Submitted by HAMILTON HILL
Noel Lynch in action at Haggatt Hall on BLP platform

Although Prime Minister Stuart has not yet made known the date of this country’s next general elections, the Barbados Labour Party and particularly its leader Master Tactician Owen Arthur found a way to announce, at least from their vantage point, the start of “The Silly Season”. What else is there to deduct from the charade that given its hype, turned out to be nothing more than a storm in a teapot?

At the very same Bussa Roundabout in January of 2009 persons gathered there were given a dose of the aphrodisiac labelled Dialogue Of Deception and Bajans were in bed with the Democratic Labour Party. Last Sunday they gathered for what in the truest sense of the the word was nothing more than “OWEN’S MEACULPA.” (miaculpa). Gone was the hostility that became his trademark of late, replaced by the all important need to present a united front.

Sunday night Owen Arthur’s zeal said forget Geritol, there is potency in opportunism. Did he not think we wanted to hear from his lips the status and future plans for the one he appointed as co-leader and broke the camel’s back in the first place? Such might have been as weak and lame as the explanation given for the cheque that found its way into his personal account, but it was warranted none the less. Much time was spent in his attempt to show government’s blatant disregard for law, as if this were a new phenomenon in Bajan politics.

Permit me to call to the Gentleman’s attention the fact that it was his party that built the school in St.Michael Central against the advice of the chief town planner, and then shifted the zone lines without regards to the consequences contained therein. That single action cost the tax payers perhaps three times more than it would have cost for the removal of any posters.

From where I sat Kerrie Symmonds who was heard to say “I always tell the truth man!” came over as a better listen than his leader. He tried to stay on point and would have gained more credibility if only he could have found the gumption to tell his audience when was there dissipation of the cloud that has followed Noel Lynch through Starcom’s doors since he spoke best to the issue of transparency.

At the end of the night all that one could glean through the lens of objectivity was the simple fact that the Barbados Labour Party bunch did what Barbadian politicians do best. Tell their party faithful what they want to hear. What they do however is always something else—-just ask the faithful fools like me that made the trek to Bussa back in 2009.

Something tells me ah got nuf cumpny, nuf nuf.

1. Rambo Junglebunny Avatar
    Rambo Junglebunny

Does FS know that the business group (merchant men) who want to rid Barbados of him as PM know that they are backing two groups? CS heads one and RS the other? If you find CS and RS hiding are they not usually hiding with Bjerkham, Tempro and Maloney?

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Dennis Johnson | March 8, 2012 at 3:32 PM |

If you are the “real’ McCoy you can expect your secret admirer “BAFBFP” to be wishing you to stay in tune. Mr. Anti-America would become little Dennis the son of John.

3. I t’inkin’ ’bout runnin’as a’ Independent against Richard Sealy (present Prime Minister of Barbados), in St Michael South Central. I don’ cay ef I tek lashes, there has got to be a return to Independents having a real chance of beating some of these asses that the “Parties” put forward and if I believe in my own words I should be prepared to face the music. Who knows, if I win a seat in a close election, there might be a chance of effecting REAL change from the inside …

Wah you think David:?

4. Miller I feel I should run as a Independent, dah is how pationate I feel ’bout the distrust these political parties have developed of time … Wah you t’nk? (U feel I is the Anti-Amercan ..? Man you should wash out yah mout, 🙂 )

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 8, 2012 at 1:55 PM |
    “The way how OSA treats his ministers is enuff to make anyone maniac.”

In case you don’t realize, OSA is no longer the PM. He has been without a ruling Cabinet since 16th January 2008.
    Stop living in the past, will you, please?

6. @BAFBFP

One must have pioneers to blaze the trail.

7. Fractured BLP Avatar

The BLP will remain in opposition for a very long time.

Owen Arthur recognising this fact , chose to ” meet ” Mia Mottley in Haggat Hall ….rather than in Independence Square…when he declared only a fortnight ago is the only place the TWO shall meet.

And the BLP lilliputians on this BU site think that Bajans cannot see the BLP shennanigans !

Wunnah wait till Barbadians are told what Owen Arthur said at the Pegasus Hotel in Jamaica !

Wunnah think the changing of Zone 1 Lands to Zone 2 or
    the $ 750,000.00 campaign cheque was a mess ?

Wait till the tape roll on the Pegasus story .

8. Whether they be past future or soon to be These people are cabinet representatives and OSA is the Leader of the BLP And he has shown over and over again a blatant disrespect for them .I surely would Pray for Eastmond and MIA too

9. It is interesting that the BLP went to the same location where the dearly departed one, DT, said “I will not lie or steal” but we are now finding out that in itself was a lie as he conspired with his buddy LP to steal the policy holders money.
    I will continue to repeat that his grave should be dug up and the remains taken across the border to Dodds.

