Submitted by Chuckles

I would like to divert a bit and ask you [Caswell Franklyn] to make your services available to the BSTU/Mary Redman. What is this woman doing to the school children at the Alexandra School?
I was a member of the BWU for about 18 months before I left these shores to take up employment overseas. The first thing the Late Sir Frank Walcott told a group of new members of which I was one, was that the Union doesn’t go on strike until it gets public sympathy and support. Where did this woman do her trade-unionism training? A few weeks ago she was all over the news media trying to defend the indefensible i.e a teacher submitting SBA studies late to the CXC resulting in all the students failing the subject. Today teachers at the institution wouldn’t be in the classroom due to a dispute between her union members and the principal. The biggest Trade Union, NUPW isn’t backing her and from all reports the BUT members not losing a day’s pay over a non-issue.

482 responses to “Alexandra School Dispute – Who Shall Lead The Children?”
Now you understand why there was a move to censor blogs such as this. There might be some truth to the above but come on man, you can’t leave that post up as it is written. Fair is fair man
@BAFBFP
It stays.
It is incredulous that the teacher that Broomes is accused of defaming in a speech at the school’s prize giving is reputed to be the wife of the Deputy Chief Education Officer. Broomes got to be nuff man in trute.
@Ping Pong
More importantly perhaps it shows the influence, or lack of, the ministry of education.
From the Barbados Advocate:
Lett stated that contrary to what might be purported in the public domain, the teachers at the Alexandra are not lazy and unwilling to teach at the school.
“Teachers are not ones who at the drop of a hat say we don’t want to go to class. We are teachers, we love teaching. We feel an incomparable sense of achievement when our children excel and realise their potential. So when we have those characterisations in the press, they must be rejected,” he said.
He pointed out that the teachers who are standing together on the issue of having the principal separated from the school are highly decorated in areas such as innovation and technology, are leaders of cadets, the Foreign Language Club, and one was even named Teacher of the Year. “Would these people with this character say they don’t want to go to class?” he queried.
http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=21917
Some questions have just been posted on Facebook directed at Jeff Broomes.
When I worked at NUPW, the General Secretary asked me to accompany him to a meeting to represent Jeff Broomes. I declined and pointed out to the GS that Mr. Broomes was not in trouble with his employer and hence there was no reason why the NUPW should be representing. At that meeting, Mr. Broomes was acting in his capacity as the employer’s representative. Mr. Clarke replied that Broomes was his friend and he was going to represent him.
David, I went through all that to show the extent of Broomes’ influence. Even though the NUPW had no standing at that meeting the impotent Ministry of Education allowed Clarke to participate and comfuse the proceedings. To show the extent of Clarke’s nonsense, he is on sick leave and not expecting to return to work before May but he is being quoted in the Barbados Today. He has no authority to speak on behalf of NUPW while there is an acting general secretary in place but the Barbados Today would still seek him out. Broomes’ tentacles have even reached into B’dos Today.
The Ministry appears to have no control over at least two principals who breach the rules with impunity since they are protected by politicians and the lodge and I don’t mean the school.
@Caswell
Incredible, the crap is about to hit the fan?
The journalists and government officials who all sniff our feed will have to take a position.
Wuh really going on?
Broomes was Deputy Principal at St. Michael’s before he was moved to Alexandra. The Deputy at Alexandra, an old scholar of the school, was already there? Was there a split in the staff …some of whom were former students of the school and, like the Deputy, members of the Old Scholars Association … with some favouring the Deputy?
Broomes has lots of experience, but only a first degree from a USA College. Is the fact that some staff members have Masters degrees while he has only a B.A. part of the problem?
What has caused the leader of the Cadet Corp, a practising christian, and a former winner of the Teacher of the Year award which Broomes introduced, to turn against his Principal?
What has caused Leslie Lett, who was reluctant to be nominated, but was pushed by Broomes for the 2007 Teacher of the Year Award among all school teachers in Barbados to turn against Broomes? Lett was the eventual winner and acknowledged Broomes role in he, Lett, winning the award at National level.
