As an expression of our disgust caused by the Alexandra dispute Barbados Underground will not update new blogs until strike action ends.
Education is regarded as a fundamental human right and the absence of 30 teachers from the classrooms of the Alexandra School for close to two weeks is a failure on the part of leadership of Barbados. The frightening reality that the ‘fracture’ has occurred in the education sector should place an accent on the gravamen of the challenge which confronts us.
Think on these things Barbados.

316 responses to ““If you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything””
@Checkit-out
At this moment one wonders what could be that important to post compared to the situation where children are not being adequately taught at the Alexandra School.
There are the parallel issues like a fractured national IR climate, the rubbishing of the reputation of a school which has enjoyed good public standing over the years.
More importantly the dearth of leadership within a sector which is responsible for facilitating learning. Now what could be more important?
I can’t stand for anything…..till I feel secure and not threatened.Everything nowadays …got stings…connected people ready to report you.
Wait did I hear the Govt Central Bank just say we had 0.5 % growth and that we going well holding our own ???
You are being overly dramatic David…. But Bushie likes it….LOL
“….children are not being adequately taught…”
Skipper, this has been true for 60% of our children for the past 20 years now….
Don’t you get it? …that the only difference at AX is that Broomes have some warped idea that he can insist on better
LOL Bushie won’t be looking for any new blogs for a while it seems…
Newly installed Chief Education Officer King has stated he was not aware of any letter sent to the MOE.
Remember Caswell broke this info on BU.
Oh what a tangle web we weave…
http://news.barbadostoday.bb/barticlenew.php?ptitle=King:%20That%20is%20far%20from%20the%20truth&article=13550
@BT
Live in the BU household is based on a very simple approach.
Be prepared to act out your philosophy/principles if not what is the use of living.
How Barbados standing David……”holding our own”… I think some people could really stand for telling the people the truth… and the people could really ..stop falling for this rubbish that going on in this country..
Ax issue, MOE truth issues, cost of living issues, gas prices issues and the Governor say we doing well holding our own ?…we aint all Yard boys Sir.
@Yardboy
All things said are relative.
Barbados has been on the decline long before the global recession took root.
To repeat what David (BU) wrote on Clyde Mascoll’s wall in response to his persistent cry that we need to grow revenues as the answer to our ‘ problem:
“We seem to be so economics centric that we forget the social implications of it all. Where is the parallel discussion about how these proposals will impact? We explode revenue so that 133K cars rise to 160K in 5 years? That our burgeoning middleclass can travel/cruise 2-3 Get my drift?”
Note the Central Bank Governor’s address consisted of words like “MAY, MIGHT and IF” Does he think Bajans are stupid? He said NOTHING in a lotta words!
100% behind the teachers… The two weeks lost only result in 6 hours of instruction to each form level. During Easter, this will be easy to make up. As usual teacher give freely of their services through the Easter to complete SBAs. Why Barbadians who have the highest literacy rate always quick to say that teachers dont like work, and aint teaching nutten. I guess this high literacy rate was passed on from mother to child.
@islandgal
An economist is not a god.
He can only speak based on forecast which is based on historicals and trending.
Well with the newest relevation”THE LETTERS” and the deception played on the barbadian people by Brommes his cronies via the media. It makes one wonder .How soon will the revolution begin,This man is manipulative and power hungry . this is indeed the last straw and i don’t see how the MOE can overlook this . This is proof positive of his clandestine approach the only way Jeff Broomes Know.
it doesn’t take an economist to tell one the cost of living is sky high .the public is aware of this when they pay a bill buy groceries or conduct business dealing with money. what the public wants to know what can government do to control the high cost of ballooning prices those imposed by the private sector or by government.
David @ BU:
We got your “drift.” What a mess, what a mess!
A tiny Island, black government, black population, black education,black out, black man; could not manage a piss up in a rumshop.
Must look at the system that created this mess.
Misplaced letters, letters not being answered/replied; appointed applicants to posts, (Government posts). What are the reasons ‘appointed’ can’t be touched?
Is it a case, the ‘One eyed’ leading the blind? the whole government is a mess, amateurs at the helm; is it surprising the ground is ripe for this type of behaviour? Who is bold to stop this ROT?
