Submitted by Chuckles

I would like to divert a bit and ask you [Caswell Franklyn] to make your services available to the BSTU/Mary Redman. What is this woman doing to the school children at the Alexandra School?
I was a member of the BWU for about 18 months before I left these shores to take up employment overseas. The first thing the Late Sir Frank Walcott told a group of new members of which I was one, was that the Union doesn’t go on strike until it gets public sympathy and support. Where did this woman do her trade-unionism training? A few weeks ago she was all over the news media trying to defend the indefensible i.e a teacher submitting SBA studies late to the CXC resulting in all the students failing the subject. Today teachers at the institution wouldn’t be in the classroom due to a dispute between her union members and the principal. The biggest Trade Union, NUPW isn’t backing her and from all reports the BUT members not losing a day’s pay over a non-issue.

482 responses to “Alexandra School Dispute – Who Shall Lead The Children?”
This is why I have a problem with certain aspects of how unions operate.
Her is a situation the union needs resolved, hers how they do it, go get the other schools they don’t have an issue with and make the children there suffer.
whether he is given a job of simlar status or promoted to govenor general is besides the point; the fact of the matter is that he or any holder of a public service posts can be removed or tranferred if needs be. ask mr winton campbell.
Perhaps Jeff has a bad attitude towards women. He certainly had a bad attitude towards me (and yes I am his elder) The first time we met I had with me my adoptive daughter who was maybe 5 or 6 at the time. In a public place and in the presence of the child Jeff told me, and no I had not asked his opinion or nor had I asked him any favours then or now, but he said to me in the presence of the child “there is no way my wife could bring another’s man’s child into my house” I am rarely at a loss for words but I was shocked speechless, that a parent and a teacher would have such a bad attitude and would use such harsh words in the presence of a young child. I had heard good things about Jeff before, mainly on the radio etc. and mainly from Jeff himself. I still do not understand the reason for this harshness especially as
I have never gone to his home.
I’ve never sought an invitation to his home.
I am not his wife.
I am not anybody’s wife.
I have never been anybody’s wife.
At this time in my life I have no wish to be anybody’s wife.
I live at my own home which for which I saved and paid a mortgage over a 30 year period.
I am not a bad woman.
I’ve never committed adultery.
I’ve never encouraged anybody else to commit adultery.
I have always lived the Christian life.
I believe that all children are worthy.
I don’t believe that “husband’s” children are more worthy than non-husband’s children
To the best of my knowledge God does not have any outside children.
I’ve never encouraged my children to call anybody “uncle” or “aunt” unless that person is my brother or sister, or the brother or sister of their father. However I’ve always encouraged them to address adults respectfully as Mr. or Ms., Sir or Ma’am.
The child has turned out very well, and is now doing very well at the post-secondary level.
I have absolutely no regrets.
But maybe, just maybe Jeff has a bad attitude, especially to women (and their children) whom he may (quite wrongly) perceive to be his inferiors.
There are some people who are respectful to most people, but distressingly disrespectful to those whom they wrongly believe to be their inferiors
Just my 2 cent’s worth.
@Bad
your reasoning is flawed. When he told that to you he was operating in a provate capicity, if indeed what you say is correct. I have heard pepole say that they are not supporting any body’s children. You need to tell the blog under what circumstance the statement was made.
@Balance
There are certain posts in the Public Service that are statutory post. Ponder on that and go do some research. By the way, Mr. Campbell post was abolished and that was a statutory post and hence he could not be transferred without consent. You are barking up the wrong tree my friend. Thank you
To Bad:
Your contribution is simply a bitter vendetta against Mr. Broomes, as you believe he is down and out. That is the man’s position on that issue.
To All: I have a problem with any group of people who lend towards the attitude that a strike or industrial action is the ONLY solution to the Alexandra issue. People here seem to be of the opinion that the removal of Mr. Broomes shall solve all the problems there, and that is simply not true. Only the children shall be hurt in this process.
…now you see how most women think?
The man made a simple personal statement which reflects his personal, (probably honest,) opinion and she hates him for life because it does not jell with her opinion or experience.
Bush tea is also offended that she thinks that a man is not important in raising a well rounded child too…. But Bushie will NOT hate her or decide that she is a bad person.
Stupsss
Unless the Bushman can hear of some specific issue where Broomes clearly has breeched the rules or common sense Bushie is growing in respect for the man
Caswell
You think Bushman would seriously wound the future chairman?
Never!
But if you had an adversarial issue with Broomes in the past that should not colour this present issue unless you can show a clear relationship. So far Bushie can’t even grasp what the man do wrong.
