Pat Hoyos

Many have been asking what is it Pat Hoyos said on last Sunday’s Brasstacks which caused Minister Denis Kellman to exact an immediate apology. Here is what BU can confirm.

Last Sunday during the airing of the Brass tacks programme, listeners heard Pat Hoyos [moderator] make an apology to Minister Denis Kellman and many wondered what it was that Mr Hoyos had said that caused him to make the apology. It has now been found out. During a break, and unknown to Hoyos and the others appearing on the programme, one of whom was Mr Clyde Mascoll [Barbados Labour Party chief spokesman on economic matters], that the line was still open to Mr Kellman, Hoyos remarked in relation to the Minister Kellman “I give he five minutes and he talking bare shite “. Kellman insisted on an immediate apology before continuing his contribution. The apology immediately came from Hoyos.

Certainly VOB cannot allow this man Hoyos to continue to disrespect persons who do not share his views .

What is his agenda ?

1. ac- your comments not reply to my questions are totally speculativ (one would assume that as leader of the party or organisation OSA would be permitted such a privilege as to have e), i asked you specific questions. please answer them.

2. @ balance.

Like i pointed out to you in my comment that your analogy does not support what hasppened inthe OSA case . on a person to person basis the answers would supportative however there is a flaw in your trying to present the two situations as similiar when indeed they are not and therfore i am inclined to believe that giving you the answer that you want would be incorrect,

3. @balance you seem willing to condone OAS lack of integrity and unetical practices with the cheque and using a scenario which only lends credit ifthere were no no other alternative method for dealing with such a transaction whith OSA there were. OSA lack of integrity and unethical practices were officially stamped the day he deposited that check in his personal bank account and there is no getting around it

4. @David

can u tell me if there was a lead blog on the abandonment of the eldery on bu. i have put together something but wont want to have u upload it, if something was done before

5. Ac- i am willing to withdraw if you can tell me if the cheque was written to OSA or the BLP and if it was wriiten to the BLP and OSA purportedly cashed the cash as intimated by you that he pocketed the money and did not hand it over to the party.

6. @balance
    It doesnt matter to Whom the cheque was written the matter is the purpose of the check and the manner in which it was handled by OSA.i remember that upon OSA returning to the leadership of the BLP he was quick to accuse MIA of inappropriately using funds intended for campaign funding when she was the leader the same measuring stick which he conveniently used for political gain he should have used to measure himself before depositing the cheque. BTW balance your above question could have been”which came first the chicken or the egg?

7. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    i am willing to withdraw if you can tell me if the cheque was written to OSA or the BLP and if it was wriiten to the BLP and OSA purportedly cashed the cash as intimated by you that he pocketed the money and did not hand it over to the party.
    Who cash the $3.3 million David Thompson …CLICO sent cheque ?
    Or was it TOO BIG……and had to be handled by transfer to LP.

While ya at it ………..tell we how many MORE went the thru the DT Assoc.shell..siphoning out the POOR PENSIONERS money…..I think you need go read this Sunday Sun newspaper especially that of 76 year old Mrs.Mayhew, for some empathy and stop playing politics with OLD PEOPLES lives… again SHAME on you and ALL like you

8. An Observer.. Avatar

@ David : 31 March , 2012 at 8.53 A M
    “Can anyone spot the unprofessionalism in the extract ”
    It might really be a case of spotting the PROFESSIONALISM among the unprofessionalism in the extract .
    You will recall RPB’s reference in one of his songs to ” the road in the potholes ” ? LOL . We may have a parallel here . Peace my brother .

9. I am getting a rare opportunity to listen to the Brass tacks propramme being moderated today by Pat Hoyos. It was a matter of great interest that Mr Hoyos was only too willing to engage a caller who was expressing the same political views as he expressed in his column on Sunday last but gave very short shrift to one caller who sought to challenge some of the said views ; in fact he said that he was unprepared to get into any political debate with the caller . I found it very difficult to reconcile that approach by this moderator . Certainly , as a moderator who poses as being party-neutral he has to be more evenhanded and less obviously partisan . I thought that VOB had moved away from employing that kind of moderator .