@paradox
correct!
Clyde Mascoll did not get it 🙂
@ paradox
So what if the country is run by black what is the point. Wasn’t england recently almost burned to the ground and it is run by White government. what was or is the point of highliting race in your comment
It is the bounding and unescapable duty of the BSTU to meet with all the parties in the dispute in order to come to a speedly and sensible resolution of this matter. How the teachers feel is not important . They must be mature enough to know that yhu must meet the “enemy” head on. Decency expects it Barbados demands it . Fight for your rights in that meeting where you have to be engaged in point and counter point. You have to put your case before all including Jeff broomes et al Think on these things
@ David.
” newly installed Chief Education Officer King has said he knows of no letter sent to the MOE…”
Is it not clear that the letter fiasco is all part of the deception of Broomes? Would it be expecting too much of the Nation newspaper to give equal prominence to this revelation especially in light of the fact that we now know of an UNSIGNED LETTER which reached the Ministry on 9 January 2011 and not in June as was previously published? And is not the teacher who was the target of this letter not deserving of equality of treatment by the newspsper ?
First Wiki announced that it is staging a blackout against the SOPA and PIPA legislation being debated in both US Legislatures and now you are staging your own.
Isn’t this just a tad over the top? I don’t think any decision you make about the blog will influence these parties, everyone is dug into their foxholes and have convinced themselves of the “rightness’ of their position.
Its face saving time now and no one want to lose face, whatever the merits of each side’s arguments there will be no victors when this dispute is over.
the LETTER was an intentional attempt to swayed the public;s opinion in favour of JEFF Broomes, but it has backfired, Waiting to see how Broomes and the media develops a stategy to further discredit the MOE. I wonder what UNION is going to step up to defend the MOE against BROOMES and his LIES ! This should be interesting!
LOL…..
You go David (BU)…….let them do what BFP used to tell us in the early days…..go start your own Blog….it takes 15 minutes 🙂
@Watching Carefully and Listening
Would it be expecting too much of the Nation newspaper to give equal prominence to this revelation especially in light of the fact that we now know of an UNSIGNED LETTER which reached the Ministry on 9 January 2011 and not in June as was previously published?
Don’t know where you were a few weeks ago when there was a lively discussion on this forum about the letter signed by “11” DLP members which the Nation promoted in various editions. When it turned out there was never a letter with “11” signatures did the Nation do a mea culpa?
In other news “if wishes were horses beggars would ride”
@ Sargeant.
Are you trying to say to me then that the Nation newspaper has become a vehicle for the practice of mass deception? Shame ! Shame !!!!!
Or , is it now no more than a rag and a scandal sheet ? Shame !!!!
Whichever it is , IT IS A BURNING SHAME…..
you seem now to be taking sides in this dispute by the action you have initiated which though having no weight indicates to all that the bstu is holding an unconscienable position. even if the teachers bow to pressure and go back to work, pray tell me who would want their child to be taught in such a volatile climate. and how can we ensure that the teachers would give or be able to give of their best given the circumstances? it is not that simple a matter. steps must be taken to remove all those iwho are unable to work together at alexandra until a resolution is found. the ministries of education and the civil service, the cpo , the head of the civil service should already have been meeting behind closed doors to put the appropriate measures in place.
bushie if mr broomes wanted to make the teaching environment at alexandra better he would ensure that the children were taught by the best teachers available and not according to his whim and fancy.
it is interesting to watch the TWO FACES of Mr. Broome unravelled. What are his supporters saying now it is only a matter of time before they abandon him like rats on a sinking ship
@Sargeant
The position taken by the BU household is driven by our philosophy and not on any expectation that it will change the world.
As individuals decisions should be based on personal value systems.
@balance
You are the first to accuse BU of taking sides in this matter.
For this matter to move forward the BSTU at some point will have to remove the strike order.
You can’t be that naive to think that the government can transfer striking AX teachers now that strike action has been initiated without the BSTU’s input.
Broomes is an aggravated controversial LIAR and the Nation a paper not afraid to lay in bed with agitators have found one in Broomes and would not be ashamed to do his bidding.
