Principals in the Alexandra School Dispute

As an expression of our disgust caused by the Alexandra dispute Barbados Underground will not update new blogs until strike action ends.

Education is regarded as a fundamental human right and the absence of 30 teachers from the classrooms of the Alexandra School for close to two weeks is a failure on the part of leadership of Barbados. The frightening reality that the ‘fracture’ has occurred in the education sector should place an accent on the gravamen of the challenge which confronts us.

Think on these things Barbados.

316 responses to ““If you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything””

1. The mention of ‘record’ seems to be a hot button word.

If one listens to the minister of education it is obvious his interpretation was that Perry was there to record read: electronic media.

On the other hand if you listen to the BSTU (Redman) he was there to record the presence of the BSTU in the capacity (watching brief).

2. @David
    Don’t b fooled. Perry was there to RECORD the meeting. Nuff said.

3. @true to form
    On what grounds or by what basis do we have evidence before hand that Perry was the duly constituted representative of he BSTU. Bare in mind that the invitation was extended to Ms. MARY-ANN REDMAN and therefore if she could not have made it, or chose to send a representative, protocol dictates that correspondence to indicate such should have been sent or delivered.
    ALSO
    Had Perry been allowed to stay, would ALL decisions and resolutions made and agreed to be BINDING??? or would he have to “run a check by the boss”

Stupse twice man. the BSTU has moved this from a mockery to a freaking farce.

4. @Obser

You have hit the nail on the head, i am now convinced that Ms. Redman is looking for a way out, she has closed every door that was opended as an out strategy, she has cornered herself. Even if she had a case this blunder has turned the public against her. She would do to learn the basic in ir.

5. Don’t pay Minister Jones no mind he is now caught between a rock and a hard place and finding himself in the ineven iable position of having to lean for or against his buddy Mr. Broomes.whatever the reason the BSTU did send a representative at the meeting and there was no need ON Mr, Jones part to have an emotional outbursts, Jones is overplaying his hand and this can lead to a total break down in negotiations and a cancellation of any further meetings and that is what he can least have happen because all of the blame would be left at his feet. by all accounts Mr. Perry was once a former Leader of the BSTU and respect should have been given to him in such regard as he have dealt with such matters previously .lest we forget that Jeff Brommes is now being represented by the NPUW who by all accounts should only be representing Broomes if broomes had a problem with his MOE so the question Mr. Jones should be asking is why is the NPUW at the meeting instead of lashing out at Mary and her convoy.It is truly a mans world butr this is about to change

6. @Ac

you aint fah real, your ship is sinking

7. i just listen to Ms. Redman and i must say, she is mad is hell. she does not make any kind of sense.

i feel for the children of that school.

8. How dare Minister Jones insult and shows disrepect for Perry. Mr, Jones should recuse himself of any further meetings since he seems to have a personnel vendetta against one side. Mr Jones should not be allowed to chaire any more meetings which at this time are in a delicate stage of negotiations. He cannot be fair or evenhandedin trying to broker a deal. What we saw today on the part of Minister Jones was the hype of dishonesty and his loyalty toward his friend Jeff Broomes. There is no impartiality on mr. Jones part. What a mess Mr. Jones created today. A total mess!

9. Just remember who needs who?

10. I just heard Peter Thorne on CBC and what he said made sense.

BSTU was said to acted true to form…to gone to tdays meeting would have COMPROMISED their position which they maintained from the start….not to meet with NUPW or BPPA or Jeff Broomes.

They had said this was their position since January.

All this theatrics…by Jones is nothing short of laughable now that sensible Barbadians who saw the evening news on CBC knows the truth.

Ac…all these bloggers need also to behave.

11. @ ac

I still maintain….a Daniel…a Daniel indeed. You could work in my office any day.

12. Tail trying to wag the dog in Barbados. Going to refer to Ms.redman as Narcissus from now on.

13. so u mean i cudda turn up to the meeting empty handed and say i representing the bstu and there to record too? wuh i ain nobody?

14. Perry was there on Reconnaissance lol

15. What I will also say ….Mary I have never seen so much spunk in A WOMAN…with all this pressure..many men would have folded by now.

