Submitted by HAMILTON HILL
Noel Lynch in action at Haggatt Hall on BLP platform

Although Prime Minister Stuart has not yet made known the date of this country’s next general elections, the Barbados Labour Party and particularly its leader Master Tactician Owen Arthur found a way to announce, at least from their vantage point, the start of “The Silly Season”. What else is there to deduct from the charade that given its hype, turned out to be nothing more than a storm in a teapot?

At the very same Bussa Roundabout in January of 2009 persons gathered there were given a dose of the aphrodisiac labelled Dialogue Of Deception and Bajans were in bed with the Democratic Labour Party. Last Sunday they gathered for what in the truest sense of the the word was nothing more than “OWEN’S MEACULPA.” (miaculpa). Gone was the hostility that became his trademark of late, replaced by the all important need to present a united front.

Sunday night Owen Arthur’s zeal said forget Geritol, there is potency in opportunism. Did he not think we wanted to hear from his lips the status and future plans for the one he appointed as co-leader and broke the camel’s back in the first place? Such might have been as weak and lame as the explanation given for the cheque that found its way into his personal account, but it was warranted none the less. Much time was spent in his attempt to show government’s blatant disregard for law, as if this were a new phenomenon in Bajan politics.

Permit me to call to the Gentleman’s attention the fact that it was his party that built the school in St.Michael Central against the advice of the chief town planner, and then shifted the zone lines without regards to the consequences contained therein. That single action cost the tax payers perhaps three times more than it would have cost for the removal of any posters.

From where I sat Kerrie Symmonds who was heard to say “I always tell the truth man!” came over as a better listen than his leader. He tried to stay on point and would have gained more credibility if only he could have found the gumption to tell his audience when was there dissipation of the cloud that has followed Noel Lynch through Starcom’s doors since he spoke best to the issue of transparency.

At the end of the night all that one could glean through the lens of objectivity was the simple fact that the Barbados Labour Party bunch did what Barbadian politicians do best. Tell their party faithful what they want to hear. What they do however is always something else—-just ask the faithful fools like me that made the trek to Bussa back in 2009.

Something tells me ah got nuf cumpny, nuf nuf.

1. Did you have a problem with all the half truths the “emtombed one” told at that same spot in 2008? The BLP exposed the dead king and the DLP for their hypocrisy. Deal with the facts………..I will not lie, cheat or steal.

2. Where is the proof?The facts? what are the “facts”?

3. mr hill doesn’t the DLP tell their party faithfuls what they want to hear too?

4. old onion bags Avatar

Here is…. as good as money that I am sure any banker would be sure to consider as good as cash….
    Dravid CCC ! ac …The DLP will LOSE this COMING ELECTIONS !

5. Fraility thy name is DLP. The Dems have been wounded and the scars are plainly in sight. There is nothing the Dems can do undo the patent thiefing anb trickery of its beloved son in whom they are no longer pleased. It must be a source of great discomfort and dismay that the sordid truth of a man who was king could have betrayed the innocents so terribly, but we already had Thompson’s lies in Queen Park. We had Freundel accusing him of having a politics of hate and we know of his tactics after the 1999 elections. the Dems are ashamed and I can feel their pain. Alll Arthur did was to remind the Dems of their unholy alliance with the workers of inquity. Isay keep the grig in them OSA . They are feeling it the people are angry and their days are numbered. They have been weighed in the balances andhave been found thiefing . Think on these things

6. Get well wishes for Rawle Eastmond. he is in hospital again.

7. If only the CLICO policyholders were as stupid as the BLP thinks they are. Intelligent people will undertake intelligent analysis and see right through the BLP’s attempted exploitation of innocent policyholders concerns for their perceived political benefit.
    A BLP minister of Finance said that he could do nothing because the Supervisor Of Insurance was “untouchable”- Utter nonsense.
    The cussfest that took place on Sunday was just that. Selfish BLP electioneering first and policyholders after- That is clearly what is happening here.

