a “fulsome” apology is needed, if that is forthcoming, then the workers of Diamonds International can then have their perceived grievance addressed.

In seeking justice for one party we must ensure justice is done to others, we should not allow a by-product of the Diamonds International workers grievance to prevent them from having their case heard.

“I do not know Sir Roy Trotman”.

10. old onion bags Avatar

Who got beef wid who…that is their problem. today being Saturday is puddin n souse to be exact…2 big able bowl of puddin with nuf nuff pickle speckle wid hot nigga peppers and a COKE.hmmm ………. Gettin back to post….but sometimes the black man’s worse enemy is often his once friend….beware the petard blows both ways. Sir Roy like ac ….your intentions are good don’t mind some of these invaders of a third kind,,I would never buy a diamond ring again from DI…one also needs to talk to a staff member (any if they would talk)…..they ain’t D nicest

11. @onions

There you go again spouting. DI it is recorded has not sent home people in 17 years. Whether the company is not the best as you suggest has nothing to do with the racial slur by Sir Roy. Give the BU family credit for godsakes.

12. old onion bags Avatar

still waters run deep….my friend

13. Listen whatever there history is is not the point of focus it is what they have done to capatalise and generate a negative reacationfrom the response given by ROY .and to show how mean and vindictive they can be they did not hesitate pull out the race Card and now the issue becomes Sir Roy and not Diamond. in other words don;t look at us we are not the bad guys it is SIR ROY and i for one not going along with them. Sir Roy history for people right wehther iut be civil or workers rights far outweighs diamonds or any business that operates under these shore so those few insignificant words not going to sway me from seeing what is at play here . .You people really are amazing.

14. Whether Sir Roy has been at the vanguard of peoples rights is not relevant. He made a racial slur when he referred to the man’s ethnicity and he should apologize unconditionally.

15. old onion bags Avatar

A lil bird just call on the phone….they told me to check out about someone race and ethnicity and while I was at it origins before furthering my lines…..guess what ? ..this newcomer did…..now I in shock n awe…word to the wise

16. old onion bags Avatar

If I remember right a blogger Lizbeth…came with the news of the 20 workers to this blog….2 days or so ago…pagan to the truths..or plant to the fore ?

17. @Casewell. An EXCELLENT blog. Balanced and thoughtful. Kudos to you. Shows your true stature. Casewell for PM!!!!!

However, next time, can you write something with which I can violently disagree? Far more amusing for us both that way, I feel.

18. You see David that is what i meaning. Now only what is relevant is what Diamond did to weaken Sir Roy image and for sure with people like you nand your pseuo intellectual intelligence his place at the bargaining table would also be weaken too! Check mate! Diamonds !

19. @onions

To be clear here is what Lizbeth had to comment:

Submitted on 2012/04/30 at 8:58 PM

Just heard that DIAMONDS INTERNATIONAL fired a bunch of workers today when the boss found out that they met with the Union. Let we all hope this is not another Royal Shop.

Workers whether Union or not must shout that this cannot do in “Our Barbados”, Decent employers must shout that this is not what we practise in “Our Barbados”.
    We got to fight for our Barbados, people! Tomorrow is Labour Day.

20. islandgal246 Avatar

“I would never buy a diamond ring again from DI…one also needs to talk to a staff member (any if they would talk)…..they ain’t D nicest

LOL Onions you sure it was a diamond ring you bought there? Or you just trying to impress us? LOLL I have many friends who work there and I have worked for two of the other foreign Jewelry businesses. When things were good with the tourist spending salaries were fantastic, many people including myself were taking home between $5-10,000.00 a month. In these times salaries are not as good only the best sales people will survive. Their salaries are commission based. So keep talking rubbish, many of these sales are from Tourist and very little from locals. Christmas time is the only time locals would buy jewelry (many duty free). I know many sales associates have been able to build their homes CASH without asking the bank for penny from their salaries alone. We all had targets, realistic targets I may say. There are many incentives to staff to encourage more sales much more than local businesses off to their staff. Sales Associates were trained before they were allowed to sell and that is only when they made a basic salary or stipend. I have worked as a Manager and as a Sales associate in that industry. As a manager when my store made target I received a bonus sometimes matching my salary plus I made commission when I sold anything. Onions you talking nuff shoite as per usual! And AC you too talking nuff poop this morning.

21. Sir Roy’s case and the BWU will be argued based on whether DI can provide evidence that 30 workers were fired as a result of trying to join the union. Or was it 20, or 7?

It will have nothing to do with what you suggest.

22. old onion bags Avatar

I remember reading 20 workers boss…

23. You got that right ac, plus it seems that when ever anyone has to say anything about a so called “jew”, that person is automatically anti-semite. Apologise for what. Sir Roy made mention of the man’s previous homeland, and his faith, to show that we as Bajans welcome people from all over to come and share this rock. How many “jews” do you think live in Egypt now? Why did he move from Egypt to Barbados? All that Sir Roy is pointing out is that the man is a foreigner, who left his homeland for a better life and that we in Barbados have laws and measures in place to protect our workers’ rights. The man in question then has the gall to say (excerpt from NationNews.com) “I think it has further implications about Barbados, racism, the treatment of foreign investors and fairness in general,”
    What sort of poppit he could be, does he know how much jews live here? Many, and they are prospering in all aspects. If things were so bad, why havent we heard an outcry from the jewish community. Stupse, If he feels threatened he should go back to Egypt.