YOU ARE RIGHT ….hold on Justice will prevail…

Ms. Greaves many people in Barbados owe you and the other teachers MANY APOLOGIES.
    Thanks ac for her sterling work holding the front and the others on you all side,

HOLD don’t buckle…..sensible people are seeing the truth.

Others…just blinded permanently

16. @ wren

Get sense BOY ! Everybody knows you…lol

17. The action taken by maloney and clarke is notb with the blessing of the council of the NUPW Their actions places the union and its general secretary in an untenable position and into disrepute should the council of the Union hold an opposing view.Clarke and Maloney disruptive behaviour beyond a shadow of a doubt deserving of some sanction by the membership through its governing body for speaking out of turn.

18. @solution masta
    If it compromises their position then WHY send a representative????

19. WHO de *&^@#^%%$$$ Mary Redman think she is doah ?

WHY are we women so hard and inflexible, picky and back-biting ???
    IS Mary Redman not interested in the children of this nation ???
    HAVE anyone heard Mary Redman express any love for the children of Barbados ???
    HAS Mary Redman ever given birth ????
    DOES anyone believe that Stuart can handle this matter ???
    IS this matter planned and calculated to make the DLP Government look bad and incompetent ???

JUST ASKING
    JUST ASKING
    JUST ASKING

20. The political ramification of this protracted dispute is taking root…NOW.

Is panic setting in if we are to judge by Chairman Ronald Jones emotional outburst this morning? The BLP are sitting quietly on the side, yet another issue to draft.

21. @obseving

I think you don’t understand their position…(read again).

Perry was there in capacity of a watching brief….get it ?

22. PRETTY BLUE EYES Avatar
    PRETTY BLUE EYES

@Solution Masta: Are you so blind, what Mary Redman did was disgraceful and disrespectful to the highest order, but I am glad she did it for now the whole of Barbados can see this is just a vendatta against one gentleman, I so hope that all of them get fired . It is quite obvious Redman has no children neither does she care about those children her colours are now coming out for all to see

23. Question to FirstCaribbean: If you hired a CEO and more than half of your top managers or middle managers were unable to work with him, What would you do?

Just get rid of the CEO because his job is to manage and he has done a poor job of it.

The DLP is really in a bind here. Dismiss the teachers, the children suffer and all the teachers who are in the system with families will not vote for you in the upcoming election. Dismiss Broomes, and the Principals at other schools think this will set a precedent and snowball.

Decision: Special Leave for Broomes, full audit of the school. teachers agree to put back in the lost time during Easter or after school as their compromising position. There MUST be a reason that more than half of your teachers cant work with you. Bajans are not this adamant about anything, he must have done something seriously wrong.

Freundel say something nuh

24. WHY is Stuart hurting people with isdeafening silent ???
    IS THIS MAN A CLOWN OR WHAT ????

25. @ 3 preceeding

Our PM is not going to pushed by you three ok.
    Things have changed and you all are beginning to see it AS THE REST OF BARBADOS… Your hope is for him to RUSH. Forget it . The political card wont work either.

26. @JUST ASKING

The man is a Philosopher. Man must be home reading Macbeth or some other Shakespeare literature before he can decide. Stuart is by far the weakest PM we have ever had. I mean, Georgie Porgie wud have had more balls or guts. There was an issue years back with Louis Lynch and Owen made a decision. There was an issue with teachers being physically assaulted by students and Owen made a decision. Why is Stuart so f#cking silent.

Damn! It is frustrating. I think even Kellman cud do a better job.

27. What about Maloney and clarke what are they role in representing Jeff Broomes expect friendship alone. They have breach the laws which they are to upheld with their members and NUPW . Minster Jones is a hypocrite and if he oust Perry from the meeting he should in turn should have oust maloney unless maloney could have shown proof by a letter from the union council clearly stating that he is allowed to speak on behalf of the NUPW to represent Broomes on this matter.

28. @ ac

Dear Daniel,
    Stop showing off..lol

29. Owen was the messiah! Some people apparently think if you arent holding press confernces to say you brushed your teeth you aint doing nothing.I mean how many times owen bulshitted the public with all talk and no action? Where the referendum for a republic? I was in school and still waiting til now.