8. Rambo Junglebunny Avatar
    Rambo Junglebunny

Excuse but is the BLP serious?
    Does the BLP really believe that the people of Barbados will but them back into office by digging up a dead man, from his peaceful rest and scanlising his name in the more vile ways possible?
    That is the message the BLP has for Barbadian who are struggling in very, very trying economic times?
    OSA just cannot accept the damage done to him and his legacy at Haggatt Hall in 2008 and is therefore motivated by revenge, even if that revenge has to obtained in default against a dead man.
    At a time when the BLP should be articulating fiscal policies to aid the economy, as those displaced within it, they can find nothing better to than roll up to Haggatt Hall (scene of the crime in 2008) and unlease a pack of political GOONS whose single objective was to go to St.John dig up the grave of David Thompson and bring his corpse to the polotical platform for a cold dish of revenge in absentia.
    Good luck BLP, the Bajan people aint that foolish anymore.

9. @ Balance ….I said that the BLP bunch did what barbadian politicians do.In the face of dishonesty the BLP ,the same one we just retired offers its self as an alternative. Who’s kidding who?

10. WHO are you trying to convince with that absolute nonsense RamboJungleCunny ???
    DONT you know that the DLP is guilty and the word of the people is ONE TERM ??
    DONT you know that is why Freundel aint call elections even with the attempted coup by the EAGER 11 ??
    DONT you know that the people in Freundel’s own party dont want he ???
    DONT you know that if they go into election with Freudel AS LEADER the ” –DLP LOST ???

11. AGAIN with the finger pointing. When will Bajans realize the BOTH the DLP and the BLP had a BIPARTISAN stake in the current conundrum the nation is currently facing??! When will Bajans rise up and DEMAND that their politicians be held accountable. Why is it that Bajans have to “WAIT” for the government to “act right”? When will Bajans realize that VIRTUALLY ALL (if not most) of our politicians are only acting within their personal interests and just merely uses the political process to accrue money to fund their businesses and wallets alike?

Sumting is tell me dat de Bajan people an’ all have become nut’ing but sheep. Its as ef weh can’t tink fuh we-selves!!

It is SICKENING AH TELL YUH!!!

12. we all know that but we have to choose between the lesser of two evils and right not it won’t be the BLP. who only spouts a lot of yesteryear politics and expect people to eat of the table of 14years ago which has brought this country to the financial mess that it is facing with its bygone days of vodooeconomics and osa inability to take any blame for the clico mess in which he and administration turn a blind eye when in fact he could have become personally involved by pursuing and seeking answers to relevant questions through the SOI .

13. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

It appears blatantly obvious that the writer, Hamilton Hill, is as stuck-up as he is an enemy to the ordinary people in this country of Barbados. To trivalise and try to make simplistic the things emerging from that meeting is to register the disdain that persons like Hamilton Hill convey to honest, hard-working, and trusting people who are too often taken downhill by those he may be more inclined to advance their causes. What trash is contained on this venomous attack on the somple whose demands are only for social justice and their hard-earned monies.
    Hamilton Hill, do us a favour and go back to your pit; your kind fosters the worse kind of contempt for anything truthful or elevating.

14. There is nothing wrong with the BLP bringing the CLICO matter to the fore if there see an opportunity to gain political advantage; it is the nature of Westminster politics in Barbados.

It does not mean the electorate should give up its right to be discerning if facts are being manipulated.

We have reached a point in Barbados where there is enormous disillusionment with BOTH political parties.

Perhaps Adrian Hinds is correct, we should just change the parties every 5 years and be done with it.

15. George Bratwaite OSA wait you up so early in the morning But how could you defend him after OSA told that boldfaced lie at the CLICO meeting about his inability to step over the SOI in their findings or any decesion on their makings!

16. An Observer.. Avatar

@ I
    In respect of Mr Arthur’s claim , you may usefully refer to the discussion on ss : 4; 21 ;and 3 appearing in another contribution on this blog . Mr Arthur’s wild suggestion is pure poppy-cock , unworthy of a person of his standing .