Are efforts being made to have the Deputy, who was overlooked for Broomes in 2002, and was away from the school for a few years, but now is back, take over as Principal?
Will we ever get to the bottom of this intrigue and drama while the children suffer? It fact, who is suffering most? Is it staff, principal or students?
Can’t somebody write a book or play about this entire situation?
“It fact’, who is suffering most? Is it staff, principal or students?
CORRECTION:- “IN FACT”.
In light of the incestuous relations being exposed it is no wonder the MOE has played no constructive role in resolving this matter.
@ Brutus
Did the article say anything about the 30 who attend school while the 35 highly decorated ones are in Belleville? Are the 30 just as qualified, but more dedicated? Did Denis Clarke call out the Public Service workers on strike because the supervisor of the cemeteries made decisions that were unpopular with the workers? Did he call for the removal of the supervisor and ask the other public workers to withdraw their labour in suport of the workers? Have you ever heard of the late Sir Frank Wallcott/Sir Roy Trotman calling for the removal of a head of any private/public sector department and threatening a strike if that person was unpopular with the unioniized workers? No man, the Union is run by an executive which would have told Sir Frank or would tell Sir Leroy ” Yuh meking sport skipper. We not losing a day’s pay for that nonsense.” Mary Redman and the highly decorated academics in the BSTU need to attend courses in trade unionism which are conducted at the BWU Labour College.
WHO is the Just Asking above who wants to steal my thunder ?
WUNNAH think because I was quiet for the last FEW weeks that wunnah could just come and commit identity theft and tief my identity?
DONT you know that I know that there were always people who were jealous of my name
DONT you know that I am the real deal ??
JUST ASKING ?
JUST ASKING?
WAIT ! Freundel Stuart is still Prime Minister of Barbados ?
WHEY Chris Sinckler ?
prodigal son- mr franklyn whose views are respected on this forum and who seems to be always in the know has indicated that there is more in the mortar than the pestle with respect to the alexandra school maze. so having not been seized with all the facts am even willing to apologize to mr broomes for calling him intransigent. with respect to the foundation schoo comedy of errors, perhaps the BSTU should be prepared to put thier tails between their legs and beg the CXC for mercy. it is my view that the CXC should be willing to exercise that flexibilty to ensure that the children do not suffer because of the incompetence of the teacher. after all, preparing for exams is tedious, difficult and stessful and the CXC should exercise more humane and farsighted judgment in this regard yes, rules/ procedures should be followed but there are formulated to mahe things better / to assist and to hinder progress or to punish. rules/ procedures are not cast in stone. every effort should be made to accomodate the students because they are the ones who will suffer not the incompetent teacher. have a heart, CXC.
When people like mr broomes has his tentacles all over the place and have friends in high influential friends in government it is very hard to fight against such power individually, There are many teachers who know of mr Broomes heavy handed and bullying and abusive management approach and are afraid to speak out .the few who have dared to do so are demonise in the press . Recently i heard David Ellis referred to the verbal abusewhich Mr. Brommes unleashed on his staff as “just shouting” well it it is a sad statement on his part when a person of his so called intellect can not differentiate between verbal abuse and shouting giving the many comments that have been said about mr Broomes use of his language against his staff. Mr Broomes is a decisive force > He must go and the only way to do it would be if all the members of the BSTU stand together and strike as one that hMr, BRoomes or the Ministry of Education cannot withstand. Mary Redman Should not even respond to The NUPW they need to take care of the own sh..
Are we giving a pass to the ministry of education and minister in this matter?
Only men who have no respect for woman would back Mr. Broomes and would not see the long standing effects negative effects on an individuals psyche after years of psychological abuse. Why would any person want an individual to work in such a hostile enviroment > THe Ministry of Education should be blame for all of this longstanding problem but then again they rather victimise the victim than through their sick friend MR. Broomes under the Bus.