…and Caswell you may be Bushie’s model chairman, but you are not his model disciplinarian. You may not be in the best position to judge Mr Broomes.
Let’s just say that your whole history is well known to Bushie from school days…( wink wink) LOLOLOLOL
A word to the wise is sufficient.
I SUPPORT JEFF BROOMES
Wanna see the difference in the way a real real man does operate?
Last night Bushie cuss BAFBFP and call he a s#*€ talker. Will BAFBFP hate the bushman and hold him in mind….?
OF COURSE NOT !!
He just threatened to “…move on the bushman” unless Bushie “tek it light.”
LOL. BT IS SOOOOO SCARED…
Bush Tea
I ain’ gun move on the bushman … Come on man. I just concerned that you little too close to dis topic that yah cussing people, and assuming you past a certain age that would not be the best approach to livin’. You still got your heart and other vitals to worry ’bout … see where I comin’ from now? I don’ mek idle threats man. If ever I find a need to point a gun at anyone, believe you me it would be with the knowledge that I will pull the trigger ..
@BT
Note in today’s press the teachers are fully behind Mary Redman, we should therefore give the teachers some credit here. This can’t be only about an emotional position, there must be more.
I am not judging Mr. Broomes, far from it, I am only offering evidence and opinion. I have never been embroiled in any personal issue with him: I was simply doing my job and I don’t, as the old people would say, pick up fire-rage. As a matter of fact, after I defeated him at the hearing, we went to lunch. Does that sound to you like I have anything personal against Mr. Broomes?
If wunn want to know Jeff Broome go to the Bush Bar pun a Friday and weight for the 4X4 to pull up …
You are easily Bushie’s man of the year for 2011 , but sometimes you are too good natured even for you..
Are you saying that because 30 mostly female teachers follow someone there must be some substance to the matter….?
You go to church?
You go to parties and see how people follow others like sheep to do idiocy…?
You look at how our young men wear their underwear exposed in following a trend that they do not grasp…?
Man wheel and come back…
@BT
You are correct we live in a time where people feel comfortable following but if you read the views of Lett, MALE teacher featured in the NATION today it gives reason for pause.
After so manyyearsof chaos in the alexander school how can any anybody see jeff broomes as a b good leader.Good leaders demonstrate the ability to work out the tough issue with their employees rather than provocation and ruling with an iron fist.the latter of which broomes is being accused of..Jeff broomes should be removed he has had his chance for resolve and has failed miserably to where the situation has become chaotic
I just want to share an experience I had while sitting as a PTA rep on a board.
The teachers felt that the deputy principal should have been given the postion of principal and from day one of the new principal’s appointment, the principal was met with fierce opposition. For the majority of the mostly female staff, the principal could do nothing right. The deputy principal was always in their corner side swiping the principal. The principal decided I have to run this school and with the support of the board, they then knew what God they were serving. The Board supported the principal and provided guidance.
One teacher even went so far when an issue arose to write a letter to the Permanent Secretary, the Chief Education Officer and all the big ups in the MOE and did not even have the manners to copy it to the principal.These are the teachers entrusted with teaching our children. She quickly asked for a transfer after this.To this day, the principal still has challenges but is determined not to let these teachers rule the school.
Say all of this to bring another side to the discussion that there are instances where teachers do not respect the principal for their own selfish reasons and will not work with them.
I see the BSTU fighting a losing battle defending the indefensible like that instance at Foundation School. The teacher is clearly wrong but she wants to do battle with CXC. For what?? Just to show the union has power???
This has been going on so long I cant remember what they are fighting for.
A trade union is not run by emotionalism. Mary Redman needs to do a crash course in trade unionism at the BWU Training. College. I just heard her on VOB 12.30 news appealing to the said VOB to devote more time to the airing of the BSTU teachers’ grievances. Madame Mary , you should have thought about that before calling out the staff. She also reported that some members of the public are getting the wrong impression of their action against the principal due to a lack of communication. Whose fault madame Mary? Get some placards, buy some soft shoes and start marching up and down Broad Street on Saturday morning when you wouldn’t be disrupting classes and wasting tax-payers’ money.. Is this type of action only for the working class? Ask Mark Adamson (Sole Light and Power protester) how to protest and get public sympatyhy without attracting large numbers at his demonstrations. lol. Right now madame Mary you are making the same mistake you made with the CXC. Parents don’t want to hear you. Get your teachers back to the classroom and teach their children. If your union members are fed up with the principal, they are all capable of writing letters to the Ministry and requesting transfers. Last night news reported that 35 teachers were at BSTU and 30 were in the calssrooms. Are you happy about those numbers, Mary?