24. islandgal246 Avatar

“All that Sir Roy is pointing out is that the man is a foreigner, who left his homeland for a better life and that we in Barbados have laws and measures in place to protect our workers’ rights.”

I wonder how many Bajans have left Bim to seek a better life?

25. old onion bags Avatar

Look IslanG……why don’t you listen for a lil birdie to call you before ..forming wrong persona of people…..n Caswie hmmmmmmm ?

26. @ David
    LOL don’t go and make old onions look good now. Why not wait on the facts?
    If Bushie have to make a blind choice Trottie have a big edge right now…. The bushman is prepared to give a lot of slack to people who represent the masses and the weak.

It is amazing that some of us see such a big deal that ONLY 7 were dismissed rather than 30…. If the cause is as alleged? ONE would suffice…
    You of all people should be able to see beyond the employer’s PR glitz about ” only 7″ so Trottie is WRONG….!!
    …and what the hell is this outrage about the man being an Egyptian and Jew? Is he an Israeli Arab instead?

27. old onion bags Avatar

Some one came in hay with numbers of 20….Libeth..now We see some amended version ..what for ? …what if 60..what if 10…bare shitz …we go play this one for the mentalized an crass souls….to all the girls we dream puddin n sousey love before….wha loss Trottie Onions n Co. got your back dawg..dem ain’t nah contest den..lol

28. @ac
    what Diamond did to weaken Sir Roy image”

Surely the only person to do that was Sir Roy himself. No excuses can be made for spouting the racial epithet. Remember the last time he went out on a limb with all kinds of pronouncements and threats? Have we heard any more about Royal Shop and Sandy Lane? Steupse!

29. @David

if u refer to you ar a barbadain white or black am i racist or am i reference your ehnicity?

30. Caswell; Excellent balanced post. Sir Roy should have taken his retirement when it came due. He should stop pretending that he has only remained at the helm of BWU because he has been requested to do so. I wonder who at BWU will corroborate that?

Re. the DI side of it, we need to hear more on why the 7 were fired. Is there a paper trail that shows that it was totally performance related? Why did the firings happen after the union meeting? coincidence? I take Islandgal246’s points also but in the toxic economic environment we now face, even though DI seems to be a model employer, we need to examine why 7 workers were sent off at one time. Something seems fishy.

31. The facts coming out of the meeting will speak the truth. None of us are privy to that yet.

What I do know is that if the table was turned & Sir Roy was referred to in a racial slur, it would be all shit and stones in Barbados.

We let each other use degrading words to each other however when another race uses it on us it is problem. We have to respect ourselves.

I have always wondered what would happen if the whites had some of the following: “White Entertainment TV”, ” The White Carpet”, and the list goes on.

This crap goes both ways, however some of us only have one eye open.

32. @Onions

This is a warning by suggesting BU doctored the comment. Those who subscribe to email notification knows otherwise. Now check your email notification and shut the hell up.

@Bush Tea

We have to separate the issues. The racial slur has nothing to do with what will be discussed at the meeting between DI and BWU next week. We have this tendency to get emotional sometimes.

@Blogger2012

Are Blacks in Barbados a minority group? Do you ignore that the slur was uncalled for in the rather unstable industrial climate which exist? Do you appreciate the sensitivity of using the word Jew?

33. old onion bags Avatar

Frigg you David …ban or no ban I know what i read !!

34. @onions

Will repeat, put up the evidence or back off. The comment of Lizbeth was made available. Search for another comment which rebuts or back off. You or any other commenter who has email notification on can verify.

35. old onion bags Avatar

As a matter of fact…have the keys to my license…Onions out fa good…
    DAMM STRAIGHT….BAN INSTITUTED..SELF IMPOSED!!!!

36. @bk

You got that right ac, plus it seems that when ever anyone has to say anything about a so called “jew”, that person is automatically anti-semite. Apologise for what. Sir Roy made mention of the man’s previous homeland, and his faith, to show that we as Bajans welcome people from all over to come and share this rock. How many “jews” do you think live in Egypt now? Why did he move from Egypt to Barbados? All that Sir Roy is pointing out is that the man is a foreigner, who left his homeland for a better life and that we in Barbados have laws and measures in place to protect our workers’ rights. The man in question then has the gall to say (excerpt from NationNews.com) “I think it has further implications about Barbados, racism, the treatment of foreign investors and fairness in general,”
    What sort of poppit he could be, does he know how much jews live here? Many, and they are prospering in all aspects. If things were so bad, why havent we heard an outcry from the jewish community. Stupse, If he feels threatened he should go back to Egypt.