10. David

Suppose in the very unlikely event that I succeed against the status quo, you feel dat I could refuse to make a oath statement pledges allegiance to a British Queen and her ears (or nose)? You think that I would be allowed into the House if I refuse to utter those words even though I would have been legally elected by Barbadians? That for me would be the impossible ask …! But still toying with this notion…

11. No woman especially those who were ever abused in anyway going to ever think that OSA was brillant in asking MIA to answer to the budget the first word that comes to mind is “Used”

12. @BAFBFP

The Queen is head of State.

13. David

You is a Royalist …. Man declare yah hand man …;)

14. @BAFBFP

Just reminding you of the current state of play, a pity Arthur never followed through on the Republic.

If we have the confidence to go CCJ why not Republic?

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party treated Rawle Eastman like an old Mangy dog. After all he did for them.

The Barbados Labour Party drove Rawle into the Mental Hospital.

Cynthia, you are next!!!

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party.

This is the party some jokers on this blog want Bajans to vote for?

So we can all end up at Jenkins just like Rawle Eastman.

17. David

Man you like you got something to say to me yah … Checking my keyboard I see that the letter “Y” is a far distance from the letter “P” … Now why would you want to purposely change my handle …? 😉

18. Waaaait ….Carson is dat YOU? Dem finally discharge you? Glad to see you back here wid you nonsense.

19. BAFFY…..you really serious bout running? De 5K or 10K?

20. didn’t the DLP offer themselves as alternatives after they were retired to use your word in 1976 and 1994.

21. carson just trying to be balanced but most of the ministers in the present government are unemployable as well; and didn’t the american ambassador inform in her wikileaks report that the DLP was falsely accusing the BLP of corruption to sway the election in their favour. correct me if i am wrong.

22. Fractured BLP: You quoted Owen received $750.000.00 from Clico. Are you speaking tongue in cheek that maybe, just maybe it was DT or his party receiving that amount since the cheque given to the BLP was only $75,000.00. Since we all know that political parties receive donation from the private sector. Do tell us how much was received by the DLP?

23. aren’t you DLP apologists aware of how Mr Barrow treated Mrs Gertrude Eastmond admonishing her to learn about the facts of life.

24. Today is World International Womens Day. Thank GOd for all the woman out there who have been able to rise against the the tyrannical and narcissictic opinions of the male species who only see them as sexual objects . Having said that it is with great regret that many Males would seize this opportunity upon which OSA political and opportunistic pandering to electorate by way of using MIA whom he have publicly ridicule and ostracised as brilliant. it is very offensive and should be seen as what its is. This is 2012 and the old way of doing politics should no longer be tolerated by all especially those who should know better. it is time to set a high standard and business as usual is not acceptable to making change. the epitome of political exuberance does not override what is proper and right. OSA should be ashamed of himself .

25. @DJ

By the way you have permission to use any information posted on BU and you don’t even have to give credit to BU, the comment is made with all sincerity.

BU understands it is the Black Sheep 🙂

26. old onion bags Avatar

Carson Cudear Cadogan…plug it..if Rawle wanted to be wid FUNDY like you said we would have crossed the floor somewhere within that 25 years don’t you think ?.
    You Carson and the other mites….why don’t you deal with MARA Mona Lisa the LIVING thorn in your sides…you all can’t DO shit ..til you take care of HER ..we and the whole a Barbados watching…Intergrity Legislation mu butt…MARA CARRYING YOU ALL DOWN..and you know it !!!!lol

27. @ Carson Cadogan

How could anyone who is so rabid and sycophantic dispense assistance in a fair and unbiased manner as a member of a Constituency Council of unelected councillors?

28. old onion bags Avatar

You Carson…you don’t make sport of the ill….its not funny..so plug it..You might be next….so stop poking fun at the gentleman PLEASE !
    Ya want to poke …look Onions here to blister ya ….stop it now before I come up there for ya.

29. @CCC
    I get the impression that your address shall soon be Black Rock, and no one will have to send you there you will get there all by yourself. Sorry , Oh OSA will send you there because you will not be able to stand his victory after the next election’. I cant advise you but get some different information or gossip. You are rancid and stale and you smell. You are desperarte and un steady. and it seems that your kingdom is crashing all around you. You need a handle but why should I tell lyou anything . You are enjoying yourself with filth and putrid nonsense I will not take away your pleasure, This has become you,. With the assinine stupidity you write you can wallow in it think on these things