Lodge my ass. Somebody is Jeff Broomes employer. And it isn’t the lodge. Somebody signs his pay check and it ain’t n no blasted lodge. We the taxpayers paying everybody. In fact I expect that lodge members pay less taxes on average that the rest of us. Because it is well know that lodge members cover up dirtiness for one another. The Ministry, the Minister and the Chief Personnel Officer have to become involved, because you know what WWE PAY THEM too. And the Minister especially knows that he and his party will come begging us for a vote before the year done. And where the hell is Owen Arthur, we know that both you are Jeff are old Colridge and Parry boys. But come on man…say something, because you know that your party will be out there begging for votes too.
@Random
A read of social media shows political lines have been drawn.
As always!
@ Just Asking
I knew you were not the JUST ASKING that normally throws up questions on this blog. Would be nice to know who you really are. You are obviously an insider. So does not a similar situation exist at Harrison High School with Head Master Crichlow?
“It Stays …”
You Know of course that your course of action could act both ways. Wait David still beating his wife and chasing young girls ’bout the place?
@ Just Asking
The same Patrick Frost, after whom some building is named was head of English at The Lodge College and an old boy and was overlooked in favour of a Black Combermerian and brother a senior Minister in Government at the time. Now I understood the politics at the time having to do with the Lodge College never till that time having a Black Head Master and that Frost was in the right place at the wrong time. The rest, inclusive of the ten year stand off between the Ministry and the Head Master in residence, is history. I say this because the issues that you have brought up are not new.
I hope that NOW is carefully monitoring the allegations against MR. broomes and the evidence of verbal abuse administer to them by Mr.Broome.. All women should be outraged and let their feelings known as this behaviiour is unacceptable and should not be tolerated in a democratic society.I will be firing off a letter to Minm.Roland Jones his silence speaks volumes .
It appears mostly political issues motivate NGOs to take positions.
I have read and re-read the postings and can’t conclude that political lines have been drawn. Yes, there are one or two contributors who take a little dig here and there to score a political point but in general the debate has been free of politics . However to state that politics has taken over the debate is akin to stating that the discussion has reached an all time low because a few of us are using invectives to express their anger. Nothing can be further from the truth. As for me, I will a trade unionist till I die and will forever support the struggle of the workers but but but the organization must go through all the procedures of good trade-unionism before using the last resort of a strike. Why on earth did Mary Redman ask her members to withdraw their labour before having the public on their side (public sympathy and support as stated in paragraph 2 of this posting)?
I heard Mr. Lett on radio all yesterday appealing to the public for support and “biging up’ the strikers as highly decorated employees, members of church choirs etc..I don’t know anything about the principal and the dedicated workers who are turning up every day for classes but I would imagine that some of them are equally decorated , are devout church members and workers. Although Mr. Lett’s P.R approach is laughable at the present stage of the fiasco, why didn’t madame Mary think about this ploy before taking strike action? Madame Mary and her executive should have known that whenever a strike is called, a responsible union always has an escape route to save face in the event that they are fighting a losing battle . Right now I don’t know who has the power to remove Mr. Bromes as principal on the grounds that he and 50% don’t have a good working relationship. All like now, Madame Mary should be advising her staff to get back to the classroom and call on a high-powered body of Barbadian citizens to mediate in the matter. My sample suggestion would the head of N.O.W, the head of M.E.S.A, retired principals for whom both sides have the greatest respect, the church, a retired judge or two, the head of the National Parent Teachers Association and obviously members of the Ministry of Education. Yes, Madame Mary, the Foundation School CXC debacle is fresh in the minds of the general public. Don’t frustrate them any longer. Don’t encourage other members of the BSTU to lose a day’s/ days’ pay as a result of unpopular strike action. Ask Sir Leroy for help post-haste. If he is not available, don’t be ashamed to ask Gabby Scott or Clifford Mayers. They are both lower-order batsmen in the BWU but they can open the batting for the BSTU.
My difficulty with all the fuss or fluff here is that no one not even Mary Redman has detailed a case against Mr. Broomes. You do not rail against a man because of personality flaws; most of us here are very guilty of this same personality flaws crime. You do not too remove a head of an organization just because people think you should. I am very certain there are procedures to deal with any wrongs Mr. Broomes would have done, but this a certainly not the way it should be done. From now on are we to remove every head when teachers “feel” or “just don’t like” him or her. This is the very road we are going down in this case.