10. old onion bags Avatar

Don’t worry Observer
    Old Onions may soon get a call up pick to a spot…and rid this travesty that goings on denn.Hope to hear you calling in then Ok, buddy an Ole friend.
    Condolences to Coleridge Pilgrim’s family from BU.

11. An Observer.. Avatar

@ old onion bags.
    I prefer not to call and be caught up in the political clap-trap. I join you you in sending condolences to the said family ; Coleridge Pilgrim was a fine man. Peace my brother .

12. old onion bags Avatar

Man Observer….where is your sense of humor ..that last submission was meant to be a joke.

13. Pat hoyos article in the Nation is arepeat of his yesterday poop on VOB if he knows so much about economics why wouldn.t he throw his hat into the political ring intead of hiding behind a microphone and talking crap to the seven or eight BLP listeners he enterains with his sh….t

14. old onion bags Avatar

When the DLP Govt go get its priorities right ? Almond more important than Four Seasons…a ghost town of rubble..a bird in hand , and not concrete in bush…lol…don’t pick the wrong one please…

15. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

It is a known fact that the editors at the Nation have consistently tried to attack this government while promoting the current opposition.Just read every article from Nation editor Sanka Price and it is clear for all to see.

Check this case:
    The opposition leader spoke to some of the BLP faithful at a meeting at Roebuck Street on Sunday, April1, 2012.
    Monday, April 2 – Page 3 of the Nation; Tuesday, April 3- page 3 of the Nation,Wednesday, April 4 – the politics section of the Nation ,Thursday, April 5 – Quotations from the speech repeated on page 11,
    One little meeting with no earthshattering news or new revelations by the BLP leader gets FOUR CONSISTENT DAYS OF COVERAGE !

It is becoming clear to all that the BLP leader has a direct connection to the Nation newsroom and editorial.How else can one explain giving 4 days of coverage to one meeting at Party Headquarters where only one other MP was present and nothing new revealed.
    You really have to read the Nation now trying to separate legitimate news from BLP PR.

16. Just to set the record straight (before the firing squad gets to work), my company’s VAT is fully paid up, and second, I am not being sued by anyone, anywhere, for anything. Neither is my company.
    As for Mr. Kellman, I do think he has made a good contribution to the public debate over the years. When he called in at 24 minutes past twelve that Sunday, I gave him up to newstime to speak uninterrupted because the programme was unable to get a representative of the DLP to come into the studio that day.But as a moderator, I was not satisfied with the level of his contribution, perhaps because I unfairly expected him to try to represent the party as a whole when he had called up on his own to make whatever points he wanted to.
    And not that it matters much now, but I did not say the expletive quoted, as I never use the term for anything, but I probably said something like ‘nonsense’.
    I would agree with all of you that I have a lot to learn about broadcasting and that it is probably too late now, but I try to do my best in the hot seat of the moderator’s job when asked. When I go on air, whatever broadcasting/moderating/debating skills or lack thereof I have come through for all to see. It is a price I pay for trying to make my contribution to the public debate if asked to do so. And judging from the terrible things some of you have said about me (my fellow Barbadians, don’t be so cruel) it seems like it is a heavy price indeed!