30. @ac

Some named Clake…D one foot Swordsman

remember Wang YU….( my age group )…a one arm swordsman who was a real star boy.

31. @Solution masta
    So are you saying that the BSTU was not “represented” at the meeting then since they are not negotiating and in essence just had an observer? If so, can you explain Miss Redman’s statements about being represented at the meeting??? Ya want representation but ya ain’t want ta negotiate?

32. @ BU

Thanks for all the comics. I here real entertaining…lol

33. @David
    “The political ramification of this protracted dispute is taking root…NOW.”

Agreed. Anything less than decisive action and clear bold statements to reinforce what was said Sunday will create a political cess pool that will haunt at least 3 ministries, including the PM’s office. Maybe, just maybe, the master plan is now beginning to be unveiled. I pity the pawns that have been unwittingly put into it however and I applaud the brains behind Redman’s lack of brains if this truly is the case..

34. Unprofessional behaviour by Minister Jones instead of calming thev waters he has “Mudded’ the waters. What was Mr, Jones thinking ? Could he have thought his outlandish temper tantrums at the Perry who was invited by Mary Redman to stand in on her behalf would have scored him Brownies points.? Today he became a spectacle of himself maybe afterall a “DEMON” might have finally posessed his soul. Where in any one thinking mind does anyone believe that Mr. Jones can be Fair in these negotiations after telling a high ranking member and a reputable person Mr. Perry to leave the bargaining table with out good reason.

35. 1 day for Freundel is 100 days normal time so if Freundel say that the matter will be resolved by the end of the week meaning 7 days this may be more like 700 days or two years.

36. @ observing

If i told you I am Not meeting with your wife and brother (since January) ..Only with you and you set up a meeting with for me to meet with you 3….

Day of meeting :
    So as to say i am not pig headed…I sent my son to sit in out of courtesy .

You would be pissin vex right ?

37. I don’t support either of the various sides as I do not know the facts.

What I see is pure madness going on.

There is something fundamentally wrong that is not coming out clearly.

However, if what I understand happened today at the meeting actually did happen then it reminds me of my Grandfather’s constant refrain ….

…… “sometimes you have to throw a sprat to catch a whale!!”

Advantage BSTU.

…. but tomorrw it may be deuce.

Meanwhile the madness continues.

38. Some people …just loyal to the end.

39. What no show what! When Jeff Broomes was summoned to the Ministry when this issue became inflamed in 2010, He absented himself and travelled on cricket business. Was Uncle Jeff caring about the children then? He invited the Bstu to a fight by saying “Bring it on”. Well the fiire is now under his tail. Mary Redman and the union have been trying to negotiate with the MOE from 2006:: she met with the relevant parties and the position of the union was made clear. What further negotiations must there be with Incompetent, incestuous MOE. Prior to these events, Mrs Redman was shouted at and abused when she attempted to have civil discussions with Uncle Jeff. He has been most uncooperative in the past. In addition, the long-standing friendship between him and Ronald Jones does not augur well for an objective outcome. A draft report of the Alexandra School based on findings in 2010, has clearly stated the improbability of the dissenting parties to co-exist harmoniously. These are not Mary Redman”s findings; a team of so-called impartial individuals concluded this. It would be interesting if BU could get a copy of the report. I am tired of the skewed half truths being fed to the public by Uncle Jeff and his exorcist friend/ Minister. Perhaps ronald Jones should get Uncle Jeff delivered from his demons!

40. @ac or anyone for that matter
    If you hold a party for a particular reason, and a friend of a friend shows up, claiming to represent your friend, without any proof, email or phone call and FURTHER to that, inform you that they are there for their OWN reason, not yours… pray tell… would you allow them to remain in your house.

41. @Asharte
    Thanks for more info.Keep it coming..its making some people frigidity.

@ john….read Asharte

@ Observing
    I dun know you understood based on you above retort..”.loyal to the end” syndrome.

