Submitted by HAMILTON HILL
Noel Lynch in action at Haggatt Hall on BLP platform

Although Prime Minister Stuart has not yet made known the date of this country’s next general elections, the Barbados Labour Party and particularly its leader Master Tactician Owen Arthur found a way to announce, at least from their vantage point, the start of “The Silly Season”. What else is there to deduct from the charade that given its hype, turned out to be nothing more than a storm in a teapot?

At the very same Bussa Roundabout in January of 2009 persons gathered there were given a dose of the aphrodisiac labelled Dialogue Of Deception and Bajans were in bed with the Democratic Labour Party. Last Sunday they gathered for what in the truest sense of the the word was nothing more than “OWEN’S MEACULPA.” (miaculpa). Gone was the hostility that became his trademark of late, replaced by the all important need to present a united front.

Sunday night Owen Arthur’s zeal said forget Geritol, there is potency in opportunism. Did he not think we wanted to hear from his lips the status and future plans for the one he appointed as co-leader and broke the camel’s back in the first place? Such might have been as weak and lame as the explanation given for the cheque that found its way into his personal account, but it was warranted none the less. Much time was spent in his attempt to show government’s blatant disregard for law, as if this were a new phenomenon in Bajan politics.

Permit me to call to the Gentleman’s attention the fact that it was his party that built the school in St.Michael Central against the advice of the chief town planner, and then shifted the zone lines without regards to the consequences contained therein. That single action cost the tax payers perhaps three times more than it would have cost for the removal of any posters.

From where I sat Kerrie Symmonds who was heard to say “I always tell the truth man!” came over as a better listen than his leader. He tried to stay on point and would have gained more credibility if only he could have found the gumption to tell his audience when was there dissipation of the cloud that has followed Noel Lynch through Starcom’s doors since he spoke best to the issue of transparency.

At the end of the night all that one could glean through the lens of objectivity was the simple fact that the Barbados Labour Party bunch did what Barbadian politicians do best. Tell their party faithful what they want to hear. What they do however is always something else—-just ask the faithful fools like me that made the trek to Bussa back in 2009.

Something tells me ah got nuf cumpny, nuf nuf.

1. http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=columnists&NewsID=23364

Under Scrutiny: Directors’ duties

3/12/2012

By Stephen Alleyne

2. It is a sad day in our country when The Nation newspaper which claims to represent the people of Barbados can allow its journalistic standard to be so compromised by blatantly promoting the opposition BLP and refusing to offer any columns to the DLP government except for the Friday column space which is also allocated to the BLP in both newspapers on Fridays.
    I can read BLP operatives like David “Joey” Harper and BLP financier Philip Goddard writing in The Advocate but the Nation refuses to offer any one from the DLP a column.
    So we are subjected daily to the BLP marketing team of Sanka Price, Mascoll, Albert Branford, Pat Hoyos,Ezra Alleyne,Peter Simmons and Harry Russell.
    These folks have thrown any semblance of journalistic integrity( if they ever had any)through the door.
    The balanced and fearless journalistic standards and traditions of Harold Hoyte have been replaced by an inept group of BLP sympathisers that have now turned the Nation newspaper into BLP’s prostitute. The Nation should now leave Fontabelle and locate in Bush Hill after consultation with their pimps and masters in Roebuck Street of course.
    Thankfully, we still have the blogs.

3. old onion bags Avatar

Dear Nation DLP Paper,
    HOG Wash!
    Have you ever heard of CBC ? Go pluck the beam out of your eye first,then reel and come again . Its called give but can’t take.

4. old onion bags Avatar

Why is Mara Mona Lisa still a MP ? Why has our dear FUNY D turning a blind eye to CLICO policyoners pensioners..people he took oath to protect..had he or not receive a course or two.. while at Boys Foundation… in truthfulness or deceit ? …In today’s Sunday Nation he says he await a report , none has been sent to him yet. Does he live on the moon, or Jupiter like LeBoy ?Once more we the people are being treated like lepers.Last time checked…lepers can VOTE !!

5. good morning onions(bf) i see you the first horse out the gate galloping and prancing around as usual.anyhow glad to see you up and running again. today should be a busy day as your hasbeen wanna be general putting his bets on the once deceased Mia to be outfront and produce the winning ticket in the Estimate debate.