17. old onion bags Avatar

HO HO HO…the DLP solar flares are at it again.Can’t call a spade a spade or seems not able to.All the horn blowing and ac rantings and continous attacks by the undertaker in cloak will do you all’s cause no good .I shall now play the role of your Hurtly Henry..”.the DLP needs to get a new image..not like Donville in the Nation wid very photo op..THINK PARTY…you GAYS need to come together …..but DUMP the obvious….you guys need to help the poor policyholder by getting MARA to give all the Flower_ing money she help thief wid er Mona Lisa face…that really spells “nasty”…really now you GAYS need to help the Alexandra teachers….and poor Mr. Barrack..you treating like a LEPER…you GAYS need to help the poor LIME workers and stop FINGERING thru the BYER SOOKO…….then you all need to call a swift ELECTIONS with dispatch and maybe catch the OSA sleeping….finally you need to send Carson Cadagon up at Carters Wildey ..to the lumber yard ..with ac in accompany..to buy nuff wallaba poles to be whittled down into STAFFS on the lathe..(a thick one fa Geese)..because ting still go be the same AFFA all that !!!….ONE TERM babes”

18. Hi BF onions ! What about that boldfacecLIE OSA told concerning his inability to make any form of decision making by SOI care to address some spin on that !

19. An Observer.. Avatar

@ I
    Sorry ” I ” those sections are from the INSURANCE ACT . Have a read .

20. old onion bags Avatar

Just listened to Morning Barbados….that sweet Verla De Pieza mout too sweet….ac..how come she ain’t get no pick to run this elections ? Or has she….she won’t MAKE A GREAT PRIME MINISTER..fa real.

As to your question ac… Firstly what bold face lie ya talking ? Next If you honestly answer this ….you will see the folly of you line of reason….Had the SOI taken action during OSA tenure ..would this had stop CLICO from moving out the $364 million to overseas companies.?

21. THE DLP WILL LOSE THE NEXT ELECTION

22. old onion bags Avatar

ILLARO COURT….the unoffical “Party Capital ” of the world. Last night yet another party held for the youngsters of a band COVER DRIVE.
    Money wasting again..
    I see FUNDY gone to Surinam…..Na more Jonsey acting boy….He call out Min Sealy of Tourism…good ting 2 cuz if when he gets back at GAIA, he might not be able to get back in…lol

correction: Verla would make a great prime minister before a lot of them.
    comment –ac

23. Hold on David, the BLP did not take its message about the state of Clico to Haggatt Hall on Sunday just to gain political advantage over the DLP. To suggest such would be to disregard the harsh reality that poor ordinary Barbadians who invested all their life’s savings in this company are indeed suffering having lost it all.
    There are retirees out there who were relying on their pension from Cl;ico. They have no other source of income. What are these people left to do? How do they eat, pay their utility bills and buy their medicals drugs? How can we speak about these people in such a cavalier style?
    This Clico issue is not about the BLP or the Supervisor of Insurance but rather about David Thompson and the trust placed in his hands by the electorate of Barbados. It is about the DLP and the Cabinet who sat idly by and watched as their leader and his friend, Parris carried out a daytime robbery on the most vulnerable class of people in our country – the working class. These are the same people that the Dems claims they are representing.
    Thank God that the BLP is not in Office at this time when the judicial managers are reporting. No one can say that the BLP instigated this. What we do know for sure is that had Thompson been alive the information we have now would never have been revealed. God surely works in mysterious ways.
    The only way forward from here is to seize the assets of Mara and David Thompson and their children, Leroy Parris and his wife, Duprey and his wife and Terrence Thornhill and his wife and sell them out to recoup Clico’s policyholders money. That is where the debate is.

24. @Royalrumble

There is a lot of blame to go around but the Thompson factor makes it intriguing.

25. Wilkinson Sword Avatar
    Wilkinson Sword

How come Owen ain’t want to respond to the Budget presentation from Chris Sinckler? Is it:-

1. He can take anymore of the licks he get last year by CS?
    2. He don’t want to put himself in a position where he has to lie again about something else besides the Dodds Prison, like last year.
    3. He want to throw Mia to face the fire especially considering them (Mia & Chris) is friends and he can’t wait to watch them rip each other to bits.
    4. He knows his mental facultities are not what they used to be and he can’t risk speaking too long, too offen for fear that the electorate of Barbados will see the pattern of him rambling, mixing up his names and arugments and constantly loosing his train of thought.