@Chuckles
Have you forgotten this matter has been simmering for six years?
Is the BSTU part of CTUSAB?
Has BSTU not toss the kitchen sink at this issue over the years? Do a Google.
@lemuel
Where your comment shows a flaw is yes the union has called for his head but a process still has to be gone through. The removal of Broomes is not a done deal because the BSTU says so!
Do you know if CTUSAB had a meeting with the BSTU before they went on strike two days ago, ? Do you know if they are listening to CTUSAB? Are you telling me that CTUSAB is as irresponsble as the BSTU in calling out workers without public support and sympathy? Do you know if CTUSAB supported the BSTU with their action against CXC? i would like to hear from CTUSAB before I pass judgement on them.
To Alexandra Friend:
The part about Alf Padmore was really devastating; Alf can not even get pass first year courses at Cave Hill. But how could this litany of “wrongs” be swept under a carpet. I my estimation, Jeff Broomes is not at fault; the education system is, every part of it.
@ Lemuel
Thank you for your January 6, 2012 at 8:53 AM | posting. You seem to have a grasp of what trade-unionism is all about.
@BAFBFP
The word is “wait” not “weight”.This HAS to be a typo!!!
@ Prodigal son
This is very interesting!!!
@ALL
Did BSTU refer this matter to the Labour Department?
Miss Redman industrial relation is about preseting your case, you cannot be the the judge and jury. You have made the the union look like a kindergarden class in both this issue and the CXx issue. As regards to the CXC issue, the teachers should be charged for their imcompetency and your union should work with all schools to ensure that checks and balances are in place to avoid a repeat.
Dou u exspect that u can win any any of the cases having gone public? I say to you no. It it time the NPTA fight back to ensure that the children receive the education for which we the taxpayers pay for. Do u remember the case with Royal Shop and Sandy Lane which BWU ranted and raged about.
Caswell u need to stop relating matters, especially the details of industrial matters in trying to potray Clarke as a rogue, I thought that what was discussed at such meetings was only for the parties involved.
John Browne
Of course … thnx
I read in todays daily NATION that the Union is now demanding the removal of the AX Principal.I must ask since he is a public officer what are the breaches of his terms and conditions of employment that he has committed? Is it true that the Deputy Principlal has returned to the school and what if anything does this have to do with the call from the union? Where is the PTA in all this? So the Union now wants to disadvantage MORE children in the education system ? But you know what the deeper the union digs in its heels the more difficult it is going to be for them to reconcile this matter.What if the MOE refuses to remove the Principal?
What next ? Do they really think they can resolve the matter by saying “our way or the highway?”
@Chuckles
To repeat, has this matter been ongoing for 6 years?
Even if the BSTU has been weak in prosecuting this matter what does it say about successive ministers and officers at the MOE. Despite an IR climate the MOE has ultimate responsibility for managing our educational institutions.
If CTUSAB was not consulted what does it say about our touted social partnership?
Mary Redman is a disgusting troll, and the complaints of her minions, ie the delinquent and envious “teachers” at AX have no merit to the slanderous untruths they are bringing against one of Barbados’ finest educators, Mr. Jeff Broomes. SHE should be “removed”, oh wait, “separated” from her job as President of the BSTU.
Up to no I still cannot figure out what EXACTLY the issues against Mr. Broomes are. Every thing I am hearing and reading seems to be grounded in petty nonsense, by a bunch of insubordinates that seem to be clutching at straws and creating problems due to their personal distaste for Mr. Broomes. Jeff is a fierce yet fair disciplinarian with extremely high standards. You cannot please everyone in this profession. The surest way to fail at anything is indeed to try to please everyone. So who do you please? Yourself? The teachers? Or the students who never cease to sing the praises of their beloved Principal? Mr. Broomes has chosen the interest of the students above all else. Not just those of AX, but of the Nation in general. When others are sleeping in or plotting senseless strikes to stay away from their duties, on Saturday mornings, Jeff Broomes can be found teaching lessons to young children FOR FREE! He has made great contributions to the children of this country. He is an icon and an upstanding and respectable human being. Mr. Broomes, we are on your side! Read the 37th psalm!