6. Why is it that when anyone points to the glaring drop of journalistic standards at the Nation newspaper and the obvious concerted efforts by the Nation news paper to support the BLP, the tired response is always :
    “CBC does do it too”.
    CBC has ALWAYS leaned towards the Government of the day: BLP or DLP and no honest person can deny that but people came to expect more and balance from The Nation. Harold Hoyte despite the fact that his chairman was the BLP’s chief senator always provided balance.
    It seems now that the BLP campaign is being run out of The Nation newspaper in Fontabelle. Everyone knows of the close friendship of the current Nation editor and Mr. Arthur but surely these people must face themselves in the mirror every morning and see that they are putting party before country.

7. old onion bags Avatar

@NationDLP
    “None so blind as he who will not see..” OK . “Govt( DLP ) media campaign will continue to be ran from CBC in the Pine.” (FUNDY can’t edit nuttin sadly. got Hench men) …..what’s good for the goose….good for the gander syndrome..

@ ac morning gf.. could finally get back in. internet..??? no problem.onions will continue to comment

8. @ccc,
    Can you tell me how a man can enter the House of Assembly almost broke with the bailiffs after him and can emerge from Parliament a few years later as a MULTI MILLIONAIRE?

On a Minister’s salary?………………………………..

Do you have access to his bank statements that you know how much he has? If so, do you have access to the DLP ministers accounts or to the ones who now have their accounts in US banks frozen?

9. @!
    “The next election will be interesting. The BLP is trying to exploit the collapse of CLICO to get policyholder votes without acknoledging the role of the BLP leader Owen Arthur and his failure to act on CLICO in 2006″…………………………..

The “logic” of you Dems is amazing. Have you forgotten how the dead king exploited a stale cheque and claimed corruption at Haggatt Hall and unknown to all who were at that meeting, the very same man who was shouting corruption was the king of corruption himself having accepted $ 34 MILLION DOLLARS from the same CLICO. That same meeting was funded by the same CLICO. And you have to gall to talk about the BLP trying to exploit CLICO. Your “logic” is priceless.

If CLICO was sound and well managed as the dead king assured Barbadians, why you trying to say that if Owen Arthur had done something this whole thing would not have happened. The two dont make sense.

10. @Prodigal Son
    Arthur took money from the CLICO subsidiary not for his campaign or for legal fees or gratuity but for himself!
    The man then admits that in 2006, he was warned by the Supervisor of Insurance that they were problems but he could not do anything. Arthur was stuck at Phase 1.
    He then runs to a political meeting and calls for the Minister Of Finance and PM to act with haste when he held both poistions and did nothing to protect policyholders.
    This man is the biggest hypocrite in Parliament and the intelligent voters of Barbados will finally bury his sorry political ass in the next election.

11. OSA is greedy and hungry for power .even his last minute horrah in the name of a unified BLP Party is quite telling of his politcal theatrics and savours to those who would willingly accept It.

12. @ac

When will you appreciate that Arthur is Opposition Leader because he was able to garner the support of parliamentary colleagues? In other words he did not decide one day he would take over from Mottley on his own. You can’t be so simplistic in your analysis. Even if Arthur is power hungry as you suggest he obviously has the blessing of his parliamentary colleagues including his rabid opponent George Payne.

13. Prodigal Son said “He then runs to a political meeting and calls for the Minister Of Finance and PM to act with haste when he held both poistions and did nothing to protect policyholders”.

You have missed the piont that Mr Arthur made when called on the PM and Minister Finance to do something about the Clico issue.

Mr Arthur was speaking against the background that a judicial report that shows that Parris and Thompson have been stealing policyholders money from Clico. The evidence is clear and in light of such real facts the leader of the country must act.

No one could have taken on the Clico issue without knowing what the real problems were. Only a forensic audit would allow that. That is why the BLP called for the appointment of a judicial manager during the no-confidence motion brought by MIA MOTTLEY and Thompson blocked for as long as he could. When God realized that the clico issue would not come to light while Thompson was alive he withdrew him. You see you can do as much as you like but not as long as you like.

Stop cursing the BLP and deal with the shameless act of Thompson and the DLP in stealing the moneyof poor working class Barbadians

14. I may have to apologize to Prodical Son the comment above may have been made by an unknown blogger. If so I do apologize if the comments were not Prodical Son’s

15. Pissy tail Royalrumble where you now surface from ? Are still drifting by Parliament during the week to feast on tax payer provided meals for MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT ? ( You are surely not one )
    Have you and Henderson Bovell returned the money you stole from the BLP coffers ?

You both are not fit to tell anyone in Barbados about transparency and integrity !