The Man is a ………..( real dirty den)…what letter he sent ? Then how could he fool so many? it boggles

42. observing that is a selserving and DUMB questions. MR< Phil Perry is not just anybody . He is wellknow in political circles and have been president of the BSTU and Mr. Jones is well aware of this Jones was deliberate and intentional and offensive in treating Mr. perry the way he did.This kind of political man showmanship is not what is needed at this time unfortunately the Chairperson is ignorant of the damage he could have injected when he wore his political hat in the ring. I think it is time for Mr. jones to pass the baton to a new ring master Any ta kersplease! .

43. Sigh, my bad. I keep having a discussion based on logic, objectivity, reason and process. That obviously is my downfall.

if we follow this logic and path that some are advancing we will end up throwing out the baby, the bathwater, the soap, the soap dish, the washcloth and the rubber duckie. Study it.

44. So how come all de haters of Mary got nothing to say about clarke and maloney representing Jeff Broomes without their union given them de approval. bunch uh hypocrites.

45. Let me roll Out The RED Carpet for MARY on this one ! Applause! Mary Take A BOW!

46. An opinion is indeed like a butt-hole…every one has one, including all the misguided, misinformed persons here, most of whom are arguing from a position of ignorance of the facts, the Civil Service Act, the General Orders, the Education Act and good industrial relations practices.

1. The principal gave an instruction to a teacher who by law is bound to carry out that instruction.

2. The teacher indeed did not teach the class. It does not matter if it was for a week, a month, a term or a year. According to the regulations, not only is she being insubordinate, she is also guilty of dereliction of duty.

3. The BSTU tabled a charge against the Principal which referenced ONLY the speech day remark.

4. Consequently, that is the only matter that can be adjudicated. All the other references to the Principal’s past behaviour, whether true or not CANNOT be a part of the discussion since they were not part of the charge that was tabled.

5.The BSTU erred in demanding that the Ministry “separates” the Principal because they should have known that it is NOT within the MOE’S powers so to do. Such action requires by law a process that would involve the Chief Personnel Officer, The Public Service Commission and the Governor General must sanction it since it is through him that Principals are appointed.

6. The BSTU also erred in insisting that it is NOT prepared to meet with the Principal or his or his representatives. What the union wants is not only unfair, it is also illegal. How can any union expect to meet someone’s “employers”, try, condemn and sentence him in his absence, thereby denying him the basic right that we all have, even the basest of criminals, namely the right to defend himself? Any decision made in such a scenario would be immediately challenged.

7. The BSTU FROM THE OUTSIDE ADOPTED THE POSITION THAT THEY DO NOT WANT TO NEGOTIATE. THEY WANT THE PRINCIPAL “SEPARATED”. How is that a good approach to conflict resolution?

8. the BSTU was extremely disrespectful to the office of the PM who instructed the Minister to assemble the team for this morning’s meeting. To demand such a meeting and then to inform the minister that the union WOULD NOT attend was discourteous. Mr perry appearance was therefore exactly what he said…he was there to record the proceedings NOT to negotiate. You either want to be part of it or not, but the BSTU cannot expect to eat its cake and have it too.

47. @ac
    Clearly you think a basic meeting at the start of a dispute in some room is the same as a cabinet level meeting mandated by the Prime Minister at the crisis/deathbed/resolution stage of the dispute. Get thru hear. Like before, I apologise for wasting ya time..

48. It is clear after 6 years of a strained relationship Redman (BSTU) has taken a decision to go for Broomes juggler. There is no room here for compromise, Redman and the BSTU have clearly sent this signal. If from this distance the signal is clear, it should be clearer to the government.

49. observing you seem to think everything is black and white that is why i dismissed your questions. there is alot of seismic activity surrounding this issue most of what have not surfaced as yet.

50. Mr Jones and the PM are but mere stepping stones unfortunately. You may remember that Ms Redman said she wanted to go to the Governor General.

I agree that the PM should ask the teachers to return to work and if they refuse replace them. At the end of the day the main focus must be the children particularly as it is crunch time for CXCs. Why should children be forced to cram in information at weekends/bank holidays. It may be too much for some, bearing in mind the volume of homework they receive under normal circumstance. Not everyone is a fast learner.

Get the children settled then deal with all the teachers after. They have their education and they are depriving the children at AX of theirs.