This reinforces why middle and upper class Bajans like the 11 plus screening.
I can’t remember a single teacher at Koilj who was not qualified to teach but thats over 40 years ago.
My sympathy to the children and parents who are being affected by the “intelligensia” involved at Alexandra.
It is true that I am entering the debate at a late stage because I was otherwise engaged for 38 years overseas. However judging from what I have seen and heard coming from the BSTU, i state here and now that the they do not have a strong enough case to remove the principal from the post to which he was appointed 6 years ago. They are spinning a top in mud. Do you think that some of the things which you read on this blog can be mentioned at any board meeting of arbitrators appointed with the apprroval of Mr. Broomes’ employers and the BSTU. The female teachers’ posteriors, Mr. Broomes’ rum, Mr. Padmore’s lack of CXC qualifications, some other teacher’s Grade 3 maths etc.. are non-issues. I hold no brief for Mr. Broomes since I don’t know or know of the man.
Yes, I agree that 6 years is along time for the people’s children to be denied proper tuition due to the standoff between the two parties. Yes the MOE has the ultimate responsibility for managing our educational system but you know what?…..Successive Minsisters nor Mr. Broomes’ employers(Is it Chief Establishment?) have not been presented with a strong enough case to remove Mr. Broomes as principal of the Institution. It is time Madame Mary and the BSTU accept the harsh fact of life. It is time they get back to the classroom, prepare the children for CXC , make sure that the SBA papers are submitted to CXC on time and stop innocent teachers, who are showing solidarity against their will, from losing days’ pay with non-issues. The female teachers who don’t like the situation at the school can ask for transfers to Newer Secondary Schools where there are some female principals, one of whom Ms. Dianne Wilson taught my grandson at H.C, when she was head of the language department. However let me warn them in advance, she is as tough as nails.She will give them all the respect they want but they will have to do the work for which they are paid. I believe she already has her students’ SBA’S in the post for this year’s CXC examinations. lol.
Finally David,if Mr. Broomes’ employers are that foolish to remove him from the office, , do you know what would happen to principals who are not favourites among the respective teaching staff at other older secondary schools? Man, it is like BSTU posing ‘double-six’ with 6 sixes in their hands in a game of dominoes. lol. The principal at Cawmere would be shouting “pass”,the principal at Lodge would be shouting ‘pass’ , the H.C principal’s response would be ” I don’t have any in my hand’ etc. etc. To sum it up David, Mr. Broomes is there to stay till it is time for him to retire. Have a good day.
Keeping broomes as principal would serve no opurpose other than to inflame the various problems which he has no one to blame for but himself.he has lost the respect of his staff.he is seen as a lightning rod his very presence ignites hatred of him. he has created a hostile and disgruntled working enviroment.one that is not good for children to be around.
BU
There was an incident on the South Coast of Barbados earlier this week where a tourist staying at one of the leading hotels in Barbados was robbed by a young man.
The robbery was investigated by the Police and the young suspect was held.
The local Police subsequently invited the the victim of the robbery to identify the suspect at the Police Station.This was done,but what followed after the initial interview was quite shocking.
Apparently,the local Police at the Police Station invited the the tourist to punch the young suspect in his face.
The tourist boasted at the hotel that he put a series of punches into the suspect face at the request of the local Police.
David,I am still in shock at what was reported to me
Are these Alexandra teachers the same ones that Mr. Broomes goes around begging for money every year to send some of them to the different conferences to upgrade their skills? Are these the same who brag at some of us from other schools about how good they have it there and who gets what trips and awards? If they do not like Mr. Broomes, fine, but I would be the firs to want to go there as a replacement!