26. The Reverend Gordon Matthews used to remark at some of his open air meetings years ago, that Barbados is on the verge of becoming a banana republic.

Well, this prophetic remark is so relevant today, as there become greater and greater sickening levels of indiscipline and backwardness (ignorance) at most levels of the Barbadian political society.

The truth is that unless and until these fractious and ramshackled BLP and DLP factions are PURGED once and for all from this political society, Barbados will in fact become this way in a matter of ten to fifteen years.

So, realize that at such a time as now, when so many Barbadians continue to debate the nature and extent of the tortious recklessness and negligence of the principals (or at least some of them) of CLICO Holdings (B’dos), of some officials in the Barbados government and of some officials at the parent company – CL Financial – in Trinidad and Tobago in this scandal, and which would have been covering the many trangressions that would have been critical in helping to bring the said CLICO Holdings and its subsidiaries to their knees over time, with substantial losses for those who would have invested in esp. CLICO International Life Insurance Company, how, though, this intellectually and politically bankrupt DLP Government continues at this juncture on its own path of fiscal recklessness and negligence, as is indicated in the intent and purpose of the so-called 2012-2013 Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure that were laid in the House of Assembly on Tuesday of this week.

Indeed, many local and international people like the PDC, Mr. Ryan Straughn of the BES, Dr. Courtney Blackman, the IMF, Standard and Poor’s, etc. have been in recent years telling this government to rein in its so-called expenditure in the interest of fiscal prudence, but no, this government seems intent on carrying through with some fiscal policies that will bring about greater, further and substantial damage to the integrity and functioning of the financial and non-financial private sectors of this country.

Realize that according to Geralyn Edwards in the Nation Newspaper, the government is set to boost its so-called expenditure by close to BDS $
    300 million, in a period of prolonged depression in Barbados!!!

Wonder what Standard and Poor’s will say about this turn of events??

What is worse is that the present Minister of Finance was reported in an issue of the Barbados Business Authority some time ago as having suggested that he will disregard textbook theories on fiscal restraint, because he is not for the unraveling of the social fabric of this country – what an astoundingly crass and disgraceful use of fallacious reasoning!! Why not much political support too??

Imagine that at this time of this prolonged depression in Barbados, and at such a time when the broad masses and middle-classes have been forced to cut back on food, clothing, private housing and means of transport, entertainment, even the People’s Cathedral Church has been forced to postpone its development at St. David’s Christ Church, how it can be reported in the Mid Week Nation Newspaper of yesterday, that this unruly backward and insensitive government is looking forward to increasing so-called expenditure by BDS $ 300 MILLION in the coming fiscal year. Can any reasonable person imagine such???

Remember too that during the times of the Arthur Administrations 1994-2008, they were correctly warned by many local and international people about their excessive borrowings, and how they ignored such warnings (ask Mr. Clyde “the glyde” Mascoll about it) and still proceeded with such gargantuan borrowings for entirely unnecessary or too expanded projects, borrowings ( the Kensington Oval Redevelopment Project springs to mind), which up to today would have helped shoved up the gross government debt to very astronomical levels, and which too has amortization costs that have been assisting in the pauperization of the broad masses and middle classes of this country, tremendously???

In the said so-called 2012-2013 Estimates, it is being “projected” that the government debt servicing for the upcoming fiscal year will be a staggering BDS $ 555 million.

Surely, the time for patriotic Barbadians to stop these two idiotic parties – the BLP and the DLP, is now more than ever before, before the country really comes to great ruin in the foreseeable future, and whereby there will hardly be a proper future for the present and future generations of this country .

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Wilkinson Sword | March 8, 2012 at 9:38 AM |

You are really cutting sharp and deep!
    There is much more in the mortar than a pseudo olive branch and attempt to build a bridge of perceived ‘rapprochement’ for electoral PR.