17. old onion bags Avatar

@ Broad St journal
    Man boss what you write this above shite for.?? You is a man wid money you dont want no p#ssy $ 50 a hour to listen to DLP yard birds…..Man If the man duz talk shite he duz talk shite 90 % of Barbados would agree wid Onions…. doa they won’t all admit.Kellman means well .But he duz B jumpimg IN on the wrong tings man.Ask Kellman why 90 % of we had no fish yesterday,,,,..YES YES is he fault when all boil down… Almighty Kellman why the fisher folks had to got home with no money in dem pockets?…YES YES is your fault !…The man get paid for a job incomplete and he going down with that legacy… D NO FISH MAN…mark Onions words. About Kellmanomic…cheezon…it boggles..D man duz come up wid some tings….check dis one..Four Season debate..Kelli holla….if we invest the $ 40 Mil in the FS project we will get back it in NIS contributions paid alone to the workers…Oh loss. Kelli boy I think you better write a book call it “Of Balls and Bullocks”…Chapter 1 ..How to holla hard when ya aint know what ya talkin bout.Chapter 2 How to talk shite and sound good talkin. Chapter 3. What D Fu#ck wanna want so much fish for anyway. Chapter 4.I don’t give two iotas bout who get fish …D Fisherman PuB is mine and i duz get fish .Chapter 5. When D king did alive..he did like me so F#ck all a wanna.I is king now.Chapter 5b. Ain’t Retribution a Bitch He HE.Chapter 6. So wait what wanna expect I had to hush my mout for so long..now is my time.Chapter 7. If George Bush could talk Sh#te so can I but longer.Chapter 8 How to Talk Sh#te and have fun doing it.Chapter 9. Chapter 10. The Gospel According to Kellman : I plan to open a Tapilia Farm is St.Lucy..Ya jokers ! Chapter 11.I plan to buy Almond Village..wanna dun know.Chapter 12 THE END neareth for the ressa DEM jokers..but I shall keep My seaT. who is d jokers now ?

18. Pat Hoyos should realise that is job as moderator is just that and not one of being a political yard flow for one side or the other which leaves a glaring hole of suspicion in the minds of the listener a hole which Pat has worsened by his insulting mouthings of kellman in the presence of the panel. He ought to be ashamed of himself no amount of “whitewashing” is going to correct that the evedience is out ande the jury has already deliberate on knowing what is Pat Hoyos AGENDA. In my opinion he should recuse himself as a moderate from future political debate as he is unable to restraint himself from taking a fair and unbiased opinion on political matter

19. old onion bags Avatar

You all is bare boo ..doa. When Maurie Holder did have a microphone leak…nah body din blowin ting up like K2…But who cares….its a dun deal a spade blessed a spade,,,,,the ole sayin D trute duz come out..Oh Loss..
    and ya know what MORE Blunders gine happen…remember CBC ..OOh Ahh OOh Ahh.. ah cumiin,,,ya know why ?…ANYTHING GOES BOUT tis place NOWADAYS…. and the workers behind these instrument gettin like eva body else and FALLING SLEEP PUN THE JOBS…

20. old onion bags Avatar

So wait wha wanna ting gine happen when I start MODERATING….wanna dun know Onions ain’t EZ…

21. old onion bags Avatar

Cheezon breds D audacity of some peoples

22. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Wait!! ole oninons. Kellie book available on amazon?

23. thebroadstreetjournal wrote, “But as a moderator, I was not satisfied with the level of his contribution, perhaps because I unfairly expected him to try to represent the party as a whole when he had called up on his own to make whatever points he wanted to.”

The listening public will judge the level of the contribution.

Some of us have differing opinions as to who talks more shiite. The moderator or Mr.Kellman

24. Seems to be to be a lot of yard fowls commenting and showing their partisan prejudice. wanna doan remember that he a D? that he used to get wash in cuss by Owing when he criticised that then GOB? Wunna juss can’t handle any licks…. wait wunna got bear partisan media channels and can’t tek no licks from anywhere else? Watchout! Higher monkey climb show he tail!

25. When last anybody hear Kellman mouth since the Conference at George St. He like he get the silenced treatment….good thing too…also Pat cool down a lot ….he also get a slap from StarCom it seems.

Now the GoGB say we need forex…..which one its is STABLE or SHAKEY’S… hear them fish cakes used to be big too.

26. Hoyos ole boy,

See what I tell you man….. Kellman duz talk bare shoite….you hear him lately ?…Manufacturing increase 25 % in 6 month……GOCB, call him out for the joker he is….ya see ya see…YOU DID RIGHT !