Oh dear, now the MOE says that the striking teachers pay will be docked.So what now …. action against the MOE? The plot thickens!! The Union says their members can no longer work with the HT IN ANY CAPACITY:they have lost confidence in HT:his management style is unsatisfactory.Is it that this issue for them goes back to his very selection to the post of HT? Was it that from day one they did not want to work with him? For those who have not read the Barbados Today News It is recommended that this be done to see the quotes from the correspondence submitted to the P.S MOE by “concerned parents”.
@Chuckles
Are you saying that if some of the alleged misdeeds mentioned on this blog it is no reason to transfer Broomes?
It is all too clear to me an old scholar what is happening to Jeff Broomes at the Alexandra School. he never had a chance to put his vision for the school in motion. He took up the post as principal, a post which an old scholar acted as principal. That old scholar became his deputy. This did not go down well with the deputy and the other old scholars on the staff. As a result, Mr. Broomes was undermined at every turn. These same old scholars have been able to influence some young teachers on staff. If Mr. Broomes said A the deputy and her cohorts would say B. After a while, he had to put his foot down and guide his school. hence, there are those who will be loyal to the deputy thar is hellbent on causing problems at the school. They do all in their power to make him look bad. Mr. Broomes is one of the most intelligent people I have ever meant. I know he will be OK. It the haters out their, mostly old scholars who are picking up fire rage, jumping on the AX band wagon would only take the time to think, and show some reasoning skills which we were taught at AX they would indeed get the picture. It is not difficult to figure out. Think about what I have said. We AXers are much better thatn jumping on band wagons. Let the man do his job!
Sandy, I am ashamed at this time to be associated with the Alexandra Old scholars. One bad apple spoils the whole bunch. to add to what you have said, the teacher who did not teach for the whole term should have been fired. We the tax payers are paying her salary. She knows why she can do such a thing and get away with it. Maybe, she in the one in the “lodge” not Mr. Broomes. Her husband is the deputy chief education officer. Maybe this is why she and the other think they can behave to the Principal how the like and get away with it. The school now has a strong leader whom they cant run around their fingers. He is a true leader, aint scared on no one. Stands up like a man1 Hail Broomes!
@ Davidacc
I have not seen any accusation on this blog which is strong enough to warrant the removal of Mr. Broomes from the post of principal of the Aleandra Secondary School. Where was the teacher who was paid by the Ministry in excess of 5,000 dollars per month to teach CXE English while Alf Padmore deputised according to the BU report? Where was the Maths teacher who is paid a similar amount by the Ministry when the Grade 3 Maths teacher deputized? Would you want me to believe that Mr. Broomes over-ruled the Ministry’s appointments and put his unqualified favourites to prepare the students successfully for the exams? My, dear friend,I know you like to be rational in your thinking. Don’t disappoint me with this issue.
I was recently listening to Brass Tacks and a lady commented on the culture at the Alexandra School and she is perfectly right. Alexandra is higly dominated by old scholars who believe that it is thier right to do as they please at their school. They do not like discipline, because they are accustomed doing what they wnat and getting away with no – absolutley no order in the previous administration only weak heads. Now that they see adminstration at its best they cannot handle it because it is foreign to them. In every organization there ONE HEAD, everyone else must follow. As I said before there are a lot of spiteful disgruntled teachers at the Alexandra School and I personally think that the Ministry should intervene and scatter them across the island where in a matter of time they will rant and rave again if they encounter a strong leader. To the Minister of Education move them right away let them teach at a school where they love the principal and is willing to cooperate – for now.
@Pinkie and Sandy S.
Thanks for the exposure . Man, wunnuh got muh belly hurting muh wid laughter. So that is what it is all about ? What a shame!! I smelled a rat but could find it. Do you know that a similar situation existed/exists at least one other Older Secondary School? The teachers at that institution ganged up against the principal and he has succumbed because from all reports he is not as strong a leader as Mr. Broomes. I am pretty well informed of what is going on at the Secondary Schools because 4 of my grands finished Secondary School education in Barbados. I know the hell which some of them give the principals because the principals themselves might have attended Newer Secondary Schools. Talk about a snob society, check Barbados.