@CBC 7.00 news
There we go again ……The Governor reads like a robot…..as though reporting FACTS……then the IF’s and the ONCE”s and Expect-ed’s, PROVIDED..wait did he say projected a 0.5 % expected growth FROM Tourism construction>>>>.FourSeasons ?We better ;look for (-ve) neg 0.5%(minus) growth if that is what is going to be the source.
What about the $160 million in bounce cheques paid into Customs ?.
Businesses hollaring for murder..PM response..more draconian measures..hit me …hit you back HARDER..what’s going on?
Somebody TAKE a STAND PLEASE….TELL THE TRUTH
Me thinks signs of a hemorrhaging economy to the Yard boy and not a country doing well Dr. Governor..from out here sweeping up leaves and hearing the boss-lady’s TV..
@Yardboy
Try not to be an alarmist.
What if in those cases the government decides to pursue there is clear evidence that the directors of an old company sets up a new company as a means to avoid meeting their obligation don’t you see just cause?
I hear you Yard boy. As Random thoughts stated we “need tough vaginas and not balls”. The balls are too tender and sensitive!
1. Take a stand for integrity
2. Take a stand for FOI (freedom of information)
3. Take a stand against Elderly abuse
4. Take a stand against the HIGH cost of living and HIGH TAXES
5. Take a stand to rid the civil service of corrupt and lazy officials
Neva gine happen on this DOCILE island.
@ Islandgal696
Why not let Jeff Botox Broomes take the podium first.
Then The Dr.Governor
Followed by the PM..and his entourage..MOE especially.
Finally the teachers.
You responded to islandgal by stating that: “An economist is not a god.
He can only speak based on forecast which is based on historicals and trending.”
I agree with you entirely. However, my contention is that the Governor did not give his report as an economist (trained). It was a ‘flimsy’ piece of reporting that failed to use the facts, the trends, and give analytical based findings. The ‘if’ and ‘might’ and ‘could’ is not the language of an economist that has the facts and the trends at his disposal.
@George
He stated IF the global economy improves then more growth is expected. What is wrong with this statement?
Is it not true that the tenuous state of the global economy makes forecasting a bit of a lottery?
Yes there is merit. But could you not find another way ? Who will want to be a Director now ? Directors sometimes serve on Boards to advise with no other connections to the managementownership and sometimes for free… this may soon end because of this heavy -handedness.
Find a way to legislate such that those companies ( cheque bouncers) …are unable to form new companies.. until they have repaid all outstanding monies…that would make more sense.
@Yardboy
There is merit in your last comment. Ideally the target should be those who have beneficial ownership.
On the flipside of the argument officers in companies generally have a fiduciary responsibility which can see them held accountable for decisions taken.
@ All
Tell me iF I am wrong but how come Brazil… (down South)not to far from us doing well during this global recession, Canada (upNorth) doing well also and Taiwan and many others. Are these not part of the “Global economy “?
Me thinks again….everything being blamed on the global economy conveniently.Its a FREE PASS…being used for splurging and not performing, not using brains..Like that piece of legislation about to be passed,no real thought going into making decisions.Remember the Travel Allowance issue…no real thought again. A try something modas… if it fails ..blame the damm Global Economy.
Now our economy is over taxed…how can you see growth ?
Just collect collect collect….not studying the repercussions.
Barbados underground full of chit.
It is really sad to watch the impasse at Alexandra.
Just seems like nobody has any wisdom.
Each of the parties seem to have some sort of flaw.
Day before (according to the Principal) it was the Ministry for not acting on the correspondence relating to the refusal of a teacher to teach a class.
Yesterday it was the Principal (according to the Ministry) who never sent the letters he claimed to have sent.
Today it is the Ministry (according to the Principal) because he had sent the letters on three occasions.
We are none the wiser as to whether a teacher refused an assignment and the refusal remained unresolved and festered.
It seems like the adults are the children.
I praise God for the teachers who taught me years ago, for Tank the headmaster and for whoever ran the Ministry at the time.
… and there was a teachers’ strike I remember when I was in second form, probably in 1968/69 but it had little effect on the pupils.
This seems like madness!
Lemme take up my broome quickly and leave the madam premises
Seems like the COUNTRY IMPLODING…..like the ole Bdo’s Hilton
I gine Tabago..cuz i don’t want to flying lies or cc letters to hit me.