Ms Mottley’s role as the main opposition contributor to the estimates debate
    Would be seriously compromised given the nature of the “non-partisan” relationships you alluded to.
    It would be interesting to see if a similar elevation would be forthcoming when the reply to the next budget comes around. After all, we would have to know from our government how it intends to finance the gap (deficit) between what it intends to spend and the estimated shortfall in revenue it expects to collect.

If he does that, then he will be effectively giving up his hold on the title of chief finance spokesperson for Her Majesty’ Loyal Opposition in the Lower House of Parliament. Without this lead role OSA does not present the image worthy of the position of leader Opposition and should think seriously about returning things to the status quo ante (before MIA”s ousting).

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David;

Do you know if the Estimates of Revenue & Expenditure to be debated next week contain any provisions for the settlement of the Al Barrack Court ordered liability? One must assume at least a provision of $72 million should be made as a line item in the debt financing section of the Expenditures. Maybe such a provision is included to account for the $300 million increase in Expenditure as referred to by PDC.

29. @Royal Rumble whatever happen to parris and others is entirely left up to the courts to decide and being hysterical can.,t change that.any how if youir leader OSA was more proficient following rules and guidlines available Osa would have known and would have corrected any problems that would have impacted the policyholders in a negative way.

30. @miller

Have not had a chance to scrutinize the heads in the document which should be posted on the Barbados Parliament website.

31. Why is Richard Sealy acting as PM? Is Ronald Jones in Barbados ? I will like to know if this is a fallout of the Eager 1`1. I am sure someone will telll me if the wheels of Fruendel’s justice have begun to turn slowly……slowly..I hope I can see a reaction. think on these things

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ac | March 8, 2012 at 10:18 AM |

“…. if your leader OSA was more proficient following rules and guidelines available OSA would have known and would have corrected any problems that would have impacted the policyholders in a negative way.”

We know that you have a rabid partisan fixation with OSA 14 year misrule of total financial anarchy, economic melt down and rule of terror and corruption never seen in this country or elsewhere.
    But that is your entitlement to be so blindly partisan and to be so intellectually dishonest as to fly in the face of facts and even truth.
    If you state that the CLICO troubles were already in existence under OSA’s tenure of Minister of Finance and this financially malignant cancer was spreading around the body was brought to the attention of the same OSA who allegedly turned a blind eye to the files of warning and prognosis, please let us know how come his successor was NOT made aware of this dangerous state of affairs on assuming or during his shortened stay in the chair.
    It seems you have very convenient ears as not to have heard the public pronouncements made by the same short-lived Minister about the magnificent performance of the same CLICO and its outstanding management to the extent that $10 million of public funds was made available as a show of support and unquestionable confidence in that financially sound and healthy enterprise.

Why would such an expression of confidence and assurance be made by both the short-lived minister and the current PM if the official records show that the CLICO patient was diagnosed with cancer likely to spread virulently before January 2008? Or are you implying that the permanent people called public workers misled the Minister after January 2008?

Answer that or stop your futile attempts to defecate politically but only ends up expelling foul air? The 14 years of crap if not ejected from your system will end up to be the cause of you political demise; just like the CLICO financial meltdown.

33. How many times Muscle Mary Lynch retired and unretired from poitics, I’ve lost count. This idiot thinks Bajans are without memory, dumb and live on Mars.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Muscle Mary had no choice but to “unretire”. The Americans refused to grant him a work permit. That was extremely humiliating for a former Minister of Govt. who believed that he is all that. But I want the Crooked BLP former Ministers to know that the Americans have the goods on them.

Another thing, a lot of these Former Barbados Labour Party Ministers are unemployable. Outside of the House of assembly there is nothing for them to do.

Even though many of them are Lawyers they are not even good Lawyers. If they represent you in a Court Of Law you are sure to get lock to hell up!!!!

35. old onion bags Avatar

@blogger….Why Barney come back ?…BECAUSEnnnnnnFreundel is going to be a push ova……

36. old onion bags Avatar

UNEMPLOYABLE……right Carson. unlike you nah ! Boy I dun know you got your work cut out…..come after elections …by the way did you cut your staff yet ?