Ask Owen Arthur if you both doubt that !

16. The Supervisor Of Insurance flagged certain problems in 2006 and Owen Arthur refused to act. The argument by Royal Rumble that he could not act because there was no judicial manger’s report is nonsensical. Then why did we have a SUPERVISOR if not to supervise and sound an alarm at certain red flags.
    The BLP does not want to take the “failure of the regulator” road because they know it will lead straight back to the BLP leader in 2006.
    The innuendo and lies cannot erase this fact which must continually be repeated. If Owen Arthur had responded in 2006 when he was informed by the Supervisor Of Insurance about the CLICO issue, the policyholders in Barbados would not now have sleepless nights.
    Why was this not said at the Haggatt Hall meeting but then again Haggat Hall was not about justice for policyholders but about BLP trying to get votes at any cost. Arthur should be shame.

17. Observing (definitely not to be confused with observer) Avatar
    Observing (definitely not to be confused with observer)

@prodigal

You are correct. Can’t argue that the company is sound and well managed yet cuss the opposition for letting it get to where it was. CLICO like AX is a lose lose.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Observing (definitely not to be confused with observer) |

The likes of “ac’, “!” and Fractured BLP are not prepared to look at that aspect of the CLICO fraud. The BLP under OSA are totally responsible for everything that went wrong in CLICO. In their minds, OSA even selected the people who served on the Board of Directors. That is how they see the problem and nothing anyone says can change that.

19. Owen Arthur is like a man who managed a hotel. The maintenance man tells him that smoke is coming from one of the rooms and there is sign of fire which needs to be adressed. Arthur ignores it and does nothing.
    A few years later, the fire is raging. There is new management and the old hotel manager goes on tv and tells the country that the current hotel manager needs to act with haste to reimburse the hotel guests.
    Owen Arthur will not be let off the hook so easy.He must bear responsibility for what policyholders are experiencing.He does not give a damn about the policyholders but is blatantly trying to exploit their suffering for votes.

20. @!

True !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac & “!” | March 13, 2012 at 7:01 PM

Pssst! Hear the latest? That man OSA bribed the forensic auditors into preparing a report that would make our dead King & Saint look bad!
    What a no-good sob that man is, nuh!
    Should be he OSA that in the ground instead of our redeemer King David who underwent apotheosis.

Run with that juicy piece on OSA now ,ac. “I” is right behind you.

Grow up and stop whispering like little children. Give the man a rest! Talk about what Stuart can do to help the same policyholders that you feel so very sorry for.

22. Owen Arthur is like a man who managed a hotel. The maintenance man tells him that smoke is coming from one of the rooms and there is sign of fire which needs to be adressed. Arthur ignores it and does nothing.

that comment casts my mind back to the sandiford term as minister of finance- after allowing the ship to sink and drowning 7 out 0f 10 passengers , claim credit for rescuing 3.

23. ac | March 13, 2012 at 10:19 AM |
    OSA is greedy and hungry for power .even his last minute horrah in the name of a unified BLP Party is quite telling of his politcal theatrics and savours to those who would willingly accept It.
    all politicians like power and for some like mr arthur and mr thompson the ultimate power for which they were not afraid to destroy the images of their colleagues.

24. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar
    G.C. Brathwaite

I shall be very honest. Owen Arthur is not a perfect man, but he is a damn good leader with a damn good head. Owen Seymour Arthur cares more about the well-being of those cussing him in the DLP than the DLP cares about its members and surrogates. And guess what, as soon as he is returned to power after rescuing this country, he shall with the rest of his team go about rebuilding Barbados so that the DEMS can once again be able to walk the streets of barbados without bowing their heads in shame. Is it not an irony that the DEMS are relying on Arthur to rescue the government from this sordid, uncaring, incompetent bunch; the poorest ever to grace any DLP administration in the history of Barbados!

25. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar
    G.C. Brathwaite

May Lindsay Holder rest in peace. Strong in his views, enjoyed debate, and and could be lots of fun.

26. !
    Is it or was it Arthur who signed for the millions of dollars to the big boy Parris? Was it Arthur who used to keep the same man’s house when he went overseas? Was it Arthur who was his Company’s attorney.Was it Arthur who boldly announced that the company is sound even though its T$T company was in trouble? Was it Arthur who said, that policyholders would get back ALL of their money? Let’s stop casting blame and let us know when these policyholders when get their money

27. @miller
    “The likes of “ac’, “!” and Fractured BLP are not prepared to look at that aspect of the CLICO fraud. The BLP under OSA are totally responsible for everything that went wrong in CLICO. In their minds, OSA even selected the people who served on the Board of Directors. That is how they see the problem and nothing anyone says can change that.”………………………..

miller, you are so right. I have given the role of the directors a lot of thought and cannot for the life of me understand how the directors could say they did not know what was going on.