30. HAMILTON HILL Avatar

@ George C Brathwaite….Do you not know that quite recently mine was lauded as the best blog for the year on this site? Do you know by whom?One of your own.Do you know why?It said what the folk who reside on your side of the political fence believe in.One sided argument.A critical look from the other side has evoked a bitterness not usually associated with persons of your claimed ilk.They are persons who contribute here who are as well educated as you,yet choose not to flaunt their academic exploits as you have done time and again,seemingly with the expectation that there will be some intimidatory edge to be had.NOT HERE MY BROTHER! Rather than a personal attack how about dealing with the facts? The united front your party sought to present was nothing but a charade.There are many persons who feel just as I do that the nomination of Noel Lynch is an insult to all who long for transparency in government,given the …..well you know what I mean.You see my dear George,a genuine love for my country demands that my sight quite unlike yours,is not obstructed by party colours.There are some who you were able to scare away.In this instance sir,YA WASTING TIME.

31. Hamilton. Don’t go there. I am sick of people who react if a government minister purchase a car or a large house. Aren’t these people working and getting paid. Even if Noel purchase a plantation, don’t you think that he would have gone through the same mortgage process like you and I and possibly miss a few payment? If people who never work (legitimate) a day, yet driving about in a Benz or a Bima and living large in a mansion with nuff land. Those are the people you should be condemning

32. @ George Brathwaite….Owen is that you?

33. ac
    Yah see me Iikes women except when they get behind the wheel, then they turn into the worst form of self centered humanoid imaginable.

I blow in front a woman driver today. She was in oncoming traffic and I had to get past a stationary truck that was on my side ah de road … Man she do de dag … ! That was great especially on a day like today … 😉

Islanchick

I t’nkin’ ’bout it but yah right … I might fair better at the 5 or 10 K even against Haile Gebrselassie, that is how stupidly blinkered the voting public have turned out to be…!

34. This is the worst and poorest BLP slate of candidates ever brought to the people of this country- Bree St. John must be turning in he grave.
    Honestly, surely better could have been done.

35. ! ANY NON-PARTISAN INDIVIDUAL WILL AGREE WITH YOU PROVIDED YOU INCLUDE THE BUNCH FROM THE DLP AS WELL.

36. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Hamilton Hill

In due course the voters will decide on whether the BLP is united in serving their interests; what is certain is that the DLP administration is not a united force barring its collusion with CLICO, and subsequent protection of Leroy Parris, and its reverance to the former PM who left a paper trail that ties him to Leroy Parris.
    According to you in the DLP, Barrow provided the basis for me to advance based on educational opportunities; am I to be punished by you for at least trying? It is not the BLP that attempts to pull the rug from under education or minimise the impact of a graduate in each household in Barbados; it is the DLP and the gang of wild boys who seek to disempower ordinary Barbadians to the point that the UWI had to respond yet again showing up the inability of the MoF to be accurate in his statements. Who painted the young school children in this country with the demonic discourses, was it me or your pal Jones? Whose credibility should be under scrutiny, mine or Sinckler’s and the DEMS? I trust that you would have a great weekend as you ponder on the slate of affairs that trouble your defence of the DLP and attack on Owen Arthur and all of those hurt by the malfeasance created by Parris and CLICO, and perpetuated by the pals and friends, namely David Thompson and others, of Parris himself. How dare you and the DEMS treat ordinary Barbadians in such manner? HH, please for the sake of decency and honesty, go back to your hole, YA WASTING TIME!

37. This current piss poor group that the BLP is throwing at the people of Barbados is disgusting. No talent – No depth-
    The only person missing is the guy who tief the money from Sagicor that the BLP had put forward to run.
    The only difference between he and the rest of this corrupt BLP group is that he get find out before the election.

38. But wasn,t. OSA part of the ongoing problem relating to CLICO starting as far back as 2006.he himself mentioned something to that effect at the meeting however in the true OSA style renege himself of any blame.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 9, 2012 at 10:03 AM |

We thought that you were put in your place regarding the OSA role pre January 2008. This time around go to the back of the class and write 500 lines with the statement :
    “I must try to be truthful and learn to accept facts even if they do not reflect very well on my ‘holier than-thou-party’ that can do no wrong from 16th January 2008”.

If you continue with your apparently congenital and incorrigible habit of deviating from the Truth we will have to consider expulsion from the classroom to save you from your degrading self. It’s called “intellectual tough love”!

40. The BLP will not win the next election, rather the DLP will lose…If there was a Third party they would win outright. So one pack of jokers replaced with another. Only partisan fools try to defend the two political parties. Everyone makes the excuse that you have to pick one, nonsense! the reason for this sorry state of affairs is not BLP or DLP fault! it is our fault, we are all responsible for the lies we tell ourselves. Deep down inside you know the truth, I know the truth, we are just as corrupt as they are through our acquiescence. Moral laziness makes us all OSA and DT. Until we are honest with ourselves how can we be honest with each other. Freedom cannot be purchased with lies. I have fail as a citizen, and if I am to be redeemed from slavery, I must embrace truth. Question everything especially what you tell yourself.