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Rawle Eastman in the mental hospital since yesterday.

check Barbados today

38. old onion bags Avatar

I been made to understand that CLICO money thru DT found its way buying nuff used new and other vehicle for St.John-ites…..the list extends…take care some don’t get take up

39. @Dennis Johnson

The blogosphere has taken root in the last three years or so. Don’t include the blogs in the conversation when using the example that issues highlighted are allowed to fade and the status quo reverted to. Yes there is some crap which floats to the surface in the blogosphere – no pain no gain.

40. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac…..I hope you believe Onions ..then …..and now.. Lets pray for Rawle

41. Contrary to news reports Eastmond is manic-depressive and NOT a diabetic.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Another thing many members of the former BLP administration’s secret overseas bank accounts are now dwindling so they need to replenish them, that is why they are seeking so desperately to get their hands back into the Treasury.

I hope when they declare their assets that the two former Ministers who bought Palatial houses in the Cayman Islands just before the last elections were called also declare them. And the woman who owns the Apartments at the bottom of Rendezvous hill declare them as assets.

I will be watching.

43. Observing (not to be confused with Observer) Avatar
    Observing (not to be confused with Observer)

No estimates posted yet David. Interesting though was the “conflicting” front page stories in our two leading newspapers yesterday. The propaganda battle continues.

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Lets pray for Rawle”

That is the most deceitful statement that I have read in years.

After all that the CANNIBALS in the crooked Barbadso Labour Party did to Rawle you have the gumption to make such a statement on behalf of all Barbados Labour Party gangsters.

The Barbados Labour Party is totally responsible for his condition. His blood is on your hands. After decades of faithful service, I cant imagine why because he was such a decent man, the Barbados Labour Party Leadership and members in the end treated him like the GARBAGE that you put outside the road for Sanitation Service Authority trucks to pick up. The same way they treated THE HON. MIA AMOR MOTTLEY.

I have always and will always say that one has to be a special breed of human to be a member or supporter of the crooked Barbados Labour Party. However they are one or two exceptions.

With friends like the Barbados Labour Party who need enemies. If this is what they do to their own, no prizes for guessing what they will do to others.

A morally bankrupt bunch.

45. @observing

Thanks!

Is it a 1 billion dollar gap?

Who is being sensationalist, again.

What about that story which the Nation reported that a watchman knock a 7 year old in the eye? It turns out the boy lied. So far no apology from the Nation.

46. The way how OSA treats his ministers is enuff to make anyone maniac. look how he treat MIA like a mangey dog only to want he usage at electorall time. heshould be handcuff and throw in dodds or physical as well as mental abuse on the electorate and his ministers. think of all the stress he must have heaped on that poor minister in his quest for power

47. Observing (not to be confused with Observer) Avatar
    Observing (not to be confused with Observer)

That’s the nation for ya David. Apparently they were quoting approved figures, while the advocate quoted actual figures. Still trying to sift through the fluff reporting to get to the real heart of the matter. What’s for sure though is that Chris will have a hard sell next week. A necessary sell, but a hard one nonetheless.

48. @Carson C. Cadogan | March 8, 2012 at 12:29 PM |

Muscle Mary had no choice but to “unretire”. The Americans refused to grant him a work permit. That was extremely humiliating for a former Minister of Govt. who believed that he is all that. But I want the Crooked BLP former Ministers to know that the Americans have the goods on them……………………

And which one of your ministers has had his visa revoked???

Which on of your ministers was the FBI down here investigating?

According to you, Noel was refused a visa. At least his visa was not revoked!!!

You are so vile, it makes little sense responding to your silly dirty comments.

49. Dennis Johnson Avatar
    Dennis Johnson

noted David – my comment was not meant to be a slur on the blogs [especially Underground – you know I follow] but to show that some things raised – even here – do not get an avalanche of mainstream support; especially for change

50. Hang in there Brother Dennis – change is happening albeit slowly. Keep on keep on.