My observation on this forum is, some people who are participating in this discussion fail to realize that it is the kids at the school who will suffer in the long run.
We all know about the teacher’s dress code, their negative behaviors, the underwear showing thing the kids sport these days etc.
Who is Mr Brooms? He is a small voice crying out in the wilderness of a new era. In his efforts to maintain proper working ethics, discipline etc, he is creating an image as a bully.
Do not tell me that his “popularity” as being a strict disciplinarian has not gone to his head. He was left on his own for a considerable amount of time without the support of the Ministry of Education, who incidentally should be held liable for all that is happening.
There are dress codes & they should have been enforced long ago, when these teachers started wearing T Strings & short skirts to school.
Like most government organizations in Barbados, they allow the standards to fall by the way. I will not get all tied up in the public service & they behaviors, as we know most are deplorable.
@Blogger2012.
Maybe the Ministry of Education is where Jeff Brooms needs to be. If he is all that, then he would be in a better position to assist the Ministry in re implementing some disciplinary measures that would improve the standards of our schools.
In your comment to me, I sense hostility. This is not about you, me, being male or female, but about the pupils of Alexander school & possibly others who may join in solidarity.
Most of you just shout hard, insult, disrespect, jump on the band wagon & judge, but do not attempt to offer a solution/ resolution, in the hope that someone would take some points & apply them to the situation.
I went to The St Michaels’ School & I “believed” they was no harsher disciplinarian than Dame Patricia Simmonds. BUT she was never heard or seen on television insulting her teachers/ pupils. She conducted herself in a very respectable manner & her way of saying / doing things left a lasting effect on the recipient.
We hated Miss Simmonds, We loved Miss Simmonds, We respected her, we resented her. BUT as adults we realize that her loyalties was with her “girls”, then boys. TODAY, We continue to honor her. She is always invited to reunions & is overwhelmed with the love & gratitude showered to her by her former pupils.
Certainly I do not wish to compare, but all I am saying is there are other ways to go about stuff than bullying, being loud & high handed.
I have sadly read comments from those who are aware of Mr Broom’s behaviors towards his subordinates. He is bang out of order!
AND I SAY SO!
I will continue to exercise my right to free speech by voicing my opinions without apologies.
Blessings.
The teachers must not backdown now but must stand firm and unite aginst the tyranny and fear that Jeff broomes have unleashed on them. become united and push that egomanical dictator out of the way
There are certain standards that was taught to Mr Broomes from his late Headmaster, Mr J.S. Yearwood, that many of these teachers and children would do well with right now. Mr Jeff Broomes, my friend, my younger school mate, do not compromise your good standards taught to you, this modern world have too many RIGHTS, that’s why our moral standing has fallen greatly. The solution to the problem is simple, investigate the feelings of the students to both Mr Broomes and the teaching staff. Whichever the students prefer will stay the other/s will be transferred. The BSTU case is weak and Mary Redman in my opinion, is behaving like a spoilt child, which Principal would be next on her list, would it be Foundation School, St.Michaels, Q.C or any of the others with male Principals?
The leaders of the other Trade Unions, need to call Mary Redman to a meeting and teach her proper trade unionism. She is disgracing the other Trade Unions with this childish behaviour.
i am hearing the children at the school is being disadvantaged, please check the CXC results of AX over the last three years ( the period during which Mary wants him removed) and see thast school has advanced in leaps and bounds in there results, if these children are being disadvantaged, then it is to their benefit.
I have carefully read this whole thread but I find no mention of the connections Mr. Broomes might have with the Lodge.
It is well-known that many big-ups in Barbados are Freemasons, as well as the multitude of ordinary citizens who have joined the Lodge and gain from their membership. Apparently the Freemason symbol is becoming more prevalent day by day (Rhianna included).
I have it on authority that there is a connection, but I am quite willing to read responses.
Is it fair to arrive at hard positions without knowing the facts of the case fueling this matter?
david
There is three sides to every story, it would take a long time to know the truth, in the mean time the school is not functioning at full staff. My suggestion, let the students and parents/guardians decide who they want, the Principal or the disgruntled staff, then get on with educating this country’s children.
@The Scout et al
Understand your frustration but we need the facts to ascertain how the ‘process’ has failed us in this matter. Six years is a long time for an IR matter to be open which suggest we have had a catastrophic failure in the ‘process’ which is responsible for managing our school system.
Today I heard in passing that Pinkie wanted Starcom to make available at least half hour so that the union could put its position to the people of Barbados. I bet Ellis in h is call in program continue’ talking about not having enough information and that type of usual diatribe instead of responding to the offer that was presented by the union. I do not know, I am just making an observation based on my knowledge of Ellis. I really do not follow that program any ..