1.What was on the agendas as they met?
    2.How often did they meet?
    3.Why did not the auditors or the directors pick up that so much of the policyholders’ money was leaving Barbados?
    4.How could a primary schooled educated man have been able to fool well educated men with MBA’s and doctorates?

A lot of what happens does not make sense to sensible people.

28. Observing (not to be confused with Observer) Avatar
    Observing (not to be confused with Observer)

As unbiased as I can be, if (when) the election comes down to a matter of leadership a few questions will be asked
    1) which leader can hold his team in line
    2) which leader seems most willing to act when necessary (hopefully in the best interests of the country)
    3) which leader is best “oiled” to make critical decisions at critical times
    4) which leader can best communicate to the public in relatively straightforward terms
    5) which leader can be trusted / has integrity
    6) which leader has and can enunciate a vision for the country
    7) which leader is willing to think outside the box

Scoreboard looks like 5 – 2 to OSA. Remember a few years ago that Wickham proved that the public is willing to overlook a few “socially ethical weaknesses” in the presence of strong performance and leadership. Have to see how the other issues (governance, integrity, economy, manifesto performance) weigh in.

29. Here we go THE BLP with their ONE ISSUE campaign solution to the Economy ! DRUM ROLL PLEASE! CLICO.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Observing (not to be confused with Observer) | March 13, 2012 at 9:08 PM |
    “Scoreboard looks like 5 – 2 to OSA.”

Better review your scorecard! The third umpire has a 6-1 to OSA score.
    The other boxer scored only in round 5. And that is up for challenge given the man’s position on CLICO. Continuing protection by remaining in the corner of a crooked pal would only discredit and disqualify the points scored in that round. An outcry of “not hearing of or seeing” the report so can’t talk about CLICO would not endear the man to the fans looking on to be promoted as a decent and honourable man to be favoured over the “rum”-bustious, kick-ass, fly-stick setter OSA.

31. Royalrumble, Onion bags & enuff !

You speak about BLP unity , and during the current estimates debate….not a word of sympathy for fallen comrade Rawl Eastmond.

Shame , Shame , Shame !

32. If Dale Marshall is the deputy, the BLP in SERIOUS trouble. I really see why he was described as an attorney – at -LARGE and not an attorney – at – Law.
    Marshall inspired no confidence .George Payne better wake up because the BLP future is bleak with this misfit.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Fractured BLP | March 14, 2012 at 3:46 PM |
    You speak about BLP unity , and during the current estimates debate….not a word of sympathy for fallen comrade Rawl Eastmond.”

God forbid, but if Rawle had to vacate his seat because of very poor health it is left to wonder if Freundel would put the country through another bye-election or be man enough to call general elections. Integrity legislation or no integrity legislation! But then again the CLICO scandal is still a hot potato that needs cooling on the back burner of time.

34. To those who feel that Mr Arthur could have acted on Clico in 2006, please answer me this. What did the Supervisor of Insurance reported in 2006?

All that was said then was related to Clico’s Statutory Fund Deficit. The Supervisor could not have said anything about Parris and Thompson stealing policyholders money. We know that now because the judicial manager, that Ms. Mottley called for and for which Thompson refused to grant, has reported that fraudulent acts have gone on at clico.

But in any event Mr. Arthur should not have to intervene at clico to tell Parris and Thompson to stop stealing policyholder’s money. So what utter nonsence am I being told by fellow bloggers.

Thompson was entrusted with the destiny of the poor people of this country and to repay them in this way is unconscionable.

35. Just in case bloggers are not aware the stealing and crooked money deals between Thompson and Parris did not start in 2006. It started as far back as 1994, in the dying days of the DLP administration, when the treasury was denied millions of dollars in property transfer taxes with the purchasing of over eleven properties purchased by clico.

The funds that should have gone to the treasury went to Thompson’s pockets. Even now there is evidents out there to show that Thompson bought a plantation from clico for a million dollars and sold it back to clico for over two million dollars- again no property transfer tax paid. can the apologist of the DLP tell what do you call that?