Having stated all of the above how is it relevant to the issue on the table? Did DI fire 30, 20 or 7 people because they tried to organize? Bear in mind Sir stated 30 and the company says not.

37. islandgal246 Avatar

LOLL Onions you are going into self imposed EXILE? I wonder how long that will last?

38. @Onions and David,
    Doubt Onions will reply to this now however, this is the problem we have, people make statements and then have an issue when asked to substantiate them with facts. This is the Barbados culture of “GOSSIP & always talking garbage about things that they DON’T have the facts for”.

Maybe if Sir Roy had waited for the Facts, through the holding of a meeting with DI, then he wouldn’t be in this position.

I have no problem with Onion going, you are dealing with people’s integrity additionally, what is so wrong with simply providing the link? Are we to big for that? Are we any different to an employer who doesn’t feel they have to meet with the Union?

I agree with you David, bring the facts or shut the hell up. Blogs are a serious thing and you cannot be bandying around foolishness.

Now, I may be totally wrong, Onions may have something, however his actions don’t so indicate. If he does, please accept my sincere Appologies for this post.

39. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Micah (7:00 A.M)

You summed up the issue excellently. Well said!

Amused

Thank you. I will try to please you. I usually enjoy our exchanges.

40. Context people context.

41. @enuff

Please expand man …lol

42. Just one link that might help some of us to understand what the term egyptian jew means;
    http://jewishrefugees.blogspot.com/2005/05/egyptian-jews-story.html

There is lots of other information on egyptian jews on the web.

It would appear that “egyption jews” are a distinct branch of the jewish family tree that are not accepted as being quite “kosher” by the main dominant branch of jewry (perhaps they are darker skinned like the long lost tribe from africa some of whom were repatriated to Israel and have essentially become hewers of wood and drawers of water there), with a history of persecution and of being expelled from a number of middle eastern countries.

There does seem to be a negative connotation to being called an egyptian jew but not as great as being called a “jew” in many parts of the world since “jew” connotes a somewhat privileged, wealthy class protected by God who think they can do no wrong. In fact therein might lie the apparent offence taken by the DI owner in having the term “egyptian jew” applied to him. Perhaps he might not have taken offense if he were instead called a jew as afaik “jew” is not normally used as a racist term in Barbados. Didn’t the great EWB call himself a Jew and claim that his name should indeed be Baruch?

Anyhow, despite the above, I think that, knowing the sensitivities of the situation and the expectations of his position, Sir Roy should not have called the man an egyptian jew. I think he should apologize. I think he should also retire but for another reason.

43. @checkit-out

Thanks for the link.

44. islandgal246 Avatar

Sir Roy’s utterings were filled with disdain, any right thinking person will take that as racist or prejudicial. There are protocols in place on how to behave in a public forum and Sir Roy should be well versed in these protocols with the number of years experience he has under his belt. He has become careless and has set a very BAD precedent for Union members and Barbados. He has added to our downward spiral.

45. Egyptian JEW so where is the racial slur.it is not like being called a “Nigger” for all intended purposes Roy comments were blown out of piorpotion to support the few under the disguise of those who would support discrimination and trampled overthe rights of the minority.so speaks of “European jew” or Russian jew that depites racisim fuh goodness sake people all races have been linked to their homeland however when the race card is available why not pull it out.In an attempt to silence themessage

46. The idea that “we” are always right and it matters not what we say because we must stick together as Bajans or Blacks, is flawed and simply wrong.

Bajans are capable of being wrong as are any other nationality, race or ethnic group. To run with the idea that we should always ignore any perceived slights to others, because we have suffered over centuries and still do today in some instances, can never justify.

This is a position which will not find favour, if one is intent on appealing to popular sentiment. However, you take a firm position on what you “believe”….others will no doubt do as they see fit.

47. @ David
    I thought what I said was self explanatory.
    “Egyptian Jew” maybe the correct description of the DI gentleman’s ethnicity and nationality, but Sir Roy used that term to portray him negatively.

48. “fuh goodness sake people all races have been linked to their homeland however when the race card is available why not pull it out”

AC you are one ignorant piece of work. Anyone who supports playing the race card because others have used it reflects how little we have grown as a people. It is a SAD SAD day when I hear this coming from people like you.

49. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Harrod’s, If Muhammad Al-Fayed,the owner of Harrods (or anybody else) called me a black Anglican woman from the Caribbean I would not be at all offended, because that is who I am.

However if he called me an idiot…

50. @David

Blacks are not the minority, Does is means that the refereince to ehtnicity or nationaltily would only be in order based on whether that group is in the majority or not. So if a whte uses the term bajan black is okay because we are in the majority?

David i do not agree with you the use of the word jew is sensitive. I go to new york and i hear the jews refer to themselves as jews and they are not the majority.

As someone sitting in the senate or being a knight i would not publicly use such a term, but let us face reality, we need to deal with the issue of race and class in this society. Whites talk disparingly about blacks in this society because of their priveledge positon as the dominant economic force. Many years ago i worked in a white controlled institution and use to hear the snide remarks,
    Lets us agree to disagree on this matter.