The Lodge School also has a big problem with Mary Redman. She is supposed to be on that staff as well.
anonomous
Someone mentioned earlier that Broomes is well connected within important circles … the BCA, both parties (in particular the BLP) and could very well be a member of the Lions or Rotary (he sure as hell ain’ na Kawanian) but the Lodge thing will always be a grey issue
If the BWU and NUPW decide to go on strike as a result of complaints from union members against unpopular CEO’s, managers, supervisors etc. no work would take place in Barbados all year round..
Jeff Broomes needs to go. He has been breaking all the rules of the public service, not following any rules of the PSA or General Orders. He cares about himself and uses the children as pawns. If he gets in bed with you you are sure to get a job at the place.
Str8 Up
So you get a job den or you turn he down …! I hear that he does throw some good thunder …! You know this fah a fact?
BSTU should bring the rules that Mr. Broomes has broken. If Mr. Broomes is to be disciplined there must be a specific charge brought against him. To say he has shouted is not enough. The practice is if you work with some whose style you don’t like you leave-get a transfer or seek another job. The boss is only dismissed if he breaches serious rules just like any other employee. Did he steal? Did he sabotage the school? Did he beat the Board Chairman or a staff member? Did he absent himself for days without reporting ? Was he incompetent to the extent that the school did not produce? Bring the charges against Mr. Broomes if you have them. Business is not conducted in this way. Check the real world!
No boss should be able to tell any female employee infront of students that because her behind/backside is big, she needs to wear loose clothing. Teachers bend over backwards everyday, giving money out of their personal savings to children for food, extra lessons without charge and myriad things, and parents expect you to continue to work under poor conditions and act as though teachers care nothing about students. Listen to me: Those teachers want their students to excel, they are not happy that the students are suffering.
!@Miss Rollins
You cannot frighten me, I dont reason from an emotive perspective. I give
my facts when there is a need to do so, and experience is the wisest teacher. I dont join any bandwagon.
By the way, i dont care where you went to school, i went to brumley and can hold my head high when there is a need to do so.
David will tell you that this site is not for the thin skinned u can come to any conclusion that you want. Your reasoing fall in line with the teachers, emotive, but then again what should i expect from you after reading some of your blogs,blogs ..
Why does Broomes only use female students to back him?
“No boss should be able to tell any female employee in front of students that because her behind/backside is big, she needs to wear loose clothing.”
I am no lawyer, BUT if this is accurate I consider this sexual harassment. If Mr Broomes had sexually harassed his female staff members they would have brought a case against him a long time ago.
i heard a woman today tore into David ellis argument in regards to the alexandria debacle and rightfully so.
It seems to me that mr . broomes has no respect for his female staff . This man seems to think that he can bully people into doing what he wants them to do. No other country would put up with his sh..t. . The BSTU should put out every thing they have against that tin horn dictator. There is no reason whatsoever for any boss or manager to mistreat his workers using verbal abuse .Anybody who support this kind of action by Mr, Broome is just as ignorant as him. In today society There are organisation against all kinds of abuse and that includes animals so one would think that a person of so called high intellect would not stoop so low as to abuse his staff whether it be by shouting or insulting them in front of other people. He needs to go..
these teachers are sickening.i remember when this started mr broomes requested that teachers singed their names in an attendance register on teachers professional day. those whose names were not there were reprimanded and i think disciplined. they kicked up a storm. as far as i know, teachers professional day is a day when teachers would be at school or some conference, the principal should know where they were, those that were absent are suggesting that he was wrong. he should stand his ground, it is pathetic to see this going on and purposely at a time when children are preparing for cxcs. they are rules in govt, one of them is that, you sign an attendance register, whether, it’s a Be-punctual system, clock-in, or manually, you do it. if ur name is not registered, then u are absent. don’t these teachers get memos on changes that have been implemented? stupes. it all started with that. and the rest is history, they should all be transferred
Island gal. i with you. The men on this blog seem to think that the staff at Alexandria are all crazy and have nothing to complain about. Somehow it does remind me of the women who stay in Domestic abusive relationships for a long time and when they start to speak out .Everybodysay” Wha took them so long and it can’t be true: Abuse is abuse no matter who administer it. from all accounts Mr Broomes is an abusive Boss and contolling freak. it is time for him to go! The problem with women they stay silent for too long in abusive situation and always ready to compromise until it is too late and nobody then believes them .