Who can recall that it was I who posted on this blog the purchasing of a property at Martins Bay and the construction of a Greenheart house valuing millions of dollars by a company named MAFA, Mara and Fay, the wife of Parris and Thompson. David at BU do you remember I sent you that post?

Man listen, let us stop talking foolishness and send some people to prison. This must never happen to poor people again, especially not by a PRIME MINISTER.

36. @Royal Rumble
    you should thank God for the blogs because no one with any reasonble amount of intelleigence would entertain your crap.
    You should be a magician because you want to turn a forensic report into a political manifesto and every charge under the sun.
    Psst – you forget to mention that the Judicial manager report said that Thompson was implicated in the death of John F Kennedy.
    Ya joker!

37. Talk all wanna like, cuss me all you like I WOULD NOT BE SILENCE on this clico matter.

When the crook David Thompson held up a cheque in Parliament relating to the few hungry dollars given to the BLP by clico for election funds, all like wanna laugh and call Owen dishonest and all kind of things.

Now that we know who is the real thief all wanna heads hanging shame and wanna cussing everybody. Well cuss me but I want justice for the poor working class Barbadians who got their money stolen by PARRIS and DAVID THOMPSON. Blasted crooks.

I don’t mind being called a joker but thing you can’t call me a is a big stinking thief.

38. royal rumble you need to stop hitting de bottle yuh sound like yuh drunk! which court of law ouside the court of BLP opinion found DT and Leroy Parris guilty of stealing money from CLICO! Now stay of de Rum because you Rummbling all over de place

39. Let us do the math.

We have a man who was president of a company which is unable to pays its clients.

An audit of the company reveals there is a deficit when assets are matched against liabilities to the tune of hundreds of millions of dollars.

The president by his outward signs is a millionaire several times over.

What is the public to believe?

40. the court of BLP public opinion can believe and belly ache all they want to ,however the COURT OF LAW would have the LAST WORD and as now Leroy PARRIS nor the late DAVID THOMPSON have not had a judgement rendered against them from stealing from CLICO nor have the estate of DT or the person Leroy PArris been served court papers to such effect so far a summons has been served on Leroy Parris for continuance of selling policies after being told not to do so by SOI and those are FACTS . But the BLP thrives on PERCEPTION and projects them as Facts

41. Observing (definitely not to be confused with observer) Avatar

No maths needed david. Not even basic comprehension.

42. ac boy it is only a matter of time. I am going to be right here with my bottle in hand and see Parris and the rest of them heading up to Dodds to take the keys for their new home. That is if justice prevail.

43. No maths needeD, But full evidence is missing and i am still unable to comprehend how one can form any opinion one way or another based on unsubstantial evidence fueled in part by political biases

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ac | March 16, 2012 at 5:11 PM |
    “royal rumble you need to stop hitting de bottle yuh sound like yuh drunk! which court of law ouside the court of BLP opinion found DT and Leroy Parris guilty of stealing money from CLICO! Now stay of de Rum because you Rummbling all over de place”

Ac, you need to apply that same set of principles and approach when pontificating that OSA is a corrupt drunkard who stole millions from taxpayers to line his pockets and those of his BLP cronies.
    What is good for the goose is still good for the gander.
    Now you should stop imbibing the one-eye man drink before you end up being mounted by the gay and fumbling CCC who is having a royal rumble in his bed being spurred by a cocky bitch.

45. Observing (definitely not to be confused with observer) Avatar

But cuddear, if we only got partial information and it so potentially damnning I don’t tink u want full evidence. And even if it show “impropriety” on the blp’s part too I can’t see how it matches up, and in any case, it definitely will not absolve the DLP….

46. @ac
    I now understand why Royal Rumble is talk so much nonsense – he is bui – blogging under the influence !

47. @ David
    I like maths too. Check this equation.
    A man in opposition, a year before becoming Prime Minister laments his economic condition and that he cannot make a living.
    The man becomes Prime Minister and after lying and deceiving his wife with his secretary he and de wife divorce.
    She gets a multimillion dollar settlement that does not in any way match the husband’s salary.
    Where does the money come from?

48. @!

To use ac’s line, what evidence do you have that there was a multimillion dollar settlement?

49. miller i not pontificating on OSA many have seen him and the gang of five hitting the bottle on many occasion you can ask ” Royal Rumbottle” if that ain;t so

50. @ ! Some years ago at a political meeting in “de farm”that same question as to where the monies that silenced Bev came from was asked.It got no traction then,and I think will get none now.Guessing is a fundamental attribute of bajan politics so feel free to take yours.