NOT ME TODAY I ENT TEKKIN NAH STAND David
I taking a stand
Why don’t Mr. Broomes WISE UP and see the tide is changing fast
TAKE the golden handshake…before you lose that too…
In the interest of the party, the boy’s club and lastly the children of Ax.
You HOLD THE KEY
Besides, its only 2 yrs to retirement…don’t be a spoil sport.
You will come out looking better
The Chief Education Officer came out and clearly stated that the letter only reached the Ministry of Education on January 9, 2012. Mr. Broomes, sensing or should I say “foolishing” that his creditability is now completely shattered, runs to the Nation to put his side and issue a threat, “They had bettter not get me vex”. Who the hell Jeff Broomes thinks he is? If I know anything about the Public Service, I know that his response in the media constitutes an offence.
Why would he find it necessary to defend himself in the press when he is represented by two lawyers, the principals’ union and two clowns? He just can’t seem to keep away from the limelight. When I represent people the first thing that I tell them is: “You don’t buy a dog and bark”. He has three sets of people barking for him and he still finds it necessary to speak on his own behalf.
In the face of this on going impasse, Broomes has shown total disregard for his superiors and the rules under which he is employed by making statements to the press. It is as if he is saying: I don’t care about you and your damn rules: I will do what I like, and I dare you to bring charges against me. The Ministry has no option other than to interdict Broomes from the performance of his duties and refer the matter to the Public Service Commission. That would solve the problem of the teachers’ strike in the short term.
Let us all wish the actors around the table all the best this morning.
Let egos, testosterone and estrogen levels recede in the interest of finding a solution.
I just had a thought. Broomes has cast aspersions on the Senior Clerk and the staff in the Registry of the Ministry of Education. He had to make the statement that he did because he could not rely on Clarke or Maloney to attack the workers in the Registry section because most likely, they are members of NUPW as well. See what happens when officers of a workers’ union go to represent management.
The onus should be on Broomes to show ‘evidence’ he delivered the letter to the MOE.
If it was hand delivered produce the signature which should be in the courier’s book.
Of course there is the assumption on everyone’s part that the letter of such import was signed for.
“It is time to dispense with generalities and establish the facts of the case with clear timelines of events and causes.”
Bingo! Until this happens, or someone forces it to be the case we’ll be in this ditch for a while to come. Just to add balance though….
Think about it for a sec…..we have a Ministry that could not respond to repeated letters from unions and teachers, who could not deal with a prolonged industrial relations matter, has not followed up on any of its agreements or resolutions, could be potentially “liable” in the CXC affair, is known for its lethargy, ineptitude, sense of drift and inefficiency (all the above points were stated by the BSTU by the way, not necessarily my opinion). Now all of a sudden, within TWO days or less, they (i.e. King) can CONCLUSIVELY state after thorough INVESTIGATION that there is no letter..
“my investigations have revealed that there is no record of the receipt of such or any other document pertaining to this matter in the office of the Chief Education Officer or the Ministry of Education and Human Resource Development.”
Ding ding. This doesn’t meant that one didn’t exist, or never was delivered. Just means there is no record of receipt. Sounds familiar?
“No action could have been initiated as I was totally unaware of the purported letters”
Sounds like a newly appointed Chief covering his ass. Which coincidentally is what EVERYONE has been doing from the start of this fiasco.
This bullshit about letters and correspondence, and who and what is now totally irrelevant. The BSTU made it so from the outset when they took the road they took. Let’s deal with the bloody matter and move. on for the good of the country.
oh dear!
The BSTU was a no show at the meeting this morning.
Mr. Perry was sent to represent the BSTU.
So Redman decide to just not attend a Ministerial meeting. Send Perry with no proxy, documents or anything. Got Jones cussing… well well well.
It continues. Somebody better talk ta d woman hear?
Then again, this may be a new form of dispute resolution. Caswell, if you can advise that would be great.
Reading between the lines it seems the BSTU has a problem discussing the matter with other union people present ans some others not directly associated with the matter.
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/minister-of-education-ronald-jones-says-bstu-actions-the-height-of-offensiv