Why is it that MR.Broome is the only Principal as of now embroiled in this Issue? that is the question? You mean to say that all of the thirty or so staff members who have strike decided without cause that they dislike Mr. Broome.I can’t imagine that happening but maybe some of you can.it is obvious this man have serious communicating issues which have compounded and crippled the very institution he says he is committed to
Quoting the Scout at 2:18 p.m. “The solution to the problem is simple, investigate the feelings of the students to both Mr Broomes and the teaching staff. Whichever the students prefer will stay the other/s will be transferred.”
Are you serious?
Are we to run our schools based on the feelings of children?
Dear Scout: Do you or have you run your household based on the feelings of your children who are all younger than 17?
You’re a bid man Scout. Time to get serious.
Random Thoughts
You obviously deleted PARENTS/GUARDIANS from that quote, was this done purposely? What is your suggestion, remove Mr Broomes and the students, parents/guardians rebel and the standard at the school deteriorate badly? The principle subject in all of this is the students, NOT THE TEACHERS, they can be replaced, or Mr Broomes can be replaced. Next time report what you see and don’t delete portions to strengthen your case.
Quoting Str8up “No boss should be able to tell any female employee in front of students that because her behind/backside is big, she needs to wear loose clothing”
Correct.
A lot of women of West and South African descent have big “Hottentot” botsies.
Ask Frank Collymore.
In Saudi Arabia big botsies offend the muttawa/religious police and they order African descended big botsied women to wear an extra few yards of black cloth over their botsies. But when a big botsied African descended woman goes rolling down the school yard or the streets of Saudi Arabia, not all the girdles or black fabric in the world can hide the fact that there goes an African descended woman.
I wonder how bald headed men (and women) would feel if the women of the world ordered them to cover up their shiny bald heads, because bald heads are offensive.
Dear Scout I did not delete anything. This is your 2:18 p.m quote EXACTLY “The solution to the problem is simple, investigate the feelings of the students to both Mr Broomes and the teaching staff. Whichever the students prefer will stay the other/s will be transferred.”
Maybe you were being emotional?
Random Thoughts
Obviously you didn’t read my 3.04P.M correction
Bush Tea for BROOMES!
Broomes is guilty!!
-Guilty of standing up to a bunch of unruly teachers.
-Guilty of being man enough to tell lazy teachers where to get off…
-Guilty of telling a big-pooched female teacher whose dress was in poor taste to wear appropriate clothing
-Guilty of asking loafers to account for the time for which they are paid
– Guilty of taking the interest of students and parents seriously
– Guilty of arranging for other committed teachers to chip in and help students outside of their official core subjects.
But most offensively,….
Guilty of standing up like a MAN. For what is right in his opinion….
Most of these women feel that they can come and skin their teeth in any man face and then do as they like on the job, or get whatever they want….
Caswell, Bushie like he find another man for your committee yuh….
What you say we make him Prime Minister BAFBFP??!!
What you need is a REAL man like the Bushman or Jeff. You would sing from a different hymn book….LOL
I listen all day to hear people talk about Broomes as though he is some gift to teaching, well here are some of the warts:
Broomes’s cousin was a policeman who got a minor pregnant and had to leave the police force, he is now a coach at Alexandra School. He proposition a student who complained to her parents. The parents went to the school and complained to Broomes. He interviewed them by himself and then cursed them and chased them from the school. He followed them to their car and continued to curse them until they got off the compound. He did not even reprimand the perverted cousin. This same cousin stole the promotion exam papers and gave them to students and Broomes’s reaction was you are not getting my cousin out of here.
Broomes employed his daughter’s boy friend to teach maths to CXC level but the man only has CXC Maths at grade 3.
He had ALF Padmore teaching English to CXC and ALF was also registered to take CXC English with his students the same year.
At the end of term last year, a student invited a teacher to pucker up and kiss his behind. This matter was so serious that they wanted the Principal’s involvement but he was not around even though his vehicle was on the compound. They eventually found him in a storeroom with a lady visitor to the school. To be fair you could only say that they were getting dressed.
Broomes routinely uses coarse abusive language to the staff.
He is often drunk while at school, as a matter of fact he sits in his office drinking alcohol and when he drinks all he goes to Fisherman’s Pub and come back to school drunk. When he is like this the students make fun of him.
He has employed his outside woman to teach a subject that she is not qualified to teach.
There is more but the amazing thing is that the Ministry and the Minister of Education are aware of these transgressions.
If what ‘Friend of Alexandra’ is saying is true then it is hard to image why the full complement of Alexandra’s staff would not have walked off the job long ago and also why it would take 6 years to deal with this matter.