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well, well,well look what the shabby treatment of RAWLE EASTMAN by the Barbados Labour Party has led to.

Jenkins!!!!

Who would have thought.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Sorry, that should be “Jenkins Mad House”.

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Cynthia, watch yourself girl, you next. Remember Seethru is looking for a safe seat for his boy Clyde.

44. Miller you are a foot soldier for the BLP and your missiion is to control and deviate attention fro the way the OSA administration allowed CLICO to run a muck It is obvious it is an area the BLP would want to totally avoid but which is unavoidable .

45. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

@George C. Brathwaite | March 9, 2012 at 7:59 AM

Thank you George for putting Hamilton in his place. These people seem to ignore the fact that when the Almighty in short time, took out Thompson, (over the protestations and “prophetic” screams of the Senator/Prophet/Bishop/Reverend/Apostle from Brittons Hill and his religious colleagues) God, in His divine wisdom and mercy, was saving Thompson from the severe embarrassment he would be facing now. I wonder if The Prophet/Senator would agree that God was saving Thompson from the grim reality, that he (Thompson) would definitely have to resign from the office of PM if he were still alive.

Do you, YOURSELF Hamilton, Sarge, i, ac, CCC, etc believe that David Thompson could have remained as PM if he were alive today?
    ANSWER ME THAT hammy!!!

Could he remain in the face of all this exposure of malfeasance, the lying and stealing he promised Barbadians he wouldn’t do, all apparently with the complicity of his successor Fondle, who unambiguously declared a short while ago, that Thompson was UNFIT to lead anybody anywhere? These are serious matters Hamilton. People make mistakes, and none of us is infallible, but we have never before travelled such an extremely lawless path as it relates to Prime Ministerial leadership! This criminal-coddling and particpatory activity by officialdom is unheard of around here.

All of those fancy semantics and the verbosity that you, Hamilton, bring to this blog, as if to declare that you are brighter and smarter than anybody else; swell-headed and boastful because a few persons declared one of your contributions to be
    the best blog ever ….. please stop and check your gyroscope … make the necessary adjustments to your bearings.

46. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@AOD

I feel sad about your misery and it surely will not help you if you live denying realities. Let us face it, as far as the electorate is concerned, you are a minority. If you have the trigger to pull and shoot down all the work done by politicians from both political parties over the years, and barbados was able in the space of less than 50 years to turn around the socio-economic conditions to where it was by the end of 2007 wherein it was rated the Number 1 developing country, pray tell me, why do you not have the courage to start your own party? Can you not be the iniator of something that you say is so necessary and the only fulfillment of justice and truth? Do you have the moxi and huspa to do it? Are you made of all talk and criticism but no action? Have you never heard that the journey starts but with the first step? Come on! Push history to the side, forget about the realities, you know we can do better as a country, so start the job. Let me hear you come to Barbadians and say that you are the leader of the next political party and you will offer your service so that you may also rewrite history and shape the futures of all. So easy to say when you do not feel the pinch. My friend, not only is it the nature of politics, it is a reality that we live in an imperfect world and all that we can do is strive towards perfection. Come back to today’s reality now, please, I beg of you.

47. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ AOD

Of course you know the word should be ‘initiator’ but then again I am definitely not perfect. Have a great weekend.

48. @George and Truthman

Actually AOD is on the money. There is a growing cadre of Barbadians who are absolutely fed up with both major political parties.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ac | March 9, 2012 at 11:36 AM |
    “Miller you are a foot soldier for the BLP and your mission is to control and deviate attention fro the way the OSA administration allowed CLICO to run a muck. It is obvious it is an area the BLP would want to totally avoid but which is unavoidable”

And how would you describe yourself? A general in the DLP propaganda army?
    At least I bring a balanced perspective, always looking at both sides of the political equation. I can be quite critical of OSA when so warranted. I am sure “Observer “would lend a hand of defence when its comes to my position on the whole OSA/SoI/CLICO debacle in regard to the Insurance Act.

But in your eyes both DT and Mr. Molasses are above reproach of any form of criticisms constructive or not. Prove you are not a purblind DLP “yes” man or woman and answer this question:
    Would you say that the DLP administration contributed and could have exacerbated the CLICO scandal and fraud by both their actions and inaction since January 2009?

50. Observing (not to be confused with Observer) Avatar
    Observing (not to be confused with Observer)

@AOD
    The BLP will not win the next election, rather the DLP will lose

Well said. But then again, the DLP didn’t win last elections either 🙂